View Full Version : Happy St Patrick's Day !!

17-03-2022, 08:21 AM
:singing::singing:For today is March seventeen
Its the day for the Wearing O' the Green !:partyhibb:partyhibb

17-03-2022, 08:43 AM
https://youtu.be/7by4HbKrETg

JXM73
17-03-2022, 09:36 AM
Load o pish

17-03-2022, 09:52 AM
Partial to a Guinness so there is today's excuse!

Blurhibee
17-03-2022, 09:57 AM
https://youtu.be/7by4HbKrETg

🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬👍👍👍🤣

17-03-2022, 10:24 AM
With all that's going on right now, a wee distraction is welcome.
Hope you have the kind of St Patrick's Day you would want.

17-03-2022, 10:33 AM
Happy St Patrick's Day to all. A few quid from Irish winners at Cheltenham would be very nice :greengrin:flag:

17-03-2022, 10:40 AM
With all that's going on right now, a wee distraction is welcome.
Hope you have the kind of St Patrick's Day you would want.

Unfortunately mine has already been ruined by all the Celtic fans on my twitter feed

Newry Hibs
17-03-2022, 11:19 AM
Load o pish

Gets me a bank holiday off work though 🍻

17-03-2022, 11:26 AM
Gets me a bank holiday off work though 🍻

So does 12th July :hilarious

17-03-2022, 11:55 AM
14 years to the day i stopped my 30 fags a day habit:cb

twas a monday, go me :)

17-03-2022, 11:57 AM
Sitting in my office wearing a Hibs top :greengrin

17-03-2022, 12:12 PM

Good on ye
A memory of St Patrick's day for me.
I was around 16yrs of age .Late sixties.
For some reason i missed Hibs game
Think it was away to Aberdeen and bus left early morning and i missed it.
Anyway i went to Brockville with Celtic pals from the Canongate.

Fine rendition of Hail Glorious St Patrick in the ground that afternoon.

One song i recall in the Cave around the same time when Pc Plod did a snatch squad attempt at removing tricolours/banners on poles.
It went...
"St Patricks Day no more we'll keep
His colours cant be seen
They're hanging men and women for the wearin o the green"

Jeez.did the Edinburgh polis no hate us Hi Bees back then.

Oh Happy Days , fighting the polis in the Cave !!:greengrin

:hibees

Newry Hibs
17-03-2022, 12:12 PM
So does 12th July :hilarious

Yes. But you have to wear a bowler hat.

17-03-2022, 12:17 PM
Sitting in my office wearing a Hibs top :greengrin

Superb

17-03-2022, 12:22 PM
Yes. But you have to wear a bowler hat.

And a brolly, I might rain in July

Or maybe for hitting anyone who breaks the ranks.

Like an uncle of my dad who broke the ranks at a walk in Carluke or Motherwell many moons ago and was rewarded with some broken bones.
True !

17-03-2022, 12:54 PM
And a brolly, I might rain in July

Or maybe for hitting anyone who breaks the ranks.

Like an uncle of my dad who broke the ranks at a walk in Carluke or Motherwell many moons ago and was rewarded with some broken bones.
True !

Lanarkshire life! A pal of mine from Wishaw has a great story from childhood of his dad fighting in the street with an Orangeman as the walk passed their house :greengrin

17-03-2022, 01:11 PM
Lanarkshire life! A pal of mine from Wishaw has a great story from childhood of his dad fighting in the street with an Orangeman as the walk passed their house :greengrin

My old man was from Lanark, all Celtic in his family (Its our Mothers side that is all Hibs from the Cowgate/Market)
Anyway being brought up in Lanark was a challenge for them in a minority.
My dad and his brothers became accomplished amateur boxers to fend the hordes off.
One of his brothers went on to win golden gloves London ABA.
Not many would give the older O'Rourke's a square go once they learnt to box.
Not surprised he moved to Edinburgh with all that bigot nonsense there.
Although he moved to the West Port.:greengrin
Back then,late 1940s,likely more dangerous than Lanark !!

17-03-2022, 01:16 PM

I've never even tried a cigarette in my life. The only time I came close was when a neighbour offered my 3 pals a shot at at it which they did and all coughed their guts up. Time it came to my turn I was errrrr naw.....😁

17-03-2022, 01:30 PM

My granny used to love to recall her own granny filling the big front pocket of her apron with horse **** during the marching season. She then positioned herself at her kitchen window, overlooking Leith Walk, and liberally showered the Orangemen below with the contents as they marched past.

Obviously I never knew the woman but I'm pretty sure I would have liked her:greengrin

17-03-2022, 01:35 PM
Up the Irish!

Down with the Scottich!!

17-03-2022, 04:10 PM
Good on ye
A memory of St Patrick's day for me.
I was around 16yrs of age .Late sixties.
For some reason i missed Hibs game
Think it was away to Aberdeen and bus left early morning and i missed it.
Anyway i went to Brockville with Celtic pals from the Canongate.

Fine rendition of Hail Glorious St Patrick in the ground that afternoon.

One song i recall in the Cave around the same time when Pc Plod did a snatch squad attempt at removing tricolours/banners on poles.
It went...
"St Patricks Day no more we'll keep
His colours cant be seen
They're hanging men and women for the wearin o the green"

Jeez.did the Edinburgh polis no hate us Hi Bees back then.

Oh Happy Days , fighting the polis in the Cave !!:greengrin

:hibees

the coo shed :tsk tsk: i also remember singing the wearing of the green in my yoof days :greengrin

17-03-2022, 06:00 PM
To hell with Saint Patrick! Bring back the snakes/pagans/druids!

I’ll take the bank holiday though.

17-03-2022, 06:02 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=apkP_dzZUIg

19-03-2022, 04:34 PM
To hell with Saint Patrick! Bring back the snakes/pagans/druids!

I’ll take the bank holiday though.

Dem Bad Pagans!!
Mind when i was an alter boy at The Sacred Heart in Lauriston,an Irish Jesuit priest warnerd me about hanging about with the young scruffs that stopped attending Mass.

"Now Michael,dont you be cohorting wid dem pagans now.
Lead you astray,so they will"

I shouda listened and no become a scruffy pagan !

19-03-2022, 04:53 PM
Cheers lads. Celebrated a little bit late and have to admit it was Peroni not Guinness but its the thought that counts 😀

19-03-2022, 05:06 PM
Cheers lads. Celebrated a little bit late and have to admit it was Peroni not Guinness but its the thought that counts 😀

Peroni counts. You are forgiven.
No Act of Contrition required
Peroni is the nectar of The Vatican. When the Guinness runs out on St Patrick's Day,they salut with Peroni.

Had a few myself after that debacle this afternoon
Consoling myself with wee Stella Artois .

Feed McGraw
19-03-2022, 05:49 PM
the coo shed :tsk tsk: i also remember singing the wearing of the green in my yoof days :greengrin Me too, I also remember it was The Cave !! :agree: