View Full Version : Chris Cadden

09-04-2022, 05:09 PM
The fact so many people think this guy is one of our top performers speaks volumes about how ****in pish we are.

He has an engine but nothing else. Today we are one nil up in first half injury time in a promising position on the right and his pathetic cross basically led to them breaking up the field and scoring. He can't defend, can't attack, all he can do is run.

Symbolic of the lack of quality at Easter Road just now.

G15 Hibs
09-04-2022, 05:12 PM
A workmanlike player at best. Dare say he could be useful with decent players around him, but to be talked of as one of our best shows how dismal a situation we're in.

09-04-2022, 05:19 PM
The fact so many people think this guy is one of our top performers speaks volumes about how ****in pish we are.

He has an engine but nothing else. Today we are one nil up in first half injury time in a promising position on the right and his pathetic cross basically led to them breaking up the field and scoring. He can't defend, can't attack, all he can do is run.

Cadden is a long way from the worst of our problems right now. Embarrassing to start a thread highlighting him.

09-04-2022, 05:23 PM
Cadden is a long way from the worst of our problems right now. Embarrassing to start a thread highlighting him.

This. He’s definitely good enough and would be so much more potent if he had players in front of him capable of doing something.

Mcbizz1998
09-04-2022, 05:24 PM
I would tend to agree. I have nothing against Cadden and he actually IS one of our best players….. but that the problem.

09-04-2022, 05:25 PM
Chris cadden is the least of our problems, agree with the other poster, mental that theres a thread highlighting him

Sioux
09-04-2022, 05:25 PM

If he'd lost the ball just outside our own penalty area you might have a point. He lost the ball 100 yards away ffs. That goal was down to Hanlon, as was last week's goal.

09-04-2022, 05:27 PM
Cadden loses the ball 80 yards from goal

His fault we went in 1-1 in HT

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

09-04-2022, 05:31 PM

This. He’s definitely good enough and would be so much more potent if he had players in front of him capable of doing something.

Chris cadden is the least of our problems, agree with the other poster, mental that theres a thread highlighting him

If he'd lost the ball just outside our own penalty area you might have a point. He lost the ball 100 yards away ffs. That goal was down to Hanlon, as was last week's goal.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Genuinely disheartened by how far our standards have fallen. Cadden is such a limited player and is clearly part of the problem . I actually think he is one of our better players - that says it all.

09-04-2022, 05:33 PM

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalkhe didn’t lose the ball he passed it into the middle with no hibs player there, but agree hanlon should have dealt with the big huddle up front for them.

09-04-2022, 05:35 PM
I think there’s a grown up debate to be had about Cadden. Lots to like, has some engine and gets into lots of good positions. However he doesn’t create many goals, scoring or assisting. That’s a a real issue when he’s our sole width on the right.

I could probably change the above from Cadden to Doig. I think, among many others deficiencies in the squad, and through no real fault of their own, Doig (I know he’s being played as a CB more recently) and Cadden being our sole width is a big part of our struggles to create. Wingbacks are a specialist position and I think you almost need athletic wingers who can also do the basics of defending to make it work.

09-04-2022, 05:35 PM
I think Cadden is ok but I've noticed he plays far better in first halfs than he does after the break.

09-04-2022, 05:38 PM
he didn’t lose the ball he passed it into the middle with no hibs player there, but agree hanlon should have dealt with the big huddle up front for them.

He gave the ball away with a **** final ball. Not unusual, his final ball is brutal.

09-04-2022, 05:40 PM
Genuinely disheartened by how far our standards have fallen. Cadden is such a limited player and is clearly part of the problem . I actually think he is one of our better players - that says it all.

I get what you’re saying totally. Cadden is limited, he’s energetic, but limited. Rarely beats a man, tends to launch crosses into the box, when the lone striker is outnumbered three v one. It worked with Clark’s goal last week, but more often than not, we just give away the ball.

Some of the daft comments in response to me saying this just show me how much people need to take off the green tinted specs.

He’s not gash, but he’s not really that good.

Inconsequential
09-04-2022, 05:42 PM
Chris Cadden - the new Drey Wright. :greengrin

09-04-2022, 05:43 PM
I think he’s always been alright. Consistent without being great.

It was only a few weeks ago a few posters were in disbelief that he wasn’t called-up by Steve Clarke though.

09-04-2022, 05:45 PM

It was only a few weeks ago a few posters were in disbelief that he wasn’t called-up by Steve Clarke though.

The delusional fringe of Hibs.Net, and it was more than a few.

09-04-2022, 05:45 PM
I get what you’re saying totally. Cadden is limited, he’s energetic, but limited. Rarely beats a man, tends to launch crosses into the box, when the lone striker is outnumbered three v one. It worked with Clark’s goal last week, but more often than not, we just give away the ball.

Some of the daft comments in response to me saying this just show me how much people need to take off the green tinted specs.

:agree::agree::agree:

loanheadhibby
09-04-2022, 05:48 PM

Yes fair point and yet some on here wanted him in the Scotland squad a few weeks ago.
Like most of our squad he is just an ordinary player but as you rightly point out shouldn't be singled out.

Sioux
09-04-2022, 05:48 PM

That's not Cadden's fault. That's a fault of the system deployed.

Put your specs on.

09-04-2022, 05:49 PM

The delusional fringe of Hibs.Net, and it was more than a few.

:agree::agree:

09-04-2022, 05:51 PM
That's not Cadden's fault. That's a fault of the system deployed.

Put your specs on.

Aye, Cadden couldn’t possibly engage his brain and use some footballing intelligence? I think he takes the easy option because he’s not confident in his ability to do anything else with the ball. Sweeping in a cross to the lone striker is a cop out.

1875Sean
09-04-2022, 06:14 PM
Works hard but how some people can think he is near the Scotland squad are dreaming

09-04-2022, 06:38 PM
Works hard but how some people can think he is near the Scotland squad are dreaming

He's no worse than Paul McGinn who made the Scotland squad

09-04-2022, 06:54 PM
Runs up and down in a straight line. Lack of quality at either end though. Just another one of our average players that is, apparently, good.

1875Sean
09-04-2022, 06:56 PM

When Paul McGinn was called up he was in a good Hibs side, keeping clean sheets and providing assists

GreenGray
09-04-2022, 06:57 PM
He was **** today. Poor cross (no shock there) leads to their first goal and he gives the ball away for their third goal. At least he can run though! We accept the bare minimum as hibs fans sometimes

09-04-2022, 07:01 PM

A fit McGinn far better IMO.

09-04-2022, 07:14 PM
A fit McGinn far better IMO.

Naw. No way. Better defender? 50/50 on that, attacking threat, nah, Cadden wins that hands down.

09-04-2022, 07:27 PM
Naw. No way. Better defender? 50/50 on that, attacking threat, nah, Cadden wins that hands down.

Cadden is faster no doubt. Who has more goals for Hibs? Who has more asissts? Guarantee its McGinn.

09-04-2022, 07:32 PM
🤦🤦🤦🤦 Chris Cadden isnt why we lost today. We were **** all over the park, rudderless and no shape. No plan B.

09-04-2022, 07:40 PM
🤦🤦🤦🤦 Chris Cadden isnt why we lost today. We were **** all over the park, rudderless and no shape. No plan B.

Nobody said he was the sole reason for the defeat :brickwall

He played a big part in it though.

09-04-2022, 07:57 PM

But you single him out

09-04-2022, 10:49 PM
I would love to know what he was doing for the first goal.

46th minute, he’s played through on the right wing and it’s a 2 v 3 in the box, instead of flying it in or keeping it to see the half out he cuts it back to absolutely no one on the edge of the box.

10-04-2022, 07:27 AM

Agree with you, there is a lot more to worry about in this team than Chris Cadden

10-04-2022, 10:17 AM

Possibly, debatable. The point is that neither of their ability or form should be demanding places in the scotland squad.

#2 Double Tap
10-04-2022, 11:07 AM
good attacking wingback.

his passing could be better, but he does have that engine and moves forward with the ball often. his crossing is mostly decent and he puts a lot of crosses into the box.

imo cadden, porto, doig and newell are the best players we have.

10-04-2022, 03:24 PM
he didn’t lose the ball he passed it into the middle with no hibs player there, but agree hanlon should have dealt with the big huddle up front for them.

You sound like that big radge woman on Sportscene.

Jdawg
10-04-2022, 04:07 PM
I would love to know what he was doing for the first goal.

46th minute, he’s played through on the right wing and it’s a 2 v 3 in the box, instead of flying it in or keeping it to see the half out he cuts it back to absolutely no one on the edge of the box.

Absolutely ridiculous pass. Hold it in corner and get to HT 1-0. Not only was there no hibs players there was 2 hearts ones. One who slipped and it rolled to the other. Utter dugmeat