View Full Version : FAO the boo boys
turn and burn
05-03-2022, 10:37 PM
Just stop. Booing a 2nd/3rd string team off the park after drawing at home is ridiculous. Those doing it need to get a grip.
05-03-2022, 10:41 PM
Today was dreadful, was hardly a surprise. Folk had just sat bored to tears for 2 hours.
05-03-2022, 10:50 PM
Today was dreadful, was hardly a surprise. Folk had just sat bored to tears for 2 hours.Think the " hardly a surprise " bit is most relevant but in a general sense not a Hibs sense . Watching football on TV ( which usually means higher standard than Hibs v St J ) , a lot of matches ( mainly almost all ) seem like watching chess so no surprise when our matches seem the same . We have an added excuse in that we had a full 11 out today , an 11 which would compete for at least third and also hopefully be more entertaining than now .
05-03-2022, 10:53 PM
Booing a draw is just normal now. Weird negativity that will inevitably seep into the dressing room. Shame the idiots involved can’t see it.
Alan62
05-03-2022, 11:03 PM
Pathetic response from a bunch of idiots whose expectations are completely ridiculous. Maloney’s options are completely restricted by injuries across the squad and yet people expect everything to be business as usual? Just as a little exercise, imagine your workplace on Monday with all the key people missing (yeah, that’s not you boo boy) and try to get on with a regular day’s work.
05-03-2022, 11:06 PM
I was not there but watching the highlights and of course cannot prove it, but I thought the boos were directed at the referee.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zy9d2X-dWXM
Might need someone who did boo to let us know :greengrin
05-03-2022, 11:16 PM
Pathetic response from a bunch of idiots whose expectations are completely ridiculous. Maloney’s options are completely restricted by injuries across the squad and yet people expect everything to be business as usual? Just as a little exercise, imagine your workplace on Monday with all the key people missing (yeah, that’s not you boo boy) and try to get on with a regular day’s work.
I’m realistic in understanding the mitigations around current form and the long term plan, but today was mind numbing. Genuinely never created one chance. A long range effort and follow up after a mistake from the keeper was as close as we came to creating one.
My expectations aren’t raised, but I expect a little bit of excitement, and Maloney does also going by his comments.
Alan62
05-03-2022, 11:20 PM
I’m realistic in understanding the mitigations around current form and the long term plan, but today was mind numbing. Genuinely never created one chance. A long range effort and follow up after a mistake from the keeper was as close as we came to creating one.
My expectations aren’t raised, but I expect a little bit of excitement, and Maloney does also going by his comments.
A full team of first team players out. Sure it was honking but it is an ambitious work in progress. It took us 114 years to crack the Scottish Cup in the modern era. Surely, you will give Shaun a few weeks to overcome an injury crisis and implement a new playing style?
05-03-2022, 11:28 PM
Expectations are ridiculous because we expect any kind of hibs squad to at least manage a goal against either of the two bottom teams in the league?
I’m no for the booing but come on now, that’s just ****ing silly
05-03-2022, 11:31 PM
A full team of first team players out. Sure it was honking but it is an ambitious work in progress. It took us 114 years to crack the Scottish Cup in the modern era. Surely, you will give Shaun a few weeks to overcome an injury crisis and implement a new playing style?
Maloney has years of time with me. That doesn’t mean I can’t be disgruntled when watching that on show today and expect to turn up to Easter road and see us create 0 chances. There’s no excuse for that. We won’t play the free flowing football which I get, but you can still create without that.
Alan62
05-03-2022, 11:35 PM
Expectations are ridiculous because we expect any kind of hibs squad to at least manage a goal against either of the two bottom teams in the league?
No it isn’t. Have you looked at the squad and the options available? Have you ever actually had to pick a team? St Johnstone are brutal, I agree. But they are a well organised, professional team. Our issue is transition compounded by a lack of resources in the mid to forward areas. It’s not pleasant watching but transition takes time. You don’t get anything from life without a bit of discomfort.
gramskiwood
06-03-2022, 12:09 AM
Just stop. Booing a 2nd/3rd string team off the park after drawing at home is ridiculous. Those doing it need to get a grip.
Totally agree, it's getting embarrassing. We've got eleven first team members injured and the boys on the pitch don't need the boo boys.
zitelli62
06-03-2022, 12:41 AM
Give hibs a break yes the football has been crap but the injury list is terrible so let's judge him once we have a full squad I'm not convinced but will give him the benefit of the doubt with a full squad then let's judge him.
Whataball
06-03-2022, 12:53 AM
'supporters'. Booing the team need to get a grip. Injuries are horrendous. Who do you think you are helping?
06-03-2022, 01:10 AM
Booooo.
'supporters'. Booing the team need to get a grip. Injuries are horrendous. Who do you think you are helping?
They aren't supporters. They're critics who demand something for their financial outlay.
But when entry to games is such a high percentage of people's disposal income nowadays, you can understand where the expectations come from.
Either way it's off-putting and I'll stick to away games and the odd home game now and again. Too many grumpy old men .
LunasBoots
06-03-2022, 01:42 AM
We where poor before the injuries...
I don't know why people are booing the club have already basically said there's a long term project that isn't going to be in place for a while yet, getting the summer window right is crucial for next season.
06-03-2022, 01:46 AM
I was feeling a ridder when folk booed at full time. Why do it,??
Daniel 1875
06-03-2022, 01:53 AM
Is a 0-0 draw at home to one of the worst teams in the league acceptable now? Is three 0-0 draws in six days alright? It’s hopeless and not good enough.
£5 a ticket today - what did we see to encourage anyone to come back? But aye, don’t boo whatever you do.
06-03-2022, 03:34 AM
Never see the point in booing the team at the game. However if you think the injury list is an excuse for us being so poor, you need to wake up. We were hopeless before the injuries. We’ve just got a very poor team that needs huge changes.
06-03-2022, 03:53 AM
Booing a poor home performance, regardless of mitigation, has happened for as long as I've been going to football matches (all matches, not just Hibs games) and it will be happening long after I've departed for the great stadium in the sky.
I'm not arguing that it's right but it's hardly the new phenomenon some people try to make out it is. In my formative years supporting Hibs the booing often started before the games, the mere mention of Joe Tortolano in the starting line up was enough to set some off. We have got a bit better down the years if anything.
06-03-2022, 04:23 AM
I was not there but watching the highlights and of course cannot prove it, but I thought the boos were directed at the referee.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zy9d2X-dWXM
Might need someone who did boo to let us know :greengrin
100%
I didn’t boo BTW
06-03-2022, 07:32 AM
This is not a dig at anyone at the club and yes I understand the injury list but I think some fans just want the swashbuckling fast flowing football which he promised the fans.
06-03-2022, 07:40 AM
Regardless of injuries, we’ve been boring as **** ever since Maloney took over.
06-03-2022, 07:43 AM
My sentiments exactly
The Captain....
06-03-2022, 07:47 AM
I'm as bored of the people telling others what they should do as I am of the alleged booing tbh.
The only thing more boring is our current form and style of play.
Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk
06-03-2022, 07:53 AM
Booing a draw is just normal now. Weird negativity that will inevitably seep into the dressing room. Shame the idiots involved can’t see it.
It’s not normal to boo a draw. They got applauded off against Celtic last week. Same against Hearts not so long ago.
There are different types of draws and different performances which generate different reactions. For as long as I’ve supported a Hibs a performance like yesterday has resulted in a bit of booing at full time. It’s not as if it’s anything new.
06-03-2022, 08:16 AM
Booing a Hibs reserves against anyone just now is poor.
06-03-2022, 08:21 AM
I was watching Hibernian vs St Johnstone yesterday. Hibs were poor, boring. This resulted in a flat atmosphere and 3 shots on target - 2 from range and 1 rebound from a mistake. Couple this with a horrendous refereeing decision and a very reactive boo is hardly a surprise.
06-03-2022, 08:22 AM
Quality über fan thread.
You'll be happier when these fans don't go and crowds drop further aye? Guaranteed the club don't see it that way, they got rid of JR to try and entice fans back ffs.
Who you gonna moan at when there's no idiots left in the stadium for y'all to hate on?
Paulie Walnuts
06-03-2022, 08:23 AM
Never see the point in booing the team at the game. However if you think the injury list is an excuse for us being so poor, you need to wake up. We were hopeless before the injuries. We’ve just got a very poor team that needs huge changes.
We weren’t hopeless imo. Before the injuries seemed to start kicking in we beat Aberdeen and Dundee United and looked a decent side. We played very, very well up at Tannadice.
When did the injuries really start? I felt like they started round about the time we also lost Martin Boyle which was a double whammy but I may be wrong.
06-03-2022, 08:24 AM
I have never booed a Hibs team off the park but I can understand the frustration that's built up over the last ten or so league games, leading to yesterday's booing.
If it was just one poor game, then yes that's way over the top, but this is now pretty much the norm.
angus hibby
06-03-2022, 08:26 AM
Those that boo are summed up by boo-ing the players off at half time, then the same folk applaud them back onto the pitch at the start of the 2nd half!
Always wondered what the players did during that 15 minutes away from view to warrant such a turnaround in people’s opinions?! 😂
Scotty Leither
06-03-2022, 08:33 AM
It’s not normal to boo a draw. They got applauded off against Celtic last week. Same against Hearts not so long ago.
There are different types of draws and different performances which generate different reactions. For as long as I’ve supported a Hibs a performance like yesterday has resulted in a bit of booing at full time. It’s not as if it’s anything new.
Good point. I tend not to boo players at games, but I can see where the frustration lies with some. Personally I’m never happy with a draw at home to anybody and that includes Hearts and the Ugly Sisters.
Some at the the club are happy to bump along though, and I think that attitude has became embedded for a long time at Easter Road (predating the current regime), and feeds through to whatever incumbent happens to be in the dugout.
That’s where my current frustration lies, and Gordon can lay as many grand plans as he wants about increasing turnover etc, it’s all talk until we can get a team on the park that wins 75/80% of its home games and play a style that people want to watch; that should be the minimum expectation placed on a Hibs manager.
cannastar
06-03-2022, 09:31 AM
notice shaun isnt on his own sheep fans already wanting goodwin out the door for parking the bus at ibrox.
06-03-2022, 10:08 AM
The fact remains, however, that it was utter dross. Again.
When you have Tam McManus stating we could play till midnight and not score, why should that be considered good enough.
I honestly don't know if the players understand the system and whether it will ever generate us a good number of chances in the game.
We can blame injuries, but we've seen similar performances involving the guys on the sidelines too.
I dont actually doubt the effort being put in by a good number of the team, just seems totally bereft of ideas.
06-03-2022, 10:15 AM
Seemed to me the crowd were quite supportive and patient during the match, despite the lack of anything to get excited about.
Easter Road has booed bad results for as long as I can remember. Once the final whistle has blown, the fans are hardly going to affect the players’ performances are they?
MKHIBEE
06-03-2022, 10:47 AM
Can we just stop having threads on booing the players? It’s just the same views regurgitated time after time. I’m not in favour of it, those who are will continue to do so whatever anybody says. Absolutely pointless thread imo
06-03-2022, 10:56 AM
There won’t be enough fans there to make the booing audible at this rate.
06-03-2022, 11:50 AM
I was watching Hibernian vs St Johnstone yesterday. Hibs were poor, boring. This resulted in a flat atmosphere and 3 shots on target - 2 from range and 1 rebound from a mistake. Couple this with a horrendous refereeing decision and a very reactive boo is hardly a surprise.
At least the boo boys stayed to the end.
06-03-2022, 12:08 PM
Seemed to me the crowd were quite supportive and patient during the match, despite the lack of anything to get excited about.
Easter Road has booed bad results for as long as I can remember. Once the final whistle has blown, the fans are hardly going to affect the players’ performances are they?
Pretty much it for me - not a booer myself, and was too flat to raise a boo yesterday even if I wanted to 😁
But I’m sure it’s part and parcel at almost every football ground where it’s regularly pish and people want to voice their unhappiness.
Not for me personally as I say, but I don’t have any real issue with a few people letting it be known that, as a team, it’s not good enough.
06-03-2022, 12:09 PM
Heard two auld guys coming out at FT talking. One of them said 'Wasnae even worth a fiver' the other one said 'Widnae come back if it was free'
Maybe it was them that boooed.
06-03-2022, 12:10 PM
Heard two auld guys coming out at FT talking. One of them said 'Wasnae even worth a fiver' the other one said 'Widnae come back if it was free'
Maybe it was them that boooed.
To be fair, Coco, they had valid points based on yesterday 😁
I thought the singer was just about worth my entry fee so not a complete loss.
06-03-2022, 12:10 PM
I dont feel bad about leaving ten minutes early, I arrived one hour early so was in the stadium for best part if three hours and heard more complaining than supporting going on. I wouldnt boo a team that is trying and I believe they are. We have such a young side we should know better what we might expect to see. Even if we got half our injured players fit we could start expecting a bit more.
06-03-2022, 12:12 PM
To be fair, Coco, they had valid points based on yesterday 😁
I thought the singer was just about worth my entry fee so not a complete loss.
Magic stuff. Be getting Celine Dion next.
I have never booed a Hibs team off the park but I can understand the frustration that's built up over the last ten or so league games, leading to yesterday's booing.
If it was just one poor game, then yes that's way over the top, but this is now pretty much the norm.
Yes but it's not just yesterday's game is it, it's more or less every game and even extends to directing it towards certain individual players when they come on as subs, so much so the club drew attention to the negative effect it was having.
06-03-2022, 12:38 PM
Aw **** I’m drawing the line right there.
06-03-2022, 12:42 PM
Can we just stop having threads on booing the players? It’s just the same views regurgitated time after time. I’m not in favour of it, those who are will continue to do so whatever anybody says. Absolutely pointless thread imo
I thought the only negative reaction from the crowd was after an unnecessary pass backwards won’t say who it was passing it.
The boos and jeers at the end of an uninspiring 0-0 draw with the likes of St Johnstone have reverberated alike for decades and decades though and won’t ever change. Nor should they.
06-03-2022, 12:56 PM
Those that boo are summed up by boo-ing the players off at half time, then the same folk applaud them back onto the pitch at the start of the 2nd half!
Always wondered what the players did during that 15 minutes away from view to warrant such a turnaround in people’s opinions?! 😂
Sums up life as a hibs fan. You turn up optimistic. You get less optimistic by half time. But you still hope for better second half, or next week, or after such and such has had another transfer window.
06-03-2022, 01:00 PM
Obviously even the most dense fan knows any sort of draw against them two is an achievement. The derby sometimes, aye. But generally against any of the other top flight teams there’s booing if we don’t get 3 points at home.
06-03-2022, 01:00 PM
This is not a dig at anyone at the club and yes I understand the injury list but I think some fans just want the swashbuckling fast flowing football which he promised the fans.
I don't think it was promised, everyone at the club said it would take time to implement. Bit of a myth this that anyone has said that.
Regardless of injuries, we’ve been boring as **** ever since Maloney took over.
For the most part yes I agree. But we were also boring as **** before he came in also.
I didn't boo yesterday, I just left at 80 minutes on the clock, as you just knew no goal was coming at all. It's so predictable and laboured.
06-03-2022, 01:06 PM
Since when did we get so sensitive to some pantomime booing after a poor performance? The team got a great reception after the Celtic game, the crowd expressed their opinion yesterday. I’ll start to worry more when there’s no reaction because that’s a sign that people just don’t care anymore, and that’s when people start just not bothering🤷🏼
06-03-2022, 01:34 PM
Think the " hardly a surprise " bit is most relevant but in a general sense not a Hibs sense . Watching football on TV ( which usually means higher standard than Hibs v St J ) , a lot of matches ( mainly almost all ) seem like watching chess so no surprise when our matches seem the same . We have an added excuse in that we had a full 11 out today , an 11 which would compete for at least third and also hopefully be more entertaining than now .
I've been saying this for ages- the days of "swashbuckling football" are gone. Football is like chess now, and the Scottish version isn't easy on the eye.
If people are genuinely saying they'll only watch a Hibs team playing fast, open and attacking football they are going to be waiting a long time as we'll be playing the same type of football as everyone else and just hoping we can get players who are capable of doing it a bit better than most teams.
We cannae keep hounding managers for allegedly playing "boring" football and players for passing the ball sideways - it's just the way the game is evolving.
06-03-2022, 02:53 PM
Titanic music to SDG’s cup final winner… live.
Sold.
Fuzzywuzzy
06-03-2022, 03:37 PM
Not getting the booing myself but did anyone hiss?
06-03-2022, 03:59 PM
heid the baw
06-03-2022, 04:26 PM
Didn't hear much booing at the end but what was notable was just about everybody leaving in silence as the team walked off.
The injury situation is impacting hugely on the team but they were pretty well organised defensively and didn't look like conceding. St Johnstone have caused us problems over the years and are scrapping to avoid relegation. I think we should be winning these games, but Maloney can only work with what he has which is not a great deal at the moment.
inglisavhibs
06-03-2022, 04:39 PM
Good point. I tend not to boo players at games, but I can see where the frustration lies with some. Personally I’m never happy with a draw at home to anybody and that includes Hearts and the Ugly Sisters.
Some at the the club are happy to bump along though, and I think that attitude has became embedded for a long time at Easter Road (predating the current regime), and feeds through to whatever incumbent happens to be in the dugout.
That’s where my current frustration lies, and Gordon can lay as many grand plans as he wants about increasing turnover etc, it’s all talk until we can get a team on the park that wins 75/80% of its home games and play a style that people want to watch; that should be the minimum expectation placed on a Hibs manager.
Been watching Hibs since 1963, I wonder how many Hibs teams have met your criteria?
turn and burn
06-03-2022, 10:05 PM
Quality über fan thread.
You'll be happier when these fans don't go and crowds drop further aye? Guaranteed the club don't see it that way, they got rid of JR to try and entice fans back ffs.
Who you gonna moan at when there's no idiots left in the stadium for y'all to hate on?
Eh? No. To all of that doom waffle. And an Uber fan thread? What even is that, Christ.
06-03-2022, 10:12 PM
I've been saying this for ages- the days of "swashbuckling football" are gone. Football is like chess now, and the Scottish version isn't easy on the eye.
If people are genuinely saying they'll only watch a Hibs team playing fast, open and attacking football they are going to be waiting a long time as we'll be playing the same type of football as everyone else and just hoping we can get players who are capable of doing it a bit better than most teams.
We cannae keep hounding managers for allegedly playing "boring" football and players for passing the ball sideways - it's just the way the game is evolving.
A lot of good points on where football is going or has gone. However it was only 4 years or so ago that we saw an attacking high tempo team we all connected with. Lennons team that finished 4th. That’s up there with my most enjoyable seasons watching Hibs.
Granted those types of seasons are few and far between, but we don’t have to go back too far to see a Hibs team break the mould of how teams play.
06-03-2022, 10:49 PM
I don't think anyone expects a Hibs team that wins every week. But we can expect to create chances, play forward, try and be positive and entertain. If it doesn't work fine, but atleast have a go.
That may be easier said than done but this Hibs team Is set-up to have so few options on the ball and seemingly little idea how to play forward to create anything. Nowhere near good enough huge improvement needed. So disappointed with the turn we have taken this season.
07-03-2022, 05:39 AM
Obviously even the most dense fan knows any sort of draw against them two is an achievement. The derby sometimes, aye. But generally against any of the other top flight teams there’s booing if we don’t get 3 points at home.
Kind of depends what the performance is like. If you play well but end up drawing very rarely would there be booing if you don't and create nothing likely to be some. Sounded like a small number of loud people to me don't think any booing where I was sitting.
Key West
07-03-2022, 07:05 AM
Folk should be aware of details they are important when evaluating what is expected of Hibs, the amount of players that are missing is a huge factor along with the loss of Boyle, despite these handicaps we are sitting 4th and not facing relegation and we did not get the anticipated thrashings by Hearts or Celtic.
Yes we have struggled to beat the so called lesser teams but then so have Celtic and Rangers at times with their massive advantages. The booing is akin to throwing a tantrum when you do not get your own way.
Hibs could be sitting at the top of the league and some supporters would still be moaning.
07-03-2022, 07:18 AM
It's like some folk don't realise what we're up against right now. Temper tantrum because our team full of back up players didn't win.
07-03-2022, 07:35 AM
... And an Uber fan thread? What even is that, Christ.
Somebody that likes cheap taxis?
07-03-2022, 08:14 AM
It's like some folk don't realise what we're up against right now. Temper tantrum because our team full of back up players didn't win.
Perhaps the folk at the game were booing because, in spite of that, they felt we could have got more from the players that did play? We were only a goal away from a fantastic result (given the circumstances).
We can all rationalise after the fact about whether it is a good point or not. For some that is different to the emotions experienced at the time.
Hector Mudflap
07-03-2022, 09:28 AM
Waste of time- the game is usually over- negativity will certainly not make anyones weekend any better. The players do need support during the game though and there was never a truer representation of that than the 16 final with twenty to go. The "roar on" made a huge difference iMHO. This is a depleted squad - practically a second string. We have a new rookie manager and a totally new system that possibly the players we have fit aren't quite good enough for. Has anyone looked at Arsenals turn around of late? It was only December where there were mass demonstrations to get Arteta out and now look. I'm old enough to remember the boo boys of Man Utd when Fergie had only been there a few months. This SM deal is a long term plan. I'm on board though it's painful to watch at times ( I don't go every week as I simply cant afford to) When we get the players he has signed up and running and we get the team he wants on the park. I'm pretty confident we are going to see great things.
We aren't shipping goals so it would be great to see our strikers actually score. This is our issue - we create but cant score. Hopefully SM saw enough at the weekend to realise that Doidge is not the way to go right now.
13-03-2022, 12:37 PM
Talking of booing, the whole PSG team are being booed start to finish against Bordeaux, they are 3 -0 up, their own fans are leaving the stadium, even when they have scored they are getting booed.
13-03-2022, 12:38 PM
Talking of booing, the whole PSG team are being booed start to finish against Bordeaux, they are 3 -0 up, their own fans are leaving the stadium, even when they have scored they are getting booed.
What's the reason for it?
cameronw-hfc
13-03-2022, 12:41 PM
What's the reason for it?
Entitlement. Think because they've spent big bucks they automatically reserve the right to win the champions league
13-03-2022, 12:47 PM
Fans are disgusted that these over paid prima donnas threw it away against Real Madrid.