09-04-2022, 03:16 PM
Get to ****.

09-04-2022, 03:17 PM
Been clueless since day one.

09-04-2022, 03:18 PM
I said when he first signed he'll be like Cathro was to Hearts, it was too obvious. The man emits no charisma or confidence and that shows in his team.

1875Sean
09-04-2022, 03:19 PM
Agreed, the squad isn’t the best but it’s been clear his system isn’t working and playing guys out of position, no doubt another manager can get better out of this squad

09-04-2022, 03:21 PM
The peg on which his coat resides gets shooglier by the minute

LunasBoots
09-04-2022, 03:21 PM
Yup, see ya Maloney, rookie manager who like Caldwell at Partick talked a good game and that's about it. Clueless

09-04-2022, 03:23 PM
Should never have been given the job in the first place, not got a ****in clue how to set up a team, got the job because he was good at putting the cones out for Belgium.

****in useless.

09-04-2022, 03:24 PM
Cost us too much money to get rid. He’s here for the unforseeable future :rolleyes:

Walter
Has to go. Has done nothing positive in his time here. I don't normally advocate sackings and am normally patient but if we can sack someone for qualifying for a cup final we cannot be taking this.

We aren’t any better than before he was here and are actually getting worse. That says it all.

09-04-2022, 03:25 PM
Get him to ****. Admit we made an expensive mistake and move on.

Utterly hopeless.

Steve88
09-04-2022, 03:25 PM
Campbell for Wright + melkerson for Scott....

For that alone he should be sacked

09-04-2022, 03:26 PM
Has to go. Has done nothing positive in his time here. I don't normally advocate sackings and am normally patient but if we can sack someone for qualifying for a cup final we cannot be taking this.

It was Ross or dross. We went for dross.

Dmas
09-04-2022, 03:26 PM
We aren’t any better than before he was here and are actually getting worse. That says it all.

7th when he arrived so far we’re still higher in the league….

09-04-2022, 03:27 PM
Cost us too much money to get rid. He’s here for the unforseeable future :rolleyes:

It’s costing us a lot to keep him.

Well Ron and Ben he go's or fans go
The decision is yours

mcfly
Team of utter bottlers.

Massive clear out needed….

09-04-2022, 03:28 PM
Meh

Get Boyle back as player manager.

Walter
09-04-2022, 03:28 PM

Will be cheaper than relegation next season

09-04-2022, 03:29 PM
If we lose next week he should be gone by next Saturday night.

09-04-2022, 03:30 PM
7th when he arrived so far we’re still higher in the league….

Ah, all good then!

Zambernardi1875
Was delighted when we got him, expected great things after first few games but been absolutely terrible every week since. 1-0 up today and done nothing since

ErinGoBraghHFC
If we lose next week he should be gone by next Saturday night.Agreed, give him the semi final but this is sickening

Sent from my Nokia 3.4 using Tapatalk

09-04-2022, 03:31 PM
Nope. They're both staying to do what their paid for with what they brought to our club. Their not taking the easy way out.

09-04-2022, 03:31 PM

He should be gone tonight. He has not got a clue.

franck sauzee
09-04-2022, 03:32 PM
Can folk still see what's he's trying to do? Absolutely useless and yes there's been injuries but what players come into this team? Nisbet and Magennis? 2 players out and we're abysmal

09-04-2022, 03:32 PM
Campbell for Wright + melkerson for Scott....

For that alone he should be sacked

This. How he is still playing them is astonishing.

All the Maloney backers that have been claiming they can see what hes trying to do and are feeling optimistic.....time for you to admit you've been living in cloud cuckoo land.

09-04-2022, 03:33 PM
Well done to the Hibs fans who chased Jack Ross out the club. Absolutely clueless once again.

Greenio
09-04-2022, 03:34 PM
He'll be here till October
Will get fully backed in the summer
Like it or not, but that's the truth

(Unless we get relegated)

09-04-2022, 03:35 PM
Well done to the Hibs fans who chased Jack Ross out the club. Absolutely clueless once again.

Blame the owner. He sacked him.

He's taken us backwards at a frightening rate but seems utterly bulletproof. Rod Petrie and STF would be getting pelters if they were still here but 'Ron' must not be criticised. He's not got a clue about Scottish football and it shows.

09-04-2022, 03:38 PM

Should be tonight

09-04-2022, 03:39 PM
Should be tonight

We need some sort of lift before the semi or I fear for us. Get SDG in for the semi.

JamesHFC

Don’t think the fans sacked him mate.

Ron and Ben can **** off too. Disgusting the mess they have made.

JamesHFC
09-04-2022, 03:40 PM
He’s going nowhere, he be here next season.

09-04-2022, 03:42 PM

He's taken us backwards at a frightening rate but seems utterly bulletproof. Rod Petrie and STF would be getting pelters if they were still here but 'Ron' must not be criticised. He's not got a clue about Scottish football and it shows.

Correct. Sacking Jack Ross was an appalling decision from a rookie owner.

09-04-2022, 03:42 PM
I’m pretty much a happy clapper and all for giving people time. However, the Campbell sub swung me…

09-04-2022, 03:43 PM
ONE win in the THIRTEEN league games since the winter break (Ross County at home).

I can't say I'd be especially upset if he was mutually consented tomorrow.

I’ve been supportive of the idea so far, it takes time to implement new systems and what not, but at the end of the day, we binned Ross for having us in the bottom half and not getting the results in the big games. Maloney, despite the fact every team from 4th to 10th has seem determined to avoid winning games, has in the bottom half, choking against Hearts.

It’s all well and good having a plan or system you want to use, but you also have to make the most of the players we’ve got, so either he simply can’t do this, or has been given the ok to **** away this season.

Yep. :agree:

09-04-2022, 03:44 PM
Ron Gordon needs better advisors. I don't think he knows what he is doing. Certainly looks like we're sinking under his reign. His son being involved in our player recruitment isn't great either.

Just_Jimmy
Emperors new clothes

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

18Craig75
He is out of his depth. Cut loose now before it gets more painful for all parties.

Then let’s address the wider issues; Ron, Ben, Head of recruitment.

09-04-2022, 03:46 PM
Cue the usual nonsense from Maloney at full time…..”couldn’t fault the effort, happy with part of our play, areas we can work on” Blah, blah, blah…….he’s not got a clue. Bad enough starting with Wright but then replacing him with Campbell😂😂

09-04-2022, 03:47 PM
Its been obvious since the Cove game Maloney is out his depth managing. Get him punted before next week and give David Gray a go.

Soft / clueless manager.
Awful recruitment.

This club needs a serious reboot.

The Maloney experiment has failed - new manager and new players with tougher mentality needed.

Do not give him a transfer window.

Not going to renew ST unless he goes and replaced with a decent manager and better players - not just some youth projects.

Relegation beckons next season if he is still with us then.

He’s going nowhere, he be here next season.

Well there will be a lot who are not

ONE win in the THIRTEEN league games since the winter break (Ross County at home).

That record is terrible. Absolutely terrible.

didn't want him

still don't

but in his defence, he did inherit one thing from the previous manager, a freakin horrendous injury list, just horrendous our injuries this season

09-04-2022, 03:48 PM
Soft / clueless manager.
Awful recruitment.

This club needs a serious reboot.

The Maloney experiment has failed - new manager and new players with tougher mentality needed.

Do not give him a transfer window.

Do not give him another week. Do it tonight.

JamesHFC
Well there will be a lot who are not

Each to their own.

Ps if Jimmy Scott pulls on a Hibs shirt in anger again I’ll ****ing do time. Indicative of this season: disappointing, underwhelming and utter *****.

09-04-2022, 03:49 PM
He can go. He's taking us nowhere other than a probable near miss with relegation. Get it done in enough time for a new manager to plan ahead for next season.

Definitely the boy is out his depth and Caldwell

Just go tonight Shaun. Do the right thing.

09-04-2022, 03:50 PM
His basic target was top 6 so he’s failed and should be gone.

The Captain....
09-04-2022, 03:53 PM
Absolutely shambolic state the club is in.

Get SDG to take the team for the semi although with the ***** in that squad Pep couldn't get a tune out them.

Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk

berwickhibee
09-04-2022, 03:54 PM
Supported him until now.

No sign of improvement, we are actually getting worse.

Dragging us into a relegation battle, beyond useless.

Ron and Ben have made a huge mistake.

broondog
09-04-2022, 03:55 PM
Times up for him, get him out now for any chance next week although we have much bigger problems. Honestly not going to bother now until something changes, will be giving my ticket away **** off

LunasBoots
09-04-2022, 03:57 PM
Walking towards the Hibs fans shaking his head in direction of players, needs to go as do the majority of this team.

wilkie_1
Get to ****.

1 win in 13 games……..GTF. Cup semi has got the looks of a 5-1 all over it 😡. A strong hearts side and a hibs side with a bunch of nobodies and clueless manager!

I’m pretty much a happy clapper and all for giving people time. However, the Campbell sub swung me…

It worried me before game and it proved to be the case.

Maloney said how the scores in our games and around us will influence our subs and it seemed at 1-0 he thought see it our with an hour left.

In fairness I think Jasper was injured but surely you put Henderson on.

Must go now. We then need to look at the process that led us to him, and make sure we learn our lesson.

Lots of Hibs fans (myself included) have been struggling to reconnect with the club after covid and right now my desire to get to Easter Road is close to 0. We are in real danger of losing a big chunk of our support, possibly for good.

AL-Qaholik
09-04-2022, 03:58 PM
Get him so far tae ****!
Gordon & Kensel with him.
This is an unacceptable top-down failure.

ZitellZeTime
09-04-2022, 03:59 PM
Yeah I felt a bit sorry for the situation he inherited but it seems to be getting worse.

When wright came off about 10 mins before the first half brings on Campbell when we had Jasper and Hendo on the bench.

I was delighted when we scored but I had a feeling we would start sitting deep and inviting them onto us and they would win, then again they might have won even if we didnt score first.

Cost a bit to pay him off I imagine though so id be surprised if he's sacked soon. He actually seems a good guy, does seem to know what he's talking about but its hard to implement a style the Belgian national team have with the squad we have. To play that style you'd have to be rangers or Celtic and sign the correct players to play that style and use it well against teams. Either that or have plenty funds to bring in youngsters wiho show the attributes of what you need to implement that style.

Its clear as day the players have no clue what they're meant to be doing. Two brutal times to lose a goal though. Right before half time and right after. Not sure it would have made much difference but it definitely would have galvanised those ***** for the second half.

I'm reluctant to call for anybody's sacking so soon, but the stats are terrible, as is our style of play. It's worrying in such a mediocre league. He needs results fast because this form is unsustainable.

Emperors new clothes

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

If you’re talking about all those people who were telling us we were seeing a “night and day” transformation after a couple of weeks then you are spot on.

The most ill thought out managerial change we’ve made in many a year and it’s probably confined us to years in the wilderness with a revolving door of players and coaches.

We’ve been unlucky with injuries but the football on show has been as bad as I’ve seen in a long time.

09-04-2022, 04:00 PM
Can’t wait for his wee Harry Potter chat after that one. Proud of his boys for sticking with the game plan. 🙄

sorrow sorrow
Maloney knew all about Rocky,it was his signing,for that alone he can’t be trusted with the the summer transfer window.
Get rid asap

Greenwich_Hibby
He's out of his depth, we made a bad choice, need to get rid now.

09-04-2022, 04:01 PM
Get him so far tae ****!

In a nutshell. We are a shambles on and off the pitch. Failure to make top 6 is a disgrace.

09-04-2022, 04:02 PM
Each to their own.

So you are saying fine its OK for 50 year St to walk away

I'm hoping this is a price we're paying for some fantastic football next season. He'll be staying but a bad first half to the campaign and the pressure will be really on because there will be no excuses.
Saying that, losing to hearts twice, once in the cup and once to ensure we're bottom six...that's dead man walking stuff.

I'm reluctant to call for anybody's sacking so soon, but the stats are terrible, as is our style of play. It's worrying in such a mediocre league. He needs results fast because this form is unsustainable.

His philosophy, such as it is, is all about when we are in possession. There is very little work rate when we are out of possession. Just a lot of jogging about. It’s pitiful.
Another game where only managed one shot at goal. Absolutely pathetic.

09-04-2022, 04:03 PM
Was prepared to give him a chance but based on the last few weeks there is no improvement today was embarrassing. Lack of game management lack of effort. Must go now

09-04-2022, 04:03 PM
Totally lost. Absolute shambles.

He won’t be going before the weekend but a (likely) heavy defeat and he needs to be given the bullet.

I won’t be renewing my season ticket until I see some ambition and change at ER.

09-04-2022, 04:04 PM
The bigger problem is becoming more apparant now - owner, CEO and recruitment.

Owner and CEO talk a good game but haven't actually delivered much apart from a couple of TVs and some music on pitch before derbies. Be like Sevilla and Atletico Madrid? Does Ron Gordon actually watch them? We're the polar opposite to them. Hard working, robust and skilful vs lethargic, weak and poor first touch.

Recruitment? Absolute disgrace last summer and the loans brought in during January were to paper over the cracks, we did the same under Fenlon's tenure and that led us down a very dark path. Loans don't care about the club, simple as that.

You can certainly justify Ross leaving. In a similar way you can justify Maloney leaving. However, we need to take a look at those around them. I'm not even sure about Steve Kean tbh...

Johnny Clash
09-04-2022, 04:04 PM
The way the football business works nowadays - if we don’t win the semi then I think it’s pretty much certain he’ll go. No idea who would replace him though. Can’t think of any obvious choices out there.

09-04-2022, 04:05 PM
Was in the next season camp , but i fear the worst for next week and for next season.

Questions need to be asked.

delbert
09-04-2022, 04:05 PM
1 win in 13 games……..GTF. Cup semi has got the looks of a 5-1 all over it 😡. A strong hearts side and a hibs side with a bunch of nobodies and clueless manager!

We have made an absolutely massive error appointing Maloney, he hasn’t got a clue and is sleepwalking this club to disaster. As soon as I saw he was in the frame, I was extremely worried, he has a CV which revolves around carrying Roberto Martinez’s lunch box for four years and thats about it. As a TV pundit prior to his appointment, he was dreary and boring and we now have a team which plays football in their managers’ image, right up there with Fenlon and Calderwood, and very little will convince me otherwise

09-04-2022, 04:06 PM
It's almost like we shouldn't be handing out vital, specialist roles to unqualified people just because they're related to the owner

hibee1875
I’ve been a give him timer.

Today was the last straw. The Campbell sub was bizarre. Bringing Scott on again. Waste of a jersey.

Far too many passengers in this team with a manager who doesn’t know how to address it

richard_pitts
we are only 8 off 11th right now and all the other teams are picking up points. 11th is not impossible and i would not fancy us in a play off. He needs to go and the Board need to go for sacking Ross and appointing the muppet.

09-04-2022, 04:07 PM
The fact he’s sticking with the exact same system and style of play is baffling. It’s clearly not working and not improving so change it. It’s all well and good pointing to the same philosophy at Celtc but they have ever so slightly better players and a load of them were bought with it in mind.

We’ve got Josh Campbell and Rocky Bushiri trying to play like Belgium ffs

Stokesy's on fire
09-04-2022, 04:07 PM
Get him out this has gone on for long enough the lads a disaster

09-04-2022, 04:08 PM
I'm really getting quite angry at how we could sack a well respected manager and replaced him with a novice who's clearly out of his depth.

The Toun Hibee
Should never have been appointed but we’re stuck with him now. Needs time to sort whatever system he wants but the poor season was not all his making. Ron Gordon chose to get rid of a solid manager so he needs to take the flack, not Maloney. Need to give Maloney next season unfortunately.

8pts ahead of st johnston with 5 games to go, easily deep in ****

09-04-2022, 04:09 PM
I’m going to sleep on it. But gut instinct is not to go now. I don’t know why.

09-04-2022, 04:10 PM
What’s that now, 15 points from 15 games? 11 goals I think. Four of them were in the two games in the first few days he was in the door, so 7 goals in 13 games since he actually has had a decent amount of time with the players.

20% win ratio in the league. Awful, awful stats.

James Stephen

Owner and CEO talk a good game but haven't actually delivered much apart from a couple of TVs and some music on pitch before derbies. Be like Sevilla and Atletico Madrid? Does Ron Gordon actually watch them? We're the polar opposite to them. Hard working, robust and skilful vs lethargic, weak and poor first touch.

Recruitment? Absolute disgrace last summer and the loans brought in during January were to paper over the cracks, we did the same under Fenlon's tenure and that led us down a very dark path. Loans don't care about the club, simple as that.

You can certainly justify Ross leaving. In a similar way you can justify Maloney leaving. However, we need to take a look at those around them. I'm not even sure about Steve Kean tbh...

Hibs have a manager, a head of recruitment and a chief executive who are all novices. Not one of them has ever done their current job before, and they dont know Scottish football. And it shows.

It was such a left field appointment it was always going to go one of two ways, sadly it looks like he's a dud. Giving where we were at the winter break, not to get into the top 6 is embarrassing and says a lot about how poor the playing squad and the team management are. Fortunately it looks like Dundee and St Johnstone are rooted to the bottom otherwise we'd be in deep s***.

09-04-2022, 04:11 PM
The way the football business works nowadays - if we don’t win the semi then I think it’s pretty much certain he’ll go. No idea who would replace him though. Can’t think of any obvious choices out there.

When Jack Ross went I thought Ron Gordon would use his contacts (is he not friends with one of the investors/owners of Lille?) and look at an experienced foreign manager. Sadly, we seem fixated on British managers even if they have zero experience. It's like we are hoping for the next Mowbray...

Can we get an update from Ron and Ken this coming week? Q&A maybe?

Rondon
09-04-2022, 04:11 PM
I’m one that wants maloney to get the summer to make some signings and have his own team.

Personally I saw positives at the utd game last week.

But 1 win 13, I can’t stick up for that.

I wouldn’t sack him yet still, that’s the last thing we need before the cup game.

But bottom 6, attendances will b lucky to hit even 10k for any game.

Ffs man I’m so angry with that 2nd half 😡😡😡

09-04-2022, 04:13 PM
The worrying thing is I now don't trust Ron and Ben to appoint Maloney's replacement. Neither have a clue about Scottish football. We've taken a massive backwards step over the last 10 months. Absolute car crash management of the club. At least we have nice big screens though.

09-04-2022, 04:15 PM
Mental, only Hibs could go from finishing 3rd and having a good season to completely bottling it when Hearts are back in the league. The last 6 months have been a disgrace, complete upheaval and we are a poorer side than we have been for a while.

If Jack Ross getting sacked is the yardstick then there is justification for Maloney going.

We should go and get McInnes.

09-04-2022, 04:16 PM
Agreed, give him the semi final but this is sickening

Sent from my Nokia 3.4 using TapatalkI don't normally come on to these sort of threads (I normally avoid the board altogether when we loose) and I often tend to give our players/managers a bit too much leeway... however, I'm now starting to get a little concerned he ain't the one to take us forward.

09-04-2022, 04:17 PM
Club made a rod for there own back in stupidly sacking Ross

Maloney will now be under real pressure as we just lost alot of income through gate receipts

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

09-04-2022, 04:17 PM
Thought Jack Ross should go and struggling to see how Maloney stays if he loses next week if we play the same. Absolutely ragdolled all over today.

After all the chat pregame about not being worried about losing battles etc and being up for the fight. Laughable.

CB Hibs 68
09-04-2022, 04:18 PM

I agree.Ron has no idea about Scottish Football nor more importantly how to run a Football Club.After all is said and done he pulls the shots as far as key appointments are concerned so he is responsible for appointing Kensall Maloney and his wee boy as Head of recruitment.We are not in a good place on or off the Pitch.ST sales will plummet and certainly get no where near the 13000 Ron mentioned at the recent share holders meeting.

we are only 8 off 11th right now and all the other teams are picking up points. 11th is not impossible and i would not fancy us in a play off. He needs to go and the Board need to go for sacking Ross and appointing the muppet.

Fans aren’t going to turn up for bottom 6 games either.

Worryingly don’t think the players have the right to get many points in last few games and the loan players aren’t bothered.

Even signings like Mueller in a relegation fight ?

We are really in a bad place and can only see it getting worse.

hulk
The worrying thing is I now don't trust Ron and Ben to appoint Maloney's replacement. Neither have a clue about Scottish football.
Surely just knowing about football should be enough. Scottish football isn’t that different

09-04-2022, 04:19 PM
The worrying thing is I now don't trust Ron and Ben to appoint Maloney's replacement. Neither have a clue about Scottish football.

Don't need to have a clue about Scottish football. They need to have a clue about running a football club and ensure it wins more than it loses. They appointed an inexperienced manager that knows Scottish football, we were spiralling under a more experienced Scottish manager that knows Scottish football.

We need to sign the best players possible. We look to sign players even though we don't know how we will use them (if we do) - Tait and McKay step forward. Genuinely looks like our signing policy belongs in Football Manager. No team building, no philosophy. Money ball type approach based on data and hope rather than anything else.

I agree though, I have no confidence in them making a managerial appointment.

Not good enough. Sack him. Got to earn a summer to build your own team, his record is very poor and it's clearly not worked.

I can't point out one thing about Maloney's tenure thus far which makes me excited for next season, it's all promises and not a single tangible improvement on the park from his first game to now.

****ing absolutely *****!

Rondon
Mental, only Hibs could go from finishing 3rd and having a good season to completely bottling it when Hearts are back in the league. The last 6 months have been a disgrace, complete upheaval and we are a poorer side than we have been for a while.

If Jack Ross getting sacked is the yardstick then there is justification for Maloney going.

We should go and get McInnes.

No we definitely shouldn’t that’s an awful appointment

09-04-2022, 04:20 PM
I'm reluctant to call for anybody's sacking so soon, but the stats are terrible, as is our style of play. It's worrying in such a mediocre league. He needs results fast because this form is unsustainable.Same here, I like to give the benefit of the doubt but just want Maloney out the door ASAP. I've witnessed some minging teams in my 50 years watching Hibs and this lot are up there with the worst.

Sent from my SM-A505FN using Tapatalk

09-04-2022, 04:21 PM
There's not any signs of improvement to cling to.

09-04-2022, 04:22 PM
Butcheresque.

Get the clown to absolute ****.

AL-Qaholik
09-04-2022, 04:26 PM
Does anyone genuinely believe giving him the summer window will make any difference?!
Of his signings, Clarke looks a player. And that’s it.
His system, tactics and utterly baffling substitutions are clearly nowhere near the level we require/deserve/demand.

Giving him the summer just gives the next poor chump even more dross to clear out in October when the inevitable happens.

No chance we should be taking that risk.

09-04-2022, 04:27 PM
I think we have a decent enough squad. This clown has just made them worse.

He was a ridiculous appointment. He has to go.

09-04-2022, 04:28 PM

No this is an awful appointment, McInnes would get results.

09-04-2022, 04:29 PM
No this is an awful appointment, McInnes would get results.

McInnes would instantly make us better.

Stokesy's on fire
09-04-2022, 04:30 PM
I’m going to sleep on it. But gut instinct is not to go now. I don’t know why.

Maybe you are a sucker for Punishment?

09-04-2022, 04:30 PM
McInnes would instantly make us better.

The squad is appalling, at the moment I’m not sure Guardiola could improve that level of pish.

SickBoy32
09-04-2022, 04:31 PM
Get him so far tae ****!

Spot on by the way, a frightening regression in the club within the last 12 months.

BK an SM out now

SDG in to give us a chance in the semi

Ticket sales, regardless of the result next week will likely determine his future.

skyehibee
Maloney has turned us into the hibs of old - boyband no fight stuff

He’s utterly clueless and needs punted pronto.

Cathro with a playing career behind him.

09-04-2022, 04:33 PM
I think we have a decent enough squad. This clown has just made them worse.

He was a ridiculous appointment. He has to go.

We really don’t have a good squad.

The spine is soft. Keeper a Marciano downgrade. Centre backs change every week. Centre midfield poor since SJM left and I include Newell and JDH in that. Front players - well don’t get me started but no service and not many goals .

It’s a line some folk believe and in reality teams know we are soft, inexperienced and don’t score many goals.

I don’t think we have trouble makers in the squad but they are all just a bit too nice and clean cut.

Every team needs some bite and experience and it makes it even worse out signing policy is now youth projects making us look like a youth team.

09-04-2022, 04:34 PM

Exactly.

Kensell is clueless. So is Maloney.

Sadly back to the pre Dempster days of absolute dugmeat from top to bottom.

Guardiola couldn’t get that team playing football

09-04-2022, 04:35 PM
What was it Kensell said about the January window? 6/10 or 7/10, something like that.

Problem goes above Maloney. Sadly, I think this bumpy ride is going to continue for a while. Clueless is the word that springs to mind.

Sevilla and Atletico Madrid...is Ron Gordon trolling us?

Steven79
09-04-2022, 04:36 PM
I'm not renewing for next season till Maloney is punted as I'm not paying good money to watch that pish every week.

Losing games is one thing but the manner we lose is what's so hard to take as this squad of players have no heart or bottle and I just can't relate to them and we have regressed so much in the past few years it's frightening.

We bottled top 6 and we bottled 3 great chances at winning cups recently and it's clearly more than just the fault of Jack Ross or Shaun Maloney so we need a good clear out of players as well.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

ZitellZeTime
09-04-2022, 04:36 PM
If they sack him am applying for the job, gonna show them how well I did for Salford on football manager, and how I have Hibs currently in the quarter finals due to play Shaktar in europa league in second season only 6 points off the top, Edited Melkerson after his debut and made Jasper a bit better too though. Melkerson false 9 Jasper and my own named player on the other side from Jasper.

Newell and a new signing as centre mid and new signing as CDM, doig left, new signing right back, two new signings right back, Dabrowski as cover for this young goalkeeper called Vandervoodt or something, he's Belgian too so that might impress them. I got rid of loads of the deadwood too.

I'd prob be in the champs league by now if I didn't have to wait til the bairn was asleep to play it.

09-04-2022, 04:37 PM

Yes all those 2nd and 3rd place finishes would be awful. How are Aberdeen doing since he left? How were they doing before he got there?
McInnes would be a great appointment.

Steven79
09-04-2022, 04:38 PM
Yes all those 2nd and 3rd place finishes would be awful. How are Aberdeen doing since he left? How were they doing before he got there?
McInnes would be a great appointment.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkHe would have had us comfortably top six.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

The Captain....
09-04-2022, 04:39 PM
What was it Kensell said about the January window? 6/10 or 7/10, something like that.

Problem goes above Maloney. Sadly, I think this bumpy ride is going to continue for a while. Clueless is the word that springs to mind.

Sevilla and Atletico Madrid...is Ron Gordon trolling us?Gordon and Kensell are utterly deluded..they are grinding the club into the ground.

Bottom six at the split is a catastrophic failure that requires top down changes.

This bunch of players haven't hit rock bottom yet either, they are collectively ****ing horse****.

Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk

We really don’t have a good squad.

The spine is soft. Keeper a Marciano downgrade. Centre backs change every week. Centre midfield poor since SJM left and I include Newell and JDH in that. Front players - well don’t get me started but no service and not many goals .

It’s a line some folk believe and in reality teams know we are soft, inexperienced and don’t score many goals.

I don’t think we have trouble makers in the squad but they are all just a bit too nice and clean cut.

Every team needs some bite and experience and it makes it even worse out signing policy is now youth projects making us look like a youth team.

We don’t have a good squad but we’ve got a few good players. Unfortunately we have some hopeless deficiencies.

A decent manager and a transfer window could easily turn this into a good squad.

We’ve got something to work with, for sure. I’d expect a tactically astute manager would quite fancy working with what we have towards our expectations as a club.

He would have had us comfortably top six.

Sent from my SM-G960F using TapatalkYeah but it only counts if we are playing like liverpool or something

Flair or I do not care.

09-04-2022, 04:40 PM
If they sack him am applying for the job, gonna show them how well I did for Salford on football manager, and how I have Hibs currently in the quarter finals due to play Shaktar in europa league in second season only 6 points off the top, Edited Melkerson after his debut and made Jasper a bit better too though. Melkerson false 9 Jasper and my own named player on the other side from Jasper.

Newell and a new signing as centre mid and new signing as CDM, doig left, new signing right back, two new signings right back, Dabrowski as cover for this young goalkeeper called Vandervoodt or something, he's Belgian too so that might impress them. I got rid of loads of the deadwood too.

I'd prob be in the champs league by now if I didn't have to wait til the bairn was asleep to play it.

Can’t see that Shaktar game going ahead. [emoji51][emoji6]

09-04-2022, 04:41 PM
Ron would go up in my estimations if he holds Maloney to the same standards he held Jack Ross to and sacks Maloney tonight. His form is every bit as bad and probably worse than the form that got Ross sacked. Get him gone and give a proper manager the summer window and make up for this absolute **** show that's been created.

09-04-2022, 04:42 PM
I suspect a more experienced and street wise manager would not have come to Hibs , knowing the money ball type transfer policy.

Maloney is totally out of his depth and the club are sinking fast on the field. An 8 point lead should be enough to survive in the league, but I can see this lot capitulating.

Get rid of him this week and hand the reigns to Gray.

Gordon’s ownership is beginning to look pretty tarnished too. Sackings, nepotism, lack of quality signings. If this carries on, we will see a big decrease in season tickets. Get Maloney to ****

09-04-2022, 04:45 PM
Genuianly give it to Stubbs

Zambernardi1875
09-04-2022, 04:46 PM

Jack Ross was ****ing murder get over it

09-04-2022, 04:47 PM
He should be sacked tonight, there’s no way we’re getting a result next week anyway. Bringing on Campbell and Scott is the final straw.

09-04-2022, 04:49 PM

Only manager in about 70 years to finish below Falkirk?
Great day in the cup but he was terrible in the championship.

09-04-2022, 04:50 PM
We don’t have a good squad but we’ve got a few good players. Unfortunately we have some hopeless deficiencies.

A decent manager and a transfer window could easily turn this into a good squad.

We’ve got something to work with, for sure. I’d expect a tactically astute manager would quite fancy working with what we have towards our expectations as a club.

This isn’t a knee jerk - the players aren’t good enough post but I really don’t think we have a good squad who have the mental toughness or quality to progress.

Macey is a downgrade from what we had. He simply doesn’t make enough saves.

McGinn - gives away too many pens
Rocky - erratic
JDH - erratic
Mueller - too light weight
Henderson - same as Mueller
Wright - had his chance
Scott - useless
Allan - sadly not got the sharpness
Campbell - not enough quality on the ball
McGregor - would rarely play
Cadden - lack of end product and can’t defend / isn’t a full back
Doidge - injury set backs

Would keep but even some questions marks with some of them..

Doig
Clarke
Newell
Hanlon
Stevenson
Melkersen
Nisbet
Porto
Jasper
Mitchell

That’s half the current squad no where near good enough.

09-04-2022, 04:51 PM
Ross County were bottom of the league and had three points after their first ten games. We were 12 ahead of them. 23 games later they’re two points and two places above us in 5th, and we’re consigned to bottom six.

Awful, awful season.

09-04-2022, 04:52 PM
I suspect a more experienced and street wise manager would not have come to Hibs , knowing the money ball type transfer policy.

Maloney is totally out of his depth and the club are sinking fast on the field. An 8 point lead should be enough to survive in the league, but I can see this lot capitulating.

Get rid of him this week and hand the reigns to Gray.

Gordon’s ownership is beginning to look pretty tarnished too. Sackings, nepotism, lack of quality signings. If this carries on, we will see a big decrease in season tickets. Get Maloney to ****

Just out of interest, what was the gap Butcher had? We went from 7th to 11th and I can see something similar happening here as I can’t see where the next win is coming from with Maloney in charge

09-04-2022, 04:53 PM
Ross County were bottom of the league and had three points after their first ten games. We were 12 ahead of them. 23 games later they’re two points and two places above us in 5th, and we’re consigned to bottom six.

Awful, awful season.Was malky McKay tye manager the whole time?

09-04-2022, 04:55 PM
Didn't want him. But backed the appointment. And actually enjoyed the "big" games in December/Jan

Since then it's been a **** show. Glimpses of a team trying to play football and appearing strong at the back.

Until today I've been in the "give maloney the summer when he signs his own players and implements his own stamp"

But nothing has suggested improvements and the fans are lambs to the slaughter next week

09-04-2022, 04:55 PM
This isn’t a knee jerk - the players aren’t good enough post but I really don’t think we have a good squad who have the mental toughness or quality to progress.

Rocky - erratic
JDH - erratic
Wright - had his chance
Scott - useless

Doig
Clarke
Newell
Hanlon
Stevenson
Melkersen
Nisbet
Porto
Jasper
Mitchell

Couldn't disagree with much of that.

09-04-2022, 04:57 PM
This is far from just a Maloney issue. The people running the club have allowed this deterioration to set in since the 2017/18 season so it also pre dates Ron Gordon and Ben Kensall. However these guys have done nothing to reverse this slide. No wonder Lennon lost it with the board. We were always going to lose the likes of McGinn ,Boyle, McGeough when lucrative offers came along and Sir David, Daz , Hanlon and Lewis weren't going to last forever but we've not done enough to replace these guys. I think it sums it up that we couldn't get Omeonga back permanently and yet Livingston managed to. I suspect Maloney will get booted for commercial reasons but I fear that we'll just have another guy in without the tools to do the job.

09-04-2022, 04:59 PM
Was malky McKay tye manager the whole time?

Yes, appointed before the start of the season.

MinceAndTatties
09-04-2022, 05:04 PM
Recruitment is the most important element in success.
We have recruited badly over the past 2 or 3 windows. Hearts have recruited well.
Those calling for Maloney to go should ask themselves whether anyone else could have done better with an inadequate squad beset by injuries and stupid suspensions.
I have seen the almost every match. I have no quarrel with trying to play from the back but at times we just need to clear rather than pass to Macey.
However, with Doidge injured or not match fit, we don't have a target man (Scott an example of bad recruitment).
I don't see what alternatives Maloney had and I think those calling for his head now should say what they would have fine differently, given the squad.
I'm not sure if Maloney is the right appointment but it is his share of responsibility for the squad and the giving of contract extensions to players who are not going to improve which worries me.
He will be given another window and I think that is right but we need pace and strength in this team. No midfield runners and Boyle's absence shows what the attack needs.

Hibdan12
09-04-2022, 05:05 PM
The worry for me with Maloney is that he has one game plan and its clearly not working. We have become a very predicable team to play against. He doesn't so far seem to have the ability to change a game when it is not going our way. We are left no options other than a like for like sub playing in same position.

Want to give managers a chance but I just can't see him being successful now.

Currie Hibee
09-04-2022, 05:05 PM
Maloney can go, nice enough guy but doesn’t seem to be cut for management.
I personally put the blame on the last two transfer windows. Ian Gordon and Mathie have a lot to answer for.
This isn’t going to be a quick fix.

tonyrougier123
09-04-2022, 05:06 PM
Out now! Failed experiment,bad timing.
Terrible season.
Squad needs a huge overhaul,don’t try and gloss it over either I say.
It’s bad.

Ross should never have been sacked when he was.should’ve at least seen the season out.

And whoever thought Gary Caldwell should be anywhere near hibs needs a swift exit from Easter road.
That will probably be down to maloney so I will go one further and say the CEO who signed off on it.

I’m sick of saying huge summer needed!

09-04-2022, 05:08 PM
I’ve just remembered we got rid of Murphy - Hallberg and Gogic - while all not very good would have probably done more today than some playing.

Add in the madness of Tait and McKay.

We are a mess. Agree with Maloney being a nice guy but we need better and someone with more character. That does mean Yogi type but someone that brings the fans back to ER. Mowbray type.

Torto7
I want him to stay. We are rebuilding, this season is a write off anyway.

tonyrougier123
The worry for me with Maloney is that he has one game plan and its clearly not working. We have become a very predicable team to play against. He doesn't so far seem to have the ability to change a game when it is not going our way. We are left no options other than a like for like sub playing in same position.

Want to give managers a chance but I just can't see him being successful now.

We are so predictable it’s painful.

09-04-2022, 05:09 PM
Just heard his interview, and he does sound angry.
We simply have to compete next week, and it's up to him to get the players to do that. If we don't, he can go and so can the players who let hearts bully them. This is a MUST WIN!

09-04-2022, 05:09 PM
Ron would go up in my estimations if he holds Maloney to the same standards he held Jack Ross to and sacks Maloney tonight. His form is every bit as bad and probably worse than the form that got Ross sacked. Get him gone and give a proper manager the summer window and make up for this absolute **** show that's been created.

I’ve said before that I wouldn’t be surprised if Maloney was sacked before semi final. Basically on the point you make regarding Ross. They’ve done it before so why not again?

Not saying it’s right or wrong but I can see it happening.

09-04-2022, 05:11 PM
We simply have to compete next week, and it's up to him to get the players to do that. If we don't, he can go and so can the players who let hearts bully them. This is a MUST WIN!

He was angry but he has just thrown the players under the bus before a cup semi final against our rivals. This could be his Terry Butcher moment.

09-04-2022, 05:12 PM

Rocky - erratic
JDH - erratic
Wright - had his chance
Scott - useless

Doig
Clarke
Newell
Hanlon
Stevenson
Melkersen
Nisbet
Porto
Jasper
Mitchell

I agree with you though.

Half of them are pish, although I may take issue with one or two on your push list.

The “decent” players there is a core of very solid players that I think most managers would love to work with.

Overall it’s not nearly good enough though, not contesting that at alll.

09-04-2022, 05:12 PM

The one on twitter? Sounded like his standard interview.

tonyrougier123
09-04-2022, 05:13 PM
Jack Ross was ****ing murder get over it

Behave herself! Nonsense. Wasn’t backed plain and simple.played mcgregor over the English CB we had on loan.told you everything about what’s going on behind the scenes.

What your watching now is true murder!

This is far from just a Maloney issue. The people running the club have allowed this deterioration to set in since the 2017/18 season so it also pre dates Ron Gordon and Ben Kensall. However these guys have done nothing to reverse this slide. No wonder Lennon lost it with the board. We were always going to lose the likes of McGinn ,Boyle, McGeough when lucrative offers came along and Sir David, Daz , Hanlon and Lewis weren't going to last forever but we've not done enough to replace these guys. I think it sums it up that we couldn't get Omeonga back permanently and yet Livingston managed to. I suspect Maloney will get booted for commercial reasons but I fear that we'll just have another guy in without the tools to do the job.

We finished 3rd last season?[emoji849]

hibsquaker
He has to go. The biggest thing for me today was the manner of defeat. It was limp. If you're going to lose a Derby you go down fighting. Hearts didn't get out of 2nd gear second half. Why anyone would bring on Scott is beyond me. Why? Why is he still here and in the squad?

Stubbsy90+2
09-04-2022, 05:14 PM
Behave herself! Nonsense. Wasn’t backed plain and simple.played mcgregor over the English CB we had on loan.told you everything about what’s going on behind the scenes.

What your watching now is true murder!

When he got sacked we were ****ing murder. There a lot of revisionism going on regarding how we were at the end under JR. It was very much like this.

He wore a Sanbanks jacket (tragic in itself) though and nice ‘gutties’ which people on here seemed to weirdly fawn over.

skyehibee
09-04-2022, 05:16 PM
I genuinely thought we were brilliant those first 2 games Dundee Utd away and Aberdeen home where we pressed high and gave teams no time. We seem to have totally gone away from that which I find bizarre as why play that style for 2 games then change it so quick when it was working?

hibbydad
09-04-2022, 05:17 PM
When he got sacked we were ****ing murder. There a lot of revisionism going on regarding how we were at the end under JR. It was very much like this.
We are even worse under Maloney poor tactics,poor team selections and poor substitutions

tonyrougier123
09-04-2022, 05:17 PM

He wore a Sanbanks jacket (tragic in itself) though and nice ‘gutties’ which people on here seemed to weirdly fawn over.

Garbage! But your entitled to write it.

09-04-2022, 05:19 PM
I genuinely thought we were brilliant those first 2 games Dundee Utd away and Aberdeen home where we pressed high and gave teams no time. We seem to have totally gone away from that which I find bizarre as why play that style for 2 games then change it so quick when it was working?

Teams worked our simple plan A out and it’s been downhill since.

09-04-2022, 05:19 PM
Only manager in about 70 years to finish below Falkirk?
Great day in the cup but he was terrible in the championship.

No he wasn't. The good things he done, considering what he inherited, were incredible.

Don't want him back but remembering him for finishing below Falkirk is just so, so unfair. An absolute legend. More than a great day. A great 2 years, made us worth watching and rebuilt Hibs.

09-04-2022, 05:21 PM
I agree with you though.

Half of them are pish, although I may take issue with one or two on your push list.

The “decent” players there is a core of very solid players that I think most managers would love to work with.

Overall it’s not nearly good enough though, not contesting that at alll.

I’m not even convinced about Newell. He’s had moments but we need better - we have a team of players that are far too similar and don’t actually contribute much.

Someone posted few months ago it was safe players that all got along with Jack Ross - I kind of see that now - nice guys with a bit of skill but no one the opposition are actually feared of and no one in the dressing room that really hates losing.

09-04-2022, 05:23 PM

Mate agree with most of your posts on here, but your defence of Maloney and OTT criticism of Ross is way off the mark. I can't believe anyone would seriously prefer Maloney in the dugout.

sorrow sorrow
09-04-2022, 05:24 PM
Today was back to the old days of being bullied all over the park,they where physically stronger all over the park

09-04-2022, 05:25 PM
Anyone listened to his interview on hibstv?

Sounds beat to me and out of ideas.

09-04-2022, 05:25 PM
No he wasn't. The good things he done, considering what he inherited, were incredible.

Don't want him back but remembering him for finishing below Falkirk is just so, so unfair. An absolute legend. More than a great day. A great 2 years, made us worth watching and rebuilt Hibs.

I think Stubbs is a good example of a manager suiting a certain club and he suited us. Yes there were obvious bad points but on the whole he made me fall back in love with my club again. I'd take that in a heartbeat right now. I'm so disillusioned with the current lot.

09-04-2022, 05:28 PM
https://youtu.be/z2oKLwkdWlE

09-04-2022, 05:29 PM
Anyone listened to his interview on hibstv?

Sounds beat to me and out of ideas.I have and didn't get that impression at all

I think he went through the players and was pretty upfront in his interview

Ye can bolt wi that patter

He was angry but he has just thrown the players under the bus before a cup semi final against our rivals. This could be his Terry Butcher moment.

Throwing them under the bus is pushing it and then some imo.

He’s essentially saying the second half was nowhere near good enough and we need to compete far better, something I’m sure every fan and player will agree with.

09-04-2022, 05:30 PM
We should do what West Ham are did, admit we got it wrong and bring back Jack Ross.

09-04-2022, 05:31 PM
Today was back to the old days of being bullied all over the park,they where physically stronger all over the park

Anyone with any knowledge of this fixture, knows ye need physicality at Tynie. These are the risks ye take when ye employ a rookie.

09-04-2022, 05:32 PM
We should do what West Ham are did, admit we got it wrong and bring back Jack Ross.

I think he'd tell us to bolt and rightly so.

We weren’t brilliant in either. Won a tight game against Aberdeen, and then ended up making a meal of beating a shadow, Covid-ravaged United side, who stood off us for 45 minutes and played the last 15 a man down due to injury.

They were much needed wins at the time, but the performances were nothing to get excited about.

What you’ve got to ask is why imo, the first 15 minutes we were very good and pinned them right back, nicking it off them a lot and never looked weaker.

Its when hearts got on the ball and gained a bit of composure and confidence we struggled.

As soon as it went 2-1 it was so so easy for them. If we were 2-1 or 3-1 up against them you’d imagine they’d create a couple of chances or pin us back a bit, we had none of that.

We were in reverse under JR. All Maloney has done is add a turbo.

09-04-2022, 05:33 PM
For 30 minutes today, we were good, held our own.

Drey Wright then goes off and we fall to bits. The decision to bring on Josh Campbell over Jasper or Scott Allan was the wrong one.

However, Maloney can do nothing if our captain gets bullied and cannot clear the ball for a corner at their first, truly shocking.

Then to concede straight after half time is school boy stuff. Then it was all Hertz until they scored the 3rd….then
I left.

09-04-2022, 05:35 PM
We weren’t brilliant in either. Won a tight game against Aberdeen, and then ended up making a meal of beating a shadow, Covid-ravaged United side, who stood off us for 45 minutes and played the last 15 a man down due to injury.

They were much needed wins at the time, but the performances were nothing to get excited about.

Agreed. Both were tight, scrappy games, very little in them. There was some hint of a change of style and we got results, which gave me some optimism, but we were very far from being brilliant.

09-04-2022, 05:38 PM
He gets the summer to get the players he needs. People need to get that. It ain’t changing. I will be judging him in September.

09-04-2022, 05:39 PM
He's not a manager, never will be. Utterly useless from day 1. Caldwell too, another imposter.

Kensall will surely be given the boot by RG for this mess. Things were ok when RG was here, it's since he went back home that it's all gone wrong.

No point dragging this out. Get rid this week, SDG for the semi, then take a month or so to find an actual manager that know's how to do their job.

There's plenty out there. Christ knows why we went for somebody that just fancied a shot at it.

loanheadhibby
09-04-2022, 05:41 PM

What! The same Jack Ross that signed most of these huddies? The same Jack Ross that has us on the slippery slope to bottom 6. He’d lost the players as it showed against Livingston.

Sadly we’ve replaced him with someone who is even worse.

09-04-2022, 05:44 PM
He's not a manager, never will be. Utterly useless from day 1. Caldwell too, another imposter.

Kensall will surely be given the boot by RG for this mess. Things were ok when RG was here, it's since he went back home that it's all gone wrong.

No point dragging this out. Get rid this week, SDG for the semi, then take a month or so to find an actual manager that know's how to do their job.

There's plenty out there. Christ knows why we went for somebody that just fancied a shot at it.

He needs to show the same ruthlessness he showed Ross. The bar has been set. 3rd place, a cup final and another cup final this season wasn't deemed acceptable for Ross after his first poor run so let's see him do the same with Maloney. It isn't working and it's now in serious danger of setting us back years. He needs to cut his losses and pony up to get rid and admit he's made a mistake.

09-04-2022, 05:44 PM

Do you have confidence in Ian Gordon for player recruitment based on the players we've brought in? For me it goes far deeper than a manager and an assistant. I think club have been on a gradual decline under Ron Gordon, he doesn't help himself as he regularly talks about pipedreams rather than delivering. Last summer's recruitment has sent our decline into overdrive and our attempt at halting it in the January window has added fuel to fire. We're rudderless.

09-04-2022, 05:45 PM
Steve Kean is watching…

hibsquaker
09-04-2022, 05:46 PM
He gets the summer to get the players he needs. People need to get that. It ain’t changing. I will be judging him in September.

You would seriously risk that!

09-04-2022, 05:47 PM

No thanks, plummeting season ticket sales, another season of transition. He can GTF now.

CL0762
09-04-2022, 05:52 PM
Buck stops with the CEO for me.

Why the insistence on Maloney and only him? It cost us a real chance of winning a trophy.

Why are contracts being handed out like sweeties for underachieving? JDH got an extension despite only signing in the summer.

What are Ian Gordon’s credentials for head of player recruitment? Why are we trusting the owners son with arguably the most important part of the club?

All these questions need answered and that’s before we even get to analysing whether Maloney needs to go or not.

GreenGray
09-04-2022, 05:54 PM
Let’s be honest he will get to the summer and chance to bring his own players but as someone who has backed him up until now today was worrying. Game management was shocking and we looked poor when drey Wright went off which is something I’d never thought I’d say.

09-04-2022, 05:55 PM
I’d Chuck him today.

I’ve been to Tynecastle and seen her a beat by more, but never so meekly.

Get the players to give a ****, for an absolute start. Those players didn’t.

Josh Campbell is up there with the absolute worst I’ve seen play for Hibs. I could do what he does. Without breaking sweat.

Rondon
09-04-2022, 05:58 PM

I’ll have some of what your on please!

Living in fantasy land, none are going anywhere

09-04-2022, 05:58 PM
What spoke volumes was the apathy of the support trudging out at full time. No anger. Just pure deflation. He has to go

We are powderpuff and no fight. We could get sucked into the play off with this uninspiring joker

Folk wanting to keep him and give him the summer shows how accepting of mediocrity we are. Get him to **** now

Rondon
09-04-2022, 05:59 PM
Let’s be honest he will get to the summer and chance to bring his own players but as someone who has backed him up until now today was worrying. Game management was shocking and we looked poor when drey Wright went off which is something I’d never thought I’d say.

I’m still not sure why he never brought jasper on at that point

Rondon
09-04-2022, 06:00 PM
Steve Kean is watching…

Just remember Blackburn and be careful what you wish for…

09-04-2022, 06:01 PM
If Maloney wins next week then somehow wins the cup then he’ll probably do a Stubbs and move elsewhere at first opportunity. Wins next week but loses final after faffing around the bottom 6 then he’s probably gone anyway. Why hang about?

09-04-2022, 06:02 PM
I think Stubbs is a good example of a manager suiting a certain club and he suited us. Yes there were obvious bad points but on the whole he made me fall back in love with my club again. I'd take that in a heartbeat right now. I'm so disillusioned with the current lot.

If we are sacking Maloney for not having a Plan B then it would be pointless bringing Stubbs in. He brought some great players in but aside from slight tinkering with formation 3-5-2 or 4-4-2 he never really changed the way Hibs played and if we were struggling to beat a Dumbarton or Alloa side that sat in, he had no ideas on how to change it up.

Ray Donovan
09-04-2022, 06:03 PM
He's got to go. He's not the man for Hibs and never will be.

Since he was appointed we have been rubbish, relegation form. Before today he had 2 huge derbies to save his tenure and we are 50% towards an absolute nightmare scenario.

It's not all on Maloney though. Gordon, Kensall etc have alot to answer for.

09-04-2022, 06:04 PM

Thought the same at the time but my feeling is he’s not 100%

Got a knock for Bulgaria then came off at half time last week, never looked sharp when he came on imo.

09-04-2022, 06:05 PM
If Maloney wins next week then somehow wins the cup then he’ll probably do a Stubbs and move elsewhere at first opportunity. Wins next week but loses final after faffing around the bottom 6 then he’s probably gone anyway. Why hang about?
Wins next week :rotflmao:

Him? He’s about as inspiring as my laundry basket.

09-04-2022, 06:07 PM
I rarely want managers sacked but it is a huge risk giving him another window. The signing look poor and none of them have improved a poor squad with the exception possible of Clarke. It is a dangerous game giving him until summer as we look a team that can easily crumble so could find ourselves in relegation trouble quite quickly if the first couple of weeks see results go against us. No faith in his ability in the transfer market either but not sure how much of that is his fault. I thought from the second I read about his footballing philosophy that he had very little chance of being a success. There were far too many obstacles in the way of it working. I'm not convinced we are even trying to play football any longer and when it isn't going well he is quickly out thought by the more experienced managers and his subs may be the worst I have seen in the last decade or so. He seems a nice hard working man but he is a sheep in the wolves enclosure in this league

09-04-2022, 06:13 PM
Said this many times, I didn’t want JR to go. Probably don’t want SM to go but what is clear is he has lost the support of the majority of Hibs fans (basing this on what I read here and my circle of Hibees).

He’s not turning popular opinion around, in my opinion so I think for that reason he should go now, SDG until the end of the season for me.

In the same post I’ve went from saying I probably don’t want him going to I think he should go. Probably sums up his time in the job - all over the place.

09-04-2022, 06:13 PM
Big question is, are we more likely to win next week if David Gray is in the hot seat or if it’s still Maloney. For me, Gray has a bigger chance of success. Maloney is a busted flush now.
Board needs to act now.

09-04-2022, 06:15 PM
Wins next week :rotflmao:

Him? He’s about as inspiring as my laundry basket.

I’d rather have your laundry basket in charge.

GreenGray
09-04-2022, 06:16 PM

Jasper, Henderson even Stevenson I’d have preferred over Campbell. Shocking substitution.

09-04-2022, 06:20 PM
Butcher's first game with Hibs was 23rd November. He accumulated 20 league points.

Maloney's first game was 22nd December and he has so far got 15.

Both won 1 league game from January onwards at home to Ross County.

09-04-2022, 06:21 PM
What worries me if they do get rid of him is it will be the exact same people who deemed him the answer who will be bringing in his replacement.

09-04-2022, 06:22 PM
What worries me if they do get rid of him is it will be the exact same people who deemed him the answer who will be bringing in his replacement.

Also my concern.

09-04-2022, 06:23 PM
I’d rather have your laundry basket in charge.Can I nominate my coffee table as assistant, the Caldwell role.

09-04-2022, 06:23 PM
What spoke volumes was the apathy of the support trudging out at full time. No anger. Just pure deflation. He has to go

We are powderpuff and no fight. We could get sucked into the play off with this uninspiring joker

Folk wanting to keep him and give him the summer shows how accepting of mediocrity we are. Get him to **** now

Yep.

09-04-2022, 06:24 PM
3 pts from last 5 games.
8 pts from last 10 games.
15 pts from last 15 games.

Relegation form.

09-04-2022, 06:24 PM
Big question is, are we more likely to win next week if David Gray is in the hot seat or if it’s still Maloney. For me, Gray has a bigger chance of success. Maloney is a busted flush now.
Board needs to act now.

I think out of the three managers we have had this year only Maloney would have taken us to bottom six and only SDG could win next week. The CEO and owner have made their be so they should lie in it for a bit. I have no faith the next appointment would be any better

09-04-2022, 06:30 PM
Can I nominate my coffee table as assistant, the Caldwell role.

My coffee table has more personality than G. Caldwell.

09-04-2022, 06:31 PM
My coffee table has more personality than G. Caldwell.
:greengrinNo, mine's has.[emoji16]

09-04-2022, 06:32 PM
3 pts from last 5 games.
8 pts from last 10 games.
15 pts from last 15 games.

Relegation form.

15 points from 15 games is very close to play off territory.

09-04-2022, 06:35 PM
15 points from 15 games is very close to play off territory.

Yep. We’re in a dogfight.

09-04-2022, 06:36 PM
The thing that absolutely terrifies me is what we’ve been saying about the games we’ve played lately

Dundee - Win that and we’ll finish top 6 - Draw
St Johnstone - Win that and we’ll finish top 6 - Draw
Aberdeen - Win that and we’ll finish top 6 - Defeat
Dundee UTD - Win that and we’ll finish top 6 - Draw
Hearts - Win that and we’ll finish top 6 - Defeat

3 points from 5 games including 3 teams in the bottom 3 league positions.

My fear is “win that and we’ll finish top 6” will turn into “win that and we’re safe”

09-04-2022, 06:38 PM
The thing that absolutely terrifies me is what we’ve been saying about the games we’ve played lately

Dundee - Win that and we’ll finish top 6 - Draw
St Johnstone - Win that and we’ll finish top 6 - Draw
Aberdeen - Win that and we’ll finish top 6 - Defeat
Dundee UTD - Win that and we’ll finish top 6 - Draw
Hearts - Win that and we’ll finish top 6 - Defeat

3 points from 5 games including 3 teams in the bottom 3 league positions.

My fear is “win that and we’ll finish top 6” will turn into “win that and we’re safe”

Deja vu to be honest.

one day maybe...
09-04-2022, 06:39 PM

This for me, although I'd give him the full season.
We need to build something different at Hibs something players can believe in. A style of play where we do try to keep the ball and trust in a players ability. We can't buy the player of the caliber that the OF can. We have also had some horrendous injuries this season that have not helped our cause in anyway. Long term injuries to both the Kevin's, Doidge, McGinn.
Some of the current squad need to be moved on and I'm sure Maloney knows this.
Lets see what we bring in during the summer window and judge him then.

As for next week, absolutely no point in criticizing todays performance, for us it's now all about next week #GGTTH

GreenGray
09-04-2022, 06:42 PM
Some blame lies with Maloney but at the end of the day this is a result of having the owners son (with no background in football) as your HEAD of recruitment.

09-04-2022, 06:43 PM
The semi-final is huge for Maloney. Having finished in the bottom six, he can't afford to see his team easily brushed aside again by Hearts. If that game goes badly wrong, he will be under enormous pressure.

09-04-2022, 06:44 PM
Yep. We’re in a dogfight.

We have five games to play, an eight point advantage, which is effectively 9 when you consider goal difference. I wouldn’t say we’re in a dogfight just yet.

St Johnstone just got smashed 7-0 today. I think we can be grateful that they are even more pish than us and that they won’t be getting 9 points more than us in the next five games.

Last Minute
09-04-2022, 06:46 PM
Hibs need to decide what to do now ? They are asking fans to renew season tickets or buy new ones for the first time. Money is difficult just now for everyone and I can’t see many paying to watch this dross . 1 win in 13 is not good enough. Over to you hibs

The Wireless
09-04-2022, 06:49 PM
Some blame lies with Maloney but at the end of the day this is a result of having the owners son (with no background in football) as your HEAD of recruitment.
The head of recruitment is one of the most important at any club however at Hibs it has nepotism written all over it.

Skol
09-04-2022, 06:50 PM
I am not one for changing managers quickly and think they should be given time. I thought Ross deserved more time and when it was decided he should go I worried about the replacement being a downgrade.

Let’s start with the positives though and today we started very well and for about 30 minutes looked the only team likely to score. We harried heerts, put them under pressure and got the ball forward quickly. It says it all though that drey wright was our best player and we suffered after he went off. The decline had already started though.

Bushiri and newell both needed treatment and afterwards their performance levels dropped. I was shocked bushiri played til the end and why did doig go off instead? Bringing on Campbell was a poor decision.

However hanlon made a criminal error in typical hanlon style by being out muscled and we go in level and start the second half like a team defeated.

The second half performance was as bad as it gets and the changes made were awful. Scott should never pull on a hibs jersey again. Henderson wanders about aimlessly and jasper again flatters to deceive and never once looked threatening

Wright and Clarke are the only bright spots and I doubt wright will be fit next week.

I left the ground with my mind made up. Maloney needs to go now and David gray should be given until the end of the season. However I think they will try and ride this out but I find it hard to see how we turn this around. Quite what we do next week I don’t know.

I really didn’t want mcinnes but boy do I wish now we had brought him in as I think we would have been comfortably top six.

09-04-2022, 06:50 PM
Board needs to act now.

The team is an absolute shocker though. SDG can’t change that.

GreenGray
09-04-2022, 06:55 PM
The head of recruitment is one of the most important at any club however at Hibs it has nepotism written all over it.

Honestly makes me sick, just looking at that squad today from keeper to striker is a clear sign out recruitment has been a shocker. No one gets held accountable either, fair play Maithie got the sack but to be fair to him he signed some decent players.

Last two windows have been poor and it just seems to be accepted by those at the top of the club, worrying.

j'adorehibs
09-04-2022, 07:02 PM
https://youtu.be/z2oKLwkdWlE

hes almost crying!

09-04-2022, 07:03 PM
We need to decide what's next and quickly.

It's fairly clear to me that the Maloney experiment has spectacularly failed so we need to give the new guy enough time to recruit well over the summer and to have us ready for a 3rd place finish next season.

Finishing in the bottom six is an utter embarrassment and it should result in a change of manager.

09-04-2022, 07:10 PM
Honestly makes me sick, just looking at that squad today from keeper to striker is a clear sign out recruitment has been a shocker. No one gets held accountable either, fair play Maithie got the sack but to be fair to him he signed some decent players.

Last two windows have been poor and it just seems to be accepted by those at the top of the club, worrying.
100% the team is horrendous. We make a fairly average yam team look like world beaters.

j'adorehibs
09-04-2022, 07:20 PM
personally for me its a tough decision- maloney has had horrendous injuries and suspensions but with the squad we have we should have made top 6 - buck was last week against dundee utd - should have won that and no pressure on todays game

players however just arent good enough for what we aspire to - Macey, Campbell, Rocky, Doyle Hayes, Scott, Wright, Mueller, McGinn, Henderson not good enough - Hanlon/MacGregor passed it, Doidge probs same - massive clear out required. Whether its Maloney and his philosophy and a window getting in players he can get to work in his system is the big question. Its going to be down to recruitment - im just not sure if Maloney is the right man for that or the recruitment team - we have seen some promise in melkerson and jasper but for me its all kids - we need experienced players.

who knows we could win next week but lets face it the final has a Glasgow teams name on the cup anyway

he wins next week hes saved i reckon , heavy loss then we need action - i have no idea who we would bring in , just seems like theres more behind scenes than the manager

09-04-2022, 07:21 PM
hes almost crying!

At least he never said he was happy with the second half performance. One of my bug bears is 11 back at set pieces. He mentioned the second ball costing us there. His tactics are the biggest reason there are so many second balls into the box and in the second half it was wave after wave of Hearts attacks as they continued to get set pieces and nearly all of them resulted in another ball coming into the box or Hearts getting possession back. I think he is also being a bit generous with the way things have been since he came in. Barring the first two games it has pretty much been a slow slide down the league with performances being boring, safe and uninspired. The biggest surprise today was that we were the better side for 15 minutes against a team already guaranteed third. That shows the players aren't as bad as some are saying. The way we set up though it was like we were all or nothing and had zero in reserve for the last three quarters of the game. We are nowhere near fit enough to play the game he wants to play yet he keeps trying to play that way. He also has a bit of a cheek talking about the young players, it was him that bought Melkerson when someone like Simms or Boyce would have transformed us. He also bought Jasper and Henderson and is throwing them in when they look nowhere near ready to play at this level. He did get it right in that it was boys against men but seemed to blame the players for that. He really needs a good shout to relieve some of that pressure as it was quite a disturbing watch towards the end

09-04-2022, 07:25 PM
personally for me its a tough decision- maloney has had horrendous injuries and suspensions but with the squad we have we should have made top 6 - buck was last week against dundee utd - should have won that and no pressure on todays game

players however just arent good enough for what we aspire to - Macey, Campbell, Rocky, Doyle Hayes, Scott, Wright, Mueller, McGinn, Henderson not good enough - Hanlon/MacGregor passed it, Doidge probs same - massive clear out required. Whether its Maloney and his philosophy and a window getting in players he can get to work in his system is the big question. Its going to be down to recruitment - im just not sure if Maloney is the right man for that or the recruitment team - we have seen some promise in melkerson and jasper but for me its all kids - we need experienced players.

who knows we could win next week but lets face it the final has a Glasgow teams name on the cup anyway

he wins next week hes saved i reckon , heavy loss then we need action - i have no idea who we would bring in , just seems like theres more behind scenes than the manager

Porteous is a miss but he’d probably have been sent off today. Maggenis is a miss. Other than that, who do we miss? The starting 11 whatever way you look at it is atrocious.

j'adorehibs
09-04-2022, 07:29 PM
At least he never said he was happy with the second half performance. One of my bug bears is 11 back at set pieces. He mentioned the second ball costing us there. His tactics are the biggest reason there are so many second balls into the box and in the second half it was wave after wave of Hearts attacks as they continued to get set pieces and nearly all of them resulted in another ball coming into the box or Hearts getting possession back. I think he is also being a bit generous with the way things have been since he came in. Barring the first two games it has pretty much been a slow slide down the league with performances being boring, safe and uninspired. The biggest surprise today was that we were the better side for 15 minutes against a team already guaranteed third. That shows the players aren't as bad as some are saying. The way we set up though it was like we were all or nothing and had zero in reserve for the last three quarters of the game. We are nowhere near fit enough to play the game he wants to play yet he keeps trying to play that way. He also has a bit of a cheek talking about the young players, it was him that bought Melkerson when someone like Simms or Boyce would have transformed us. He also bought Jasper and Henderson and is throwing them in when they look nowhere near ready to play at this level. He did get it right in that it was boys against men but seemed to blame the players for that. He really needs a good shout to relieve some of that pressure as it was quite a disturbing watch towards the end

better side yet no shots on goal bar the goal which took a deflection to hit the back of the net

j'adorehibs
09-04-2022, 07:31 PM
Porteous is a miss but he’d probably have been sent off today. Maggenis is a miss. Other than that, who do we miss? The starting 11 whatever way you look at it is atrocious.

i agree , what i mean by injuries and suspensions is he hasn't been able to play the same team twice , at least i dont think he has,

CL0762
09-04-2022, 07:42 PM
Can I ask, what’s the obsession with giving Gray the job (again) until the end of the season?

Skol
09-04-2022, 07:47 PM
Can I ask, what’s the obsession with giving Gray the job (again) until the end of the season?

Four points in two games and gave Celtic a real fright. You could also argue that some of this led to maloneys promising start.

Apart from that I guess nothing much. Might as well stick with the guy who cannot win games and doesn’t often get draws either. As for creating chances !

09-04-2022, 07:48 PM
Jasper, Henderson even Stevenson I’d have preferred over Campbell. Shocking substitution.

I like to keep things in perspective.

We played well for 15 / 20 mins - even 30 mins at a stretch…

But then Wright got injured. Now we know Wright hasn’t been great for Hibs but he did show in 30 mins he was doing ok and scored / contributed to the goal.

I watched Maloneys interview midweek and he said subs / team selection will depend on other games etc.

He and staff obviously though putting a defensive player on was the better call than an attacking player to continue to press.

So basically from the bad choice of sub tactically and mentally, Hearts started taking control and the game was lost.

It was like we would hold onto 1-0 - this was never the case.

I’ve given it some time since the game and I’m still just fed up with the club. Hibs have really taken the piss with the lack of quality and how they have taken the fans for a ride this season. A ride which has failed to actually progress except the Boyle semi final. Even then we self destructed before and in the final - we had a chance to win that.

I haven’t had this feeling about Hibs for a long time and the club need to make serious changes if they want me to renew as right now I’m not going to until we grow a backbone and add some character. That means new management and players who actually get this club and give us entertainment by winning games.

Stubbsy90+2
09-04-2022, 07:49 PM
I think out of the three managers we have had this year only Maloney would have taken us to bottom six and only SDG could win next week. The CEO and owner have made their be so they should lie in it for a bit. I have no faith the next appointment would be any better

Wouldn’t disagree with that other than I think bottom six is exactly where we’d be headed with Ross as well. We were a joke and actually in the bottom six when he left. There was nothing to suggest we were going to actually climb the league under him.

I wouldn’t fancy Ross or Maloney to beat hearts next week, probably about in equal measure.

Stubbsy90+2
09-04-2022, 07:53 PM
I like to keep things in perspective.

We played well for 15 / 20 mins - even 30 mins at a stretch…

But then Wright got injured. Now we know Wright hasn’t been great for Hibs but he did show in 30 mins he was doing ok and scored / contributed to the goal.

I watched Maloneys interview midweek and he said subs / team selection will depend on other games etc.

He and staff obviously though putting a defensive player on was the better call than an attacking player to continue to press.

So basically from the bad choice of sub tactically and mentally, Hearts started taking control and the game was lost.

It was like we would hold onto 1-0 - this was never the case.

I’ve given it some time since the game and I’m still just fed up with the club. Hibs have really taken the piss with the lack of quality and how they have taken the fans for a ride this season. A ride which has failed to actually progress except the Boyle semi final. Even then we self destructed before and in the final - we had a chance to win that.

I haven’t had this feeling about Hibs for a long time and the club need to make serious changes if they want me to renew as right now I’m not going to utilise we grow a backbone and add some character.

I won’t be renewing either.

I could just about afford it and no more. That would however require me making sacrifices elsewhere.

Jack Ross left me with no interest in watching this Hibs team and Maloney has done nothing to give me that interest back.

Do you have confidence in Ian Gordon for player recruitment based on the players we've brought in? For me it goes far deeper than a manager and an assistant. I think club have been on a gradual decline under Ron Gordon, he doesn't help himself as he regularly talks about pipedreams rather than delivering. Last summer's recruitment has sent our decline into overdrive and our attempt at halting it in the January window has added fuel to fire. We're rudderless.

I don’t know enough about the behind the scenes stuff really, but ultimately the buck stops with the manager as far as signings go.

Whenever anybody at Hibs is asked about who we sign, they have always said the manager has the final say.

If that’s the case, it’s on Maloney more than the head of recruitment no?

CL0762
Four points in two games and gave Celtic a real fright. You could also argue that some of this led to maloneys promising start.

Apart from that I guess nothing much. Might as well stick with the guy who cannot win games and doesn’t often get draws either. As for creating chances !

Gave Celtic a real fright but lost due to 2 defensive errors.

Let’s replace the rookie manager who’s never been involved in staving off a potential relegation battle, for the rookie who’s never been involved in staving off a potential relegation battle.

Let’s not forget Gray has been a part of the coaching staff under both managers we’ve had this season.

We can’t keep sacking managers over and over again, it’s not feasible.

09-04-2022, 07:54 PM

I’ve said for a while half our issue with recruitment is finding consistent players who are robust and don’t get injured and can play regularly.

Signing young guys who will be up and down plus players with a weak mentality won’t win us big games - too many nice people / nice players who are just happy to pick up wages. I don’t think they are bad people just you will never win anything being the nice team.

09-04-2022, 07:55 PM
Wouldn’t disagree with that other than I think bottom six is exactly where we’d be headed with Ross as well. We were a joke and actually in the bottom six when he left. There was nothing to suggest we were going to actually climb the league under him.

I wouldn’t fancy Ross or Maloney to beat hearts next week, probably about in equal measure.

Obviously it’s a moot point now but I’d have expected Jack Ross to improve us in January.

He knew what was required over the summer (even though he didn’t get it) and rather than ripping it up and starting again, I think he’d have made the necessary changes.

Although I agree that neither of them would manage with our current players.

09-04-2022, 07:56 PM
Gave Celtic a real fright but lost due to 2 defensive errors.

Let’s replace the rookie manager who’s never been involved in staving off a potential relegation battle, for the rookie who’s never been involved in staving off a potential relegation battle.

Let’s not forget Gray has been a part of the coaching staff under both managers we’ve had this season.

We can’t keep sacking managers over and over again, it’s not feasible.

We can. If you can sack Ross you can sack Maloney. It is not feasible to keep a failing manager simply because you've already sacked too many. If you don't want to sack managers then appoint a successful one.

09-04-2022, 07:57 PM
I don’t know enough about the behind the scenes stuff really, but ultimately the buck stops with the manager as far as signings go.

Whenever anybody at Hibs is asked about who we sign, they have always said the manager has the final say.

If that’s the case, it’s on Maloney more than the head of recruitment no?

Folk could have asked some decent fair questions like this during the week but I read asked about his favourite soup !

CL0762
09-04-2022, 07:59 PM
We can. If you can sack Ross you can sack Maloney. It is not feasible to keep a failing manager simply because you've already sacked too many. If you don't want to sack managers then appoint a successful one.

So sacking a manager every 4 months then? Pish. You’ll get absolutely nowhere doing ***** like that.

Hibs go 1-0 up whole roseburn is singing ‘we’ve got Shaun Maloney’ 60 mins later folk are screaming for him to get sacked.

The issue, for me, is our dodgy CEO who I don’t trust one single but neither do I trust our unqualified head of recruitment. Those 2 give me real concerns a lot more than maloney does.

snedzuk
09-04-2022, 08:03 PM
hes almost crying!

'we are young'

'they are men'