View Full Version : Neil Lennon New Head Coach at AC Omonia

07-03-2022, 06:48 PM
After a 12 month break,Neil Lennon has a new Head Coach role at Greek Cypriot club, AC Omonia.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lennon-appointed-at-european-club-3599086

I wonder if the team colours and badge (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AC_Omonia) played a part in his decision... :greengrin

07-03-2022, 06:56 PM
He'll definitely clean up with Omonia.

07-03-2022, 07:00 PM
After a 12 month break,Neil Lennon has a new Head Coach role at Greek Cypriot club, AC Omonia.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lennon-appointed-at-european-club-3599086

I wonder if the team colours and badge (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AC_Omonia) played a part in his decision... :greengrin

AC Omonia might think having managed 2 clubs with similar colours will spur Neil on.
Good luck to him.
My Grandson is off to Cyprus in a few weeks.
Al check the fixtures for him.He maybe go and see them (with his Hibs top on !!)

Are they sponsored by Domestos:greengrin

07-03-2022, 07:07 PM
AC Omonia might think having managed 2 clubs with similar colours will spur Neil on.
Good luck to him.
My Grandson is off to Cyprus in a few weeks.
Al check the fixtures for him.He maybe go and see them (with his Hibs top on !!)

Are they sponsored by Domestos:greengrin

07-03-2022, 07:07 PM
He'll definitely clean up with Omonia.

Not if they ever have to play Ajax

07-03-2022, 07:08 PM
Could be a Retirement Home for Daz

07-03-2022, 07:11 PM

In that mood tonight Keith.
If they had a Harp instead of Shamrock on their badge.
They could be sponsored by Harpic.

07-03-2022, 07:15 PM
Good luck to him. Did some good, some bad. No problem with him at all.

07-03-2022, 07:28 PM

What's a Greek Cypriot club ? They are either Cypriot or Greek ?:confused:

07-03-2022, 07:36 PM
He will need plenty factor 50 it's gets very hot there.
That club are in for a roller coaster ride.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

07-03-2022, 07:37 PM
Country is partioned, Greek Cypriot or Turkish Cypriot.

07-03-2022, 08:31 PM
Let’s hope it doesn’t end in accromonia

07-03-2022, 08:38 PM

Hopefully not resulting in a toxic dressing room.

cannastar
07-03-2022, 09:04 PM
echo that good luck neil hope it works out for you.

07-03-2022, 09:08 PM

Northern Cyprus is under Turkish control and are predominantly Turkish Cypriots, the southern part speaks Greek and the people there are known as Greek Cypriots.

Hibiza
07-03-2022, 09:32 PM
Hope it's not just a Flash in the pan .

McSwanky
07-03-2022, 09:54 PM
Smells like pish to me...

07-03-2022, 10:03 PM
Any mair puns and someone is going to get bleached....

08-03-2022, 06:59 AM
Did they get rid of their previous manager because their opponents were regularly wiping the floor with them?

08-03-2022, 08:08 AM
They must have had to Cift through loads of applicants.

08-03-2022, 08:46 AM
One of those appointments where you can’t really see him over there for the duration of the contract to 2024.

Probably won’t last the year.

08-03-2022, 08:48 AM
He'll need something to clean up with when he throws their striker under a bus.

08-03-2022, 08:49 AM
One of those appointments where you can’t really see him over there for the duration of the contract to 2024.

Probably won’t last the year.

Was thinking the same but you never know, getting away from the scottish football fish bowl might do him the world of good.

08-03-2022, 08:57 AM
They must have had to Cift through loads of applicants.

If this appointment goes sour,i can see his coaching career going doon the pan.

08-03-2022, 09:22 AM
Nice holiday in the sun for Lenny.
He'll need to watch though because the Russians own half of the place now.

08-03-2022, 09:23 AM
Is Scott Brown going over with him as assistant now that he's left Aberdeen.

NicosiaHibby
08-03-2022, 09:30 AM
Living in Nicosia until this summer. Omonoia is a big club in Cypriot terms with an average attendance of about 8,000. Football in Cyprus is very political and Omonoia was basically owned by AKEL ( Progressive Party of Working People) until 2018 when it was sold to a Greek Cypriot based in USA. Club remains firmly identifed with the left and the derby with Greek nationalist APOEL is quite a spectacle.
I wish NL luck but I don't really see it working. Omonoia are awful this season. However next year there will be real pressure.

08-03-2022, 10:43 AM
Just having a look at their league set up over there and it is similar to ours insomuch as there is 12 teams, a split in their league but it looks like they play each other home and away then are split into two leagues of 6, top for championship and Euro places and bottom for relegation. Omonia currently sit top of the bottom 6 with 5 to play, which given their relative size is probably a bad place for them. Interesting to see how he does, will his management style suit the Cypriot League? Assume this season is a write off so it will be next season before we see how he does.

08-03-2022, 10:45 AM
Haha it sounds like ammonia

08-03-2022, 08:49 PM
In that mood tonight Keith.
If they had a Harp instead of Shamrock on their badge.
They could be sponsored by Harpic.

You're on fire, Mick

Hulk1875
08-03-2022, 08:51 PM
Is Scott Brown going over with him as assistant now that he's left Aberdeen.

I said that to someone earlier both them sunning it up and out on the piss

08-03-2022, 09:09 PM

Nah, never happen

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220308/3611496771750f65d315d9bade5386bf.jpg

… Dubai

08-03-2022, 09:10 PM

Scouting in Ayia Napa

:party::partyhibb:partyhibb

Good work if ye kin get it :greengrin

Hulk1875
08-03-2022, 09:11 PM
Nah, never happen

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220308/3611496771750f65d315d9bade5386bf.jpg

… Dubai

Haha brilliant

08-03-2022, 09:37 PM
I don’t know why, but I’ve a feeling this will all end up in tears. :rolleyes:

ErinGoBraghHFC
08-03-2022, 11:01 PM

ACTUALLY... Apoel would be better described as the 'Greek' Cypriot club, with their fans heavily associating with the unification movement and displaying banners declaring "Cyprus is Greece" in the past. Omonoia are more associated with the Communist party historically and their fan base are more pro independence and working class. There's your history/politics lesson on Cypriot football for today.

09-03-2022, 10:50 AM

You ever been to Cyprus? Bit like Belfast or Derry during the troubles just with sunshine.

09-03-2022, 03:54 PM

I think we stayed there in Athens?

HendoDelivered
09-03-2022, 11:12 PM
Good luck Lenny, smash it!