View Full Version : Why did we get rid of Jack Ross
Serious Question , why did we get rid of jack Ross ? Who arguably had us playing no worse than maloney ?
Difference is maloney got full backing in the transfer window where as Ross was let down which the club admitted
Even under Ross we didn’t play as bad as we are at the moment nor were the fans so frustrated ?
Big couple of game for maloney for me, if he loses both hearts games I can see no way back for him , Ross was sacked for less and had the previous season in the bank
02-04-2022, 07:04 PM
Serious Question , why did we get rid of jack Ross ? Who arguably had us playing no worse than maloney ?
Difference is maloney got full backing in the transfer window where as Ross was let down which the club admitted
Even under Ross we didn’t play as bad as we are at the moment nor were the fans so frustrated ?
Big couple of game for maloney for me, if he loses both hearts games I can see no way back for him , Ross was sacked for less and had the previous season in the bank
This debate has been done to death many times over. However we played some much worse stuff towards the end under Ross than what we saw today. Ross lost his last home game against Dundee United 3-0. Ross also had the benefit of Martin Boyle available for 2 years while Maloney had him for 2 weeks.
Paulie Walnuts
02-04-2022, 07:07 PM
Because Ross had us playing absolutely terribly, picking up a really poor amount of points,, 7th in the league and the plan was to improve that?
Sacking Ross doesn’t become a bad mistake if Maloney ends up a failure. The appointment of Maloney would be the bad mistake. He’s not been here long enough to be able to say either way yet though.
As for full backing in the window, we sold the best player in the league outside the old firm. I’m not quite sure that is full backing.
Mikey_1875
02-04-2022, 07:08 PM
We were on a shocking run of form with very little sign of it turning around. Just because it hasn’t immediately turned back to great results doesn’t mean it was wrong to get rid of him. He can maybe count himself unlucky with the transfer window and injuries but we really need to move on.
To suggest Maloney has had full backing in the transfer window is laughable imo. It was another poor window and we lost our best player which JR relied on in plenty of games. If we lose the next two then there probably won’t be any way back for Maloney with some fans but he needs the summer window I think.
02-04-2022, 07:08 PM
In my opinion it is because we’ve got a rookie owner who is still learning, and he hasn’t yet fully got the hang of when to give a toiling manager more time and when to give him his jotters.
What that means for our rookie manager I do not know…
02-04-2022, 07:21 PM
Strange thread to start by the way when you wanted Ross sacked at the time.
This was you the day before Ross was sacked.
We are stinking , have been since rangers game but we play the same players every week
I did want him sacked aye… but surely we replace him with someone that’s gonna do better , maloney isn’t doing that
02-04-2022, 07:50 PM
Is this an alternative take Monty Pythons “What did the Romans ever do for us”? Kinda thing? When are the schools out?
Mr. Wonderful
02-04-2022, 08:03 PM
We got rid of Jack Ross for a poor run of results. Which, in modern day football, is relatively "normal" practice.
It's more baffling that we're currently on a run under our new manager that would make Terry Butchers side look like pep's barca.
Scotty Leither
02-04-2022, 08:05 PM
Ross wa a dull manager, dull demeanour, dull team, although I do wonder what criteria we based Maloney”s appointment on?
Personally I’d have appointed McIness, but guess we’ll never know now. Maloney needs to win this semi final though, that much I do know.
02-04-2022, 08:32 PM
Ross wa a dull manager, dull demeanour, dull team, although I do wonder what criteria we based Maloney”s appointment on?
Personally I’d have appointed McIness, but guess we’ll never know now. Maloney needs to win this semi final though, that much I do know.
Jack Ross was dull, but you'd appoint McInnes?
Ross' Hibs were like barca compared to the turgid football Aberdeen played.
scotia44
02-04-2022, 08:41 PM
In answer to OP Jack Ross failed to win 5 or 6 games against the tractor mob that alone is sackable.
Tactically inept and had a lexo mentality better not to lose than try and win.
With nothing to LOSE he shat it too many times thus sackable again
Need we say anymore
02-04-2022, 08:49 PM
In answer to OP Jack Ross failed to win 5 or 6 games against the tractor mob that alone is sackable.
Tactically inept and had a lexo mentality better not to lose than try and win.
With nothing to LOSE he shat it too many times thus sackable again
Need we say anymore
This is pish, he had the highest top flight win rate since Willie Macfarlane. Ross had an excellent record at Hibs, the fact that some didn't fancy him doesn't mean we need to lie about his record.
02-04-2022, 08:52 PM
You honestly dont know or are you just on the wind up?
02-04-2022, 09:51 PM
I would have stuck with Jack Ross, despite a bad run, as I think he would have turned the corner, but I understand and accept why he got the bullet. Maloney has kept us on a mediocre even keel but, in my opinion, there is no way he will take us anywhere soon. Might sound daft to some, but I felt more comfortable under JR and his team. I sincerely hope I’m wrong but I think Maloney will be gone by October at the latest. Two potential defeats to the Jambos will see him struggling.
DIXIHIBS
02-04-2022, 10:05 PM
I would have stuck with Jack Ross, despite a bad run, as I think he would have turned the corner, but I understand and accept why he got the bullet. Maloney has kept us on a mediocre even keel but, in my opinion, there is no way he will take us anywhere soon. Might sound daft to some, but I felt more comfortable under JR and his team. I sincerely hope I’m wrong but I think Maloney will be gone by October at the latest. Two potential defeats to the Jambos will see him struggling.
Think your last point is important. Lose twice against hertz and its very hard to see how he can recover. A large minority will never accept it.
02-04-2022, 10:09 PM
Think your last point is important. Lose twice against hertz and its very hard to see how he can recover. A large minority will never accept it.
It’s a certainty. Ross even mentioned on Sportscene tonight that you have to beat Hearts as a Hibs manager - he found that out to his cost.
Is beating Hearts the be all and end all for us now?
02-04-2022, 10:09 PM
It’s a certainty. Ross even mentioned on Sportscene tonight that you have to beat Hearts as a Hibs manager - he found that out to his cost.
It is this season.
02-04-2022, 10:11 PM
It is this season.
Unless we lose the final.
Take away the situation we’ve got ourselves in - clean slate and all that next season - if we finished 3rd and lost 4 derbies how would the managers status sit?
02-04-2022, 10:13 PM
Unless we lose the final.
Take away the situation we’ve got ourselves in - clean slate and all that next season - if we finished 3rd and lost 4 derbies how would the managers status sit?
We wouldn't lose all 4. They're **** as well.
02-04-2022, 10:15 PM
This is pish, he had the highest top flight win rate since Willie Macfarlane. Ross had an excellent record at Hibs, the fact that some didn't fancy him doesn't mean we need to lie about his record.You need to factor in the gash league or something
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
02-04-2022, 10:15 PM
It’s a what if question though…
Ray Donovan
02-04-2022, 10:24 PM
It is now for this catastrophe of a season.
DIXIHIBS
02-04-2022, 10:28 PM
Its not the be all but it goes a long way to getting fans onside. Have a great season and lose to hertz fair enough...have a poor season and lose to hertz not acceptable.
02-04-2022, 10:29 PM
5 wins in 25 league games between the pair of them. Ross and Maloney.
long old shift this season. It’ll be hilarious to be honest if we somehow end up with the Scottish cup in our hands on 21st May.
Rondon
02-04-2022, 11:02 PM
We got rid of him cos his football was boring and he couldn’t win the big games.
Anyone that would take him back is off their skulll
Scotty Leither
02-04-2022, 11:49 PM
We got rid of him cos his football was boring and he couldn’t win the big games.
Anyone that would take him back is off their skulll
True. Plus there’s **** all to fear from that Hearts team in either of the next two games. Just wish we were in better shape going into these matches.
02-04-2022, 11:50 PM
long old shift this season. It’ll be hilarious to be honest if we somehow end up with the Scottish cup in our hands on 21st May.
Jesus, I didn't realise it's as bad as that. Relegation form. Be a miracle if we win the cup.
02-04-2022, 11:54 PM
Ross has a far more interesting demeanour than Maloney:cb
03-04-2022, 12:00 AM
Agreed, we are struggling badly and are terrible to watch; yet, in the words of Yazz and the Plastic Population (1988) 'The Only Way Is Up!' We will be better going forward. A transitional phase which can improve.
Rondon
03-04-2022, 12:38 AM
True. Plus there’s **** all to fear from that Hearts team in either of the next two games. Just wish we were in better shape going into these matches.
I know what you mean mate but it is what it is. Nothing more maloney can do apart from put out the best available.
The worry for me is the lack of goals and creativity
03-04-2022, 05:56 AM
We got rid of Jack Ross for a poor run of results. Which, in modern day football, is relatively "normal" practice.
It's more baffling that we're currently on a run under our new manager that would make Terry Butchers side look like pep's barca.
This team is 10x better than butcher. So is our form.
OldEast
03-04-2022, 06:47 AM
We've heard a few times that Ross had arguments with people both at Hibs and Sunderland. Maybe he was Billy big baws behind the scenes and pissed people off. The crap football possibly gave RG and BK the reason they needed to unload him. All speculation of course.
03-04-2022, 07:03 AM
So **** they’re what, 15 points ahead of us?
They’re having a good season, you’re allowed to say it.
What I take consolation in is that if they lose the next two derbies their season WILL be defined by those games, third place finish or not.
Paulie Walnuts
03-04-2022, 07:05 AM
What I take consolation in is that if they lose the next two derbies their season WILL be defined by those games, third place finish or not.
Losing the cup semi would be enough for that. A league win would by largely forgotten about by them if they lose to us at Hampden and they’ll want money spinner out.
03-04-2022, 07:15 AM
We've heard a few times that Ross had arguments with people both at Hibs and Sunderland. Maybe he was Billy big baws behind the scenes and pissed people off. The crap football possibly gave RG and BK the reason they needed to unload him. All speculation of course.
I’ve not heard that about Sunderland and only seen 1 person on here saying it but with no back up at all. Nothing in the papers (who I’m sure everyone would agree would’ve been all over that)?
03-04-2022, 07:26 AM
Getting so bored of this Jack Ross stuff now. He got sacked cause we were ***** under him in the end. Pumped at Livi with three players sent off. How long are we going to keep bringing it up?
He's still doing punditry. If he's that amazing a manager why hasn't he got a gig yet?
03-04-2022, 07:28 AM
They don't beat us 4 times a season though.
That was my point.
03-04-2022, 07:31 AM
Getting so bored of this Jack Ross stuff now. He got sacked cause we were ***** under him in the end. Pumped at Livi with three players sent off. How long are we going to keep bringing it up?
He's still doing punditry. If he's that amazing a manager why hasn't he got a gig yet?
He doesn't need one at the moment, we're still paying him off.
03-04-2022, 07:34 AM
I'm not sure I would agree that Maloney received huge backing at the transfer window in terms of making an immediate impact. I don't think we'll see the benefits of those signings for a year or two. Our form under Maloney has been very poor but we sold Boyle who was easily our best player under Jack Ross and our luck with injuries this year has been extremely bad, so I don't think it can be attributed to the manager's abilities. Yesterday we were still missing Macey, Porto, McGinn, Magennis, Nisbet & Doidge and numerically speaking this was an improvement on the situation. I didn't agree with the sacking of Jack Ross either and ultimately the level of performance we are getting under both managers has been dictated by the quality of player available to them. The recruitment hasn't been good enough over the last 2 or 3 seasons.
03-04-2022, 07:36 AM
I think Jack Ross and Hibs were lucky. Played a season through Covid largely without any fans and had a good return in all competitions.
As soon as any number of fans came back the wheels really started to fly off.
Not sure if it is a direct correlation but certainly feels like we won games because they were played at a testimonial pace.
Jack Ross could have no complaints and has left. Maloney may go the same way.
03-04-2022, 07:36 AM
We got rid of Jack Ross as results were poor, our form was bad, he didn’t win big / important games and the brand of football on show was boring, pedestrian and sometimes down right awful.
If we don’t win 1 of the next two, Shaun Maloney will have no arguments if his fate is sealed in the same way as Jack Ross’s.
03-04-2022, 07:44 AM
We got rid of jack Ross because
Football style didn’t meet fans or owners requirements, 3rd place in a poor league last season papered a few cracks
Martin Boyle had one of his best seasons at hibs and probably bought him time. Sadly for maloney he’s lost his best player.
Lack of quality in squad depth
Stuck with same players most weeks
Lost numerous big games, SC Final, 2 x semi finals, i personally would have gave him his jotters after the 3-0 embarrassment.
He wasn’t Ron Gordon’s appointment
hibbydog
03-04-2022, 07:48 AM
I’m against sacking managers in general. We’ve had 13 managers in the last 20 years. Maybe 3 or 4 of them did a good job.
So, Hibs managers last about a year and a half. There’s proof that changing managers doesn’t work.
I though we were very poor toward the end of Ross’ tenure, and I wasn’t really that bothered when he went.
But at the time, nobody could say the next manager should be …… and he’ll do a good job because ……
Bottom line is investment in the team works, sacking managers doesn’t.
03-04-2022, 07:55 AM
I’m against sacking managers in general. We’ve had 13 managers in the last 20 years. Maybe 3 or 4 of them did a good job.
So, Hibs managers last about a year and a half. There’s proof that changing managers doesn’t work.
I though we were very poor toward the end of Ross’ tenure, and I wasn’t really that bothered when he went.
But at the time, nobody could say the next manager should be …… and he’ll do a good job because ……
Bottom line is investment in the team works, sacking managers doesn’t.
So Terry Butcher would have got hibs promoted first time?
Come on….
03-04-2022, 08:11 AM
He could have easily had a gig by now if he had wanted one.
hibbydog
03-04-2022, 08:16 AM
So Terry Butcher would have got hibs promoted first time?
Come on….
I didn’t say that?
I said that changing managers has been proven to have a low success rate.
So why do we keep doing the same thing and expecting improvement?
The Wireless
03-04-2022, 08:20 AM
I am sure he would appreciate your career suggestions as there are few available.
03-04-2022, 08:21 AM
I don’t think Ross going was the wrong decision (although maybe made at the wrong time). It remains to be seen whether hiring Maloney was the right decision but it’s certainly not been a promising start. The January window was a bit of a mess and I don’t think it’s strengthened us, especially with Boyle leaving. Maloney knows the centre of midfield is an issue but didn’t make any moves to try and sort it even short term.
03-04-2022, 08:23 AM
Because he’s got plenty of money and doesn’t need to work? He can afford a career break and to dot about doing punditry when he chooses to.
03-04-2022, 08:25 AM
He’s been offered lots of roles…just not one he fancies yet….
03-04-2022, 08:31 AM
He could have easily had a gig by now if he had wanted one.
He’s been offered lots of roles…just not one he fancies yet….
Probably speaks volumes about the perceived level of clubs offering him a job.
03-04-2022, 08:32 AM
I am sure he would appreciate your career suggestions as there are few available.
Been offered loads of jobs apparently.
03-04-2022, 08:32 AM
Who’s Jack Ross managing these days?
Rondon
03-04-2022, 09:30 AM
I’m more embarrassed by this thread than the maloney out one.
Embarrassing
Rondon
03-04-2022, 09:31 AM
Who’s Jack Ross managing these days?
Nae *****
Percy Vere
03-04-2022, 04:32 PM
I’m more embarrassed by this thread than the maloney out one.
Embarrassing
Total cringe fest
03-04-2022, 04:54 PM
You can argue the toss whether Ross should have been sacked or not, thats done, the question should be why did we appoint a complete novice who had never managed before at any level.
And then signing players for the bloody future.
Where is the thought and planning in that, just taking a punt in a season where 3rd place guarantees you Europe to xmas, and the money that it generates?
03-04-2022, 05:03 PM
Because he’s got plenty of money and doesn’t need to work? He can afford a career break and to dot about doing punditry when he chooses to.
We may find that he along with the others all got a nice wee gardening leave deal to go.
not bad if you can get it.
03-04-2022, 06:00 PM
If he was he earned it. Done far more for Hibs than those who sacked him.
03-04-2022, 10:26 PM
You can argue the toss whether Ross should have been sacked or not, thats done, the question should be why did we appoint a complete novice who had never managed before at any level.
Where is the thought and planning in that, just taking a punt in a season where 3rd place guarantees you Europe to xmas, and the money that it generates?
Have you just asked where the planning is in signing players for the future?
04-04-2022, 08:56 AM
Prob due to the fact as soon as he takes a new role Hibs will stop paying him.
04-04-2022, 08:57 AM
With a novice manager.
04-04-2022, 10:12 AM
Prob due to the fact as soon as he takes a new role Hibs will stop paying him.
His severance deal was a maximum of three months pay remember. I’d think he’s off the books now.
04-04-2022, 10:46 AM
Arguably we are in the situation we’ve found ourselves the last 3 years because during Stubbs/Lennon’s time in charge we didn’t invest in players for the future. There was no continuity plan for when our first team players either left or began declining due to age. We were starting some games earlier this season with 3 of the back four we had in the championship 6 years ago.
04-04-2022, 11:18 AM
Arguably we are in the situation we’ve found ourselves the last 3 years because during Stubbs/Lennon’s time in charge we didn’t invest in players for the future. There was no continuity plan for when our first team players either left or began declining due to age. We were starting some games earlier this season with 3 of the back four we had in the championship 6 years ago.
Agreed. I think our recruitment model is going to look very much like the January window over the next few years.
The aim will be to bring in good players who can be developed and sold on for a chunky profit, to allow us to bring better players to sell on for more and so on.
While the players are here, we’ll want them to be at a standard to deliver the ambitions of the board, which have been clearly stated a number of times.
04-04-2022, 02:42 PM
Jack Ross - one full season in charge. 3rd in league, couple of cup finals. Sacked.
Absolutely terrible decision compounded by appointing a terrible successor.
04-04-2022, 02:44 PM
Jack Ross,IMO anyway, shouldn't have been sacked but we can't keep bringing it up. What's done is done. Let it go.
04-04-2022, 02:58 PM
Because we were dropping like a stone, playing honking football and paid-up fans were not even nothing to turn up. Would have got most managers sacked.
04-04-2022, 03:02 PM
Jack Ross - one full season in charge. 3rd in league, couple of cup finals. Sacked.
No issue with Hibs setting high standards, which they felt JR was not meeting. The single reason JR is still being debated/discussed is because of your last point. So far it's been a horrible appointment.
04-04-2022, 03:22 PM
Goes without saying that if Maloney was producing the goods then nobody would be talking about Jack Ross. The same as nobody would have been talking about Lennon when Hecky was here. If we win these two Hearts games then Jack Ross's name will be nowhere to be seen. Lets hope that happens.
Saint Hibee
04-04-2022, 03:35 PM
Because he produced the dullest, most insipid football I’ve ever seen, and didn’t appear to care that we got pumped at home by the worst hearts team in years. And he wore cardigans.
04-04-2022, 03:54 PM
Whether your crass description of our current manager is accurate will be borne out in time. At least have the decency to give the guy a proper chance. The fact you were calling for him after one of our better performances suggests you maybe aren't willing to do that. He needs proper time and a bit more understanding given the context of where we are and the unprecedented injuries he is dealing with plus losing our most attacking threat plus being on the wrong end of a number of terrible decisions.
Crunchie
04-04-2022, 04:11 PM
Spot on, it was a massive gamble to appoint a novice, especially given the players we had missing. Aberdeen did a similar thing and are faring no better. Absolute madness imo.
04-04-2022, 04:33 PM
Spot on, it was a massive gamble to appoint a novice, especially given the players we had missing. Aberdeen did a similar thing and are faring no better. Absolute madness imo.
Other than Magennis what players did we have missing when Maloney was appointed? The injury issues started piling up after he joined.
Saint Hibee
04-04-2022, 05:05 PM
Because he produced the dullest, most insipid football I’ve ever seen, and didn’t appear to care that we got pumped at home by the worst hearts team in years. And he wore cardigans.
Green_one
04-04-2022, 06:07 PM
That is how I see it. Apparently winning a semi against Rangers 3-1 makes you vulnerable
Will Maloney turn that around? We are a couple of predictable derby results away from bottom 6 and out the cup. Our top scorers are all out for the rest of the season and we look like a team who are struggling to create chances, let alone score.
We have yet to see if this much vaunted strategy works long term but we know short term we are seriously short of quality and winning tactics. Whatever your views on the two managers, we are in a long run of poor form and a poor season overall. That impacts next season in several ways, not least finances and pressure on further management change. I could swallow the story of this season but I fear it reads and repeats.
04-04-2022, 06:25 PM
You can't have been watching Hibs very long if his team played the dullest football you've ever seen.
Paulie Walnuts
04-04-2022, 06:31 PM
That is how I see it. Apparently winning a semi against Rangers 3-1 makes you vulnerable
Will Maloney turn that around? We are a couple of predictable derby results away from bottom 6 and out the cup. Our top scorers are all out for the rest of the season and we look like a team who are struggling to create chances, let alone score.
We have yet to see if this much vaunted strategy works long term but we know short term we are seriously short of quality and winning tactics. Whatever your views on the two managers, we are in a long run of poor form and a poor season overall. That impacts next season in several ways, not least finances and pressure on further management change. I could swallow the story of this season but I fear it reads and repeats.
Or alternatively, winning a semi against Rangers doesn’t make you bullet proof if you’re not getting results in the other games. Quite rightly too.
04-04-2022, 07:40 PM
Wow
04-04-2022, 07:41 PM
You can't have been watching Hibs very long if his team played the dullest football you've ever seen.
Or you know, any of the other sides in the league. Imagine Livingston existing and someone calling Hibs dull...
Mr. Wonderful
04-04-2022, 08:07 PM
If our form is 10x better, why are we only 3 points better off than #TBGAWA was at this stage?
At least under butcher we were slinging the ball in the box hoping Jordan Foster got his napper on the ball.
We are too ponderous right now hoping for the perfect goal. Yet look at the two goals against Motherwell. Good early balls into danger zones and making defenders think, putting them under pressure.
The football I am watching now is awful and although I will renew my season ticket, on Saturday I was wondering why I would bother. It was dreadful to watch.
04-04-2022, 08:35 PM
At least under butcher we were slinging the ball in the box hoping Jordan Foster got his napper on the ball.
We are too ponderous right now hoping for the perfect goal. Yet look at the two goals against Motherwell. Good early balls into danger zones and making defenders think, putting them under pressure.
The football I am watching now is awful and although I will renew my season ticket, on Saturday I was wondering why I would bother. It was dreadful to watch.
You’re not seriously suggesting anything positive about Butcher’s reign are you ?
You also give two examples of good goals -
From a couple of games ago ?? How does that help your point ?
The Veteran
04-04-2022, 09:32 PM
You’re kidding about Butcher, yeah?
05-04-2022, 05:47 AM
The fact jordan forster was playing for us means butchers time was by default far worse.
My point is more about maloney than butcher
We need to change something so we look like scoring. Those two good goals game in the same 45 minutes of football. We see that kind of play too infrequently.
We have a good squad of players and can do better
My point is more about maloney than butcher
We need to change something so we look like scoring. Those two good goals game in the same 45 minutes of football. We see that kind of play too infrequently.
We have a good squad of players and can do better
So are you suggesting we start launching balls into the box for a 5ft 9in (approx) striker, with a similar sized players either side of him.
Butcher played percentage football by putting the ball into the corners and turning the opposition, there was zero football inbetween, I never want to see that at ER ever again.
So are you suggesting we start launching balls into the box for a 5ft 9in (approx) striker, with a similar sized players either side of him.
Butcher played percentage football by putting the ball into the corners and turning the opposition, there was zero football inbetween, I never want to see that at ER ever again.
No, but an early zone into danger areas that makes the defenders work. First goal at motherwell a great example. early ball to front post and our 5 ft 9 striker scores a header. second goal an early ball in behind the defender and same striker gets in and scores. We need more of that and not passing about waiting for an opening while the defenders get sorted and snuff out chances.
05-04-2022, 08:57 AM
Sacking Ross was wrong but it’s done and we move on. Maloney looks out his depth and the players clearly can’t or won’t play the system he wants. Under Maloney I can only see Hibs going backwards. I think it’s more likely us finishing in 11th than in the top 6. I’m desperate to see Hibs turn them over at Hampden but I doubt many Hibs fans are confident. Maloney has two games to save his Hibs managerial career.
05-04-2022, 09:03 AM
Launching a ball into the box for our 6ft left wing back seemed to work on Saturday.
I think we can find a way in which to play more directly without resorting to the style of Butcher.
05-04-2022, 09:08 AM
His severance deal was a maximum of three months pay remember. I’d think he’s off the books now.
I'm not sure it is.....did Hibs announce that?
Paulie Walnuts
05-04-2022, 09:20 AM
Sacking Ross was wrong but it’s done and we move on. Maloney looks out his depth and the players clearly can’t or won’t play the system he wants. Under Maloney I can only see Hibs going backwards. I think it’s more likely us finishing in 11th than in the top 6. I’m desperate to see Hibs turn them over at Hampden but I doubt many Hibs fans are confident. Maloney has two games to save his Hibs managerial career.
Avoiding defeat this weekend gives us a decent chance of top 6. A win guarantees it.
Surely there’s a better chance of that happening rather than dropping 5 places in 6 games to 11th?
05-04-2022, 09:29 AM
There is literally no chance we finish 11th.
Maloney will still be Hibs manager if we lose the next two games. Even if there are heavy defeats in there.
05-04-2022, 09:38 AM
There is literally no chance we finish 11th.
If we dont make top 6 we can quickly drop down to 11th.
05-04-2022, 09:40 AM
I had a right chuckle when Aberdeen appointed Glass. A shocking appointment. Only for us to then go and do the same. I wonder if Ben/Ron had a look up the road and thought it might not be the greatest idea? Anyway, Maloney has a massive chance in the next two games to become a hero a shut the doubters up. It's a massive test to see how he fairs in two gigantic games.
05-04-2022, 09:43 AM
I shouldn't have used the word literally but I still don't see this happening.
Gordy M
05-04-2022, 09:47 AM
Assuning St J dont go to Parkhead and win.....we would need to lose 4 on the bounce, and them to win 3 on the bounce after Celtic to get 1 point ahead of us.... and assuming the other teams below all pick up points, .so not dropping to 11th quickly at all.
Paulie Walnuts
05-04-2022, 09:48 AM
Likewise.
Mind as well that any time someone gets a win in the bottom six then another team is getting nothing.
It could happen but it won’t happen quickly and it would take a disaster from us and a probable unlikely combination of results elsewhere.
It’s very unlikely.
Likewise.
Mind as well that any time someone gets a win in the bottom six then another team is getting nothing.
It could happen but it won’t happen quickly and it would take a disaster from us and a probable unlikely combination of results elsewhere.
It’s very unlikely.
The same was said the last time we were relegated and once on a poor run it was impossible to stop.
That said, I do agree, it is very unlikley we will go down, but we could find ourselves in the lower reaches if we dont start scoring goals and winning.
Lets hope that starts on Saturday
Paulie Walnuts
05-04-2022, 10:02 AM
The same was said the last time we were relegated and once on a poor run it was impossible to stop.
That said, I do agree, it is very unlikley we will go down, but we could find ourselves in the lower reaches if we dont start scoring goals and winning.
Lets hope that starts on Saturday
It would be interesting to see where we were in the league position/points wise at the split when we got relegated in comparison to 11th.
It would maybe set peoples minds at ease a bit.. or potentially send them into meltdown if it was similar :greengrin
Two draws in our remaining fixtures (which we seem to specialise in) would leave St Johnstone needing 4 wins from their last 6 with one of them being away at Parkhead, so realistically 4 wins from 5.
05-04-2022, 10:06 AM
I dont see it happening either but i have no confidence in that opinion.
Saint Hibee
05-04-2022, 11:34 AM
Or you know, any of the other sides in the league. Imagine Livingston existing and someone calling Hibs dull...
I take it you've forgotten Livingston demolishing Jack Ross's Hibs?
Launching a ball into the box for our 6ft left wing back seemed to work on Saturday.
I think we can find a way in which to play more directly without resorting to the style of Butcher.
That was a cross from out wide, keep up. The poster mentioned Butcher who's idea of football was to omit the midfield and launch it into the corners. Huge difference in that and crossing a ball from out wide which is what I want to see.
thebausburst
05-04-2022, 12:15 PM
Maloney will still be Hibs manager if we lose the next two games. Even if there are heavy defeats in there.
“Even if they are heavy defeats”, I don’t think so mate! if they are 2 x heavy derby defeats and ill guarantee you he will be gone.
05-04-2022, 12:29 PM
The fans will decide this. Season tickets sales just need to drop sharply and the button will be pushed.
Add to that less fans attending games to watch bottom 6 fodder.
He got sacked because he'd picked up 4 points from 27. You can get away with that type of form if you have credit in the bank from something like a cup win or multiple victories over Hearts but he didn't. Football is a short term game so if results aren't going to plan for that long it will get you sacked, as has happened to several other SPL managers this season (Davidson the obvious exception).
hibbydog
05-04-2022, 04:50 PM
“Even if they are heavy defeats”, I don’t think so mate! if they are 2 x heavy derby defeats and ill guarantee you he will be gone.
I doubt it.
Don’t get me wrong, I have little confidence in the Hibs board to do the right thing, but even they will see he needs time.
Are you really suggesting we sack an experienced manager, sell our best player, appoint a rookie then sack him after a few months?
Madness.
I’m no fan of Maloney, but we need to get out of the habit of chopping and changing managers all the time. It just doesn’t work
05-04-2022, 05:08 PM
I doubt it.
Don’t get me wrong, I have little confidence in the Hibs board to do the right thing, but even they will see he needs time.
Are you really suggesting we sack an experienced manager, sell our best player, appoint a rookie then sack him after a few months?
Madness.
I’m no fan of Maloney, but we need to get out of the habit of chopping and changing managers all the time. It just doesn’t work
If we get beaten heavily twice, especially the semi, he'll definitely be gone. I don't think that will happen, we don't concede a lot of goals, but he'd never recover from that IMO.
05-04-2022, 06:29 PM
I take it you've forgotten Livingston demolishing Jack Ross's Hibs?
Oh god, that must mean they play great football.
Ross won 4-1 away at Livi. Why don't you mention that?
05-04-2022, 09:53 PM
The fans will decide this. Season tickets sales just need to drop sharply and the button will be pushed.
Add to that less fans attending games to watch bottom 6 fodder.
Fans should be deciding nothing. The club need to stick with their guy and give him a proper shot at the job.
05-04-2022, 09:54 PM
I doubt it.
Madness.
Totally agree that would be a recipe for disaster.
mcohibs
05-04-2022, 09:58 PM
You guarantee it?
There's not a chance he will be sacked on the basis of these next two games.
06-04-2022, 02:46 AM
You guarantee it?
There's not a chance he will be sacked on the basis of these next two games.
He'll never recover, though. Will be hounded out. Sacked would be significantly better than that.
06-04-2022, 09:09 AM
Maybe Jack didn’t fancy Ron’s vision vice versa
06-04-2022, 09:20 AM
Fans should be deciding nothing. The club need to stick with their guy and give him a proper shot at the job.
Season Tickets Sales and walks up will decide 100% ie FANS!
06-04-2022, 11:37 AM
I smell a troll😀
06-04-2022, 02:20 PM
Season Tickets Sales and walks up will decide 100% ie FANS!
Well the management need to develop a backbone and not do that.
09-04-2022, 04:05 PM
So we reap what we sow. It was obvious to most that sacking Jack Ross was a mistake but the noisy minority got what they wanted. And now the same noisy minority want Maloney out. Maybe these tactical geniuses should just apply for the job.
Rondon
09-04-2022, 04:13 PM
Maloney might not be the man.
But please stop the bring Ross back pish.
We sacked him cos he can’t win big games under him.
James Stephen
09-04-2022, 04:15 PM
Apart from the ones he did win... of course
Hibs fans are right to hark back, because he was - by any measure - a successful Hibs manager, and the change has been a disaster.
By sacking him, the board thought they had a better idea. How did that work out?
09-04-2022, 04:21 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51623907
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52162275
Ross was just as big of a derby loser. Get over it.
Hibiza
09-04-2022, 04:53 PM
Ross was dross . He would never have beaten Arbroath and Motherwell. Have you noticed how clubs queueing up to get him .
09-04-2022, 04:57 PM
Another hibs.net myth
09-04-2022, 05:23 PM
Ross was dross . He would never have beaten Arbroath and Motherwell. Have you noticed how clubs queueing up to get him .
Jack Ross who got us to 2 semis and 2 finals wouldn't have beaten those 2 sides to reach another semi? Aye right.
Did you miss Ross beating Motherwell in the quarter final last year?
09-04-2022, 05:31 PM
Jack Ross who got us to 2 semis and 2 finals wouldn't have beaten those 2 sides to reach another semi? Aye right.
Did you miss Ross beating Motherwell in the quarter final last year?
In fairness, if we are judging managers on getting to semis thats Maloney got 1 in the bag already. If, by some miracle, we win next week that could be 1 final in the bag.
I'm not backing Maloney btw, we've been dire this season under Ross and Maloney. I suspect the outcome for Maloney will go the same way as Ross shortly.
I would like to know who signed off on Campbell and JDH contract extensions. Lengthy contracts for nothing really. Doidge is similar, if memory serves me he got an extension at a time when he barely played.
We're not building a team and squad with a purpose and it is showing. Until we sort that I think any manager that comes will quite quickly become a failure.
09-04-2022, 05:38 PM
There is no doubt whatsoever in my mind that, if we had given Ross a chance to get us out of the rut, we would not have been thinking about survival in the bottom six. Maloney is probably capable of bottom six survival but only because of the relative garbage of the teams below us. Mind you, stranger things have happened. Things are turning sour for Gordon and I have no confidence in his stewardship of the club.
09-04-2022, 05:39 PM
🎣 certainly brought the noisy minority out.
Just for a change, stay off the manager’s back and let the progress happen. Who knows where it will take us but the interminable changes make no sense.
09-04-2022, 05:44 PM
Basically an over reaction to a small section of the crowd at Livingston calling for his head.
09-04-2022, 06:18 PM
Basically an over reaction to a small section of the crowd at Livingston calling for his head.
It was time for Ross to go. He split the support, some loved him others were sliding towards “meh”. He’s at the very least partly responsible for the imbalanced and low quality squad we have and how this season has panned out.
We needed someone to come in, steady the ship and unite the support. That doesn’t look like it will be Maloney. Ross’ time was up as he’d taken us as far as he could IMO.
09-04-2022, 06:20 PM
It made sense to get rid of Ross after the run of form he was on. Equally, by the same logic, it makes sense to get rid of Maloney.
It’s looking like Maloney was the wrong choice, doesn’t mean getting rid of Ross was also wrong.
Rondon
09-04-2022, 06:22 PM
Hibs fans are right to hark back, because he was - by any measure - a successful Hibs manager, and the change has been a disaster.
By sacking him, the board thought they had a better idea. How did that work out?
As he lost so many I can’t remember the ones he won….
Rondon
09-04-2022, 06:23 PM
Another hibs.net myth
The stats don’t lie.
Can anyone bring up Ross record against hearts, Huns, Celtic, semi and cup finals.
If I remember rightly his records absolutely abysmal
09-04-2022, 06:24 PM
The stats don’t lie.
Can anyone bring up Ross record against hearts, Huns, Celtic, semi and cup finals.
If I remember rightly his records absolutely abysmal
And yet, he done far, far better than Maloney is. I'd rather a manager who struggled in big games, than one who struggles in all games.
09-04-2022, 06:24 PM
It made sense to get rid of Ross after the run of form he was on. Equally, by the same logic, it makes sense to get rid of Maloney.
It’s looking like Maloney was the wrong choice, doesn’t mean getting rid of Ross was also wrong.
This for me.
Also, the players are shocking. But the two of them have signed most of them. Between the two they’ve signed ***** like Newell, Campbell and JDH on long term deals.
Rondon
09-04-2022, 06:27 PM
And yet, he done far, far better than Maloney is. I'd rather a manager who struggled in big games, than one who struggles in all games.
Cmon mate, as bad as Maloneys been he’s actually only had about 3 months. You can’t compare him to Jack directly yet it’s totally pointless.
I’d rather just have a manager that didn’t struggle in any games.
I’m my time mcleish, Mowbray, Stubbs and Lennon are the only managers I can say we’re able to do this.
09-04-2022, 06:29 PM
Cmon mate, as bad as Maloneys been he’s actually only had about 3 months. You can’t compare him to Jack directly yet it’s totally pointless.
I’d rather just have a manager that didn’t struggle in any games.
I’m my time mcleish, Mowbray, Stubbs and Lennon are the only managers I can say we’re able to do this.
Of course you can. He struggles to win any matches whatsoever. Desperately needs to go.
Rondon
09-04-2022, 06:32 PM
Of course you can. He struggles to win any matches whatsoever. Desperately needs to go.
I get your point if you want him to go and just don’t rate him.
Totally understand that you feel like that.
But he can’t be compared to a manager that had multiple transfer windows and took over a half decent team
1875Sean
09-04-2022, 07:15 PM
Have to agree -
Hibs didn’t need to sack Jack Ross and would have made top six if they kept him, claims Michael Stewart
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/8689718/hibs-sack-jack-ross-top-six-michael-stewart/?utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=ScottishSunSportTwitter&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1649527422-1
09-04-2022, 07:20 PM
Have to agree -
Hibs didn’t need to sack Jack Ross and would have made top six if they kept him, claims Michael Stewart
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/8689718/hibs-sack-jack-ross-top-six-michael-stewart/?utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=ScottishSunSportTwitter&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1649527422-1
Jack Ross built the most conservative insipid uninspiring Hibs side in ages. Following on from Heckingbottom. He had Boyle and a league with no fans and no real pressure - when there was pressure, semi final and winnable final, he failed big time.
Have to agree -
He wasn’t winning games and people where stopping going to watch his team play
All reasons people are using over multiple threads to sack Maloney.
We where right to sack Ross it was brutal on the eye for 2 years he was lucky people couldn’t get in for most of it
1875Sean
09-04-2022, 07:25 PM
He wasn’t winning games and people where stopping going to watch his team play
All reasons people are using over multiple threads to sack Maloney.
We where right to sack Ross it was brutal on the eye for 2 years he was lucky people couldn’t get in for most of it
It’s right he was on a bad run but in my opinion he would have turned it around and got more from the squad than Maloney
Zambernardi1875
09-04-2022, 07:33 PM
Depends what you deem as a success I suppose
Paul1642
09-04-2022, 07:35 PM
Depends what you deem as a success I suppose
First 3rd place finish in a long long time, decent performance in European football and a fair few tips to Hampden.
Other than cup wins (which are few and far between) it’s as good as it gets for us.
09-04-2022, 07:38 PM
First 3rd place finish in a long long time, decent performance in European football and a fair few tips to Hampden.
Other than cup wins (which are few and far between) it’s as good as it gets for us.
He lost to Championship Hearts in a semi and St Johnstone twice in a semi and final - Jack Ross was an uninspiring manager who built a simply dreadful squad.
Bang on
09-04-2022, 08:03 PM
It’s funny how people highlight his failures, yet never balance it with finished third , qualified for Europe, got to every semi final he competed for and got to finals too …. Those are achievements that we can only dream about on current performance levels ….
Jack Ross got himself sacked , it happens . Results dictated that . He’s still way better than Maloney , and I’d have bet money on him improving results to end way better than we are now . We are garbage .
09-04-2022, 08:04 PM
It’s right he was on a bad run but in my opinion he would have turned it around and got more from the squad than Maloney
Even if he could get more from the squad, surely he was a significant part of the problem? He assembled what we pretty much all consider to be a dinstinctly average squad.
Jack Ross was struggling terribly with Boyle nevermind without.
If Jack Ross pushed for James Scott to sign then I'm even more thankful that he's gone. Some ridiculous signings and contract extensions have been happening at ER.
09-04-2022, 08:10 PM
It’s funny how people highlight his failures, yet never balance it with finished third , qualified for Europe, got to every semi final he competed for and got to finals too …. Those are achievements that we can only dream about on current performance levels ….
Jack Ross got himself sacked , it happens . Results dictated that . He’s still way better than Maloney , and I’d have bet money on him improving results to end way better than we are now . We are garbage .
Shaun has had 1 notoriously difficult window, Jack had 3 - let’s wait and see.
09-04-2022, 08:13 PM
Shaun has had 1 notoriously difficult window, Jack had 3 - let’s wait and see.
Will be stunned if he gets 3 windows
James Stephen
09-04-2022, 08:13 PM
Bang on
Hibs finished 3rd, the league doesnt lie.
And his team also beat Dundee Utd and Rangers in hampden semi finals.
And his team never even lost a goal in two matches at Tynecastle.
His Hibs team were not perfect - far from it - but they were light years ahead of the current one.
The point isnt really abour Ross. Its about sacking a successful manager, and replacing him with an absolute punt. It was reckless, naive, possibly even arrogant of the highheidyins at Hibs.
But as long as sizeable chunk of Hibs supporters arent happy unless the team are playing some mythical, unicorn style of fitba, the Hibs support will always be restive and impossible to please.
1875Sean
09-04-2022, 08:15 PM
Even if he could get more from the squad, surely he was a significant part of the problem? He assembled what we pretty much all consider to be a dinstinctly average squad.
Jack Ross was struggling terribly with Boyle nevermind without.
If Jack Ross pushed for James Scott to sign then I'm even more thankful that he's gone. Some ridiculous signings and contract extensions have been happening at ER.
Correct JR signed Scott but was quick enough to see how bad he is, Maloney has prob gave him more minutes, what’s you think about Maloney as a manager!
Jan window was poor, some signings were Maloney, some were not however someone like Henderson was Maloneys and I think it was telling when Wright went off he used Campbell over him
I don't really get the dreadful squad comment.
Macey
Mcginn Porto Hanlon Doig
Newell Gogic
Boyle Magennis Murphy
Nisbet
That was our 'best 11' at the beginning of the season (without any signings) and is a fairly strong team with guys like stevenson, cadden, hallberg, wright, allan, doidge as other options. There was an excellent base there.
Most fans agreed on what was needed:
Upgrade at rb (clarke?) we got none
A centre half at the same level as hanlon/porto (kerr?) we got wood
A centre mid to replace gogic (?) we got jdh
Depth in attacking mid (mcgrath?) we got none
A left winger better than murphy (b mackay?) we got d mackay
A striker to compete with or even play ahead of nisbet/doidge (moult? simms?) we got scott
Out of the 6 we got 1 right in jdh and some would even argue that.
We will never know how much input ross had on those signings or how much restriction there was in terms of budget, so hard to say how much blame can be attributed to each of the recruitment team, ross and ron, but that window is the one that we had the oppurtunity to build an excellent squad in scot prem terms and failed miserably. It's so frustrating to have got to such a good position and *****ed it up so badly.
To then sell boyle and sign the dross we did in jan is beyond frustrating, its utterly deflating and hard to see how it can be fixed in one window, especially if the same decision makers are in place.
09-04-2022, 08:20 PM
I cannae understand anyone defending Jack Ross.
Maloney hasn’t been any better, but that’s not to say Ross was doing well.
Jack Ross has a successful season. He started this season well too. We were never good to watch. I’ll happily accept **** football with good results. At the end of Jack Ross’ time we were getting ***** football and ***** results.
It was right, he had to go.
09-04-2022, 08:22 PM
Correct JR signed Scott but was quick enough to see how bad he is, Maloney has prob gave him more minutes, what’s you think about Maloney as a manager!
Jan window was poor, some signings were Maloney, some were not however someone like Henderson was Maloneys and I think it was telling when Wright went off he used Campbell over him
So far I don't rate Maloney.
Campbell was given a lengthy contract extension under Ross, that combined with signing Gogic, Wright and the loan of Scott is quite telling - Ross doesn't have a great eye for a player. It looks like Maloney doesn't either sadly.
1875Sean
09-04-2022, 08:28 PM
So far I don't rate Maloney.
Campbell was given a lengthy contract extension under Ross, that combined with signing Gogic, Wright and the loan of Scott is quite telling - Ross doesn't have a great eye for a player. It looks like Maloney doesn't either sadly.
Again Wright has prob given more minutes under Maloney, doesn’t make much sense to point out a poor signing when the current manager has used him more!
I agree JR time was coming to an end, my point is I think he would have got us top 6
Maloney is clearly out of his depth, not all coaches or assistants makes good managers and his time is running out
09-04-2022, 08:37 PM
Again Wright has prob given more minutes under Maloney, doesn’t make much sense to point out a poor signing when the current manager has used him more!
I agree JR time was coming to an end, my point is I think he would have got us top 6
Maloney is clearly out of his depth, not all coaches or assistants makes good managers and his time is running out
I agree Ross might have got us top 6 but difficult comparison to make as our best player, and the only real threat we had, is gone.
Why has Wright been used more by Maloney? Boyle being gone, Magennis being perma injured apart from the little flurry Ross got to enjoy at the start of the season, Nisbet being injured, Doidge being injured, Newell and JDH taking turns being injured/unwell, McGinn being injured. Again, I'm by no means backing Maloney, I'm just saying I doubt Ross would've got us top 6 with ease as some seem to suggest and I'm backing this up with saying I think his eye for a player was largely rotten. Again, sadly, it looks like Maloney shares this trait.
Paulie Walnuts
09-04-2022, 08:37 PM
Or if you want to look at his overall record, a bottom 6 finish, a 3rd place finish and then getting binned with his team in the bottom 6.
Paulie Walnuts
09-04-2022, 08:38 PM
Hibs finished 3rd, the league doesnt lie.
And his team also beat Dundee Utd and Rangers in hampden semi finals.
And his team never even lost a goal in two matches at Tynecastle.
His Hibs team were not perfect - far from it - but they were light years ahead of the current one.
The point isnt really abour Ross. Its about sacking a successful manager, and replacing him with an absolute punt. It was reckless, naive, possibly even arrogant of the highheidyins at Hibs.
But as long as sizeable chunk of Hibs supporters arent happy unless the team are playing some mythical, unicorn style of fitba, the Hibs support will always be restive and impossible to please.
He also finished 7th and then left us in 7th as well. He never lost a goal at tynecastle but he overseen an absolute skelping at Easter Road.
His team also lost a semi final to St Johnstone by 3 goals to 0 and a final without laying a glove on them. They also lost to a lower league Hearts at Hampden.
His Hibs team when he got sacked were every bit as bad as this one.
Paulie Walnuts
09-04-2022, 08:40 PM
I cannae understand anyone defending Jack Ross.
Maloney hasn’t been any better, but that’s not to say Ross was doing well.
Jack Ross has a successful season. He started this season well too. We were never good to watch. I’ll happily accept **** football with good results. At the end of Jack Ross’ time we were getting ***** football and ***** results.
It was right, he had to go.
It really is this simple imo.
Whether Maloney has been good or not, Jack Ross had to go.
We were abysmal to watch. His league finish in his first season matched that and his league position when he was binned matched that. He had a good season in the middle.
09-04-2022, 09:15 PM
The run of games which finished Jack Ross' time at Hibs came after a disastrous end of the transfer window, all in a two month window riddled with injuries and covid shutting down games and training. That's on top of the recruitment team botching the last weeks of the transfer window.
The context was entirely different to where we are now.
Paulie Walnuts
09-04-2022, 09:17 PM
The run of games which finished Jack Ross' time at Hibs came after a disastrous end of the transfer window, all in a two month window riddled with injuries and covid shutting down games and training. That's on top of the recruitment team botching the last weeks of the transfer window.
The context was entirely different to where we are now.
We lost our one man team in this window and also had a disastrous incoming window on top of that.
It’s really not all that different. If anything I’d suggest Maloney has been dealt a worse hand - ‘here you go, we’ve sold your only really good player, go make it happen’ seems to be the message.
09-04-2022, 09:17 PM
I’d have kept him. I’d have him back.
Can you undo gardening leave?