View Full Version : Firhill for thrills?
Not. This has been a kind of Scottish football saying for as long as i can remember.
However.
I cant mind the last time i was ever “thrilled” watching Partick at home.
This saying needs ended and i’m ending it.
04-03-2022, 07:20 PM
“Easter Road to Shoot Your Load”.
Updated that for the 21st century for you.
“Easter Road to Shoot Your Load”.
Updated that for the 21st century for you.Lol now there never was any such like saying for ourselves so be fair.
Ricky Bobby
04-03-2022, 07:27 PM
Would Thistle be allowed to play on that pitch if they were in the top flight?
04-03-2022, 07:27 PM
Not. This has been a kind of Scottish football saying for as long as i can remember.
However.
League Cup penalty shoot-out when Jim Leighton was the hero. Also clinching the Championship there against Accies.
It’s more about Partick really though is what i’m getting at.
04-03-2022, 07:39 PM
Tynecastle for *****
hibby rae
04-03-2022, 07:56 PM
However.
They put 6 past Hamilton one Friday night this season. That was good fun.
04-03-2022, 08:00 PM
App saying 1-0 Partick.
TV says 0-0.
Don’t think they’d be ground sharing if they were
They put 6 past Hamilton one Friday night this season. That was good fun.
Wasnt at Firhill
04-03-2022, 08:31 PM
Remember being there in 1972 for a Scottish Cup tie 21000 fans crammed inside the ground and the advertising boards said ‘Firhill for Thrills’ and I believed them
The greens won 2-0 with goals from Alan Gordon and Erich Schaedler in good old fashioned end to end cup encounter
green with envy
04-03-2022, 09:15 PM
I remember being there on a Wednesday night Circa '78 when they hammered us 6-0. TBF, I've had more good memories than bad since my first time attending in the mid 70s.
davhibby
04-03-2022, 09:18 PM
It’s only that bad because they stupidly allowed Queen’s Park to play there as well this season. Don’t think they’ll be making that mistake again
04-03-2022, 09:22 PM
However.
Those of a certain age will remember the advert on the wall around Partick's pitch which proclaimed:
'Firhill for thrills, Johnson's for rolls.'
MKHIBEE
05-03-2022, 08:06 AM
Those of a certain age will remember the advert on the wall around Partick's pitch which proclaimed:
'Firhill for thrills, Johnson's for rolls.'
I was under the impression it was Johnsons for pies but happy to be corrected
05-03-2022, 08:24 AM
McGhee’s for pies according to Aidan Smith in the Scotsman 😀
Bradford
05-03-2022, 09:45 AM
McGhee’s for pies according to Aidan Smith in the Scotsman 😀
Definitely Johnsons for rolls.
05-03-2022, 12:34 PM
Definitely Johnsons for rolls.
Yes but no but..........!
Yes but no but.........!
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/aidan-smith-shouldnt-firhills-name-be-protected-1439884
06-03-2022, 04:13 PM
Was at a game there when we played them in the cup, it went to penalties and we went through thanks to some great saves by Leighton. It was a great game, back in the 90's I think. Might've been a quarter final?
06-03-2022, 04:18 PM
Firhill, was a great away day when it was the bus from St Andrew's square to most of the away grounds in Scotland at the time, Glesgie was a wee bit different as most places were to be fair. it was a good size ground and we usually took a good support through to the west.
:greengrin:greengrin
scm70nyd1973
06-03-2022, 04:37 PM
However.
Firhill was the closest ground to me when I lived in Glasgow (Bearsden) as a boy - used to go to random games coz my dad took me. Wasn’t so thrilled when I was hit on the napper by a ball bearing chucked by a Hun - mind you I was wearing my HIBS Tammy at the time so I might have been a decent target - only about 8 at the time 🤭
06-03-2022, 05:57 PM
I remember being there on a Wednesday night Circa '78 when they hammered us 6-0. TBF, I've had more good memories than bad since my first time attending in the mid 70s.
79. It was cup final season if I’m recalling right.
06-03-2022, 06:01 PM
Was it not Morton’s for rolls? I remember an advert in programmes with a horse having ‘a good roll in the morning’....
green with envy
07-03-2022, 09:15 AM
79. It was cup final season if I’m recalling right.
Yep... '78-'79 season. :rolleyes:
07-03-2022, 09:20 AM
IIRC, it was shortly before the final. Possibly the last game.I remember being anxious about what it meant for the final, but my cynical auld Dad told me that the players were just saving themselves. 😊
07-03-2022, 09:26 AM
It was 6-1. I was there and we scored at 6-0.
My mate shouted in all seriousness, "Come on Hibs, there's still time"! :hilarious
07-03-2022, 10:43 AM
Remember being there in 1972 for a Scottish Cup tie 21000 fans crammed inside the ground and the advertising boards said ‘Firhill for Thrills’ and I believed them
The greens won 2-0 with goals from Alan Gordon and Erich Schaedler in good old fashioned end to end cup encounter
my first ever away game. remember it well, especially that goal from Erich... :thumbsup:
07-03-2022, 10:55 AM
Halcyon days
Fitba was different then
07-03-2022, 11:04 AM
Halcyon days
Fitba was different then
https://youtu.be/FYgXSurRHuQ
MKHIBEE
07-03-2022, 01:20 PM
Was it not Morton’s for rolls? I remember an advert in programmes with a horse having ‘a good roll in the morning’....
Where I grew up it was always Johnsons for pies and rolls, they were the best around. Never heard of Morton’s, not for rolls anyway
07-03-2022, 02:42 PM
The period I remember 'Firhill for thrills, Johnson's for rolls' was between the early and late 60s.
Dont know how good the rolls were :)
07-03-2022, 06:12 PM
Where I grew up it was always Johnsons for pies and rolls, they were the best around. Never heard of Morton’s, not for rolls anyway
Since 1965.
https://mortonsrolls.com/
I’ll dig out the advert I spoke about if I can be arsed.
07-03-2022, 06:13 PM
07-03-2022, 06:14 PM
Since 1965.
https://mortonsrolls.com/
I’ll dig out the advert I spoke about if I can be arsed.
I can vouch for these.
Solid morning rolls amongst many poor modern-day versions of rolls.
07-03-2022, 06:21 PM
I can vouch for these.
Solid morning rolls amongst many poor modern-day versions of rolls.
Naw ,prefer soft morning rolls !!:greengrin
C'mon the Harry Wraggs!!
Old nickname back in the day, after a famous horse racing jockey.
Also been known as Plastic Whistle