View Full Version : “culloden”

Scotty Leither
03-04-2022, 11:25 AM
Emblazoned across a giant butcher’s apron at Ibrox.

Confirming to the watching world what a bunch of self-loathing Neanderthal breed of “peepul” they really are .

HendoDelivered
03-04-2022, 11:26 AM
Who cares?

03-04-2022, 11:27 AM

Confirming to the watching world what a bunch of self-loathing Neanderthal breed of “peepul” they really are .

And most of the watching world will have no idea what that means 🤣

03-04-2022, 11:30 AM

Bunch o Cumberland sausages!
The hun of the Cumberlands!

Scotty Leither
03-04-2022, 11:30 AM
Who cares?

Naebody in Scottish football it would appear. That’s how them and their mates from Parkhead get to spout their bile unchallenged every week.

Zambernardi1875
03-04-2022, 11:32 AM
Could it not be huns from the village ?

03-04-2022, 11:32 AM
Naebody in Scottish football it would appear. That’s how them and their mates from Parkhead get to spout their bile unchallenged every week.

Does anyone really care about a battle from 1746, it is 2022!! 🤷🏻

03-04-2022, 11:34 AM
They're in the wrong country, maybe even the wrong century, it's just a shame no other modern nation wants them.

Scotty Leither
03-04-2022, 11:35 AM

Some do, some don’t. I just think it’s worth calling out that’s all.

03-04-2022, 11:41 AM

These people celebrate a battle from 1690, 1746 is just before WW2 as far as they’re concerned.

As far as benefit of the doubt is concerned, I never want to give it to these ***** but it might just be people from Culloden?

Scotty Leither
03-04-2022, 11:47 AM
These people celebrate a battle from 1690, 1746 is just before WW2 as far as they’re concerned.

As far as benefit of the doubt is concerned, I never want to give it to these ***** but it might just be people from Culloden?

Culloden Loyal branch?

03-04-2022, 11:47 AM
Could it not be huns from the village ?

Aye, it is an actual place.

03-04-2022, 11:49 AM
Culloden Loyal branch?

A bit like turkeys voting for Christmas.
Muppets the lot o them

:redindian:

03-04-2022, 11:49 AM
Culloden Loyal branch?

There is a Inverness Rangers supporters club so could be someone who's from Culloden?

03-04-2022, 11:53 AM
There is a Inverness Rangers supporters club so could be someone who's from Culloden?

Who I'm sure would think himself big and clever putting the name on that flag.

03-04-2022, 11:54 AM

Scotty Leither
03-04-2022, 12:02 PM

Probably also got it embroidered on his polyester suit for the marching season too.

03-04-2022, 12:03 PM
Ach, these are the folk who conveniently forget ( lets face it, don't know ) that their precious King Billy had the support of the Pope they profess to hate against king James.

That aside, if they seriously want to celebrate a battle and the aftermath of it, which resulted in the slaughter, persecution, cultural rape and dispossession of thousands of their countrymen and women, then hell who are we to argue. To paraphrase another poster, self loathing at it finest.

Reminds me quite a bit of professional apologist for being Scottish Neil Oliver who referred to the highland clearances as the population of the highlands being given the opportunity to spread their wings and see the world, or words to that affect. No doubt our sticky bun friends agree with that sentiment on an event that to this day means Scotland has half the population it should have.

03-04-2022, 12:06 PM
Who cares?

Every single person that replies to this thread.

03-04-2022, 12:09 PM
Every single person that replies to this thread.

I don't care and I replied 🤣

03-04-2022, 12:16 PM

i care, but then I’m a history buff generally. Not just Scottish history.

wearehibernian
03-04-2022, 12:16 PM
A surprisingly recent battle for them to acknowledge... :wink:

03-04-2022, 01:04 PM
Culloden is more or less a big suburb of Inverness. Lovely city but an unfortunately high Hun content.

03-04-2022, 01:06 PM

Oh they can go further back than that!!

03-04-2022, 01:26 PM
Oh they can go further back than that!!Aye, they used to eat each other, in the days before Macdonald's.

03-04-2022, 01:53 PM

Weird people.

hhibs
03-04-2022, 01:54 PM
Ach, these are the folk who conveniently forget ( lets face it, don't know ) that their precious King Billy had the support of the Pope they profess to hate against king James.

That aside, if they seriously want to celebrate a battle and the aftermath of it, which resulted in the slaughter, persecution, cultural rape and dispossession of thousands of their countrymen and women, then hell who are we to argue. To paraphrase another poster, self loathing at it finest.

Reminds me quite a bit of professional apologist for being Scottish Neil Oliver who referred to the highland clearances as the population of the highlands being given the opportunity to spread their wings and see the world, or words to that affect. No doubt our sticky bun friends agree with that sentiment on an event that to this day means Scotland has half the population it should have.

Yes indeed.

03-04-2022, 03:08 PM
Aye, they used to eat each other, in the days before Macdonald's.

Oi, leave the MacDonalds out of this. My 5 x (yes 5 times) great grandfather led the clan MacDonald at Culloden and was instantly killed for his trouble. 😠

03-04-2022, 03:14 PM
Oi, leave the MacDonalds out of this. My 5 x (yes 5 times) great grandfather led the clan MacDonald at Culloden and was instantly killed for his trouble. [emoji34][emoji23]

A world apart from the yank junk food I had in mind[emoji6]

03-04-2022, 03:15 PM
Imagine being a Rangers fan and going through life hating everything and everyone that wasn't like minded. I know they aren't all like that and i know a couple of "decent" Rangers fans but I don't know how they can associate themselves with the rest of the brain dead neanderthals. I have no time for Celtic either but I'm delighted they won.

ErinGoBragh..
03-04-2022, 03:15 PM

100%. Huns are gonna Hun!

03-04-2022, 03:27 PM
Imagine being a Rangers fan and going through life hating everything and everyone that wasn't like minded. I know they aren't all like that and i know a couple of "decent" Rangers fans but I don't know how they can associate themselves with the rest of the brain dead neanderthals. I have no time for Celtic either but I'm delighted they won.

I used to think that not all rangers fans were huns. Some were indeed like minded. Until I happened to watch a game or two against them (Slivka goal game plus another we won there) and the rabidness soon appeared. A foul institution

hibby rae
03-04-2022, 03:34 PM

I do, but in fairness I also studied history at university :greengrin:greengrin

Hibiza
03-04-2022, 03:38 PM
Perhaps I'm missing something , are they celebrating the English victory at Culloden ?

03-04-2022, 03:40 PM
Perhaps I'm missing something , are they celebrating the English victory at Culloden ?

More than likely.

Mcbizz1998
03-04-2022, 03:42 PM
Nothing surprises me with these odd balls.

I must say, I hate Celtic, but I do have several Celtic supporting mates/acquaintances and they are all decent.

I have NEVER met a Hun that I like or can be bothered spending any time with.

03-04-2022, 03:52 PM
[emoji23]

A world apart from the yank junk food I had in mind[emoji6]

👍🏻

03-04-2022, 03:57 PM

In this revisionist world it was a Hanoverian victory v Jacobites. But the people at the time considered it Scotland v England and for me that’s what matters historically, regardless of who won. The number of mercenaries involved, particularly on the English side, does rather cloud the issue as it was also part of a much broader European war.

hibby rae
03-04-2022, 04:02 PM
In this revisionist world it was a Hanoverian victory v Jacobites. But the people at the time considered it Scotland v England and for me that’s what matters historically, regardless of who won. The number of mercenaries involved, particularly on the English side, does rather cloud the issue as it was also part of a much broader European war.

I'd say it was more a Scottish civil war, a lot of the regiments were from the Lowlands. But I agree at the time it's part of a wider European conflict around Catholicism and Protestantism.

03-04-2022, 04:34 PM
Oh they can go further back than that!!

You mean 2012 when the came in to existance?

Chorley Hibee
03-04-2022, 04:41 PM

I must say, I hate Celtic, but I do have several Celtic supporting mates/acquaintances and they are all decent.

Same for me

You never have to scratch far below the surface to find even your 'moderate' hun is driven by nothing but hatred, sectarianism and racism.

Truly the most odious football club alive.

03-04-2022, 04:42 PM

I know a few huns who are actually as sound as could be. Hate all the sectarian nonsense. But even then they realise they're in the minority.

03-04-2022, 04:45 PM
I'd say it was more a Scottish civil war, a lot of the regiments were from the Lowlands. But I agree at the time it's part of a wider European conflict around Catholicism and Protestantism.

Yep that’s my view as well. There were many scots on the Hanoverian side and I think that there are regiments in the army like the old Royal Scots who have Culloden as a battle honour. You only have to look at the names of the streets in the New Town to see where lowland sympathies lied.

03-04-2022, 04:49 PM

They’ll be turning up with a large ‘Z’ on their flags before long.

Chorley Hibee
03-04-2022, 04:51 PM
I know a few huns who are actually as sound as could be. Hate all the sectarian nonsense. But even then they realise they're in the minority.

Never been able to buy this.

Why would any right-minded person want to associate themselves with that football club given their entire identity, and history, is stained with nothing but sectarianism, violence, racism and cheating.

It's not just the fans either, it's the entire ethos of the club from the top down.

If they truly hated it - they'd turn the back on it all and watch another football club instead.

03-04-2022, 04:55 PM
Never been able to buy this.

Why would any right-minded person want to associate themselves with that football club given their entire identity, and history, is stained with nothing but sectarianism, violence, racism and cheating.

It's not just the fans either, it's the entire ethos of the club from the top down.

If they truly hated it - they'd turn the back on it all and watch another football club instead.

Don't think it's as easy as that to be fair. You can't just feign affection for the club you support. And they do truly hate the sectarian aspect of it.

03-04-2022, 04:59 PM
Yep that’s my view as well. There were many scots on the Hanoverian side and I think that there are regiments in the army like the old Royal Scots who have Culloden as a battle honour. You only have to look at the names of the streets in the New Town to see where lowland sympathies lied.

I always thought it was British government forces fighting against Charlies wee highland army.

Chorley Hibee
03-04-2022, 05:01 PM
Don't think it's as easy as that to be fair. You can't just feign affection for the club you support. And they do truly hate the sectarian aspect of it.

Why would you hold any affection for such a club if you didn't espouse the same 'morals' that rancid institution does?

I couldn't ever follow a club with such a horrible outlook.

03-04-2022, 05:04 PM
Why would you hold any affection for such a club if you didn't espouse the same 'morals' that rancid institution does?

I couldn't ever follow a club with such a horrible outlook.

Aye fine. They're liars and really sectarian welts. You're right.

Chorley Hibee
03-04-2022, 05:09 PM
Aye fine. They're liars and really sectarian welts. You're right.

I don't think I'm asking an unreasonable question?

I'd love to hear an answer from them on it.

03-04-2022, 05:14 PM
I don't think I'm asking an unreasonable question?

I'd love to hear an answer from them on it.

I do think it's unreasonable to think that there aren't Rangers fans who don't buy into the sectarian aspect, aye.

Their answer will no doubt be the same as yours or mine when it comes to Hibs, they love the club and have been brought up supporting them.

hibby rae
03-04-2022, 05:14 PM

Absolutely, the predecessors to the King's Own Scottish Borderers were also there.

Chorley Hibee
03-04-2022, 05:22 PM
I do think it's unreasonable to think that there aren't Rangers fans who don't buy into the sectarian aspect, aye.

Their answer will no doubt be the same as yours or mine when it comes to Hibs, they love the club and have been brought up supporting them.

Perhaps it would be their answer, but if my club was mired in the history and culture that the huns embrace, then it's not a club I'd want to be associated with.

The old Ian Archer comment comes to mind:

“This has to be said about Rangers, as a Scottish Football club they are a permanent embarrassment and an occasional disgrace.

This country would be a better place if Rangers did not exist.”

03-04-2022, 05:25 PM
Perhaps it would be their answer, but if my club was mired in the history and culture that the huns embrace, then it's not a club I'd want to be associated with.

“This has to be said about Rangers, as a Scottish Football club they are a permanent embarrassment and an occasional disgrace.

Your quote we can 100% agree on. No doubt said decades about but rings true to this day.

03-04-2022, 05:43 PM

Maybe we just need to neuter all their fans? For the greater good... 😁

03-04-2022, 06:50 PM

One of my best friends is a Rangers fan and goes to almost every game including Europe. He had enough points to be one of the 600 (I think) fans in Dortmund.

He’s just a normal and rational football fan like us. He despises all the sectarian nonsense and knuckle dragging behaviour but Rangers are his team and football and travelling are his passions. Why shouldn’t he follow his team. He’s just one individual and responsible for his own actions, not sure what else he’s expected to do other than follow his football team.

He is a glory hunter though from Peebles though!

03-04-2022, 06:56 PM
Irvine will have to rewrite Trainspotting 2 and change the pin codes :wink::greengrin

(Apologies if you havent seen T2, my post wont make a lot of sense!)

He's here!
03-04-2022, 07:09 PM
One of my best friends is a Rangers fan and goes to almost every game including Europe. He had enough points to be one of the 600 (I think) fans in Dortmund.

He’s just a normal and rational football fan like us. He despises all the sectarian nonsense and knuckle dragging behaviour but Rangers are his team and football and travelling are his passions. Why shouldn’t he follow his team. He’s just one individual and responsible for his own actions, not sure what else he’s expected to do other than follow his football team.

I shared a flat with a guy like that when I was a student. Decent fella. Also worked with a number of Rangers and Celtic fans when I lived in Glasgow. Again all easy going guys (and girls) who I found it hard to imagine being filled with boiling sectarian rage come match day. The Huns certainly didn't have any issue with me being a Hibs fan (or not that they showed!) and would chat rationally about the games when we played them. As you say, just came across as football fans supporting their team.

There's obviously an ever-present problem among both supports though and personally I think a lot of the pre-historic inanity is fuelled by the mere presence of these teams in Glasgow and the mileage it gives the moronic elements to mythologise such stuff. They're an anachronism and I'd happily see them both disbanded.

The Baldmans Comb
03-04-2022, 07:17 PM

So your "normal and rational" friend just shuts his wee mouth when the "Billy Boys" gets sung at the match and puts his fingers in his ears when "The Famine song" is bawled out in the pub.

I guess he doesn't understand what the "Merry Christmas Tommy Burns" song is all about or "Bouncy Bouncy" and "No Pope of Rome" will be a mystery to him and he will have no idea that the the UDA or UVF songs are about outlawed terrorist organizations.

Its all just about the fitba and the travelling.

Aye of course it is.🤔

03-04-2022, 07:19 PM
So your "normal and rational" friend just shuts his wee mouth when the "Billy Boys" gets sung at the match and puts his fingers in his ears when "The Famine song" is bawled out in the pub.

I guess he doesn't understand what the "Merry Christmas Tommy Burns" song is all about or "Bouncy Bouncy" and "No Pope of Rome" will be a mystery to him and he will have no idea that the the UDA or UVF songs are about outlawed terrorist organizations.

Aye of course it is.🤔

The funniest ones are the ones who say Rangers fans no longer sing those songs.

03-04-2022, 07:21 PM
Culloden is more or less a big suburb of Inverness. Lovely city but an unfortunately high Hun content.

I’m afraid to report my cousin is from Culloden and is a hun with a RFC tattoo.
Rest assured we don’t talk about football much.

03-04-2022, 07:25 PM

Aye of course it is.🤔

I’ll check his arm for UVF tattoos next time I see him, but yes. In this first hand example that’s what I’m saying. He’s just one person and responsible for how he acts himself.

Same as I don’t think it’s fair to stop attending Hibs games at Tynecastle or Hampden as often they can be unpleasant experiences with the amount of coked up neds and folk who get paralytic that come out of the woodwork for these games.

Hibiza
03-04-2022, 07:30 PM
They are just a disgrace.

03-04-2022, 07:38 PM
I’m afraid to report my cousin is from Culloden and is a hun with a RFC tattoo.
Rest assured we don’t talk about football much.

You should offer to pay for him to get a letter T at the front of his tattoo to make it more accurate 😁

03-04-2022, 11:38 PM

Exactly. Wonder what all the folk who find it hard to believe will do when the Mercer song is sung at the next derby. Cause you can guarantee it will be.

04-04-2022, 04:20 AM
Exactly. Wonder what all the folk who find it hard to believe will do when the Mercer song is sung at the next derby. Cause you can guarantee it will be.

While it is wrong, mercer tried to put Hibs out of existence. He deserves no respect whatsoever. He was vermin.

Sectarianism and racism is another level completely.

One is sung by a few idiots. The other is belted out by tens of thousands

Chorley Hibee
04-04-2022, 04:50 AM
While it is wrong, mercer tried to put Hibs out of existence. He deserves no respect whatsoever. He was vermin.

Sectarianism and racism is another level completely.

One is sung by a few idiots. The other is belted out by tens of thousands

Hibs, as a club, don't embrace bigotry, racism, violence etc either.

For Rangers and Sevco though, it is the very essence of their being and has been a culture, from the top, for over a century.

To try and equate a few idiots who follow Hibs with that is utter nonsense.

04-04-2022, 06:34 AM

Not the case. Less than one in five of Jacobites were catholic. Definitely not as simple as a Protestant v Catholic conflict or Scottish civil war but of course there were Scots on both sides, as there were at Bannockburn and Stirling Bridge. There are plenty of revisionists who would like to make that case though. There are Ukrainians on the Russian side right now. Does not make it a civil war.

04-04-2022, 07:31 AM

well I can only speak for myself but I’ll be singing along. Not pleasant perhaps, but that’s what happens when someone tries to kill your club. Respect for the dead? Not unless they’ve earned it. I’ve no respect for plenty of dead people who did heinous acts during their time on earth so why would I respect the memory of the piece of s*** that tried to end Hibs?

rangers mutants and their hatred for entire sections of society for next to no reason are a different story.

there is simply no comparison whatsoever between the two things

(I’m not referring to your mates by the way. Of course there will be some decent Rangers fans amongst the rabid hordes)

04-04-2022, 08:13 AM
You should offer to pay for him to get a letter T at the front of his tattoo to make it more accurate 😁

That should be a lower case t not a capital pne

hibby rae
04-04-2022, 08:45 AM
Not the case. Less than one in five of Jacobites were catholic. Definitely not as simple as a Protestant v Catholic conflict or Scottish civil war but of course there were Scots on both sides, as there were at Bannockburn and Stirling Bridge. There are plenty of revisionists who would like to make that case though. There are Ukrainians on the Russian side right now. Does not make it a civil war.

Yes but importantly, if they were successful a Catholic ruler would be back on the throne, supported by other Catholic rulers, and you have a kind of Highlands vs Lowlands angle plus the Lowlanders were vehemently opposed to Catholicism. Nothing in history is simple, that's why we like 'to an extent' 😂

I would be verging towards the revisionist argument tbh

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-04-2022, 10:47 PM
They're a complete reddener, but it's ridiculous to say there's not a single sound Hun. I live through the west coast now and as a result work with a vast amount of the *****, never got the impression any of them are raging bigots. The Culloden patter is mind boggling though, what the absolute ****😂

And for anyone trying to paint Edinburgh football clubs as being the innocent victims in all of this... Wallace Mercer, Skacel, Stokesys da, Sean Clare, Jean-Claude Darcheville (mind him? Jesus I feel old), Mowbray, "The Gorgie Boys", Craig Leveins "dodgy organ", Marvin Bartley. That's just a start and most of those are within the past decade, I ****in hate the Huns and their wee smelly pals but ourselves and our Rover 90 driving, cardigan wearing neighbours are nae angels neither.

05-04-2022, 05:45 AM
They're a complete reddener, but it's ridiculous to say there's not a single sound Hun. I live through the west coast now and as a result work with a vast amount of the *****, never got the impression any of them are raging bigots. The Culloden patter is mind boggling though, what the absolute ****😂

And for anyone trying to paint Edinburgh football clubs as being the innocent victims in all of this... Wallace Mercer, Skacel, Stokesys da, Sean Clare, Jean-Claude Darcheville (mind him? Jesus I feel old), Mowbray, "The Gorgie Boys", Craig Leveins "dodgy organ", Marvin Bartley. That's just a start and most of those are within the past decade, I ****in hate the Huns and their wee smelly pals but ourselves and our Rover 90 driving, cardigan wearing neighbours are nae angels neither.

Yes, we have the standard amount of idiots any club has. With Rangers it's a big majority and the rest enabling them.

05-04-2022, 09:37 AM

this is the thing, I also live in an area where I work with loads of Rangers fans and you would never know. They’re sound lads, mostly family men, who I would happily go for a pint with on a Friday after work. Good humoured, good for a laugh.

Stick these same lads in ibrox with 50k of their ilk, or the shankill on the 12th July, or just a rangers supporters bar, and watch the pack mentality unfold, and the abuse pour out.

my decent work mates turn into bigoted, rabid, slavering, angry dogs, almost foaming at the mouth.

it’s a fascinating side of human nature if nothing else. And yeah, lots of fans at all clubs are like this. Most just don’t have the political-religious crap to go with it.

05-04-2022, 10:11 AM
I actually feel embarrassed for the owner of that flag. So toe curling and desperate it’s impossible to find genuine offence.

The work of an attention seeker, but the attention they’ve received was probably not what they had hoped. Rather than outrage they are simply being mocked and ridiculed. Doubt it will be seen again.

Mcbizz1998
05-04-2022, 02:33 PM
They're a complete reddener, but it's ridiculous to say there's not a single sound Hun. I live through the west coast now and as a result work with a vast amount of the *****, never got the impression any of them are raging bigots. The Culloden patter is mind boggling though, what the absolute ****[emoji23]

There are no sound Huns, I stand firmly by that assertion.

05-04-2022, 02:50 PM

Cracking song that.

05-04-2022, 02:54 PM

Correct my mate from school is a genuinely decent lad, artist type, earring and rollies when we were kids.

He just happened to support his Dads team. He’s a massive Independence supporter also, so they do exist.

Need to ask him what he does when they all sing about being up to knees and ruling Britannia, etc.

05-04-2022, 03:36 PM
Correct my mate from school is a genuinely decent lad, artist type, earring and rollies when we were kids.

He just happened to support his Dads team. He’s a massive Independence supporter also, so they do exist.

Need to ask him what he does when they all sing about being up to knees and ruling Britannia, etc.

Well the vast majority of them inside Ibrox and their away support, don't have any problem belting out their racist p1sh week after week.

Maybe the 'decent' Rangers fans who sing the songs are only part time racists, but that still makes them racists.