View Full Version : Mass Hibsteria

11-03-2022, 01:56 PM
I know, fanzines are a relic of a bygone age pre Internet forums and social media when supporters really didn’t have another voice or a channel to rant… their time has been and gone, but what a marvellous publication this was!

I’ve just bought a load of old issues on eBay from the mid 90s and am looking forward to reading them over the weekend. Really nostalgic, more so now when we don’t even have an official matchday programme.

anyone on here remember being a regular reader of it, or even write for it? I know Jonny Boy was the editor at one time.

Mike Berry
11-03-2022, 02:07 PM
I've got a couple of issues somewhere. I think the guys stopped doing it a few years ago. One of the ones I've got was for the 2012 cup final. Not a happy memory.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

11-03-2022, 02:11 PM
Loved buying it outside the ground as a young yin. I was a bit young for the fanzine explosion, but caught the tail end of it and loved Mass Hibsteria.

MM19
11-03-2022, 02:29 PM
I've got a box of them in the cupboard used to buy them on the way to the match

11-03-2022, 02:37 PM
I know, fanzines are a relic of a bygone age pre Internet forums and social media when supporters really didn’t have another voice or a channel to rant… their time has been and gone, but what a marvellous publication this was!

I’ve just bought a load of old issues on eBay from the mid 90s and am looking forward to reading them over the weekend. Really nostalgic, more so now when we don’t even have an official matchday programme.

anyone on here remember being a regular reader of it, or even write for it? I know Jonny Boy was the editor at one time.

First one I remember was The Glasgow Gossip. Apart from HM /MH there was also another semi regular one from London Hibs that was quite good 🙂. From the other side, the reporter Martin Guiseler used to be involved in selling Allway's The Bridesmaid though not sure if he contributed to it.

11-03-2022, 02:48 PM
The Proclaimer and Tanehsh (latter produced by the late Stuart Crowther I think) were another two which kicked about for a while.

11-03-2022, 02:53 PM
Got loads of them, used to buy them from Jonnyboy on the corner of Albion Road :greengrin

11-03-2022, 02:54 PM
Famous for the front covers, were some fantastic ones
Maybe someone could put the covers on here?

11-03-2022, 03:09 PM

I would if I had the slightest idea how to upload pics from my iPhone on here :confused:

Mike Berry
11-03-2022, 03:10 PM
Maybe someone could put the covers on here?2016 league cup final issue. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220311/b09cee2e59bd1e93fdee42475377f7a3.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220311/c94c44eb612eb23b593c3c2b28126077.jpg

11-03-2022, 03:22 PM
2016 league cup final issue. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220311/b09cee2e59bd1e93fdee42475377f7a3.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220311/c94c44eb612eb23b593c3c2b28126077.jpg

Mike thanks, remember both of these
They must be one of the last editions

Mike Berry
11-03-2022, 03:24 PM
Mike thanks, remember both of these
They must be one of the last editionsYes, I think 2016 was the last.

madsen5
11-03-2022, 08:36 PM
Yes, I think 2016 was the last.

Bring back grumpy Gibby 😠

Mike Berry
11-03-2022, 08:40 PM
Bring back grumpy Gibby [emoji34][emoji106]

11-03-2022, 08:56 PM
Load y pish :greengrin

https://youtu.be/WmO0enN1GDo

11-03-2022, 11:09 PM

That’s what I always remember about them, great content but often the cover enough could be worth the price.

Think I remember one after Steve Archibald’s taxi incident at the Motherwell game? May be misremembering of course.

Just_Jimmy
12-03-2022, 03:57 AM
I've got loads from about 99 to 05ish. Used to love reading it on the bus after a game.

Good memories

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

12-03-2022, 11:24 AM
2016 league cup final issue.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220311/b09cee2e59bd1e93fdee42475377f7a3.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220311/c94c44eb612eb23b593c3c2b28126077.jpg

Still a bit gutted that there wasn't a special commemorative issue following on from our Scottish Cup win, don't want the last ever issue of Mass Hibsteria to be one issued for a final that we didn't win.

12-03-2022, 05:43 PM
Bring back grumpy Gibby 😠

He had a book our last year

12-03-2022, 05:57 PM
He had a book our last year

Grumpy Gibby The North Stand Hibby aka Sandy McNair

12-03-2022, 08:36 PM
I've got a box of them in the cupboard used to buy them on the way to the match
As did I, loved it.

Mike Berry
12-03-2022, 08:57 PM
Grumpy Gibby The North Stand Hibby aka Sandy McNairI bought a copy of that. Plenty of similarities between me and Gibby!

12-03-2022, 08:58 PM

The Bobby Williamson one was funny..

I think there was also an A4 sized End of Season issue once that included Grumpy Gibby and a quiz with a question about your favourite fighting force that gave you the option of selecting CCS or Hibsbollah

Cletus
12-03-2022, 09:03 PM
Gary’s dishes. Gary Mackay polishing his satellite dishes to make up for the lack of trophies. 😆😆😆

13-03-2022, 08:08 AM
Gary’s dishes. Gary Mackay polishing his satellite dishes to make up for the lack of trophies. ������

imagine spending 17 years at a club, 640 games, and winning f*** all… then leaving them and they win the Scottish Cup the very next season! Nae luck Gary

13-03-2022, 08:59 AM

imagine spending 17 years at a club, 640 games, and winning f*** all… then leaving them and they win the Scottish Cup the very next season! Nae luck Gary

I thought he won the league and cup double when Craig Levein led them with such bravery?

Babyshamble
13-03-2022, 05:30 PM
Still got all my copies of hibees Glasgow gossip.that was class.