View Full Version : Alan Anderson RIP

02-03-2022, 01:39 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.com/sport/football/60586531.amp

02-03-2022, 01:44 PM
Was a player I would have liked to have seen in a Hibs Strip.

Bobo
02-03-2022, 01:45 PM
Sad news, RIP, he was a good servant to Hearts.

I remember his sports shop on Gorgie Road, just along from White Park, I used to go in there as a kid.

02-03-2022, 01:57 PM
Was a player I would have liked to have seen in a Hibs Jersey.

Yes indeed. Rumours were around then too;_)

Hearts spine of Cruickshank,Anderson and Ford in Hibs jerseys !

Very much admired by other teams fans .
Wonderful player and servant to Hearts.

Condolences

RIP Alan Anderson

02-03-2022, 02:16 PM
Was a good player. Am I right in thinking he owned a pub in Infirmary Street (or near by) called The Pivot?

RIP big fella

02-03-2022, 02:20 PM
Was a good player. Am I right in thinking he owned a pub in Infirmary Street (or near by) called The Pivot?

RIP big fellayes he did have the pivot. Also he was a decent centre half but in a poor hearts team mostly over his career. RIP

02-03-2022, 02:34 PM
Decent centre half, and good servant to the Hearts.

02-03-2022, 02:35 PM
Interested to read that his full name was Arthur Alan Duncan Anderson and that even although he was a Leither he supported Hearts and was a tremendous servant to them playing 200 of his 352 games as Captain

RIP Big Man

Sincerest deepest condolences to family and friends

02-03-2022, 02:43 PM
Very much a Hearts stalwart back in the day. Great servant to the club. RIP.

02-03-2022, 02:44 PM

RIP big fella

Yep. Now the Royal Oak. Sold it to a Jambo pal of mine.

IIRC also had the Wheatsheaf and another one on Preston Street.

02-03-2022, 02:51 PM
Yep. Now the Royal Oak. Sold it to a Jambo pal of mine.

IIRC also had the Wheatsheaf and another one on Preston Street.

02-03-2022, 02:55 PM

Is that what Drouthy Neebors used to be?

02-03-2022, 03:13 PM
H
Interested to read that his full name was Arthur Alan Duncan Anderson and that even although he was a Leither he supported Hearts and was a tremendous servant to them playing 200 of his 352 games as Captain

RIP Big Man

Came from Pitt Street in Leith.

He's here!
02-03-2022, 03:25 PM
Too young to have seen him play but I remember the name from when I was kid.

Did he play in the 7-0 game?

02-03-2022, 03:28 PM

Pretty sure he did.

02-03-2022, 03:35 PM

RIP Big Man

Yes Billy ,I too noticed his other forenames.

Flyer Anderson ! Nijinsky Anderson !

I mind after the seven zero game,somebody saying, "Alan Anderson is a Hibby"
To which someone piped up "The whole Hearts team that day are now Hibby's"
But most certainly Hibs fans back then,me included, would have loved Alan to play for us .

02-03-2022, 03:35 PM
Pretty sure he did.

https://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/197301011.html

02-03-2022, 03:38 PM
RIP Alan Anderson. Seemed to be a fixture in the Hearts team when I started going to games

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

02-03-2022, 03:38 PM
Is that what Drouthy Neebors used to be?

Yeah and he hated being reminded of the 0-7 but took it in good spirit.
He was struggling with Alzheimer’s in his later life

02-03-2022, 03:40 PM
Pretty sure he did.

He did as did J Jefferies

SON OF PADDY
02-03-2022, 03:47 PM
Yeah and he hated being reminded of the 0-7 but took it in good spirit.
He was struggling with Alzheimer’s in his later life

His Daughter is a friend of my wife, it's been a very difficult time for the family these past few years.
RIP Alan

02-03-2022, 03:52 PM

You can see him desperately chasing and failing to catch King Pat for our 6th. Good guy who played at a time when both teams were full of local boys and supporters of their team.

02-03-2022, 03:56 PM
He had a good career -Falkirk,Sc thorpe ,Millwall and then Hearts. That Hearts team had only lost 4 goals in the league at Tynecastle until the 7-0.

02-03-2022, 03:58 PM
I lived in Pitt Street when I was young, I’m sure he lived round the corner in Trafalgar Lane. RIP Alan

02-03-2022, 05:02 PM
Condolences, Alan was a good big player for them for many years.

02-03-2022, 05:20 PM
That era we had our own Paddy and with Alan Anderson, John Grieg and Billy McNeill every side seemed to have their leader.
RIP.

02-03-2022, 05:21 PM

Think it’s the Royal Oak mate. Infirmary Street.

02-03-2022, 05:27 PM
RIP Alan

02-03-2022, 05:35 PM
Think it’s the Royal Oak mate. Infirmary Street.

Royal Oak was renamed the pivot the falcon was at the bottom of west Preston st . I should know was in there the day after my daughters birth also the day the
The first derby after the Mercer takeover bid hospital or game .
Game it was

02-03-2022, 05:55 PM
He was a good player for them, and by all accounts a good old fashioned down to earth guy.

02-03-2022, 06:01 PM
Royal Oak was renamed the pivot the falcon was at the bottom of west Preston st . I should know was in there the day after my daughters birth also the day the
The first derby after the Mercer takeover bid hospital or game .
Game it was

Don’t know anything about The Falcon not sure what started that, I never mentioned it, we are clearly in different streets.. I was parked outside the Pivot yesterday on Infirmary Street and it said Royal Oak above the door. I reckon that’s what it’s called.

Here you go...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Royal_Oak,_Edinburgh

Anyway, back to Alan Anderson.....

02-03-2022, 06:08 PM
Don’t know anything about The Falcon not sure what started that, I never mentioned it, we are clearly in different streets.. I was parked outside the Pivot yesterday on Infirmary Street and it said Royal Oak above the door. I reckon that’s what it’s called.

Here you go...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Royal_Oak,_Edinburgh

Anyway, back to Alan Anderson.....

Went from oak to pivot back to oak but does it really matter Mon the Hibs

andudare2
03-03-2022, 03:45 PM
Is that what Drouthy Neebors used to be?certainly was ,he had both Pivot and Falcon,think he also had Wheatsheaf at one time as well.

03-03-2022, 06:22 PM
That era we had our own Paddy and with Alan Anderson, John Grieg and Billy McNeill every side seemed to have their leader.
RIP.
I really loved watching football in those days, maybe because I'm older it doesn't have the same appeal now.
Condolences to the Anderson family.

Crunchie
04-03-2022, 04:45 AM

RIP Big Man

Hear Hear, RIP AA.

04-03-2022, 05:56 AM
His Daughter is a friend of my wife, it's been a very difficult time for the family these past few years.
RIP Alan

Sorry to hear that the family have had a difficult time.

Hearts had a really good team, playing good football in Alan's era and I'd often go with my late pal when Hibs weren't playing, [although Hibs were exceptional for much of that time]. While, almost every season, Hibs played in European competitions, Hearts [amongst others] did Scottish football proud with their exploits in the then popular, Texaco Cup.

I miss the friendly rivalry of that era and being able to go with a pal to watch "the other" Edinburgh team, there was still the same mad desire to gain bragging rights, but not with the intense hatred of today.

R.I.P to a good man and a Hearts legend.

04-03-2022, 05:59 AM

Hearts had a really good team, playing good football in Alan's era and I'd often go with my late pal when Hibs weren't playing, [although Hibs were exceptional for much of that time]. While, almost every season, Hibs played in European competitions, Hearts [amongst others] did Scottish football proud with their exploits in the then popular, Texaco Cup.

I miss the friendly rivalry of that era and being able to go with a pal to watch "the other" Edinburgh team, there was still the same mad desire to gain bragging rights, but not with the intense hatred of today.

Well said couldn't agree more.

04-03-2022, 07:23 AM
I can remember him from the fitba cards in the herts style ajax top

DanishJohn
04-03-2022, 10:07 AM
I thought I would just share a little bit on Alan Anderson.

The pub that Alan owned on Infirmary Street was called the Pivot. I knew Hearts guys that travelled on the Hearts bus that left from there.
My auntie for a while was the early morning cleaner and I always remember her saying he was a gentleman.
If you go on google and type in Alan Anderson Hearts FC go into images. There is a nice photo of Alan behind the bar of the pivot and he is serving Eddie Thompson (his central defence partner) and Willie Woodburn (ex Rangers centre half from the 50's and Edinburgh man). Sorry I am a dinosaur so don't know how to lodge it here.
Can you spot Lawrie Reilly in the mural?

As the years went on and things changed. I don't know when the Pivot became the Oak. I do know a property next door became a pub called Stiffs and was owned by Kenny McLean.

Back in the 70's I used to drink in a pub called The Grange Tavern AKA Kellys. Owned by another great Hibs man Denis Kelly. This boozer was just round the corner from Longmore Hospital at Salisbury place.
Again years marched on and then one time in the 90's (I think) I popped in and it was then owned by Alan Anderson. I got to know him really well and he treated you not just as a customer but as a friend. He was very generous with his time. He told me great stories from playing for the Hearts. Told me about being a Leith laddie and being brought up as a Hearts fan by his dad. I'm smiling now thinking about what he told me about the 7 nil game. When the Hearts players trudged into the dressing room at half time Alan says he knew they (Hearts) were being massacred tactically. He was looking for words of wisdom from Bobby Seith. They were all told to gather round and listen carefully.
Alan's face then screwed up a bit at this point......."All he told us to do was to go out there and keep oor heids up!"

I remember one time we were talking about when he owned the Pivot. I mentioned how my auntie was his early morning cleaner. He then said " Was that wee Cathy ?"
I was blown away how he could remember her but he went on to say he knew she was a widow and he always tried to help her out. A kind hearted man.

When HSL were organising an event to honour Pat Stanton at ER all of the Tornadoes team were invited and they all came. It was also felt it would be nice if a few of Pat's opponents from back in the day were also invited. Contact was made through Alan's wife if it would be possible for Alan to attend. She explained about his health issues but thought it would be lovely if he could attend. She was so touched by what HSL did for Alan. On the day itself you could see the effects of the horrible illness. However it was a great day and Alan was cherished as a member from everyone's football past. Alan didn't say very much but when the stories started about the 7 nil game he just pipped up and said "Aye Right"

I once read that Evertonians used to think that Brian Labone (centre half) was a Corinthian in stature. Alan Anderson was the same and then some!

I don't know any details about a funeral but I would hope that the HSL guys and the Hibs remember a great foe and a great man.

I hope some of the Sunshine on Leith shines on one of Leith's finest.

04-03-2022, 10:11 AM

The pub that Alan owned on Infirmary Street was called the Pivot. I knew Hearts guys that travelled on the Hearts bus that left from there.
My auntie for a while was the early morning cleaner and I always remember her saying he was a gentleman.
If you go on google and type in Alan Anderson Hearts FC go into images. There is a nice photo of Alan behind the bar of the pivot and he is serving Eddie Thompson (his central defence partner) and Willie Woodburn (ex Rangers centre half from the 50's and Edinburgh man). Sorry I am a dinosaur so don't know how to lodge it here.

As the years went on and things changed. I don't know when the Pivot became the Oak. I do know a property next door became a pub called Stiffs and was owned by Kenny McLean.

Back in the 70's I used to drink in a pub called The Grange Tavern AKA Kellys. Owned by another great Hibs man Denis Kelly. This boozer was just round the corner from Longmore Hospital at Salisbury place.
Again years marched on and then one time in the 90's (I think) I popped in and it was then owned by Alan Anderson. I got to know him really well and he treated you not just as a customer but as a friend. He was very generous with his time. He told me great stories from playing for the Hearts. Told me about being a Leith laddie and being brought up as a Hearts fan by his dad. I'm smiling now thinking about what he told me about the 7 nil game. When the Hearts players trudged into the dressing room at half time Alan says he knew they (Hearts) were being massacred tactically. He was looking for words of wisdom from Bobby Seith. They were all told to gather round and listen carefully.
Alan's face then screwed up a bit at this point......."All he told us to do was to go out there and keep oor heids up!"

I remember one time we were talking about when he owned the Pivot. I mentioned how my auntie was his early morning cleaner. He then said " Was that wee Cathy ?"
I was blown away how he could remember her but he went on to say he knew she was a widow and he always tried to help her out. A kind hearted man.

When HSL were organising an event to honour Pat Stanton at ER all of the Tornadoes team were invited and they all came. It was also felt it would be nice if a few of Pat's opponents from back in the day were also invited. Contact was made through Alan's wife if it would be possible for Alan to attend. She explained about his health issues but thought it would be lovely if he could attend. She was so touched by what HSL did for Alan. On the day itself you could see the effects of the horrible illness. However it was a great day and Alan was cherished as a member from everyone's football past. Alan didn't say very much but when the stories started about the 7 nil game he just pipped up and said "Aye Right"

I once read that Evertonians used to think that Brian Labone (centre half) was a Corinthian in stature. Alan Anderson was the same and then some!

I don't know any details about a funeral but I would hope that the HSL guys and the Hibs remember a great foe and a great man.

Brilliant post thanks for sharing. Shows the character of the man. RIP

04-03-2022, 10:38 AM

Brilliant tribute

04-03-2022, 10:40 AM

👏👏

leith lynx
04-03-2022, 10:54 AM
Brilliant post thanks for sharing. Shows the character of the man. RIP

Yes, well done Danishjohn. Alan Anderson, a good Leither RIP.

04-03-2022, 01:27 PM

Great post, I love reading these stories. You cant beat a bit nostalgia

04-03-2022, 02:10 PM

Seemed a lovely man
You should write a book with some of the memories you have

04-03-2022, 03:48 PM

Is this the picture

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220304/7f4bedbd9df03e5e6883acfb83c3041d.jpg

7Hero
04-03-2022, 11:06 PM
Alan was an outspoken critic of the old firm and stood up for Edinburgh football, a fantastic player and man... I was lucky to know Alan and the family a great loss...

Details on the funeral...

https://announcements.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/person/alan-anderson/ef5b78a5-86dd-43fc-aa67-34e3cfbc541c?notice=bbeb0821-4c3a-4b44-a1f8-f69bbdbfcf2a

Crunchie
05-03-2022, 07:23 AM

Great post mate :aok: back in the day when you could go the games with your pals no matter who they supported.