View Full Version : Question Sue McLernon
05-03-2022, 11:32 AM
Apols not seen a thread on this. Few tweets on Twitter from Colin Millar liked by Scott Allan and a tribute from the Community Foundation but couldn’t find more details.
But OffTheBall state she’s leaving the club after 40 years service?
not sure of the script. Always found her helpful and passionate about the Hibs and wish her well for her next chapter!
anyone know the script?
05-03-2022, 11:34 AM
Retiring?
hibee
05-03-2022, 11:35 AM
I seen a post on Facebook last week saying she’s leaving but don’t know why.
My kids are grown up now but Sue has been a constant face around the ground making sure Hibs kids and others have a great day.
Wish her well in whatever is next!
05-03-2022, 11:38 AM
John McGinn also tweeted about it. There’s been no mention of her retiring and her post on FB was along the lines of “sad to be leaving”
05-03-2022, 11:42 AM
Without knowing the facts ..but all things being equal, if someone as important and impactful in the Hibs community as Sue is leaving, not of her own accord, it’s a sad day for our club …
Crunchie
05-03-2022, 11:48 AM
Apols not seen a thread on this. Few tweets on Twitter from Colin Millar liked by Scott Allan and a tribute from the Community Foundation but couldn’t find more details.
But OffTheBall state she’s leaving the club after 40 years service?
not sure of the script. Always found her helpful and passionate about the Hibs and wish her well for her next chapter!
anyone know the script?
The face of The Hibs Kids way back when it all began.
All my kids, nephews and grand kids have met Sue, as said elsewhere I hope it's a retirement and she's not being let go.
05-03-2022, 11:48 AM
Don’t know the reason but Sue has been a stalwart at the club for 40 years. A nicer person you could not meet.
I hope she is leaving through her own choice , similar to others have said she’s one of those faces that’s just always there. I’d imagine even the things she does on Match day aren’t going to go away and will still need to be done so if it’s not her choice to leave then seems a weird one given she almost defo won’t be on a massive wage going by the salary’s of some of the positions that have been advertised recently
She does some excellent work in the community that often goes un-noticed and I know from people who have dealt with her she always gets the buy in from the players for anything she wants to do so she will be hard act to follow.
The number of long term colleagues/hibs fans who have left recently does point to a complete different way of working however I believe you always need people like sue at the club
05-03-2022, 12:00 PM
An old Edinburgh West traveller and one of the most dedicated Hibernians you’ll find anywhere.
Every club needs a Sue so I hope they’ve got a good successor lined up.
Don’t know the reason but Sue has been a stalwart at the club for 40 years. A nicer person you could not meet.
Agreed. Always went that extra mile. Huge loss to the club but I wish her well in whatever she is moving on to .
The dalmeny
05-03-2022, 12:33 PM
I get the feeling it’s not been her choice from stuff seen on fb. Agree with everyone else, a nicer person you couldn’t meet nor a bigger hibby
hibeg
05-03-2022, 12:38 PM
An old Edinburgh West traveller and one of the most dedicated Hibernians you’ll find anywhere.
Every club needs a Sue so I hope they’ve got a good successor lined up.
My memory must be getting really bad, I thought Sue was St Giles with her husband Greg. :confused:
05-03-2022, 12:46 PM
My memory must be getting really bad, I thought Sue was St Giles with her husband Greg. :confused:
Greg was St Giles Sue was always Edinburgh West
05-03-2022, 12:46 PM
Hopefully the club communicate something soon. I don't know Sue personally but my Mum does and a nicer person you could not meet was her words. Was awesome with the wee one when we had her as a mascot and does a lot of good work in the community. She seems to have a lot of respect from players past and present also. Whilst COVID was the excuse last time round this seems similar to when we got rid of Tam. Hard working folk who've devoted a lot of their time at minimal expense to the club due to being big supporters themselves. Hope I'm wrong here but again it would be good to hear from the club.
Alan62
05-03-2022, 12:48 PM
To be absolutely honest, and I know mine is not going to be an overly popular opinion around here, but I am not surprised by this.
I mean no disrespect to Sue who has made a big commitment over a long period of time but I do think this is symptomatic of the relentless professionalisation of the club.
Many, many years ago, I was recruited by Raymond Sparkes to run the match programme back in the Duff and Gray era. When I first got involved, Alex Miller had just joined the club so that would be 1986. Sue was around then though I'm not sure what she actually did. Anyway, back then, the club was a completely different thing to what we see now. I remember my first meeting with Alex Miller and Peter Cormack, in their ****ty wee office in the old stand. It was tiny. The East of Scotland Shield (which had been won the day before) was lying on the floor amongst a pile of junk. The manager's office had a desk with a phone on it and there were a couple of chairs. I remember going to the dressing rooms to catch up with players after I'd spoken with the boss. They were about the level that you'd expect in the lower leagues now - and, frankly, there are players in the lower leagues who are fitter than some of ours were back in those days.
In terms of infrastructure, our club was a mess. Players trained at Wardie Playing Fields and other public areas around town. The stadium was a dump and, honestly, the administration was absolutely amateurish. I recall one occasion when the club was trying to get the players to open bank accounts because they didn't want to pay them every week in cash.
Since then, change has been progressive. Rod Petrie's tenure is characterised by infrastructural improvement and, in the latter stages with Lee-Anne Dempster's efforts, a move towards greater professionalism. To her credit, Sue survived that era and continued to make her contribution. Under Ron Gordon, though, I sense the club is rapidly moving through the gears in terms of professionalism and it's also clear that the fans expect more from every aspect of the club.
Enthusiasm and commitment are no longer enough. The club has every right to evaluate every aspect of its business and make improvements wherever it can. Sadly, that includes making tough decisions and, every now and then, having to say farewell to people who have given their best years to the cause.
I wish Sue well for the future. She'll always be involved at Hibernian because, at the end of the day, she's a fan like all of us.
05-03-2022, 01:00 PM
To be absolutely honest, and I know mine is not going to be an overly popular opinion around here, but I am not surprised by this...
I wish Sue well for the future. She'll always be involved at Hibernian because, at the end of the day, she's a fan like all of us.
Appreciate a bit of background and I don't think many would disagree for the most part. A bit of Comms from the club thanking Sue for her service with an indication of what we're looking to do differently would leave a taste not quite as bitter.
It's why I mentioned Tam McCourt. Was let go at the start of Covid and despite all his years of service it was barely worthy of a footnote to the club.
05-03-2022, 01:07 PM
Agree John, lovely lady who has gave a great deal of her time to our club, couldn’t meet a nicer person to represent Hibernian FC.
05-03-2022, 01:15 PM
Greg was StGiles from before they met. He was a great lad sadly missed.
05-03-2022, 01:28 PM
Appreciate a bit of background and I don't think many would disagree for the most part. A bit of Comms from the club thanking Sue for her service with an indication of what we're looking to do differently would leave a taste not quite as bitter.
It's why I mentioned Tam McCourt. Was let go at the start of Covid and despite all his years of service it was barely worthy of a footnote to the club.
Tam was a legend. Is there another example of a groundsman in the official cup winning photo??
andyf5
05-03-2022, 05:21 PM
I didnt know that. Met him a couple of times and a great representative of the club. I'm not sure if the "professionalism" mentioned on this thread means we get rid of loyal people who frequently went the extra mile for the club.
05-03-2022, 06:22 PM
[QUOTE=andyf5;6881042]I didnt know that. Met him a couple of times and a great representative of the club. I'm not sure if the "professionalism" mentioned on this thread means we get rid of loyal people who frequently went the extra mile for the club.
Sue has a gagging order against her regarding the reasons she was sacked. Without going into too much detail for Sue's sake . Keiron Power if you are watching, you have a lot to answer for. You couldnae spell Hibs.
Tell us …you’ve not got a gagging order…….
Ps. Probably completely unreasonable request , so ignore !
05-03-2022, 06:31 PM
No idea why Sue is leaving but she will be greatly missed. My kids still talk about her when they see her on the pitch and unless she has done something that is sackable, which I think is highly unlikely, then it is a shocking decision. Getting the feeling we are getting a wee bit too American in lots of ways with half time Opera shows etc. and ripping any type of character from the club
05-03-2022, 06:31 PM
Sue has a gagging order against her regarding the reasons she was sacked. Without going into too much detail for Sue's sake . Keiron Power if you are watching, you have a lot to answer for. You couldnae spell Hibs.
She was on the pitch pre-match with the mascots!?
05-03-2022, 06:33 PM
No idea why Sue is leaving but she will be greatly missed. My kids still talk about her when they see her on the pitch and unless she has done something that is sackable, which I think is highly unlikely, then it is a shocking decision. Getting the feeling we are getting a wee bit too American in lots of ways with half time Opera shows etc. and ripping any type of character from the club
What’s “American” about having someone sing Sunshine on Leith prematch?
05-03-2022, 06:36 PM
I think everyone who passed through the Hibs Kids in the last 40 years will remember Sue. For me she has quite literally been around forever.
I have no idea why she is leaving but I hope there is an opportunity for us to show a bit of appreciation for her at a match in the near future. For those of us anywhere between 5 and 40 she was a big part of our formative years supporting Hibs.
The dalmeny
05-03-2022, 06:39 PM
last day I believe
Liam978
05-03-2022, 06:39 PM
She was allowed to take them for one last time , seeing as she had made all the arrangements.
05-03-2022, 06:44 PM
What’s “American” about having someone sing Sunshine on Leith prematch? Think Superbowl half time shows, it had little or nothing to do with football or the event save the actual choice of songs.
Maybe it was the acoustics but it was painful, as was the singer for the Hearts game(redeemed with his excellent GIRUY) and getting back to the topic I would far rather see Sue out on the pitch with boys clubs and kids scoring penalties against Sunshine etc. Lots of kids there today and we choose Opera as the big surprise. That will get them nipping their parents to return. If Sue did get the sack I hope it was for telling Ron or whoever decided to do the Opera theme at a packed ER that it was a ridiculous idea. Americans tend to cut business to the bone and expect everyone to work for sweeties except the suits. There is a faint whiff of that with recent job advertisements with very low pay and characters like Sue and Tam departing. Much like the football it is all very boring and lacking in character or excitement.
05-03-2022, 06:49 PM
She's such a nice person to speak to! I have nothing but positive comments to make about Sue. A Hibee through and through.
05-03-2022, 07:03 PM
Whole club has gone downhill since Ben Kensall turned up. Just saying :greengrin
Green_one
05-03-2022, 07:07 PM
She's such a nice person to speak to! I have nothing but positive comments to make about Sue. A Hibee through and through.
Not a positive sign for me. Perhaps she needed a fake tan to work with the current culture. Any gagging just adds to a negative perception. Thought we were a local family club.
madsen5
05-03-2022, 07:14 PM
Not a positive sign for me. Perhaps she needed a fake tan to work with the current culture. Any gagging just adds to a negative perception. Thought we were a local family club.
Spoke to sue before the game and its definitely not what she wants, shocking way to treat a fantastic servant to the club.
I think everyone who passed through the Hibs Kids in the last 40 years will remember Sue. For me she has quite literally been around forever.
I have no idea why she is leaving but I hope there is an opportunity for us to show a bit of appreciation for her at a match in the near future. For those of us anywhere between 5 and 40 she was a big part of our formative years supporting Hibs.
At the next home game we could give her a clap at 40 minutes to represent the 40 years she's been at the club and to show the current custodians how highly she's thought of.
Alan62
05-03-2022, 11:16 PM
Spoke to sue before the game and its definitely not what she wants, shocking way to treat a fantastic servant to the club.
If you spoke to her before the game and she aired a grievance as you suggested, then maybe that explains a lot about why she needs a restrictive covenant as part of her severance? [emoji849]
Silky
06-03-2022, 12:00 AM
If you spoke to her before the game and she aired a grievance as you suggested, then maybe that explains a lot about why she needs a restrictive covenant as part of her severance? [emoji849]
Why?
CL0762
06-03-2022, 12:50 AM
A local family club? Sorry to sound harsh but we are a long long way away from that type of club now.
06-03-2022, 06:18 AM
Does anyone know for sure if she has been let go or is this just yet another chance for fans to have a pop at the club, even if she has been let go there could be a million reasons as to why
06-03-2022, 06:33 AM
She said in the Hibs club after the game basically she wasn’t allowed to say why she was let go ‘gagging order “?
The Captain....
06-03-2022, 06:35 AM
Nothing but good things to say about Sue, a better advocate for Hibs you will not find.
Very sad to hear yesterday that her leaving is not of her choosing. I hope the well earned plaudits here, and other social media outlets have gone someway to letting her know how much we all (well most of us) appreciate her commitment to the club over the years.
Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk
Green_one
06-03-2022, 06:41 AM
A local family club? Sorry to sound harsh but we are a long long way away from that type of club now.
We were trumpeting ourselves as community based not so long ago. Perhaps I missed the memo but what are we now? Avoiding adjectives such as underperforming and boring. :confused::confused::confused:
06-03-2022, 07:33 AM
Sue leaving the club is terrible news and I doubt we’ll hear anything from the club about it. Not sure having a go at individuals (and their “fake” tan) is the way to go in expressing your views on it right enough. Clearly no one knows what’s gone on.
06-03-2022, 07:33 AM
Think Superbowl half time shows, it had little or nothing to do with football or the event save the actual choice of songs.
Maybe it was the acoustics but it was painful, as was the singer for the Hearts game(redeemed with his excellent GIRUY) and getting back to the topic I would far rather see Sue out on the pitch with boys clubs and kids scoring penalties against Sunshine etc. Lots of kids there today and we choose Opera as the big surprise. That will get them nipping their parents to return. If Sue did get the sack I hope it was for telling Ron or whoever decided to do the Opera theme at a packed ER that it was a ridiculous idea. Americans tend to cut business to the bone and expect everyone to work for sweeties except the suits. There is a faint whiff of that with recent job advertisements with very low pay and characters like Sue and Tam departing. Much like the football it is all very boring and lacking in character or excitement.
Totally agree.
Whatever the reason Sue left, the absence of any acknowledgement or thank you from the Club, when even BBC Off the Ball praised her years of service to Hibs, is both disappointing and poor. It's another proper Hibernian who has left the club, a club that has less and less Hibernian supporters working for it or involved behind the scenes.
Maybe like the half-time razzamataz, it's the American way. Despite making all the right noises RGs Hibs seem to me like a club that is more and more disengaging from its community.
LewysGot2
06-03-2022, 07:35 AM
To be absolutely honest, and I know mine is not going to be an overly popular opinion around here, but I am not surprised by this.
I mean no disrespect to Sue who has made a big commitment over a long period of time but I do think this is symptomatic of the relentless professionalisation of the club.
Many, many years ago, I was recruited by Raymond Sparkes to run the match programme back in the Duff and Gray era. When I first got involved, Alex Miller had just joined the club so that would be 1986. Sue was around then though I'm not sure what she actually did. Anyway, back then, the club was a completely different thing to what we see now. I remember my first meeting with Alex Miller and Peter Cormack, in their ****ty wee office in the old stand. It was tiny. The East of Scotland Shield (which had been won the day before) was lying on the floor amongst a pile of junk. The manager's office had a desk with a phone on it and there were a couple of chairs. I remember going to the dressing rooms to catch up with players after I'd spoken with the boss. They were about the level that you'd expect in the lower leagues now - and, frankly, there are players in the lower leagues who are fitter than some of ours were back in those days.
In terms of infrastructure, our club was a mess. Players trained at Wardie Playing Fields and other public areas around town. The stadium was a dump and, honestly, the administration was absolutely amateurish. I recall one occasion when the club was trying to get the players to open bank accounts because they didn't want to pay them every week in cash.
Since then, change has been progressive. Rod Petrie's tenure is characterised by infrastructural improvement and, in the latter stages with Lee-Anne Dempster's efforts, a move towards greater professionalism. To her credit, Sue survived that era and continued to make her contribution. Under Ron Gordon, though, I sense the club is rapidly moving through the gears in terms of professionalism and it's also clear that the fans expect more from every aspect of the club.
Enthusiasm and commitment are no longer enough. The club has every right to evaluate every aspect of its business and make improvements wherever it can. Sadly, that includes making tough decisions and, every now and then, having to say farewell to people who have given their best years to the cause.
You're right about being out of step. You're also 35 years out of date. In those days Sue was just a well-meaning volunteer. She didn't get paid.
Fast forward through the decades and her qualifying as a well respected youth coach and diversifying into the community coaching operations, taking the rein from the likes of Gav Gillies and growing that side of the club output.
Hibs Kids had as much to do with the energy and dedication of Sue as it did Willie McEwan.
She was moved into the Community Foundation team latterly when Leeean's team headed it up. Sure though that Leean's team pretty much all went to Queens Park with her.
I'm sorry but it's not the late 80s any more but it feels like you're judging Sue's moving on as being somehow connected to what you witnessed a whole 35 years ago when she was no more than an unpaid volunteer who ran supporterss buses and helped out in her spare time.
People can and do grow into roles - and she clearly did.
The comment suggesting she needs a gagging order is definitely not kind?
06-03-2022, 07:35 AM
Does anyone know for sure if she has been let go or is this just yet another chance for fans to have a pop at the club, even if she has been let go there could be a million reasons as to why
Yep speculating without knowledge doesn't help.
CL0762
06-03-2022, 07:45 AM
We were trumpeting ourselves as community based not so long ago. Perhaps I missed the memo but what are we now? Avoiding adjectives such as underperforming and boring. :confused::confused::confused:
Your guess is as good as mines.
Personally I’m starting to feel disengaged from the club in a way, I don’t like the over commercialisation of the club with having sponsors for almost everything.
I understand that for us to get better we have to grow revenue and by growing revenue we have to be better commercially for which I commend the club but something just doesn’t feel right about it and I can’t quite put my finger on what it is.
Sad to see Sue go, I remember her being amazing with me as a Hibs kid and sorting out hospitality for myself and my grandad when I missed out on being a mascot over in Lithuania to looking after my own boy when he was mascot a few years back.
06-03-2022, 07:49 AM
Your guess is as good as mines.
Personally I’m starting to feel disengaged from the club in a way, I don’t like the over commercialisation of the club with having sponsors for almost everything.
I understand that for us to get better we have to grow revenue and by growing revenue we have to be better commercially for which I commend the club but something just doesn’t feel right about it and I can’t quite put my finger on what it is.
Sad to see Sue go, I remember her being amazing with me as a Hibs kid and sorting out hospitality for myself and my grandad when I missed out on being a mascot over in Lithuania to looking after my own boy when he was mascot a few years back.
There’s something important in this for me…during the Dempster time it felt like there was a deep connection between community and club…the commercial focus of the new owners seems to have lost some of that balance….the lack of engagement with HSL is another example. The club seem to overtly care about sponsors more than the grass root fans and community that the fan base comes from….loss of Hibees from their employment does nothing to counter this either…
06-03-2022, 07:54 AM
Yep speculating without knowledge doesn't help.
A poster on here was speaking to her yesterday about it, isn’t that good enough?
06-03-2022, 07:56 AM
A poster on here was speaking to her yesterday about it, isn’t that good enough?
The poster that was having a rant then having a pop at our fans rep, nah not really or the other one where the poster saod it wasnt what she wanted, again nah not really
06-03-2022, 07:56 AM
There’s something important in this for me…during the Dempster time it felt like there was a deep connection between community and club…the commercial focus of the new owners seems to have lost some of that balance….the lack of engagement with HSL is another example. The club seem to overtly care about sponsors more than the grass root fans and community that the fan base comes from….loss of Hibees from their employment does nothing to counter this either…
Agree 100%
06-03-2022, 08:14 AM
Sue herself posted on Facebook last week about her leaving, it was blatantly obvious it was not of her own choice.
Her son also commented on the thread.
Her love for the club was as clear as day and to her great credit she chose her words beautifully.
Huge miss in my opinion.
CL0762
06-03-2022, 09:35 AM
A lot goes into it for me, a lot of people who know me personally know I went week in week out with my Grandad. Home and away starting on Maude’s bus before going with Brockie before I got older and went less, since he passed in 2017 I haven’t felt that same connection and the way the club is going now.
I just don’t have a nice feeling about it. Not in a way I think Ron is doing anything wrong/bad, far from it. It’s difficult for me to try and explain but I think there’ll be a few people feeling similar.
A lot goes into it for me, a lot of people who know me personally know I went week in week out with my Grandad. Home and away starting on Maude’s bus before going with Brockie before I got older and went less, since he passed in 2017 I haven’t felt that same connection and the way the club is going now.
I just don’t have a nice feeling about it. Not in a way I think Ron is doing anything wrong/bad, far from it. It’s difficult for me to try and explain but I think there’ll be a few people feeling similar.
Nail on head. Anybody who thinks an opera singer is a better option than watching local bairns play football on the pitch at half time is pretty disengaged from the fans. I'm feeling less connected as time goes on.
LewysGot2
06-03-2022, 09:56 AM
Nail on head. Anybody who thinks an opera singer is a better option than watching local bairns play football on the pitch at half time is pretty disengaged from the fans. I'm feeling less connected as time goes on.
That's surely Covid that's stopped the kids playing on the pitch? They've only just been allowed back as mascots? And e even then they don't come out with the players. All that Red Zone management rigmarole.
Surely they'll be back at some point.
Alan62
06-03-2022, 10:03 AM
You're right about being out of step. You're also 35 years out of date. In those days Sue was just a well-meaning volunteer. She didn't get paid.
Fast forward through the decades and her qualifying as a well respected youth coach and diversifying into the community coaching operations, taking the rein from the likes of Gav Gillies and growing that side of the club output.
Hibs Kids had as much to do with the energy and dedication of Sue as it did Willie McEwan.
She was moved into the Community Foundation team latterly when Leeean's team headed it up. Sure though that Leean's team pretty much all went to Queens Park with her.
I'm sorry but it's not the late 80s any more but it feels like you're judging Sue's moving on as being somehow connected to what you witnessed a whole 35 years ago when she was no more than an unpaid volunteer who ran supporterss buses and helped out in her spare time.
People can and do grow into roles - and she clearly did.
The comment suggesting she needs a gagging order is definitely not kind?
Sorry. Just to clarify, I am not saying for a moment that Sue hasn't done a good job. Nor am I saying that her role and contribution hasn't changed massively over the years. I was trying to contextualise the amount of change that there has been in that period. 40 years is a long time for anyone in the same organisation and it's absolutely clear that Sue has done remarkably well to remain a part of the club's staff for all of that time. I'm not judging. I don't know what her role is and I don't know why she's leaving. I'm just saying that there are lots of new people with different ideas who want to develop the club in different ways. They are entitled to do that and, sometimes, that will mean that people are no longer required.
As for the comment about the 'gagging order', I'm not suggesting Sue needs a gagging order. I'm just saying it is not unusual for people to have restrictive covenants when they leave a job - particularly if it's a high profile organisation. If the request is that you don't talk about it then the expectation is that you don't talk about it.
Anyway just to be absolutely clear, I wish Sue well with whatever she does next and expect to see her in the stands cheering the team on with the rest of us.
06-03-2022, 10:04 AM
Agreed, M 👍
That's surely Covid that's stopped the kids playing on the pitch? They've only just been allowed back as mascots? And e even then they don't come out with the players. All that Red Zone management rigmarole.
Surely they'll be back at some point.
Bairns have been back playing football for a long time , they sat in the stands at ER so the only bit they'd miss is coming out the tunnel. No reason they couldn't be doing it. I hope I'm wrong but I suspect with the end of Sue's time at the club that may all end too.
06-03-2022, 10:53 AM
I agree with this.
gaz1875
06-03-2022, 11:01 AM
FFS have a word with yourself, not your type of entertainment for one game so you are less connected :faf: did you like the singer before the hearts game? maybe it wasn't someone else's cup of tea but I don't think they felt less connected to the club. Some of the rubbish that people come out with just to have a dig at RG is unbelievable.
06-03-2022, 11:04 AM
More and more red flags of the Ron Gordon ownership appearing as time goes on.
May21/05/216
06-03-2022, 11:05 AM
FFS have a word with yourself, not your type of entertainment for one game so you are less connected :faf: did you like the singer before the hearts game? maybe it wasn't someone else's cup of tea but I don't think they felt less connected to the club. Some of the rubbish that people come out with just to have a dig at RG is unbelievable.[emoji106]
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
gaz1875
06-03-2022, 11:11 AM
More and more red flags of the Ron Gordon ownership appearing as time goes on.
What are they then? a different singer at half time, someone that is moving on having been at the club for a while, or other?
06-03-2022, 11:14 AM
With the nick of our pitch, think it’s fairly sensible not to have bairns running about on it. Wasn’t keen on the singer. Did like the guy before the Hearts game though. Some they’ll get right, some they won’t.
FFS have a word with yourself, not your type of entertainment for one game so you are less connected :faf: did you like the singer before the hearts game? maybe it wasn't someone else's cup of tea but I don't think they felt less connected to the club. Some of the rubbish that people come out with just to have a dig at RG is unbelievable.
Settle yersel. I'm not having a pop at anybody. I'm stating my opinion. No I didn't like the singer before the hearts game. It's not my thing at the fitba. Doesn't mean they aren't good. It's not just about the singers, that's a tiny bit. Things are changing, maybe for the good but I'm yet to see it.
06-03-2022, 11:49 AM
Why the **** are the club insisting on a gagging order for someone like Sue? I don’t know her, but like most hibs fans I’ve heard about all the great work she’s done. I find it extraordinary that the club think it’s necessary to gag an old woman in this way, what have they got to hide?
06-03-2022, 11:55 AM
Why the **** are the club insisting on a gagging order for someone like Sue? I don’t know her, but like most hibs fans I’ve heard about all the great work she’s done. I find it extraordinary that the club think it’s necessary to gag an old woman in this way, what have they got to hide?
Are they insisting on a gagging order though? I've honestly never heard of anything like that from a football club after letting someone go.
Maybe Sue has just said that cause she doesn't want to talk about it?
It's all guesswork and I'm sure the only folk who really know are the club, Sue and whoever she has wanted to tell, family etc.
The difference in ownership style between Farmer and Gordon is stark.
We now have an ambitious owner (anyone who tries to tell me we were ambitious under Farmer is having a giggle) who no doubt is used to making the tough decisions that are unpopular, but I have no doubt that a business assessment would have been made before any decision is taken.
As much as all want Hibs to a community first club, that doesn't drive the revenue streams and income which is required to gain the success that the fan base demand. It is a fine line for sure on the decisions that are made. Some communication from the club with regards to Sue's moving on would no doubt have softened the response. Possibly the PR dept should be Ron's next area of review.
Eaststand
06-03-2022, 11:59 AM
I've chatted to Sue quite a few times over the years and she's always had the good of our club at the core of everything she does.
I worry a bit when I read of such a stalwart leaving us with what many seem to think is under a bit of a cloud.
I see there was also an implied dig at KP on this matter from another post.
There is a lot of interest in this as Sue was very popular amongst our support. Would it be too much to now ask for some more info from KP on the subject of Sue leaving ?
gaz1875
06-03-2022, 12:06 PM
Settle yersel. I'm not having a pop at anybody. I'm stating my opinion. No I didn't like the singer before the hearts game. It's not my thing at the fitba. Doesn't mean they aren't good. It's not just about the singers, that's a tiny bit. Things are changing, maybe for the good but I'm yet to see it.
But you said you were feeling disconnected then mentioned the half time entertainment being a disconnection.
Maybe instead of having a negative slant, you can see they are trying to get people to come to the stadium earlier, to spend money to enhance the spending on the team. If it doesn't work they try something else. In 147 years in hasn't worked too many times doing the same old same old.
06-03-2022, 12:07 PM
What are they then? a different singer at half time, someone that is moving on having been at the club for a while, or other?
Going from a very good season last year, to a pretty dismal one this year
Looking like no one at the club genuinely knows what they're doing to get us winning matches
Hiring his son to a vital position
Ticket prices increasing (32 quid or something for home game vs Dundee United is theft)
This woman, who seems to have done a brilliant job, leaving under a cloud
Others I've probably missed as well. Genuinely don't think the guy has a scooby doo what he is doing.
Looking like no one at the club genuinely knows what they're doing to get us winning matches
Ticket prices increasing (32 quid or something for home game vs Dundee United is theft)
Others I've probably missed as well. Genuinely don't think the guy has a scooby doo what he is doing.
But he knew what he was doing last season when we had a good season?
06-03-2022, 12:11 PM
But he knew what he was doing last season when we had a good season?
Eh, I think those still at the club did. Mathie was flawed, no doubt, but he seemed to know a few things. Ross too.
Mathie knew what he was doing in the summer transfer window.....:thumbsup:
gaz1875
06-03-2022, 12:15 PM
Yeah it's not like we have had a good season followed by a bad one right enough :confused:
You are guessing what's his son's input into the club is I assume?
Are we more expensive than every other Premier team?
Someone being here for a long time moving on?
Surely none of the above are red flags to worry about?
06-03-2022, 12:18 PM
Ian Gordon was head of recruitment by then and Ron makes the executive calls on new signings given his position. Nathan Wood came from Ben Kensell's network. Jack Ross specifically asked for James Scott.
Mathie made a good scapegoat right enough, but I'm very skeptical about how much he is to blame for the summer window.
I'm not on some witch-hunt with the new regime, far from it. But I think it's important to recognise both sides of the coin. Those that came before had flaws, but also many talents. Likewise I'm sure with the new setup.
But you said you were feeling disconnected then mentioned the half time entertainment being a disconnection.
Maybe instead of having a negative slant, you can see they are trying to get people to come to the stadium earlier, to spend money to enhance the spending on the team. If it doesn't work they try something else. In 147 years in hasn't worked too many times doing the same old same old.
The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Hibs fans are being pushed outside their comfort zone and don't like it, mainly I'd say because the results on the pitch aren't there to back up all the change. If we go on to do great things, I'm sure red flags will soon turn green.
Ian Gordon was head of recruitment by then and Ron makes the executive calls on new signings given his position. Nathan Wood came from Ben Kensell's network. Jack Ross specifically asked for James Scott.
Mathie made a good scapegoat right enough, but I'm very skeptical about how much he is to blame for the summer window.
Ian Gordon was not head of recruitment until after Mathie was sacked.
gaz1875
06-03-2022, 12:22 PM
The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Hibs fans are being pushed outside their comfort zone and don't like it, mainly I'd say because the results on the pitch aren't there to back up all the change. If we go on to do great things, I'm sure red flags will soon turn green.
Spot on analysis.
06-03-2022, 12:24 PM
Yeah it's not like we have had a good season followed by a bad one right enough :confused:
You are guessing what's his son's input into the club is I assume?
Are we more expensive than every other Premier team?
Someone being here for a long time moving on?
Surely none of the above are red flags to worry about?
They are absolutely things to worry about. Going from 3rd to sacking a manager months later is absolutely not good.
His son is head of recruitment. No guessing from me.
Don't care about any other sides. Our prices for walk ups especially are far too much.
Someone being here for a long time moving on in a bad way is not a good thing.
No, he didn't. He got it wrong. That doesn't mean his replacements are doing beter.
06-03-2022, 12:26 PM
He wasn't first listed as HoR on the directory until a month after Mathie left, right enough (before being removed after the backlash). But he'd been working in a senior recruitment role for multiple months at that point.
06-03-2022, 12:26 PM
What about the big screens do you still like those?
He wasn't first listed as HoR on the directory until a month after Mathie left, right enough (before being removed after the backlash). But he'd been working in a senior recruitment role for multiple months at that point.
So he wasn't Head of Recruitment, then? Thanks for clarifying.
06-03-2022, 12:29 PM
Gordon was over here from July last year, working away in the background
As HoR?
06-03-2022, 12:31 PM
So he wasn't Head of Recruitment, then? Thanks for clarifying.
Well, that's not actually clear at all. His role wasn't public. But given we didn't have a different head of recruitment for his entire spell at the club, and then he was given that title on the directory, it could be reasonably assumed that his 'senior role' in the recruitment team always WAS head of recruitment.
The point is that Mathie is far from alone in taking responsibility for the summer window, but it seems his scapegoating has been quite successful. Thanks for clarifying.
06-03-2022, 12:32 PM
How do you know this Billy, seriously interested.
06-03-2022, 12:32 PM
As HoR?
He was definitely working on some type of player recruitment, including Mueller
06-03-2022, 12:33 PM
Well, that's not actually clear at all. His role wasn't public. But given we didn't have a different head of recruitment for his entire spell at the club, and then he was given that title on the directory, it could be reasonably assumed that his 'senior role' in the recruitment team always WAS head of recruitment.
The point is that Mathie is far from alone in taking responsibility for the summer window, but it seems his scapegoating has been quite successful. Thanks for clarifying.
And again, same as the question to Billy, how do you know this and make these assumptions. If it wasn’t public?
So you have no evidence to back up your statement that he was HoR before Mathie was sacked, only your own speculation.
Mathie was not alone in the ****-show of a summer window, but was the man in charge at the time (unless it's an RG conspiracy to get his laddie in), and therefore he fell on the sword.
He was definitely working on some type of player recruitment, including Mueller
That in itself does not make him HoR though, does it?
06-03-2022, 12:35 PM
Agree with this.
Also think the poor form of the team makes people more moany about all the other things going on.
I don’t know who Sue McLernon is, I don’t know what she does/did for Hibs or what her job title was. It sounds like she’s been very well liked by a number of people, and that’s great. We are a business though, and if the job she was doing isn’t really required, if it’s being absorbed elsewhere, outsourced, or scrapped completely then so be it. I dinnae think “she’s been here for ages” should make any difference.
06-03-2022, 12:35 PM
And again, same as the question to Billy, how do you know this and make these assumptions. If it wasn’t public?
Because Ben Kensell told me directly in a publicly available interview.
But it had been out there before that.
06-03-2022, 12:37 PM
Because Ben Kensell told me directly in a publicly available interview.
But it had been out there before that.
So it was public, Ben Kensell made it so. Albeit in a podcast maybe?
06-03-2022, 12:40 PM
That in itself does not make him HoR though, does it?
Don’t quote me on something I didn’t say
Stonewall
06-03-2022, 12:44 PM
Are they insisting on a gagging order though? I've honestly never heard of anything like that from a football club after letting someone go.
Maybe Sue has just said that cause she doesn't want to talk about it?
It's all guesswork and I'm sure the only folk who really know are the club, Sue and whoever she has wanted to tell, family etc.
Neil Lennon.
06-03-2022, 12:45 PM
So it was public, Ben Kensell made it so. Albeit in a podcast maybe?
Ian's role wasn't public for a few months, then it became known after the fact.
But Ben didn't break that he was working for us, he was added to the directory in October then removed - so that much was already known. He only confirmed that Ian had been working for us for months before Kensell himself joined, in a senior recruitment position.
But I'm sure I read as much on here and on twitter before Ben ever spoke out to confirm it.
06-03-2022, 12:48 PM
What about the big screens do you still like those?
I enjoyed aiding in the installation of them very much :greengrin. I'd rather watch us scoring goals on them than what we're currently getting, though.
06-03-2022, 12:50 PM
Don’t quote me on something I didn’t say
You did say definitely though Billy. “Definitely working on some type of player recruitment”. That sounds both emphatic yet a wee bit ambiguous to me.
I know the knives are out for our current regime amongst a lot of Hibbies or even groups, but if going public, as one or two are doing on here, then the facts would be the best things aired.
06-03-2022, 12:51 PM
You did say definitely though Billy. “Definitely working on some type of player recruitment”. That sounds both emphatic yet a wee bit ambiguous to me.
I know the knives are out for our current regime amongst a lot of Hibbies or even groups, but if going public, as one or two are doing on here, then the facts would be the best things aired.
I never said he was HOR, but did say he was working behind the scenes
06-03-2022, 12:51 PM
I enjoyed aiding in the installation of them very much :greengrin. I'd rather watch us scoring goals on them than what we're currently getting, though.
:greengrin Not a clueless move then.
06-03-2022, 12:52 PM
I never said he was HOR, but did say he was working behind the scenes
No, you said he was definitely working on some type of player recruitment. That doesn’t make him the jannie does it.
In 147 years the match day experience was fine. I'd not heard many complaints. I'd go behind the goals if I had time, bought a pie and bovril if I wanted one, watched the warm up, the first half, either the subs on the pitch, the 10 second challenge or local bairns playing while chatting to the ST holders around me that I've got to know over the years , watched the 2nd half then headed home. It wasn't broken imo.
sadtom
06-03-2022, 12:53 PM
Most importantly I would like to wish Sue all the best. For several years my twin boys (and my daughter to a lesser extent) attended numerous football camps in the holidays, been mascots, attended dozens of various events etc. She was always friendly and approachable. Much appreciated Sue.
It’s quite obvious to me that the owner/board have a long term plan. They are trying to do things differently which will take years to fully implement. sometimes they will get it right and sometimes wrong. I am fully in support of the attempts to try and progress the clubs in all spheres.
The decision to empty Sue is probably the first time I have been concerned.
I’m aware that I don’t know the full details behind the decision but at a time when (as some have mentioned) that the club are trying to address a disconnection between the club and the fans. To sack (as that appears to be the case) a long standing stalwart who is clearly well liked by supporters and staff/players alike, who already provides a link between the punters and the club, seems at best counterproductive and at worst really stupid, giving ammunition to the nae sayer’s.
06-03-2022, 12:55 PM
No, you said he was definitely working on some type of player recruitment. That doesn’t make him the jannie does it.
He was, he brought in Mueller.
06-03-2022, 12:56 PM
In 147 years the match day experience was fine. I'd not heard many complaints. I'd go behind the goals if I had time, bought a pie and bovril if I wanted one, watched the warm up, the first half, either the subs on the pitch, the 10 second challenge or local bairns playing while chatting to the ST holders around me that I've got to know over the years , watched the 2nd half then headed home. It wasn't broken imo.
I heard in the 1930s it was really depressing.
06-03-2022, 12:56 PM
There’s always been a few not massively keen on the new regime and it’s only gone downhill since Dempster/Mathie left. I understand it to an extent as there’s been a lot of change (not all good) and a lot of turmoil this season.
They need to get it spot on in the summer to win some folk over. Maloney hasn’t started that well, the signings in January haven’t really done much and we are in real danger of finishing outside the top six.
06-03-2022, 12:58 PM
He was, he brought in Mueller.
You said that too. Was that definitely making it a full time job? If so his success rate isn’t bad for the period, he looks alright.
Hibees1973
06-03-2022, 01:19 PM
What the hell is going on at Hibs.
I did not know Sue, but there are some genuinely concerning posts about why she's left the club. Sue follows a catalogue of other people shown the door.
The club is Ron's baby now and even yesterday's promotion of admission for a fiver will not repair the trust that seems broken between the owner and a substantial element of the Hibs support. Ron does seem to try but it's his competency to run a football club that's in question and appointing inexperienced people to key positions that is damaging.
The club is unrecognisable to the one when Dempster was at the helm. I'd be interested what Pat Stanton has to say. He is still an ambassador at the club and it would be enlightening to find out what he thinks. Maybe Pat has been gagged similar to Sue.
I do not like one bit the way our club is now run. It seems our support is disengaged enough that being knocked out of the cup next week would start an avalanche of poison towards the likes of Gordon, his son & Maloney.
The strange thing is we are still 4th, but most of us know we won't stay there and our league position just now is a reflection of how poor the standard the SPFL has been this year.
I've lost my enthusiasm for the club based on the events of the last 4 months and can only hope we have better and more qualified people at the helm next season.
gaz1875
06-03-2022, 01:31 PM
Who closed the behind the goals? and due to Covid we only recently had fans back in the stadium.
gaz1875
06-03-2022, 01:33 PM
What the hell is going on at Hibs.
I did not know Sue, but there are some genuinely concerning posts about why she's left the club. Sue follows a catalogue of other people shown the door.
The club is Ron's baby now and even yesterday's promotion of admission for a fiver will not repair the trust that seems broken between the owner and a substantial element of the Hibs support. Ron does seem to try but it's his competency to run a football club that's in question and appointing inexperienced people to key positions that is damaging.
The club is unrecognisable to the one when Dempster was at the helm. I'd be interested what Pat Stanton has to say. He is still an ambassador at the club and it would be enlightening to find out what he thinks. Maybe Pat has been gagged similar to Sue.
I do not like one bit the way our club is now run. It seems our support is disengaged enough that being knocked out of the cup next week would start an avalanche of poison towards the likes of Gordon, his son & Maloney.
The strange thing is we are still 4th, but most of us know we won't stay there and our league position just now is a reflection of how poor the standard the SPFL has been this year.
I've lost my enthusiasm for the club based on the events of the last 4 months and can only hope we have better and more qualified people at the helm next season.
It's a good job you never supported them through the bad years!!
06-03-2022, 01:34 PM
Who closed the behind the goals? and due to Covid we only recently had fans back in the stadium.
I'm not sure what your point is. I'm really just saying that singers on the park whether opera or other isn't what I'd call engaging with the fans. I know having watched yesterday's singer my kids (the ones the club should be engaging with massively ) wouldn't have been shouting they wanted to come back next week. Let them think they've a chance of doing a 10 second challenge or playing on the pitch or even just let them enjoy the crowd engagement cheering them on would be what makes their match day better.
06-03-2022, 01:47 PM
I'm beginning to think that there is more off the field politics going on than what we see in the way of action on the park .
And here's me thinking Hibs were a football team.
🙄
Hibees1973
06-03-2022, 01:48 PM
I have supported Hibs for nearly 50 years and seen plenty of bad times.
What's really bothering me is we seem to have the finance to establish ourselves in the top four for a good period of time, similar to the 70's. It's just my opinion but it seems the decision making at the club is clueless.
LewysGot2
06-03-2022, 01:50 PM
An old woman?
She's a working woman in her 50s not the Queen.
gaz1875
06-03-2022, 01:51 PM
I'm not sure what your point is. I'm really just saying that singers on the park whether opera or other isn't what I'd call engaging with the fans. I know having watched yesterday's singer my kids (the ones the club should be engaging with massively ) wouldn't have been shouting they wanted to come back next week. Let them think they've a chance of doing a 10 second challenge or playing on the pitch or even just let them enjoy the crowd engagement cheering them on would be what makes their match day better.
My point was "Behind the Goals" wasn't closed because of RG, and maybe Covid has a big part to play with the kids not being allowed onto the pitch. Not sure how that point wasn't hard to distinguish. Why don't you post in the suggestion to bring back what you are missing, you might even get the reasoning why. Maybe ask them where Leith Lynx has been hiding as well, his absence is a bit concerning to me!!
06-03-2022, 01:53 PM
The yanks adopting their hire and fire attitude over here. It seems nobodies position is safe under RG.
gaz1875
06-03-2022, 01:55 PM
I have supported Hibs for nearly 50 years and seen plenty of bad times.
What's really bothering me is we seem to have the finance to establish ourselves in the top four for a good period of time, similar to the 70's. It's just my opinion but it seems the decision making at the club is clueless.
And we had that finance compared to the majority of the other Scottish teams in the 80's, part of the 90's, 20's and so on but it's just the last 4 months that's getting you concerned?
My point was "Behind the Goals" wasn't closed because of RG, and maybe Covid has a big part to play with the kids not being allowed onto the pitch. Not sure how that point wasn't hard to distinguish. Why don't you post in the suggestion to bring back what you are missing, you might even get the reasoning why. Maybe ask them where Leith Lynx has been hiding as well, his absence is a bit concerning to me!!
You seem to think I'm having a go a RG even though I've said I'm not. I've already covered the kids on the pitch bit. I don't really know how else to put my point over. I think it's been very clear to read and understand.
Sarcasm adds nothing to a debate. I'll leave you to it
gaz1875
06-03-2022, 02:00 PM
The yanks adopting their hire and fire attitude over here. It seems nobodies position is safe under RG.
Is that how it works in the US? :faf: What you do get is rewarded for your efforts and encouraged to progress. Not something I see much in the UK, however, I do see plenty of hire and fire in the building trade, or there was until recently. Now even hopeless workers are being rewarded for failure.
gaz1875
06-03-2022, 02:05 PM
You seem to think I'm having a go a RG even though I've said I'm not. I've already covered the kids on the pitch bit. I don't really know how else to put my point over. I think it's been very clear to read and understand.
Sarcasm adds nothing to a debate. I'll leave you to it
This was your comment to someone having a did at RG "Nail on head. Anybody who thinks an opera singer is a better option than watching local bairns play football on the pitch at half time is pretty disengaged from the fans. I'm feeling less connected as time goes on".
Apologies if I mistook your comment for having a go at RG's running of the club.
06-03-2022, 02:08 PM
Is that how it works in the US? :faf: What you do get is rewarded for your efforts and encouraged to progress. Not something I see much in the UK, however, I do see plenty of hire and fire in the building trade, or there was until recently. Now even hopeless workers are being rewarded for failure.
The minimum wage in the US is $7.25. Not even close to a living wage. You sure that is a country where you get rewarded for your efforts? Its an awful place to work for most people.
This was your comment to someone having a did at RG "Nail on head. Anybody who thinks an opera singer is a better option than watching local bairns play football on the pitch at half time is pretty disengaged from the fans. I'm feeling less connected as time goes on".
Apologies if I mistook your comment for having a go at RG's running of the club.
Apology accepted :aok:
gaz1875
06-03-2022, 02:12 PM
The minimum wage in the US is $7.25. Not even close to a living wage. You sure that is a country where you get rewarded for your efforts? Its an awful place to work for most people.
Not sure where you are getting that figure. If you are referring to restaurants and bars, they use tips as an incentive to boost the lower wage. I will bow to your superior knowledge about working in the US, and tell my family who do work there they are talking rubbish, a guy on hibs.net said so.
06-03-2022, 02:15 PM
To sum up the thread, nobody actually knows what has happened, me included, but I’m going to make some stuff up to look important
May21/05/216
06-03-2022, 02:15 PM
Not sure where you are getting that figure. If you are referring to restaurants and bars, they use tips as an incentive to boost the lower wage. I will bow to your superior knowledge about working in the US, and tell my family who do work there they are talking rubbish, a guy on hibs.net said so.Well said sir
06-03-2022, 02:17 PM
Not sure where you are getting that figure. If you are referring to restaurants and bars, they use tips as an incentive to boost the lower wage. I will bow to your superior knowledge about working in the US, and tell my family who do work there they are talking rubbish, a guy on hibs.net said so.
Its not really my opinion, more based on the strikes, places wanting unions, issues many industries are having getting labour, and yes, the god awful federal minimum wage.
I also have family there so I don't think that argument really beats me. Not what the thread is about at all, though, so lets not worry about it any further.
May21/05/216
06-03-2022, 02:23 PM
To sum up the thread, nobody actually knows what has happened, me included, but I’m going to make some stuff up to look importantI agree its mental some right strange comments on this topic
06-03-2022, 02:34 PM
To sum up the thread, nobody actually knows what has happened, me included, but I’m going to make some stuff up to look important
I think Sue knows, and her Facebook post gives an idea of what has happened.
06-03-2022, 02:44 PM
I've chatted to Sue quite a few times over the years and she's always had the good of our club at the core of everything she does.
I worry a bit when I read of such a stalwart leaving us with what many seem to think is under a bit of a cloud.
I see there was also an implied dig at KP on this matter from another post.
There is a lot of interest in this as Sue was very popular amongst our support. Would it be too much to now ask for some more info from KP on the subject of Sue leaving ?
It would be nice to hear what happened but I doubt we will.
06-03-2022, 02:45 PM
Yip, Sue knows, no-one on here actually knows
06-03-2022, 02:48 PM
To sum up your post, a long standing and much loved member of staff has been sacked and been gagged. Many people have spoken to her and confirmed this but you want to pretend that nobody knows anything to look clever.
06-03-2022, 02:49 PM
McCourt left under a cloud, Mathis left under a cloud, Sue has left under a cloud…there is a pattern emerging from this current regime
06-03-2022, 02:57 PM
To sum up your post, a long standing and much loved member of staff has been sacked and been gagged. Many people have spoken to her and confirmed this but you want to pretend that nobody knows anything to look clever.
She said she’s been sacked now? It’s not an easy process to just sack someone with that length of service.
06-03-2022, 02:59 PM
She said she’s been sacked now? It’s not an easy process to just sack someone with that length of service.
If it was her decision there wouldn’t be a gagging order in place.
06-03-2022, 03:02 PM
Where did I say I was trying to be clever? There are an awful lot of folk on here putting two and two together and getting five. If Sue’s been sacked for no reason, that’s unfair dismissal time
06-03-2022, 03:04 PM
If it was her decision there wouldn’t be a gagging order in place.
Redundancy could be an NDA though?
LewysGot2
06-03-2022, 03:06 PM
She wouldn't have been working yesterday if sacked. She'd have been nowhere near the place. She's left the club but it's clear from her very dignified comment on social media it wasn't her choice.
Everything else is speculation...
06-03-2022, 03:08 PM
Redundancy could be an NDA though?
True and maybe she was made redundant but it seems from her Facebook post it’s not what she wanted.
She wouldn't have been working yesterday if sacked. She'd have been nowhere near the place. She's left the club but it's clear from her very dignified comment on social media it wasn't her choice.
:agree: you don’t get sacked then continue working.
True and maybe she was made redundant but it seems from her Facebook post it’s not what she wanted.
Makes the most sense to me.
06-03-2022, 03:09 PM
:agree: you don’t get sacked then continue working.
Yes that’s right, I’m wrong to say she was sacked.
06-03-2022, 03:11 PM
McCourt left under a cloud, Mathis left under a cloud, Sue has left under a cloud…there is a pattern emerging from this current regime
Johnny has left now? I’m not liking this pattern.
06-03-2022, 03:13 PM
An old woman?
She's a working woman in her 50s not the Queen.
I'm sure she'll be happy with that age estimation! :wink:
06-03-2022, 03:16 PM
It’s pretty much her age.
06-03-2022, 03:17 PM
Johnny has left now? I’m not liking this pattern.
I am! :greengrin
06-03-2022, 03:18 PM
It’s pretty much her age.
I thought she was ages with me or older.
06-03-2022, 03:19 PM
I am! :greengrin
You’ve no taste though and your not in your 50s either :wink:
06-03-2022, 03:19 PM
I thought she was ages with me or older.
She’s younger than me so that’s you ****ed.
06-03-2022, 03:24 PM
Yes that’s right, I’m wrong to say she was sacked.
My point exactly, only Sue knows what has happened, everyone else is, at best, guessing
DIXIHIBS
06-03-2022, 03:44 PM
Sue is in her 50s. Good luck telling her shes older than that!!
06-03-2022, 03:46 PM
Sue is in her 50s. Good luck telling her shes older than that!!
My mistake.
06-03-2022, 03:55 PM
From what I gather, Sue has been made redundant rather than being sacked. There is a big difference between the two. I think she’ll have a confidentiality clause which isn’t too unusual, calling it a googling order makes it sound far more sinister than it is.
06-03-2022, 03:57 PM
From what I gather, Sue has been made redundant rather than being sacked. There is a big difference between the two. I think she’ll have a confidentiality clause which isn’t too unusual, calling it a googling order makes it sound far more sinister than it is.
Does she have to use Yahoo now?
06-03-2022, 04:27 PM
Does she have to use Yahoo now?
I’m going to make my ******* phone redundant.
Whose idea was it to make a phone that decides you wanted a different word from the one you typed? That person needs a punch in the puss.
06-03-2022, 04:32 PM
Whose idea was it to make a phone that decides you wanted a different word from the one you typed? That person needs a punch in the puss.
06-03-2022, 04:32 PM
I don’t do Facebook but had a look at my wife’s Facebook but can’t see what Sue has said.
Any chance you can give a wee insight to what has been said.
hibeg
06-03-2022, 04:34 PM
Greg was StGiles from before they met. He was a great lad sadly missed.
Indeed S , I’m defo mixing people up. Of course Sue was EW, jeez I travelled on the bus for years in the 70s and early 80s and Sue was always there.
Great Hibee !
I've worked for 3 U. S. Corporations, what you get from them is the opportunity to succeed and be well paid for it, you also get let go if you don't hit the mark.
LewysGot2
06-03-2022, 04:43 PM
It's right though 😉
She started volunteering with the club at a very young age.
LewysGot2
06-03-2022, 04:46 PM
I've worked for 3 U. S. Corporations, what you get from them is the opportunity to succeed and be well paid for it, you also get let go if you don't hit the mark.
Except this isn't remotely close to that is it. Hibs don't pay well and our Community Foundation is hardly the bedrock of capitalist ventures. From every angle it appears she got that bit spot on. Enough for Super John, Lewis, Dylan, Scotty and others to tweet their dismay at her departure.
Perhaps not but what exactly was her role at ER.? To be honest I've never heard of her and I wonder how many others fall into that category.
06-03-2022, 05:01 PM
I've never heard of Sue either. Was it her post that was made redundant?
LewysGot2
06-03-2022, 05:09 PM
Perhaps not but what exactly was her role at ER.? To be honest I've never heard of her and I wonder how many others fall into that category.
She ran Hibs Kids for years, Hibs community coaching sessions and camps, organised the Scottish Cup tour in 2016.
Was match day host for mascots, youth teams etc every home game. Literally on the pitch every home game.
06-03-2022, 05:10 PM
Didn't want to leave and wasn't sacked?
Just like Lennon.
06-03-2022, 05:15 PM
Even by the standards of this site this thread has taken a weird turn.
06-03-2022, 05:18 PM
Even by the standards of this site this thread has taken a weird turn.
Aye, even by those standards.
allmodcons
06-03-2022, 05:32 PM
She ran Hibs Kids for years, Hibs community coaching sessions and camps, organised the Scottish Cup tour in 2016.
Was match day host for mascots, youth teams etc every home game. Literally on the pitch every home game.
Must have missed her in the 40+ years I went to ER. Wish her well, the old saying one door closes and another opens.
06-03-2022, 06:04 PM
I've never heard of Sue either. Was it her post that was made redundant?
I think I'm right in saying it's always the post that's made redundant and not the person.
You can't replace the post for a minimum of six months but companies usually get round this by tweaking the job description and changing the title.
The dalmeny
06-03-2022, 06:33 PM
Involved all the way back to ‘Hands off Hibs’, have a look at Kenny Millars tweet has a wee vid the club did a while ago.
06-03-2022, 06:42 PM
Can you tag me in this FB post please J as I can’t find it?
06-03-2022, 06:48 PM
I think I'm right in saying it's always the post that's made redundant and not the person.
You can't replace the post for a minimum of six months but companies usually get round this by tweaking the job description and changing the title.
Did Ron not do that recently with Alan Marshall ? Heard from a colleague that Ron has looked at all the club roles and decided that a fair few could be combined or done away with to save money. Sue was/is a club mainstay and really sad to see her leave - if it's the club's decision then it's a very poor one. She was brilliant on matchdays :aok:
06-03-2022, 06:49 PM
Involved all the way back to ‘Hands off Hibs’, have a look at Kenny Millars tweet has a wee vid the club did a while ago.
It’s also been followed up by individual tweets from the likes of Dylan McGeough, John McGinn and Scott Allan. I remember when Sue got involved at the club and I never looked at it as anything other than a well meaning Hibby (and she is a very good Hibby) doing her bit short term for the Kids. All these years of work, literally decades of it in fact, and all the changes we have seen at Hibs (real changes) and she was still there. Exemplary long serving character and why her farewell isn’t all across those snazzy screens is mind boggling. I heard old Barrie gadgie mutter her name on the PA at one point. Quite extraordinary that this is passing as it is.
I know KP has been referred to up the thread a bit. If you’re still here mate, why is this happening?
06-03-2022, 06:52 PM
Can you the me in this FB post please J as I can’t find it?
Go to Hibs Supporters Group on FB.
Go down to a post from Isabel Combe (about 2 days ago) and you will find Sue's post.
06-03-2022, 06:56 PM
Dylan McGeouch on Twitter: "All the best @coachsue4 .. Absolute legend 💚🙌🏻" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/DMcGeouch/status/1500416334814924802)
Crunchie
06-03-2022, 07:29 PM
Anyone that doesn't know Sue just google her name and Hibs and there's some cracking videos out there of her.
A very emotional one too about when we won the cup and talking about her mum and her jambo dad.
06-03-2022, 07:58 PM
Go to Hibs Supporters Group on FB.
Go down to a post from Isabel Combe (about 2 days ago) and you will find Sue's post.
I must be honest the posts on there really don't make for great reading of the situation and it's really disappointing to read if I'm being honest.
As someone who is approaching my mid-30s I've grown up with Sue McLernon always being part of the club and she's done a power of work to engage with the local community ever since I've been old enough to know who she is.
Whoever's coming in to replace her has big boots to fill and it will be interesting to see which direction the club will take this sort of role going forward.
All the best to Sue, 40 years is fantastic service.
06-03-2022, 08:20 PM
I must be honest the posts on there really don't make for great reading of the situation and it's really disappointing to read if I'm being honest.
As someone who is approaching my mid-30s I've grown up with Sue McLernon always being part of the club and she's done a power of work to engage with the local community ever since I've been old enough to know who she is.
Whoever's coming in to replace her has big boots to fill and it will be interesting to see which direction the club will take this sort of role going forward.
All the best to Sue, 40 years is fantastic service.
She bleeds green & a fantastic servant to the club.
But being in her early 50's there is no way she has anywhere near 40 years service to the club.
hibee
06-03-2022, 08:31 PM
But being in her early 50's there is no way she has anywhere near 40 years service to the club.
Her own post confirming she’s leaving says she started as a volunteer over 40 years ago, not sure why would she make that up?
06-03-2022, 08:51 PM
Her own post confirming she’s leaving says she started as a volunteer over 40 years ago, not sure why would she make that up?
Not going to argue with that. I was just going by someone saying she was early 50's .
06-03-2022, 08:51 PM
Volunteered from age of 14
06-03-2022, 09:02 PM
Volunteered from age of 14
Ball girl?
Stairway 2 7
06-03-2022, 09:11 PM
So is it assumed her roll will be combined into someone else at the clubs job.
LewysGot2
06-03-2022, 09:33 PM
Not going to argue with that. I was just going by someone saying she was early 50's .
50s not early 50s
LewysGot2
06-03-2022, 09:34 PM
So is it assumed her *roll* will be combined into someone else at the clubs job.
Catering probably
Mr. Wonderful
06-03-2022, 09:39 PM
Some astounding takes on here. Whatever happened to just going to the football, talking to your mates about the game and then going back again the following week?
Everyone has to have an intricate and obsessive knowledge of staff members from top to bottom and what goes on behind closed doors and can predict how good or bad this will be for the future of the club. I dunno when that transition happened but its weird.
All the best to Sue, I've no idea what she did for the club but she wasn't going to be around forever either and it's an opportunity for someone else.
06-03-2022, 09:45 PM
Some astounding takes on here. Whatever happened to just going to the football, talking to your mates about the game and then going back again the following week?
Everyone has to have an intricate and obsessive knowledge of staff members from top to bottom and what goes on behind closed doors and can predict how good or bad this will be for the future of the club. I dunno when that transition happened but its weird.
All the best to Sue, I've no idea what she did for the club but she wasn't going to be around forever either and it's an opportunity for someone else.
Thanks for posting that - I was thinking exactly the same.
06-03-2022, 09:51 PM
Agreed. Just because it is a football club doesn't mean it is any different to other walks of life where sadly people and come and go for a variety of reasons.
06-03-2022, 10:03 PM
Amen to that. Don’t know Sue, wish her all the best but I’ll leave the hiring and the firing to the people tasked with running the club. Ultimately their primary objective is producing a successful first XI, that’s what I’m interested in, not really that fussed who washes the shirts, sells the advertising space, man’s the phones etc etc.
That's not what you just do though is it? You post on here about it too. Just like Budge hunting worldwide for a manager, the answer was right under your nose all along - Social Media.
DIXIHIBS
07-03-2022, 07:37 AM
Sue is in her late 50s. Same year at school as me and im nearly 59.
big gogs
07-03-2022, 08:26 AM
Can you explain your statement,hibs don’t pay well.do you have access to the club accounts,or employees bank accounts.
07-03-2022, 08:30 AM
Can you explain your statement,hibs don’t pay well.do you have access to the club accounts,or employees bank accounts.
You see it in the job adverts that get posted.
07-03-2022, 09:31 AM
Quite obvious from the job adverts. 24k for an approved spark with Ipaf and pasma, well below the going rate
big gogs
07-03-2022, 10:19 AM
Quite obvious from the job adverts. 24k for an approved spark with Ipaf and pasma, well below the going rate
Was that full time or part time ,or on match days only.
07-03-2022, 10:22 AM
The thing about that is that if the position is filled then it means that they pitched it at the right level and had probably done their homework with benchmarking the market.
07-03-2022, 11:08 AM
Not really. It means you get someone in the job, likely to be inexperienced or just happy to be there.
Imagine we said we need a striker. The budget's a couple of hundred a week - someone would sign for us no doubt.
Mr. Wonderful
07-03-2022, 11:28 AM
That's not what you just do though is it? You post on here about it too. Just like Budge hunting worldwide for a manager, the answer was right under your nose all along - Social Media.
You are correct of course, but it doesn't explain the mass outrage, predictions of demise and obsession over every single facet of the club.
07-03-2022, 11:34 AM
Not really. It means you get someone in the job, likely to be inexperienced or just happy to be there.
Imagine we said we need a striker. The budget's a couple of hundred a week - someone would sign for us no doubt.
Not really comparable. I know what we as a company pay electricians and for 38 hours it is more than what Hibs are paying. But we are a multi billion pound international blue chip company, Hibs aren't, who also
Ask for more thaN Hibs were, compex for example. So yes we pay more but not that much more and as I say we ask for more qualifications as well
07-03-2022, 11:49 AM
Not really comparable. I know what we as a company pay electricians and for 38 hours it is more than what Hibs are paying. But we are a multi billion pound international blue chip company, Hibs aren't, who also
Ask for more thaN Hibs were, compex for example. So yes we pay more but not that much more and as I say we ask for more qualifications as well A salary, holidays, pension etc are all worth it for some trades people rather than earning more self employed. Hibs aren't that far off what our guys are getting.
07-03-2022, 04:17 PM
Was that full time or part time ,or on match days only.
24k on a match day basis, that would be a decent wage given we will average about 20 games at home per season minus Euro fitbaw.
mokie
07-03-2022, 06:06 PM
McCourt left because the players were told to wash their own gear due to the pandemic,.. His position was made redundant....
Mathie left because he made a complete hoop of the summer window and was sacked............
07-03-2022, 06:08 PM
Being 59 myself and wrecked in her company several times back in the day, I can pretty much assure you that it’s at least 35 years but closer to 40.
Hibiza
07-03-2022, 06:31 PM
Bring back Tam !!!
07-03-2022, 07:24 PM
A salary, holidays, pension etc are all worth it for some trades people rather than earning more self employed. Hibs aren't that far off what our guys are getting.
You get all those things and a much better wage with any sjib registered company. Hibs salary is poor, it simply is.
07-03-2022, 07:41 PM
Being 59 myself and wrecked in her company several times back in the day, I can pretty much assure you that it’s at least 35 years but closer to 40.
Ditto
LewysGot2
07-03-2022, 07:43 PM
The recent job adverts tell you.
07-03-2022, 10:55 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/sue-mclernon-fans-and-players-pay-tribute-as-mrs-hibs-confirms-exit-from-club-3600194
People will come and go. Some may refer to them as staff, employees. They may be right. But for some it’s more than a job. It’s a life, a passion. And they become part of the fabric and “Hibernian family” but maybe that’s not important?
Id hazard a guess we didn’t win the Scottish Cup because players were out for themselves. But because they dug deep cos there was a deeper connection to the club and a team spirit - the club got under their skin, they connected.
Maybe that’s the romanticised version.
But it was the polar opposite of what we saw the with many of the journeymen of 2012. Maybe some of you were there when Scott Lindsay faced the music after that debacle. Buying in to and Caring about the club, whilst not the bee-all and end-all makes a difference Leeann seemed to get that
So let’s hear the Hibs family stories, including the ones with Sue (there will be others). Let’s celebrate them (or not).
I don’t know Sue but seems to me she made a Hibee-world a brighter place a good number of those she met - some of whom maybe never knew her name. That doesn’t diminish what she gave to our club. That doesn’t mean that others cannot come in an take up the baton, improve in different ways. Perhaps some appear to be a wee bit dismissive on this thread?
Maybe we get an AI powered bot in for an online chat with the kids for an introduction to NFTs :)
andyf5
08-03-2022, 05:56 AM
Football clubs have their roots in the community and are more than just a business. At the shareholders AGM one attendee announced he has left his entire estate to Hibs in his will. You don't do that for a gas company. People like Sue and Tam enhance the club IMHO and while many recent changes are improvements I feel disappointed that these people have left, after hearing about the unsung contribution they made. Their contribution should be recognised appropriately.
Col L
08-03-2022, 10:43 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/sue-mclernon-fans-and-players-pay-tribute-as-mrs-hibs-confirms-exit-from-club-3600194
People will come and go. Some may refer to them as staff, employees. They may be right. But for some it’s more than a job. It’s a life, a passion. And they become part of the fabric and “Hibernian family” but maybe that’s not important?
Id hazard a guess we didn’t win the Scottish Cup because players were out for themselves. But because they dug deep cos there was a deeper connection to the club and a team spirit - the club got under their skin, they connected.
Maybe that’s the romanticised version.
Romantic or not, people like Sue and Tam McCourt have been the lifeblood of Hibs - it's always sad when they move on, especially if it's not their choice. I think 2016, and the connection between the team and staff (and community and fans) was proof of a very special time at Hibs.
Go down the pyramid to East of Scotland, Lowland, Juniors, Amateurs etc... it's the same, many of these clubs owe their success to the people behind the scenes doing the less than glamorous jobs, unsung heroes, usually unpaid or low paid, who are embraced as part of their fabric.
If you're short on fitba romance, and becoming a bit cynical in your old age, you should watch the brilliant film 'Marvellous', where Lou Macari appointed a legendary kit man during his time as manager of Stoke.
Coming soon: Tam McCourt the Movie! :flag:
Mr. Wonderful
08-03-2022, 11:01 AM
Football clubs have their roots in the community and are more than just a business. At the shareholders AGM one attendee announced he has left his entire estate to Hibs in his will. You don't do that for a gas company. People like Sue and Tam enhance the club IMHO and while many recent changes are improvements I feel disappointed that these people have left, after hearing about the unsung contribution they made. Their contribution should be recognised appropriately.
For me the myth of us being a community club was a great PR exercise put in place by Dempster but, aside from a few things here and there, the club has been a business the whole time. See Rod using cup final tickets to boost season ticket sales, Dempster and her ticketing woes,plus the nice big bonuses she'd paid herself.
Nothing has significantly changed for me. In fact, football for a fiver and the NHS sponsorship are the best community initiatives we've done in a long time and both were under RG.
08-03-2022, 11:22 AM
For me the myth of us being a community club was a great PR exercise put in place by Dempster but, aside from a few things here and there, the club has been a business the whole time. See Rod using cup final tickets to boost season ticket sales, Dempster and her ticketing woes,plus the nice big bonuses she'd paid herself.
Nothing has significantly changed for me. In fact, football for a fiver and the NHS sponsorship are the best community initiatives we've done in a long time and both were under RG.
Well said.
What about when Sue (and others) spent months travelling round the country at all times of the day and evening with the Scottish Cup to make sure as many people got to see it, have pictures and celebrate as possible? I know they were exhausted and on their knees by the end of it. They did that for the hibs community.
Spot on, people are interested in the 1st team on the park winning games, all the rest is secondary.
Mr. Wonderful
08-03-2022, 07:10 PM
What about when Sue (and others) spent months travelling round the country at all times of the day and evening with the Scottish Cup to make sure as many people got to see it, have pictures and celebrate as possible? I know they were exhausted and on their knees by the end of it. They did that for the hibs community.
A great initiative that I'm sure many enjoyed but in all honestly it was more about promoting the club, not helping the community.
100% wrong. How is taking the trophy round the country to supporters clubs promoting the club and not supporting the hibs community? You obviously didn't get the buzz and excitement of a pic with that cup and it coming to you.
The dalmeny
08-03-2022, 07:29 PM
key words - Hibs community
The Hibernian Community Foundation, the community arm of the football club, was there long before LD arrived. She raised its profile and encouraged it to do more for the Hibs and local community.
Mr. Wonderful
08-03-2022, 09:06 PM
key words - Hibs community
Thats very self serving. All about boosting the clubs coffers via attendances and merch, being a real community club is about much more than that, and should spread wider than solely to the hibs community.
The club is a business, always has been and always will be. You can pretend it wasn't at one point if it helps you to overcome the fact that you fell for a PR trick if you want.
08-03-2022, 09:14 PM
Hibs Community have done a huge amount of work over the last 8 or so year and probably before then. The idea that an NHS sponsor on the strip was the highlight is frankly ridiculous and I’m really wondering if people pay any attention to our club anymore.
Hulk1875
08-03-2022, 09:16 PM
Thats very self serving. All about boosting the clubs coffers via attendances and merch, being a real community club is about much more than that, and should spread wider than solely to the hibs community.
The club is a business, always has been and always will be. You can pretend it wasn't at one point if it helps you to overcome the fact that you fell for a PR trick if you want.
My wee boy who’s 7 has played at hearts fc expo which has been at astro behind tynie few times. At weekend there it was Oriam they invite clubs that will not play eachother often or never, so hibs do things like this? They possibly do and my sons club doesn’t get invite
08-03-2022, 09:19 PM
You’ve got me thinking now - Do cynics ever get pleasantly surprised ?
Mr. Wonderful
08-03-2022, 09:26 PM
My wee boy who’s 7 has played at hearts fc expo which has been at astro behind tynie few times. At weekend there it was Oriam they invite clubs that will not play eachother often or never, so hibs do things like this? They possibly do and my sons club doesn’t get invite
I don't have answer to that specific question but I haven't heard of any hibs related work in that department for a long time, whereas I've seen plenty of hearts related events similar to the one you mention posted by parents on social media
Hulk1875
08-03-2022, 09:28 PM
I don't have answer to that specific question but I haven't heard of any hibs related work in that department for a long time, whereas I've seen plenty of hearts related events posted by parents on social media
The lad that seemed like main guy was just like let kids play no shouting to drive, pass or whatever I want them coming with a smile and leaving with a smile and they all did, kids at that age just wanna play and have fun and it Would be good to see hibs organise these things aswell
Mr. Wonderful
09-03-2022, 11:15 AM
100% wrong. How is taking the trophy round the country to supporters clubs promoting the club and not supporting the hibs community? You obviously didn't get the buzz and excitement of a pic with that cup and it coming to you.
The ultimate goal was to keep the cup final buzz going and boost sales of tickets, shirts, dvds and other merch. There was no tangible benefit to the wider community other than making some supporters happy. The idea of a trophy tour isn't unique either, Hearts did it after both of their most recent cup wins.
Blinkered .
Mr. Wonderful
09-03-2022, 01:43 PM
Blinkered .
Interesting and informative response. Thanks
09-03-2022, 03:52 PM
Out of interest, was there someone in this role before sue? I was never in the hibs kids etc as im one of only a couple of hibs fans in the family so dont really know much about the role
09-03-2022, 05:25 PM
Out of interest, was there someone in this role before sue? I was never in the hibs kids etc as im one of only a couple of hibs fans in the family so dont really know much about the role
Willie McEwan used to do it on the 90’s. Sue did a lot more than just Hibs kids though
12-03-2022, 10:21 PM
Willie McEwan used to do it on the 90’s. Sue did a lot more than just Hibs kids though
It'll probably take two folk to do her job now, Billy.
Greenio
13-03-2022, 04:01 AM
You can do both surely?
Greenio
13-03-2022, 04:03 AM
Building connections between a club and the community. Inspiring kids to get involved in sport. Giving them role models to believe in?
I think that is if benefit to the community no?
13-03-2022, 06:56 AM
Interesting and informative response. Thanks
What’s J.S supposed to say? You come across very cynical at the idea of community involvement from a football club, something that brought the Scottish cup to thousands of Hibs fans was just a clever ploy to sell more shirts and DVD’s?
Johnny Clash
13-03-2022, 09:23 AM
I’ve known Sue since school days at Leithy and afterwards when my kids were mascots. You couldn’t get a more dedicated ambassador for Hibs. None of us know the details due to the gagging NDA but from what’s previously been posted, it looks like Sue’s been forced out. To lose your job is never easy but to lose a job you have been so committed to and have dedicated so much of your working life to must be very painful. I just hope she had proper representation from a trade union to help her.
w pilton hibby
08-04-2022, 07:08 AM
'Mrs Hibs' Sue McLernon lands new role with Hanlon Stevenson Foundation
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/mrs-hibs-sue-mclernon-lands-new-role-with-hanlon-stevenson-foundation-3645910
08-04-2022, 07:14 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/mrs-hibs-sue-mclernon-lands-new-role-with-hanlon-stevenson-foundation-3645910
Good news. I think she will be a great appointment
08-04-2022, 07:50 AM
Building connections between a club and the community. Inspiring kids to get involved in sport. Giving them role models to believe in?
I think that is if benefit to the community no?
Absolutely is.
hibeg
08-04-2022, 08:34 AM
Excellent news
Also notice Sue has been given a life time Season Ticket from Hibs, well deserved
Highwayman
08-04-2022, 03:06 PM
Excellent news
Also notice Sue has been given a life time Season Ticket from Hibs, well deserved
Great news.
Not sure if Sue was totally joking when she said she wasn’t sure if the life time ST was a perk or a punishment.
08-04-2022, 03:37 PM
Excellent news
That’s nice.