As it says.

The top man of my generation.

25-03-2022, 09:00 PM
Le God

:not worth

25-03-2022, 09:01 PM
Chances of him being at ER next Saturday?

25-03-2022, 09:21 PM

With him being about the next day I was certain of it. But surely, surely they'd have mentioned it by now?!?

25-03-2022, 09:35 PM

No doubt IMO.

davy67 +
25-03-2022, 09:54 PM
Without doubt one of the best players I've seen wear the green and white ,Le God was a class apart

zitelli62
25-03-2022, 10:06 PM
Easy Way to sell out Easter Road next week tell everyone le god will be there at half time the place will be buzzing.

25-03-2022, 10:19 PM
Franck was a bit of a damp squib as far as the Hall of Fame do went really. Maybe he would’ve made it in person if it had been 2020 as planned. But for tonight it’s a meh from me I’m afraid.

Blurhibee
25-03-2022, 11:38 PM
I am sorry but why has. Frank Sauzée made the hall of fame? I loved him as a player but what did he do which makes him a hall of famer?

26-03-2022, 02:24 AM
I am sorry but why has. Frank Sauzée made the hall of fame? I loved him as a player but what did he do which makes him a hall of famer?

Legacy?

26-03-2022, 06:36 AM

Yeah dunno how he made it ahead of Jamie McQuilken, am raging.

26-03-2022, 06:40 AM
Yeah dunno how he made it ahead of Jamie McQuilken, am raging.

Indeed or Paul Tosh for that matter

Paulie Walnuts
26-03-2022, 06:51 AM

Been the best Hibs player in the last 40 years or so?

26-03-2022, 07:07 AM
Indeed or Paul Tosh for that matter

Or Dan McMichael and Erich Schaedler

26-03-2022, 07:24 AM
Or Dan McMichael and Erich Schaedler
Good shout

Surprised Dan McMichael has not already been honoured

A Jack of all trades Manager Secretary Treasurer Physio and Referee Fought to keep Hibernian going during our two years in the wilderness Won a Scottish Cup a League Championship and kept the club going during the First World War with young local talent that he had discovered himself many of whom would go on to play for Scotland

Shades is just Shades The Man Of Steel probably one of the best left backs in the last 50 years and a tremendous servant to the club in two spells

26-03-2022, 07:40 AM
We’re going to need a bigger hall.
St Marys Street maybe.

26-03-2022, 07:40 AM

In modern day terms he was one of the finest players to not only play for Hibs but grace the Scottish league. The fact he’s held in such high esteem, still lauded, and other clubs fans acknowledge how good a player he was says it all. Derby wins, derby goals, Championship winner, leader on the pitch, graceful on and off the pitch - he was in my ‘hall of fame’ years ago.

26-03-2022, 07:50 AM
In modern day terms he was one of the finest players to not only play for Hibs but grace the Scottish league. The fact he’s held in such high esteem, still lauded, and other clubs fans acknowledge how good a player he was says it all. Derby wins, derby goals, Championship winner, leader on the pitch, graceful on and off the pitch - he was in my ‘hall of fame’ years ago.

Would swop Franck Sauzee for Jim Black in the Tornadoes :greengrin

Fantastic player

MKHIBEE
26-03-2022, 09:18 AM

Would swop Franck Sauzee for Jim Black in the Tornadoes :greengrin

Fantastic player

In would have swopped Frank Spencer for Jim Black on occasions

26-03-2022, 09:20 AM

Big Dode Stewart and a few decent squad members to get us through the difficult second half of the season 1972/73 and for the future would have done

26-03-2022, 09:25 AM
Sauzee is the best player I’ve seen in nearly 40 years of watching Hibs.

I remember reading the Sauzee book by Ted Brack ten years ago. Even though at that point it was only ten years since he had left (and despite the fact that I had seen almost every game he played for us) I still struggled to get my head round quite how we ended up with of such staggering talent - and when we were in the old First Division as well.

The fact that he loved the club as much as we loved him was even more amazing, and as much as I could understand the decision at the time, appointing him as manager was a bad one - for the simple reason that we lost our best player in doing so.

After a bad end to an amazing few years, I’m really glad to see his love for Hibs seems to be renewed.

leith lynx
26-03-2022, 09:26 AM

With respect to Jim Black, I always felt George Stewart should have signed earlier, IMO he would have improved a rare weak link in the Tornadoes.

26-03-2022, 09:42 AM
🤣🤣 ooh Eddie

26-03-2022, 10:19 AM

If Sauzee is in, then Russel Latapy should be too, finest player of that era.

26-03-2022, 10:35 AM

26-03-2022, 10:49 AM

Yip latapy was by far the best player ive seen at ER, the way he ended his time at the club goes against him i think

26-03-2022, 10:54 AM

Who knows what the selection criteria is? I dont know.
However,i would imagine the Dwight Yorke driving incident,missing Cup Final and joining oldco might have had a bearing on Latapy.

I dont think Sauzee would have been chosen had he not accepted the Hanlon/Stevenson position and the upcoming event for him.

What is noticable in the ones who are in the HOF
When they retired,most continued a connection with the club,came to games. etc. ....Hibs supporters !

shetlandhibee
26-03-2022, 12:26 PM
:top marks:top marks

26-03-2022, 01:50 PM

Second best to Sauzee for me. Both the best two I’ve seen play for Hibs though. John Collins in third.

26-03-2022, 02:46 PM
With respect to Jim Black, I always felt George Stewart should have signed earlier, IMO he would have improved a rare weak link in the Tornadoes.

Ask Sloop or other Tornadoes if they thought Jim was a weak link.They will chase ye.!
The demise happened when the team was at its bare bones through injury and suspensions,then was prematurely broken up,not down to Jim Black,or that other perennial scapegoat,Jim Herriot.

The team needed added too, not weakened.
And that should have happened long before we won the League Cup and Drybrough Cups,and the Zorro game
The buck stopped at Eddie Turnbull.

26-03-2022, 02:58 PM
Ask Sloop or other Tornadoes if the thought Jim was a weak link .They will chase ye.
The demise happened when the team was prematurely broken up,not down to Jim Black,or that other perennial scapegoat,Jim Herriot.

And should have happened long before we won the League Cup and Drybrough Cups

I remember watching Sportsnight With Coleman Leeds United v Hibernian and they thought Cilla was a sensation this new phenomenon the overlapping Centre Half as he picked up the ball on the edge of his own box and went on repeated runs cutting through the centre of the Leeds defence like a knife through butter

26-03-2022, 03:07 PM
I remember watching Sportsnight With Coleman Leeds United v Hibernian and they thought Cilla was a sensation this new phenomenon the overlapping Centre Half as he picked up the ball on the edge of his own box and went on repeated runs cutting through the centre of the Leeds defence like a knife through butter

Well remembered Billy ..and yes English pundits/commentators were astounded,if not speechless at the level of football Hibernian displayed against a top English and European side at that time,Leeds United,not only in that game,too

Jim"Cilla"Black .. Tornado !

26-03-2022, 03:10 PM
Ask Sloop or other Tornadoes if they thought Jim was a weak link.They will chase ye.!
The demise happened when the team was at its bare bones through injury and suspensions,then was prematurely broken up,not down to Jim Black,or that other perennial scapegoat,Jim Herriot.

And that should have happened long before we won the League Cup and Drybrough Cups,and the Zorro game

what was this?

26-03-2022, 03:21 PM
what was this?

The Zorro Game
1st January 1973 derby at Tynecastle Park.
Jimmy O'Rourke got picked up by Alan Gordon in his car that morning to meet up with the team.
In the car ,Jimmy said to Alan.
"I watched The Mark of Zorro film this morning" .
The mark Zorro made with the tip of his sword on a object resembled the letter Z.
Jimmy said to Tosh , "like the number 7"
Jimmy predicted the score in Alan Gordon's car !!.....and he forever calls it... The Zorro Game.

True story.

Paulie Walnuts
26-03-2022, 03:56 PM
Second best to Sauzee for me. Both the best two I’ve seen play for Hibs though. John Collins in third.

John McGinn genuinely is a challenger to Sauzee and Latapy imo.

26-03-2022, 04:01 PM

Sorry but when mcginn was at hibs he was no where near the level of those 2 and mcginn was a cracking player

26-03-2022, 04:03 PM

John embodied everything about a transition period post-relegation that led to winning the cup IMO. He typified the new found bond between club-player-fans and was as hard working and committed to the cause as they come.

He'd get my nod along with SDG and Stevenson from the crop of players I've seen come through (since c.2004) for hall of fame.

26-03-2022, 04:06 PM
Sorry but when mcginn was at hibs he was no where near the level of those 2 and mcginn was a cracking player

McGinn's last season and a half at Hibs is as good as anything I've seen and that includes Sauzee and Latapy. Think he's the only player I've seen and genuinely thought they were too good to be at Hibs.

All about opinions of course.

26-03-2022, 04:17 PM
McGinn's last season and a half at Hibs is as good as anything I've seen and that includes Sauzee and Latapy. Think he's the only player I've seen and genuinely thought they were too good to be at Hibs.

Yip totally and will always be someones personal choice but for me mcginn not at the same level as those 2, latapy was a magician with the ball

26-03-2022, 04:23 PM
Yip totally and will always be someones personal choice but for me mcginn not at the same level as those 2, latapy was a magician with the ball

I loved all three as well.

Just good having a thread where folk are all talking about how good players have been for us and talking about good memories again.

26-03-2022, 04:42 PM
The Zorro Game
Jimmy O'Rourke got picked up by Alan Gordon in his car that morning to meet up with the team.
The mark Zorro made with the tip of his sword on a object resembled the letter Z.
Jimmy predicted the score in Alan Gordon's car !!.....and he forever calls it... The Zorro Game.

True story.

Brilliant thanks for sharing :thumbsup:

26-03-2022, 05:46 PM
Franck was a bit of a damp squib as far as the Hall of Fame do went really. Maybe he would’ve made it in person if it had been 2020 as planned. But for tonight it’s a meh from me I’m afraid.

Your obviously old.

26-03-2022, 05:47 PM
Anyone in their late 20s early 30s where drawn to Hibs because of the likes of le god.

26-03-2022, 06:01 PM
Derek Riordan should be in iy

26-03-2022, 06:07 PM
Derek Riordan should be in iy

Without a shadow of a doubt.

26-03-2022, 08:09 PM

As much as I love SJM; the undoubted star of his generation for Scotland, his time at Hibs was as a young up & coming star, not in the same bracket at Sauzee & Latapy as a Hibs player IMO.

26-03-2022, 08:14 PM
As much as I love SJM; the undoubted star of his generation for Scotland, his time at Hibs was as a young up & coming star, not in the same bracket at Sauzee & Latapy as a Hibs player IMO.

More appearances regardless of age and more medals mind you :wink:

26-03-2022, 08:17 PM
Your obviously old.

You’re.

26-03-2022, 08:21 PM
More appearances regardless of age and more medals mind you :wink:

Chris Dagnall has the same medals as McGinn to be fair, Dagnall for the HoF 😉

26-03-2022, 08:25 PM
Chris Dagnall has the same medals as McGinn to be fair, Dagnall for the HoF ��

Semantics. Not in the same planet of appearances :wink:. McGinn trumps Sauzee and Latapy in both aspects and easily has their status as a Hibernian great if that’s what they are. Suggesting anything else is also daft, IMO. :aok:

MikeyS
26-03-2022, 09:42 PM
The Zorro Game

True story.

I remember Jimmy telling me that one day in the Carrick Knowe. He would always come over and have a blether or share a joke with me and my mates on a Friday afternoon. I would only have been between 18-20 so obviously never seen him play but I lobed the old Hibs stories.

26-03-2022, 10:03 PM
Sauzee and Latapy in the same team was just ridiculous it really was

Remember falling in love with hibs even more as a young boy - for sauzee being quite a decent sized guy he was quick on his feet and his passing made Scott Allan look a novice.

Latapy was just different level, always felt something would happen when he collected the ball. Whether it a trick or a pass he was simply majestic.

They really are in my eyes massively under rated in Scottish football.

Love McGinn but he is no where near the same league as those two in terms of the individual impact made to the hibs team they all played in respectively.

26-03-2022, 10:25 PM
Hooray - congratulations to Le God. As others have commented get wee Russel in there too - and now we're talking about it - Mixu as well.

leith lynx
27-03-2022, 09:45 AM

A 'weak link' in the Tornadoes would have been a top player in today's team! I Stick by it, George Stewart would have improved the Tornadoes! (big hibby into the bargain!)

27-03-2022, 05:36 PM
A 'weak link' in the Tornadoes would have been a top player in today's team! I Stick by it, George Stewart would have improved the Tornadoes! (big hibby into the bargain!)
By that measure, i could go from 1 to 11 and find an improvement !
George may well have improved the side,but as he himself would have said "That would not have made me a Tornado!"

You could say Joe Harper improved the side .But he is.or was,not a Tornado.
I wouid have signed both to add to the squad .It was too light on quality.
As became apparent at a crucial time.
George would have fitted in well and made very welcome by the team.
Unfortunately,Harper signing led to sequence of events that led to the demise.
Turnbull never quite "got the mojo back" both on and off the park.

My mother used to say "Good things come in small packages"
As for The Eleven Tornadoes time together !
It was short......... but it was sweet. :not worth

PS
I know too that George was Hibs daft.
Had a few bevvies with him back in his Chesser days,when Jimmy had The Gylemuir.
Travelled on the West bus that left the Chesser a few times,when old pal Donnie was convener:aok:
Jeez, over 40 yrs ago,had a George Best scarf !!

7Hero
27-03-2022, 06:45 PM
Never lost a Derby
Won the European Cup
Won the first division at hibs.
Scored in the millennium Derby one of the greatest goals we ever saw.
Scored in another Derby with his head and knocked his teeth out.
Him and latapy would stand over a free kick and I dont think any of us at the time had any idea how unbelievably amazing that was and we would never ever see 2 naturally gifted World quality players like that again.
I really can't do his legacy justice whilw out walking but felt I had to reply lol..

Sauzee is a legend, end of. Its not even worth having a debate as not one person would ever say he wasn't..

leith lynx
27-03-2022, 07:20 PM
By that measure, i could go from 1 to 11 and find an improvement !
George may well have improved the side,but as he himself would have said "That would not have made me a Tornado!"

You could say Joe Harper improved the side .But he is.or was,not a Tornado.
I wouid have signed both to add to the squad .It was too light on quality.
As became apparent at a crucial time.
George would have fitted in well and made very welcome by the team.
Unfortunately,Harper signing led to sequence of events that led to the demise.
Turnbull never quite "got the mojo back" both on and off the park.

My mother used to say "Good things come in small packages"
As for The Eleven Tornadoes time together !
It was short......... but it was sweet. :not worth

PS
I know too that George was Hibs daft.
Had a few bevvies with him back in his Chesser days,when Jimmy had The Gylemuir.
Travelled on the West bus that left the Chesser a few times,when old pal Donnie was convener:aok:
Jeez, over 40 yrs ago,had a George Best scarf !!

Aye, you are correct in saying that the Tornadoes squad lacked depth, could have done with more Des Bremner quality type signings to keep the momentum going, but on the other hand we might not have seen George Best!

27-03-2022, 11:21 PM
Chris Dagnall has the same medals as McGinn to be fair, Dagnall for the HoF 😉

Dagnall never won the Scottish Championship :wink:

Slim Shady
28-03-2022, 06:26 AM
Sauzee was a fantastic player.

As for HoF though. He was more of a Legend that played for Hibs , rather than a Hibs Legend.

28-03-2022, 07:00 AM
Sauzee was a fantastic player.

As for HoF though. He was more of a Legend that played for Hibs , rather than a Hibs Legend.

Well put.I agree with that distinction.

28-03-2022, 07:15 AM

Would add a couple of thousand to the gate I'd have thought.

28-03-2022, 07:18 AM

Scott Brown was fantastic in his last couple of seasons with us too (not sure if he's already in it). There are a few candidates.

28-03-2022, 04:41 PM
I remember Jimmy telling me that one day in the Carrick Knowe. He would always come over and have a blether or share a joke with me and my mates on a Friday afternoon. I would only have been between 18-20 so obviously never seen him play but I lobed the old Hibs stories.

Around 2000, i worked at Broomhouse for a year.
I would pop in the Carricknowe sometimes after work and on Fridays.
Great bunch in the bar at that time.
Jimmy's wife of course did the bar meals back then and our old mans good pal, Drew Currie, was always good for a blether !

28-03-2022, 05:16 PM
So are we to assume there’s nae chance of him being at ER on Saturday? Would surely have been something mentioned by now.

28-03-2022, 05:32 PM
So are we to assume there’s nae chance of him being at ER on Saturday? Would surely have been something mentioned by now.

If, as hoped ,Stevie is bringing the Dnipro Kids.
Will the club do both in same match ?
Maybe he could do a half time draw with the Kids?

I suspect the Kids might prefer to meet the likes of Sylvester, Elias or Josh :greengrin

28-03-2022, 11:22 PM
You'd think if he was going to be at the game on Saturday that Hibs would shout this to the high heavens. Would add a very big amount onto the gate. Very disappointing if he's not going to be able to attend a match because the thought of Sauzee on the Easter Road turf with a mic having a half time chat....gets the blood flowing big time!

29-03-2022, 04:55 PM
Would add a couple of thousand to the gate I'd have thought.

We’d need another tier if John McGinn was coming back.

29-03-2022, 05:24 PM
We’d need another tier if John McGinn was coming back.

Indeed
There was a few tiers when he left :boo hoo::boo hoo: