View Full Version : 3 games to save his hibs career
22-03-2022, 05:42 AM
What mess are we in?
This is the best time ever to be a Hibs fan - regular trips to Hampden, 3rd place in the league, beating Hearts, big crowds, players like Boyle and Porteous.
People need to take off the rose tinted glasses - Hibs have rarely been better than they are now - the old days were mostly rubbish!
Get real - it's Hibs - not Barcelona.
This is not the best time ever to be a Hibs fan. I can't actually believe anyone who's watched us this season would believe that.
22-03-2022, 05:43 AM
Folk we’re having a go at Maloney before he had managed his first game, the knives were being sharpened and they are now stabbing him to bits, a lot of fans have just not taken to him, why, I don’t know, JR had a few years and by the end of his tenure it was time for him to go, it’s embarrassing that folk are still pinning for him, we have to move on from that era and back the new man who came in, it’s not been great so far under Maloney but us as fans need to back him and get behind him and support him and his players, he won’t get sacked anytime soon and folk need to understand that and support him rather than have snidey digs about him every other week, just look at last week when we beat Motherwell and progressed in the cup, pish, 10 men we got lucky, folk just can’t take to him, and going up to Aberdeen has never been a easy game for us but folk seemed to think we should just turn up up and put the dons to the sword, Shaun will get the backing of the owner in the summer to bring in more of his players to play his style of football and us as fans need to SUPPORT him and hope he gets it right.
That is absolutely the size of it depressing how quickly some turn. Jeezo we are in the semi final after winning two very tricky away ties. Handled last week very professionally against ten men and a week later were comfortable then done over by a wrong penalty decision.
22-03-2022, 05:51 AM
The board literally done that with Ross. We're only expecting them to hold Maloney to the same standards.
Whose we? Ross had multiple transfer windows Maloney has been in the door 3 months has has an unprecedented injury impact, is trying to assimilate a number of younger players into the squad, is trying to get them to play a more possession based style, has only had one window and is being done over by refs who appear to have it in for either or both of him or the club. Why on earth is it fair to be held to the same standards? Absolutely ludicrous that some fans apparently pining for Ross aren't willing to give him a proper chance to do the job and seem desperate for him to fail. Jeezo some were booing the team when we passed the ball back the way against Cove. :faf:
May21/05/216
22-03-2022, 05:52 AM
This is not the best time ever to be a Hibs fan. I can't actually believe anyone who's watched us this season would believe that.Were in transitional season and I'm convinced that maloney will do a fine job some right drama queen's on this thread with some of the comments you'd think we're bottom of the league and we are in the semi final of the cup to look forward to
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
Paulie Walnuts
22-03-2022, 05:53 AM
It’s as one sided as people on here comparing the previous managers record base on his last few games
Just my opinion, JR time was coming to an end, for me he was shot a bit early but I wasn’t overly bothered about it until I’ve seen us under the new manager
The previous managers record is being based on his last few games because that’s what got him sacked. If he hadn’t went on his 10 game run or whatever it was he’d still be here.
22-03-2022, 05:54 AM
So any manager were ever going to have gets sacked after a bad run?
Why does a proven good manager get sacked after a bad run but one who has proven nothing get loads of time?
Surely the one who has had good results before is more likely to find them again than one who has never had good results?
Ross was a victim of his own high standards and record in charge. His first bad run as Hibs manager wasn't deemed acceptable despite getting us to our second cup final in a row. Maloney shouldn't be treated any differently. I'd expect him to be sacked if he has a similar run. I don't agree with it but Ron has set his standard.
22-03-2022, 05:55 AM
So any manager were ever going to have gets sacked after a bad run?
Why does a proven good manager get sacked after a bad run but one who has proven nothing get loads of time?
Surely the one who has had good results before is more likely to find them again than one who has never had good results?
I think you’re being deliberately obtuse. A manager going on an awful run after 2 years when it’s fully his squad, and where it doesn’t look like the awful run will end any time soon, is liable to end up sacked at most clubs. A manager coming in mid season, inheriting the problems that got the previous manager sacked and given a January window to solve the failings of the previous 2 or 3 windows isn’t a like for like comparison.
If Maloney was 2 years into the job I think this kind of run would leave him liable to getting sacked and he’d have few complaints.
Paulie Walnuts
22-03-2022, 05:56 AM
Ross was a liked manager. Results got him sacked with the help of a certain amount of fans.The same fans who are trying to turn on Maloney.
Thing is, it’s not the same fans.
People are wanting Maloney sacked simply because he wasn’t Jack Ross. Some of the people wanting him sacked have called for it to happen 2 or 3 times now and he’s only been in post 3 months.
They were even slaughtering his appointment before he came in and telling us they wouldn’t be able to support him before even knowing who was getting the job :faf:
Yorkshire HFC
22-03-2022, 06:00 AM
This is not the best time ever to be a Hibs fan. I can't actually believe anyone who's watched us this season would believe that.
We've already been to the LC final - and played well and with a bit of luck would have won it. Maybe if our maverick owner hadn't gone into it without a manager we would have won it?
And we're in the SC semi final as well - this is a good time in Hibs history. I used to go regularly in the mid 70s, 80s and 90s - these were grim times with very few highlights compared to now.
I get that people want more, but you have to be realistic. And sacking a manager after 3 months is not the way to do it. Apart from the football side of it, Maloney is a human being - cut him some slack and let him do his job.
22-03-2022, 06:02 AM
Folk we’re having a go at Maloney before he had managed his first game, the knives were being sharpened and they are now stabbing him to bits, a lot of fans have just not taken to him, why, I don’t know, JR had a few years and by the end of his tenure it was time for him to go, it’s embarrassing that folk are still pinning for him, we have to move on from that era and back the new man who came in, it’s not been great so far under Maloney but us as fans need to back him and get behind him and support him and his players, he won’t get sacked anytime soon and folk need to understand that and support him rather than have snidey digs about him every other week, just look at last week when we beat Motherwell and progressed in the cup, pish, 10 men we got lucky, folk just can’t take to him, and going up to Aberdeen has never been a easy game for us but folk seemed to think we should just turn up up and put the dons to the sword, Shaun will get the backing of the owner in the summer to bring in more of his players to play his style of football and us as fans need to SUPPORT him and hope he gets it right.
It’s actually a pattern repeating itself. Folk were having a go at Jack Ross before he signed up too. The noise was relentless from a vociferous few and it’s happening again with Shaun Maloney. It appears to be the way of football geniuses these days. Until we get open access to the squad and match day tactics from every kid with a football management computer game we’ll never hear the end of it.
22-03-2022, 06:02 AM
We've already been to the LC final - and played well and with a bit of luck would have won it. Maybe if our maverick owner hadn't gone into it without a manager we would have won it?
And we're in the SC semi final as well - this is a good time in Hibs history. I used to go regularly in the mid 70s, 80s and 90s - these were grim times with very few highlights compared to now.
I get that people want more, but you have to be realistic. And sacking a manager after 3 months is not the way to do it. Apart from the football side of it, Maloney is a human being - cut him some slack and let him do his job.
Totally agree interviews seems a very decent guy trying to do a difficult job well. Should be getting support for it not questioned at every turn.
22-03-2022, 06:04 AM
Ross was a victim of his own high standards and record in charge. His first bad run as Hibs manager wasn't deemed acceptable despite getting us to our second cup final in a row. Maloney shouldn't be treated any differently. I'd expect him to be sacked if he has a similar run. I don't agree with it but Ron has set his standard.
Because simply the two situations are in no way comparable.
May21/05/216
22-03-2022, 06:05 AM
I get that people want more, but you have to be realistic. And sacking a manager after 3 months is not the way to do it. Apart from the football side of it, Maloney is a human being - cut him some slack and let him do his job.I agree 100%
Paulie Walnuts
22-03-2022, 06:08 AM
Ross’ bad run included 7 defeats from 9. Ross’ bad run was with his team. Ross’ bad run was 2 years into the job. Ross’ bad run was after numerous absolute horror shows and performances (and that’s games not included in his bad run). Ross’ bad run was starting to see disgraceful performances with numerous players sent off on a frequent basis. Ross left us in 7th and dropping like a stone.
The whole thing was absolutely falling apart infront of us under JR.
Maloney has been left to pick up the pieces from Ross’ bad run. If you can’t see that the circumstances are wildly different in both then there’s no hope for you ever supporting Maloney. Although there never was any hope for that anyway I suppose.
22-03-2022, 06:08 AM
You seem to be very much in the minority with that view, given that we are not even getting 10k fans to bother attending ER for the majority of games. Loads of season ticket holders not attending.
22-03-2022, 06:13 AM
Agreed. It’s not even the best time to be a football fan. What I wouldn’t give to see the entertainment of the 60’s and 70’s. The successes in Europe by various Scottish sides filled with home grown talent. World Cup games, even in failure, were a joy and those annual tussles with the auld enemy. Would love to have see the famous five together too and league championship success.
Maybe the poster was typing tongue in cheek
Paulie Walnuts
22-03-2022, 06:18 AM
I think you’re being deliberately obtuse. A manager going on an awful run after 2 years when it’s fully his squad, and where it doesn’t look like the awful run will end any time soon, is liable to end up sacked at most clubs. A manager coming in mid season, inheriting the problems that got the previous manager sacked and given a January window to solve the failings of the previous 2 or 3 windows isn’t a like for like comparison.
If Maloney was 2 years into the job I think this kind of run would leave him liable to getting sacked and he’d have few complaints.
If Maloney goes on a run like Jack Ross did when he’s even 1 year into the job, he’ll probably get sacked.
Right now he’s trying to sort out the shambles that he took over whilst dealing with one of the best players in the league who carried our team leaving the minute he got in the door. Whilst doing that he’s also got us in 5th place, two places higher than the previous manager had us and into a cup semi final.
Let’s not make out like Jack Ross didn’t get time. He got two years. He got horror shows against Ross County and Livi at ER back to back, he got a horror show at ER against Hearts, a horror show x 2 against St Johnstone at Hampden, he got a defeat against our lower league rivals at Hampden and there wasn’t a sniff of emptying him after any of that. He got time and he got slack from the board when bad results came his way.
Yorkshire HFC
22-03-2022, 06:18 AM
You seem to be very much in the minority with that view, given that we are not even getting 10k fans to bother attending ER for the majority of games. Loads of season ticket holders not attending.
Well I only go to one or two games a season nowadays, so maybe I'm not as on point with my views as those that go regularly. But I would say that expecting a Mowbray-like season every year is unrealistic - a turgid league run with cup highlights is still pretty good - if only we could win one of these finals.
22-03-2022, 06:20 AM
The we have injured players excuse is a bit boring. The team that started against a dons team that has fallen apart on Saturday should have easilly won.
Based on what exactly?
Yorkshire HFC
22-03-2022, 06:25 AM
Agreed. It’s not even the best time to be a football fan. What I wouldn’t give to see the entertainment of the 60’s and 70’s. The successes in Europe by various Scottish sides filled with home grown talent. World Cup games, even in failure, were a joy and those annual tussles with the auld enemy. Would love to have see the famous five together too and league championship success.
Maybe the poster was typing tongue in cheek
What I remember from the 70s was getting soaking wet on an uncovered terrace with 4,000 others - rubbish football and relegation - but I was in my teens and going to Easter Road was an adventure.
I do still have fond memories of Argentina though - by far my favourite World Cup. But to say that Hibs were good at this time is totally re-writing history.
Football has changed since then as well - and I think mostly for the good. Fans today wouldn't put up with how fans were treated back then.
22-03-2022, 06:28 AM
The board literally done that with Ross. We're only expecting them to hold Maloney to the same standards.
would you apply the same to a team decimated by COVID?
do you apply the same to teams having to play youngsters through necessity or through wanting to bloody youth and give them a chance.!
where do you draw the line - or don’t you? Acts of God?
22-03-2022, 06:34 AM
If Maloney goes on a run like Jack Ross did when he’s even 1 year into the job, he’ll probably get sacked.
Right now he’s trying to sort out the shambles that he took over whilst dealing with one of the best players in the league who carried our team leaving the minute he got in the door. Whilst doing that he’s also got us in 5th place, two places higher than the previous manager had us and into a cup semi final.
Let’s not make out like Jack Ross didn’t get time. He got two years. He got horror shows against Ross County and Livi at ER back to back, he got a horror show at ER against Hearts, a horror show x 2 against St Johnstone at Hampden, he got a defeat against our lower league rivals at Hampden and there wasn’t a sniff of emptying him after any of that. He got time and he got slack from the board when bad results came his way.
I’m sure there were fans that wanted Ross gone after losing to lower league Hearts in the semi final.
The Saints loses too were massive opportunities missed.
I remember fans wanting a change after the last derby at Easter Road when Hearts were awful and had half a team missing and we lost.
Paulie Walnuts
22-03-2022, 06:36 AM
I’m sure there were fans that wanted Ross gone after losing to lower league Hearts in the semi final.
The Saints loses too were massive opportunities missed.
I remember fans wanting a change after the last derby at Easter Road when Hearts were awful and had half a team missing and we lost.
Absolutely there was, no debating that.
There’s posters suggesting that the board didn’t give him time though and that they should apply the same standards to Maloney and sack him. They did give him time and they allowed him more time after all those horror results and performances.
They gave him time after a bottom six finish in his first season. He had 18 league games in charge that season, nearly two thirds of the games played, so his influence on that season wasn’t insignificant. In that time he oversaw an eventually relegated Hearts side wipe the floor with us at ER. Yet a defeat to runaway third place Hearts away from home whilst we’re in 5th place should spell the end for Maloney?
That was the right thing to do though as he was picking up the pieces that Heckingbottom left, exactly as Maloney is doing now. Ross inherited a mess and was given time to fix it, even before he had his ‘credit in the bank’ from his third place finish that people refer to. Maloney inherited a mess which also saw our best player since John McGinn leave as soon as he was in the door. Maloney, just as Ross got, should be given time to fix it.
Jack Ross got time from the board. The idea he didn’t and that Maloney should now be binned because Jack Ross got binned without being given time simply isn’t true. Jack Ross survived a bottom 6 finish, he survived a 3-0 skudding at Hampden against St Johnstone, he survived a Hampden defeat to lower league Hearts, he survived the most gutless of cup final defeats at Hampden, again to St Johnstone, he survived some of the most humiliating performances and defeats in recent years at Easter Road by Hearts, Livingston, Ross County and Dundee United, he survived having a poor record in big games, he survived having a negative record against Hearts (P4, W1, D1, L2) despite Hearts being in the process of being relegated or being lower league for the vast majority of his time here.
He got time after all of this from the board.
Maloney should and will be given time as well by our board. He never even got the chance to be appointed (or in some posters cases he hadn’t even been linked to the job :faf:) before some of our fans weren’t behind him though.
Yorkshire HFC
22-03-2022, 06:37 AM
do you apply the same to teams having to play youngsters through necessity or through wanting to bloody youth and give them a chance.!
Why did we sell Boyle?
What have we done / what are we going to do with the money?
I'm surprised that this question isn't being asked of the Board more often.
Nothing is guaranteed, but with a few goals from him, we'd be sitting comfortably is 4th and feeling a bit better about Hampden - rather than having people predict we'll finish 8th in the league and get hammered by Hearts.
It's not all down to Maloney.
22-03-2022, 06:39 AM
Some on here would be happy to see Maloney fail because they value coming onto a forum to tell everyone how "right" they were over their own club doing well. Some made their positions very clear at the start that they were going to be on his case no matter what purely because they were in a wee tantrum cause Ross was correctly punted which is pretty sad. Its also ironic the people doing this made every excuse in the world for the likes of Ross and Heckingbottom even when it was the indefensible.
22-03-2022, 06:40 AM
What I remember from the 70s was getting soaking wet on an uncovered terrace with 4,000 others - rubbish football and relegation - but I was in my teens and going to Easter Road was an adventure.
I do still have fond memories of Argentina though - by far my favourite World Cup. But to say that Hibs were good at this time is totally re-writing history.
Football has changed since then as well - and I think mostly for the good. Fans today wouldn't put up with how fans were treated back then.
Getting soaked on the terraces was part of the experience. You make it sound like the whole of the seventies was a failure on the park then you were not there in the 60’s and for the greater part of the seventies. Those European nights and successes on the park. League and Dryburgh Cup wins and the expectation, not always fulfilled, of winning every game. But my point, if you read my post, was that FOOTBALL was entertaining the and a joy to watch. Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen, Dundee and an upcoming Dundee Utd all entertained us. Even our neighbours were often capable of entertainment but rarely able to beat us for a long spell.
The international football was incredible. The 66 World Cup had its moments, even the final was entertaining, if not the result. And the 1970 World Cup was probably the best ever. I was lucky enough to attend various of Scotland’s games at Hampden, Wembley and all their matches at the ‘74 World Cup. What part of that could make any football fan joyless?
I’m not denying the late 70’s we’re grim fir us at ER and Eddie Turnbull broke up the tornadoes way too soon but my point stands scrutiny.
Yorkshire HFC
22-03-2022, 06:49 AM
Getting soaked on the terraces was part of the experience. You make it sound like the whole of the seventies was a failure on the park then you were not there in the 60’s and for the greater part of the seventies. Those European nights and successes on the park. League and Dryburgh Cup wins and the expectation, not always fulfilled, of winning every game. But my point, if you read my post, was that FOOTBALL was entertaining the and a joy to watch. Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen, Dundee and an upcoming Dundee Utd all entertained us. Even our neighbours were often capable of entertainment but rarely able to beat us for a long spell.
The international football was incredible. The 66 World Cup had its moments, even the final was entertaining, if not the result. And the 1970 World Cup was probably the best ever. I was lucky enough to attend various of Scotland’s games at Hampden, Wembley and all their matches at the ‘74 World Cup. What part of that could make any football fan joyless?
I probably started going to ER regularly in 1975 - just to coincide with Hibs decline!
But I do remember people in general taking more pride in Scottish clubs achievements in Europe in the 80s - especially Aberdeen and Dundee United. I think that's something we've lost now.
Going to Argentina must have been fantastic - the world was a bigger place then and Argentina was a different planet. But despite qualifying for World Cups, Scotland massively under achieved at that time. I remember Dalgleish and the rest of the English based players being hammered by the fans and press - they would have been crucified if the internet had been around then.
Percy Vere
22-03-2022, 07:22 AM
I’m not sure I trust the CEO to be honest, the commercial side has obviously improved, but the football side has not.
I think there has been far more investment in the playing side since RG came in. For years we saw off the pitch development building our infrastructure but to the detriment of the team.
If you’re referring to recent displays, yes it’s not been scintillating but there’s obvious reasons for that, but I don’t think it’s lack of investment or desire to see Hibs move into the next level. Let’s see what next season brings.
Percy Vere
22-03-2022, 07:53 AM
I’m not sure I trust the CEO to be honest, the commercial side has obviously improved, but the football side has not.
I think there has been far more investment in the playing side since RG came in. For years we saw off the pitch development building our infrastructure but to the detriment of the team.
If you’re referring to recent displays, yes it’s not been scintillating but there’s obvious reasons for that, but I don’t think it’s lack of investment or desire to see Hibs move into the next level. Let’s see what next season brings.
Scotty Leither
22-03-2022, 08:08 AM
Let’s see what next season brings.
Hibs should copyright that phrase, along with “a season of transition” and every time someone says it, we should charge them a tenner, we’d make a small fortune…
We sold Boyle with ten days of the window left, not a massive amount of time but enough to make a push for a couple of decent, seasoned pros that might have made a difference to a team that is currently totally devoid of good players in the key positions.
Instead we went cheap and hopeful again, just like their predecessors on the old Board repeatedly did.
I’m sorry but I’m done with the transition talk, how about we get a Board who address the here and now just once in a while?
22-03-2022, 08:25 AM
It's threads like this that keep me coming back to hibs.net.
Dont'ya just love being a Hibee?
22-03-2022, 08:38 AM
Hibs should copyright that phrase, along with “a season of transition” and every time someone says it, we should charge them a tenner, we’d make a small fortune…
We sold Boyle with ten days of the window left, not a massive amount of time but enough to make a push for a couple of decent, seasoned pros that might have made a difference to a team that is currently totally devoid of good players in the key positions.
Instead we went cheap and hopeful again, just like their predecessors on the old Board repeatedly did.
I’m sorry but I’m done with the transition talk, how about we get a Board who address the here and now just once in a while?
No danger we’ve gone for the cheap option. The rest of your post is totally fair but Maloney and his team won’t have come cheap.
22-03-2022, 08:39 AM
We’ve also spent a significant amount of money on the screens, are upgrading the hospitality offerings, making general stadium improvements and looking at reviving BTG. None of this will come cheap.
22-03-2022, 08:45 AM
Scotty Leither
22-03-2022, 08:51 AM
We’ve also spent a significant amount of money on the screens, are upgrading the hospitality offerings, making general stadium improvements and looking at reviving BTG. None of this will come cheap.
Aye the emperor’s new clothes are looking swell.
McGruber
22-03-2022, 08:52 AM
I don't see things as that complicated. I just draw the line under poor management. He is a rookie manager so mistakes were expected. He has to learn from mistakes though to improve.
His system isn't working and doesn't suit the players available. His team selections are baffling at times, even with the players out iniured and tactics have in the main been poor.
Take the latest game. He starts with the wrong team. Melkerson is 19 leading the line away at Aberdeen and his support in the attacking 3 was Jasper, another young guy new to the team and Wright who offers nothing in posession and in an attacking sense.
As the game settled down, before Aberdeen equslised Melkerson was so isolated upfront it wasn't real. It continued that way until he came off. How can the manager not see that unfolding. Doidge is sat on the bench the whole game. He has been off it since he came back from injury but come on, even for the kid's sake he needed help. He wasn't going to get it from anyone in midfield playing 40 yards away from him the whole game.
Just the latest bug bear for me - Melkerson not ready to play to leading the line on his own in a week.
22-03-2022, 08:54 AM
I don't see things as that complicated. I just draw the line under poor management. He is a rookie manager so mistakes were expected. He has to learn from mistakes though to improve.
His system isn't working and doesn't suit the players available. His team selections are baffling at times, even with the players out iniured and tactics have in the main been poor.
Take the latest game. He starts with the wrong team. Melkerson is 19 leading the line away at Aberdeen and his support in the attacking 3 was Jasper, another young guy new to the team and Wright who offers nothing in posession and in an attacking sense.
As the game settled down, before Aberdeen equslised Melkerson was so isolated upfront it wasn't real. It continued that way until he came off. How can the manager not see that unfolding. Doidge is sat on the bench the whole game. He has been off it since he came back from injury but come on, even for the kid's sake he needed help. He wasn't going to get it from anyone in midfield playing 40 yards away from him the whole game.
Just the latest bug bear for me - Melkerson not ready to play to leading the line on his own in a week.
Melkersen did well last week didn't he?
22-03-2022, 09:01 AM
why the hibrenian fcs dont win football game
22-03-2022, 09:05 AM
I’m not knocking Ross, he’d done well but the squad he built had ran its course for him it’s unfair to think the next guy with all the injuries should be getting better out it
It's as if Ross never had any injuries to contend with, and he also had a smaller squad in terms of quality compared to the current manager.
In fact i remember quite clearly folk moaning about how we should have signed another centre half, and should have signed another centre forward, well we have those now, and we are moaning about not having a midfielder, something people moaned about under Ross too.
22-03-2022, 09:08 AM
I think he needs time and should be judged when he’s got a full pool of players but unfortunately for him he’s not got enough credit to survive being another manager who’s lost another hampden match against hearts
I agree with you BUT 9 shots on target and no goals by Hibs players in 270 minutes against the bottom 3 in the league isn't good enough. It might not be "his side" but he has to be pragmatic and adapt his style to get the best out of players available to him. Whether he can learn and adapt is something we can not know at this point and will only become evident over time. What he can say is that Ron Gordon has replaced the senior management of the club so it's definitely his people in charge implementing his strategy.
McGruber
22-03-2022, 09:21 AM
Melkersen did well last week didn't he?
Of course he did. 2 quality goals, MOM, really good movement. Very exciting player to have at the club. Really like Jasper too and he was excellent last week aswell, another exciting player. Both were nailed on starters v Aberdeen. Most likely weren't going to be up against 10 men from the off and definitely need some experienced support up with them.
Missing the point though - about game management. He had a game plan, it worked the week before, 1st half anyway. It was obvious it wasn't working as the game played out then we were out of it, that's where he had to change it. Any good manager would have - that's the worry
Some on here would be happy to see Maloney fail because they value coming onto a forum to tell everyone how "right" they were over their own club doing well. Some made their positions very clear at the start that they were going to be on his case no matter what purely because they were in a wee tantrum cause Ross was correctly punted which is pretty sad. Its also ironic the people doing this made every excuse in the world for the likes of Ross and Heckingbottom even when it was the indefensible.
I said the same last week. I think it's a byproduct of the social media world where there seems to be a desperate need to be proven correct, regardless of the consequences. Maloney of course is not the only target, individual players also suffer with Nisbet being an obvious recent example. It's a sad state of affairs.
happiehibbie
22-03-2022, 09:51 AM
I think the conversation at Board level will be along the lines of do we stick or twist.
They cannot be happy with what is on show ATM
I was excited with Maloneys appointment, I have watch in horror the slow pace and style of play.
Do I want him to get it right to dam right I do. European football is a must for Hibs
22-03-2022, 09:55 AM
Why did we sell Boyle?
What have we done / what are we going to do with the money?
I'm surprised that this question isn't being asked of the Board more often.
Nothing is guaranteed, but with a few goals from him, we'd be sitting comfortably is 4th and feeling a bit better about Hampden - rather than having people predict we'll finish 8th in the league and get hammered by Hearts.
It's not all down to Maloney.
Boyle wanted to go, simple as that, Maloney tried to persuade him to stay hence the wee dig at Ross for touting Boyle move, yeah Hibs could have said no but you can leave in the summer but his head would not have been in the right place and he wouldn’t have performed the way he did, and let’s not forget that Boyle only had one offer it’s not as if there were a load of clubs chasing him for his signature, so he made the decision and forced the move to go in the January window, to replace him was near on impossible as it is so hard to attract players in that window unless you are throwing loads of money about and the right player is available, that player obviously wasn’t available but I’m pretty sure the most of the £3m will be spent in the summer bringing in players that Maloney wants and some from this squad will be looking for a new club.
Mike Berry
22-03-2022, 09:58 AM
I said the same last week. I think it's a byproduct of the social media world where there seems to be a desperate need to be proven correct, regardless of the consequences. Maloney of course is not the only target, individual players also suffer with Nisbet being an obvious recent example. It's a sad state of affairs.I agree. I think the advent of social media and the amount of time people spend on it has had a negative effect on how people relate to their clubs, as well as to managers and individual players. After each game, gripes about this player or that player, or a particular decision from a manager tend to fester on various platforms, including this one. I think that's what produced the chorus of boos when Wright and Scott came on together as subs a few weeks ago. Social media is poisonous, because the views of a few can quickly spread and create an online mob. That's why I'm not on twitter or Facebook anymore.
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
Not so much as I use to, too much angst now a days, use to be fun.
22-03-2022, 10:12 AM
Aye the emperor’s new clothes are looking swell.I've kind of been where you are for a while now, balance sheets, slicker frequent marketing emails and just about everything else that isn't improving the first team on the pitch and the results is becoming irrelevant me. I understand all the parts these play in a business.
Yes, I've bought just about everything the club has promoted, or not in the case of HSL in the past, but as the years go by the other stuff and the perennial, just out of reach next season and transitional seasons become the norm rather than the exception.
I accept that all the other stuff should, and may magically one day, actually see the visions quoted delivered but recent experience (perhaps the last regime aside) tends to suggest that when the vision or something like it isn't reached, another "clear out" comes along and the inevitable transitionary season is upon us again.
Think it probably comes with decades of being a Hibby.
22-03-2022, 10:20 AM
What mess are we in?
This is the best time ever to be a Hibs fan - regular trips to Hampden, 3rd place in the league, beating Hearts, big crowds, players like Boyle and Porteous.
People need to take off the rose tinted glasses - Hibs have rarely been better than they are now - the old days were mostly rubbish!
Get real - it's Hibs - not Barcelona.
Speaking for yourself here yeah?!
It's been crap.
Like, really, really crap, watching us this season.
Most weeks have felt like a chore going along to ER and it's been totally flat when there.
I'd say this has been one of our worst seasons since we were relegated and I've certainly seen far better teams in the 80s, 90s, and 2000s than I've watched this year.
Why do you think the atmosphere is so flat at ER? We don't go there deliberately to sit bored or moan. It's what we see on the park that affects the mood in the stadium.
Maybe things will improve when we are injury-free if it ever happens!
I don't think it will though. I just don't think Maloney has got it. I don't boo or give any kind of abuse at all. I simply post my thoughts about it on here.
22-03-2022, 10:26 AM
So…there aren’t actually screens at the stadium and we’re all seeing things?
22-03-2022, 10:27 AM
I doubt that's the case at all, we all want the club to be successful.
I don't think Maloney is the right man for the job. That doesn't mean in the slightest that I don't want Hibs to win games. That's just mental chat that you're throwing out there.
Why can't you guys simply accept that people see things differently? It's not about right or wrong.
Some of you think we should persist with Maloney in the hope he gets things right. Others think it will never happen.
Where's the angst? What's the issue with that? Why's it a problem for some of you?
22-03-2022, 10:29 AM
Hearts recently lost to Dundee and St Johnstone. We cannot forget that.
Our injury list is as bad as I can remember, suspensions do not help.
They're still skooshing it to 3rd place though.
22-03-2022, 10:31 AM
I've kind of been where you are for a while now, balance sheets, slicker frequent marketing emails and just about everything else that isn't improving the first team on the pitch and the results is becoming irrelevant me. I understand all the parts these play in a business.
Yes, I've bought just about everything the club has promoted, or not in the case of HSL in the past, but as the years go by the other stuff and the perennial, just out of reach next season and transitional seasons become the norm rather than the exception.
I accept that all the other stuff should, and may magically one day, actually see the visions quoted delivered but recent experience (perhaps the last regime aside) tends to suggest that when the vision or something like it isn't reached, another "clear out" comes along and the inevitable transitionary season is upon us again.
Think it probably comes with decades of being a Hibby.
The difference between now and other “transitional” periods is that this is a true transition.
2 years of covid from which we’ve only just emerged.
New CEO after probably the best one we’ve had in my lifetime was never going to be an easy follow on for Kensell.
Manager change, whether you agree with it or not it irrelevant as it has now happened.
Clear and obvious change in transfer policy in January.
That is real transition from top to bottom.
22-03-2022, 10:32 AM
They are, but they aren’t unbeatable. They’ve caught the right wind this season and done well but they’re almost fortunate that every other team is taking points off everyone else.
22-03-2022, 10:33 AM
I doubt that's the case at all, we all want the club to be successful.
I don't think Maloney is the right man for the job. That doesn't mean in the slightest that I don't want Hibs to win games. That's just mental chat that you're throwing out there.
Why can't you guys simply accept that people see things differently? It's not about right or wrong.
Some of you think we should persist with Maloney in the hope he gets things right. Others think it will never happen.
Where's the angst? What's the issue with that? Why's it a problem for some of you?
Because it’s very extreme to suggest someone 3 months in to a job should be sacked.
22-03-2022, 10:36 AM
Think you've misunderstood that particular fairytale.
22-03-2022, 10:44 AM
The difference between now and other “transitional” periods is that this is a true transition.
2 years of covid from which we’ve only just emerged.
New CEO after probably the best one we’ve had in my lifetime was never going to be an easy follow on for Kensell.
Manager change, whether you agree with it or not it irrelevant as it has now happened.
Clear and obvious change in transfer policy in January.
That is real transition from top to bottom.You wont get any arguments from me on your well made points, we are where we are now though, hoping this transition is better than the last one.
22-03-2022, 10:46 AM
And Cathro had 10 or 11 players injured every week?
Also Chuck in a defender being suspended almost perpetually this season.
22-03-2022, 11:00 AM
To reuse an argument from last season it’s cos everyone else is so bad, can’t string results together and have went many games without scoring.
It's very obvious that the Jack Ross fan club and cheerleaders are the ones wanting Maloney gone, the greetin over an ex manager is pathetic.
Inconsequential
22-03-2022, 11:13 AM
Because it’s very extreme to suggest someone 3 months in to a job should be sacked. Franck Sauzee was sacked after 69 days. It can happen. I personally want Maloney to be a success but at this moment it looks doubtful.
Scotty Leither
22-03-2022, 11:14 AM
So…there aren’t actually screens at the stadium and we’re all seeing things?
The screens are great.
The comms are better.
I was at hospitality at the Saint Coloma game, the scran was good and my pint of cider was ice cold.
The windae dressing is different class. The team are murder polis.
22-03-2022, 11:24 AM
It's very obvious that the Jack Ross fan club and cheerleaders are the ones wanting Maloney gone, the greetin over an ex manager is pathetic.
I'll be honest- I've never been aware of much actual fury re Jack Ross being sacked and he was certainly never a manager who was in any way loved by the support. Probably respected by most, but this "Jack Ross lovers" stuff is really immature and tiresome, as well as untrue.
Conversely it's probably the one's who wanting Ross sacked most who are making most of the excuses for Maloney ..... the one's who were claiming it was like "night and day" after his first 2 games.
I'm on the fence, but to say there is some kind of agenda based on loyalty to Ross is laughable.
Hibs have generally been absolutely horrible under Maloney, and there are a number of reasons for that- some (many in fact) outwith is control. He should get more time and support but the OP is probably right- if we lose these next 3 games, particularly the big one, there will be backlash that he'll do well to recover from, as unfair as it'll probably be.
22-03-2022, 11:24 AM
It’s tedious. The arguments on here last year where folk wanted Ross out and stats were being spun all over the place have been kept and stored up so some can say told you so. Others won’t back down and admit they were maybe a bit hasty.
Everything is so polarised with no one willing to accept they might have been wrong or even acknowledge a good point someone else makes.
Just support the team rather than petty point scoring.
22-03-2022, 11:28 AM
Where's the greeting?
All you're doing is trying to stir crap between posters on here. Some might say it's pathetic.
22-03-2022, 11:29 AM
Where's the greeting?
All you're doing is trying to stir crap between posters on here. Some might say it's pathetic.
Comes back to the point about how polarised the debate was/is - as you say using words and dramatic phrases only make it worse.
22-03-2022, 11:33 AM
I was certainly no Jack Ross cheerleader. Always felt he’d get sacked eventually, while we were getting results he’d be tolerated, but when we went on a bad run he had too much baggage to survive that. Probably would have given him the January window as I thought on balance he had earned that chance, but I wasn’t bothered when he did get the bullet.
Maloney seemed to me a Stubbs/Mowbray type appointment so was happy enough to see how it went. However I certainly wasn’t expecting us to get worse under him, but the football is in the main eye bleeding stuff. At the AGM he acknowledged himself it wasn’t good enough , both in terms of entertainment and lack of a threat in the final third, yet he persists with the same players and tactics (whatever they actually are) pretty much every game. Yes he’s having to deal with ridiculous number of players out injured, but I still feel we should be better than what we are producing. And as I’ve said before the fact he watches games and thinks Josh Campbell and Drey Wright are worthy of starting every game is a big concern.
I’m not saying sack him, we’ve invested heavily in him and his back room team, but I’ve seen little to suggest he is the answer.
Logie Green
22-03-2022, 11:40 AM
Boyle wanted to go, simple as that, Maloney tried to persuade him to stay hence the wee dig at Ross for touting Boyle move, yeah Hibs could have said no but you can leave in the summer but his head would not have been in the right place and he wouldn’t have performed the way he did, and let’s not forget that Boyle only had one offer it’s not as if there were a load of clubs chasing him for his signature, so he made the decision and forced the move to go in the January window, to replace him was near on impossible as it is so hard to attract players in that window unless you are throwing loads of money about and the right player is available, that player obviously wasn’t available but I’m pretty sure the most of the £3m will be spent in the summer bringing in players that Maloney wants and some from this squad will be looking for a new club.
I’d be amazed if we spend anything like £3M in the summer.
Most of it will probably be needed to shore up the greatly reduced revenue from the lower number of season ticket holders we’ll have next season.
Paulie Walnuts
22-03-2022, 11:44 AM
I'm on the fence, but to say there is some kind of agenda based on loyalty to Ross is laughable.
‘I don’t think I will be able to support the new man whoever that may be because he’s not going to be Jack Ross’ was a post from one of Maloneys most vocal critics on here after JR got sacked. It was even before Maloney was rumoured.
They’ve since went on to announce Maloney should be sacked if we got beat by Arbroath. Why? because Jack Ross got sacked and wasn’t given time.
They said the same again before the Ross County game.
They’re now saying the exact same before the upcoming Hearts fixtures.
They’ve also suggested he should be binned if we don’t get top 6. That’s despite the fact that Jack Ross didn’t get us top 6 in his first season and left us in the bottom 6.
A different poster has been all over this thread posting similar about how Maloney must be held to the same standards as Jack Ross who wasn’t given time etc.
We’ve seen others say they’re struggling to be happy with anything at Hibs just now because of the way Jack Ross was ‘treated’
For some, and it is a small minority I would add, there most definitely is an agenda based on Jack Ross loyalty. The decisions around Maloney must be made with the ‘treatment’ of Jack Ross at the forefront of the decision making according to them.
I wasn't fussed if Ross stayed or went, I was bored with his football, Maloney hasn't been given a proper chance, football not much better but have a majority of Ross's squad which were pants and a huge injury list, need to give him after the summer before we can judge.
22-03-2022, 11:48 AM
Mind boggles to think how long Alex Miller would have lasted had Hibs.net been around back then :greengrin
Pity:greengrin
Even Ned and The Tornadoes would have got it tight on here.
:singing:One Shaun Maloney !!
22-03-2022, 11:55 AM
I still think he needs to be given time. We have had horrendous luck with injuries to key players and our main striker going through a drought.We also lost our main threat in Boyler. I was expecting a better brand of football and more pressing from the team. I am not sure he knows his best side yet but some players need to put a bit more effort into game. We are still in a position to achieve 4th place and potentially 2 games away from group stage football in Europe.
22-03-2022, 11:57 AM
I wasn’t bothered by Ross going and was ok with Maloney getting the job when it came out he was the favourite. I have found myself getting frustrated with the style of football Maloney has had us playing and the results haven’t really improved. Of course there are injuries (we did have the January window to try and rectify some areas and we seem to have failed) but we are on a similar run now to the one that cost JR his job.
Been a really bad league season although we are still in with a shout of a European place. Things need to improve quickly if we are to get something out of it.
22-03-2022, 11:59 AM
I've read you write the same rubbish before. It's quite clear that many who didn't want JR sacked also don't want SM sacked. The reason being that we can't sack managers whenever things go pear-shaped. Going by the poll below, only 10% were JR 'fans' but want SM sacked.
Managerial Merry-go-round (hibs.net) (https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?356299-Managerial-Merry-go-round&highlight=)
I didn't want JR sacked, but he had to go as he'd stirred up a loud minority/majority (depending on your view) of our fans.
22-03-2022, 12:00 PM
Because of the overall circumstances he finds himself in and having to work with I think Maloney deserves time, I thought Ross did a good job but I doubt he was going to push us on any further, and for whatever reason he didnt seem to have the ability or right players to turn round that horrendous run.
Paulie Walnuts
22-03-2022, 12:16 PM
I've read you write the same rubbish before. It's quite clear that many who didn't want JR sacked also don't want SM sacked. The reason being that we can't sack managers whenever things go pear-shaped. Going by the poll below, only 10% were JR 'fans' but want SM sacked.
Managerial Merry-go-round (hibs.net) (https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?356299-Managerial-Merry-go-round&highlight=)
I didn't want JR sacked, but he had to go as he'd stirred up a loud minority/majority (depending on your view) of our fans.
That poll was about 7 weeks after his first game. We’d won 3, drawn 2, lost 3. One of the defeats was at Parkhead. Mental.
22-03-2022, 12:48 PM
Every time I log on and see the title of this thread I cringe.
It's just not what someone with the best interests of the club would create.
Why not "2 games away from the Scottish Cup"?
22-03-2022, 12:56 PM
James O’Briens phrase of choice here is “it’s easier to sell tickets for the ghost train than the speak your weight machine”, which I think is quite appropriate here.
22-03-2022, 01:01 PM
Well said.
May21/05/216
22-03-2022, 01:09 PM
Why not "2 games away from the Scottish Cup"?Because it doesn't fit withe certain wallopers
22-03-2022, 01:12 PM
I’d be amazed if we spend anything like £3M in the summer.
Most of it will probably be needed to shore up the greatly reduced revenue from the lower number of season ticket holders we’ll have next season.
We might win the Scottish Cup and get 4th - who knows - that would maintain season ticket numbers, as would good signings. Maloney has already hinted he’s not happy with the squad he inherited but he’s rightly not doing a ‘Butcher’ and slaughtering them - can see a large number leaving in summer, possibly some on that current injury list too.
22-03-2022, 01:29 PM
If I ever have another house party, you will be invited. I like being with people who talk and make sense.:thumbsup:
22-03-2022, 01:29 PM
Yup, he'll lose a fair bit of the support if these derbies turn out how we're all dreading, club aren't just going to sit by when STs don't sell ad intended
Exactly. ST sales and attendances will determine SMs future, not a few folk own here who think he deserves more time or others who think he should be gone. Opinions are just that. What's certain is ST numbers will not be higher after a horrible campaign and pretty dire football (notwithstanding the reasons). If they collapse, the Board / Owner will have a decision to make.
22-03-2022, 01:41 PM
Exactly. ST sales and attendances will determine SMs future, not a few folk own here who think he deserves more time or others who think he should be gone. Opinions are just that. What's certain is ST numbers will not be higher after a horrible campaign and pretty dire football (notwithstanding the reasons). If they collapse, the Board / Owner will have a decision to make.
And then what happens ?
Has the owner not already made a decision with Jack Ross ?
If a new guy came in the Summer. Does he get till January?
Where does this end ?
Unless we get relegated under Shaun,he is going nowhere.
Shaun is here for a while, imo.
Paulie Walnuts
22-03-2022, 01:48 PM
And then what happens ?
Has the owner not already made a decision with Jack Ross ?
If a new guy came in the Summer. Does he get till January?
Where does this end ?
Unless we get relegated under Shaun,he is going nowhere.
Shaun is here for a while, imo.
I honestly think some folk will never be happy unless Jack Ross gets reappointed. They’d get all excited if Maloney got sacked, convince themselves that JR is the only capable candidate and when he doesn’t get appointed the next man will be written off as a cone boy or one of the equally tragic comments that were aimed Maloneys way within weeks of his appointment.
22-03-2022, 02:21 PM
I honestly think some folk will never be happy unless Jack Ross gets reappointed.
You honestly think if Maloney wins the next 10 games anyone will be complaining?
Paulie Walnuts
22-03-2022, 02:25 PM
You honestly think if Maloney wins the next 10 games anyone will be complaining?
I don’t think we’ll win the next 10 games so it doesn’t change what I’ve said in the slightest.
However, even if we did, I fully expect we’d have people telling us we only won because the other team had 10 men, because the other team had injuries, the other team are crap etc. We had it the other week there.
People were declaring they wouldn’t be able to support our new manager before they even knew who it was going to be, the only thing they knew was it wasn’t going to be Jack Ross. That was enough to mean the new man wasn’t going to get support from some.
You’d be forgiven for thinking we’d just sacked Klopp the way people go in about Ross, not a manager who left us bottom half and on a horrendous run of form getting worse by the week.
Weir07
22-03-2022, 02:31 PM
Don't know whe're all this Jack Ross stuff comes from in reference to Maloney, I think it was too soon to sack him but the performance in the latter stages of three cup competitions last season, the generally uninspiring football and the bad run this year meant I don't think there were too many tears shed amongst our support when he went. However, if you sack someone make sure you replace with better, we haven't. My only hope is that Maloney gets binned at the end of the season, to give him another transfer window would be a disaster in my opinion.
22-03-2022, 02:35 PM
I don’t think we’ll win the next 10 games so it doesn’t change what I’ve said in the slightest.
However, even if we did, I fully expect we’d have people telling us we only won because the other team had 10 men, because the other team had injuries, the other team are crap etc. We had it the other week there.
People were declaring they wouldn’t be able to support our new manager before they even knew who it was going to be, the only thing they knew was it wasn’t going to be Jack Ross. That was enough to mean the new man wasn’t going to get support from some.
You’d be forgiven for thinking we’d just sacked Klopp the way people go in about Ross, not a manager who left us bottom half and on a horrendous run of form getting worse by the week.
You're ,probably deliberately, way overstating how much people liked JR. A lot of people, myself included, simply think he was sacked too early and should have been given more time. You don't think the same and that's absolutely fine.
I've never once read a post on here from anyone saying they wouldn't support the new manager (no matter who they were) as it wasn't Jack Ross. That's just ridiculous and I refuse to believe it ever happened but happy to be proved wrong.
Comparing him to Klopp and Liverpool is just sensationalist nonsense and doesn't have any substance in reality.
22-03-2022, 02:35 PM
You’d be forgiven for thinking we’d just sacked Klopp the way people go in about Ross
This made up narrative of yours is bordering on ridiculous now.
Paulie Walnuts
22-03-2022, 02:45 PM
You're ,probably deliberately, way overstating how much people liked JR. A lot of people, myself included, simply think he was sacked too early and should have been given more time. You don't think the same and that's absolutely fine.
I've never once read a post on here from anyone saying they wouldn't support the new manager (no matter who they were) as it wasn't Jack Ross.
Comparing him to Klopp and Liverpool however is just sensationalist nonsense and doesn't have any substance in reality.
And not all posters are being utterly ridiculous when it comes to Maloney. Some though are suggesting Maloney should be sacked because Jack Ross got sacked and didn’t get time despite having god knows how many disasters and getting longer than the average manager gets.
You might well not have read it but someone did declare they wouldn’t support the new manager because he wasn’t Jack Ross. If peoples post history went back further than 20 pages then I could happily go hunt it out but they don’t. They’ve followed through on that declaration and then some, even saying they wanted Maloney sacked about 6 weeks into the job having lost 3 games out of 8 with one of them being at Parkhead :faf:
Someone referenced Jack Ross’ sacking when discussing season ticket renewals and suggested they wouldn’t renew because of the shameful treatment of him :faf:
Let’s not kid ourselves on here. There’s a few posters on here who are clinging into this Jack Ross thing as if he was the best manager football has ever seen. In reality he took us to 7th place in an average at best first season, 3rd place in a good season and then got sacked in 7th place during a poor season.
It’s time to move on from him and stop demanding Maloney is sacked because Jack Ross was.
22-03-2022, 03:30 PM
And not all posters are being utterly ridiculous when it comes to Maloney. Some though are suggesting Maloney should be sacked because Jack Ross got sacked and didn’t get time despite having god knows how many disasters and getting longer than the average manager gets.
You might well not have read it but someone did declare they wouldn’t support the new manager because he wasn’t Jack Ross. If peoples post history went back further than 20 pages then I could happily go hunt it out but they don’t. They’ve followed through on that declaration and then some, even saying they wanted Maloney sacked about 6 weeks into the job having lost 3 games out of 8 with one of them being at Parkhead :faf:
Someone referenced Jack Ross’ sacking when discussing season ticket renewals and suggested they wouldn’t renew because of the shameful treatment of him :faf:
Let’s not kid ourselves on here. There’s a few posters on here who are clinging into this Jack Ross thing as if he was the best manager football has ever seen. In reality he took us to 7th place in an average at best first season, 3rd place in a good season and then got sacked in 7th place during a poor season.
It’s time to move on from him and stop demanding Maloney is sacked because Jack Ross was.
You seem to be banging on about Jack Ross more than any of these other posters you claim are in love with him. And yet you are saying people should move on from it, somewhat ironic.
22-03-2022, 03:37 PM
I've never once read a post on here from anyone saying they wouldn't support the new manager (no matter who they were) as it wasn't Jack Ross. That's just ridiculous and I refuse to believe it ever happened but happy to be proved wrong.
Comparing him to Klopp and Liverpool is just sensationalist nonsense and doesn't have any substance in reality.
You’re spot on. I think some people are just at the wind-up with the constant Ross references. Ramping up the ridiculous nature of their statements with almost every post.
I felt Ross had run his course and genuinely believed that change would see improvement. It ‘s not happened.
The club has looked shambolic these past few months and Maloney has been utterly gash. There’s no denying it. Yes, injuries have been ridiculously high, but I’m not convinced that the return of most of them will see any change in fortunes.
22-03-2022, 03:37 PM
You seem to be banging on about Jack Ross more than any of these other posters you claim are in love with him. And yet you are saying people should move on from it, somewhat ironic.
22-03-2022, 03:40 PM
You’re spot on. I think some people are just at the wind-up with the constant Ross references. Ramping up the ridiculous nature of their statements with almost every post.
I felt Ross had run his course and genuinely believed that change would see improvement. It ‘s not happened.
The club has looked shambolic these past few months and Maloney has been utterly gash. There’s no denying it. Yes, injuries have been ridiculously high, but I’m not convinced that the return of most of them will see any change in fortunes.
There’s no question that the mood on this thread would be very different if we hadn’t had a very good start to the season and both Dundee and St Johnstone we’re not a long way behind the pack.
Paulie Walnuts
22-03-2022, 04:03 PM
That’s fair :aok:
22-03-2022, 04:12 PM
There’s no question that the mood on this thread would be very different if we hadn’t had a very good start to the season and both Dundee and St Johnstone we’re not a long way behind the pack.
Extrapolate the form over a season and it’s a deep **** situation, no doubt about it. A cup final, a minimum of another semi final and still in the hunt for 4th place. On paper, it sounds ok, but, the past few months have been reminiscent of the worst of the past 15 years.
HibeeHibernian4
22-03-2022, 06:15 PM
Thing is, it’s not the same fans.
People are wanting Maloney sacked simply because he wasn’t Jack Ross. Some of the people wanting him sacked have called for it to happen 2 or 3 times now and he’s only been in post 3 months.
They were even slaughtering his appointment before he came in and telling us they wouldn’t be able to support him before even knowing who was getting the job :faf:
Lots of them wanted and now want both sacked because there are a lot of impulsive Hibs fans with a trigger finger with getting rid of managers. Can't put it down to people being pro Ross or pro Maloney.
22-03-2022, 06:43 PM
I honestly think some folk will never be happy unless Jack Ross gets reappointed. They’d get all excited if Maloney got sacked, convince themselves that JR is the only capable candidate and when he doesn’t get appointed the next man will be written off as a cone boy or one of the equally tragic comments that were aimed Maloneys way within weeks of his appointment.
Obviously the answer is for Shaun to get all his players in first, then get sacked, Jack gets reappointed and three windows to sign the entire St Mirren first team, then sacked again, and then we appoint a new manager who also can’t be judged until he’s got all his players in.
22-03-2022, 06:46 PM
Obviously the answer is for Shaun to get all his players in first, then get sacked, Jack gets reappointed and three windows to sign the entire St Mirren first team, then sacked again, and then we appoint a new manager who also can’t be judged until he’s got all his players in.So you're in favour of this transition thing then?[emoji6]
22-03-2022, 07:10 PM
So you're in favour of this transition thing then?[emoji6]
It’s the transitions between the transitions that upset me. Although it’s probably not fair to judge a transition until it’s had the opportunity to get its own transition in.
22-03-2022, 07:13 PM
Don't know whe're all this Jack Ross stuff comes from in reference to Maloney, I think it was too soon to sack him but the performance in the latter stages of three cup competitions last season, the generally uninspiring football and the bad run this year meant I don't think there were too many tears shed amongst our support when he went. However, if you sack someone make sure you replace with better, we haven't. My only hope is that Maloney gets binned at the end of the season, to give him another transfer window would be a disaster in my opinion.
Sounds like you’ve thought it thought - so what next?
Exactly how do you attract you talent when you’ve just binned one of the young prospects who has worked as high levels albeit in an assistant capacity AND who was only give a few days before the most notoriously difficult window to recruit in - as another one would be a disaster.
And if, as others may respond - “that’s not my problem to solve” - then why do folks see to fix one problem by binning someone yet not address the other created in the process?
You seem to be suggesting perpetuating a problem?
Binning someone at the end of the season when they cannot assess the inherited squad and then need to cobble together a squad (why not allow Maloney to address the fundamentals issues that he inherited from Ross - assuming that there were insufficient availability in January explaining why Maloney could not address?)
Mind-boggling this place at times.
22-03-2022, 07:48 PM
It's high time about 5 or 6 threads on here were condensed into a wholesale "I think Maloney is bad" one.
Mike Berry
22-03-2022, 08:10 PM
It's high time about 5 or 6 threads on here were condensed into a wholesale "I think Maloney is bad" one.This is a classic one, though.
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
22-03-2022, 08:50 PM
If I ever have another house party, you will be invited. I like being with people who talk and make sense.:thumbsup:
Anyone who starts a thread without a capital H in Hi shouldn't be allowed to start a thread 😁
GreenGray
22-03-2022, 09:31 PM
How can you honestly hope for a manager who’s been in the job about 3/4 months with more injuries than ever to get binned? We’re in a cup semi ffs. Managers take time to put their print on a time particularly if it’s a style of football the players aren’t used to.
SM has admitted himself its not been good enough and it must be improved.
majorhibs
22-03-2022, 09:37 PM
Quick skoosh cannae be bothered with the slavers, what our boss is trying, carry on see where it takes us with a different approach from last 20 years. Slavers & trolls that’s all you are, might pick up the odd fitba quote & spend rest of yer time here, but it doesnae need me to rate you, do you even rate yourself?
Greenio
23-03-2022, 05:36 AM
I'll be honest- I've never been aware of much actual fury re Jack Ross being sacked and he was certainly never a manager who was in any way loved by the support. Probably respected by most, but this "Jack Ross lovers" stuff is really immature and tiresome, as well as untrue.
Conversely it's probably the one's who wanting Ross sacked most who are making most of the excuses for Maloney ..... the one's who were claiming it was like "night and day" after his first 2 games.
Hibs have generally been absolutely horrible under Maloney, and there are a number of reasons for that- some (many in fact) outwith is control. He should get more time and support but the OP is probably right- if we lose these next 3 games, particularly the big one, there will be backlash that he'll do well to recover from, as unfair as it'll probably be.
Don't forget the folk that never wanted Ross sacked and think talk of punting SM is mental
Weir07
23-03-2022, 07:08 AM
How can you honestly hope for a manager who’s been in the job about 3/4 months with more injuries than ever to get binned? We’re in a cup semi ffs. Managers take time to put their print on a time particularly if it’s a style of football the players aren’t used to.
SM has admitted himself its not been good enough and it must be improved.
I honestly don't get this notion that he needs time to impliment his style of football. I think he's done that already and it's dreadful, both in terms of an exciting watch and results. He's no track record anywhere else so we can only judge him on what he's done at Hibs.
But I'm a fair man and don't profess to know everything about football, so if someone wants to tell me what Maloney is trying to do over and above what we've seen so far and how time and another transfer window is going to achieve that, then I'm all ears.
23-03-2022, 07:43 AM
It's hard to judge Maloney right now with all these injuries. I was more frustrated with him earlier on as the football was absolutely dire. Shocking tactics and strange team selections. It had a Stephen Glass type failed experiment written all over it. It's still dire but anyone would struggle in the managers job at the moment.
23-03-2022, 08:56 AM
It’s the transitions between the transitions that upset me. Although it’s probably not fair to judge a transition until it’s had the opportunity to get its own transition in.
Sounds like you're transitioning yourself. Are you taking up competitive swimming too? :wink:
Henderson2Del
19-04-2022, 01:19 PM
For all the comments for being ridiculous, I wasn’t wrong.
The board had no choice but to act, sadly the manager was out of his depth and they couldn’t see him improving over the summer.
We move on, we are hibs