View Full Version : Hearts v Hibs Round 1
08-04-2022, 10:46 AM
They don’t come any bigger for Hibs fans, than a match against our City rivals. We really need to win, and it guarantees Hibs top 6. Manager has been been making noises this week that he’s confident we can win at Tynecastle, although I haven’t see his press conference yet
Reading somewhere that the difference between 4th and 7th is around £400k in prize money, as well as 2 big gates against Rangers and Hearts at Easter Rd, so a lot of money at stake for the clubs, but the fans just want to win the game!
Down to the team, reading Maloney’s comments about Clarke, needing him more in the final 3rd, will he play left or right
Most of the squad picks itself, apart from the odd position or formation. Will Doig play higher up the pitch. Great to have Paul Hanlon back too! I’d love to see Lewis play too, we’ll need all his experience
Have we had any update on Mitchell, McGinn and Doidge. Would be great to have them on the bench at least
Win this, and we’ll go into the semi final with huge confidence
Come on the Hibees
08-04-2022, 10:54 AM
Good summary very big game assume that means Clarke left again. Wonder if Jasper is fit would maybe start Henderson as gives us extra quality however at times looks like a better sub. Given how dynamic Clarke was wonder if he would consider playing off the front in one of the 10 positions.
andrew70
08-04-2022, 10:56 AM
Hopefully Doig stays at centre half far better in there.
Clarke can play left but it doesn’t half narrow us off so possibly Lewis.
Don’t see us winning both but can’t wait til 3pm tomorrow.
08-04-2022, 10:59 AM
Don’t think the team will be that much different to last week, if at all.
Goes without saying but we need to win. Loads said about the manager, and the manager before him, but it’s time for the players to stand up. Hearts are not brilliant and are missing a couple of their most important players. There is a lot more on the game for us than there is for them, that needs to show in our performance and approach.
08-04-2022, 11:27 AM
As it stands I'm actually looking forward to tomorrow more than the semi, probably just because it's closer.
The derbies this season have been tight but, particularly in the case of the 1st one, entertaining. The last derby at ER Maloney showed a degree of pragmatism and we battled well. He showed a similarly pragmatic approach in the 2nd half last Saturday when we were far more cavalier and expansive than usual, so I'm hopeful we will turn up.
The next 2 games are going to play a huge part in defining the short to medium term outlook at the club. We can dress it up how we like but there is a huge amount of pressure on us. If we get beat in the next 2 then Maloney simply won't get the chance to do the long term job many believe he is here for. That's how football works, the short term has to be passable to allow a long term project to flourish. Lose twice to Hearts in a week and he'll only ever be a game or 2 away from full blown crisis.
In saying all that it's really what football is all about. Going in as underdogs, up against it against your biggest rivals in a couple of must win games. A bit of siege mentality and a couple of Hibs supports that make up for being outnumbered by being loud and supportive required.
08-04-2022, 11:47 AM
Missing this one as I'm down at the Grand National tomorrow but I'll be keeping tabs on the score. Hopefully we can do the business and get into the top six and also give us some belief ahead of the semi final.
08-04-2022, 11:51 AM
Hibs have only won 3 away matches all season in the league.
Dundee Utd - December 2021
St Johnstone- November 2021
Motherwell - August 2021
Won away matches against Arbroath and Motherwell in the cup plus Huns win at Hampden.
Hearts have only lost 3 home games all season in league - Celtic, Rangers and Dundee.
Last time at Tynie when it was 0v0 - Hibs team had Boyle, Magennis, McGinn, Porto and Nisbet and Macey all playing. Possibly 6 players who won’t be playing tomorrow.
We are massive underdogs tomorrow and think our lack of striker options will be an issue.
mokie
08-04-2022, 11:55 AM
They don’t come any bigger for Hibs fans, than a match against our City rivals. We really need to win, and it guarantees Hibs top 6. Manager has been been making noises this week that he’s confident we can win at Tynecastle, although I haven’t see his press conference yet
Reading somewhere that the difference between 4th and 7th is around £400k in prize money, as well as 2 big gates against Rangers and Hearts at Easter Rd, so a lot of money at stake for the clubs, but the fans just want to win the game!
Down to the team, reading Maloney’s comments about Clarke, needing him more in the final 3rd, will he play left or right
Most of the squad picks itself, apart from the odd position or formation. Will Doig play higher up the pitch. Great to have Paul Hanlon back too! I’d love to see Lewis play too, we’ll need all his experience
Have we had any update on Mitchell, McGinn and Doidge. Would be great to have them on the bench at least
Win this, and we’ll go into the semi final with huge confidence
Come on the Hibees
That is certainly a matter of opinion.........
08-04-2022, 12:00 PM
Hibs have only won 2 away matches all season in the league.
Won away matches against Arbroath and Motherwell in the cup plus Huns win at Hampden.
Hearts have only lost 3 home games all season in league - Celtic, Rangers and Dundee.
Last time at Tynie when it was 0v0 - Hibs team had Boyle, Magennis, McGinn, Porto and Nisbet and Macey all playing. Possibly 6 players who won’t be playing tomorrow.
We are massive underdogs tomorrow and think our lack of striker options will be an issue.
Won away at Motherwell first day.
08-04-2022, 12:00 PM
That is certainly a matter of opinion.........
No. It's a fact. Quality player, Hibs legend.
Hibs have only won 2 away matches all season in the league.
Can't see anything other than disappointment tomorrow for Hibs unfortunately.
mokie
08-04-2022, 12:02 PM
No. It's a fact. Quality player, Hibs legend.
No it is not a fact. His part in United's goal was certainly make a lot of people think otherwise.. Horrendous defending from a player with his experience..
08-04-2022, 12:13 PM
Always happy when the opposition are so utterly confident, it relaxes me tbqhwy.
I remember going to the Hampden LC semi having been told by all and sundry it would be a hammering - and it was, but not quite the way the press and Huns thought it would go.
Neilson is a *****bag as a manager, we all know that. They are missing Souttar and Beningime, frankly I dont see Hearts as such a fantastic team - Dundee beat them.
Hearts hoovering up the tickets for the semi also amuses me. Memories of our matches v Livi and Ross County spring to mind.....................
08-04-2022, 12:24 PM
No it is not a fact. His part in United's goal was certainly make a lot of people think otherwise.. Horrendous defending from a player with his experience..
Absolutely is a fact. His record speaks for itself.
Everyones part in Uniteds goal was poor, especially Harry Clarke. **** happens.
08-04-2022, 12:35 PM
Maloney said when he returned, it was great to have our leader back
Paul is highly respected by everyone at Hibs, players and staff
08-04-2022, 01:50 PM
Always happy when the opposition are so utterly confident, it relaxes me tbqhwy.
I remember going to the Hampden LC semi having been told by all and sundry it would be a hammering - and it was, but not quite the way the press and Huns thought it would go.
Neilson is a *****bag as a manager, we all know that. They are missing Souttar and Beningime, frankly I dont see Hearts as such a fantastic team - Dundee beat them.
Hearts hoovering up the tickets for the semi also amuses me. Memories of our matches v Livi and Ross County spring to mind.....................
Are they not also missing the wee centre mid who's been starting most weeks next to Beningame?
I really fancy JDH and Newell to win the midfield battle if they're up against Halliday and Haring (who can't run anymore), if they both play how they did in the ER derby we should be controlling the middle of the park.
08-04-2022, 01:58 PM
Are they not also missing the wee centre mid who's been starting most weeks next to Beningame?
I really fancy JDH and Newell to win the midfield battle if they're up against Halliday and Haring (who can't run anymore), if they both play how they did in the ER derby we should be controlling the middle of the park.
Devlin?
Apparently he is doubtful. Who knows what that means in Jamboland?
In defence they have Souttar and Smith out.
For me, if we do well in this match (obviously a win would be great, but perhaps performance more important) then I can see Replay Robbie chucking all his eggs in one basket, playing half fit players in the semi etc.
I am really not that worried about tomorrow, the way some people go on you would think we are playing Real Madrid..................
08-04-2022, 02:12 PM
Hearts haven't beaten us at Tynecastle in a long time. 5 years maybe? Strangely more confident about tomorrow than i am next week.
mokie
08-04-2022, 03:19 PM
Maloney said when he returned, it was great to have our leader back
Paul is highly respected by everyone at Hibs, players and staff
Just because he is respected doesn't mean to say he is any good...
mokie
08-04-2022, 03:20 PM
It certainly does.. More failings than successes I think you'll find....
08-04-2022, 03:25 PM
5-0 Hibs
08-04-2022, 03:51 PM
Semi final totally dominating folks thoughts. Hardly any chat about the game tomorrow.
Really looking forward to a Saturday, 3pm game against them.
Really, really hope we can put a performance in and get a win tomorrow. We need it so badly on so many levels. I’m maybe building it up a bit but I think this next week is absolutely huge for the club, it could have a massive impact on so many things be it season ticket sales, the future of the manager and just the general feeling towards the club.
Scotty Leither
08-04-2022, 04:08 PM
Semi final totally dominating folks thoughts. Hardly any chat about the game tomorrow.
Really looking forward to a Saturday, 3pm game against them.
Really, really hope we can put a performance in and get a win tomorrow. We need it so badly on so many levels. I’m maybe building it up a bit but I think this next week is absolutely huge for the club, it could have a massive impact on so many things be it season ticket sales, the future of the manager and just the general feeling towards the club.
Same here. Really time to deliver two big results in a row against that mob
Getting a bit sick of the big talk not being backed up in terms of recruitment of players that’ll deliver what our owner says he wants to achieve.
08-04-2022, 04:30 PM
Yes it does.
08-04-2022, 04:43 PM
Same here. Really time to deliver two big results in a row against that mob
Getting a bit sick of the big talk not being backed up in terms of recruitment of players that’ll deliver what our owner says he wants to achieve.
Agree with all of that. If the next week goes badly then all of the stuff Gordon has talked about doing couldn’t be further away from reality.
Time for the players to step up. All the focus has been on Maloney (as it was with Ross before him) but nobody in that team has been anything more than average this season. Every single one of them has to raise their game. We have to win tomorrow, whatever we have to do.
08-04-2022, 04:57 PM
No. He was a core player in Hibs winning the Scottish Cup. Eclipses pretty much everyone. No '' I'll thinking you'll find '' nonsense. Paul Hanlon is an utter legend. Quality footballer, Hibs legend. Embrace it. You're privileged to watch him. Even if you're too daft to realise.
Saint Hibee
08-04-2022, 05:00 PM
5-0 Hibs
I like the cut of your jib!
Mikey_1875
08-04-2022, 05:01 PM
Same team for me as the Utd game and hopefully we can give it a good go. We need to remember the main objective is to win and get top 6 rather than fear a defeat against our rivals and play defensively.
A bit of a novelty having an away derby on Saturday at 3pm so I am looking forward to getting a good laugh and a drink before the game. Hopefully the build up in the pub and stadium doesn’t end up being the best part of the day and we are still celebrating after 90 minutes.
mokie
08-04-2022, 05:03 PM
No. He was a core player in Hibs winning the Scottish Cup. Eclipses pretty much everyone. No '' I'll thinking you'll find '' nonsense. Paul Hanlon is an utter legend. Quality footballer, Hibs legend. Embrace it. You're privileged to watch him. Even if you're too daft to realise.
Yes he was also a core player in a team of huddies who got the club relegated , spent two seasons in a Championship , not forgetting the numerous no shows in big games he's been involved in and been involved of the worst periods in the clubs history when it comes to eye bleeding football..
08-04-2022, 05:12 PM
Yes he was also a core player in a team of huddies who got the club relegated , spent two seasons in a Championship , not forgetting the numerous no shows in big games he's been involved in and been involved of the worst periods in the clubs history when it comes to eye bleeding football..
Did you miss him being injured when we went down. Just about the last player to blame.
Consistently good. Cup winner. Great player. Hibs legend.
We were also in the championship for 3 years. Easy to forget when you don't go to any games and have eyes painted on, though, so I understand.
08-04-2022, 05:15 PM
Clearly a quality player and been an excellent servant for our club.
mokie
08-04-2022, 05:18 PM
Did you miss him being injured when we went down. Just about the last player to blame.
Consistently good. Cup winner. Great player. Hibs legend.
We were also in the championship for 3 years. Easy to forget when you don't go to any games and have eyes painted on, though, so I understand.
He was injured for the run in so he more than played his fair share of that season....
mokie
08-04-2022, 05:18 PM
Clearly a quality player and been an excellent servant for our club.
He's such a quality player that after god knows how many years , he is still here...
08-04-2022, 05:21 PM
Almost 500 career appearances tells you otherwise
You simply don’t play that amount of games over a 13 year period, if you’re not a good player
08-04-2022, 05:21 PM
Better to watch the pitch when a game is on.
08-04-2022, 05:23 PM
He's such a quality player that after god knows how many years , he is still here...
Depends if you think playing for Hibs for 13 years is a failure which struggling to think any genuine Hibs fan could think that. Paul has been superb for Hibs.
08-04-2022, 05:26 PM
Looking at media clips Hibs posted - didn't see Macey. Wonder if he is still injured or he will play?
08-04-2022, 05:31 PM
Depends if you think playing for Hibs for 13 years is a failure which struggling to think any genuine Hibs fan could think that. Paul has been superb for Hibs.
Think you have hit on the crux of it, this guy has been called out multiple times now, not even hiding it.
loanheadhibby
08-04-2022, 05:34 PM
Of course it's not a fact it's your opinion.
Great servant to the club but just a decent player in my opinion no better than that.
If you think Paul Hanlon is a Hibs legend we must have hundreds of legends which shouldn't really be the case.
Now if he was to produce two man of the match performances the next two Saturdays I might just change my mind.
mokie
08-04-2022, 05:38 PM
You called him a great player in an earlier post.. If he's such a great player then why has he been overlooked at international level for so long and only got 1 cap to his name ???
08-04-2022, 05:39 PM
Great servant to the club but just a decent player in my opinion no better than that.
If you think Paul Hanlon is a Hibs legend we must have hundreds of legends which shouldn't really be the case.
Now if he was to produce two man of the match performances the next two Saturdays I might just change my mind.
Hanlon has played near 500 games for us, been club captain and lifted the Scottish Cup. Absolutely mental to suggest he's anything other than a club legend.
mokie
08-04-2022, 05:39 PM
Think you have hit on the crux of it, this guy has been called out multiple times now, not even hiding it.
Girl FYI.......:aok::aok::aok::aok::aok::aok::aok:
08-04-2022, 05:40 PM
Macey fit for tomorrow, but Doidge out with an ankle injury
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/update-on-macey-doidge-mcginn
08-04-2022, 05:44 PM
Macey fit for tomorrow, but Doidge out with an ankle injury
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/update-on-macey-doidge-mcginn
Something related to the game on the thread about the game. Doidge has been pish since he came back but we could have been doing with the option.
08-04-2022, 05:48 PM
Something related to the game on the thread about the game. Doidge has been pish since he came back but we could have been doing with the option.
Will be interesting to see which keeper he plays.
Doidge injured ankle...
So we have 1 fit striker in the squad ? I wouldn't call James Scott a striker as he never scores goals and I can't even remember him having a shot in goal in all the time he's been with Hibs.
08-04-2022, 05:49 PM
Oh yeah, he's one of the hundreds with 500 games and a sc win. Hibs legend. Facto.
08-04-2022, 05:54 PM
Will be interesting to see which keeper he plays.
Doidge injured ankle...
So we have 1 fit striker in the squad ? I wouldn't call James Scott a striker as he never scores goals and I can't even remember him having a shot in goal in all the time he's been with Hibs.
I think he’ll play Macey, he’s always brought him back in as soon as he’s been available.
Remember Scott started the last game at Tynecastle, was miles off it and hooked at half time. It’s mental that we’re having to rely on a 19 year old in such and important position, in such important games.
seanshow
08-04-2022, 06:06 PM
Next 2 big games, is this fair or ludicrous regarding our manager.
Putting aside whether we make the top six or not.
W/W
D/W
W/L
L/W
The show must go on.
L/L
D/L
The end is nigh.
08-04-2022, 07:08 PM
No doubt going to be a tough game and I hope every player is up for the fight!
Past two meetings this season not much between both teams with a draw maybe a fair result in both and we all know it will probably be decided on how Gordon performs.
Not really been up to date past few days on team news but would like to see Clarke on the right and Doig on the left.
08-04-2022, 07:13 PM
We need to win this.
Finishing bottom 6 would be absolutely shocking, win this and get a bit of momentum to try and kick on and finish in a European place.
I think we’ll do the business.
LunasBoots
08-04-2022, 07:40 PM
Think it will be a game of few chances going on previous Derby's this season, will be tight possibly another 0-0 game.
Doidge defo out. Ankle injury.
Macey back.
08-04-2022, 07:43 PM
You called him a great player in an earlier post.. If he's such a great player then why has he been overlooked at international level for so long and only got 1 cap to his name ???
He is a great player for Hibs not difficult to understand.
mokie
08-04-2022, 09:01 PM
He is a great player for Hibs not difficult to understand.
Ok but if he's a great player for Hibs then don't you agree he would've been looked at by the international manager long before Steve Clarke picked him or better and bigger domestic sides would've been sniffing about him ??
Not difficult to understand my question..
08-04-2022, 09:07 PM
Ok but if he's a great player for Hibs then don't you agree he would've been looked at by the international manager long before Steve Clarke picked him or better and bigger domestic sides would've been sniffing about him ??
Not difficult to understand my question..
It is a pathetic argument that if you play 500 times for Hibs and don't leave then you can't be a very good player. I believe that Aberdeen wanted to sign him at one point but Paul wanted to stay at Hibs. I've asked this before when this argument is made, was Arthur Duncan a bad player? What about Jimmy O etc. Played loads of games for Hibs and left to go to teams we would see as lesser than Hibs.
08-04-2022, 09:11 PM
Hanlon has played near 500 games for us, been club captain and lifted the Scottish Cup. Absolutely mental to suggest he's anything other than a club legend.
08-04-2022, 09:11 PM
Slaver
ardecos
08-04-2022, 09:21 PM
Missing this one as I'm down at the Grand National tomorrow but I'll be keeping tabs on the score. Hopefully we can do the business and get into the top six and also give us some belief ahead of the semi final.
I went to the Grand National in 1980 in my Hillmnan Imp, zooming down the M6 at 60 mph flat out. It was most disappointing in that I couldn't back a winner to save myself, even though the winner was called Ben Nevis. Anyway better luck tomorrow, and hopefully by the time the race starts you'll already be happy.
08-04-2022, 09:26 PM
Our lack of goals is the issue, isn't it. Can we create enough chances to win the game? We are struggling to open teams up. I would be happy with a draw at Tiny.
08-04-2022, 10:44 PM
I went to the Grand National in 1980 in my Hillmnan Imp, zooming down the M6 at 60 mph flat out. It was most disappointing in that I couldn't back a winner to save myself, even though the winner was called Ben Nevis. Anyway better luck tomorrow, and hopefully by the time the race starts you'll already be happy.
Here's hoping. 👍
Rondon
08-04-2022, 10:50 PM
Just worried about the lack of goals, really hope we create chances and someone takes them.
Wouldn’t b surprised if it’s 0 0 tbh.
Hopefully I’m wrong and we get the win
08-04-2022, 11:25 PM
Our lack of goals is the issue, isn't it. Can we create enough chances to win the game? We are struggling to open teams up. I would be happy with a draw at Tiny.
Really? Happy with a draw against them? Never ever, those lot celebrate draws, not us. Win or nothing, every time, especially given the league as it stands, to be sure of top 6 we need a win.
I would say it is, to date, the most important game of the season. IF EVER THERE WAS A "MUST WIN"
game it is tommorows.
If we lose, (Sauzee forbid), is the end of our season? NO.
Disappointing, yes, but, if we lose in the league, win the semi & final, we go into the European league stages & the scrum lose out having to play play-off off games to qualify where we would already be.
We, despite our deficienc ies, are capable of beating them in both games, ( providing we turn up on both occassions).games
Am I confident ? No
Am I apprehensive? No
It is a derby, (both games), the form book goes out the window no matter which team is On top.
Do I think we CAN win, of course I do.
Do I think we WILL win? Hmmm harder question. Depends on which Hibs turn up on the day.
They are just a bog standard spf team with a good keeper imo.
To all my fellow hibby's attending the game, stay safe, ROAR THE BOYS ON, & hopefully we will do the buisness. (Cannae be there, am in Spain celebrating my 50th wedding anniversary, would rather be at the game.)
Onwards & upwards guys, keep the faith ftjt's
08-04-2022, 11:27 PM
First goal is everything.
08-04-2022, 11:31 PM
First goal is everything.
Not of it is for them ( was off side anyway),
Just means we will in 2-1 instead of 2-0 .
Keep the faith, keep the faith.
Ftjt's
08-04-2022, 11:35 PM
It’s derby day…..get into these absolute *****. I don’t think I’ve ever wanted to beat them more!
09-04-2022, 05:48 AM
Get up at half 6 every day. Comes to the weekend - “I’ll get a lie in on Saturday”. Do I ****. Mind is buzzing at 6, can’t get back to sleep.
It’s derby day ladies and gents, get stuck into these scarf twirling *****.
OstKurve Hibs
09-04-2022, 06:07 AM
Get up at half 6 every day. Comes to the weekend - “I’ll get a lie in on Saturday”. Do I ****. Mind is buzzing at 6, can’t get back to sleep.
It’s derby day ladies and gents, get stuck into these scarf twirling *****.
Same hear, up since 6 listen to the songs.
10.14 train to haymarket, in auld reekie for aboot half 11 buzzin !
Just trying t to decide what boozer to hit pre match, fancy joining in the march to the pbs wi block 7 so prob b the murrayfield hotel.
09-04-2022, 06:11 AM
Have a feeling this could be Melkersen's day.
09-04-2022, 06:37 AM
Have a feeling this could be Melkersen's day.
Here's hoping👍
hibbydog
09-04-2022, 06:51 AM
As the years have rolled by, my excitement and optimism has been replaced with dour reaility. Probs the result of bitter experience.
We’re just not a very good side. If you don’t believe me look at our results and league position.
Best I see is a 1-1, with results elsewhere going out way and we scrape into the top 6.
09-04-2022, 07:28 AM
As the years have rolled by, my excitement and optimism has been replaced with dour reaility. Probs the result of bitter experience.
We’re just not a very good side. If you don’t believe me look at our results and league position.
Best I see is a 1-1, with results elsewhere going out way and we scrape into the top 6.
That's me all fired up now after reading this motivational masterpiece.
09-04-2022, 07:50 AM
That's me all fired up now after reading this motivational masterpiece.
Yep not exactly Churchillian :greengrin
mokie
09-04-2022, 07:50 AM
It is a pathetic argument that if you play 500 times for Hibs and don't leave then you can't be a very good player. I believe that Aberdeen wanted to sign him at one point but Paul wanted to stay at Hibs. I've asked this before when this argument is made, was Arthur Duncan a bad player? What about Jimmy O etc. Played loads of games for Hibs and left to go to teams we would see as lesser than Hibs.
It is pathetic to think that if you are constantly overlooked at international level and overlooked by better sides then you are a very good player.. You also believe that Aberdeen wanted to sign him ?? That myth has been on the rounds for a long time now but nobody seems to bring anything concrete on that topic...
Anyway , here's hoping for a Hibs win...........
Bridge hibs
09-04-2022, 08:02 AM
It is pathetic to think that if you are constantly overlooked at international level and overlooked by better sides then you are a very good player.. You also believe that Aberdeen wanted to sign him ?? That myth has been on the rounds for a long time now but nobody seems to bring anything concrete on that topic...
Anyway , here's hoping for a Hibs win...........Myth ?
Hibernian defender Paul Hanlon holds signing talks with Aberdeen
The 26-year-old has spoken to Derek McInnes' Dons over a summer move to Pittodrie.
By STV News
Published 24 May 2016.
Hibernian defender Paul Hanlon has held talks with Aberdeen over a summer move.
The 26-year-old's deal at Easter Road expires in the close season and the central defender has already held discussions with the Dons over joining the Pittodrie outfit.
Hibernian are keen to keep the player with Hanlon yet to make a decision on his future after helping the capital club claim their first Scottish Cup crown since 1902 following a 3-2 triumph over Rangers.
Having come through the club's youth system, Hanlon has made over 250 appearances for Hibernian and enjoyed a brief loan spell with St Johnstone during 2008/09.
09-04-2022, 08:05 AM
Myth ?
Hibernian defender Paul Hanlon holds signing talks with Aberdeen
The 26-year-old has spoken to Derek McInnes' Dons over a summer move to Pittodrie.
By STV News
Published 24 May 2016.
Hibernian defender Paul Hanlon has held talks with Aberdeen over a summer move.
The 26-year-old's deal at Easter Road expires in the close season and the central defender has already held discussions with the Dons over joining the Pittodrie outfit.
Hibernian are keen to keep the player with Hanlon yet to make a decision on his future after helping the capital club claim their first Scottish Cup crown since 1902 following a 3-2 triumph over Rangers.
Having come through the club's youth system, Hanlon has made over 250 appearances for Hibernian and enjoyed a brief loan spell with St Johnstone during 2008/09.
Paul Hanlon definitely spoke to Aberdeen.
Source: Paul Hanlon and his dad at Musselburgh racecourse, summer 2016. He also told my Dad (a friend of Paul's dad) that he had signed a new contract with Hibs that week but the release of that news was being held back.
Bridge hibs
09-04-2022, 08:13 AM
Source: Paul Hanlon and his dad at Musselburgh racecourse, summer 2016. He also told my Dad (a friend of Paul's dad) that he had signed a new contract with Hibs that week but the release of that news was being held back.Yeah I remember the speculation and was aware McInnes was a big admirer of Hanlon, I would have been pretty gutted if our cup winning legend had signed for that lot
Hibees1973
09-04-2022, 08:29 AM
After finishing above the Yams in league placings over the last 4-5 consecutive seasons, it's now their turn to be above us this season.
Results so far this season, and in the past, count for diddly squat in relation to today's game and next week.
Hibs need to show a lot more going forward in the next 2 games. From what I have seen so far this season, Rangers/Celtic/Hearts apart, every team seems to sit in against us. This won't happen in the next two games, which are real cup-ties, there should be little need for us to be passive. This will help us.
The likes of Melkersen, Newell, Cadden, Doyle-Hayes and whichever other wide players we play, need to show up big time for us to win both. From what I've seen in the last couple of months I think it's unlikely.
Over to you Hibs....prove me wrong.
09-04-2022, 08:31 AM
Yeah I remember the speculation and was aware McInnes was a big admirer of Hanlon, I would have been pretty gutted if our cup winning legend had signed for that lot
Hanlon was also wanted by Everton when younger but went to Hibs. This was from youth coaches at Hutchy Vale.
He’s a Hibs legend and I’ve seen him play many more good games than bad.
mokie
09-04-2022, 08:45 AM
Source: Paul Hanlon and his dad at Musselburgh racecourse, summer 2016. He also told my Dad (a friend of Paul's dad) that he had signed a new contract with Hibs that week but the release of that news was being held back.
Let's go with that..
One team in 14 years has looked to sign him. That really does say a lot does it ?? The comments on here by some posters about his ability would procliam that it's been a steady stream of interested sides in him...
09-04-2022, 08:49 AM
Let's go with that..
One team in 14 years has looked to sign him. That really does say a lot does it ?? The comments on here by some posters about his ability would procliam that it's been a steady stream of interested sides in him...
Such god awful logic it's painful. Do you only judge players based on other teams interest?
09-04-2022, 08:51 AM
Let's go with that..
Does your argument just change when someone proves you wrong on your original point?
09-04-2022, 08:58 AM
Melkerson to put the ***** to the sword.
Cmon Hibs.
For the actual genuine fans who seem to be more interested in obsessing about ticket sales (are they a slightly bigger fan base than us? Does it really matter? Does it change the fact we are better and classier than them in every single way?) and thinking of blaming other fans for not going to Hampden, give it a rest and put all your energy into supporting your team today and next week. These are huge games.
Bridge hibs
09-04-2022, 08:59 AM
Let's go with that..
One team in 14 years has looked to sign him. That really does say a lot does it ?? The comments on here by some posters about his ability would procliam that it's been a steady stream of interested sides in him...You said it was a myth, you have been proved wrong, who gives a **** if anyone is or was interested in signing him, he stayed and he has proved his worth. Now stop being a ****ing troll and try supporting the players
09-04-2022, 09:06 AM
Let's go with that..
Oh ffs. Just concede the point eh?
CL0762
09-04-2022, 09:23 AM
Let's go with that..
teams can only be credited with an interest if the player themselves is interested in leaving.
Paul was also the subject of interest from the MLS around the same time.
Paul has been an excellent servant to the club, it’s absolutely mental to think otherwise.
09-04-2022, 09:48 AM
Anyway , here's hoping for a Hibs win...........
The only thing pathetic is you writing that and pretending you mean it.
Big Hibs crowd outside Malones Morrison St, couple of police watching, still find it hard to believe they allowed a 3pm kick off for this.
09-04-2022, 10:04 AM
If someone’s saying Hanlon has more failures than successes then the same is true for thousands of footballers who go their careers without getting beat to the successes Hanlon has had, both in terms of cup medals, appearances for a club the size of ours, international caps and then the less tangible ones like Hampden appearances, semi final wins, cup final appearances, European games.
There are thousands of footballers who’d give their right arm to have had the career that Hanlon has had.
Absolutely absurd, to the point of being ridiculous, to try and make a case for him being in any way a failure.
09-04-2022, 10:08 AM
Let's go with that..
He has also been very close to signing for Fulham amongst others while at Hibs.
And a lack of interest from other teams is such a s**tty argument anyway. How many players cut it at a club like Hibs for that long without being high quality? None, because managers understand if they play them they lose their job quicker so they move them on. They don’t keep them around out of sentiment and keep giving them new contracts so they can be bad at their job.
It’s exceptionally difficult to stay at Hibs for as long as he has, and you can only do that when you’re good enough.
09-04-2022, 10:18 AM
I think the main thing is we all cast doubt on Hanlons abilities and whether other teams actually want him, on the morning of a massive derby :rolleyes:
Tells you all you need to know about why posters are here in the first place.
Cmon Hibs. Let’s just beat these shower of *****.
09-04-2022, 10:25 AM
Big Hibs crowd outside Malones Morrison St, couple of police watching, still find it hard to believe they allowed a 3pm kick off for this.
Before sky TV et al, this fixture was played at 3pm Saturday for a hundred years !!
In front of far much larger crowds,too... And there were more boozers as well !
And cairry oots at the game !
Today is the first 3pm Saturday kick off for a Derby since 2006.
According to Hibs Match Preview
09-04-2022, 10:29 AM
If someone’s saying Hanlon has more failures than successes then the same is true for thousands of footballers who go their careers without getting beat to the successes Hanlon has had, both in terms of cup medals, appearances for a club the size of ours, international caps and then the less tangible ones like Hampden appearances, semi final wins, cup final appearances, European games.
There are thousands of footballers who’d give their right arm to have had the career that Hanlon has had.
Absolutely absurd, to the point of being ridiculous, to try and make a case for him being in any way a failure.
Agreed
Paul Hanlon was a key player in Hibernian winning the scottish cup. Its not even possible for him to have more failure than success as he has achieved something legendary.
09-04-2022, 10:33 AM
1st gulp of lager has just passed my lips.
**** Hearts, **** their dour strips, **** their general dourness, **** their 'oh Walter Scott means our name is dead romantic' bull****, **** Edinburgh Council, **** Strongbow, Miller Homes and Ukio Bankas, **** Wallace Mercer, **** Robbie Neilson and his Donald Trump level of baldness denial haircut, **** Rudi 'give me even more of your money and I'll pour a couple of hipster pints' Skacel, **** their hun defender, **** maroon Adidas Gazelles, **** their 'let's pretend we have 2 tiers and paint the floodlights pink' stadium and **** that manky smell that hangs over Gorgie. Just **** Hearts.
Before sky TV et al, this fixture was played at 3pm Saturday for a hundred years !!
Totally understand that, been a while let's hope the fans behave themselves, alcohol can cause so much bother.
09-04-2022, 10:38 AM
**** Hearts, **** their dour strips, **** their general dourness, **** their 'oh Walter Scott means our name is dead romantic' bull****, **** Edinburgh Council, **** Strongbow, Miller Homes and Ukio Bankas, **** Wallace Mercer, **** Robbie Neilson and his Donald Trump level of baldness denial haircut, **** Rudi 'give me even more of your money and I'll pour a couple of hipster pints' Skacel, **** their hun defender, **** maroon Adidas Gazelles, **** their 'let's pretend we have 2 tiers and paint the floodlights pink' stadium and **** that manky smell that hangs over Gorgie. Just **** Hearts.
**** their maroon cardigans. **** their staircase to nowhere. **** their cash cow, their self-congratulating ‘only did it because we pumped charities” fan group. **** their minging colours.
09-04-2022, 10:42 AM
Is that from the next trainspotting film? 😉
09-04-2022, 10:43 AM
**** their maroon cardigans. **** their staircase to nowhere. **** their cash cow, their self-congratulating ‘only did it because we pumped charities” fan group. **** their minging colours.
**** their plastic owl. **** their Rover SEs. **** their Rimas Magic Sticks. **** their Russian Hats and **** Casper Boy running on to hit Riordan and missing his swipe and falling on his erchie.
Bridge hibs
09-04-2022, 10:43 AM
**** Hearts, **** their dour strips, **** their general dourness, **** their 'oh Walter Scott means our name is dead romantic' bull****, **** Edinburgh Council, **** Strongbow, Miller Homes and Ukio Bankas, **** Wallace Mercer, **** Robbie Neilson and his Donald Trump level of baldness denial haircut, **** Rudi 'give me even more of your money and I'll pour a couple of hipster pints' Skacel, **** their hun defender, **** maroon Adidas Gazelles, **** their 'let's pretend we have 2 tiers and paint the floodlights pink' stadium and **** that manky smell that hangs over Gorgie. Just **** Hearts.All that after one gulp, you must be a cheap date 🤣
I agree 100% in everything you say 🇳🇬👍🇳🇬
Bridge hibs
09-04-2022, 10:45 AM
**** their maroon cardigans. **** their staircase to nowhere. **** their cash cow, their self-congratulating ‘only did it because we pumped charities” fan group. **** their minging colours.**** their chips, **** their rusty pink bus shelter, **** their roof bar where you cant see the castle and **** their glass fronted stand that looks like a ****ing office block
09-04-2022, 10:49 AM
**** their chips, **** their rusty pink bus shelter, **** their roof bar where you cant see the castle and **** their glass fronted stand that looks like a ****ing office block
**** their money laundering owners , **** their establishment ethos , **** their feelings of injustice , **** their borrowing more than they can payback , **** the chips on their shoulders, **** their bigoted fans …and **** their lack of celebrity supporters …get it right up them
09-04-2022, 10:52 AM
**** their chips, **** their rusty pink bus shelter, **** their roof bar where you cant see the castle and **** their glass fronted stand that looks like a ****ing office block
**** Pyjama man, **** vomitoriums, **** Leslie Deans, **** pretending to play in the Champions League when you got papped out in the 1st qualifying round...
JamesHFC
09-04-2022, 10:55 AM
There’s class, there’s first class and then there’s Hibs’ class.
Bridge hibs
09-04-2022, 10:58 AM
**** their wee 5 aside pitch, **** their girly twirly, **** their tiny wee police box, **** their brown cords, **** their jesus sandals and **** their kid on press box when it gets waterlogged
09-04-2022, 10:59 AM
Just watched Maloney’s press and internal pre match interview
He looks really nervous to me, anyone else watched them!
Bridge hibs
09-04-2022, 11:01 AM
He looks really nervous to me, anyone else watched them!I think he always appears nervous, in fact Maloneys interviews make me feel nervous
Yip and I was part of those 3 pm bigger crowds, loved it.
09-04-2022, 11:52 AM
Let's go with that..
You’ve put across this same argument about Hanlon/Stevenson several times and have been met with the same reaction every single time. Maybe take the hint and give up.
09-04-2022, 11:56 AM
First one I’ve missed at tynie in 6 years…MON THE HIBS
OldEast
09-04-2022, 12:11 PM
Yip and I was part of those 3 pm bigger crowds, loved it.
Those were the days. Saturday 3pm for the league and Wednesday 19.30 for cup and European games.
09-04-2022, 12:16 PM
I think he always appears nervous, in fact Maloneys interviews make me feel nervous
Hope he does not come across like that to the players and it’s solely a meda thing as agree it’s disconcerting and he never fills me with confidence
09-04-2022, 12:19 PM
**** the hearts, **** hearty Harry, **** Scott Wilson and his whiney voice, **** marshalls chunky chicken 🤣
09-04-2022, 12:21 PM
Rarely watch them billy don’t particularly enjoy his style which I agree is nervous and didn’t fill me with confidence
However he must know two defeats to Hearts and our season is over and more fans will be disaffectedPlus he is still a rookie manager finding his feet under the most difficult circumstances
LunasBoots
09-04-2022, 12:25 PM
Yup, can't watch him.
09-04-2022, 12:26 PM
**** the Hesrts
Inconsequential
09-04-2022, 12:38 PM
Yup, can't watch him. Quite correct don't watch the interviews. Interviews don't matter one iota. What a fuss about absolutely nothing. Shaun Maloney is a football manager by profession not a public speaker. Far too much coverage on football these days it's the ninety minutes that are important. Let the managers manage their sides I say enough of the blanket coverage.
09-04-2022, 12:46 PM
Not a bad line up, maybe wouldnt have started wright but lets hope it works
09-04-2022, 12:46 PM
I think he always appears nervous, in fact Maloneys interviews make me feel nervous
Yes I am so nervous already I could not watch it
Turkish Green
09-04-2022, 01:12 PM
Maloney's nervousness makes me nervous.
mokie
09-04-2022, 10:50 PM
[QUOTE=MWHIBBIES;6914324]Agreed
Paul Hanlon was a key player in Hibernian winning the scottish cup. Its not even possible for him to have more failure than success as he has achieved something legendary.[/QUOTE
firstly he lost 5 finals out of 6 so there’s more failings than successes.
secondly , he was a key player in their first goal today. Complete cruise control then good old captain hanlon rocks up.
He also failed to shut down Halliday for the third goal. Just stood there watching as Halliday set himself , looked up and got the shot away.......
Utter rubbish.