View Full Version : An early bath,again!?

20-03-2022, 08:04 AM
Reading since the rAngers game when Ryan got sent off that the hounds on Sportsound/Sportscene and Scottish written sports media have the knives out for Ryan.
Also some on social media/and here suggesting he is now a marked man and should head South.

Well i recall a player,name of Willie Johnston(rAngers) who after earning 5 red cards went off to West Brom Albion.
It didnae work !!
In 20 years of playing the game, Willie managed 20 red cards.
What a career !

https://www.wsc.co.uk/reviews/64-Players/3398-sent-off-at-gunpoint
A fine footballer,and a nice fella to meet !

Now
Since Morelos joined sevco,he has been red carded 7 times (4 seasons)
Many may argue it should have been more.
Ryan Jack has 5 reds to his name. 4 in his first season.

So accusations of Ryan being treated differently/hounded in the media, than say the two mentioned above,appear to stand.

20-03-2022, 08:49 AM
There would have been a lot of glee from Willie Miller and Richard Gordon no doubt on the Aberdeen fanzine yesterday, and the sending off further fuel for the disgraceful campaign to drive Porteous out of Scottish football. Playing for the wrong club, or rather a club with no media presence or representation to fight/promote our corner.

20-03-2022, 08:56 AM
Didn’t see Sportscene last night.

What were their “ experts “ opinions on the first penalty and the red card ?

20-03-2022, 08:56 AM
The only person who can change his ways is Ryan himself!
If he keeps on making ridiculous challenges like yesterday, he will keep on getting carded.
If an Aberdeen player had done the same thing in the game, we would have wanted a penalty and a red for him!
So what's the difference?

20-03-2022, 09:26 AM
If he keeps on making ridiculous challenges like yesterday, he will keep on getting carded.
If an Aberdeen player had done the same thing in the game, we would have wanted a penalty and a red for him!

Is it a penalty - of course, but as Ryan was attempting to (and did) play the ball then it's a yellow card. 2 horrendous decisions that cost us dearly but you turn on a player you should be supporting. Stop reading the Record for god's sake.

20-03-2022, 09:29 AM
Is it a penalty - of course, but as Ryan was attempting to (and did) play the ball then it's a yellow card. 2 horrendous decisions that cost us dearly but you turn on a player you should be supporting. Stop reading the Record for god's sake.

DENYING A GOAL OR AN OBVIOUS GOAL-SCORING OPPORTUNITY

Where a player denies the opposing team a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity by a handball offence the player is sent off wherever the offence occurs.

Where a player commits an offence against an opponent within their own penalty area which denies an opponent an obvious goal-scoring opportunity and the referee awards a penalty kick, the offending player is cautioned if the offence was an attempt to play the ball; in all other circumstances (e.g. holding, pulling, pushing, no possibility to play the ball etc.) the offending player must be sent off.

A player, sent-off player, substitute or substituted player who enters the field of play without the required referee's permission and interferes with play or an opponent and denies the opposing team a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity is guilty of a sending-off offence

The following must be considered:
distance between the offence and the goal
general direction of the play
likelihood of keeping or gaining control of the ball
location and number of defenders

20-03-2022, 09:40 AM

That’s just nonsense. He had to make that challenge and it was clearly an attempt to win the ball.

It was never a red card.

20-03-2022, 09:46 AM
That’s just nonsense. He had to make that challenge and it was clearly an attempt to win the ball.

It was never a red card.

You should probably familiarise yourself with the rules, which I handily posted ten minutes before you posted. The only nonsense is blinkered statements like your own.

He didn’t have to make the challenge and it definitely was a red card.

20-03-2022, 09:48 AM
There are already a couple threads about Ryan/his discipline/merits of red cards/rules and regs.
Being repeated here.

What i was really getting at. And just thinking aloud.
Do other players,and i cited two,with more red cards than Ryan,get the same "treatment" from the Scottish sports press/media/tv /radio? If so,why? Rhetorical question,i guess.

In future,i would like Shaun in his post match interviews,when warranted,to be a bit like Jim McLean,former Dundee Utd boss,in dealing with loaded/stupid questions about his players.
Take the flack,and possible future pressure,away from the player and make himself the topic of discussion.

20-03-2022, 09:59 AM
There are already a couple threads about Ryan/his discipline/merits of red cards/rules and regs.

I was really asking.
Do other players,and i cited two,with more red cards than Ryan,get the same "treatment" from the Scottish sports press/media/tv /radio? If so,why? Rhetorical question, i guess.

In future, i would like Shaun in his post match interviews, when warranted, to be a bit like Jim McLean,former Dundee Utd boss,in dealing with loaded/stupid questions about his players.

Maloney has said the two penalties the ref gave, first one not a pen the ref said if he made a mistake he apologised as he never seen the ball take the deflections before hitting Rocky's hand. A bit late to say sorry as ever for Scottish ref's eh! The second one maloney says, was a pen but Porto should not have been sent off as he went for the ball and got a touch on it, so Maloney reckons Hibs will appeal it. A. Muir is a well known Hibernian F.C. sympathiser when he referee our games, such as the one against falkirk when he allows the falkirk man to play rugby with the ball in the pen box.
Dont know what else Hibs can do and Porto will be away in the summer he is no going to stay to take the pooh thrown his way, and some of that also comes from so called Hibs supporter's.

20-03-2022, 10:12 AM
You should probably familiarise yourself with the rules, which I handily posted ten minutes before you posted. The only nonsense is blinkered statements like your own.

Is this not relevant from your quote?

Where a player commits an offence against an opponent within their own penalty area which denies an opponent an obvious goal-scoring opportunity and the referee awards a penalty kick, the offending player is cautioned if the offence was an attempt to play the ball.

Does that not back up claims for a penalty and a yellow?

20-03-2022, 10:12 AM
Maloney has said the two penalties the ref gave, first one not a pen the ref said if he made a mistake he apologised as he never seen the ball take the deflections before hitting Rocky's hand. A bit late to say sorry as ever for Scottish ref's eh! The second one maloney says, was a pen but Porto should not have been sent off as he went for the ball and got a touch on it, so Maloney reckons Hibs will appeal it. A. Muir is a well known Hibernian F.C. sympathiser when he referee our games, such as the one against falkirk when he allows the falkirk man to play rugby with the ball in the pen box.
Dont know what else Hibs can do and Porto will be away in the summer he is no going to stay to take the pooh thrown his way, and some of that also comes from so called Hibs supporter's.

Good reply
I know you were not referring to me with one comment.
I actually cringe at some posts that lambast Hibs players.
Well i hope Shuan keeps that up.
He has been here long enough now to know Ryan is a target for some pundits and, dare i say, officials.
Boyle, to possibly a lesser extent, got it tight,being called a habitual diver.
Mud sticks,sadly.

20-03-2022, 10:13 AM

‘Where a player commits an offence against an opponent within their own penalty area which denies an opponent an obvious goal-scoring opportunity and the referee awards a penalty kick, the offending player is cautioned if the offence was an attempt to play the ball’

I’m using what you posted!

He clearly attempted to play the ball.

20-03-2022, 10:20 AM
Good reply
I know you were not referring to me with one comment.
I actually cringe at some posts that lambast Hibs players.
Well i hope Shuan keeps that up.
He has been here long enough now to know Ryan is a target for some pundits and, dare i say, officials.
Boyle, to possibly a lesser extent, got it tight,being called a habitual diver.
Mud sticks,sadly.

Correct the general comment not directed at your good self, I used to drink a fair old bit wi your brother (he was serving us I should add) in the bad old A. Miller days when Jimmy just refused, along with a few of use to go to Easter Rd while mogadon was manager, anyway Mick I think you may be old enough to also remember the treatment that big bad John McNamee got in Scotland and you also mentioned two other players you could add, in our own wee Mickey Edwards to that as well, the agenda never goes away and with some players it only gets worse the young lad will be off in the summer and then perhaps some of the so-called Hibs supporters will be satisfied and can turn there piesch on someone else.

20-03-2022, 10:20 AM

It was never a red card.

Watch it again, he cleans the boy out. Absolute stick on red, wild lunge.

20-03-2022, 10:23 AM

How on earth did he not need to make the challenge? The boy was about to tap the ball in to the net. I can’t think of a scenario where a defender needs to make a challenge more than that. It’s his job to try and stop the opposition scoring, that’s all he did.

20-03-2022, 10:29 AM
Why are most of you just repeating what you stated on the Ryan Porteous thread ?
My OP was not really about yesterdays red or penalty rules :fuming:

My oh my,how some threads go on a tangent with posters shouting at each other !

Gies ma baw back, am away in fir ma dinner :greengrin

20-03-2022, 10:33 AM
Watch it again, he cleans the boy out. Absolute stick on red, wild lunge.

I think you need to watch again mate. He comes round the side of him to get the ball. It’s certainly not a wild lunge.

20-03-2022, 10:38 AM
I think you need to watch again mate. He comes round the side of him to get the ball. It’s certainly not a wild lunge.

The moment he went to ground he was screwed. Stupid tackle but its a tackle he shouldn't have had to make because the Aberdeen player should not have been given a free header in the first place.

20-03-2022, 10:42 AM
The moment he went to ground he was screwed. Stupid tackle but its a tackle he shouldn't have had to make because the Aberdeen player should not have been given a free header in the first place.

As ever a thread ends up wi the same auld washer wimen gossiping over the line in the back green ffs.
Back the player and our Manager.

20-03-2022, 10:46 AM
Back the player and our Manager.

While I’m not yet convinced that he should have been sent-off, I never get these comments as if hibs fans should somehow drop all objectivity when discussing football rules or incidents.

20-03-2022, 10:52 AM
While I’m not yet convinced that he should have been sent-off, I never get these comments as if hibs fans should somehow drop all objectivity when discussing football rules or incidents.

So dont be convinced then, I dont really get your point. The rules are there but interpretation always bent, so why continue to mention them as well.
It is almost like some on here say, always guilty before proven innocent. why no mention the whole comment rather than taking a small part of said comment?
Back the player and back the Manager.

20-03-2022, 11:01 AM
So dont be convinced then, I dont really get your point. The rules are there but interpretation always bent, so why continue to mention them as well.
It is almost like some on here say, always guilty before proven innocent. why no mention the whole comment rather than taking a small part of said comment?
Back the player and back the Manager.

Because the part of your post I was commenting on is this ridiculous notion that ‘back the player and manager’ somehow disregards everything someone has seen or believes to be correct, because it’s Hibs. I didn’t think I made it that difficult to understand.

I’m not convinced he should have been sent off. Others are - barking ‘back the player and manager’ over and over is hardly the best way of proving they’re wrong.

20-03-2022, 11:16 AM
Because the part of your post I was commenting on is this ridiculous notion that ‘back the player and manager’ somehow disregards everything someone has seen or believes to be correct, because it’s Hibs. I didn’t think I made it that difficult to understand.

I’m not convinced he should have been sent off. Others are - barking ‘back the player and manager’ over and over is hardly the best way of proving they’re wrong.

But is it really a case of being right or wrong, all completely out of our control so don't see how you can be right or wrong, same with any of our so called opinion's on this forum. Or are you desperate to be seen as being "right" when the outcome of this kangaroo court is heard against our player when he doffs his cap through in Glasgow whenever it is. Do you believe the referee was correct with both of his ridiculous decisions! do you believe that the little cheat wi the number 10 on his back should have stayed on the park after cheating so many times. (Right or wrong on a postcard please)

:rules:

20-03-2022, 11:32 AM
But is it really a case of being right or wrong, all completely out of our control so don't see how you can be right or wrong, same with any of our so called opinion's on this forum. Or are you desperate to be seen as being "right" when the outcome of this kangaroo court is heard against our player when he doffs his cap through in Glasgow whenever it is. Do you believe the referee was correct with both of his ridiculous decisions! do you believe that the little cheat wi the number 10 on his back should have stayed on the park after cheating so many times. (Right or wrong on a postcard please)

:rules:

Dear lord.

I have NOT ONCE disagreed with your assessment (or the manager’s) that it wasn’t a red card. My single and ONLY point to you was that ‘back the player and manager’ is meaningless (and daft) to those who have a different opinion.

In fact, forget it, I give up.

Back the player and manager.

Paulie Walnuts
20-03-2022, 11:38 AM

He comes round the side of the player that the ball isn’t even on. The ball is on the left hand side of the attacker. Ryan is directly behind him and wipes the guy out with his right leg.

He isn’t going for the ball. He’s wiping the guy out so he doesn’t get a tap in.

20-03-2022, 12:30 PM
Dear lord.

I have NOT ONCE disagreed with your assessment (or the manager’s) that it wasn’t a red card. My single and ONLY point to you was that ‘back the player and manager’ is meaningless (and daft) to those who have a different opinion.

In fact, forget it, I give up.

Back the player and manager.

Guid man you know it makes sense!

20-03-2022, 04:00 PM
He comes round the side of the player that the ball isn’t even on. The ball is on the left hand side of the attacker. Ryan is directly behind him and wipes the guy out with his right leg.

He isn’t going for the ball. He’s wiping the guy out so he doesn’t get a tap in. if that was the case he could have slyly clipped his heels. He's clearly trying to get around the player.

Mrimbetween
20-03-2022, 08:09 PM
First pen was a joke

Second deffo but harsh red

20-03-2022, 08:16 PM
First pen was a joke

Second deffo but harsh red

Its a pen, hits his hand which is in an unnatural position, VAR gives those all day long as well. As harsh as it is that was the right call. It was a shocking clearance in the first place that led to the shot on goal.

20-03-2022, 08:21 PM
Its a pen, hits his hand which is in an unnatural position, VAR gives those all day long as well. As harsh as it is that was the right call. It was a shocking clearance in the first place that led to the shot on goal.

VAR would have overturned it because it flicked off his leg on to his hand.

Happened so quick that I don’t think we can blame the ref for not spotting it, even if that’s no help to us.

Paulie Walnuts
20-03-2022, 08:29 PM
if that was the case he could have slyly clipped his heels. He's clearly trying to get around the player.

He could have.

He was never getting anywhere near the ball with the tackle he put in though without wiping out the man. He was on the complete wrong side of the man in terms of being behind him and he then went with the complete wrong leg to even get close to the ball. It was by all possible measures a tackle in which he was never going to win the ball cleanly.

There’s not a hope in hell an appeal will see that overturned imo.

20-03-2022, 08:58 PM
Is it just me that thinks Ramirez was offside interfering with play before Porto makes the tackle? Sure it’s him when it comes off the bar he’s in front of the goal to the left hand side looked miles off

20-03-2022, 11:42 PM

The referee has apologised for the call, so even he disagrees with you.

20-03-2022, 11:48 PM

No it wasn’t the right call if it comes of another part of his body and hits his hand it’s not a penalty, look at the rules.

21-03-2022, 06:32 AM
Is it just me that thinks Ramirez was offside interfering with play before Porto makes the tackle? Sure it’s him when it comes off the bar he’s in front of the goal to the left hand side looked miles off

Ramirez was offside but didn't hit the ball and don't think he was interfering as ball fell into the middle of the goal. Biggest issue was Rocky not challenging Bates at the header.

21-03-2022, 06:35 AM
No it wasn’t the right call if it comes of another part of his body and hits his hand it’s not a penalty, look at the rules.

Muir either didn't see that or chose not to see it. Actually think it was a very harsh call without hitting Rockys thigh given the initial deflection.

Paulie Walnuts
21-03-2022, 07:07 AM
Muir either didn't see that or chose not to see it. Actually think it was a very harsh call without hitting Rockys thigh given the initial deflection.

If it hadn’t hit his thigh it would have been the right call. The rule might be harsh but it wouldn’t have been a harsh decision.

I never seen it hit his thigh at the time or in the replays until it was pointed out. Even now I feel like I’ve just convinced myself I can see it because everybody else seems to be able to :greengrin

21-03-2022, 09:06 AM

I'll need to watch it again.

21-03-2022, 10:36 AM
The referee has apologised for the call, so even he disagrees with you.

21-03-2022, 02:33 PM
https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish-fa/football-governance/disciplinary/player-suspensions/

When are SFA going to update the suspension lists. They are supposed to be updated weekly, but the latest update is to 1st March.

21-03-2022, 02:37 PM
https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1505887373166616578

21-03-2022, 02:46 PM
Dermot Gallacher is a huge cock!! If the hun decision is a penalty then we would be as well just making any contact in the box a penalty. I also think back to his ludicrous explanation as to why Harry Kane should t have been sent off for a leg breaking tackle v Liverpool for seeing how **** his decisions are

21-03-2022, 03:00 PM
Dermot Gallacher is a huge cock!! If the hun decision is a penalty then we would be as well just making any contact in the box a penalty. I also think back to his ludicrous explanation as to why Harry Kane should t have been sent off for a leg breaking tackle v Liverpool for seeing how **** his decisions are

I think he just says everything ok for Rangers decisions so he doesn't have to get any abuse. Interesting they didn't ask the other guests their opinion. The presenter guy about Rocky saying it would have been different if it hit another part of his body before his hand which is exactly what happened, bizarre.

22-03-2022, 05:42 AM

Christ sake. He said the Morelos challenge was a pen😂

22-03-2022, 08:09 AM

Yep a good spot apparently 😄

Paulie Walnuts
22-03-2022, 08:12 AM

I still can’t even see what the foul is..

22-03-2022, 08:24 AM

Mad. Pointless section on SSN - he just agrees with the ref 99/100.