View Full Version : North Bridge

10-03-2022, 10:29 PM
£36 million, and won't be finished until 2024. How much would it have cost to demolish and replace with a traffic-ready bridge, and how long would that have taken?

AugustaHibs
10-03-2022, 10:59 PM
£36 million, and won't be finished until 2024. How much would it have cost to demolish and replace with a traffic-ready bridge, and how long would that have taken?

Edinburgh council. Never seen a city attempt to piss off the inhabitants as much as this lot.

11-03-2022, 04:41 AM
Demolish North Bridge? I think UNESCO might have something to say about that.

My main gripe with the council is road improvement works seem to happen all the time, but it’s just patching up holes which reappear in the area next to it in a few months. Do councils never actually relevel an entire stretch of road anymore?

He's here!
11-03-2022, 06:44 AM

My main gripe with the council is road improvement works seem to happen all the time, but it’s just patching up holes which reappear in the area next to it in a few months. Do councils never actually relevel an entire stretch of road anymore?

Couldn't agree more. These constant piecemeal repairs are maddening.

11-03-2022, 07:15 AM

Same thing happens everywhere, not just Edinburgh. You should see the half-hearted attempt the local cooncil workies made to fill the holes in our street last year.

One of them poured a bag of stones into the hole and levelled it out with his foot. The stones were all over the street within a week.

Stairway 2 7
11-03-2022, 07:34 AM
Yeah your not knocking down a 125 year old bridge..

11-03-2022, 07:42 AM
Yeah your not knocking down a 125 year old bridge..

You can't knock down the palace of Westminster either, even if it is expected to take 20 years to repair at an estimated cost of £14bn (at least)

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/westminster-repairs-could-last-20-years-and-cost-14bn-r35pm50h5

Stairway 2 7
11-03-2022, 07:52 AM
You can't knock down the palace of Westminster either, even if it is expected to take 20 years to repair at an estimated cost of £14bn (at least)

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/westminster-repairs-could-last-20-years-and-cost-14bn-r35pm50h5

Maybe would have been cheaper if we could still have European tradesmen working here

11-03-2022, 07:56 AM
Maybe would have been cheaper if we could still have European tradesmen working hereNeed to get Matt Hancock's pub landlord on the case, he will be able to do a deal like his PPE supplies one.

Bound to be a civil engineering expert as well.

11-03-2022, 08:00 AM
Maybe would have been cheaper if we could still have European tradesmen working here

Heretic!

Paul1642
11-03-2022, 08:17 AM

Does every thread have to descend into this pi**?

Stairway 2 7
11-03-2022, 08:19 AM
Does every thread have to descend into this pi**?

Just the subjects which is badly affected by brexit or the tories, which is most

11-03-2022, 08:24 AM

From a financial point of view, surely it would be more beneficial to build a modern parliament? It must cost a fortune to run Westminster. And then repair bills like this come along. £14 billion? Utterly bonkers.

11-03-2022, 08:31 AM
From a financial point of view, surely it would be more beneficial to build a modern parliament?

What, with electronic voting and that? The very idea! :bitchy:

Lendo
12-03-2022, 05:33 PM
I’m not sure what people actually expect here. The bridge had quite literally become structurally unsound due to it not being designed for the weight of the traffic on it daily. Had it been left there was a real danger of something terrible occurring.

No real winning solution here. Spend the money to carry our essential repairs incurring the wrath of the Evening News/Scotsman reading morons who use the word “clowncil” and genuinely believe everyone who works there gets brown envelopes (spoilers, my partners is a senior manager at the council, there are no brown envelopes). Or don’t carry out the repair and close the bridge to traffic and make it pedestrian only, resulting in the same ****ing idiots making the same baseless claims.

Also it’s not solely the councils responsibility. The Bridge is jointly owned by the Council, Network Rail and the Scotsman Hotel

Stairway 2 7
12-03-2022, 05:50 PM
I’m not sure what people actually expect here. The bridge had quite literally become structurally unsound due to it not being designed for the weight of the traffic on it daily. Had it been left there was a real danger of something terrible occurring.

No real winning solution here. Spend the money to carry our essential repairs incurring the wrath of the Evening News/Scotsman reading morons who use the word “clowncil” and genuinely believe everyone who works there gets brown envelopes (spoilers, my partners is a senior manager at the council, there are no brown envelopes). Or don’t carry out the repair and close the bridge to traffic and make it pedestrian only, resulting in the same ****ing idiots making the same baseless claims.

Also it’s not solely the councils responsibility. The Bridge is jointly owned by the Council, Network Rail and the Scotsman Hotel

That's exactly what someone who's partner is getting brown envelopes would say.

Joking agree with your post

12-03-2022, 09:52 PM

I think the point is that while the bridge is closed the council have shut of other roads that could be used as a detour. Getting around Edinburgh is a total nightmare, it’s a complete mess. I arrived at the bus station earlier in the week and had to walk miles to get a bus as they’d all been rerouted.

Helensburghhibs
12-03-2022, 10:16 PM
I think the point is that while the bridge is closed the council have shut of other roads that could be used as a detour. Getting around Edinburgh is a total nightmare, it’s a complete mess. I arrived at the bus station earlier in the week and had to walk miles to get a bus as they’d all been rerouted.

I really struggled for the celtic game, road closures everywhere and they still insist on shutting the park on a sunday

He's here!
12-03-2022, 10:41 PM
As a slight aside I recall reading that the Thomas Telford-engineered Dean Bridge, which was originally designed to accommodate horse-drawn traffic yet now sustains an enormous amount of motorised vehicles on a daily basis remains as structurally sound as the day it was completed.

13-03-2022, 05:53 AM
I really struggled for the celtic game, road closures everywhere and they still insist on shutting the park on a sunday

Holyrood Park is also closed on Saturdays until later in the afternoon. With North Bridge and the Park closed all traffic going that direction goes down The Pleasance which also had roadworks at St Marys Street/High Street. Whole area is a nightmare at the weekends.

LeithMike
13-03-2022, 06:26 AM
I think the point is that while the bridge is closed the council have shut of other roads that could be used as a detour. Getting around Edinburgh is a total nightmare, it’s a complete mess. I arrived at the bus station earlier in the week and had to walk miles to get a bus as they’d all been rerouted.Absolutely. Its really hard to get to Hibs games from the south west now. You can't get past York St, park closed, North Bridge clslosed, roadworks at grassmarket, etc. After a recent game Leith St was a nightmare. Surely with some foresight, works could be staggered or princess st be reopened to cars for a temporary period? The Council make it hard to love and take pride in your city.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

Stairway 2 7
13-03-2022, 06:43 AM
Absolutely. Its really hard to get to Hibs games from the south west now. You can't get past York St, park closed, North Bridge clslosed, roadworks at grassmarket, etc. After a recent game Leith St was a nightmare. Surely with some foresight, works could be staggered or princess st be reopened to cars for a temporary period? The Council make it hard to love and take pride in your city.

Get a bus and take a good book if not cycling is faster than car in Edinburgh, good for the planet and wallet too

Lendo
13-03-2022, 07:40 AM

Shutting the park on a Sunday is nothing to do with the council though. It’s run by Historic Environment Scotland.

Mr Grieves
13-03-2022, 07:47 AM
Get a bus and take a good book if not cycling is faster than car in Edinburgh, good for the planet and wallet too

:agree: Edinburgh is easy to get around by public transport/bike/foot and it's less stressful than driving

13-03-2022, 08:15 AM
:agree: Edinburgh is easy to get around by public transport/bike/foot and it's less stressful than driving

To be fair, public transport can be affected just as bad by these things along with the general traffic in/around the city. There are certain pinch points on my commute where the bus moves tediously slowly.

On football days, the north bridge closure sends my bus up to George IV and then the traffic around there, the mound, George st, and York place are horrendous. For the Celtic game I ended up walking from Chambers Street which was fine on a day with decent weather.

13-03-2022, 08:47 AM

After the Celtic game I walked up Easter Rd. The 22 was heading up, by the time I got to the Playhouse, it was still behind me

13-03-2022, 09:51 AM
After the Celtic game I walked up Easter Rd. The 22 was heading up, by the time I got to the Playhouse, it was still behind me

A long time ago (1975-1979) I lived in wester hailes and worked at the west end of Princes Street. My mum also worked in princes Street. She got the bus to and from work, I walked both ways and was always quicker and there were no bus lanes then😁

13-03-2022, 10:36 AM
Same thing happens everywhere, not just Edinburgh. You should see the half-hearted attempt the local cooncil workies made to fill the holes in our street last year.

One of them poured a bag of stones into the hole and levelled it out with his foot. The stones were all over the street within a week.

Should get Rod Stewart to do it

https://images.ladbible.com/resize?type=webp&quality=70&width=648&fit=pad&dpr=2&url=https://eu-images.contentstack.com/v3/assets/bltcd74acc1d0a99f3a/blt67b482ac105b91f9/622dbdb897a524512c8960c9/Screenshot_2022-03-13_at_09.45.26.png

13-03-2022, 10:46 AM
Should get Rod Stewart to do it

https://images.ladbible.com/resize?type=webp&quality=70&width=648&fit=pad&dpr=2&url=https://eu-images.contentstack.com/v3/assets/bltcd74acc1d0a99f3a/blt67b482ac105b91f9/622dbdb897a524512c8960c9/Screenshot_2022-03-13_at_09.45.26.png

He's wearing it well.

13-03-2022, 11:09 AM

I don't think when people refer to the clowncil or brown envelopes they mean everyone at the council. I'm sure the vast majority will be hard working employees who take pride in their work.

There have however been many baffling decisions made over the decades which look dubious and appear to be detrimental to the good folks living and working in the city.

speedy_gonzales
13-03-2022, 01:06 PM
As a slight aside I recall reading that the Thomas Telford-engineered Dean Bridge, which was originally designed to accommodate horse-drawn traffic yet now sustains an enormous amount of motorised vehicles on a daily basis remains as structurally sound as the day it was completed.
Dean Bridge is virtually 100% stone, North Bridge has stone piers but the spans are steel. I think a lot of the work is stripping/blasting the steelwork back and repairing/replacing where necessary.

Busy Bear
14-03-2022, 10:51 AM
Add the roadworks/bridge repair on Calton Road making all areas around there difficult to navigate

14-03-2022, 04:08 PM

It's now quicker to walk from Ocean Terminal back up to Princes Street than getting a bus. :aok:

LeithMike
14-03-2022, 04:42 PM
Get a bus and take a good book if not cycling is faster than car in Edinburgh, good for the planet and wallet tooThats the kind of attitude that I suspect is why our roads are so bad in the first place. Its not always feasible for everyone to cycle or use public transport. I am taking two young kids and car share with a friend in Balerno. There are plenty of other reasons why people cant/won't take the bus/cycle so important that people don't prejudge matters and that the Council ensure roads are adequate. There are plenty of ways of incentivising use of public transport - making roads unusable shouldn't be one.

15-03-2022, 09:09 AM
Thats the kind of attitude that I suspect is why our roads are so bad in the first place. Its not always feasible for everyone to cycle or use public transport. I am taking two young kids and car share with a friend in Balerno. There are plenty of other reasons why people cant/won't take the bus/cycle so important that people don't prejudge matters and that the Council ensure roads are adequate. There are plenty of ways of incentivising use of public transport - making roads unusable shouldn't be one.

Curriehill to Waverley in about 20 minutes is a pretty good option to be fair.

Stairway 2 7
15-03-2022, 09:24 AM

44 to Easter Road too. Obviously some people need to use cars the amount needs to reduce. The amount of kids driven 5 minutes to my bairns school is pathetic

LeithMike
15-03-2022, 09:32 AM
44 to Easter Road too. Obviously some people need to use cars the amount needs to reduce. The amount of kids driven 5 minutes to my bairns school is patheticThese are very fair points but still doesn't excuse the complete mess of the roads in Edinburgh.

15-03-2022, 12:17 PM
Thats the kind of attitude that I suspect is why our roads are so bad in the first place. Its not always feasible for everyone to cycle or use public transport. I am taking two young kids and car share with a friend in Balerno. There are plenty of other reasons why people cant/won't take the bus/cycle so important that people don't prejudge matters and that the Council ensure roads are adequate. There are plenty of ways of incentivising use of public transport - making roads unusable shouldn't be one.

Obviously some people need to use cars. If you have tools in the back, have mobility issues etc. It’s just personal experience that since I got rid of the car I realise I don’t need it nearly as much as I thought I did, and my bike is easy for going to and from town, bus if the weathers not great, and when I really need the car for taking the boy to training etc, I use the Edinburgh car club. But those times are few and far between and I think a lot of people would also be surprised. I’m saving a lot of money on tax insurance petrol and I’m getting exercise and not getting radge with wardens and jams.

15-03-2022, 12:34 PM

It is when the one train an hour doesn't turn up 20 minutes late, or isn't cancelled altogether, or the return journey doesn't decide not to stop at Curriehill and leaves you stranded at Kirknewton. The last was the final straw for me. Thankfully I'm full time at home these days. <deep sigh of non-commuting contentment>

15-03-2022, 12:48 PM
It is when the one train an hour doesn't turn up 20 minutes late, or isn't cancelled altogether, or the return journey doesn't decide not to stop at Curriehill and leaves you stranded at Kirknewton. The last was the final straw for me. Thankfully I'm full time at home these days. <deep sigh of non-commuting contentment>

That situation would be hard for anyone to cope with.

15-03-2022, 12:50 PM
These are very fair points but still doesn't excuse the complete mess of the roads in Edinburgh.

I was driving along North Edinburgh earlier today using Waze. It cautioned their was a pothole in 0.1 mile. JUST THE ONE? I nearly died in the crash as I laughed 🤣

Paul1642
15-03-2022, 06:38 PM
These are very fair points but still doesn't excuse the complete mess of the roads in Edinburgh.

If they want to promote cycling then the roads need massively improved. My cycle commute is riddled with them and it’s bloody dangerous. At one stage there is a completely non-usable cycle lane due to potholes which means coming out into the car lane on a national speed limit road, much to the anger of drivers who can’t understand why I am not in the cycle lane.

16-03-2022, 12:08 PM
If they want to promote cycling then the roads need massively improved. My cycle commute is riddled with them and it’s bloody dangerous. At one stage there is a completely non-usable cycle lane due to potholes which means coming out into the car lane on a national speed limit road, much to the anger of drivers who can’t understand why I am not in the cycle lane.

Same here. I have a friend who travels extensively across Europe and he says outside the Balkans Edinburgh is the worst city for potholes in the continent.

16-03-2022, 12:28 PM
Same here. I have a friend who travels extensively across Europe and he says outside the Balkans Edinburgh is the worst city for potholes in the continent.

Edinburgh isn't even the worst in Scotland. :greengrin

16-03-2022, 12:52 PM
Is North Bridge not part of a Bridge with multiple arches. Think it is a protected structure. The work needed on the bridge was highlighted years ago but never done. There always seems to be a lack of professionalism when it comes to major capital works in Edinburgh, things seem to get done better in Glasgow.

16-03-2022, 01:53 PM
Edinburgh isn't even the worst in Scotland. :greengrin

Top of Schiehallion is possibly worse.

16-03-2022, 01:56 PM
things seem to get done better in Glasgow

Sometimes. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-23218784

16-03-2022, 04:55 PM
Sometimes. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-23218784Staircase to nowhere inside Tynie, you're next!

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

16-03-2022, 05:28 PM
Sometimes. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-23218784

At least it didn’t render half the city unusable.

He's here!
16-03-2022, 05:42 PM
Obviously some people need to use cars. If you have tools in the back, have mobility issues etc. It’s just personal experience that since I got rid of the car I realise I don’t need it nearly as much as I thought I did, and my bike is easy for going to and from town, bus if the weathers not great, and when I really need the car for taking the boy to training etc, I use the Edinburgh car club. But those times are few and far between and I think a lot of people would also be surprised. I’m saving a lot of money on tax insurance petrol and I’m getting exercise and not getting radge with wardens and jams.

Ditched the car years ago and used a car club when required which, as you say, is a real eye opener in terms of how you can cope quite easily without your own car. However, covid restrictions on car club vehicles made it just too challenging to get kids to clubs etc in tricky to reach venues so we're currently leasing.

He's here!
16-03-2022, 05:44 PM
As an aside, anyone know why Craigleith Road has been closed for what seems like years!?

16-03-2022, 08:21 PM
Edinburgh is one big building site. It's one of the reasons we are moving out. It seems that the city fathers are in the pockets of the developers.

w pilton hibby
16-03-2022, 08:57 PM
As an aside, anyone know why Craigleith Road has been closed for what seems like years!?

Water Works

https://www.scottishwater.co.uk/in-your-area/investments-in-your-area/craigleith-edinburgh

17-03-2022, 12:55 AM

This is where I am on the subject. Private cars should be banned from the City Centre and public transport improved.

I do think the Council have a chip on their shoulder though as regards their failed attempt to introduce a ban on cars/congestion charging in Edinburgh many years ago. They are making nonsensical decisions on road closures, with the aim of p1ssing off road users so much that they leave their car at home when visiting the city centre. The problem is though, their road restrictions/closures are also inconveniencing users of public transport too.

17-03-2022, 10:35 AM
This is where I am on the subject. Private cars should be banned from the City Centre and public transport improved.

I do think the Council have a chip on their shoulder though as regards their failed attempt to introduce a ban on cars/congestion charging in Edinburgh many years ago. They are making nonsensical decisions on road closures, with the aim of p1ssing off road users so much that they leave their car at home when visiting the city centre. The problem is though, their road restrictions/closures are also inconveniencing users of public transport too.

You're giving the council far to much credit if you think they have the brains to pull that one off....

Also ditched the car. It was paid off but for servicing, MOT, annual professional valet, monthly wash, road tax, breakdown cover then wear and tear on top of that I calculated it to be around £1500 for the year and convinced myself that £130 a month (excluding fuel) was a bargain for a car. Then I read a report from Canada i think it was. The average car sits and lays idle for 95% of time. If they're like Americans they'll be very car centric and along with longer distances drive more than most on average. If the average Canadian car does nothing for 95% of the time, I reckon my car sits and does SFA 98-99% of the time and thats when the penny dropped. £1500 a year (excluding diesel) for it to just sit there and mostly do nothing.

I've quiet enjoyed not having it. It's one less "life admin" task that was constantly on my mind. MOT due, insurance renewal costs, getting it booked for its service, getting this repaired and whatever can all be quiet time consuming.

I've joined the car club in Edinburgh which has been so far so good and allows me to take my turn for away games. Other than I get my local supermarket to deliver the bulky stuff (spuds, washing powder, bog roll, bevvy etc) and with a rucksack and couple of bags for life can generally get a weeks shop in by walking. Walking and bussing it mostly after that. Do fancy an e-bike but storage is a problem. Don't fancy leaving a £2000 of kit in a stairway.

Stairway 2 7
17-03-2022, 10:53 AM
You're giving the council far to much credit if you think they have the brains to pull that one off....

Also ditched the car. It was paid off but for servicing, MOT, annual professional valet, monthly wash, road tax, breakdown cover then wear and tear on top of that I calculated it to be around £1500 for the year and convinced myself that £130 a month (excluding fuel) was a bargain for a car. Then I read a report from Canada i think it was. The average car sits and lays idle for 95% of time. If they're like Americans they'll be very car centric and along with longer distances drive more than most on average. If the average Canadian car does nothing for 95% of the time, I reckon my car sits and does SFA 98-99% of the time and thats when the penny dropped. £1500 a year (excluding diesel) for it to just sit there and mostly do nothing.

I've quiet enjoyed not having it. It's one less "life admin" task that was constantly on my mind. MOT due, insurance renewal costs, getting it booked for its service, getting this repaired and whatever can all be quiet time consuming.

I've joined the car club in Edinburgh which has been so far so good and allows me to take my turn for away games. Other than I get my local supermarket to deliver the bulky stuff (spuds, washing powder, bog roll, bevvy etc) and with a rucksack and couple of bags for life can generally get a weeks shop in by walking. Walking and bussing it mostly after that. Do fancy an e-bike but storage is a problem. Don't fancy leaving a £2000 of kit in a stairway.

Actually making me think of how much I use my car and aye its probably 1% of the time. Can get a decent e bike for about 800 now and get a d lock that they would need to angle grind off, plus the battery you take into your house and that's about 500 of the price