View Full Version : Motherwell Thugs

13-03-2022, 12:33 PM
What a way to start the game and probably should be down to nine men.

Is this how they play every week?

13-03-2022, 12:35 PM
Hope we can leave something on one of their players before the 90 minutes. Absolutely furious that we’re without Doig and nearly Jasper too.

13-03-2022, 12:38 PM

I blame their manager, no way as a player do you go into challenges like that in the first minute unless your manager tells you.

13-03-2022, 12:39 PM

Well they did this last time at Fir Park. So it’s not a new thing.

13-03-2022, 01:35 PM
They've conceded the most fouls in the league by some way. It certainly shows.

13-03-2022, 01:40 PM
Donnelly as well.

thebausburst
13-03-2022, 01:43 PM
If we had VAR then they defo would have been down to 9 fairly early on.

13-03-2022, 01:44 PM
Van Veen - a striker - has more bookings than goals for them this season.

13-03-2022, 01:51 PM
Roberts isn't exactly an angel either, he seems to get booked in nearly every game.

13-03-2022, 02:00 PM
Absolute hatchet men , Disgusting tackles time and time again

13-03-2022, 02:01 PM
Absolute hatchet men , Disgusting tackles time and time again

If you allow for bookable tackles they could and should have finished with eight today.

13-03-2022, 02:09 PM
Dirty bassa's we should have ended the game playing against 8.

davy67 +
13-03-2022, 02:26 PM
Game plan straight out of the Jambo's play book , kick everything that moves . Nowt but a bunch of cloggers

Stokesy's on fire
13-03-2022, 02:52 PM

Van Veen is a quality player

Bad Habits
13-03-2022, 02:54 PM
Spent the entire second half trying to con the ref into a Hibs sending off.

13-03-2022, 03:06 PM
Hammer throwing *******s and could have easily finished the game with 8 on the park. Colum got the Mugabe decision 100% right but bottled it a bit with Roberts. Lamie as well could easily have had 2 yellows. Brutal to watch and I hope they don't win another game all season

13-03-2022, 03:11 PM
Graham Alexander has a very blinkered view of the game, didn't see the foul but saw the ref being hassled by Hibs players to get the boy sent off. Also saw Macey's shove in the stomach and Melkersen's elbow. No mention of the other attack on a Hib's player which should have been a sending off. Complete fud.

13-03-2022, 03:13 PM

100% should have been down to 9 men. Collum bottled it. You can almost guarantee if Mugabi hadn't been sent off then Roberts was walking. Absolutely brutal refereeing.

13-03-2022, 03:13 PM
Graham Alexander has a very blinkered view of the game, didn't see the foul but saw the ref being hassled by Hibs players to get the boy sent off. Also saw Macey's shove in the stomach and Melkersen's elbow. No mention of the other attack on a Hib's player which should have been a sending off. Complete fud.

Alexander is a dick. Simple as that.

13-03-2022, 03:19 PM
Alexander himself deserves a long ban for crimes against football.

You wonder if those anti-football merchants actually genuinely like the sport? Their tactics suggest not.

13-03-2022, 03:20 PM
Was a wee bit confused by the heading of this thread "Motherwell Thugs", as one or two Motherwell people are not thugs, the rest probably are.
:greengrin:greengrin

Zorro
13-03-2022, 03:21 PM
What an absolutely horrible team they were. 100% sent out by Alexander to put in tackles like that from the off. The biggest surprise for them was that they got caught out. Should have been down to 9 men and Alexander’s selective vision and interpretation of the Macey incident is farcical. Even the commentators said their player reacted by “going down in stages’. Delighted to punt them.

13-03-2022, 03:22 PM
Was a wee bit confused by the heading of this thread "Motherwell Thugs", as one or two Motherwell people are not thugs, the rest probably are.
:greengrin:greengrin

Not called Murderwell for nothing! :greengrin

13-03-2022, 03:35 PM
Galling to have to watch young Doig hobble round the pitch after being assaulted by the appropriately named Mugabe then listening to the cretin that is Tam Cowan suggest a straight red for simulation....

13-03-2022, 03:38 PM
They were doing well not to have a man sent off in the previous game for chucking bushiri in to the disabled are of the main stand. Well deserved red card and should have had another for that wee **** roberts, regardless of when it was in the game.

davy67 +
13-03-2022, 08:30 PM
Galling to have to watch young Doig hobble round the pitch after being assaulted by the appropriately named Mugabe then listening to the cretin that is Tam Cowan suggest a straight red for simulation....

Tam Cowan's a bigger fud than Kenny Miller

13-03-2022, 09:00 PM
Tam cowan said the team bus stopped at a cemetery on the way to Motherwell so Ryan Porteous could nip in and chorie a Wreath

he wasn't bitter though and WAS joking :cb

13-03-2022, 09:05 PM

Where did you hear him say that? After the game he said it was a stonewaller red.

13-03-2022, 09:07 PM
Nisbet crocked against Celtic, JDH with a terrible tackle on him last week (possibly why he missed today?) and then that today.

13-03-2022, 09:07 PM
First ten minutes from them was shameful. I was thinking that if we went out I'd still not want them to win the cup, despite what that would mean.

13-03-2022, 09:50 PM

Is that correct? Mental stat.

13-03-2022, 09:51 PM
I blame their manager, no way as a player do you go into challenges like that in the first minute unless your manager tells you.

He will have said it - under the expectation that you normally get away with one of them in the first 10 mins.

13-03-2022, 09:52 PM
Is that correct? Mental stat.

Yes - 9 goals and 12 bookings this season.

13-03-2022, 09:53 PM
Yes - 9 goals and 12 bookings this season.

Just a battering ram.

14-03-2022, 06:24 AM
Robert’s should have walked too for a horrendous challenge on Wright!

Paulie Walnuts
14-03-2022, 06:32 AM
They were doing well not to have a man sent off in the previous game for chucking bushiri in to the disabled are of the main stand. Well deserved red card and should have had another for that wee **** roberts, regardless of when it was in the game.

That was Roberts and he done it again later in that game as well (think it may have been on Rocky again).

The guy is an absolute welt.

14-03-2022, 12:03 PM
I thought that should have been a foul on Macey when they tried to push him over the line. That was outlawed in the 60s surely.

14-03-2022, 12:10 PM

I listened to Cowan on the way back from the game, he was pretty clear that it was a deserved straight red and Mugabe was an idiot.

Ron D Hibbie
14-03-2022, 12:16 PM
I listened to Cowan on the way back from the game, he was pretty clear that it was a deserved straight red and Mugabe was an idiot.

Just read Leckies match report in the sun. Unreal.

14-03-2022, 01:35 PM

Did you expect anything less?

That paper prints lies and fabrication anyway so it’s best ignored!

dchibs
14-03-2022, 01:42 PM

Bill Leckies usually not to bad what's he saying.

14-03-2022, 02:04 PM
Bill Leckies usually not to bad what's he saying.

Slagging Willie Collum mainly. Sportscene actually had the best summing up for once.

14-03-2022, 02:54 PM
Robert’s should have walked too for a horrendous challenge on Wright!

Just seen it again for the first time, disgusting challenge. Should've walked as well. Collum an utter *****bag for that.

14-03-2022, 02:56 PM

Sorry - did Cowan say Doig should have been red-carded for simulation after the tackle (or as he walked round)?

14-03-2022, 02:58 PM

I actually hate chat like Leckie is spouting. Because it was early on in the match it should have been a yellow and a wee word. Sorry, but that's absolute bull****. Red card all day long and if Collum didn't bottle it they should have been down to 9 men inside 10 minutes.

14-03-2022, 03:00 PM
I actually hate chat like Leckie is spouting. Because it was early on in the match it should have been a yellow and a wee word. Sorry, but that's absolute bull****. Red card all day long and if Collum didn't bottle it they should have been down to 9 men inside 10 minutes.

Aye, common sense means ignore the rules and let him away with it while Josh Doig hobbles off. :rolleyes:

14-03-2022, 03:01 PM
Aye, common sense means ignore the rules and let him away with it while Josh Doig hobbles off. :rolleyes:

Exactly! 'Then let real battle commence 11 v 11' as he puts it. Idiot.

linlithgowhibbie
14-03-2022, 03:05 PM
Sorry - did Cowan say Doig should have been red-carded for simulation after the tackle (or as he walked round)?

No, they were talking about giving a straight red card for diving in the box rather than a yellow, eg Sylvester would ave been sent off instead of booked!

Posh Swanny
14-03-2022, 03:07 PM
Slagging Willie Collum mainly. Sportscene actually had the best summing up for once.

Leckie also seemed to think Melkersen could/should have got a second yellow for his celebrations after each of his goals. :confused:

14-03-2022, 03:10 PM
Just seen it again for the first time, disgusting challenge. Should've walked as well. Collum an utter *****bag for that.

For me it’s as bad if not worse than the first one!

14-03-2022, 03:10 PM

The idea that the rules are any different in the first minute to the 50th or the 80th is just moronic. Bill Leckie is an idiot if he believes that rubbish.

LunasBoots
14-03-2022, 03:15 PM
Josh Doig goes off injured after reckless and dangerous play but our pundits somehow don't know the rules around red cards whether in the first minute or the 90th

14-03-2022, 03:19 PM
Just a battering ram.

I actually think he's a very decent player but it just goes to show how Motherwell play.

14-03-2022, 03:19 PM

As a competitor and manager you probably try to do everything you can to get an edge over the opposition. Some stoop low to conquer…

However when pundits (and pundits on a national broadcaster) aid and abet this behaviour they really do the sport a disservice - Boyle was a diver, Porto a reckless in the tackle and if not careful someone will be maimed. The sport is being turned into a pantomine fuelled by wannabe shock-jocks. There’s no talent in saying outrageous things - just look at the state of Kris Boyd - or Kris Commons - mibbie something in the name ;)

14-03-2022, 03:25 PM
Why is Tam Cowan still on the radio? Was he not suspended and on his last warning?
a cretin, a dinosaur but really just not funny which as a comedian well I suppose he diversified…

it was interesting to ready why someone had stopped listening to off the ball - I forget who it was but on reflection they had a point… the guests are just there to provide a platform for the banter but really if you listen carefully they spend a lot of time talking over or not really listening to their guests so they can get the next gag attempt in. If you were to look at air time the guests get V the hosts it’s almost as if “It’s all about you” from MyFly was written with the Odd Couple of Football in Mind.

For the record I actually don’t mind the show but I’d never reflected on the treatment of guests and if you were one you’d probably think why do I bother?

14-03-2022, 04:00 PM
Did you expect anything less?

That paper prints lies and fabrication anyway so it’s best ignored!

Serves him right for reading it!

14-03-2022, 04:10 PM
Serves him right for reading it!

Yip.

14-03-2022, 05:58 PM

Said at the time and after seeing it again, Collum was 100% going for his yellow card side pocket for the first one as well, our saving grace was the distance he had to run, our players had time to make a fuss. The second one he was that close and couldn’t get the yellow out quick enough.

14-03-2022, 06:05 PM

Playful.
No, he said he’d like a straight red for Jasper and ‘even it up’.

14-03-2022, 06:07 PM

So did I . And so he did. And he then went on to moan about other things and you’d hear him whinge about the need for a straight red for simulation?

Hibiza
14-03-2022, 06:08 PM

Been at it for years .

14-03-2022, 06:15 PM
Where did you hear him say that? After the game he said it was a stonewaller red.

I was in a car full and would normally turn off but there you are, I deferred to others. He blethered on about a red for simulation maybe about 15-20 minutes into the ‘show’. Round about the same time as he laid into the Hibs support for booing their team (didn’t hear much of that if I’m honest). Even Levein of all people had expressed disgust at the challenge and was the only BBC person I heard post-match express any concern about the impact it might have had on Josh Doig.

14-03-2022, 07:35 PM
So did I . And so he did. And he then went on to moan about other things and you’d hear him whinge about the need for a straight red for simulation?

Straight red for Lamie too for play acting after Macey gave him a little tap back for the one he'd just done on him.