View Full Version : We're dealing with human beings, not robots'

Percy Vere
24-02-2022, 07:18 PM
Message from Ben Kensell in EEN regarding the boos aimed at James Scott and Drey Wright.

There are a minority of so called fans who seem to revel in criticising, demonising and generally moaning about Hibs players, Hibs managers, coaches, owners.
And admittedly sometimes there’s definitely things to be upset about. But it needs to be constructive and it needs to be as a supporter. That’s what we are here to do, support the team on the pitch, encourage them to do better, get results.
But it’s an absolute embarrassment when players are booed coming off even worse when they come on! Beggars belief.
I’m just asking for folk to remember that we support a great club and it’s all of our jobs to uphold that proud tradition. GGTTH

24-02-2022, 07:19 PM
Well said. Agree with him completely
Wait till we drive them out, loads will be so proud.

24-02-2022, 07:25 PM
Interesting one to navigate.

But if someone _abuses_ their own team’s player(s) perhaps the spotlight should be on them?
And perhaps the unstated call may be to take such folks to task? If folks such as those make it intolerable for those around them perhaps they should think not of the player (which they clearly don’t) but their fellow supporters?

24-02-2022, 07:27 PM
I've yet to be convinced by Ben, but I'm warming to him as I agree with this.

24-02-2022, 07:35 PM
Message from Ben Kensell in EEN regarding the boos aimed at James Scott and Drey Wright.

There are a minority of so called fans who seem to revel in criticising, demonising and generally moaning about Hibs players, Hibs managers, coaches, owners.
And admittedly sometimes there’s definitely things to be upset about. But it needs to be constructive and it needs to be as a supporter. That’s what we are here to do, support the team on the pitch, encourage them to do better, get results.
But it’s an absolute embarrassment when players are booed coming off even worse when they come on! Beggars belief.
I’m just asking for folk to remember that we support a great club and it’s all of our jobs to uphold that proud tradition. GGTTH

24-02-2022, 07:42 PM
Can't disagree with anything he said.

Halmyre Hibee
24-02-2022, 07:46 PM
I think we just need to trust everyone involved with Hibs. It’s really emotional being a fan though as we love Hibs so much but some of us just go over the top.

24-02-2022, 09:22 PM
It's happened all the years I have been following the team. You do not boo your team or players that should be for the opposition.
Well said Ben

24-02-2022, 09:27 PM
Football fans aren’t robots either, the club want an emotionally invested support, unfortunately that means taking the good with the bad sometimes. I think this booing has been blown way out of proportion. We were 1 nil up, with the game in the balance, and not 1 but 2 players were brought on who have contributed pretty much nothing thus far on the pitch for Hibs. I think the reaction was more driven by the concern that the double substitution was unlikely, based on past performances,to influence the game. I didn’t read it as some large vendetta against Scott and Wright personally.

Hibeewilly
24-02-2022, 09:28 PM
It's happened all the years I have been following the team. You do not boo your team or players that should be for the opposition.
Well said Ben
Spot on .......the booing is an absolute embarassment :top marks

24-02-2022, 09:32 PM
We’re in a half decent position to transition from, don’t understand why there would be any negativity towards anyone. Should be working together to get the best between now and the end of the season and finish strongly.

Understood the vitriol towards the end of our relegation season, or any cup capitulations, but not towards a half decent Hibs side.

24-02-2022, 09:38 PM
There was me thinking it was going to be a Josh Taylor defence thread :greengrin

24-02-2022, 11:03 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-chief-has-say-on-fans-jeering-players-3585243

In case anyone hadn't realised, the words written by the op are his own, not BKs, so I've posted the link to the article above.

He's spot on.

Hulk1875
24-02-2022, 11:40 PM
Thing is you can’t boo someone that’s just came on it’s ridiculous, get behind the team and players,

Hulk1875
24-02-2022, 11:43 PM
We’re in a half decent position to transition from, don’t understand why there would be any negativity towards anyone. Should be working together to get the best between now and the end of the season and finish strongly.

Understood the vitriol towards the end of our relegation season, or any cup capitulations, but not towards a half decent Hibs side.

I’ve followed hibs since 1994 young lad at the time, not long after saw my uncle and grown men cry when relegated and we came back strong. Hibs are up and down club I’ve had a lot of disappointment so when the good happens i saviour it, what’s wrong now younger generation saw us win few years championship then won the Scottish cup they’re not used to the bad times

24-02-2022, 11:44 PM
Giving any footballer abuse is weird behaviour.

Imagine turning up at to your work at tesco and someone drop asda is in the aisle calling you a see you next Tuesday?

Football fans need to realise that the players are actually people.

25-02-2022, 12:01 AM
Giving any footballer abuse is weird behaviour.

Imagine turning up at to your work at tesco and someone drop asda is in the aisle calling you a see you next Tuesday?

Football fans need to realise that the players are actually people.

Abuse of shop workers goes on to the extent that places like tesco and boots have to have signs up about not abusing staff. That is a sad state of affairs. I'm not claiming it is Drey Wright lashing out however!

I feel there is some difference in football where effectively everybody is there to watch you perform your job. You are the draw. Footballers can spark wild celebrations and things can go the other way.

I'm not such a fan of booing the individual player though. I get fans letting the collective know they are unhappy after a particularly bad result. However, a hibs player should never be subbed on to a chorus of boos imo.

25-02-2022, 12:48 AM
I don’t think I’ve ever booed towards Hibernian, be it bad team play, bad players of just bad in general. I’m not a boo person, I guess.

I’ll boo crappy refs or ugly Jambos though buts that’s a given ?

Percy Vere
25-02-2022, 07:04 AM
We all want Hibs to be a top team in Scotland and Europe but it’s not easy to achieve on the budget this club operates on.
We need to focus on the positives just now and I actually think we’ve seen better performances from Drey and James when they’ve been called upon.
Not easy to produce eye catching performances when you’re only getting 10-15 mins. I think if these fans can be called out on their behaviour it would be beneficial. Not to ban but to find out what the issue is for them.

Mike Berry
25-02-2022, 07:14 AM
I thought it was really bad behaviour from those fans who booed. It's one thing turning to your mate and saying "why the f*** is he bringing them on". But booing your own players? They're young guys trying to do a job, and if we undermine their confidence they're less likely to prove us wrong.

And actually I thought they both did ok when they came on.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

25-02-2022, 07:50 AM

25-02-2022, 07:56 AM
It’s great there is a conversation emerging on this from fans and the club - time to stop the booing during games and support the players …

25-02-2022, 08:02 AM
Booing at certain players has been going on at ER since the sixties and it leads to a toxic atmosphere and I would never defend it.

The biggest boo by far came when Drey Wright, soon after he came on passed the ball backward when there was so many forward options.

Hibs have been a very hard watch this season and a good man has lost his job because of it and much of it has been because of the mind numbingly painfully slow and laboured build up and it doesn't help with patronising interviews that tell us more about what we should be doing to teams rather than what is actually being achieved, like all those chances we are supposedly making. That moment illustrated perfectly what has been wrong at Hibs and fans reacted to the negativity, to me the reaction we saw was much more about the mentality than Drey Wright himself.

G15 Hibs
25-02-2022, 08:06 AM
Booing at certain players has been going on at ER since the sixties and it leads to a toxic atmosphere and I would never defend it.

The biggest boo by far came when Drey Wright, soon after he came on passed the ball backward when there was so many forward options.

Hibs have been a very hard watch this season and a good man has lost his job because of it and much of it has been because of the mind numbingly painfully slow and laboured build up and it doesn't help with patronising interviews that tell us more about what we should be doing to teams rather than what is actually being achieved, like all those chances we are supposedly making. That moment illustrated perfectly what has been wrong at Hibs and fans reacted to the negativity, to me the reaction we saw was much more about the mentality than Drey Wright himself.

I don't know. If that had been anyone else there might have been a few grumbles and groans, but certainly not the almost anger that some folk reacted with. There are some people who seem to just be waiting for Wright to do something they can have a go at.

25-02-2022, 08:19 AM
Quite a strange post from the OP? It would be better to quote what Kensall said directly rather than concoct a statement.

Here’s what he actually said

“I would say is, don't ever mistake the fact that we want exactly the same thing that all fans want, and that's a successful Hibs side that we can be proud of.

"I genuinely believe we're trying to work our way towards that, but we're dealing with young players.

"They are going to make mistakes, but forgive them those mistakes. Support them, and you're only going to get the best out of them if you take that approach.

"If you jeer and boo, what's that going to do to a player's self-confidence? It's going to make them play safe, play it backwards, and not play offensively or attacking like they have been coached by Shaun Maloney”.

"Shaun can do nothing from the sidelines on that. He can only coach them during the week, give them the instructions and prepare them for the game. The players' emotions go through a massive rollercoaster when they go out there.

25-02-2022, 08:33 AM
Quite a strange post from the OP? It would be better to quote what Kensall said directly rather than concoct a statement.

Here’s what he actually said

“I would say is, don't ever mistake the fact that we want exactly the same thing that all fans want, and that's a successful Hibs side that we can be proud of.

"I genuinely believe we're trying to work our way towards that, but we're dealing with young players.

"They are going to make mistakes, but forgive them those mistakes. Support them, and you're only going to get the best out of them if you take that approach.

"If you jeer and boo, what's that going to do to a player's self-confidence? It's going to make them play safe, play it backwards, and not play offensively or attacking like they have been coached by Shaun Maloney”.

"Shaun can do nothing from the sidelines on that. He can only coach them during the week, give them the instructions and prepare them for the game. The players' emotions go through a massive rollercoaster when they go out there.

He’s absolutely correct and I’m glad he has said it. Probably won’t make a difference to those that seem to have a deep hatred for the players in question but it needed said.

25-02-2022, 08:38 AM
It’s stupid and pointless booing our own players, but I wish our board would be as proactive about the behaviour of other fans when they visit Easter Road or when newspapers or pundits try and destroy the career of one of our best young players. I don’t mean that to sound like whatabouttery as I totally agree with what he’s saying.

25-02-2022, 08:44 AM

I can't help but feel he took the easier pass because if he had tried a harder one and gave the ball away he'd have been booed or at least heard all the moans and groans.

I just don't get what the boo boys think it's going to achieve, maybe giving some of the guys se positive encouragement might give them confidence and their performances will improve

25-02-2022, 08:51 AM
There are fans who give players dogs abuse as they seem to dislike certain players. There was a guy in the West Upper a few weeks ago in danger of having a coronary, abusing Paul Hanlon every time he touched the ball.
We hear moans and groans when players make a mistake but verbal abuse and booing is very bad patter.

25-02-2022, 08:51 AM
He’s absolutely correct and I’m glad he has said it. Probably won’t make a difference to those that seem to have a deep hatred for the players in question but it needed said.

I've no problem with what Kensall said. Booing players before they come onto the field is pretty moronic. My issue was why the OP didn't just quote him rather than making up their own version of it.

I also agree with the poster above who says it's the easy option criticising our own dimwitted fans. I would have liked to hear his views on media coverage of Porteous or highlighting the loathsome conduct of some visiting fans.

25-02-2022, 08:52 AM
It’s stupid and pointless booing our own players, but I wish our board would be as proactive about the behaviour of other fans when they visit Easter Road or when newspapers or pundits try and destroy the career of one of our best young players. I don’t mean that to sound like whatabouttery as I totally agree with what he’s saying.

Good point this, agree totally.

25-02-2022, 08:58 AM
I've no problem with what Kensall said. Booing players before they come onto the field is pretty moronic. My issue was why the OP didn't just quote him rather than making up their own version of it.

I also agree with the poster above who says it's the easy option criticising our own dimwitted fans. I would have liked to hear his views on media coverage of Porteous or highlighting the loathsome conduct of some visiting fans.

Sorry I wasn’t clear, was agreeing with the stuff you quoted from Kensell, not the OP.

25-02-2022, 09:43 AM

He passed it back in part because he knew he wouldn't make a mistake plus he wasn't long on the pitch. Such is the extent that the constant criticism from the stands and on social media is having on his confidence.

25-02-2022, 09:53 AM
The fans didn't like Ross's more direct approach particularly when our defenders were punting long balls forward for Boyler & co to chase.

They now don't like possession based football unless the ball is going forward which is impossible all the time.

So, they take it out on their favourite scapegoats although the negative behaviour from some is worse than ever.

25-02-2022, 10:04 AM
It hasn't been present for 90 minutes yet (and never will) but I've seen flashes of play that I've really liked in recent weeks. Not the indirect passing along the back line (which is always necessary) but when we we start to make the passes forward, controlling it and moving it on more.

There have been a few flashes that have been very easy on the eye imo.

G15 Hibs
25-02-2022, 10:08 AM
It hasn't been present for 90 minutes yet (and never will) but I've seen flashes of play that I've really liked in recent weeks. Not the indirect passing along the back line (which is always necessary) but when we we start to make the passes forward, controlling it and moving it on more.

Agree with this. There were a few spells last week, not the whole game by any means and probably not often enough, where they got a few quick passes going, opened up a bit space and made opportunities to get forward. It's not happening overnight, but I've seen progress towards what Maloney's aiming for recently.

25-02-2022, 10:08 AM

I'm optimistic.

25-02-2022, 11:59 AM
The boo-ing element has been there as long as I can remember and they have always frustrated me.

While I recognise that fans are also only human, care for the club and can get carried away, it is clear that in nigh on every case booing a player in your own team is detrimental to performance and does more harm than good. This is ten times more the case when a sub is actually booed ONTO the pitch! Psychologically this has got to be damaging and is likely to detract from performance - which is the last thing any real fan wants.

25-02-2022, 12:40 PM
It is rare for me to boo these days and I would reserve it for the whole team coming off at half time or full time and in games where I felt we haven't put the effort in. Can't remember the last time I thought that. If there is one player I would boo it would be James Scott. It takes something for a manager like Ross to come out publicly and slate you and from what I have seen he hasn't looked interested after his debut. The one game since then where I thought he did ok and worked hard was when he was boo'd on. Drey Wright looks shot of confidence and booing will likely make that worse. I think booing players coming on is crazy but who knows it might have made Scott perform better.

G15 Hibs
25-02-2022, 12:50 PM
The only time I can remember personally giving specific abuse to an individual Hibs player was in that bleak winter of late 1997 when a chorus of "Ole Ole, get tae ****" broke out in the East Stand after Mr Gottskalksson spilled an easy catch to give Motherwell a late equaliser and deny Hibs our first win in over two months. Not at all proud of it, but I was young, it was a desperate time and I think a lot of peoples' patience snapped that day.

We're in nothing like those times just now.

25-02-2022, 02:15 PM
It is rare for me to boo these days and I would reserve it for the whole team coming off at half time or full time and in games where I felt we haven't put the effort in. Can't remember the last time I thought that. If there is one player I would boo it would be James Scott.

I think booing players coming on is crazy but who knows it might have made Scott perform better.

I don't think that's a great way to motivate people.

25-02-2022, 08:50 PM
I cant think of any player in a Hibs shirt ever who played badly deliberatly. I have sadly seen plenty single out for abuse. Booing and jeering can never help. Give it a rest

25-02-2022, 10:37 PM
I don't think that's a great way to motivate people. Neither do I generally but different things motivate people. Trying to get me to work harder by encouraging me wouldn't work but giving me a kick up the arse probably would. I'm not supporting booing at subs coming on merely pointing out Scott went on to play reasonably well whereas most of his subs appearances have been incredibly poor

Silky
25-02-2022, 11:06 PM
He passed it back in part because he knew he wouldn't make a mistake plus he wasn't long on the pitch. Such is the extent that the constant criticism from the stands and on social media is having on his confidence.

:agree: We were 1-0 up at the time as well, so not exactly chasing the game. Interestingly, as I was typing this, a clip of it appeared on that show "A View From The Terrace". When you look at that passage of play, I actually think Mueller could also have been in a position to make a forward pass between two County defenders as Scott was off down the left-he elected to go sideways into Wright when a forward pass imo was on for him. Why is he immune when he could also have passed forward?

26-02-2022, 07:15 AM
:agree: We were 1-0 up at the time as well, so not exactly chasing the game. Interestingly, as I was typing this, a clip of it appeared on that show "A View From The Terrace". When you look at that passage of play, I actually think Mueller could also have been in a position to make a forward pass between two County defenders as Scott was off down the left-he elected to go sideways into Wright when a forward pass imo was on for him. Why is he immune when he could also have passed forward?

Nobody is immune to criticism. There’s players in that squad that have won trophies who have regularly had stick. Folk just, generally IMO, call things or react to things as the see them. In his half a dozen games or whatever it is, Mueller has looked to be positive more often than not. If we’re a year and a half down the line and he’s not really contributing anything no doubt he’ll be getting stick as well.

No way any player should be getting booed on to the pitch but a crowd reacting to a passage of play they didn’t really like isn’t really as bad as it’s being made out to be and has only really been mentioned because of what happened when they came on to the pitch IMO.

Silky
26-02-2022, 08:01 AM
Nobody is immune to criticism. There’s players in that squad that have won trophies who have regularly had stick. Folk just, generally IMO, call things or react to things as the see them. In his half a dozen games or whatever it is, Mueller has looked to be positive more often than not. If we’re a year and a half down the line and he’s not really contributing anything no doubt he’ll be getting stick as well.

No way any player should be getting booed on to the pitch but a crowd reacting to a passage of play they didn’t really like isn’t really as bad as it’s being made out to be and has only really been mentioned because of what happened when they came on to the pitch IMO.

I don't necessarily think folk do call things as they see it. Nobody reacted negatively to Mueller's sideways pass which prevented us attacking down the left. The reaction was basically because Wright is a scapegoat, like countless others over the years. Just because someone "looked to be positive" in previous games, doesn't let then off the hook. If a pass/shot/header whatever is crap, then it's crap regardless of who does it. The focus is on Wright because, in the eyes of many, he can do no right.

26-02-2022, 08:18 AM
The pass it forward at all cost brigade are really annoying now at the games.

26-02-2022, 08:29 AM

They usually groan the loudest too when an aimless pass forward leads to us losing the ball.

26-02-2022, 08:56 AM

There’s a lot of folk wanting to be annoyed by what other folk think these days.

26-02-2022, 08:59 AM
I don't necessarily think folk do call things as they see it. Nobody reacted negatively to Mueller's sideways pass which prevented us attacking down the left. The reaction was basically because Wright is a scapegoat, like countless others over the years. Just because someone "looked to be positive" in previous games, doesn't let then off the hook. If a pass/shot/header whatever is crap, then it's crap regardless of who does it. The focus is on Wright because, in the eyes of many, he can do no right.

Could the criticism towards him maybe just be because he largely doesn’t really do anything to be positive about? When he came in to the team against Dundee Utd and did all right I thought that was pretty widely acknowledged. I don’t think the fans having a moan about him is the big issue where Drey Wright is concerned.

26-02-2022, 08:59 AM
There’s a lot of folk wanting to be annoyed by what other folk think these days.

That’s because the annoying ***** make sure everyone hears what they think these days.

26-02-2022, 09:05 AM
That’s because the annoying ***** make sure everyone hears what they think these days.

Just like the annoying ***** that bang on the annoying *****.

At least the original annoying ***** are bothering to turn up these days.

26-02-2022, 09:32 AM
I cant think of any player in a Hibs shirt ever who played badly deliberatly. I have sadly seen plenty single out for abuse. Booing and jeering can never help. Give it a rest

Think it is time and have to agree wi this, the players are Hibs players and as long as then they deserve our encouragement and support, as I have said on here a few times very few if any on here could ever hope to reach the level as players of these two guys, so time to lay off and who knows what may happen.

26-02-2022, 10:13 AM
Just like the annoying ***** that bang on the annoying *****.

At least the original annoying ***** are bothering to turn up these days.

And some of us manage not to be annoying ***** when we’re there.

26-02-2022, 10:23 AM
And some of us manage not to be annoying ***** when we’re there.

Maybe the folk moaning at lack of a forward passes or whatever don’t think they’re being annoying either.

26-02-2022, 10:24 AM
Maybe the folk moaning at lack of a forward passes or whatever don’t think they’re being annoying either.

That could be the issue - a lack of understanding of football?

26-02-2022, 10:26 AM
That could be the issue - a lack of understanding of football?

Someone not moaning could have exactly the same issue.

26-02-2022, 10:27 AM

They should look at the evidence of numerous threads and Twitter posts to show them that they are then.

26-02-2022, 10:28 AM
Someone not moaning could have exactly the same issue.

Yes but at least they have everyone else in peace and keep the ignorance to themselves.

26-02-2022, 10:30 AM
They should look at the evidence of numerous threads and Twitter posts to show them that they are then.

Even managed to get themselves a mention on a View from the Terrace last night.

26-02-2022, 10:32 AM
Yes but at least they have everyone else in peace and keep the ignorance to themselves.

Basically, let’s all go to the football and sit on our hands unless you just want to be positive. I didn’t agree with booing players on but the complaining about folk reacting to things happening on the pitch is OTT for me.

26-02-2022, 10:35 AM
Basically, let’s all go to the football and sit on our hands unless you just want to be positive. I didn’t agree with booing players on but the complaining about folk reacting to things happening on the pitch is OTT for me.

Do you just spout off mince, to get a reaction, all a wee bit OTT in my humble opinion, to keep your post count going?
Are you complaining about people complaining about what?

26-02-2022, 10:39 AM

How about we all go and support our team?

26-02-2022, 10:41 AM

Now, there is a novel idea well said Sir.

26-02-2022, 10:42 AM

The people bothering there arse to turn up are doing that more than most, even if some like a moan at times. As the title says, we’re dealing with human beings and people will differently to different things.

26-02-2022, 10:44 AM
The people bothering there arse to turn up are doing that more than most, even if some like a moan at times. As the title says, we’re dealing with human beings and people will differently to different things.

Just try being reasonable and support your team.

26-02-2022, 10:44 AM
Just try being reasonable and support your team.

I wasn’t aware I was being unreasonable?

26-02-2022, 10:45 AM
I assume those moaning about this 7 days later have never moaned or groaned at a hibs player in their lives.

26-02-2022, 10:51 AM
I wasn’t aware I was being unreasonable?

Just speaking in general not aimed at you, we all need to support our team that wee bit more during troubled times that may get much worse, support and confidence are the bedrock of all good teams.

Crunchie
26-02-2022, 10:51 AM
I assume those moaning about this 7 days later have never moaned or groaned at a hibs player in their lives.

There's a big difference between moaning and booing your own, I thought we were all agreed on that.

26-02-2022, 11:00 AM
There's a big difference between moaning and booing your own, I thought we were all agreed on that.

The 2 things need to be treated individually though. The booing of the players coming on to the park needs to stop as it’s unacceptable. The moans and groans when a player makes a mistake or does something that the fans may see as negative will never stop and is part of the game and always has been

26-02-2022, 11:21 AM
Just speaking in general not aimed at you, we all need to support our team that wee bit more during troubled times that may get much worse, support and confidence are the bedrock of all good teams.

I do agree that the team could be doing with a bit extra support as, despite not being terribly good, we still have a chance to make a success of the season. Can’t see it being any different to normal tomorrow, but next week should see a lot of the empty seats occupied so hopefully that makes a difference to the general atmosphere around the place.

As said elsewhere, booing players on is ridiculous. There are still going to be negative reactions to things that happen within the game though.

26-02-2022, 11:25 AM

Who said that?

26-02-2022, 11:25 AM

Exactly.

hibbydog
26-02-2022, 11:28 AM
Since there’s no football today, Im off to the pictures to moan, heckle, create a terrible atmosphere and generally spoil the movie for everyone else.

Makes about as much sense as booing your own players.

26-02-2022, 11:36 AM
Since there’s no football today, Im off to the pictures to moan, heckle, create a terrible atmosphere and generally spoil the movie for everyone else.

Makes about as much sense as booing your own players.

Remember to stand up and cheer, hug the folk next to you etc when there’s a bit of the film you enjoy

26-02-2022, 11:36 AM
Who said that?

You were referring to folk being ignorant and annoying *****. Presumably that’s not because they were standing up clapping and cheering.

26-02-2022, 12:00 PM
You were referring to folk being ignorant and annoying *****. Presumably that’s not because they were standing up clapping and cheering.

Correct, but it doesn’t mean you have to sit on your hands and do nothing. Weird take on what’s been said.

Percy Vere
27-02-2022, 09:32 AM

Nice idea mate

JXM73
27-02-2022, 09:53 AM
So with Wright starting do we boo at the warm up or when the teams cone out?

27-02-2022, 01:09 PM

Booing isn't supporting the team.

It helps our opponents.

27-02-2022, 01:12 PM
Booing isn't supporting the team.

It helps our opponents.

Neither is sitting in the house greeting about other folks reactions.

Wright did well today and got a decent applause when he went of as a result.

27-02-2022, 01:15 PM
Neither is sitting in the house greeting about other folks reactions.

Wright did well today and got a decent applause when he went of as a result.

Sitting in the house doesn't help our opponents. Neither does being quiet at the game.

Booing our own team does.

27-02-2022, 01:18 PM
Sitting in the house doesn't help our opponents. Neither does being quiet at the game.

Booing our own team does.

Well it didn’t help our opponents or hinder us last week.

Think it’s about time folk let it go. Good result in tough circumstances today. The crowd even clapped them off.

27-02-2022, 01:22 PM

Think it’s about time folk let it go. Good result in tough circumstances today. The crowd even clapped them off.

This thread isn't about today though. It's about booing our own players which is what happened previously and it's pointing out what should happen in future.

Fortunately, it seems the article had the desired effect because the fannies who booed Wright and Scott last week, kept their ignorant traps shut today.

27-02-2022, 01:27 PM
Fans were superb today despite some unwarranted and over exaggerated criticism on a regular basis from some (usual suspects). Well done to those who turned up

27-02-2022, 01:29 PM
This thread isn't about today though. It's about booing our own players which is what happened previously and it's pointing out what should happen in future.

Fortunately, it seems the article had the desired effect because the fannies who booed Wright and Scott last week, kept their ignorant traps shut today.

27-02-2022, 01:33 PM
Fans were superb today despite some unwarranted and over exaggerated criticism on a regular basis from some. Well done to those who turned up

I didn't realise that criticising the behaviour of idiot supporters could negatively affect their performance at matches.

27-02-2022, 01:34 PM

A lot of those ignorant fannies have given a lot more backing this season than a lot of folk who regularly calling them out.

The way the crowd was today was nothing to do with any article, folk just react to what they see and today they felt it merited a more positive reaction, simple as that.

27-02-2022, 01:35 PM
Fans were superb today despite some unwarranted and over exaggerated criticism on a regular basis from some. Well done to those who turned up

Absolutely.

27-02-2022, 03:21 PM
A lot of those ignorant fannies have given a lot more backing this season than a lot of folk who regularly calling them out.

The way the crowd was today was nothing to do with any article, folk just react to what they see and today they felt it merited a more positive reaction, simple as that.

I see. They're entitled to boo their own players despite it being detrimental to those players and the team.

The booing last week wasn't a reaction to anything they saw. Apart from Hibs players being given a game.

They didn't boo the same player this week so although they're ignorant fannies, at least they paid a bit of attention for a change.

27-02-2022, 03:58 PM
I see. They're entitled to boo their own players despite it being detrimental to those players and the team.

The booing last week wasn't a reaction to anything they saw. Apart from Hibs players being given a game.

They didn't boo the same player this week so although they're ignorant fannies, at least they paid a bit of attention for a change.

They’re entitled to react however they want. It actually seems to have had the opposite effect to being detrimental. We went on to win last week with Scott doing all right. And Wright played today like he had a point to prove.

I didn’t boo them on by the way and thought it was out of order but it’s been made in to something it’s not. Mostly by folk not there supporting themselves.

27-02-2022, 04:10 PM

If anyone needs to let it go it's you.

27-02-2022, 04:11 PM
They’re entitled to react however they want. It actually seems to have had the opposite effect to being detrimental. We went on to win last week with Scott doing all right. And Wright played today like he had a point to prove.

I didn’t boo them on by the way and thought it was out of order but it’s been made in to something it’s not. Mostly by folk not there supporting themselves.

How do you know who’s there supporting them or not?

27-02-2022, 04:15 PM
How do you know who’s there supporting them or not?

Folk quite regularly talk about whether they go or not, easy enough to pick it up from that.

27-02-2022, 04:20 PM
If anyone needs to let it go it's you.

Great contribution.

Someone dragged it back up by quoting one of my posts after a good result today. I’ve simply responded to that and any subsequent posts.

27-02-2022, 04:37 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-chief-has-say-on-fans-jeering-players-3585243

In case anyone hadn't realised, the words written by the op are his own, not BKs, so I've posted the link to the article above.

He's spot on.

Thanks!

Wasn't too impressed with BKs use of 'beggars belief'.

27-02-2022, 05:00 PM

You think players respond positively to being booed? I better start cheering the opposition then!

It's a disgrace and an embarrassment, doubly so because it took an article by the CEO to stop it

27-02-2022, 05:01 PM
You think players respond positively to being booed? I better start cheering the opposition then!

It's a disgrace and an embarrassment, doubly so because it took an article by the CEO to stop it

How have they reacted since it happened?

You really think anyone at ER today was sitting thinking about Ben’s comments? The reason there was no booing today was because we played well and gave our all, not his comments.

27-02-2022, 05:06 PM

You really think anyone at ER today was sitting thinking about Ben’s comments? The reason there was no booing today was because we played well and gave our all, not his comments.

Presumably they realised how ridiculous it was and looked.

Impressive knowledge of who was at the game from you though 👏

Keepthefaith
27-02-2022, 05:15 PM

It feels like you're just digging in and not open to any other view! You're missing the point, last week drey was booed on, not because of how he played but just because folk felt like putting the boot in before judging his contribution.

Imagine turning up for your work and your boss / customers immediately critise you. You really feeling motivated each day?!

Any psychologist will tell you the impact of these actions. It's taken both our CEO and manager to highlight it, you think they'd do that if there wasn't a problem??

27-02-2022, 05:18 PM
Presumably they realised how ridiculous it was and looked.

Impressive knowledge of who was at the game from you though 👏

Thanks for the applause, glad you didn’t boo.

27-02-2022, 05:20 PM
It feels like you're just digging in and not open to any other view! You're missing the point, last week drey was booed on, not because of how he played but just because folk felt like putting the boot in before judging his contribution.

Imagine turning up for your work and your boss / customers immediately critise you. You really feeling motivated each day?!

Any psychologist will tell you the impact of these actions. It's taken both our CEO and manager to highlight it, you think they'd do that if there wasn't a problem??

I’m not digging in. I’ve repeatedly said that booing players on was out of order.

Nobody has answered the question about their reaction to that incident though. Has or hasn’t it been positive?

27-02-2022, 05:50 PM
I’m not digging in. I’ve repeatedly said that booing players on was out of order.

Nobody has answered the question about their reaction to that incident though. Has or hasn’t it been positive?

Drey Wright has reacted positively to the support and encouragement that he received from the CEO and his manager.

If you're trying to suggest that there might possibly be an upside to booing your own players onto the park, and immediately when they make a pass, then you really have no grasp of motivation. I guess that's a possibility.

It's either that or you're just being obtuse or stubborn.

Silky
27-02-2022, 05:54 PM

I'll say no. Purely based on a previous post you made. There was no negative reaction because "we" played well. As a collective, a team, not an individual. "We" didn't play that well against Ross County and a couple of guys got booed coming on!!!!! So, basically, it's just whatever suits the narrative at the given time. Pick a target and away we go.

27-02-2022, 05:54 PM
Drey Wright has reacted positively to the support and encouragement that he received from the CEO and his manager.

If you're trying to suggest that there might possibly be an upside to booing your own players onto the park, and immediately when they make a pass, then you really have no grasp of motivation. I guess that's a possibility.

It's either that or you're just being obtuse or stubborn.

Very good. So far folk that haven’t agreed with your view have been obtuse, stubborn, ignorant or fannies. Any advance on that?

Some people do react well to criticism. Since the criticism last week, Wright has reacted well. Obviously you’re inside and know that he’s only reacted well because of what Ben said.

27-02-2022, 05:57 PM
I'll say no. Purely based on a previous post you made. There was no negative reaction because "we" played well. As a collective, a team, not an individual. "We" didn't play that well against Ross County and a couple of guys got booed coming on!!!!! So, basically, it's just whatever suits the narrative at the given time. Pick a target and away we go.

He got a great reaction going off today as part of the ‘we’. It wasn’t everyone else getting clapped at that point.

Maloney even mentioned it.

27-02-2022, 06:03 PM
Very good. So far folk that haven’t agreed with your view have been obtuse, stubborn, ignorant or fannies. Any advance on that?

Some people do react well to criticism. Since the criticism last week, Wright has reacted well. Obviously you’re inside and know that he’s only reacted well because of what Ben said.

I didn't call anyone who disagreed with me any of those things.

I called the people who booed their own players onto the pitch ignorant fannies, because that's what they were.

I said you either knew nothing about motivation, or you were being obtuse or stubborn.

Ok, I guess I'll just have to accept that you think booing your own players has a positive effect, as absurd a notion as it is.

27-02-2022, 06:15 PM
I didn't call anyone who disagreed with me any of those things.

I called the people who booed their own players onto the pitch ignorant fannies, because that's what they were.

I said you either knew nothing about motivation, or you were being obtuse or stubborn.

Ok, I guess I'll just have to accept that you think booing your own players has a positive effect, as absurd a notion as it is.

Take it you’re ignoring the bit where I said the booing was out of order?

I do accept people react to things differently though. You obviously think there is only one way to motivate them, which is absurd IMO. Certainly based on what I’ve watched with Drey Wright this week.

27-02-2022, 06:27 PM
Take it you’re ignoring the bit where I said the booing was out of order?

I do accept people react to things differently though. You obviously think there is only one way to motivate them, which is absurd IMO. Certainly based on what I’ve watched with Drey Wright this week.

No, I saw that. It amused me because you said in one breath that the booing seemed to have had a positive effect then, in the next paragraph, you said that you thought it was out of order.

What gives you the idea that I think there is only one way to motivate someone? It would be ridiculous to think that.

As ridiculous as thinking that booing players onto the pitch could possibly motivate them.

Silky
27-02-2022, 06:29 PM
He got a great reaction going off today as part of the ‘we’. It wasn’t everyone else getting clapped at that point.

Maloney even mentioned it.

But he got booed coming on the other week, also as part of a "we", who were leading at that point. It wasn't everyone else who was being booed?

27-02-2022, 07:20 PM
No, I saw that. It amused me because you said in one breath that the booing seemed to have had a positive effect then, in the next paragraph, you said that you thought it was out of order.

What gives you the idea that I think there is only one way to motivate someone? It would be ridiculous to think that.

As ridiculous as thinking that booing players onto the pitch could possibly motivate them.

I don’t get how it’s ridiculous. I wouldn’t do it and it’s not my idea of motivation, but I have seen a player booed on last week who has reacted positively. You seem determined to overlook that. You’ve made your mind up and won’t budge.

27-02-2022, 07:32 PM
But he got booed coming on the other week, also as part of a "we", who were leading at that point. It wasn't everyone else who was being booed?

Aye that’s fairly obvious. But there is an argument that it doesn’t matter what he does. Today disproved that for me. He did well and the crowd let him know that.

There still seems a determination amongst some to have a pop at our support though.

27-02-2022, 07:57 PM
I don’t get how it’s ridiculous. I wouldn’t do it and it’s not my idea of motivation, but I have seen a player booed on last week who has reacted positively. You seem determined to overlook that. You’ve made your mind up and won’t budge.

You think the boo last week is what motivated Wright today?

Nothing that’s happened between last week and this might have had an impact? Conversations with the manager, performances/feedback in training, the backing of the CEO, and a strong condemnation of the folk booing… none of that was what has lifted his game?

27-02-2022, 07:58 PM
Aye that’s fairly obvious. But there is an argument that it doesn’t matter what he does. Today disproved that for me. He did well and the crowd let him know that.

There still seems a determination amongst some to have a pop at our support though.

At least we’re here to have a pop at the support. Maybe they’ll support better now we’ve had a pop at them. Booooooo.

27-02-2022, 08:15 PM

That's correct. I won't. It's a ludicrous suggestion, devoid of all logic.

You might as well argue that Drey Wright played well because Russia invaded Ukraine. Just like your argument, there's no way of proving otherwise, despite it being obvious nonsense.

It's a shame Abraham Maslow isn't around these days. He might have reviewed his entire theory had he read your assertions.

27-02-2022, 08:16 PM
You think the boo last week is what motivated Wright today?

Nothing that’s happened between last week and this might have had an impact? Conversations with the manager, performances/feedback in training, the backing of the CEO, and a strong condemnation of the folk booing… none of that was what has lifted his game?

People use negative experiences as motivation all the time (not just from a football point of view). I don’t really think it’s that far fetched to suggest that Wright might have felt he had a point to prove today and used it as motivation.

Never once said it was the only contributing factor to his improved performance, did I? But folk have decided that no good can ever come of booing. I disagree with that, we’ve done all right since the incident(s) that have been discussed.

Crowd were fantastic today, maybe all the same posters will still be talking about that eight days down the line….

27-02-2022, 08:18 PM

You might as well argue that Drey Wright played well because Russia invaded Ukraine. Just like your argument, there's no way of proving otherwise, despite it being obvious nonsense.

It's a shame Abraham Maslow isn't around these days. He might have reviewed his entire theory had he read your assertions.

Classy argument, well done.

What’s ludicrous about suggesting he was booed last week but played better today, by the way?

27-02-2022, 08:18 PM

Thanks.

27-02-2022, 08:21 PM

What’s ludicrous about suggesting he was booed last week but played better today, by the way?

It's not.

It's ludicrous to suggest he played better today because he was booed on last week.

27-02-2022, 08:22 PM

I really don’t think it’s beyond the realms of possibility that Drey Wright started todays game with a “I’ll show them” attitude. motivated by what happened last week. Perhaps he’s more stick than carrot🤷🏼

27-02-2022, 08:25 PM
I really don’t think it’s beyond the realms of possibility that Drey Wright started todays game with a “I’ll show them” attitude. motivated by what happened last week. Perhaps he’s more stick than carrot🤷🏼

Steady now, you’ll be getting told you’re ludicrous in a minute. Nobody has said it was the only reason he played better. But maybe he though **** them, I’ll show them and it contributed in some way to an improved performance.

27-02-2022, 08:25 PM

If only we'd booed him more often, eh? Who knew?

27-02-2022, 08:42 PM

Like all the other times he’s been the target of boos since arriving. Just last week was the special one that triggered him.

27-02-2022, 08:43 PM
Hoping that the round of applause he got today doesn’t demotivate him next week.

27-02-2022, 08:46 PM

Correct, and when James Scott scores a hat trick in his next game our booing theory will have been vindicated and I’ll propose a new booing section at ER😏

27-02-2022, 08:46 PM
Hoping that the round of applause he got today doesn’t demotivate him next week.

I thought the crowd’sc reaction to him today was excellent, to be fair.

Even saw some praise online from some people who weren’t there. :greengrin

27-02-2022, 08:50 PM
Correct, and when James Scott scores a hat trick in his next game our booing theory will have been vindicated and I’ll propose a new booing section at ER😏

We've got one already. :wink:

Some of think that they're supporters too.

Silky
27-02-2022, 09:12 PM

When there are behaviours from the some of the support that others feel is unwarranted then yes, I agree. Should supporters be immune? A player can be criticised for what is perceived to be a crap pass/shot, whatever. Why can't supporters also be criticised for what some believe is a crap piece of "supporting"? Booing a player on is unacceptable in the eyes of some, just like a sideways or backwards pass is for others.

27-02-2022, 09:22 PM
When there are behaviours from the some of the support that others feel is unwarranted then yes, I agree. Should supporters be immune? A player can be criticised for what is perceived to be a crap pass/shot, whatever. Why can't supporters also be criticised for what some believe is a crap piece of "supporting"? Booing a player on is unacceptable in the eyes of some, just like a sideways or backwards pass is for others.

No, folk are free to criticise as they like. I, myself, have said that booing players on to the pitch was ridiculous. I’m not trying to argue otherwise on that point. I think it’s been made in to something far worse than it was though. And I think the players in question have reacted well to it (although I’m told that nothing good will ever come of that type of thing). That’s not me saying it was the sole reason for improved performance though.

27-02-2022, 09:39 PM
Booing your own players achieves absolutely nothing and i've never understood why people do it. All it does is knock the players confidnece even more and kick him while he's down.

Too many people that seem to think footballers are fair game and getting abuse is simply part of the package. Their human beings with human feelings. At a time where mental health is such a huge problem as well. What happened to the whole "be kind" thing we were all plastering over social media in light of the Caroline Flack suicide?

Keepthefaith
28-02-2022, 08:33 PM
No, folk are free to criticise as they like. I, myself, have said that booing players on to the pitch was ridiculous. I’m not trying to argue otherwise on that point. I think it’s been made in to something far worse than it was though. And I think the players in question have reacted well to it (although I’m told that nothing good will ever come of that type of thing). That’s not me saying it was the sole reason for improved performance though.

Did you read the evening news article tonight? Drey clearly saying it wasn't ok but tried his hardest despite it all. Think that tells us all we need to know?

28-02-2022, 08:48 PM
Did you read the evening news article tonight? Drey clearly saying it wasn't ok but tried his hardest despite it all. Think that tells us all we need to know?

I’ve never said it was ok booing someone on to the pitch, quite the opposite. It’s fairly obvious that he won’t have enjoyed getting booed. It’s good that he’s going to do his best to come back from it, some folk would have went the other way.

28-02-2022, 09:25 PM
I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Grown men booing is just plain weird.

Percy Vere
01-03-2022, 02:25 PM
Booing your own players achieves absolutely nothing and i've never understood why people do it. All it does is knock the players confidnece even more and kick him while he's down.

Too many people that seem to think footballers are fair game and getting abuse is simply part of the package. Their human beings with human feelings. At a time where mental health is such a huge problem as well. What happened to the whole "be kind" thing we were all plastering over social media in light of the Caroline Flack suicide?

Good point well made.