View Full Version : Everyone knows his Name

16-03-2022, 11:00 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/jimmy-orourke-interview-only-room-one-wee-fat-barrel-hibs-294920
Came across this. I had not seen this before. As a youngster my first Hibs hero. Came from Clerry so could do no wrong.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

linlithgowhibbie
17-03-2022, 09:20 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/jimmy-orourke-interview-only-room-one-wee-fat-barrel-hibs-294920
Came across this. I had not seen this before. As a youngster my first Hibs hero. Came from Clerry so could do no wrong.

Great find, great interview.:thumbsup:

Fuzzywuzzy
17-03-2022, 10:18 AM
Clerry did not badly with hibbies, with Mickey weir and Brian Welsh living across the road from each other

H18S NX
17-03-2022, 10:45 AM
Clerry was full of us supporters too.

Fuzzywuzzy
17-03-2022, 10:49 AM
Always seemed to be more hearts fans kicking about in my time but true, a fair number of us

chippy
17-03-2022, 10:51 AM

Yep plenty Hibs fans in Clerie when I was growing up. Always seemed more Hibees than Jambos and only small numbers of Celtic and old Huns. I knew lots of guys at Clermiston Primary and most were Hibees around 1960-66

17-03-2022, 10:59 AM
Tongs ya bass!

17-03-2022, 02:47 PM
Tongs ya bass!

Billy
I met guys from the Calton Tong.(work related)
Enemy of the Maryhill Fleet.
These were big teams back in the sixties.

The Tong use to chant
Tweet tweet ,Fk the Fleet
Sing song, am a Tong !

Nobody dare tell them they were cRap songwriters :greengrin

17-03-2022, 03:10 PM
The part of the article where Jimmy is in a bar in Portugal and the owner was a Sporting Lisbon fan.
Yer Barred !!
The pal Jimmy was with is our own Brian/Brog from this forum.

The article wrongly states, three older brothers.
No .Jimmy is the oldest.Then Me, Billy and John.
Billy is a true Clerry Legend.
God Bless him .

I managed to enter Wembley for bi-annual Auld Enemy games on 5 occassions without a brief !! Attended 7.
The one Jimmy mentions with me carrying pipe band equipment is true.
Me and a great old Southsider name of Alex Imlach.
We actually sat a few rows in front of the Tornadoes, who had just returned from a break in Spain.
They were dressed in club blazers.
Jimmy saw me,face aghast ... and ignored me !!!
We had been in Covent Garden early boozers all morning,drinking shandies!
It was the 1973 game (we should have won)
The wonder save by Shilton from King Kenny is the abiding memory.

This wee clip will show you younger guys what Wembley was like then.
Three quarters in ground would be Scotland fans.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C5XMA_9dCOU

As that wee girl from Wales,Mary Hopkins sang..

"Those were the days, my friend..
We thought they'd never end"

17-03-2022, 03:25 PM
The part of the article where Jimmy is in a bar in Portugal and the owner was a Sporting Lisbon fan.
Yer Barred !!

God Bless him .

I managed to enter Wembley for bi-annual Auld Enemy games on 5 occassions without a brief !! Attended 7.
We actually sat a few rows in front of the Tornadoes, who had just returned from a break in Spain.
They were dresserd in club blazers.

Brilliant Mick, i had many a good drink and a laugh when Jimmy had the Swiss

17-03-2022, 03:28 PM

Still is,there will be 3 or 4 buses leaving the clerrie area for the semi, I don't think there will be any hearts buses

17-03-2022, 03:51 PM
Billy
I met guys from the Calton Tong.(work related)
Enemy of the Maryhill Fleet.
These were big teams back in the sixties.

The Tong use to chant
Tweet tweet ,Fk the Fleet
Sing song, am a Tong !

Nobody dare tell them they were cRap songwriters :greengrin

Ha Ha !

Sitting up stairs in a Corporation Bus you would see ‘Tongs Ya Bass’ sprayed all over town in the early seventies

It even appeared in the ‘bogs’ at our alma mater’

No idea what it means

17-03-2022, 03:58 PM
Still is,there will be 3 or 4 buses leaving the clerrie area for the semi, I don't think there will be any hearts buses

Yes, Your family, like mine, has been in Clerry since way back.
I never got the perception from outsiders ,maybe cos we are West Edinburgh, that the scheme was mostly hertz.
Couple of football teams over the years with Hearts in the name playing here maybe led that assumption.
In my teens in Clerry and the core Jungle guys, was mostly Hibbys.

Both you and Gordon (HibsNX)know that we rule Clerry :greengrin:greengrin

The only boozer out this way that could be said being a jambo boozer in gthe past would have been The Oak.
Even then, Hibbys like Big Gaz and ma Billy back in the day ran that joint !!

17-03-2022, 04:03 PM
Ha Ha !

Sitting up stairs in a Corporation Bus you would see ‘Tongs Ya Bass’ sprayed all over town in the early seventies

It even appeared in the ‘bogs’ at our alma mater’

No idea what it means

You dont?
It was a well known Glasgow gang. The Calton Tong.
That phrase became a bit ....cultist?

Tongs Ya Bass (bstrd) Its defiance,

Basically saying "We rule"...... with a machete down the strides !

PS
Corporation Bus !!

Ding ding! Fares please .......
Upstairs only... Inside full.. No standing on the platform :greengrin

H18S NX
17-03-2022, 05:14 PM
[QUOTE=Mick O'Rourke;6894517]Yes, Your family, like mine, has been in Clerry since way back.
I never got the perception from outsiders ,maybe cos we are West Edinburgh, that the scheme was mostly hertz.
Couple of football teams over the years with Hearts in the name playing here maybe led that assumption.

The only boozer out this way that could be said being a jambo boozer in gthe past would have been The Oak.
Even then, Hibbys like Big Gaz and ma Billy back in the day ran that joint !![/QUOTE...Happy days m8.

17-03-2022, 05:26 PM
Yes, Your family, like mine, has been in Clerry since way back.

Even then, Hibbys like Big Gaz and ma Billy back in the day ran that joint !!

A formidable duo were Gaz and Billy 👍😁

17-03-2022, 06:10 PM
You dont?
It was a well known Glasgow gang. The Calton Tong.
That phrase became a bit ....cultist?

Tongs Ya Bass (bstrd) Its defiance,

Basically saying "We rule"...... with a machete down the strides !

PS
Corporation Bus !!

Ding ding! Fares please .......
Upstairs only... Inside full.. No standing on the platform :greengrin

Used to come off the bus clothes reeking o baccy straight into the wash

17-03-2022, 07:58 PM
Great article, although had read it earlier.

Jimmy and his wife Anne visited my house in Sydney and had a dip in my swimming pool.

It’s been known as the ‘Jimmy O’Rourke Swimming Centre’ ever since…

17-03-2022, 08:13 PM
Yer Barred !!

God Bless him .

They were dressed in club blazers.

The article's slightly wrong about Portugal as well Michael. It was the bar owner & he was a big Sporting fan. I took him over copies of the newspaper reports from the 6 1 game and told him Jimmy would be there next week. Meanwhile I told Jimmy that Rui wanted to see him when he arrived. Jimmy went in and introduced himself and Rui said, 'you're the b*****d who scored 3 against my team and pretended to throw Jimmy out. He then wouldn't let Jimmy buy a drink.
On a sad note, Rui, who was a lovely guy, passed away a few weeks ago. RIP my friend.

18-03-2022, 11:25 AM
Great article, although had read it earlier.

Jimmy and his wife Anne visited my house in Sydney and had a dip in my swimming pool.

It’s been known as the ‘Jimmy O’Rourke Swimming Centre’ ever since…

Fred, I hope he wisnae wearing budgie smugglers.
Sight for sore eyes :greengrin

20-03-2022, 08:09 AM

Great read, thanks for posting