View Full Version : Realistically, if it doesn't work for Maloney, who would be a better manager of Hibs?

09-04-2022, 11:18 PM
As it says on the tin, but bear in mind, would a perspective candidate want to work with our owners? Also we have gone through a few managers in a relatively short period of time, rightly or wrongly, I would just be interested to see who people think would do a better job, i.e regularly competing in the top 6, making better signings, getting more out of players, etc.

09-04-2022, 11:19 PM
Malky McKay would get my shout.

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-04-2022, 11:20 PM
Malky McKay would get my shout.Jesus. No thanks.

Sent from my Nokia 3.4 using Tapatalk

09-04-2022, 11:22 PM
Derek McInnes is the totally obvious answer but we all know that he’d be up against it from the start from the section of our fans who’ve apparently watched us be like Brazil 1970 for most of our history.

the_ginger_hibee
09-04-2022, 11:25 PM
Jesus. No thanks.

Do you not value success? He's done a great job at County.

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-04-2022, 11:27 PM
Do you not value success? He's done a great job at County.Of course, but don't want that prick associated with our club if it can be helped.

09-04-2022, 11:28 PM
Do you not value success? He's done a great job at County.

Seems to have a great eye for a player and Ross County play really pretty decent football.

09-04-2022, 11:28 PM
Doubt it would be a popular opinion but I think Kevin Thomson would be a really good fit.

09-04-2022, 11:29 PM
Seems to have a great eye for a player and Ross County play really pretty decent football.

Also a racist, misogynist, sexist, anti semite.

**** him

Of course, but don't want that prick associated with our club if it can be helped.

I think it’s important that we acknowledge what he texted and then subsequently apologised for.

We had a drink driver start the game today. We’ve not long sold a drink driver for £3m. The point I’m making is maybe it’s ok for us to accept he apologised and look to the future.

Ruth Davidson, proven track record with an unpopular bunch a few years back...

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-04-2022, 11:31 PM
I think it’s important that we acknowledge what he texted and then subsequently apologised for.

We had a drink driver start the game today. We’ve not long sold a drink driver for £3m. The point I’m making is maybe it’s ok for us to accept he apologised and look to the future.I'm not defending drink driving... But the man racially abused his boss (and didn't even have the bollocks to do it to his face). He's a ****ing rat.

09-04-2022, 11:35 PM

**** him

Cmon - you cannae have misogynist AND sexist 😉

I’ll be honest - it was wrong, but guessing I’d we trawled through every potential manager and players private WhatsApps…..

09-04-2022, 11:45 PM

**** him

Jeezo, if we were all judged as individuals on content on our WhatsApp/Messenger groups then I’d suggest that a sizeable proportion of our support could be labelled much the same.

09-04-2022, 11:45 PM
Quite prepared to give Maloney time to prove he can build something for us .

the_ginger_hibee
09-04-2022, 11:55 PM

**** him

We've had drink drivers and stalkers be cheered from the stands in the last few years.

I'd guess you only want nice guys with no ability in charge?

10-04-2022, 12:11 AM
We've had drink drivers and stalkers be cheered from the stands in the last few years.

I'd guess you only want nice guys with no ability in charge?Does malky McKay have ability?

They started the season with 3 points from 30 - would we give him a chance if he started poorly?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

ErinGoBraghHFC
10-04-2022, 12:23 AM
Jeezo, if we were all judged as individuals on content on our WhatsApp/Messenger groups then I’d suggest that a sizeable proportion of our support could be labelled much the same.Is this a confession like?

the_ginger_hibee
10-04-2022, 12:24 AM
Does malky McKay have ability?

They started the season with 3 points from 30 - would we give him a chance if he started poorly?

MM has finished in the top 6 on a fraction of our budget and has County in better form than Hearts this year. If SM had started slowly at Hibs but ended up with 3rd/4th in the league form, at the most important part of the season, he'd be given a chance and a lot of credit.

As it is, we are bottom 6 & fighting against being dragged into the playoffs - if you are questioning MM's ability I'd be keen to hear what you think of Maloney.

10-04-2022, 12:28 AM
Seems like I'm the only one who watched our 2 wins over county. Worst team at ER this season. Seriously. No ****ing way.

Scotty Leither
10-04-2022, 12:30 AM
McInnes should have been the first and only name on the list. If ever a team and a club needs a hard dose of pragmatism, it's Hibs.

All this misty-eyed crap about being a "flair team" counts for nowt when your midfield and forwards are consistently bullied in what is a very physical league, which McInnes knows inside out.

Killie will come up, and i'd go for him as soon as their promotion is guaranteed, one caveat is that a semi-final win next week gives Maloney some time, but that looks highly unlikely after today's capitulation.

Won't happen though, because that would involve Gordon and Kensell admitting they've made a mistake at their "Highbernian soccer franchise".

the_ginger_hibee
10-04-2022, 12:38 AM
Seems like I'm the only one who watched our 2 wins over county. Worst team at ER this season. Seriously. No ****ing way.

How'd both teams end up in the league? Hearts lost to Dundee but Hearts will end up with group stage European football next year due to their overall league form. I know what's more important.

joebakerforever
10-04-2022, 12:41 AM
Given Tam Courts doing a decent job at Dundee Utd, having been promoted from their existing coaching staff, would suggest our own David Gray might do a better job.

However the current imposition of Ron Gordon's son as head of recruitment will jeopardise any Hibs manager's likelihood of achieving success.

10-04-2022, 12:44 AM
MM has finished in the top 6 on a fraction of our budget and has County in better form than Hearts this year. If SM had started slowly at Hibs but ended up with 3rd/4th in the league form, at the most important part of the season, he'd be given a chance and a lot of credit.

As it is, we are bottom 6 & fighting against being dragged into the playoffs - if you are questioning MM's ability I'd be keen to hear what you think of Maloney.My point is our current manager hasn't started that much worse than malky McKay did....

10-04-2022, 12:46 AM
How'd both teams end up in the league? Hearts lost to Dundee but Hearts will end up with group stage European football next year due to their overall league form. I know what's more important.

Since when have we cared about form over a season? If we did, Ross is still here.

10-04-2022, 01:05 AM
Ian Gordon

10-04-2022, 02:35 AM
Martindale and Bartley.

hibbydog
10-04-2022, 03:09 AM
Down with this sort of thread.

Maloney ain’t doing very well, but Hibs are an example of why changing managers does NOT work.

What are we on now, 13th manager in 20 years?

Each one is as bad as the last.

If we want to change something to improve the team, change the budget not the manager.

I’m not very impressed by Gordon/ Kensell, but sacking an experienced manager, appointing a rookie, then sacking him would be on the outskirts of looney land

OldEast
10-04-2022, 03:15 AM

Maloney ain’t doing very well, but Hibs are an example of why changing managers does NOT work.

If we want to change something to improve the team, change the budget not the manager.

I’m not very impressed by Gordon/ Kensell, but sacking an experienced manager, appointing a rookie, then sacking him would be on the outskirts of looney land

Well said

houstonhibbee
10-04-2022, 04:12 AM

Probably correct but I think it has to be done

10-04-2022, 04:54 AM
My point is our current manager hasn't started that much worse than malky McKay did....

But the consensus was county had brought in lots of new players and were playing not to badly and were maybe a bit unlucky not to have Won a few Not sure you can say we have been unlucky we just haven’t been good enough and it’s hard to see where our next win will come from

McGruber
10-04-2022, 05:56 AM

Even if it means relegation.

& if we get relegated - keep him? Still looney land?

Please don't say we aren't getting relegated, yes we might. St J picking up points we are not - we are not capable either.

And if we don't get relegated i think what we will have to thank is the time running out for other teams, nothing Hibs do. He isn't turning this round. Not this season, not next.

Looney land is keeping him in post ala Butcher.

Couldn't care how many managers we have been through in what space of time, a wrong un is a wrong un. Hearts had their Cathro, it was hilarious for us but at least they were wise enough to pull the trigger early.

And no, I don't advocate sacking managers all the time/first sign of trouble - would never have sacked Ross. Wouldn't be looking to sack an experienced one/proven one we brought in to replace either. Maloney however was a massive gamble, a rookie, a football fantasist playing football manager with De Bruyne and Hazard.

Time... bringing in his own players.... Bushiri - No1 target!

13 games without a win and we all know what's coming next week

10-04-2022, 06:02 AM
This "Hibs way" attacking, flair nonsense has achieved the square root of **** all for the last 50 years. Get McInnes in or another manager who knows what they're doing. Living in fantasy land thinking we can play like Barca and be successful on our budget in Scotland. Get someone in who plays to our strengths.

Dmas
10-04-2022, 06:17 AM
This "Hibs way" attacking, flair nonsense has achieved the square root of **** all for the last 50 years. Get McInnes in or another manager who knows what they're doing. Living in fantasy land thinking we can play like Barca and be successful on our budget in Scotland. Get someone in who plays to our strengths.

What are the strengths? We where **** playing whatever it was JR was playing and we’re **** playing the way SM wants us to play so what are this squads strengths?

18Craig75
10-04-2022, 06:43 AM
Question is, how much money is Ron Gordon willing to put towards this experiment. He’s already invested heavily, Maloney and staff are probably the most expensive management team in our history & by some way.

I have to say the if you were to mark Maloney out of 15 right now, he’s got to be a 3? Him and his team and signings have shown very little, if anything, to convince me they can kick on and be 3rd place next year. I don’t think his signings have been great, I hear him use excuses about what was left before but he’s had a transfer window himself which totally missed the mark. Rocky and Henderson have been brutal signings so far.

So let’s see if Ron wants to gamble another couple of million at least (not including the cost of missing out on Europe) as well as a couple of years in the hope it will be turned around. Because right now it is only hope. Does Ron even care anymore?

10-04-2022, 06:43 AM
Jack Ross

10-04-2022, 06:45 AM

Maloney has largely signed utter mince. He’s served it up on the pitch too. He’s spent money in doing so too.

hibbydog
10-04-2022, 06:51 AM

Please don't say we aren't getting relegated, yes we might. St J picking up points we are not - we are not capable either.

And if we don't get relegated i think what we will have to thank is the time running out for other teams, nothing Hibs do. He isn't turning this round. Not this season, not next.

Couldn't care how many managers we have been through in what space of time, a wrong un is a wrong un. Hearts had their Cathro, it was hilarious for us but at least they were wise enough to pull the trigger early.

And no, I don't advocate sacking managers all the time/first sign of trouble - would never have sacked Ross. Wouldn't be looking to sack an experienced one/proven one we brought in to replace either. Maloney however was a massive gamble, a rookie, a football fantasist playing football manager with De Bruyne and Hazard.

These are all good points.

What I don’t understand is why sacking the manager is always the ‘go to’ course of action when things are going wrong, especially when it’s been proven, time after time, that it rarely improves anything.

Maloney has the same problems Ross and everyone one of his precedcessors did. So will his replacement. And his.

What we need is a new way of improving the team:

Sack some players? (aye right)

Better scouting and more due diligence before we sign duffers?

Or more seriously why doesn’t our American millionaire owner invest in the team? Or use his vast business experience to generate more revenue to do so?

Perhaps overly simplistic, but the easiest way of winning football matches is by having better players than the opposition. I guess that boils down to paying better wages

McGruber
10-04-2022, 06:55 AM

What I don’t understand is why sacking the manager is always the ‘go to’ course of action when things are going wrong, especially when it’s been proven time after time,

I agree with you, we are crying out for stability and turning over managers isn't the answer. I was heartened when Ross talked about being here for the longhaul and I was on board for that.

My issue is that we gambled with Maloney's appointment much more so than someone with a track record. If we had appointed McInnes as example I would give him more time. I'm not even against the club having taken this gamble on Maloney, worked with Mowbray, Stubbs - but when we have went for a punt and it isn't working we should be calling it now. Personally hoping the next guy has a track record and is here for a long time

10-04-2022, 07:00 AM

What I don’t understand is why sacking the manager is always the ‘go to’ course of action when things are going wrong, especially when it’s been proven, time after time, that it rarely improves anything.

Maloney has the same problems Ross and everyone one of his precedcessors did. So will his replacement. And his.

What we need is a new way of improving the team:

Sack some players? (aye right)

Better scouting and more due diligence before we sign duffers?

Or more seriously why doesn’t our American millionaire owner invest in the team? Or use his vast business experience to generate more revenue to do so?

Perhaps overly simplistic, but the easiest way of winning football matches is by having better players than the opposition. I guess that boils down to paying better wagesYou don't think we have invested in our team since RG took over?

We lost a massive player on January and didn't replace him properly (yet) but I thibk we have probably spent as much as I remember since RG came in?

Possibly poorly but we've spent

loanheadhibby
10-04-2022, 07:03 AM

Some good points. Can’t always be the managers fault. However is changing budget going to improve us? Livi/Ross County/Utd/Motherwell all have smaller budgets than us but outperform us.

MacKay is similar to Butcher for me. Performing well at smaller club with small budget. Looks the ideal candidate. Played/managed at decent level. Hopefully we’ve learnt from Butcher appointment.

Maybe it’s down to us fans to change our expectations? Maybe we should consider mid table as success and they be delighted when we get relative success like a 5th place finish.

10-04-2022, 07:11 AM
Jack Ross

I'd be happy with that. Bit of a beamer for the club but it would be better than what we've got.

I'd also take Lennon in a heartbeat :duck:

10-04-2022, 07:15 AM
I’d rather replace the CEO before we do anything. I want a Director of Football in that capable of assisting and challenging whoever the new Manager will be.

10-04-2022, 07:16 AM

Mowbray, McLeish, Collins, Stubbs and Lennon all improvements on what we had before.

If you've got a dud like Duffy, Butcher, Calderwood or Maloney, it makes way more sense to make the change than it does to stick with the wrong guy.

We could have kept Butcher for 10 years but it would just have meant we had a dud manager for way too long.

It's staring us in the face the Maloney hasn't got it. What would it take for you to think it's maybe time to change?

10-04-2022, 07:18 AM

apart from Hibs you mean.

10-04-2022, 07:19 AM

We had someone who played pragmatic football and he was booted out after months of this board saying how bored they were and the football was dull.

10-04-2022, 07:20 AM
The problem with churning through managers and punting some prematurely is that it can make you end up doubting yourself the one time it’s 100% the right thing to do.

hibbydog
10-04-2022, 07:21 AM
Maloney has largely signed utter mince. He’s served it up on the pitch too. He’s spent money in doing so too.

Can’t disagree. Maloney has been very poor. And there are lots of things that prove this.

What I don’t see is proper evidence or reasons that the next manager will do better.

The way I see it, changing managers is rolling the dice. Sometimes works. But mostly doesn’t.

So we need to find a better way of improving the team. I’m not sure what the answer is, but I’d like it to be something different to the default course of action that has worked so badly so many times.

10-04-2022, 07:25 AM
Can’t disagree. Maloney has been very poor. And there are lots of things that prove this.

What I don’t see is proper evidence or reasons that the next manager will do better.

The way I see it, changing managers is rolling the dice. Sometimes works. But mostly doesn’t.

So we need to find a better way of improving the team. I’m not sure what the answer is, but I’d like it to be something different to the default course of action that has worked so badly so many times.

Sacking Maloney isn’t rolling the dice. He’s deeply incompetent.

10-04-2022, 07:30 AM
martindale and bartley.

sdg & bartley

Arnie
10-04-2022, 07:31 AM
Anybody but that wee deeb Maloney

10-04-2022, 07:33 AM
Derek McInnes should have been appointed

hibbydog
10-04-2022, 07:34 AM
Sacking Maloney isn’t rolling the dice. He’s deeply incompetent.

So spend money sacking him after 4 months and don’t give him the chance to learn or improve?

The club has decided to appoint a rookie. It would be madness to lose their nerve and change direction so soon IMO

10-04-2022, 07:36 AM
So spend money sacking him after 4 months and don’t give him the chance to learn or improve?

If he’s not learned to not keep hammering square pegs in round holes to play a system that’s never going to work yet then he’ll never learn or improve.

He’s one of the worst managers we have ever had.

10-04-2022, 07:40 AM
Not sure but anyone that got us winning regularly and playing half decent football would get my backing, wouldn't matter who they had played for in the past just as long as they were focused with the job in hand

coldingham hibs
10-04-2022, 07:40 AM

Couldn’t agree more with this. I’ve not been impressed with a single January signing, none of them have improved the team (maybe Harry Clarke but not enough evidence). Maloney had an idea but it was the wrong idea at the wrong time with the wrong team.

thebausburst
10-04-2022, 07:50 AM
Ronny Deila

Arnie
10-04-2022, 07:53 AM
This has 2013/14 Butcher written all over it. Don’t think we can beat anybody with Maloney in charge

LeithMike
10-04-2022, 08:05 AM
Derek McInnes should have been appointedAbsolutely. Given the inexperience at all levels in the club now - ower, CE, recruitment and manager its not the right environment for any of them.

We need a manager who can run the whole club. We're not Man Utd and should have got someone in who knew how to run an effective football club and bring some coherence to the first team, recruitment and youth development. McInnes was the obvious candidate and, unbelievably, was free.

This isn't even hindsight, it was perfectly obvious before.

We have been pretty poor since our last relegation but Stubbs started a re-building job putting pride in the club which Lennon took on using a relatively small and consistent squad. Since Lennon self-destructed we have been floundering returning to our high turnover of players viewing them as commodities to sell on.

Get back to signing players who will be good for Hibs and not worrying about their future value. Under Stubbs and Lennon we had players who wanted to be here and cared about the club. Now, we've returned to transient players who don't have the same passion.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

10-04-2022, 08:09 AM
Given Tam Courts doing a decent job at Dundee Utd, having been promoted from their existing coaching staff, would suggest our own David Gray might do a better job.

However the current imposition of Ron Gordon's son as head of recruitment will jeopardise any Hibs manager's likelihood of achieving success.Agree with this all of this but our current chief executive is also steeped in the direction we are going so can't be detached from it all.

DIXIHIBS
10-04-2022, 08:18 AM

I think the 'hibs flair' nonsense is pushed by people outwith the club as a stick to beat us with. Sure we would all like fast flowing classy football but 99% of us know that aint gonna happen. Winning games gets the fans back. People criticise mcinness about boring football...well it took dons fans many years and a lot of 2nd places/europe before they got fed up with it. Maloney's way of playing is not flair, im not sure what it is tbh but it sucks the life out of fans at games. You can see it every week. The few times we inject a bit of pace/energy the crowd reacts well and then it is back to pass/laboured/pass. We need a passionate manager that can pass his energy into the team and the fans. Lennon had it and it was the last time i actually enjoyed most games at ER. Sure it all ended badly but it was fun while it lasted. It ends badly for most managers!

10-04-2022, 08:37 AM
Hibs are in a right mess and Maloney has to go but if Ross County had missed their penalty yesterday Hibs would be in the top six and no one would mention Mackay as a potential Hibs manager. I want a manger who inspires a bit of fight in the team. I would reappoint Ross or McInnes in summer but I’d give Neil Warnock the job until the end of the season. Hibs would certainly stand up and fight in the semi final and he’d keep us in the league. St Johnston’s results now are nearly as important as ours. We need at a leat 4 points to be safe and I’m not sure where they are coming from.

10-04-2022, 09:40 AM

However the current imposition of Ron Gordon's son as head of recruitment will jeopardise any Hibs manager's likelihood of achieving success.That is the important point for me. Similar to mad Vlad picking the team at Tiny. We won't have much of a chance with any manager when owners put wholly unqualified family members in key roles

10-04-2022, 09:59 AM
I would honestly appoint Thomson and Brown.

They know what it is to win, know what the clubs about and would command respect right away. There is a great blend of Thomsons coaching experience and Brown's passion.

KT has been an absolute roaster the last year or do. Particularly the way he behaved at the rangers semi on TV, but I genuinely believe that would be a pragmatic and exciting appointment.

Going back to a Jack Ross style "keep it tight and play out to Boyle" type sounds appealing right now but the truth is it was dull and I stopped going.

We need to balance someone who can lift the club with someone who can win games.

10-04-2022, 10:06 AM
I would honestly appoint Thomson and Brown.

They know what it is to win, know what the clubs about and would command respect right away. There is a great blend of Thomsons coaching experience and Brown's passion.

KT has been an absolute roaster the last year or do. Particularly the way he behaved at the rangers semi on TV, but I genuinely believe that would be a pragmatic and exciting appointment.

Going back to a Jack Ross style "keep it tight and play out to Boyle" type sounds appealing right now but the truth is it was dull and I stopped going.

We need to balance someone who can lift the club with someone who can win games.Thomson would certainly get some form of reaction from the fans

[emoji23]

10-04-2022, 10:06 AM
Thomson would certainly get some form of reaction from the fans

[emoji23]

I really don’t like him but if he got us winning I’d soon get over that.

10-04-2022, 10:09 AM

Ross, Lennon, Stubbs, Yogi, Mowbray and Collins all had some success. Each one really wasn't as bad as the last.

Martindale and Bartley.

God no.

10-04-2022, 10:14 AM
I only watched Kelty Hearts once this year. They played Stenhousemuir winning 1-0 with a last kick of the game goal and looked like a Maloney team. Lots of aimless passing and very, very poor viewing despite having a much bigger budget than their opponents. I don't like the way he does the love in for The Rangers and don't think he would be a good choice.

When Ross was sacked I would have taken plenty of time to decide what to do next. It was a poor decision to sack him but once he was SDG came in and did well in a few games and I think I would have continued with him until a really good candidate appeared or we saw the season out and took stock in the summer. I just can't see how Jack Ross or SDG would have done any worse than SM and it would have been massively cheaper for either to have done the job till the end of this year.

thebausburst
10-04-2022, 10:14 AM
Thomson would certainly get some form of reaction from the fans

[emoji23]

Haha Thompson, may as well appoint Ally McCoist 😂 the guy is 100% hun

10-04-2022, 10:18 AM
Haha Thompson, may as well appoint Ally McCoist 😂 the guy is 100% hun

Ally McCoist is nowhere near as big a hun as Thomson. McCoist is quite happy to praise other teams and stick the boot into The Rangers at times.

10-04-2022, 10:19 AM
What's Bobby Williamson up to?

10-04-2022, 10:28 AM
Terry Butcher?

Groathillgrump
10-04-2022, 10:36 AM
What's Bobby Williamson up to?

Think he was spotted going in to the cinema to watch the new Batman film yesterday afternoon.

10-04-2022, 10:44 AM
Cmon - you cannae have misogynist AND sexist 😉

I’ll be honest - it was wrong, but guessing I’d we trawled through every potential manager and players private WhatsApps…..

I'd hazard a guess 99% of the folk who post on here would not like it if we looked at their phones, or delved into their past.

It's getting to the stage now where only the virgin mary would be accepted by some folk, and nobody is allowed anything dodgy in their past, and can never reform and apologise enough.

10-04-2022, 10:44 AM
Think he was spotted going in to the cinema to watch the new Batman film yesterday afternoon.

I heard there was a special double bill screening of Shaun of the Dead and Flash Gordon for disgruntled Hibs fans, they could get in with their semi final ticket that they aren't going to use

berwickhibee
10-04-2022, 10:47 AM
Jeezo, if we were all judged as individuals on content on our WhatsApp/Messenger groups then I’d suggest that a sizeable proportion of our support could be labelled much the same.

Spot on👍

We have all shared jokes etc to mates because they are funny.

mokie
10-04-2022, 10:49 AM

You are the only guy who watches Paul Hanlon every week and still thinks he's half decent......

10-04-2022, 10:50 AM
Could we not appoint a manager who wouldn’t split the support from the start ?

We need someone who will bring the fans and club together - Ross wasn’t that person / Maloney isn’t this person - surely there is someone out there in world football who can make supporting Hibs exciting again.

Someone with some experience and not using Hibs as an experiment / apprenticeship.

10-04-2022, 10:52 AM
You are the only guy who watches Paul Hanlon every week and still thinks he's half decent......

I think he’s very good too.

10-04-2022, 10:52 AM

Me too. Good LCH for us

mokie
10-04-2022, 10:53 AM

You obviously haven't been watching him over the last two games then. Utterly hopeless player..

10-04-2022, 10:53 AM
You obviously haven't been watching him over the last two games then. Utterly hopeless player..

Steve Clarke has watched him for a while and capped him.

LewysGot2
10-04-2022, 10:54 AM
Judging him back after long term injury needs context.

He's here!
10-04-2022, 11:02 AM

He's far from hopeless. However he's a bit of a Chris Hogg type. Decent footballer but more effective when paired alongside a centre-half with more presence (Rob Jones, Daz).

Box 17
10-04-2022, 11:03 AM
Maloney will and should be given until the start of next season, at least. But just for fun, and in no particular order:

Malky McKay
David Martindale
Dick Campbell

mokie
10-04-2022, 11:18 AM
Steve Clarke has watched him for a while and capped him.

Gave him 15-20 minutes then never to be seen again at that level.

Talk about a token gesture......

mokie
10-04-2022, 11:20 AM
Judging him back after long term injury needs context.

Prior to his long term injury then ?? Still hopeless I am afraid.

Hibs have lost 4 goals since he came back in. He's been directly involved in three of them..

10-04-2022, 11:53 AM
Gave him 15-20 minutes then never to be seen again at that level.

Talk about a token gesture......

You don’t get token gestures at international level. They had no prior relationship to his cap.

10-04-2022, 11:57 AM
The only SPFL manager that I would probably be happy with would be Tam Courts.

Beyond that, I don't know. We're a manager's graveyard. Hibs are consistent underachievers and there is a losers' mentality at the club that goes back years. No one has ever really managed to consistently change that. Even Stubbs still couldn't get us out of the Championship.

In my time as a Hibs fan, we've had ten previous managers:

Two were poached by another club (i.e. were a "success")
Eight resigned, were mutually consented or sacked (i.e. failed)
Only one (Stubbs) had a winning record against Hearts

Plenty of these managers were successes elsewhere. It's chronic.

10-04-2022, 11:58 AM

Christ you are an utterly embarrassing poster.

You are in the minority in not rating hanlon pal. Hibs legend.

10-04-2022, 12:01 PM

https://www.thenational.scot/resources/images/12588751.jpg

10-04-2022, 12:01 PM
Hibs are in a right mess and Maloney has to go but if Ross County had missed their penalty yesterday Hibs would be in the top six and no one would mention Mackay as a potential Hibs manager. I want a manger who inspires a bit of fight in the team. I would reappoint Ross or McInnes in summer but I’d give Neil Warnock the job until the end of the season. Hibs would certainly stand up and fight in the semi final and he’d keep us in the league. St Johnston’s results now are nearly as important as ours. We need at a leat 4 points to be safe and I’m not sure where they are coming from.

We will get a few draws will that not be enough

10-04-2022, 12:18 PM
Question is, how much money is Ron Gordon willing to put towards this experiment. He’s already invested heavily, Maloney and staff are probably the most expensive management team in our history & by some way.

I have to say the if you were to mark Maloney out of 15 right now, he’s got to be a 3? Him and his team and signings have shown very little, if anything, to convince me they can kick on and be 3rd place next year. I don’t think his signings have been great, I hear him use excuses about what was left before but he’s had a transfer window himself which totally missed the mark. Rocky and Henderson have been brutal signings so far.

So let’s see if Ron wants to gamble another couple of million at least (not including the cost of missing out on Europe) as well as a couple of years in the hope it will be turned around. Because right now it is only hope. Does Ron even care anymore?

I think Ron is backing his investment in Maloney and all the back room staff he has brought in to the club, there seems to be a plan/vision and it won’t happen in 4 months, imo Maloney will be here in the summer and will have a clear out of players and a couple of marquee signings coming in to get the fans excited, we can’t stay on this merry go round and keep dumping managers every 18 months, a new manager coming in this summer would more likely keep this squad to see what he can get out of it, on paper it looks good but it ain’t and we need big changes to the team this summer, hopefully Maloney sees this and improves us over the summer, he will only get sacked if we get relegated and that’s not going to happen.

10-04-2022, 12:21 PM

Good luck!

10-04-2022, 12:26 PM
I think Ron is backing his investment in Maloney and all the back room staff he has brought in to the club, there seems to be a plan/vision and it won’t happen in 4 months, imo Maloney will be here in the summer and will have a clear out of players and a couple of marquee signings coming in to get the fans excited, we can’t stay on this merry go round and keep dumping managers every 18 months, a new manager coming in this summer would more likely keep this squad to see what he can get out of it, on paper it looks good but it ain’t and we need big changes to the team this summer, hopefully Maloney sees this and improves us over the summer, he will only get sacked if we get relegated and that’s not going to happen.

That puts Ron under monumental pressure to provide those marquee signings and make it work and it's all money. My big worry is that he's made a horrific appointment which he realises but isn't changing it as it will make him look clueless. That could set us back years. Our biggest rivals have now got their house in order, are bringing in hundreds of thousands per month through FOH and will likely be in the European groups next season. We could very quickly be shopping a level below them. This appointment has been disasterous. Finishing 4th should have been the minimum but we're not even top six!

10-04-2022, 12:33 PM
Christ you are an utterly embarrassing poster.

You are in the minority in not rating hanlon pal. Hibs legend.

It’s fine not to rate him, that’s what opinions are all about. What reeks, is the thinly disguised attempt at wind-up from a poster who clearly doesn’t like Hibs.

LewysGot2
10-04-2022, 12:35 PM
It’s fine not to rate him, that’s what opinions are all about. What reeks, is the thinly disguised attempt at wind-up from a poster who clearly doesn’t like Hibs.
Yup, there’s a word or two for it

10-04-2022, 12:37 PM

Hanlon isn't hopeless that's plainly untrue but IMO he's not good enough if we regularly want to finish 3rd, which ultimately should be the aim.

Porteous is arguably our most important player, both in terms of his contribution on the park but also his sheer drive,presence and determination he has. I'm pretty certain if he'd been on the park yesterday we wouldn't have surrendered so meekly. You just don't get that impression with Hanlon.

mokie
10-04-2022, 12:43 PM
You don’t get token gestures at international level. They had no prior relationship to his cap.

yes you do,,

Gary kenneth
Danny Swanson to name a couple......

mokie
10-04-2022, 12:45 PM
https://www.thenational.scot/resources/images/12588751.jpg

here comes the history lesson...........
Any pictures from the 5 finals he been involved in when he's been on the losing side...

10-04-2022, 12:45 PM
Hanlon isn't hopeless that's plainly untrue but IMO he's not good enough if we regularly want to finish 3rd, which ultimately should be the aim.

Porteous is arguably our most important player, both in terms of his contribution on the park but also his sheer drive,presence and determination he has. I'm pretty certain if he'd been on the park yesterday we wouldn't have surrendered so meekly. You just don't get that impression with Hanlon.

I like Hanlon and totally respect all he has done for Hibs. As a few have said he’s not the most physically dominant presence, that’s to be expected from a guy who stands just under 6ft. Porto is much better equipped for guys like Simms.

I think the point you make is the key. Most Hibs fans know what he offers, he’s far from hopeless. It’s the Jambos enjoying a Jamboree on here just now that annoys me, and the Hibs fans daft enough to pleasure them.

mokie
10-04-2022, 12:46 PM
Yup, there’s a word or two for it

jambo
troll
blah blah blah.

all of the above as I've said before I well and untruly am. Incase you hadn't noticed I was outed as a Jambo a good few weeks ago...........:aok::aok::aok::aok:

10-04-2022, 12:47 PM
yes you do,,

Gary kenneth
Danny Swanson to name a couple......

Danny never played for Scotland.

mokie
10-04-2022, 12:49 PM
Danny never played for Scotland.

He was called up to the squad by Levein....

LewysGot2
10-04-2022, 12:51 PM
jambo
troll
blah blah blah.

all of the above as I've said before I well and untruly am. Incase you hadn't noticed I was outed as a Jambo a good few weeks ago...........:aok::aok::aok::aok:

Not the words I had in mind. 😂

He's here!
10-04-2022, 12:59 PM
Easy to say with hindsight but I'd have given Jack Ross more time. I don't think there are any significantly better Scottish managers around. However, from what I've heard from him since he left Hibs I get the impression it was a disconnect with the owners that kind of undermined him.

mokie
10-04-2022, 01:02 PM
Not the words I had in mind. 😂

Well what are they then ???

Share and share alike.......

Daily Hibs
10-04-2022, 01:23 PM
here comes the history lesson...........
Any pictures from the 5 finals he been involved in when he's been on the losing side...
Paul Hanlon, not good enough - end of.

How many big game failures and mistakes is he allowed to get away with?

Culture of failure at the club with him as Captain.

10-04-2022, 01:36 PM

Paul Hanlon good enough, end of.

10-04-2022, 01:38 PM

Hanlon is a significant part of the 4th best defence in the league, FACT. The defence is not our problem.

loanheadhibby
10-04-2022, 01:42 PM
Hanlon is a significant part of the 4th best defence in the league, FACT. The defence is not our problem.

He’s also the man who captained a Hibs side to a bottom 6 finish.

As someone else said, if we want to challenge for 3rd, we need him to improve or be moved on.

Daily Hibs
10-04-2022, 01:45 PM
Do we just gloss over the fact that Club Captain Hanlon got totally bullied and changed the momentum of the game when we were 1 nil up with his schoolboy defending?

Exactly the same when Lewy made a similar mistake by not clearing his lines which allowed Lafferty to score when we were chasing 2nd. Failure after failure when it matters.

10-04-2022, 01:45 PM
He’s also the man who captained a Hibs side to a bottom 6 finish.

As someone else said, if we want to challenge for 3rd, we need him to improve or be moved on.

David Gray captained us to 3rd in the championship.

10-04-2022, 01:46 PM
Do we just gloss over the fact that Club Captain Hanlon got totally bullied and changed the momentum of the game when we were 1 nil up with his schoolboy defending?

Exactly the same when Lewy made a similar mistake by not clearing his lines which allowed Laferry to score i0whrn we were chasing 2nd. Failure after failure.

Lewis then went up the pitch and won a penalty. Success after failure.

Daily Hibs
10-04-2022, 01:51 PM
Lewis then went up the pitch and won a penalty. Success after failure.
What about him marking Naismith at the free kick where a Naismith header put them 2-1 up. Woeful stuff.

How many big game failures with Hanlon at the back? Woeful yesterday.

10-04-2022, 01:54 PM

Exactly the same when Lewy made a similar mistake by not clearing his lines which allowed Lafferty to score when we were chasing 2nd. Failure after failure when it matters.

Whilst I think there’s something to be said for the phrase “you’re only ever as good as your last game” I think we’ve seen enough from hundreds of performances from Paul Hanlon to acknowledge that a couple of moments in the past 2 games haven’t been his best, but that he’ll surely bounce back and be the solid performer for us that he’s been for ages.

10-04-2022, 01:55 PM
What about him marking Naismith at the free kick where a Naismith put them 2-1 up.

How many big game failures with Hanlon at the back?

How many big games successes?

Would we even have been in contention for 2nd without how well they both played all season?

MikeyS
10-04-2022, 01:58 PM
I'd hazard a guess 99% of the folk who post on here would not like it if we looked at their phones, or delved into their past.

It's getting to the stage now where only the virgin mary would be accepted by some folk, and nobody is allowed anything dodgy in their past, and can never reform and apologise enough.

No danger, wouldn't want her anywher3 near the place. She can't even be sure who her laddies Dad is. That's not the kind of character we need.

mokie
10-04-2022, 02:06 PM
How many big games successes?

Would we even have been in contention for 2nd without how well they both played all season?

How many big games failures ??

Lets have a look at his scottish cup record to start with ??

6 finals 5 defeats 1 win. Like to comment on that then ????

mokie
10-04-2022, 02:09 PM

Not forgetting his role or lack of it in the third goal yesterday.. Lets Halliday take all the in the world to get the ball under control and set himself before getting the shot away.. Just let AH run at him and made no attempt to put any pressure on the ball..

Utterly disgraceful.............

10-04-2022, 02:12 PM
How many big games failures ??

Lets have a look at his scottish cup record to start with ??

6 finals 5 defeats 1 win. Like to comment on that then ????

Seems like an awful lot of semi final wins hes had then.

Also, 6 Scottish cup finals for Paul Hanlon is it? You'd need to go back to 1979 to have 6 Hibs finals. 11 years before Paul Hanlon, the Hibernian Scottish cup winning legend, was born.

If you cant even get facts right, what does it say about your own opinion?

Mr. Wonderful
10-04-2022, 02:19 PM

With respect silver we've said that just about every season for the last 25 years and the majority of the time we're left wanting or we make brutal signings like James Scott.

Daily Hibs
10-04-2022, 02:25 PM

Also, 6 Scottish cup finals for Paul Hanlon is it? You'd need to go back to 1979 to have 6 Hibs finals. 11 years before Paul Hanlon, the Hibernian Scottish cup winning legend, was born.

Hanlon has played in 4 Scottish Cup finals. 2012, 2013, 2016 and 2021. Lost countless Semi Finals.

Get your facts right.

10-04-2022, 02:33 PM
I think Paul Hanlon is pretty average. Not great but not pish. He's certainly not going to get any better now. I think having Porteous beside him makes him look better. It should really be the other way around with all his experience. Good servant but if we can replace him with better we should.

10-04-2022, 02:34 PM
Hanlon has played in 4 Scottish Cup finals. 2012, 2013, 2016 and 2021. Lost countless Semi Finals.

Get your facts right.

My facts were correct. I didn't say he'd played in 6 finals. I knew he'd played in 4. Along with Lewis, the most of any player in our history. A fine achievement for such a massive failure.

He has not lost countless SC semi finals. Unless you struggle to count higher than 3.

He has won 4 SC semis, lost 3.

mokie
10-04-2022, 02:38 PM

made a mistake there I agree. Having said that his final record isn’t very good I’d say.

10-04-2022, 02:42 PM
made a mistake there I agree. Having said that his final record isn’t very good I’d say.

I think I'll forgive him. Only really bad one was last season. Other 2 finals he lost we were beaten before kick off, through no fault of his.

2016 was worth the lot.

Mcbizz1998
10-04-2022, 02:45 PM
Of course, but don't want that prick associated with our club if it can be helped.

Remember similar being said about Neil Lennon.

I'm Spartacus
10-04-2022, 02:50 PM
Malky McKay would get my shout. SAME HERE

Jesus. No thanks. WTF? He's just taken County to the top 6?

**** him READ BELOW

Jeezo, if we were all judged as individuals on content on our WhatsApp/Messenger groups then I’d suggest that a sizeable proportion of our support could be labelled much the same. AGREE. WE'VE ALL READ, FORWARDED OR SENT THINGS THAT ARE FAR FROM IDEAL IN GROUP CHATS.

10-04-2022, 02:53 PM
Maloney will and should be given until the start of next season, at least. But just for fun, and in no particular order:

Malky McKay
David Martindale
Dick Campbell

I’d rather appoint The Three Stooges.

10-04-2022, 03:09 PM
Absolutely. Given the inexperience at all levels in the club now - ower, CE, recruitment and manager its not the right environment for any of them.

We need a manager who can run the whole club. We're not Man Utd and should have got someone in who knew how to run an effective football club and bring some coherence to the first team, recruitment and youth development. McInnes was the obvious candidate and, unbelievably, was free.

This isn't even hindsight, it was perfectly obvious before.

We have been pretty poor since our last relegation but Stubbs started a re-building job putting pride in the club which Lennon took on using a relatively small and consistent squad. Since Lennon self-destructed we have been floundering returning to our high turnover of players viewing them as commodities to sell on.

Get back to signing players who will be good for Hibs and not worrying about their future value. Under Stubbs and Lennon we had players who wanted to be here and cared about the club. Now, we've returned to transient players who don't have the same passion.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

Good post.

While you mention Man Utd and we aren’t Man Utd - they have had similar manager issues and need someone to bring the club together.

Hibs fans need better than Maloney and someone who will trump Ross and get the fans on side from day 1.

Having a rookie manager with rookie players is a recipe for disaster. Add in a rookie CEO and you have the current mess.

Not easy but a central figure to galvanise the support.

It just seems like the club a few people hoping for the best and its really not working with the current structure.

10-04-2022, 03:20 PM

Me too.
Lets wait and see how things are around the new year,and if Shaun has made any significant mark/improvement to both the squad and style of play... I hope so.
Or its back to the drawing board[with less money for new guy) and more threads like this one and the others on here
Some very depressing folk hang around this place. :ill:

The type you dont want to sit with on overnight bus to London !!!

Over using the bus toilet:wink:

10-04-2022, 04:15 PM
Nothing wrong with legitimate criticism, just seems a bit odd to single Hanlon out when he was by no means the worst player on the park.

Must be tough that a player you hate is a cup winning legend. Ah well.

10-04-2022, 04:20 PM
Me too.
Lets wait and see how things are around the new year,and if Shaun has made any significant mark/improvement to both the squad and style of play... I hope so.
Or its back to the drawing board[with less money for new guy) and more threads like this one and the others on here
Some very depressing folk hang around this place. :ill:

The type you dont want to sit with on overnight bus to London !!!

Over using the bus toilet:wink:

Crowds at the remaining post games are going to be low - folk are fed up and have paid their £ and many won’t attend.

Season ticket sales will drop badly and no one with half a brain cell will pay to watch us if this continues.

Wait till New Year will just set us back further and be harder to get fans back in the stadium.

mokie
10-04-2022, 04:24 PM
Nothing wrong with legitimate criticism, just seems a bit odd to single Hanlon out when he was by no means the worst player on the park.

Must be tough that a player you hate is a cup winning legend. Ah well.

its not just about yesterday , it’s been a culmination of poor performances for seasons now. Folk have posted for years about his lack of strength ,how he is weak at the back and the first goal yesterday showed that yet again.

10-04-2022, 04:27 PM
Are people really saying Malky Mackay? Why not just go for Terry Butcher again FFS.

10-04-2022, 04:30 PM
Are people really saying Malky Mackay? Why not just go for Terry Butcher again FFS.

There’s no comparison between those two

10-04-2022, 04:38 PM
Bring back Lenny to oversee this young mans apprenticeship, as director of Football he could help him big time.

loanheadhibby
10-04-2022, 04:56 PM

Of course you're entitled to rate Paul Hanlon but why would you give him legendary status at Hibs.
500 games is a great effort but that's only because no other club thought him good enough.
2016 was for many of us the best day ever but surely just being on the park that day is enough to merit legendary status.
My own opinion for what it's worth is that he's been at Easter Road too long.

10-04-2022, 04:58 PM
Of course you're entitled to rate Paul Hanlon but why would you give him legendary status at Hibs.
500 games is a great effort but that's only because no other club thought him good enough.
2016 was for many of us the best day ever but surely just being on the park that day is enough to merit legendary status.
My own opinion for what it's worth is that he's been at Easter Road too long.

Core player in 2016 cup win + 500 games for the club = Club legend.

10-04-2022, 05:03 PM
I think Paul Hanlon is pretty average. Not great but not pish. He's certainly not going to get any better now. I think having Porteous beside him makes him look better. It should really be the other way around with all his experience. Good servant but if we can replace him with better we should.

This is what I think as well. Whenever he's interviewed he comes across as a nice guy, and interesting to listen to as well, but as a player he's, as you say, alright, nothing more or less than that. Just my opinion though.

Mcbizz1998
10-04-2022, 05:04 PM
Core player in 2016 cup win + 500 games for the club = Club legend.

Hmm nah.

He hasn’t been good enough for large portions of his time with us. Great servant and a decent enough player overall but I would be keeping legend status for players who have been better than that or done something extraordinary in their time with the club.

10-04-2022, 05:06 PM
Hmm nah.

He hasn’t been good enough for large portions of his time with us. Great servant and a decent enough player overall but I would be keeping legend status for players who have been better than that or done something extraordinary in their time with the club.Who do you class as hibs legends?

10-04-2022, 05:23 PM
Going through managers at the rate we do you wonder if potential suitors from decent managerial grounding would be put off a bit now by taking on the Hibs job. If McInnes was offered the job next time round I doubt he would entertain it. Would probably have jumped at it when he was the most experienced candidate a few months back.

10-04-2022, 05:24 PM
Hmm nah.

He hasn’t been good enough for large portions of his time with us. Great servant and a decent enough player overall but I would be keeping legend status for players who have been better than that or done something extraordinary in their time with the club.

Scottish cup hoodoo breaker isn’t extraordinary????

Hanlon is unquestionably a Hibs legend.

10-04-2022, 05:26 PM
Hmm nah.

Pathetic statement.

10-04-2022, 05:34 PM
Hmm nah.

He did do something extraordinary.

10-04-2022, 05:41 PM
Hmm nah.

So scoring the equaliser in arguably one of the most significant derbies in our entire history and winning THE cup isn't enough.

10-04-2022, 05:44 PM
Hanlon is a legend, but unfortunetly its 2022, not 2016. While i wouldnt get rid of him, we could do with someone better, and someone better than rocky while we are at it.

10-04-2022, 05:47 PM
Going through managers at the rate we do you wonder if potential suitors from decent managerial grounding would be put off a bit now by taking on the Hibs job. If McInnes was offered the job next time round I doubt he would entertain it. Would probably have jumped at it when he was the most experienced candidate a few months back.

Sorry to quote you again, can’t see Derek wanting to work with our hierarchy. Remember him saying the most important relationship is manager and chairman, when Milne was the Dons one
It all broke down for him and Aberdeen, when Cormack took over, and look what a mess he’s made

10-04-2022, 05:47 PM
Hanlon is a legend, but unfortunetly its 2022, not 2016. While i wouldnt get rid of him, we could do with someone better, and someone better than rocky while we are at it.

That sums it up for me tbh.

10-04-2022, 06:15 PM
Crowds at the remaining post games are going to be low - folk are fed up and have paid their £ and many won’t attend.

Season ticket sales will drop badly and no one with half a brain cell will pay to watch us if this continues.

Wait till New Year will just set us back further and be harder to get fans back in the stadium.

As already said.... Only the danger of relegation would have Shaun gone. He is going to get more time .

Change manager now?
Since Stubbs left in 2016 4 Managers and 3 Interims
Lets continue with that course
Oh But.... Give them 4 month rolling contracts!

10-04-2022, 06:44 PM
That sums it up for me tbh.
Me to.

vercol36
10-04-2022, 07:03 PM
Yogi. I pissed myself laughing when folk suggested his name after Ross. Doesn't seem so funny now

Mcbizz1998
10-04-2022, 09:35 PM
Who do you class as hibs legends?

Players who’s names will be talked about years after they have hung up their boots and spoken in high regard by fans who never even saw them play.

Stanton
Sauzée
Gray

Names that spring to mind. Players who were exceptional or (as in Gray’s case) were responsible for a moment that will live forever.

Are we honestly saying Hanlon will be remembered in that way? That, for me, is the difference between a ‘legend’ and a good player/servant to the club.

10-04-2022, 09:42 PM
Michael o Neill

Henderson2Del
10-04-2022, 09:45 PM
Alex McLeish and Scott Brown. Co managers with McLeish doing a short term role to ease brown in

10-04-2022, 09:54 PM
Alex McLeish and Scott Brown. Co managers with McLeish doing a short term role to ease brown inSo another person who hasn't manged at all?

Hmmm

10-04-2022, 10:36 PM
Alex McLeish and Scott Brown. Co managers with McLeish doing a short term role to ease brown in

Do you recall getting your lobotomy?

10-04-2022, 10:51 PM
Sorry to quote you again, can’t see Derek wanting to work with our hierarchy. Remember him saying the most important relationship is manager and chairman, when Milne was the Dons one
It all broke down for him and Aberdeen, when Cormack took over, and look what a mess he’s made

Sadly, you may well be right. We are in a mess right now and I'm really not sure if McInnes would really be up for all that agro again. Mind you, it's still a good job for a lot of managers, it'll be interesting to see what happens if Maloney gets emptied between now and next season.

loanheadhibby
10-04-2022, 11:17 PM
Who do you class as hibs legends?

Gordon Smith, Lawrie Reilly, Joe Baker and Pat Stanton.

Dr_Regal
11-04-2022, 12:55 AM
Tony Mowbray, out of contract in summer. Would love him back

Martingale is a good shout.

11-04-2022, 04:22 AM
Paul and especially Lewis have as good an argument as pretty much anyone to be a club legend. And a much better argument than the likes of sauzee.

loanheadhibby
11-04-2022, 08:50 AM
Paul and especially Lewis have as good an argument as pretty much anyone to be a club legend. And a much better argument than the likes of sauzee.

I actually agree with your argument 're Sauzee.

11-04-2022, 09:09 AM

Agreed, the fact that both of these guys suffered our 2014 relegation, and worked their way back up to winning us the Scottish Cup is absolutely heroic looking through a hibs specific lens. I don't know how someone could be a hibs supporter and NOT consider what both of these guys have done for hibs and the community around the club as truly extraordinary.

Some peoples expectations for hibs seem genuinely baffling or still rooted in the pre 1980's era, in the modern era Hanlon and Stevenson have achieved things with hibs that it is likely we will not see for a very long time.

Auckland Hibs
11-04-2022, 09:13 AM
Michael O'Neil.

I think he'll be leaving Stoke City this summer.

11-04-2022, 09:28 AM
We will get a few draws will that not be enough

In 2013 we were 11th with 35 points - we're on 38 now - even if we lost all our next 5 matches I don't think we'd go down. It may be mathematically possible - but it requires Dundee to win every game and St Johnstone to win every game apart from Dundee and... (insert unlikely sequence of results here)

Let's hope we surprose everyone at Hampden next week - win our first match post split and then see what the future brings.

11-04-2022, 09:30 AM
Nothing but near-guaranteed success appears to be what a chunk of folks are after.

it’s all a bit of a laugh isn’t it?

whilst I thought the clubs treatment of Ross somewhat contradictory (appearing to be in it for the long haul) things had become a bit stale. Perhaps he suffered from being associated with the last regime….
we’ve already seen the disruption caused by the revolving managers door. just ask Aberdeen (From only needing to draw V Rangers on the final day “Smithy must go!” til McInnes and then back to type? Or closer to home ask Stevenson or the array of young players and the impact it has chopping and changing.

We’d benefit from a period of stability. Let’s not throw the baby out with the bath water. Let Maloney get his players in and implement his vision. Maybe Glass getting binned didn’t do him a favour. Are we really afraid to try something different in Scottish football. I wonder how Postacoglou (so?) would have gone down here? We can’t allow someone to assess our squad identify the issues, give him a few days before a January window where he also lost our main man (the mythical Jesus nut that held the team together - Vietnam ref)

FWIW I reckon that Maloney is persevering with his system to show what it’s about, and suss out who he takes with him and who needs replaced. No point in flip flopping.

Injuries have been off the chart. If he’s not playing Stevenson, McGregor and Gogic he needed to have someone with a bit of steel and experience. will wee see Stevenson next week I wonder?

Paul1642
11-04-2022, 10:56 AM

Unfortunately I heard from a pretty reliable source that that McLeish was struggling a lot with his health by the end of his last Scotland spell to the point where he would loose his train of though mid sentence and just move on to an unrelated subject. He won’t be back in the game.