View Full Version : World Cup draw
22-03-2022, 05:28 PM
I notice that the draw takes place next week. We have been placed in the 4th pot as our ties will not have been completed by then.
Won't help if we do qualify.
22-03-2022, 07:02 PM
Even with Scotland potentially qualifying, I just can't get excited about it - mostly because of where it's being hosted and the manner in which it was awarded.
22-03-2022, 07:15 PM
It’s the taking part that counts! The atmosphere, the camaraderie and the all day drinking in the public squares…
Or, in this case, the company of some Aberdonian chino-wearing ex pat in an air conditioned hotel bar. F*** that.
23-03-2022, 07:25 AM
To be honest I'm not a great lover of international football any more and not just because Scotland were p!$# for a generation but because of the way both FIFA corruption and UEFA greed has stolen the game from its roots
An example is this fortnight at the height of the season we have no games because of FIFA/UEFA dictat.
And apart from that the so called Tartan Army are a bunch of embarassing, somewhat over-indulged, Brigadoonians that make you cringe despite the atmsophere they create.
Grumpy old burger I know
23-03-2022, 10:04 AM
The draw is on Friday April 1st at 11.30. It is on Sky and BBC online.
Steven79
23-03-2022, 10:10 AM
The draw is on Friday April 1st at 11.30. It is on Sky and BBC online.The draw will no doubt we dragged out for hours...
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
23-03-2022, 10:44 AM
The draw will no doubt we dragged out for hours...
Until they get it right...
23-03-2022, 11:03 AM
Leaked draw:
Belgium
Germany
Serbia
Winner of play-off A
England
United States
Canada
Panama
Don't fact-check me, you know it's true.
Steven79
23-03-2022, 12:45 PM
Leaked draw:
Belgium
Germany
Serbia
Winner of play-off A
England
United States
Canada
Panama
Don't fact-check me, you know it's true.
Hopefully it goes as well as this draw...
23-03-2022, 03:50 PM
Just nice actually being in the draw!
23-03-2022, 04:31 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pOPgNIyRBD0
23-03-2022, 05:01 PM
23-03-2022, 06:59 PM
Classic.
28-03-2022, 12:31 PM
I see Canada have qualified for the first time since 1986. Mexico and USA favourites for the other two places.
I do feel that that continent are over represented.
Steven79
28-03-2022, 12:33 PM
I see Canada have qualified for the first time since 1986. Mexico and USA favourites for the other two places.
I do feel that that continent are over represented.What percentage of teams qualify for World Cup?
Paul1642
28-03-2022, 01:01 PM
I do feel that that continent are over represented.
These counties individually will have lager populations than some entire groups combined.
28-03-2022, 01:24 PM
28-03-2022, 01:39 PM
These counties individually will have lager populations than some entire groups combined.
Not sure Mexico and Canada consider themselves counties of the USA but they do have large populations 🙂
Stairway 2 7
28-03-2022, 02:15 PM
What do you mean by group, like European group? They wouldn't get 3 places and 1 playoff in a group. If population was to do with it China would get a bye. Understand they have to make it a world game, but its undeniably a disadvantage if you are in Europe
Green Reaper
28-03-2022, 04:06 PM
US and Mexico do but Canadas population is a lot smaller than England alone
Renfrew_Hibby
28-03-2022, 04:19 PM
The rise of Canada the last couple of years is quite remarkable some amazing young talent.
JXM73
28-03-2022, 04:32 PM
Hopefully it goes as well as this draw...
No as good as:
Peru
Iran
Scotland
Holland
plhibs
28-03-2022, 04:43 PM
[QUOTE=Green Reaper;6903604]US and Mexico do but Canadas population is a lot smaller than England alone
Population of Canada is about 38 million, that was 2020/2021 i think. The team is getting a lot better than we used to be.
Green Reaper
28-03-2022, 04:53 PM
[QUOTE=Green Reaper;6903604]US and Mexico do but Canadas population is a lot smaller than England alone
Population of Canada is about 38 million, that was 2020/2021 i think. The team is getting a lot better than we used to be.
Doing really well seeing it’s not even the main sport there
Stairway 2 7
28-03-2022, 04:57 PM
David weatherspoon has 10 caps for Canada, will vying for a place. Harry Paton Ross County, Jay Chapman Dundee and theo bair St Johnstone have been called up in the last year will be hoping to impress too
28-03-2022, 05:10 PM
No as good as:
Peru
Iran
Scotland
Holland I liked what you done there
SJNB Hibby
28-03-2022, 06:18 PM
[QUOTE=plhibs;6903618]
Doing really well seeing it’s not even the main sport there
More kids registered for 'soccer' than hockey
28-03-2022, 06:34 PM
The draw will no doubt we dragged out for hours...
Sent from my -G960F using Tapatalk
In Scotland's case....... for years !
Younger guys might not know,but England qualified in 1966 as hosts then 1970 as Winners
They did not qualify for 1974,1978. We did !!
The break up of the Soviet Union and Yugoslavia and other splits has made qualifying a lot harder for us and others.
Italy and Holland in recent years,for example . In good company there !
We keep coming fairly close at times,but no coconut !!
A barren run indeed,since 1990&98.
Green Reaper
28-03-2022, 06:54 PM
[QUOTE=Green Reaper;6903622]
More kids registered for 'soccer' than hockey
Good to hear, just need to get the adults more interested although I understand why hockey is so popular
plhibs
28-03-2022, 07:02 PM
David weatherspoon has 10 caps for Canada, will vying for a place. Harry Paton Ross County, Jay Chapman Dundee and theo bair St Johnstone have been called up in the last year will be hoping to impress too
I had a look at the latest roster players and 19 play in Europe 14 in MLS. This has made a huge difference in the last 20/30 years, still not sure how many points they might get in the finals, or even win a game.
No as good as:
Peru
Iran
Scotland
Holland
The writing was on the wall poster.
29-03-2022, 09:23 PM
Poland and Portugal now through.
31-03-2022, 10:00 PM
Draw is tomorrow coverage starts at 4:45pm and 29 out of the 32 spots are now confirmed;
Pot 1
Qatar (Hosts)
Brazil
Belgium
France
Argentina
England
Spain
Portugal
Pot 2
Mexico
Netherlands
Denmark
Germany
Uruguay
Switzerland
USA
Croatia
Pot 3
Senegal
Iran
Japan
Morocco
Serbia
Poland
South Korea
Tunisia
Pot 4
Cameroon
Canada
Ecuador
Saudi Arabia
Ghana
Wales/Scotland/Ukraine
Costa Rica/New Zealand
UAE/Australia/Peru
Only one team per continent can be drawn into each group, with the exception of Europe which can have two teams per group.
The 8 teams who are vying for the last 3 spots are all in pot 4, despite Wales, Ukraine, Costa Rica and Peru all being ranked high enough for being in pot 3 so if any of these teams qualify there's going to be some tough sides in pot 4.
31-03-2022, 10:04 PM
England/USA/Tunisia for us if we get there.
darwenhibby
31-03-2022, 10:08 PM
England/USA/Tunisia for us if we get there.
But we always get Brazil so can’t draw England
01-04-2022, 10:31 AM
Would love England to get a difficult group but never seems to happen.
Don't understand why they have to limit countries from the same continent
hibby rae
01-04-2022, 11:25 AM
I had a look at the latest roster players and 19 play in Europe 14 in MLS. This has made a huge difference in the last 20/30 years, still not sure how many points they might get in the finals, or even win a game.
One if the things that the Canadians did to their advantage this campaign has been to shift games for the usual venues.
So when they beat Mexico at home they played the game in Edmonton in an outdoors venue in November. The temperature was -8.
A good move given they've had to contend with the opposite in away games.
01-04-2022, 11:48 AM
I've revised my group predictions to:
Brazil
Germany
Serbia
Wales/Scotland/Ukraine
England
USA
Tunisia
Canada
01-04-2022, 11:59 AM
I've revised my group predictions to:
Brazil
Germany
Serbia
Wales/Scotland/Ukraine
England
USA
Tunisia
Canada
USA and Canada can't be in the same group and neither can Germany, Serbia and the winner of Scotland/Wales/Ukraine.
Only one team from each association can be in each group with the exception of UEFA which can have a maximum of two teams per group.
01-04-2022, 12:14 PM
USA and Canada can't be in the same group and neither can Germany, Serbia and the winner of Scotland/Wales/Ukraine.
Only one team from each association can be in each group with the exception of UEFA which can have a maximum of two teams per group.
Ah, okay. Switch out Canada with Saudi Arabia and Serbia with Japan then.
01-04-2022, 12:20 PM
No-one wanting Qatar?
We can play them in our pink strip :greengrin
01-04-2022, 12:23 PM
No-one wanting Qatar?
We can play them in our pink strip :greengrin
That would be the final straw after they first learn we have Dykes on the men's team.....
01-04-2022, 12:24 PM
That would be the final straw after they first learn we have Dykes on the men's team.....
Qatar
Switzerland
Tunisia
Scotland
SJNB Hibby
01-04-2022, 01:05 PM
Qatar
Switzerland
Tunisia
Scotland
That would work----when have we ever gone into a WC thinking our group is a doddle?:rolleyes:
He's here!
01-04-2022, 03:02 PM
Even with Scotland potentially qualifying, I just can't get excited about it - mostly because of where it's being hosted and the manner in which it was awarded.
I'll honestly be quite content if we don't qualify. Qatar should never have been awarded the tournament and bearing in mind the current outrage at Russia I think a lot of folk are glossing over what goes on in Qatar simply because the fitba comes first.
01-04-2022, 04:15 PM
I'll honestly be quite content if we don't qualify. Qatar should never have been awarded the tournament and bearing in mind the current outrage at Russia I think a lot of folk are glossing over what goes on in Qatar simply because the fitba comes first.
One of the richest countries in the world paying workers 50p an hour (after those workers being charged ‘recruitment fees’ that take them up to a year to pay off, whic is essentially 12 months of slavery) and working 6,500 of them to actual death since the World Cup was awarded? I hope they lose every game they play.
01-04-2022, 04:17 PM
Alan Shearer getting over confident once again.
Can't wait to see his tears once again.
hibee
01-04-2022, 04:19 PM
Just turned the BBC on, where’s the Scottish and Welsh pundits?
01-04-2022, 04:22 PM
Alan Shearer getting over confident once again.
Can't wait to see his tears once again.
I think they'll be there or there abouts. Im surprised to see European champions Italy didn't qualify!
Just turned the BBC on, where’s the Scottish and Welsh pundits?
Have just been talking about Wales on Sky and Steven Pressley will be talking about Scotland after the ads.
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/12098/12579476/qatar-2022-world-cup-draw-watch-free-live-stream-of-draw-for-this-years-tournament
01-04-2022, 04:35 PM
Just when you think it can't get any more boring here comes Jenas
01-04-2022, 04:36 PM
Can they not shut up and just do the draw
01-04-2022, 04:37 PM
WTF has Steven Presley turned up as? He looks like a big jakey Jambo
Tully
01-04-2022, 04:44 PM
Who's the stuck up woman on the sky sports panel what a pain in the arse
01-04-2022, 04:45 PM
Jenas must have a really good agent.
Idiot.
WTF has Steven Presley turned up as? He looks like a big jakey Jambo
still as boring and monotone to listen to as ever
01-04-2022, 04:46 PM
They need to do away with the contrived nonsense and just make it a free for all, everyone in one pot and pick them out
Qatar in a red ball, surprised the SFA haven't thought of that, a different coloured ball for Rangers.
LunasBoots
01-04-2022, 04:51 PM
Absolute farce the way they draw a world cup, a draw that favours certain nations is just stupid
NC1875
01-04-2022, 04:52 PM
What’s the point in the red ball. We know they’re whatever letter plus number 1
01-04-2022, 04:56 PM
Where's Rod Stewart when you need him
01-04-2022, 04:57 PM
Absolute farce the way they draw a world cup, a draw that favours certain nations is just stupid
Ain’t that the truth. All about money though I’m afraid.
01-04-2022, 04:59 PM
Qatar in a red ball, surprised the SFA haven't thought of that, a different coloured ball for Rangers.
Worst home nation ever. At least bafana bafana had a proper support.
01-04-2022, 05:01 PM
So
A, B, C, G or H for us.
01-04-2022, 05:01 PM
Am I right in thinking we can’t be in D,E or F cause you can’t have 3 teams from Europe in the same group ? I’ve been half paying attention.
01-04-2022, 05:02 PM
It's fine for France and Denmark and Spain and Germany to play each other but not Brazil to play Uraguay, weirdos
01-04-2022, 05:03 PM
Mon the Iran
England do it again
LunasBoots
Might aswell give England a by through.
01-04-2022, 05:04 PM
England get their usual bye through
01-04-2022, 05:04 PM
So
A, B, C, G or H for us.
I’d take B right now
JamesHFC
01-04-2022, 05:06 PM
England get their usual bye through
Another golden boot incoming for Kane.
01-04-2022, 05:15 PM
Good draw.
LunasBoots
01-04-2022, 05:16 PM
In group B with England if we get there
bringbackbenny
Yes! Big incentive now 😃
Scotland or Wales will be in England's group if they qualify!
JamesHFC
Scotland/Ukraine/Wales will play England in the final group game - 29th November.
01-04-2022, 05:17 PM
Great group if we can do it, I'd rather that than any of the rest
01-04-2022, 05:17 PM
Couldn’t have asked for a better draw, just need to qualify now
01-04-2022, 05:18 PM
Well, if that’s not the motivation our boys need then I don’t know what is.
NC1875
01-04-2022, 05:19 PM
Come on Scotland. We can do it 🏴
01-04-2022, 05:23 PM
I haven’t paid much attention to this, so forgive a daft question, but how come Portugal was in the top pot when they had to qualify in the play-offs?
01-04-2022, 05:23 PM
So Wales v England then? :greengrin
01-04-2022, 05:24 PM
BBC studio is aware they are broadcasting in Scotland and Wales as well I assume? Alan Shearer just about creaming his pants about how easy their group is.
I haven’t paid much attention to this, so forgive a daft question, but how come Portugal was in the top pot when they had to qualify in the play-offs?
They're ranked no.8 in the FIFA World Rankings.
JamesHFC
01-04-2022, 05:27 PM
So Wales v England then? :greengrin
Pretty much.
JamesHFC
01-04-2022, 05:28 PM
BBC studio is aware they are broadcasting in Scotland and Wales as well I assume? Alan Shearer just about creaming his pants about how easy their group is.
Him and his pals be crying again when they get papped out by an Argentina or Portugal.
01-04-2022, 05:36 PM
Talking about USA's young players and Shearer interrupts to remind us England have good young players too hahaha ****ing shameless
01-04-2022, 05:38 PM
The pots had nothing to do with whether team got direct qualification or through the play offs, it was based purely on their current world rankings, with the exception of the three remaining countries which have still to be settled, all of those countries are in pot 4 regardless of their world ranking.
Gordy M
01-04-2022, 05:39 PM
Heard it all before from them when they got us at home in the Euros, how many they would take of us.......zero was the answer.
If we get past Ukraine, then im very confident we will beat Wales.
JamesHFC
01-04-2022, 05:41 PM
Heard it all before from them when they got us at home in the Euros, how many they would take of us.......zero was the answer.
If we get past Ukraine, then im very confident we will beat Wales.
Wales are unbeaten in 18 home games and just put out an Austria team who pretty much battered us without their main man Alaba. I admire your optimism.
01-04-2022, 05:42 PM
Talking about USA's young players and Shearer interrupts to remind us England have good young players too hahaha ****ing shameless
I can't wait to see Gary Lineker and co in tears when we beat England in the last game and knock them out of the World Cup (if we get there of course).
Gordy M
01-04-2022, 05:55 PM
Wales are unbeaten in 18 home games and just put out an Austria team who pretty much battered us without their main man Alaba. I admire your optimism.
We are unbearen in 8, home and AWAY, winning 6 of those 8 including Denmark, Poland and Austria. Of interest, did you think we would be Serbia? We are not an easy team to beat and have a goal in us. Im as optimistic as ive been in years.
And Alaba waa playing when we went to Austria and beat them last year.
01-04-2022, 05:57 PM
Pretty decent group. Please ****in' qualify Scotland.
JamesHFC
01-04-2022, 05:57 PM
We are unbearen in 8, home and AWAY, winning 6 of those 8 including Denmark, Poland and Austria. Of interest, did you think we would be Serbia? We are not an easy team to beat and have a goal in us. Im as optimistic as ive been in years.
Of course there is every possibility, I think home advantage against Ukraine will be beneficial but it will be very tough. I just think very confident of beating Wales on their home turf is a stretch. We shall see, it be exciting.
01-04-2022, 06:01 PM
USA coach saying he thinks it would be great if Ukraine qualify. Nice and understandable sentiment but let’s be realistic. If emotion and sentiment are uppermost, why not just award Ukraine the World Cup? I would be cheesed off if the play off position was awarded to Ukraine.
01-04-2022, 06:03 PM
We’re getting papped out by Wales but it’s nice to be part of the conversation.
01-04-2022, 06:04 PM
Are we still expecting the play off dates to be 4th and 7th of June?
Gordy M
01-04-2022, 06:06 PM
Of course there is every possibility, I think home advantage against Ukraine will be beneficial but it will be very tough. I just think very confident of beating Wales on their home turf is a stretch. We shall see, it be exciting.
Most of Wales home matches have been draws apart from the likes of Estonia and Belarus, and of course Austria. Who was the last decent team they beat? Az i said, i think we beat them if we get past Ukraine.
01-04-2022, 06:11 PM
Great draw...for Ukraine
JamesHFC
01-04-2022, 06:11 PM
Most of Wales home matches have been draws apart from the likes of Estonia and Belarus, and of course Austria. Who was the last decent team they beat? Az i said, i think we beat them if we get past Ukraine.
They beat Turkey and drew against Switzerland to reach the knockout stages of the Euro’s last year mate. They have also beat Czech Republic who beat us at Hampden in the Euro’s. A lot of their players got them to the semi final of a major tournament not that long ago.
That’ll be the World Cup won then!
Really poor and biased by BBC England!
01-04-2022, 06:53 PM
Couldn’t have asked for a better draw, just need to qualify now
From a glamour point of view playing England is definitely up there but for me the best draw would have been Qatar, USA, Tunisia and Scotland.
That would have been an outstanding draw and a great opportunity if we qualify. Still playing England at a World Cup Finals would be a great occasion.
Radge70
01-04-2022, 07:28 PM
Typical arrogance from the English thinking they have an easy group but USA have shocked them at the World cup before, Scotland will give them a game and Iran won't be taking any hostages this time round
Stairway 2 7
01-04-2022, 07:29 PM
We would have won if at 2 nil we didn't make 6 subs to give them time, also robbed against a good Poland side
Gordy M
01-04-2022, 07:31 PM
They beat Turkey and drew against Switzerland to reach the knockout stages of the Euro’s last year mate. They have also beat Czech Republic who beat us at Hampden in the Euro’s. A lot of their players got them to the semi final of a major tournament not that long ago.
Turkey were horrific at the Euros and as i said they have had a few draws. They got thrashed by Denmark in the Euros, the team we had to beat to get to the play off. Im just not convinced they are that great. Il be disappointed if we dont win....if we beat Ukraine.
01-04-2022, 07:43 PM
Typical arrogance from the English thinking they have an easy group but USA have shocked them at the World cup before, Scotland will give them a game and Iran won't be taking any hostages this time round
01-04-2022, 08:12 PM
How good are Ukraine?
A crap world cup to go with the crap times.
01-04-2022, 08:18 PM
How good are Ukraine?
27th in the world so better than Scotland but not as good as Wales.
01-04-2022, 08:19 PM
Odds are it will be another brilliant world cup, like the last 2.
01-04-2022, 08:53 PM
Just wait until Australia host the World Cup!
Lendo
01-04-2022, 09:30 PM
Agreed it’ll be crap but the times won’t be an issue. Doha is only 3 hours ahead in the winter and the games will be played later in the afternoon/evening there.
01-04-2022, 09:39 PM
Hmmmm Scottish arrogance assuming you will get there :greengrin
I certianly hope you do, I thought the draw was pretty disappointing from a English point of view, not exactly a heart pumping draw bar the last game against either neighbours Scotland or Wales or the emotional games that all Ukraine matches at the world cup will be should they qualify, with the greatest of respect to Iran and the USA. I hope Scotland make it, England v Scotland at a world cup will be a great occasion.
The Baldmans Comb
01-04-2022, 11:22 PM
There was nothing whatsoever wrong with the English TV coverage or the English pundits who behaved just like any other commentators in the world would do with a few respectful asides but inwardly absolutely chuffed to bits and rightly so as they will romp that group.
The English presenter in Dubai also did a fine job of handling some tricky oditties in the draw.
How weird to see the wee segment on the Scots and the Welsh tagged on at the end as I really cant imagine Denmark getting tagged onto a German sports channel for 90 seconds and the commentator laughing at the Scottish location.
Qatar is a top class location for weather and transport and the stadiums are amazing and will be completely sold out with a very different and interesting vibe.
02-04-2022, 04:25 AM
There was nothing whatsoever wrong with the English TV coverage or the English pundits who behaved just like any other commentators in the world would do with a few respectful asides but inwardly absolutely chuffed to bits and rightly so as they will romp that group.
The English presenter in Dubai also did a fine job of handling some tricky oditties in the draw.
How weird to see the wee segment on the Scots and the Welsh tagged on at the end as I really cant imagine Denmark getting tagged onto a German sports channel for 90 seconds and the commentator laughing at the Scottish location.
Qatar is a top class location for weather and transport and the stadiums are amazing and will be completely sold out with a very different and interesting vibe.
Hopefully you're getting paid as much as the other shills to say that.
Qatar is a backwards **** hole that should never ever be allowed this kind of event, regardless of how good there weather is. You should not be able to just pay silly money to cover up human rights violations, slave labour and more.
02-04-2022, 06:39 AM
Is the 'interesting vibe' wondering exactly how many died to build this particular stadium?
He's here!
02-04-2022, 06:52 AM
Qatar is a backwards **** hole that should never ever be allowed this kind of event, regardless of how good there weather is. You should not be able to just pay silly money to cover up human rights violations, slave labour and more.
As I said yesterday it's disappointing how many football fans are prepared to overlook that.
The World Cup should not be getting played there and I would shed no tears if we fail to qualify.
02-04-2022, 07:32 AM
Yet we were still 2 goals up until we gave our subs a game. Would be pretty confident we could beat Wales but definitely a difficult game if we beat 🇺🇦.
02-04-2022, 07:34 AM
That’ll be the World Cup won then!
Really poor and biased by BBC England!
Yep shameless lack of awareness when will they ever learn, never would be my guess. No wonder everyone wants them to lose.
02-04-2022, 07:35 AM
agreed.
I wasn’t around in 1978, but does anyone who was remember if there was much talk about Argentina’s massive human rights violations at the time, or the fact that political opponents and activists were literally being dropped alive into the ocean just a few hundred yards away from the River Plate stadium in Buenos Aires? Or was it all covered up and not spoken of?
that World Cup fascinates me, and not just Scotland’s, erm, ‘contribution’ to it
Yep shameless lack of awareness when will they ever learn, never would be my guess. No wonder everyone wants them to lose.
Indeed Jim. I turned the programme off after 10 minutes.
02-04-2022, 07:41 AM
agreed.
I wasn’t around in 1978, but does anyone who was remember if there was much talk about Argentina’s massive human rights violations at the time, or the fact that political opponents and activists were literally being dropped alive into the ocean just a few hundred yards away from the River Plate stadium in Buenos Aires? Or was it all covered up and not spoken of?
that World Cup fascinates me, and not just Scotland’s, erm, ‘contribution’ to it
Yes there was and that was shameful also.
02-04-2022, 07:54 AM
agreed.
Nothing like as much as there is for this world cup. We were more interested in the football. In 1977 we played a friendly against Chile in a stadium where people were imprisoned and murdered by Pinochet's fascist government. That caused an outcry.
That should never have happened.
02-04-2022, 07:55 AM
agreed.
It was definitely a thing. I can remember shouting abuse at the telly as Argentina were awarded the cup by the junta.
02-04-2022, 07:59 AM
It was definitely a thing. I can remember shouting abuse at the telly as Argentina were awarded the cup by the junta.
I think it's one of those times when you see the real positives of social media.
In 1978 I'm sure there were people appalled by a World Cup being hosted in Argentina but it must have been so much harder to make their voices heard. The bulk of people still got their news from the TV and newspapers and if those outlets chose to ignore or gloss over the issues and how they related to a football tournament then they went largely unreported and unnoticed.
Today there is no hiding place for Qatar and those who took the WC there. For those who want it there is a wealth of information available in seconds. I'm not convinced the likes of Blatter and Platini would have been brought down in the way they were even 10 years ago. They simply couldn't brush their shenanigans under the carpet nowadays.
02-04-2022, 08:24 AM
I think the line from Amnesty is a boycott is unrealistic but use qualification to highlight the human rights abuses that are going on in Qatar as England are doing.
The Baldmans Comb
02-04-2022, 08:31 AM
World Cups have been held in Argentina and Chilie governed by the murdering facists, Brazil when run by the Generals and corrupt Germany stole the 2006 World Cup from South Africa who were hardly a bastion of human rights themselves in 2010.
Putins Russia 😅 are no better which was only 4 years ago and the next World Cup is off to lawless Mexico and the USA with its engrained racism towards black people to say nothing of its immoral and illegal wars in Vietnam and Iraq killing millions and is heavily involved in drone assainations, rendition flights and Guantanamo bay.
England another country involved in illegal wars or propping up awful regimes like the Saudis with WMD's would grab the World Cup tomorrow if only someone somewhere liked them enough to give them a shout.
Scotland itself had no problem playing in Pinochets Chile, none whatsoever in Argentina 78 and play against apartheid Israel every 6 months.
Throw in Francos Spain hosting the early Euros or Ukraine before it ditched the Nazi element co hosting with Poland or Switzerland home to every corrupt bank account co hosting with Austria show that UEFA can be bought just as much as FIFA.
So spare us the sanctimonious drivel about Qatar and its stadium building programme as they have a lot of serious catching up to do.
hibby rae
02-04-2022, 08:34 AM
I think the line from Amnesty is a boycott is unrealistic but use qualification to highlight the human rights abuses that are going on in Qatar as England are doing.
It has now urged Fifa to call on the Qatar government to fulfil its programme of labour reforms before the opening match of the World Cup on 21 November next year.
“Qatar is one of the richest countries in the world but its economy depends on the 2 million migrant workers who live there,” Dummett said. “By sending a clear signal that labour abuses will not be tolerated, penalising employers who break laws and protecting workers’ rights, Qatar can give us a tournament that we can all celebrate. But this is yet to be achieved.”
Sacha Deshmukh, Amnesty International UK’s chief executive, said the Football Association could do more to press the authorities in Doha. “The exploitation of Qatar’s massive migrant workforce has already cast a dark shadow over next year’s World Cup, and the FA ought to use the remaining year until kick-off to push for lasting labour reforms in Qatar,” he said.
“The FA is part of the Uefa Working Group on Workers’ Rights in Qatar and can press the Doha authorities over strengthening migrant worker protections, investigating worker deaths and helping to fashion a tournament with a genuinely positive legacy.
“It’s more important than ever that England’s coaching staff, players and supporters raise human rights issues ahead of next year’s kick-off.”
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2021/nov/16/qatar-migrant-workers-trapped-exploited-before-world-cup-amnesty-report
JamesHFC
02-04-2022, 08:34 AM
Turkey were horrific at the Euros and as i said they have had a few draws. They got thrashed by Denmark in the Euros, the team we had to beat to get to the play off. Im just not convinced they are that great. Il be disappointed if we dont win....if we beat Ukraine.
We played Denmark at a time they had already secured 1st place, it was basically a friendly for them. Imo any team that get to the semi final of a major tournament and are ranked 18th in the world based on their results over the years are a very very good team. Here’s hoping but I think you are likely to end up disappointed.
JamesHFC
02-04-2022, 08:35 AM
Scotland will play all group games at 7pm UK time if qualified.
hibby rae
02-04-2022, 08:37 AM
World Cups have been held in Argentina and Chilie governed by the murdering facists, Brazil when run by the Generals and corrupt Germany stole the 2006 World Cup from South Africa who were hardly a bastion of human rights themselves in 2010.
Putins Russia 😅 are no better which was only 4 years ago and the next World Cup is off to lawless Mexico and the USA with its engrained racism towards black people to say nothing of its immoral and illegal wars in Vietnam and Iraq killing millions and is heavily involved in drone assainations, rendition flights and Guantanamo bay.
England another country involved in illegal wars would grab the World Cup tomorrow if only someone somewhere liked them enough to give them a shout.
Scotland itself had no problem playing in Pinochets Chile, none whatsoever in Argentina 78 and play against apartheid Israel every 6 months.
Throw in Francos Spain hosting the early Euros or Ukraine before it ditched the Nazi element co hosting with Poland or Switzerland home to every corrupt bank account co hosting with Austria show that UEFA can be bought just as much as FIFA.
So spare us the sanctimonious drivel about Qatar and its stadium building programme as they have a lot of serious catching up to do.
But by that reasoning nothing would ever be done and the cycle is perpetuated?
02-04-2022, 09:04 AM
Scotland will play all group games at 7pm UK time if qualified.
That's good. Even although it will be cooler in November day time temperatures are still approaching 30°C so playing at night will help.
The Baldmans Comb
02-04-2022, 09:25 AM
But by that reasoning nothing would ever be done and the cycle is perpetuated?
Exactly and thats why selective criticms of a rather unsavoury nasty regime in Qatar is just sanctamonius drivel in some cases verging on racism.
hibby rae
02-04-2022, 09:32 AM
Exactly and thats why selective criticms of a rather unsavoury nasty regime in Qatar is just sanctamonius drivel in some cases verging on racism.
I don't see it that way, rather as time has went on it has become easier to discover information and voice opinion about the governments in power of these countries.
I wouldn't say criticism has been selective at all. It was fairly solid against Russia for the World Cup and Sochi for example.