View Full Version : Josh Campbell

Pages : 1 [2]

13-03-2022, 06:57 PM
Were you at the game? Josh worked his socks off and when all around were failing he was still tackling and running strong. Taking passes from central defenders is a risky business and there will always be a risk. Josh was nowhere near our worst player today and thankfully our manager has a much higher opinion of Josh than a lot on here.

Josh’s work allowed others the freedom to play. He did well today

13-03-2022, 07:59 PM
Really? I thought he was our worst player by a long way. Nearly gave them a good chance with his customary mistake.

Is he the only player that isn’t allowed any mistakes in a game?

Newell was deemed to have had a great game, yet gave possession away on more than one occasion including their goal.

13-03-2022, 08:26 PM
Is he the only player that isn’t allowed any mistakes in a game?

Newell was deemed to have had a great game, yet gave possession away on more than one occasion including their goal.

Newell was infinitely better than Campbell today.

13-03-2022, 08:26 PM
Agree. Went into hiding after giving the ball away and Porto was going daft at him. He's just too slow to move the bal and his confidence is getting really low. You'd assume he'll be benched when JDH is back.

Porto would have done well to go mad at himself then as twice his poor passing played us into trouble in 2nd half today - but unlike Josh Porto is a fans favourite so gets away with it. Josh was fine today not getting the criticism of him at all

13-03-2022, 08:36 PM
Newell was infinitely better than Campbell today.

I didn’t say he wasn’t. I said he gave the ball away more than Campbell which he did.

13-03-2022, 08:40 PM
Whilst I don’t think Josh done anything wrong today there were points he was hiding behind Motherwell players & wasn’t looking to pick the ball up. One of my biggest gripes with him

13-03-2022, 08:50 PM
Porto would have done well to go mad at himself then as twice his poor passing played us into trouble in 2nd half today - but unlike Josh Porto is a fans favourite so gets away with it. Josh was fine today not getting the criticism of him at all

Porto is a fans favourite because he’s been quality.

If Josh Campbell starts putting in Porteous levels of performances than I, and I’d imagine every single Hibs fan, will be absolutely delighted. If/when that happens he’ll be allowed to have poor games, as he’ll have built up enough good ones to outweigh it. Right now he’s nowhere near that.

inglisavhibs
13-03-2022, 09:01 PM
Whilst I don’t think Josh done anything wrong today there were points he was hiding behind Motherwell players & wasn’t looking to pick the ball up. One of my biggest gripes with him
Hiding behind Motherwell players🥴that’s just nonsense, as I said earlier he was one of the very few Hibs players still going strong at the end indeed if Doidge had kept onside near the he would possibly had an assist for our third goal. Accusing him of hiding is well wide of the mark.

13-03-2022, 09:09 PM
Hiding behind Motherwell players🥴that’s just nonsense, as I said earlier he was one of the very few Hibs players still going strong at the end indeed if Doidge had kept onside near the he would possibly had an assist for our third goal. Accusing him of hiding is well wide of the mark.

Doidge did keep himself just inside, and probably would've done well enough just to keep the pass in play.

Going strong doesn't mean showing for the ball as often as he could. I think one thing he lacks is awareness of what is around him, hence the pretty uneasy we currently have of playing needlessly negatively at times, or losing the ball in key areas.

13-03-2022, 09:21 PM

it really isn’t nonsense unfortunately. He fails to show for the ball, points to other players when he should be demanding the ball and on several occasions intentionally stepped behind a Motherwell player so he couldn’t receive the ball. He works hard when we don’t have the ball, but he hides when we do have it.

13-03-2022, 09:24 PM
it really isn’t nonsense unfortunately. He fails to show for the ball, points to other players when he should be demanding the ball and on several occasions intentionally stepped behind a Motherwell player so he couldn’t receive the ball. He works hard when we don’t have the ball, but he hides when we do have it.

It was really noticeable after he made a mistake in the second half. Especially the pointing. As soon as Porteous was on the ball he was pointing to one of the other centre halves or wing backs as if to say “don’t give it to me”.

inglisavhibs
13-03-2022, 09:24 PM
X
Doidge did keep himself just inside, and probably would've done well enough just to keep the pass in play.

Going strong doesn't mean showing for the ball as often as he could. I think one thing he lacks is awareness of what is around him, hence the pretty uneasy we currently have of playing needlessly negatively at times, or losing the ball in key areas.
Wrong incident, Doidge was given offside and the pass was fine. I suppose the Scotland under 21 manager has just included him because he can’t do this and he can’t do that. Maybe a wee bit support for the lad would help him develop even more.

13-03-2022, 09:26 PM
X
Wrong incident, Doidge was given offside and the pass was fine. I suppose the Scotland under 21 manager has just included him because he can’t do this and he can’t do that. Maybe a wee bit support for the lad would help him develop even more.

Doidge only just kept the ball in on the touchline - had he been onside he definitely wouldn’t have kept it in as he would’ve started a yard deeper.

Edinburgh Green
13-03-2022, 09:37 PM
Unfortunately he did hide on a few occasions, it was quite noticeable.

inglisavhibs
13-03-2022, 09:56 PM
X

GreenGray
13-03-2022, 11:01 PM
This unfortunately. I didn’t see anything really positive from him today

I thought he made some crucial challenges and interceptions? Obviously not great on the ball though

Dr_Regal
14-03-2022, 03:17 AM
Woeful again, unfortunately. Just nae good enough.

14-03-2022, 05:38 AM
Woeful again, unfortunately. Just nae good enough.

Woeful? What a load of tripe.

14-03-2022, 07:26 AM
Certain players make loads of poor passes during our games and are never mentioned. This boy is getting picked up now on every poor touch and now getting accused of hiding during the game. As a fan you really don’t have to go out of your way to find negatives in players Accept him for what he is. A more than capable squad player able to play in multiple positions. A player that coaches love to have.

Paulie Walnuts
14-03-2022, 07:28 AM
Certain players make loads of poor passes during our games and are never mentioned. This boy is getting picked up now on every poor touch and now getting accused of hiding during the game. As a fan you really don’t have to go out of your way to find negatives in players Accept him for what he is. A more than capable squad player able to play in multiple positions. A player that coaches love to have.

He’s being picked up on them because he makes more than most whilst making fewer positive contributions.

He’s been our poorest player for weeks now. Same again yesterday.

14-03-2022, 07:32 AM
He’s being picked up on them because he makes more than most whilst making fewer positive contributions.

He’s been our poorest player for weeks now. Same again yesterday.

So why isn’t he getting subbed? How come the professionals that coach our team don’t agree with you? If he’s as poor as you seem to think he wouldn’t be near the squad never mind the starting 11.

Paulie Walnuts
14-03-2022, 07:35 AM
So why isn’t he getting subbed? How come the professionals that coach our team don’t agree with you? If he’s as poor as you seem to think he wouldn’t be near the squad never mind the starting 11.

Because there’s pretty much nobody to replace him?

He’ll be the first out of the midfield thankfully when there is. I don’t doubt that Maloney and co see it so when that does happen they pretty much do agree with me.

14-03-2022, 07:37 AM

Nobody is going out their way to look for faults, they’re out there and clear to see. Unfair criticism would be that he’s not interested or not putting in any effort, cos that’d be untrue.

In the same way it was fair to criticise Nisbet when Cadden was putting umpteen good balls into the area and Nisbet never attempted the near post run, Campbell deserves criticism for being a centre mid, in a possession based team, when yesterday we had an extra man…and he did not show for the ball, countless times. His confidence is clearly shot, but that doesn’t get you a free pass from criticism.

14-03-2022, 07:39 AM

Subbed for who?

Campbell might be great in training, maybe that’s why the professionals who coach our team really like him. It’s not translating to games though.

14-03-2022, 07:49 AM
Subbed for who?

Campbell might be great in training, maybe that’s why the professionals who coach our team really like him. It’s not translating to games though.

The coaches are disagreeing with you.

14-03-2022, 07:54 AM
The coaches are disagreeing with you.

So is this how it works now, the coaches pick the players, they know better than us, nae point making any criticism cos we’re wrong cos the coaches pick the players.

I’ll take back my criticism of Kamberi now tae, cos the manager was picking him, so I must have been wrong. And Malkowski.

14-03-2022, 08:00 AM
Well the young lad did have a couple of miss-placed passes, it was less damaging than the sorry attempt to clear the ball from Newell that caused Murderwells goal, yet I dont see/hear anyone giving it tight to him.

14-03-2022, 08:10 AM
Well the young lad did have a couple of miss-placed passes, it was less damaging than the sorry attempt to clear the ball from Newell that caused Murderwells goal, yet I dont see/hear anyone giving it tight to him.

You know why Newell isn’t getting it tight. He could easily have been given man of the match.

Paulie Walnuts
14-03-2022, 08:16 AM
So is this how it works now, the coaches pick the players, they know better than us, nae point making any criticism cos we’re wrong cos the coaches pick the players.

I’ll take back my criticism of Kamberi now tae, cos the manager was picking him, so I must have been wrong. And Malkowski.

It’s quite telling in itself that the main defence of Campbell seems to be the classic “well the manager is picking him, but maybe you know better” pish.

Campbell will be out the team the minute someone is available to allow that. That in itself will be proof enough that the manager also sees him as the weak link.

SheriffLobo
14-03-2022, 08:16 AM
My concern is that he not only gives the ball away more than I feel others do but he generally gives away a good chance and it’s usually a pass playing one of their players in rather than him being tackled.

14-03-2022, 08:21 AM
Genuinely quite surprised about some negative comments about his performance yesterday.

There was one action he done in the first half that summed him up for me and the ‘unseen work’ he actually does. Mueller or Wright had the ball high on the left and the whole team was out of position and they lost the ball which broke to a Motherwell player, they had plenty numbers for a counter and the threat was clear.

Campbell read it well, sprinted over and immediately blocked the long ball which would have been aimed at their pacey strikers.

He does stuff like this numerous times a game, it may not always be flashy and of course he will make mistakes. But he gets right in the oppositions face and wins the ball back. His ability to do this and stop attacks is very important.

14-03-2022, 08:39 AM

Because sometimes managers make mistakes? They don't always get every decision or tactical choice right. For instance you've been banging on for years Hanlon should be in the Scotland squad, are the professionals correct with that, or have they been making mistakes?

14-03-2022, 11:43 AM
Genuinely quite surprised about some negative comments about his performance yesterday.

There was one action he done in the first half that summed him up for me and the ‘unseen work’ he actually does. Mueller or Wright had the ball high on the left and the whole team was out of position and they lost the ball which broke to a Motherwell player, they had plenty numbers for a counter and the threat was clear.

Campbell read it well, sprinted over and immediately blocked the long ball which would have been aimed at their pacey strikers.

He does stuff like this numerous times a game, it may not always be flashy and of course he will make mistakes. But he gets right in the oppositions face and wins the ball back. His ability to do this and stop attacks is very important.

I don't think anyone is suggesting that he isn't effective when we don't have the ball. He is generally excellent when the opposition have the ball, working hard, tracking back, making tackles. The problem is when we are in possesion, he really does avoid receiving the ball and when he does receive it he generally offloads it backwards very quickly. Other players play poor passes...EVERY player plays poor passes. We have to accept that, but we need midfielders who want the ball and who support their team mates by showing for the ball. Currently Campbell looks lacking in confidence and does hide when we are in possesion. I think he has the attributes to become a fine footballer, but at the moment his excellent qualities when we don't have the ball are being undermined by his reluctance to find space and receive the ball when we are in possesion.

Paulie Walnuts
14-03-2022, 12:01 PM
Because sometimes managers make mistakes? They don't always get every decision or tactical choice right. For instance you've been banging on for years Hanlon should be in the Scotland squad, are the professionals correct with that, or have they been making mistakes?

Thing is, it’s not even a case of making a mistake imo. We don’t have any other option. That’s why he’s in there.

The mistake will be if he’s still starting when we do have other options. I’m absolutely certain that he won’t be though.

14-03-2022, 12:13 PM
You know why Newell isn’t getting it tight. He could easily have been given man of the match.
So even the MoTM can make mistakes so I would suggest we mabie give the young guy a break he is a Hibs player and with luck he will turn out to be a very good Hibs player, it dont help anyone when the crowd pisses off the players.

Paulie Walnuts
14-03-2022, 12:18 PM
So even the MoTM can make mistakes so I would suggest we mabie give the young guy a break he is a Hibs player and with luck he will turn out to be a very good Hibs player, it dont help anyone when the crowd pisses off the players.

It’s not really a case of people not giving him a break. He gets plenty of support at the games.

People come on here to discuss his performances. People don’t think they’re good enough. There’s no point in us giving him a break by all coming on .net and either leaving Josh Campbell out the discussion completely or people pretending he was really good when they don’t actually think he was.

14-03-2022, 12:21 PM

I don’t really see where you’re coming from. We cannae say Campbell had a poor game, because Newell had a great game but he also misplaced a pass?

With respect to the crowd pissing off the players, I’ve criticised Campbell on here, Drey Wright on here, Macey loads. They never get anything but support at the games from me. Never have and never will boo a Hibs player.

CB Hibs 68
14-03-2022, 01:20 PM

It’s quite telling in itself that the main defence of Campbell seems to be the classic “well the manager is picking him, but maybe you know better” pish.

Campbell will be out the team the minute someone is available to allow that. That in itself will be proof enough that the manager also sees him as the weak link.Not at all sure that Maloney sees him as the weak link.He specifically talked him up at the Shareholders meeting and left me in no doubt that he rates him highly.

Key West
14-03-2022, 04:23 PM
When Hibs are doing well it is nothing to do with the players, coaches or managers it is down to the experts on .net.

14-03-2022, 05:49 PM
When Hibs are doing well it is nothing to do with the players, coaches or managers it is down to the experts on .net.

Said nobody. Ever.

Cool story though.

09-04-2022, 04:25 PM
Release him tomorrow. About 7 divisions below the standard we require.

09-04-2022, 04:28 PM
League 2 player at a push. To give him such a big contract was insanity.

09-04-2022, 04:29 PM
Release him tomorrow. About 7 divisions below the standard we require.
He’s like a guy that’s won a fans raffle to have a kick about with the team. Big contract been handed out to him also :no way:

La Machine Vert
09-04-2022, 10:58 PM
He’s like a guy that’s won a fans raffle to have a kick about with the team. Big contract been handed out to him also :no way:

Well, you're not wrong...

He's one of several players who aren't the required standard by a long way and lacks the experience of other team mates who are sadly also not good enough. We've been hard to watch for a while now and if anything we're in an unfortunate but steady decline.

Fans will single players out which is understandable but too many of our players have their own nuances of incompatibility which really just means we are
rank awful collectively.

Conceding possession far too easily (forced/unforced errors), limited goal threat stemming from my first point and therefore poor goal tally, defense under pressure (also due to my first point). It like men vs boys when we play, very weak all over the pitch and that happens against all the teams we play.

Get 5 or 6 players like Harry Clarke and then we might be on the right footing with Maloney's "plan"
It's obviously not a quick fix but that would be a start in terms of quality.

I've been following Hibs since 1971 and to say its been a tough watch of late is the understatement of a lifetime.

10-04-2022, 06:45 AM
League 2 player at a push. To give him such a big contract was insanity.

We’ve given our whole under performing midfield new contracts this season. And we have another one already on a long term contract but never available to play. Some crazy decisions being made this season.

10-04-2022, 07:03 AM
We’ve given our whole under performing midfield new contracts this season. And we have another one already on a long term contract but never available to play. Some crazy decisions being made this season.

When a tannoy says “substitution for Hibs, Drey Wright off and Josh Campbell on” you know the games a bogey 😂 we’ve plumbed new depths in mediocrity

Key West
10-04-2022, 07:06 AM
When a tannoy says “substitution for Hibs, Drey Wright off and Josh Campbell on” you know the games a bogey 😂 we’ve plumbed new depths in mediocrity

Incredibly funny, your posts are mediocre.

10-04-2022, 07:43 AM
He’s garbage. Another game where he’s like being a man down. The game just takes place around him.

10-04-2022, 07:47 AM
League 1 or championship standard, who the hell gave him a contract extension, he was at Edinburgh City on loan the season before last, he's not improved that much. It must've been a kick in the teeth for Henderson who is one of Maloney's signings that he chose Campbell ahead of him, especially seeing as we needed to chase the game.

10-04-2022, 07:50 AM
League 1 or championship standard, who the hell gave him a contract extension, he was at Edinburgh City on loan the season before last, he's not improved that much. It must've been a kick in the teeth for Henderson who is one of Maloney's signings that he chose Campbell ahead of him, especially seeing as we needed to chase the game.

We didn’t need to chase the game when we made the sub, we were 1-0 up. But bringing Campbell on was still a baffling decision.

10-04-2022, 07:50 AM
Incredibly funny, your posts are mediocre.

If you think either of those players are good enough for a team to challenge for top 3/4 every season you my friend are in cloud cuckoo land - or a relation to Josh ! Harsh maybe, but both are very limited footballers as evidenced on the pitch - neither have had any positive impact on the side. A deflected goal yesterday does not absolve Wright for over 2 years of offering nothing meaningful to this side, and Josh Campbell is not good enough arc this level - tell me, what in your opinion does he offer ?

10-04-2022, 07:51 AM
Games against Hearts and Rangers where a bit of graft and not too much technical ability is required have generally been the ones that have suited Campbell this season.

Yesterday was just awful from him though. Chased shadows, lost his man for a goal and offered nothing on the ball. Really a bit of a snapshot of much of his time as a 1st team player. He's not an inexperienced teeneger either. He's played 90 1st team games at various levels (over a third of them for Hibs in the Premiership) and will be 22 by the time next season starts. His scope for real improvement is pretty minimal.

Giving him the contract we did based on not a lot was madness. File under Ross Chisholm or Scott Martin, although he'll be lucky to forge out as good a Championship career as the latter has.

10-04-2022, 07:56 AM
We didn’t need to chase the game when we made the sub, we were 1-0 up. But bringing Campbell on was still a baffling decision.

You are right, I had it in my head it was when we were 2 down, still baffling at the time.

Key West
10-04-2022, 08:01 AM
If you think either of those players are good enough for a team to challenge for top 3/4 every season you my friend are in cloud cuckoo land - or a relation to Josh ! Harsh maybe, but both are very limited footballers as evidenced on the pitch - neither have had any positive impact on the side. A deflected goal yesterday does not absolve Wright for over 2 years of offering nothing meaningful to this side, and Josh Campbell is not good enough arc this level - tell me, what in your opinion does he offer ?

We are both living in cloud Cuckoo land then, I haven't suggested in any posts that Drey Wright or Josh Campbell are being watched by Manchester City but at the moment they represent Hibs, if the truth be known I would rather Sean Maloney had the pick of the Belgium team to implement his ideas but he needs time to assess and adjust, the squad has been hit with injuries and suspensions and with everyone fit I doubt the 2 players you or I are discussing would be in the first eleven. Regarding Josh you need to cut the guy a bit slack and let him develop his game.

10-04-2022, 08:05 AM
Hibs seem to have a consistent terrible habit of clinging onto Hibs academy ‘prospects’ that from my untrained eye clearly, from the minute they step on the pitch, are not going to make it at our club. I guess there’s 2 issues from what I can see, hibs youngsters signing contracts/staying on at the club longer than is beneficial to their career and, I would imagine, Hibs finding a cheap way of filling the squad with numbers. Trouble is, as in Campbell’s case, and many before, when the suspensions/injuries kick in, and they always do, we’re left with replacing first team regulars with players well below the standard needed.

10-04-2022, 08:13 AM
Hibs seem to have a consistent terrible habit of clinging onto Hibs academy ‘prospects’ that from my untrained eye clearly, from the minute they step on the pitch, are not going to make it at our club. I guess there’s 2 issues from what I can see, hibs youngsters signing contracts/staying on at the club longer than is beneficial to their career and, I would imagine, Hibs finding a cheap way of filling the squad with numbers. Trouble is, as in Campbell’s case, and many before, when the suspensions/injuries kick in, and they always do, we’re left with replacing first team regulars with players well below the standard needed.

You are correct, we all wanted Stanton, Scott Martin, Handling etc, to do well but there has to be a quicker decision regarding these youngsters who are not quite up to it.

Paulie Walnuts
10-04-2022, 08:14 AM
You are correct, we all wanted Stanton, Scott Martin, Handling etc, to do well but there has to be a quicker decision regarding these youngsters who are not quite up to it.

Look at Innes Murray. He’s 24 years old and still contracted to Hibs. He’s not made an appearance for our first team other than potentially a game in that Challenge Cup thing.

Generally speaking you can see from their first appearance or two if they’ll ever be good enough. Campbell is quite clearly not.

Has there been anybody who’s broken through at Hibs and been a success who initially didn’t look good enough to make it? I can’t really think of any jumping out at me.

10-04-2022, 08:28 AM

Look at Innes Murray. He’s 24 years old and still contracted to Hibs. He’s not made an appearance for our first team other than potentially a game in that Challenge Cup thing.

Generally speaking you can see from their first appearance or two if they’ll ever be good enough. Campbell is quite clearly not.

Has there been anybody who’s broken through at Hibs and been a success who initially didn’t look good enough to make it? I can’t really think of any jumping out at me.

Porteous is the obvious one recently but TBH there hasn't been enough coming through the academy, the return has been that poor we're now looking elsewhere for our future players, Melkersen, Hauge, Delferriere, Mackey, Tait.

Key West
10-04-2022, 08:52 AM

If it is that easy then why don't you put your name forward or bring these points up at a Q and A with the manager.

Paulie Walnuts
10-04-2022, 08:57 AM
If it is that easy then why don't you put your name forward or bring these points up at a Q and A with the manager.

Put my name forward for what?

10-04-2022, 09:10 AM

That makes no sense in the context of what you’ve replied to.

Key West
10-04-2022, 09:19 AM
Put my name forward for what?

Recruitment and being able to tell who is going to become a consistently good player for Hibs, you seem be able to correct all the problems we have with a few posts.

Paulie Walnuts
10-04-2022, 09:25 AM
Recruitment and being able to tell who is going to become a consistently good player for Hibs, you seem be able to correct all the problems we have with a few posts.

What on earth are you on about? :confused:

People not allowed an opinion on here anymore? May as well just shut down the forum.

Fan gives opinion on fans forum. Who’d of thunk it.

Key West
10-04-2022, 09:29 AM
That makes no sense in the context of what you’ve replied to.

If someone is good enough to judge a player after 2 appearances then he must have a special kind of knowledge and perhaps he should pass that on! Stubbsy must have that kind of expertise, quite clearly seeing that players are not good enough.

10-04-2022, 09:30 AM

Fair play KW, you have your opinion and you argue it sensibly and subjective to you - can’t fault that at all 👍 for debate purposes, what player do you see Josh as and what have you seen to think there’s development ?

Like most, at games, I support every player stripped and playing, including Josh. I don’t boo or hurl abuse. But I do vent sometimes on the forum, sometimes reflecting and correcting a harsh post. But I’m just not seeing a top flight player in Josh. A 5 year deal was madness - my only thought is Hibs saw the likes of Lewis Ferguson getting attention and thought he’d be that type of player. But I don’t see any defensive nous about him, nor any attacking threat. Just a very average footballer who wouldn’t be a squad filler in any of my line ups.

Key West
10-04-2022, 09:31 AM
What on earth are you on about? :confused:

People not allowed an opinion on here anymore? May as well just shut down the forum.

Fan gives opinion on fans forum. Who’d of thunk it.

And I am giving my opinions on your comments.

Paulie Walnuts
10-04-2022, 09:33 AM
And I am giving my opinions on your comments.

No you’re not. You’ve not discussed any of my comments or the topic at hand, you’ve just made weird statements about me.

10-04-2022, 09:41 AM

Martin Boyle maybe.

WestStandWillie
10-04-2022, 09:49 AM
Not good enough. Keeps making mistakes in middle of the park and they’ve cost us a few times.

He may be a fan of the club but he’s not a Premiership player. I was for loaning him out, now i’d be happy for a free transfer.

10-04-2022, 10:19 AM
Martin Boyle maybe.

Sorry no way.

In his first 6 months at Hibs Boyle put in some tremendous performances, particularly Hearts at home where he was electric in our 2 nil win and Falkirk away where he ran about 60 yards with the ball to score a cracking solo goal.

I was sure hed be a good player for us by the end of that season, although obviously he turned out even better than anyone would have thought probably.

10-04-2022, 10:27 AM
I started a thread after the Huns game in which he actually looked a half decent player for us when he was playing behind the striker.

He then I'm sure played at lwb away to Celtic? Then got moved to centre midfield due to the lack of options to which he has went backwards as a player for me.

Why was he brought on to replace wright? Surely it should of been Jasper or even Hauge.

Key West
10-04-2022, 11:38 AM
No you’re not. You’ve not discussed any of my comments or the topic at hand, you’ve just made weird statements about me.

Stubsy 90+2 if you want have a look at page 5 of this thread
about 11 posts down you will see that I have expressed my opinion.
Weird statements I honestly do not know what you are getting at but I will leave it at that.

Key West
10-04-2022, 11:40 AM
Fair play KW, you have your opinion and you argue it sensibly and subjective to you - can’t fault that at all 👍 for debate purposes, what player do you see Josh as and what have you seen to think there’s development ?

Like most, at games, I support every player stripped and playing, including Josh. I don’t boo or hurl abuse. But I do vent sometimes on the forum, sometimes reflecting and correcting a harsh post. But I’m just not seeing a top flight player in Josh. A 5 year deal was madness - my only thought is Hibs saw the likes of Lewis Ferguson getting attention and thought he’d be that type of player. But I don’t see any defensive nous about him, nor any attacking threat. Just a very average footballer who wouldn’t be a squad filler in any of my line ups.

Respect TH you are a poster that I enjoy reading and I was probably over the top in my defence, I'm not happy about yesterday or being in the bottom 6 either.

10-04-2022, 12:41 PM
Low end of Championship/League 1 player. No disgrace in that and could make a decent living but he is absolutely 1000% not good enough to play for Hibs.

10-04-2022, 12:45 PM
Campbell is the least of Hibs problems

10-04-2022, 12:53 PM

Sorry but he is a big problem. It's nice to stick up for the youngsters and appreciate their effort, but he's not an spl level footballer.

10-04-2022, 12:58 PM

He’s part of the problem unfortunately

A poor player at our level

hibee1875
10-04-2022, 12:59 PM
Low end of Championship/League 1 player. No disgrace in that and could make a decent living but he is absolutely 1000% not good enough to play for Hibs.

Keltey Hearts were in for him at the start of the season.

Not a championship team going for promotion.

A league 2 side.

10-04-2022, 01:01 PM
Keltey Hearts were in for him at the start of the season.

Not a championship team going for promotion.

A league 2 side.

They probably pay equivalent wages as most of the Championship.

hibee1875
10-04-2022, 01:04 PM
They probably pay equivalent wages as most of the Championship.

It’s not about the wages. It’s about the level of the club.

10-04-2022, 03:04 PM

Yes he is, he is playing almost every week and is clearly not good enough, he offers absolutely nothing, appreciate thats not his fault as he isnt going to say no thanks ill pass this week but he is not good enough and if we continue to play guys like him then we will continually fail as a club

Helensburghhibs
10-04-2022, 03:07 PM

I have to disagree Billy,, he is the perfect example of our problems. He isn't good enough.

10-04-2022, 03:07 PM
Yes he is, he is playing almost every week and is clearly not good enough, he offers absolutely nothing, appreciate thats not his fault as he isnt going to say no thanks ill pass this week but he is not good enough and if we continue to play guys like him then we will continually fail as a club

Who would you play in his place? It’s not his fault the squad is pathetically weak. He’s maybe not great but at least he puts a shift in unlike some of the other fairies.

hibee1875
10-04-2022, 03:24 PM
Who would you play in his place? It’s not his fault the squad is pathetically weak. He’s maybe not great but at least he puts a shift in unlike some of the other fairies.

He doesn’t put in a shift though. That’s the problem. He’s constantly hiding, never wants the pass and loses his runners.

10-04-2022, 03:25 PM

Stevenson or henderson for a start, change the shape and ay cadden there, there are literally loads of options rather than play someone who runs about a wee bit, and you will notice i did say its not his fault he is playing

10-04-2022, 03:33 PM

Hallberg. Whoever signed off on letting Hallberg & Gogic go in January, without anyone coming in apart from Henderson who is raw, lightweight and not really a CM, should be under scrutiny.

Steven79
10-04-2022, 03:36 PM
Stevenson or henderson for a start, change the shape and ay cadden there, there are literally loads of options rather than play someone who runs about a wee bit, and you will notice i did say its not his fault he is playing

Maloney is incapable of changing shape.

He just wants to keep playing a 3-4-3 rididly.

Steven79
10-04-2022, 03:37 PM
Hallberg. Whoever signed off on letting Hallberg & Gogic go in January, without anyone coming in apart from Henderson who is raw, lightweight and not really a CM, should be under scrutiny.

Probably the fans fault like Jack Ross getting the sack...

10-04-2022, 04:02 PM

he runs about, as long as that means behind opposition players. He gives the ball away, first touch is terrible. No it’s not his fault, but he’s nowhere near good enough to be at the club at his age.

I’d play Henderson or Stevenson, I’d play one of the young laddies in the B squad or the u18s, I’d change formation tbh

10-04-2022, 04:04 PM

Think he is the embodiment of our entire season unfortunately. He’s a young lad and has whole career ahead of him, but he’s never, ever going to make it at Hibs as long as we have cup and European aspirations.

Key West
10-04-2022, 04:09 PM
Campbell like Henderson and Melkerson would not be first team picks but have had to play due to injuries, If they were playing in a stronger eleven each one of them individually would be more comfortable, at adapting to that situation unfortunately despite any permutations they wouldn't be able to replicate the preferred midfield of Newell, Magennis and Doyle-Hayes with a fit and sharp Doidge up front. Will they do so in the future that remains to be seen, I just think it is unfair to write players off so quickly.

10-04-2022, 04:47 PM
Campbell like Henderson and Melkerson would not be first team picks but have had to play due to injuries, If they were playing in a stronger eleven each one of them individually would be more comfortable, at adapting to that situation unfortunately despite any permutations they wouldn't be able to replicate the preferred midfield of Newell, Magennis and Doyle-Hayes with a fit and sharp Doidge up front. Will they do so in the future that remains to be seen, I just think it is unfair to write players off so quickly.

Henderson and Melkersen are far better players than Campbell. They are the kind of young players we want. Young, raw, but clearly talented.

Campbell is just a nothing player.

Key West
10-04-2022, 05:08 PM
Henderson and Melkersen are far better players than Campbell. They are the kind of young players we want. Young, raw, but clearly talented.

Campbell is just a nothing player.

You are relentless I'll give you that.

Amazinsauzee
10-04-2022, 05:16 PM
You are relentless I'll give you that.

He is also completely right, Campbell is terrible

Key West
10-04-2022, 05:18 PM
He is also completely right, Campbell is terrible

Aye, he's a genius he comes on and corrects everybody, what was I thinking?

10-04-2022, 05:22 PM

Campbell doesnt have to play though. I'd much rather have Stevenson, Allan or Henderson on the pitch. As someone else pointed out Hallberg and Gogic would also be better bets. That's all on the manager who looks like a terrible judge of a player so far.

Same with James Scott - he should have been shipped out in Jan and replaced.

Key West
10-04-2022, 05:31 PM
Campbell doesnt have to play though. I'd much rather have Stevenson, Allan or Henderson on the pitch. As someone else pointed out Hallberg and Gogic would also be better bets. That's all on the manager who looks like a terrible judge of a player so far.

Same with James Scott - he should have been shipped out in Jan and replaced.

Ok,but Campbell is a different type of player from Henderson and Allan who are no doubt technically better but neither Henderson who I like a lot and Allan who has been unfortunat in terms of having health problems would be as effective off the ball, for folk not to rate him highly is fine but to say he offers nothing is insulting,you haven't said this but I have not said that he is better than Henderson or Melkerson which another poster implied.

10-04-2022, 05:35 PM
Aye, he's a genius he comes on and corrects everybody, what was I thinking?

Apology accepted

Key West
10-04-2022, 05:36 PM
Apology accepted

10-04-2022, 05:54 PM

Agreed - we left ourselves short of options in central midfield and I would also have kept Hallberg who's a more than decent player.

10-04-2022, 05:56 PM

Who are these "fairies" who don't put a shift in?

10-04-2022, 05:58 PM
Who are these "fairies" who don't put a shift in?

They'll be the ones with the wings.

gaz1875
10-04-2022, 06:28 PM

I said the same at the time and had many a disagreement about them. These two when fit were better than any of our current first pick midfielders, despite all the rose tinted glasses about Newell.

10-04-2022, 06:31 PM
I said the same at the time and had many a disagreement about them. These two when fit were better than any of our current first pick midfielders, despite all the rose tinted glasses about Newell.

Newell is well better than both. They couldn't get near his place in the side. Gogic couldn't pass a ball 5 bloody yards.

Keyser Sauzee
10-04-2022, 06:34 PM

Gogic better than Newell??? Dabrowski and Macey are better passers than Gogic

gaz1875
10-04-2022, 06:37 PM
Newell is well better than both. They couldn't get near his place in the side. Gogic couldn't pass a ball 5 bloody yards.

Rubbish again from you.

10-04-2022, 06:38 PM
Rubbish again from you.

No, really not rubbish at all. There is no way whatsoever that Gogic is a better footballer than Joe Newell. Not even a little bit.

Decent kicker on his day, but nothing close to Newell.

Hallberg I dunno, hard one to judge since he missed so much with injury, I didn't mind him personally. Newell was a better player for us than him, though.

gaz1875
10-04-2022, 06:38 PM
Gogic better than Newell??? Dabrowski and Macey are better passers than Gogic

To be a better players isn't always about how many accurate passes you can make. Need to get your Newell glasses off.

10-04-2022, 06:39 PM
To be a better players isn't always about how many accurate passes you can make. Need to get your Newell glasses off.

Eh, for a central midfielder its pretty ****ing important mate.

gaz1875
10-04-2022, 06:40 PM
No, really not rubbish at all. There is no way whatsoever that Gogic is a better footballer than Joe Newell. Not even a little bit.

Decent kicker on his day, but nothing close to Newell.

Hallberg I dunno, hard one to judge since he missed so much with injury, I didn't mind him personally.

Whatever, that's your view not everyone else's.

10-04-2022, 06:42 PM
Rubbish again from you.

Gogic was a terrible passer of a ball. Josh isn’t bad tbh. But never a top 3 player. Bottom 6 Hibs he is fine for.

gaz1875
10-04-2022, 06:43 PM
Eh, for a central midfielder its pretty ****ing important mate.

He was a ball winning midfielder and nothing like as bad as you make out. Anyone that gives an opinion different to you is wrong :blah:

gaz1875
10-04-2022, 06:46 PM
Gogic was a terrible passer of a ball. Josh isn’t bad tbh. But never a top 3 player. Bottom 6 Hibs he is fine for.

You'll need to give me a look at all these stats about his pass accuracy you must have.

10-04-2022, 06:47 PM
Ok,but Campbell is a different type of player from Henderson and Allan who are no doubt technically better but neither Henderson who I like a lot and Allan who has been unfortunat in terms of having health problems would be as effective off the ball, for folk not to rate him highly is fine but to say he offers nothing is insulting,you haven't said this but I have not said that he is better than Henderson or Melkerson which another poster implied.

He offers very little would be fairer than offering nothing. Agree they are less mobile off the ball but frankly we need players who are good on the ball right now. Stevenson is far more effective on and off the ball than Campbell so would have been the best bet yesterday.

10-04-2022, 06:52 PM
You'll need to give me a look at all these stats about his pass accuracy you must have.

Eyes. Just eyes.

gaz1875
10-04-2022, 07:02 PM
Eyes. Just eyes.

Yep through your Newell glasses :wink:

10-04-2022, 07:16 PM
Anyone claiming Alex Gogic is a better footballer than Joe Newell probably needs to go and watch a different sport. Utterly clueless.

10-04-2022, 07:18 PM
He was a ball winning midfielder and nothing like as bad as you make out. Anyone that gives an opinion different to you is wrong :blah:Not at all mate, just you.

John McGinn was also a ball winner in midfield, he could pass. Infact, Joe Newell probably wins the ball back as much as Gogic did, AND he can find teammates.

Whatever, that's your view not everyone else's.

No, not everyone elses. Just the vast majority, including those at the club.

10-04-2022, 07:22 PM

https://www.whoscored.com/Teams/320/Show/Scotland-Hibernian

No idea how accurate this is, but it has Newell and JDH above 80%, while gogic is sitting at 66% pass success. When you consider how many more passes those 2 will average per match, that is abysmal.

10-04-2022, 07:23 PM
Not at all mate, just you.

John McGinn was also a ball winner in midfield, he could pass. Infact, Joe Newell probably wins the ball back as much as Gogic did, AND he can find teammates.

No, not everyone elses. Just the vast majority, including those at the club.

I have to stand up for big Goga here, him and Paul Hanlons interception stats were among the very best in the league.

Chorley Hibee
10-04-2022, 07:25 PM
I find the fact we have just given Campbell, Doyle Hayes and Newell new long-term deals, when the midfield is such a glaring weakness, a sign the powers that be at ER have no idea what they're doing.

Throw in a permanently injured Magennis, and that's 4 players we're lumbered with for the foreseeable future.

I've no faith in anyone at the club to address this in the summer either.

10-04-2022, 07:36 PM
I find the fact we have just given Campbell, Doyle Hayes and Newell new long-term deals, when the midfield is such a glaring weakness, a sign the powers that be at ER have no idea what they're doing.

Throw in a permanently injured Magennis, and that's 4 players we're lumbered with for the foreseeable future.

Posted similar earlier. The contracts for JDH and Campbell, in particular, were based on absolutely nothing performance wise. The decision making in terms of transfer policy, contract awards and so on has been absolutely horrific from top to bottom.

Key West
10-04-2022, 08:33 PM
He offers very little would be fairer than offering nothing. Agree they are less mobile off the ball but frankly we need players who are good on the ball right now. Stevenson is far more effective on and off the ball than Campbell so would have been the best bet yesterday.

I'd have taken Bushiri off put Clarke back to the right hand side of the defence and brought Stevenson on at left wing back, though Stevenson has more experience I don't think he has the same energy levels as Campbell and these are just my opinions as a supporter before the experts get excited.

18-04-2022, 09:50 AM
I just saw Campbell's tackle in the 2nd half, sorry but it was a shocker, he was pretty lucky to escape a red IMO. I'd originally thought the Hearts player was diving but Campbell was cleary at fault for that one.

18-04-2022, 09:55 AM
I just saw Campbell's tackle in the 2nd half, sorry but it was a shocker, he was pretty lucky to escape a red IMO. I'd originally thought the Hearts player was diving but Campbell was cleary at fault for that one.
Lucky boy indeed. As I’ve said previously he’s like a kid who’s won a raffle to play with us.

Long term contract handed our recently as well. Needs punted imo. Not nearly good enough.

18-04-2022, 06:17 PM

It was a straight red, think the ref bottled it given that we were down to 10 already.

18-04-2022, 06:38 PM
He did really well when he came on, tackle aside he was bright and forward thinking

18-04-2022, 06:55 PM
It was a straight red, think the ref bottled it given that we were down to 10 already.

As clear a red card as you will see. Exceptionally bad judgement from a very limited player.

18-04-2022, 06:57 PM
He did really well when he came on, tackle aside he was bright and forward thinking

Did he? I honestly don't think he's anywhere near the level to be playing for Hibs right now.

I do honestly hate saying that cause I know he's a Hibs fan like us. But he's been overexposed this season.

18-04-2022, 07:13 PM
He did really well when he came on, tackle aside he was bright and forward thinkingwe have to many bang average players like Campbell that’s why we are in the situation of being in bottom 6.

loanheadhibby
18-04-2022, 07:17 PM

Was he really?
He fired a shot miles over the bar and probably should have been red carded.
Not good enough if we are to get back up the league.

18-04-2022, 07:19 PM
Loves the hibs and hates the Hearts.

Whens his next contract extension?

18-04-2022, 07:20 PM

He's nowhere near good enough for Hibs.

18-04-2022, 07:46 PM
Get him out on loan to a lower prem/champ club next season and go from there

18-04-2022, 08:46 PM
Get him out on loan to a lower prem/champ club next season and go from there

I’d be amazed if he’s not out on loan in the championship next season. I don’t see a move to an SPL side being helpful. I don’t think he’d play.

18-04-2022, 11:07 PM

There are a few negative folk on here but you’re right up the top of the pile. “Lumbered” with Magennis? What a crass thing to say. I hope the boy is ready for the new season and picks up from where he was at the start of this, and steers clear of any further bad injuries. What a pathetic comment.

JamesHFC
19-04-2022, 01:19 AM
Not good enough at the moment. Of course he could improve but we need a lot better in the meantime.

loanheadhibby
19-04-2022, 08:12 AM
There are a few negative folk on here but you’re right up the top of the pile. “Lumbered” with Magennis? What a crass thing to say. I hope the boy is ready for the new season and picks up from where he was at the start of this, and steers clear of any further bad injuries. What a pathetic comment.
Yeah but I think as fans we're just frustrated we can't get our better players on the park.
Magennis came to us injured and has hardly played. Not convinced he will be ready to go come August but hopefully I'm wrong.

19-04-2022, 08:53 AM

Yep. Gets slated for not putting enough into a game, comes on a gets rattled in and is slagged off again. A laddie that’s won a raffle? Ffs.

Paulie Walnuts
19-04-2022, 10:24 AM
Yep. Gets slated for not putting enough into a game, comes on a gets rattled in and is slagged off again. A laddie that’s won a raffle? Ffs.

When has he ever been slagged for not putting enough in?

It’s about the one thing that he rightly gets praised for. He’s all effort and nothing else.

19-04-2022, 10:27 AM

He’s nowhere near the quality needed. That’s peoples gripe with Campbell.

19-04-2022, 10:29 AM
Is that 2 players that have got contract renewals just before the manager gets sacked? Campbell with Ross and Newell with Maloney?

New manager could think both players aren't good enough. Good going Hibs!

19-04-2022, 10:30 AM
Is that 2 players that have got contract renewals just before the manager gets sacked? Campbell with Ross and Newell with Maloney?

New manager could think both players aren't good enough. Good going Hibs!

Newell will be a regular starter under whoever the new boss is. I've absolutely no doubt about it.

19-04-2022, 10:31 AM

Get's rattled in? You mean escapes a red card after a pathetic tackle surely?

19-04-2022, 10:31 AM

Gets slated for not being good enough. Throwing yourself into a red-card worthy tackle doesn't take you from poor to good enough.

19-04-2022, 10:54 AM
Would you have preferred if I'd had said "Tombola" then ?

Time for reality here he is not good enough to be playing at Hibs end of. Whoever gave him that new long contract seen something the rest of us obviously don't.

No.10
19-04-2022, 01:39 PM
Campbell is clearly being played out of position.

He is an offensive midfielder but has played the majority of games under Maloney as a defensive midfielder with strict guidelines about how far he can stray.

He is a Pat McGinlay type - nothing flashy, not particularly pacy, won’t jink past a man, not tremendously quick, not a hard man, not great in the air. All very Pat McGinlay who was revered by many.

Campbell is a box to box midfielder who is two footed, technically good and can get about the park better than most.

Keep him and give him a chance in his rightful position.

19-04-2022, 01:48 PM
That midfield has just got its 2nd manager the sack in 3 months, Campbell is all effort and little ability, Newell and JDH are two players who never get forward and create, Cadden and Doig are better but they need help.

I'd get rid of all three in the middle, i'm just sick of seeing them three pass the ball about with such negativity, and letting the opposition stroll back into position.

19-04-2022, 01:51 PM
He’s nowhere near the quality needed. That’s peoples gripe with Campbell.

This is true, unfortunately.

19-04-2022, 01:52 PM

He is an offensive midfielder but has played the majority of games under Maloney as a defensive midfielder with strict guidelines about how far he can stray.

He is a Pat McGinlay type - nothing flashy, not particularly pacy, won’t jink past a man, not tremendously quick, not a hard man, not great in the air. All very Pat McGinlay who was revered by many.

Campbell is a box to box midfielder who is two footed, technically good and can get about the park better than most.

Pat McGinlay was an excellent passer and was prolific in front of goal. Campbell is neither.

snedzuk
19-04-2022, 02:03 PM
Newell will be a regular starter under whoever the new boss is. I've absolutely no doubt about it.

If Stevie Wonder gets the gig.

19-04-2022, 02:13 PM

He absolutely is not a Pat McGinlay type. I think he had roughly one season where he didn't reach double figures. Campbell is on one goal this season.

As for being technically good? His inability to control a ball has cost us at least two goals this season.

On top of that, he constantly hides and doesn't want on the ball.

Not good enough.

loanheadhibby
19-04-2022, 03:18 PM

Please tell me you are joking.

Steve88
19-04-2022, 03:20 PM

Campbell is being played out of position, by being on the pitch

No.10
19-04-2022, 03:22 PM
He absolutely is not a Pat McGinlay type. I think he had roughly one season where he didn't reach double figures. Campbell is on one goal this season.

As for being technically good? His inability to control a ball has cost us at least two goals this season.

Not good enough.

I said he had similar attributes to McGinlay and was being played OUT OF POSITION.

Yet you simply compared the goal returns for Pat who had a freeish role and Josh who is has been tied to the back four.

Helpful.

the_ginger_hibee
19-04-2022, 03:27 PM

Direct quote I heard at the secret but full of goss corporate sponsors event the other night;
'Josh, I served with Pat McGinlay. I knew Pat McGinlay. Pat McGinlay was a friend of mine. Josh, you're no Pat McGinlay'

19-04-2022, 03:30 PM

Sorry but you couldnt be further from the truth if you tried

19-04-2022, 03:33 PM

Mcginlay was a top scorer for us. You’re having a giraffe

Hibiza
19-04-2022, 04:07 PM
Should be nowhere near the first team. Needs growing up a bit.

Needs shown the door.

19-04-2022, 04:15 PM
Campbell is being played out of position, by being on the pitch

Amen to that. Said a few weeks ago that Maloney’s insistence of deploying a formation that requires the use of Campbell and Wright would get him the sack so no surprise really. Lewis plays a blinder in the cup in CM, never seen again there until this weekend. Some bewildering picks/subs over the past few weeks.

20-08-2022, 03:07 PM
Josh Campbell was excellent today. Full of drive and energy. What I like about him is that he's always wanting to get on with play as quickly as possible. He's got many positives about his game, in that he can play in many positions, is willing to get into the box and is not afraid to put the tackles in. Okay, he'll never be the silky skilful player that we probably all want to see, but he's good enough to play for the Hibees. And his goal, what a fantastic strike!

Let's hope he builds on today and puts in many more excellent displays for the Hibees.

20-08-2022, 03:17 PM
Josh Campbell was excellent today. Full of drive and energy. What I like about him is that he's always wanting to get on with play as quickly as possible. He's got many positives about his game, in that he can play in many positions, is willing to get into the box and is not afraid to put the tackles in. Okay, he'll never be the silky skilful player that we probably all want to see, but he's good enough to play for the Hibees. And his goal, what a fantastic strike!

Let's hope he builds on today and puts in many more excellent displays for the Hibees.

Yes, I agree. Not been keen on him before this season but he's been very good against the diets and full fat huns. I thought he was MoM today. At the heart of the first goal and great strike for the 2nd.

TAHibby
20-08-2022, 03:19 PM
Well done Josh, beautiful goal, keep going.

Bridge hibs
20-08-2022, 03:22 PM

Let's hope he builds on today and puts in many more excellent displays for the Hibees.Agree, not everyones cup of tea but gives his all and doesnt hide, what he lacks in guile he sure makes up with his graft, do we need better, yep, but I think he is worth keeping, as you say, he is versatile

Greenio
20-08-2022, 03:23 PM

Not good enough.

Still stand by this?

20-08-2022, 03:28 PM
I've been of the opinion that Josh wasn't good enough but he was excellent today even without his goal/ part in the other goal and I thought he played well against Hearts too so I hope he is proving me and many others on this site wrong.

Stuarty1875
20-08-2022, 03:56 PM
Delighted for Josh.

Put in a really good performance today.