View Full Version : Media Ryan in Headlines AGAIN!

Pages : 1 [2]

23-02-2022, 09:18 AM
As others have pointed out Porteous needs to have a think about whether he’s unfairly targeted or whether the places he goes and company he keeps isn’t doing him any favours.

I think Riordan is a relevant comparison and a cautionary tale. He was in the papers negatively quite often. Most times the story was downplayed or explained away, and in isolation that might have been fair. However there was a trend and I find it difficult to separate the negative headlines from the fact that Riordan was all but retired into his late 20s.

23-02-2022, 09:19 AM

Is the Rory Cassidy that wrote this piece related to the Gary Cassidy that Ryan pulled up for his hit piece in T4O?

Seems quite a coincidence.

23-02-2022, 09:20 AM
GD I really do think that done thing needs done by the club. Would appear they’ve a licence to print what they want regardless of what actually happened. This is shown with them changing the headlines.

I’d ban them and Sportsound (I think they’ve had an anti Hibs agenda for years… yes im paranoid)

I am not sure the contracts allow us to ban the radio (The BBC / Sevco thing is different) but it certainly wouldnt bother me.

I would certainly be up for Hibs calling out that unionist apologist rag for what it is.

23-02-2022, 09:24 AM
I am not sure the contracts allow us to ban the radio (The BBC / Sevco thing is different) but it certainly wouldnt bother me.

I would certainly be up for Hibs calling out that unionist apologist rag for what it is.

I’ve not listened to that programme for about a decade.

The club will deal with it once they have all the facts. The way it’s reported and sensationalisation of it and then changing the headlines shows them for what they are (which we know)

Like you say, I’d like the club to call them out should this all be proven to be pish!

23-02-2022, 09:27 AM
The DR headlines and the changing of the narrative are a disgrace, I don't think anyone would seriously try to argue otherwise and if they were banned from ER then it wouldn't be a minute too soon.

However I have been to the Woodburn Club about 10 times in my life, admittedly not for several years, but of that 10 times there was probably bother on 11 occasions. The place, fairly or otherwise, has a reputation. No one expect players to live like hermits but maybe a wee bit guidance from the club is in order. There are plenty places players can go and not be bothered, I've been in company with Hibs players in the past and they have been left well alone. As I said yesterday avoiding places where the 'I knew yer faither before you were even born' brigade are out in force is probably advisable for any player with a profile.

The main thing is that Hibs support him through this. He's a targeted man among sections of the press now and any hint of trouble around him is going to be amplified. He needs help to deal with that and Hibs have the structures in place to provide that help.

GreenGray
23-02-2022, 09:30 AM
"He was part of a group of men that stole a wreath in memory of a dementia sufferer" or " he was walking passed a garden when one of his mates went in to the garden and stole a wreath"

The record seem to have a hard on for ryan

That headline is genuinely unbelievable, bringing up dementia to make it seem worse, he didn’t even steal a wreath he walked away! They’re not even trying to hide it

23-02-2022, 09:41 AM
The DR headlines and the changing of the narrative are a disgrace, I don't think anyone would seriously try to argue otherwise and if they were banned from ER then it wouldn't be a minute too soon.

However I have been to the Woodburn Club about 10 times in my life, admittedly not for several years, but of that 10 times there was probably bother on 11 occasions. The place, fairly or otherwise, has a reputation. No one expect players to live like hermits but maybe a wee bit guidance from the club is in order. There are plenty places players can go and not be bothered, I've been in company with Hibs players in the past and they have been left well alone. As I said yesterday avoiding places where the 'I knew yer faither before you were even born' brigade are out in force is probably advisable for any player with a profile.

The main thing is that Hibs support him through this. He's a targeted man among sections of the press now and any hint of trouble around him is going to be amplified. He needs help to deal with that and Hibs have the structures in place to provide that help.

And all this hounding of him in press and by refs will be a factor in him deciding to move

23-02-2022, 09:42 AM

I have a feeling that this will be a harsh lesson for him and I do hope that the club support him. I'd imagine that they'll need to wait for the truth to fully come out before making a statement but I hope we do.

There have been lots of articles about Porto on the pitch but these are the first about him off the pitch. By all accounts he's a good lad and if it turns out that there's nothing in this story then we should be taking action against any paper to run this story.

23-02-2022, 09:44 AM
The real question is how do you send someone to hospital by throwing a plastic cup???

23-02-2022, 09:46 AM
The real question is how do you send someone to hospital by throwing a plastic cup???

The same way you could break someone's leg from a yard away.

23-02-2022, 09:49 AM
As others have pointed out Porteous needs to have a think about whether he’s unfairly targeted or whether the places he goes and company he keeps isn’t doing him any favours.

I think Riordan is a relevant comparison and a cautionary tale. He was in the papers negatively quite often. Most times the story was downplayed or explained away, and in isolation that might have been fair. However there was a trend and I find it difficult to separate the negative headlines from the fact that Riordan was all but retired into his late 20s.

Has Ryan been in any bother before due to his off field conduct? I wasn't aware of anything.

If this is a first offence, and the offence is being present when a plastic tumbler is thrown and a daft mate nicks a wreath then it's hardly a hanging offence. Certainly something that might need to be taken into consideration if there were future incidents but I don't think he's exactly got a track record for off field trouble (something that, rightly or wrongly, Riordan ended up with).

Has most of his past stuff in the press not related to tackling Rangers players a bit robustly?

23-02-2022, 09:56 AM
Never buy or read that rag. There does appear to be a witch hunt in relation to Ryan. There is a crisis of Global proportions going on and what it the DR headlines?
Says it all about the journalists,editors and readership of that rag.

23-02-2022, 09:57 AM
He plays for hibs, is a Hibs fan, clearly doesn't like the huns, doesnt treat them like they are something special and actually took the piss out of the them. All of these add up to being a target for the hun fanzine that is the DR. Hibs need to be making a stand against a paper that never has anything good to say about the club and in fact looks like they are actively undermining our club whenever they can. I have no idea if Ryan has done anything wrong here but the DR has already got him as guilty. He hasn't done anything wrong in the wreath incident and in fact his pal was a bit of a fanny but no more than that. I haven't bought any newspaper for at least 15 to 20 years as they pander to the lowest common denominator, and that is usually the hun element

23-02-2022, 10:01 AM
Who was that? If you're thinking of Kenny he's never worked for the Record.

Sorry , getting old it was the Sun.

23-02-2022, 10:15 AM
Why is the story here not that Porteous can't go to his local without fear of harassment after months of co-ordinated attacks in the press?

Fuzzywuzzy
23-02-2022, 10:16 AM
Maybe he went full on begbie?

"That lassie got glassed, and no **** leaves here till we find out what **** did it."

duffers
23-02-2022, 10:20 AM
If Porto is innocent (as I expect), we 100% need the club to come out and support him here. Time we got a backbone as opposed to always rolling over and accepting what is said / printed.

Ryan will leave Hibs to go abroad and no one can blame him the way he is treated. We love to watch English media ruin their young upcoming players, yet the exact same thing is happening with us.

23-02-2022, 10:24 AM
Take action against the Record Hibs. Get them banned. Will that stop them printing their *****? No, but the fact they can print this garbage narrative to bully and defame a young man all because he doesn’t like the team from the west is shocking.

23-02-2022, 10:41 AM
Without wanting to sound all Kevin Keegan i'd absolutley love it if we banned the Daily Record.

23-02-2022, 10:55 AM
He plays for hibs, is a Hibs fan, clearly doesn't like the huns, doesnt treat them like they are something special and actually took the piss out of the them. All of these add up to being a target for the hun fanzine that is the DR. Hibs need to be making a stand against a paper that never has anything good to say about the club and in fact looks like they are actively undermining our club whenever they can. I have no idea if Ryan has done anything wrong here but the DR has already got him as guilty. He hasn't done anything wrong in the wreath incident and in fact his pal was a bit of a fanny but no more than that. I haven't bought any newspaper for at least 15 to 20 years as they pander to the lowest common denominator, and that is usually the hun element

This says it all.

23-02-2022, 10:56 AM
Without wanting to sound all Kevin Keegan i'd absolutley love it if we banned the Daily Record.

Give them a seat by the side of the pitch so they get wet when it rains,oh wait our neighbours at Tynecastle have already got a press box like that.

23-02-2022, 10:58 AM
The full front page?

Even if it is true, the full front page because someone got hit by a plastic glass?

Edit: Plastic cup, before someone gets smart 🤣

23-02-2022, 11:04 AM

If Ryan has any sense he will move away from Scotland to further his career down South, I must be the only person on here that hasn’t heard of Woodburn club. :greengrin

23-02-2022, 11:06 AM

It was a toughened plastic cup.

GRA
23-02-2022, 11:07 AM

Succulent wee hun lambs still not over his 'do we look happy' comment. Actively making him a target to chase him away to England or abroad. Sums up Scottish football that, rather than praise him for his predominantly solid & mature performances for his age, they'd rather try to tear him down at any opportunity to pander to their readership. Pathetic.

23-02-2022, 11:16 AM
Every other Scottish daily has headlines about Ukraine or Covid, this pathetic rag, can't even call it a newspaper, has to rely on Hun loving cretins for sales. They should be banned from ER, time for Hibs to release a statement.

23-02-2022, 11:16 AM
If Ryan has any sense he will move away from Scotland to further his career down South, I must be the only person on here that hasn’t heard of Woodburn club. :greengrin

Id never heard of it either, until I realised they meant the Dalkeith miners club. Certainly what ive always heard it called. Maybe im just posh.

23-02-2022, 11:27 AM
OK. Simple question. If he was a Rangers player and this story was in the Evening News would your reaction be the same?

Dont read the Evening news or the daily ranker-simples really. Bye the way the Rangeers are deed so why do you refer to them as such!

Fuzzywuzzy
23-02-2022, 11:31 AM

Was it brought up in muirhouse?

23-02-2022, 11:34 AM
Come on now, I think there must be enough undercover jambos and huns on this site to get this to 20 pages at least, ffs,
:cb

McSwanky
23-02-2022, 12:35 PM

Seriously though, questions must be asked.

- How does one toughen a plastic tumbler?
- Does a toughened plastic tumbler look different to a normal plastic tumbler? Can they be distinguished?
- How much more damage, on average, does a toughened plastic tumbler do as opposed to a normal one?
- If it was indeed Porto that threw the plastic tumbler, did he know that it was a toughened one?
- If he did throw the plastic tumbler in full knowledge of it being toughened, is this a worse crime than throwing a non-toughened, standard plastic tumbler?
- If he didn't know the plastic tumbler was toughened, should he have checked first (see second point above)?
- Is the crime (and punishment) of throwing any plastic tumbler the same severity, or would you get extra jail time for throwing a toughened plastic tumbler?

For full disclosure, I haven't actually read the article or this full thread as I believe the story to be a loadaypish (or maybe a storm in a toughened plastic tumbler?), so these questions may already have been addressed.

23-02-2022, 12:39 PM
Lads getting ran out of Scottish football

23-02-2022, 12:44 PM
Lads getting ran out of Scottish football

If he's threw something that's hospitalized a lassie (or anyone for that matter) he's giving people lots of ammunition.

Literally anyone could tell you the Woodburn Club showing the boxing on Saturday night was going to lead to bother. He gets paid enough to order the boxing himself and use his win bonus to stock up on drink for his pals.

If he's threw fk all and it's just adding to the original story then I agree though.

23-02-2022, 01:46 PM
If he's threw something that's hospitalized a lassie (or anyone for that matter) he's giving people lots of ammunition.

Literally anyone could tell you the Woodburn Club showing the boxing on Saturday night was going to lead to bother. He gets paid enough to order the boxing himself and use his win bonus to stock up on drink for his pals.

If he's threw fk all and it's just adding to the original story then I agree though.

I’ve nae idea why he’s going to widburn club to be honest. Just asking for bother that

Arch Stanton
23-02-2022, 02:51 PM

As in -
"Looking for glassware that excels in practicality? Then these 290ml tumblers from Olympia are exactly what you need. Thanks to the toughened glass material, these tumblers are highly resistant to damage caused throughout commercial use - such as chips, scratches and clouding. The result? They stay in as-new condition for longer, whilst cutting your replacement costs at the same time!

Plus, as they're safe for use in the glasswasher, the tumblers are easy to clean too - giving your staff a quick turnaround of fresh and hygienic glassware."

I think if you want to do real damage you'd need weapons-grade plastic tumblers.:wink:

23-02-2022, 03:07 PM
I've just caught up with this story so I had a look at the DR website.

Unless I'm looking in the wrong place,
there's no mention of it at all. :confused:

23-02-2022, 03:10 PM
I've just caught up with this story so I had a look at the DR website.

Unless I'm looking in the wrong place,
there's no mention of it at all. :confused:

The original story is still there, but the OTT headline from earlier has disappeared

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/hibs-star-ryan-porteous-probed-26302933

There IS something on the front page about a human skeleton being unearthed on a Glasgow building site, its possible they are pinning that on Porto of course:greengrin

Stokesy's on fire
23-02-2022, 03:11 PM

exactly utterly pathetic story but under SNPolice Scotland these things result in charges though.

23-02-2022, 03:22 PM
I’d give Woodburn Club a miss for starters. The place was and always has been full of under age kids / drugs / trouble. But maybe that’s the Tory in me and I’m not working class enough.

Maybe.

23-02-2022, 03:24 PM
Has Ryan been in any bother before due to his off field conduct? I wasn't aware of anything.

If this is a first offence, and the offence is being present when a plastic tumbler is thrown and a daft mate nicks a wreath then it's hardly a hanging offence. Certainly something that might need to be taken into consideration if there were future incidents but I don't think he's exactly got a track record for off field trouble (something that, rightly or wrongly, Riordan ended up with).

Has most of his past stuff in the press not related to tackling Rangers players a bit robustly?

Yes but even amongst some of the users on here it’s somewhat overlooked.

23-02-2022, 04:27 PM
About time this vile rag was banned from Easter Road

23-02-2022, 04:48 PM
**** the Daily RAnger

Fuzzywuzzy
23-02-2022, 04:52 PM
I'm actually concerned that he may be benched for Sunday. I appreciate its a bit extreme but wouldn't surprise me

23-02-2022, 05:00 PM
exactly utterly pathetic story but under SNPolice Scotland these things result in charges though.

Strange comment. If someone ends up in hospital through assault then there quite rightly should be charges.. regardless of which hilarious nickname you’ve given to the government (if they are somehow relevant here).

I’m still guessing the story is nonsense though.

berwickhibee
23-02-2022, 05:02 PM
Come on Hibs, let's stand up for the club against these pathetic accusations.

This is years in the making, let's call them out asap🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

linlithgowhibbie
23-02-2022, 05:19 PM

You cannot be charged unless there is sufficient evidence, if the police think there is it goes to the PFs office, they decide if it goes to court where guilt or innocence is decided. Don't see what your problem with that would be, unless your problem is with the SNP and or the police.

23-02-2022, 05:20 PM
I’ve nae idea why he’s going to widburn club to be honest. Just asking for bother that

Probably because his pals all went to watch the boxing. Stupid though, there's fights there every week.

23-02-2022, 06:16 PM

Woodburn :greengrin

23-02-2022, 06:43 PM
Probably because his pals all went to watch the boxing. Stupid though, there's fights there every week.

Yeah the place is a hole. Trouble literally every weekend. As brightside says, underagers, drugs, constant bother. It absolutely baffles me how they have a 2am license.

23-02-2022, 06:55 PM
Yeah the place is a hole. Trouble literally every weekend. As brightside says, underagers, drugs, constant bother. It absolutely baffles me how they have a 2am license.

I'm guessing it has a 2am license as it's probably easier to police to have all the bams in the one place until that time rather than it being earlier and then spreading out of into various places.

Otherwise, I can't see the logic in that sort of venue being licensed until 2am.

23-02-2022, 07:09 PM
My wife told me that the layout and style of writing in the Daily Record was set up so that a 7 year old could read and understand it.
I think the journalists who write for that rag are not even as mature as a 7 year old.

23-02-2022, 08:16 PM

:agree: A Message to anyone who has never been and wasn't brought up in Dalkeith - do not ever go, even if it's to meet or go with a lady friend from the area. There's a lot more chance of ending up in ERI than there is getting any chance of your Nat King. :aok:

zitelli62
23-02-2022, 08:29 PM

Better believe it even plastic cups were hard as f*** from there ,was brought up there in the 70s and 80s never done me any harm youngster's today wouldn't believe what went on then my school reunion was in saughton prison buffet was crap though.

23-02-2022, 08:32 PM
:agree: A Message to anyone who has never been and wasn't brought up in Dalkeith - do not ever go, even if it's to meet or go with a lady friend from the area. There's a lot more chance of ending up in ERI than there is getting any chance of your Nat King. :aok:

Away you go, no different to anywhere else out Midlothian way

23-02-2022, 08:33 PM
Better believe it even plastic cups were hard as f*** from there ,was brought up there in the 70s and 80s never done me any harm youngster's today wouldn't believe what went on then my school reunion was in saughton prison buffet was crap though.

Finger buffet not recommended then🤷*♂️

zitelli62
23-02-2022, 08:42 PM
Finger buffet not recommended then🤷*♂️

Some thought it was good others didn't like it.

23-02-2022, 08:46 PM
Soon as you wind up or piss off one of the OF you become a target i'm afraid. The mere mention of Ryans name has the Rangers support foaming at the mouth so naturally the DR rag is playing up to that audience and stirring up a lot of hate for a young laddie.

Its a witch hunt pure and simple. The DR is an absolute disgrace of a "newspaper" with some of the most tacky and lazy journalism (I use that word very very loosely indeed) you're ever likely to come across. Should have been banned from ER in 2016 after their disgraceful pack of lies after the cup final. Lies they used to try mask over the result as much as possible and lies in which they have never retracted or apologized for.

23-02-2022, 09:18 PM

Going back 15 years but I always found it was fine when you were in there, trouble was outside afterwards when the local bams tried to pick off people from a different village.

23-02-2022, 09:22 PM

You're right. But what I said is still true. If you're from Libby and I'm from Inch you will ken that.

23-02-2022, 09:24 PM
Going back 15 years but I always found it was fine when you were in there, trouble was outside afterwards when the local bams tried to pick off people from a different village.

If you aren't from the place and people don't recognise you then you're in *****. Going to the bar is look at the floor at all times and if someone asks you what team you support Hibs usually is a winner though :greengrin

23-02-2022, 09:25 PM

Spent a few nights in Dalkeith in my young days, wasn’t pretty, got a few kickings as well. :wink:

23-02-2022, 09:26 PM
Spent a few nights in Dalkeith in my young days, wasn’t pretty, got a few kickings as well. :wink:

Pilton up to Dalkeith? I hope she was worth it :aok:

23-02-2022, 09:28 PM
Spent a few nights in Dalkeith in my young days, wasn’t pretty, got a few kickings as well. :wink:We Magdalene boys used to go to Dalkeith for our holidays in the 70's[emoji16]

Hedlund12
23-02-2022, 09:55 PM
I'm lead to believe that the "culprits" who started on Ryan were removed by security/bouncers from the "club" (call them what you want).
I bet that piece of information isn't reported in the rag!
As another fan said yesterday..."don't let the truth get in the way!"

Fuzzywuzzy
24-02-2022, 09:12 AM

My missus was telling me the young lads are back out in force after a bit of a lull. Said was about a 100 of them gathered at West Pilton drive. Never a dull moment

hibbydog
24-02-2022, 09:40 AM
We’re on the verge of world war 3 with Russia.

Daily Record front page is alleging that a footballer has been involved in bother at a miners club.

Tells you all you need to know about the Daily Rangers.

SON OF PADDY
24-02-2022, 03:43 PM
Soon as you wind up or piss off one of the OF you become a target i'm afraid. The mere mention of Ryans name has the Rangers support foaming at the mouth so naturally the DR rag is playing up to that audience and stirring up a lot of hate for a young laddie.

Its a witch hunt pure and simple. The DR is an absolute disgrace of a "newspaper" with some of the most tacky and lazy journalism (I use that word very very loosely indeed) you're ever likely to come across. Should have been banned from ER in 2016 after their disgraceful pack of lies after the cup final. Lies they used to try mask over the result as much as possible and lies in which they have never retracted or apologized for.

You're 💯 % correct mate !
I wouldn't wipe ma arse with it, would rather use a jaggy nettle. 😮

25-02-2022, 06:17 AM
This is the Rag that published Dallas street address/locale, a picture of car complete with number plate after he got hit by that “50p” coin during the OF match.

Next day his windows got panned.

it was his neighbour mind but that’s beside the point. Lowest of the low that paper - also brought us thr Hairiest baby competition - invest you not and people enters - one poor kid with hair like Elvis.

25-02-2022, 01:30 PM
That rag won't be happy until they've hounded Ryan out of Scotland.

25-02-2022, 07:38 PM
He's been charged for chucking a tumbler at a lady.

andudare2
25-02-2022, 07:53 PM
We Magdalene boys used to go to Dalkeith for our holidays in the 70's[emoji16]

Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkTo exotic a place when i was jumping about Magdalene, had to settle for costa porty or the Niddrie experience 😀

25-02-2022, 07:57 PM

Saw a 22 year old man had been charged. Had been hoping it wasn’t him, that’s not good.

Stairway 2 7
25-02-2022, 08:01 PM

Not good, one thing being in the company of someone another directly involved

zitelli62
25-02-2022, 08:02 PM
Between the ranger's refs and the media I said to my son he is a marked man in Scotland sad to see but he will have to leave hibs for his own sanity.

25-02-2022, 08:14 PM
Not good, assuming he won't be available for Sunday now too which is just what we don't need. 🙄

25-02-2022, 08:18 PM
Between the ranger's refs and the media I said to my son he is a marked man in Scotland sad to see but he will have to leave hibs for his own sanity.

If he’s chucked a plastic cup at someone and gets the book thrown at him he can’t blame anyone but himself.

Being the pantomime villain on the pitch and winding up huns great, being a total prick off it and getting in bother is idiotic.

cannastar
25-02-2022, 08:20 PM
daily record got what they wanted ryan in trouble. sad to say but i think he should head south or abroad whilst he is still young and developing his football skills. sad and shameful but thats our west coast media for you.

25-02-2022, 08:26 PM
Not good, assuming he won't be available for Sunday now too which is just what we don't need. 🙄

Why should he not be available for Sunday ?

25-02-2022, 10:13 PM
Why should he not be available for Sunday ?

Just assuming he wouldn't be if he's just been charged with a criminal offence.

26-02-2022, 01:42 AM
Newell done far worse and never missed a match. Ryan starts Sunday. Anything else and we're throwing the game. Essential player.

26-02-2022, 06:40 AM

He will be playing

hfcok
26-02-2022, 06:45 AM
Newell done far worse and never missed a match. Ryan starts Sunday. Anything else and we're throwing the game. Essential player.

100% true, Newell did so much worse.

26-02-2022, 06:51 AM
daily record got what they wanted ryan in trouble. sad to say but i think he should head south or abroad whilst he is still young and developing his football skills. sad and shameful but thats our west coast media for you.

Daily toilet didnt get what they wanted, Porteous being a pr1ck on a nite out with so called mates was his own doing. Of course it was going to make a newspaper. Porteous needs tae grow the F,up dump these so called mates and focus on a career that could be great. The lad could be playing for Scotland and could earn a big move to england, but he needs tae focus.

26-02-2022, 07:00 AM
The reference to a toughened plastic glass probably means polycarbonate. They are designed to be durable and are to all intents and purposes unbreakable. Hence why clubs use them and they are also the go to for prisons as well.

That avoids the potentially horrible consequences of a real glass smashing so the damage is limited. They can be heavy though and I certainly wouldn't like to get hit on the napper with one.

It's going to be a harsh lesson for RP. Been there, done it and got the T shirt. Hopefully he has a supportive family and the club rally round him too. He's made a mistake, he probably needs to reassess how he spends his free time but as long as he learns from it then he'll be fine.

26-02-2022, 08:55 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/8490551/hibs-ryan-porteous-charged-alleged-assault-woman/

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/hibs-star-ryan-porteous-charged-26333124

26-02-2022, 08:56 AM
I hope he isn't left out on Sunday. Vital player.

Hibees1973
26-02-2022, 09:04 AM
Must admit I cringe when I hear people say, we need to support and look after him. I'm not going to put the green specs on to distort my view on Porteous.

If reports are correct, he has been a complete and utter idiot and has put the club on the front pages for all the wrong reasons.

He needs to clean up his act on and off the pitch pronto or he will be shown the door. Heard him speaking on TV and radio enough to know that he does have a sensible side to his character, but he has let himself and the club down big time.

Some players are bad news and Hibs need to work out if he brings more good than bad. Any more high profile misdemeanours and he will not be at Hibs much longer.

26-02-2022, 09:11 AM
Must admit I cringe when I hear people say, we need to support and look after him. I'm not going to put the green specs on to distort my view on Porteous.

If reports are correct, he has been a complete and utter idiot and has put the club on the front pages for all the wrong reasons.

He needs to clean up his act on and off the pitch pronto or he will be shown the door. Heard him speaking on TV and radio enough to know that he does have a sensible side to his character, but he has let himself and the club down big time.

Some players are bad news and Hibs need to work out if he brings more good than bad. Any more high profile misdemeanours and he will not be at Hibs much longer.
Yep. ********. Sell him in the summer.

davy67 +
26-02-2022, 09:25 AM
Ryan needs to to take a long hard look at himself and think about his behaviour, one of the senior figures at the club should take him aside and have a quiet word with him . He needs to be made aware of his responsibilities and the damage his behaviour is causing to him and the club , he's not a big daft lad anymore he's a professional football player. It's time he punted these so called " mates " .

26-02-2022, 09:25 AM

Hang on, lets put the pitchforks away for a minute.

As far as I know, this is the very first off field issue with RP...........and while something clearly happened, he has been charged not convicted.

Everything else about RP has been on field stuff, and the fact that he hates Rangers and takes no crap is - for me - a big plus.........so do I.

He may be sold in the summer anyway, but lets not chase him out the door, ffs...........

26-02-2022, 09:28 AM

That's what I find so bizarre. In interviews he comes across as extremely level headed and mature and then gets up to this nonsense

26-02-2022, 09:38 AM
He’s an idiot for getting involved. Hopefully he learns.

26-02-2022, 09:42 AM
He’s an idiot for getting involved. Hopefully he learns.

That has been said so often over the last few seasons. Usually for on field matters right enough.

26-02-2022, 09:43 AM
Ha ha come on now only another 8 pages to go and we get to the 20 pages on this non event story.

26-02-2022, 09:44 AM

Did you also call for Newell and Boyle to be sold in the next available transfer window after their misdemeanours? Both of which were far more serious than what RP has been accused (and lets remember he is currently innocent in the eyes of the law) of.

If not, why are you singling RP out?

26-02-2022, 09:50 AM

STV news last night quoted Shaun saying he will be playing

26-02-2022, 09:55 AM

I would say Newell's offence was potentially far worse and I wouldn't have been surprised if he had been withdrawn from the team for a couple of games. However thankfully the only person who came out of that incident with any damage was Joe Newell himself and his reputation.

Obviously Porteous hasn't been convicted of anything yet but his alleged actions have resulted in someone (a woman) needing to go to hospital and with violence against women (which I think is undoubtedly how this will be painted) understandably being in the spotlight so much at the moment, I wouldn't have been surprised if he was pulled out the team for a wee while.

He will be playing

Fair enough, I think that's a big call by Hibs and hopefully it pays off.

26-02-2022, 09:59 AM
He's been arrested and charged

26-02-2022, 10:00 AM
https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1497524687294849024?t=nxV21JD9JbrjJUrNILofaQ&s=19

big gogs
26-02-2022, 10:01 AM

If ,reports are correct,that is the big question.the word is “if”.the reports came from the west coast mafia.we really want to hear Ryan porteous side of the story.the daily record and the sun made an accusation.if ,that word again told me today was Saturday ,I would check a calendar.

26-02-2022, 10:08 AM
If ,reports are correct,that is the big question.the word is “if”.the reports came from the west coast mafia.we really want to hear Ryan porteous side of the story.the daily record and the sun made an accusation.if ,that word again told me today was Saturday ,I would check a calendar.

Whole thing is a ****in joke and we just happen to be playing one o the uglies tomorrow, one who have to win to save the season, if I was the Big guy it would be a call to my agent rather than a lawyer telling him to get me the **** out of this micky mouse wee country as soon as.

26-02-2022, 10:09 AM
No excuse

26-02-2022, 10:10 AM
Big difference between a charge and a conviction so I'll hold my judgement for now...

26-02-2022, 10:14 AM

It's easy to be a good employer when things are rosy.

Far harder, and arguably also far more valuable, to support someone when they are having a harder time.

Hibs have a duty of care as his employer and I hope we take that seriously.

26-02-2022, 10:15 AM
Whole thing is a ****in joke and we just happen to be playing one o the uglies tomorrow, one who have to win to save the season, if I was the Big guy it would be a call to my agent rather than a lawyer telling him to get me the **** out of this micky mouse wee country as soon as.

Are you suggesting the police are involved in a conspiracy to help Celtic win the league?

26-02-2022, 10:17 AM
It's easy to be a good employer when things are rosy.

Far harder, and arguably also far more valuable, to support someone when they are having a harder time.

Hibs have a duty of care as his employer and I hope we take that seriously.

Exactly - think we’ve agreed on this throughout. The lad needs help and support - some honest conversations and some mentoring or he could go down the path of so many others we’ve had that have thrown their potential down the pan.

26-02-2022, 10:19 AM

**** off

26-02-2022, 10:21 AM
I don't think Ryan will play tomorrow. His head must be all over the place and the west coast media scrutiny will be intensive.

26-02-2022, 10:26 AM
Are you suggesting the police are involved in a conspiracy to help Celtic win the league?

“Normally we wouldn’t bother arresting and charging someone for throwing a tumbler at a woman, despite the evidence that we’d have to give us comfort that the charge is correct, BUT, Hibs are playing Celtic on Sunday so let’s get him!”

Eaststand
26-02-2022, 10:31 AM
No excuse

Do we no longer consider the simple fact that he may actually be innocent
I remember the days when people were considered to be innocent until proven guilty.

26-02-2022, 10:46 AM
Do we no longer consider the simple fact that he may actually be innocent
I remember the days when people were considered to be innocent until proven guilty.

Exactly. People want him punted before it's even been proved he has done anything wrong.

Absolutely shameful from so called "supporters".

26-02-2022, 10:47 AM
For this game in particular we need height and strength at set pieces. Unless he’s metaphorically shot the Queen then I think we need him playing.
That is not to justify what is alleged to have happened at widburn club. That will be properly examined in the judicial system but in terms of criminal act it is reprehensible but sounds relatively minor.

26-02-2022, 11:19 AM
Calls to sell him are a little strong. Perhaps he needs a little guidance about how to conduct himself off the field. A lot of people on here seem to want him strung up. The boys made a mistake. We all have at some point in our lives.

Crunchie
26-02-2022, 11:21 AM
Calls to sell him are a little strong. Perhaps he needs a little guidance about how to conduct himself off the field. A lot of people on here seem to want him strung up. The boys made a mistake. We all have at some point in our lives.
:aok: too many Simon Templar's on here.

26-02-2022, 11:26 AM
I honestly could not give a toss. I am only concerned what he does on the park.

The police arresting him for being involved in a plastic cup hitting someone, I mean really. Someone will get a few hits on Instagram for 5 mins of fame.

Expect to see him leading the line on Sunday and getting a great reception 👍

26-02-2022, 11:33 AM
So he’s started getting a bit of stick in a bar and launched a pint tumbler?

Looks it not great and it’s a stupid thing to do but come on, he’s a young boy who as far as I’m aware has never been in trouble like this before.

I don’t want him going anywhere.

Hopefully he starts on Sunday.

26-02-2022, 11:38 AM

Ffs.

Sauzee67
26-02-2022, 12:04 PM
You try getting abused and provoked all night and see how much restraint you have.

What happened to innocent until proven guilty anyway?

That's my take on it aswell, wouldn't surprise me if the provocation was being done to look for a reaction from Porto.

26-02-2022, 12:05 PM
You try getting abused and provoked all night and see how much restraint you have.

We don’t know he was abused all night do we? Falls into a similar bucket of innocent until proven guilty?

Comes back to the point being made though - why put yourself in a position where you are likely to be abused? Especially if you’ve not got the restraint required.

26-02-2022, 12:14 PM
I do know that.

He should be able to go out without being abused

He should. But knowing he’s likely to be, why go?

26-02-2022, 12:18 PM

He is such a bad guy, he wouldnt think twice about hitting someone with a plastic spoon.

26-02-2022, 12:19 PM
He is such a bad guy, he wouldnt think twice about hitting someone with a plastic spoon.

Feel like your missing the point being made here.

Paulie Walnuts
26-02-2022, 12:20 PM

Yup.

I should be able to walk through Gorgie on a match day with my Hibs top on. I don’t though because I make the sensible decision to not put myself in that position as I know I’d get abuse.

If it turns out he’s done this then that’s him let Hibs down yet again.

Also, do all the reports not realise that Dalkeith/Woodburn isn’t in Edinburgh?

26-02-2022, 12:22 PM

Are you saying that we shouldn’t accuse people of provoking him unless we know they’re guilty of it?

FWIW, I don’t think anyone needs to be going after Porto here, I hope the club deal with it appropriately, discipline him if required and support him regardless so everyone can move on.

The players, like employees at most businesses, have a responsibility not to bring their employers’ name into disrepute.

Ryan’s been in the news twice in quick succession and Hibs have been tarred with that brush, it’s not a good look.

And if he’s found guilty (a big if) then someone really needs to having a word with him about how unacceptable violence towards women in particular is.

26-02-2022, 12:29 PM

Ignoring it rather than missing it. Duncan Ferguson wearing a lace glove getting into fisty cuffs in a bar due to that, now that was press worthy. Fast forward a decade or two and we have minor fracas making headlines. Worse happens on the pitch and if you are a Rangers player its ignored by the press. Thats a real story but shames the biased nation that we are so gets ignored.

berwickhibee
26-02-2022, 12:35 PM
So he’s started getting a bit of stick in a bar and launched a pint tumbler?

Looks it not great and it’s a stupid thing to do but come on, he’s a young boy who as far as I’m aware has never been in trouble like this before.

I don’t want him going anywhere.

Hopefully he starts on Sunday.

Our best player, must start.

He can deal with this agenda no problem.

26-02-2022, 12:36 PM

Your indefatigability on this subject is impressive. Strange, but impressive.

26-02-2022, 12:40 PM

If he’s guilty will your opinion change? Or do you think it’s ok to throw something at a women that abuses you in a bar? If a girl slags you off in the Hibs club are you thinking it would be ok to chuck a glass at her? Btw I’m not saying Ryan is guilty. Just wondering were people’s line is. Some are clearly saying they couldn’t care less what happens away from the pitch.

OldEast
26-02-2022, 12:40 PM
Some amount of pearls being clutched.
**** the papers Ryan son. Big game tomorrow, get intae them.

SideBurns
26-02-2022, 12:43 PM
Unless Maloney thinks his head isn't right, he should be playing tomorrow. He hasn't been convicted of anything, why should he hide away? Usual trial by social media/ hibs.net will continue regardless, of course...

26-02-2022, 12:48 PM
A bit of Twitter tittle-tattle over some handbags at a miners club gleefully picked up by The Daily Record which has ultimately ended up with police involvement. Great work :applause:

Charges or no charges, The Daily Record (& The Sun for that matter) should be told they will not be welcome at Easter Road with immediate effect.

26-02-2022, 12:50 PM

26-02-2022, 12:51 PM
If he’s guilty will your opinion change? Or do you think it’s ok to throw something at a women that abuses you in a bar? If a girl slags you off in the Hibs club are you thinking it would be ok to chuck a glass at her? Btw I’m not saying Ryan is guilty. Just wondering were people’s line is. Some are clearly saying they couldn’t care less what happens away from the pitch.

I don't know if he is guilty or not but either way he should still be able to go out with being abused. I never once said it was 'ok' to throw anything at anyone.

26-02-2022, 12:54 PM

Some would say suspicious.

26-02-2022, 12:55 PM
A bit of Twitter tittle-tattle over some handbags at a miners club gleefully picked up by The Daily Record which has ultimately ended up with police involvement. Great work :applause:

Charges or no charges, The Daily Record (& The Sun for that matter) should be told they will not be welcome at Easter Road with immediate effect.

Those two rags are so worthless to me I wouldnt know if they are there or not. Ban them by all means but they are not significant enough to pay any attention to.

26-02-2022, 01:05 PM

Could be a Danderhall / Dalkeith thing of course....:wink:

26-02-2022, 01:06 PM

That’s a marvellous phrase. I’ll use that.

26-02-2022, 01:14 PM
Could be a Danderhall / Dalkeith thing of course....:wink:

Could be relevant - not lived in Danderhall for 17 years mind you.

Not sure what you’re getting at. Not wanting another player to waste their talent isn’t a crime. I don’t often blindly defend someone so not changing that just cos it’s a Hibs player.

Thanks. Not sure why it’s strange? Folk defending someone solely cos they’re a Hibs player is strange to me. Folk not seeing he has other options but chooses not to take them is strange to me.

26-02-2022, 01:15 PM

Been saying that for ages

26-02-2022, 01:18 PM
He's no Josh Taylor that's for sure :greengrin

People make mistakes and he's reacted to abuse with a drink in him. Hopefully he learns and moves on, primarily keeping away from known nut bars like the Woodburn would be a start.

26-02-2022, 01:20 PM
Thanks. Not sure why it’s strange? Folk defending someone solely cos they’re a Hibs player is strange to me. Folk not seeing he has other options but chooses not to take them is strange to me.

Folk? You were into this at the start and you’ve battered it through 8 pages of indignation. I gave it a rest (and wish I still had) but here you are still at it days later. You got your citation yet?

26-02-2022, 01:23 PM
Folk? You were into this at the start and you’ve battered it through 8 pages of indignation. I gave it a rest (and wish I still had) but here you are still at it days later. You got your citation yet?

I wasn’t going to reply to this thread today until I saw folk say it was a DR campaign that got him arrested.

Read my posts again and I think you’ll see all I’ve been saying is he needs mentoring - unfortunately many seem to think he’s fine and it’s all made up. It’s some kind of campaign against the working class or something.

26-02-2022, 02:06 PM

I cant be the only one who had to google that? :greengrin

OldEast
26-02-2022, 02:24 PM
I cant be the only one who had to google that? :greengrin

I've always wondered what Gaddafi's translator made of it when George Galloway said it to him 😂

26-02-2022, 02:30 PM
I've always wondered what Gaddafi's translator made of it when George Galloway said it to him 😂

26-02-2022, 02:44 PM
Pilton up to Dalkeith? I hope she was worth it :aok:

I’m no Piltoner, and no female involved, it wasn’t worth it though. :wink:

26-02-2022, 02:49 PM

wasn’t it Saddam he said it to? :greengrin

26-02-2022, 02:51 PM

You have found him guilty already, stop jumping to conclusions.

He will have his day in court to prove his innocence.

26-02-2022, 02:51 PM

Naw, Saddam said it to Galloway!

OldEast
26-02-2022, 02:59 PM

Yes you're right. An equally difficult task for the poor translator I'm sure 😀

26-02-2022, 03:02 PM

Dont even know what he is meant to be going to court for, but I would be thinking the courts would throw this out as a waste of public time and money long before it got in front of any hun judge.

NC1875
26-02-2022, 03:11 PM
Some people need to calm down about this. The guy gets pelters all night, someone in his group tosses a PLASTIC tumbler and people want him sold ? Give me a break!

Innocent until proven guilty, and tossing a plastic tumbler is hardly the crime of the century even if it was him.

So many Saints on here!

26-02-2022, 03:16 PM
Some people need to calm down about this. The guy gets pelters all night, someone in his group tosses a PLASTIC tumbler and people want him sold ? Give me a break!

Innocent until proven guilty, and tossing a plastic tumbler is hardly the crime of the century even if it was him.

So many Saints on here!

This. Can't believe people are foaming at the mouth over a story in the Daily Record.

26-02-2022, 03:27 PM
This. Can't believe people are foaming at the mouth over a story in the Daily Record.

Really? :greengrin

26-02-2022, 03:28 PM
I’m no Piltoner, and no female involved, it wasn’t worth it though. :wink:

My apologies :cb

26-02-2022, 03:32 PM
Really? :greengrin

Well half a story 😉

26-02-2022, 03:50 PM

Yes
But George said it was a salute to the Iraqi people ,not Saddam
Not only do some find the word hard to spell.
Its hard to pronounce,for us with false teeth !!

It was the late MP for Leith, Ron Brown who went to Tripoli and met Gaddafi.
Ron got slaughtered for it in the press.
But he went to try and secure orders for Robbs shipyard in Leith,which was toiling at the time.
Gaddafi promised give Leith some orders.
Huge tugboats ,but Thatcher put the block on it .
I was working for Ron at that time.
For all his faults,he was a bonny fechter and loved Leith.

Not a word ,but a phrase from a politician.
The phrase "not fit for purpose" was made popular by John Reid, former Labour MP, now a Lord.
He went from being a member of the British Communist Party to a seat in a House he once wanted to abolish !!
And he would squeeze that phrase in any speech he could.

I knew him too !! No bad company over a pint.
But that was before he began to think the sun shone out his backside :cb

Mr. Wonderful
26-02-2022, 04:05 PM
A few getting their knickers in a huge twist here. Innocent until proven guilty and not a soul knows the full story

26-02-2022, 04:09 PM
Well half a story 😉

26-02-2022, 05:35 PM
:aok: too many Simon Templar's on here.

Haha, that will be lost on many here!

26-02-2022, 05:39 PM

Do you think it's guaranteed to go to court Silv?

26-02-2022, 05:45 PM

Depends if he pleads guilty to a lesser charge of breach of the peace imo.

If he's been charged with assault it will be up to him to prove he didn't do it or it was self defence. Anything else such as being slagged etc won't get him off. If he's been charged it could be that 2 witnesses have said it's him or it could also be there's CCTV evidence.

26-02-2022, 05:47 PM

I occasionally watch an old episode, sadly I can still remember a lot of the plots!!!

Same with the original Randall and Hopkirk deceased episodes.

26-02-2022, 05:53 PM

He had a rush of blood to his head and lost his temper under provocation.

Can't imagine anyone else has ever done something like that.

26-02-2022, 06:37 PM

Unfortunately not me, old enough to remember. 😁

26-02-2022, 06:57 PM
I don't think Ryan will play tomorrow. His head must be all over the place and the west coast media scrutiny will be intensive.

I suppose that will depend if he has done anything and other parts of the story we may be unaware of. Ryan will know what happened and whether the stories are rubbish or whether there is any truth. He will also know if playing would actually be good for him at this time

NC1875
26-02-2022, 06:58 PM

If he's been charged with assault it will be up to him to prove he didn't do it or it was self defence. Anything else such as being slagged etc won't get him off. If he's been charged it could be that 2 witnesses have said it's him or it could also be there's CCTV evidence.

No it won’t. It will be upto the prosecutor to prove he did do it. That means calling witnesses from both sides, over the tossing of a plastic tumbler.

A complete and utter waste of court time. If it had been anyone else, Would the girl have made such a fuss ?

Some of the comment on here are embarrassing

26-02-2022, 07:03 PM
No it won’t. It will be upto the prosecutor to prove he did do it. That means calling witnesses from both sides, over the tossing of a plastic tumbler.

A complete and utter waste of court time. If it had been anyone else, Would the girl have made such a fuss ?

Some of the comment on here are embarrassing

If witnesses say he done it or there's camera evidence alongside the victims injuries there won't be a leg to stand on sadly.

I hope you aren't including me in the embarrassing comments as I've said it's a something over nothing.

I think RP will get a fine for breach of the peace as a lesser charge. If there's evidence he will be advised to plead guilty and it doesn't matter at all the events leading to it unless he claims he was defending himself and felt to be in real danger and the only option was to launch it.

There is also a victim in this despite what it was that hit them. Lets hope they are okay.

26-02-2022, 07:59 PM

It's not up to him to prove anything.

The onus is entirely on the prosecution to prove their case, otherwise he is aquitted.

26-02-2022, 08:16 PM
I wasn’t going to reply to this thread today until I saw folk say it was a DR campaign that got him arrested.

Read my posts again and I think you’ll see all I’ve been saying is he needs mentoring - unfortunately many seem to think he’s fine and it’s all made up. It’s some kind of campaign against the working class or something.

About a million years ago I suggested he was a lad who had mates. Some other ‘folk’ suggested he needed different mates. I asked what a working class boy should do to find new mates. Fair? You’re the campaigner. This is clear to me anyway.

26-02-2022, 08:18 PM
Naw, Saddam said it to Galloway!

Back to front. It’s still an adjective however that belongs to neither of the *****.

26-02-2022, 08:22 PM
It's not up to him to prove anything.

The onus is entirely on the prosecution to prove their case, otherwise he is aquitted.

If he's thrown it he's going to get done with it. It's as clear cut as that.

26-02-2022, 08:34 PM

It doesn't work like that in real life though.

He has been charged, but that doesn't mean the case is strong or even viable.

There are loads of reasons cases fail even if they reach court, primary one being that the crown can't prove its case beyond reasonable doubt.

In a case like this all it needs is for some doubt over witnesses sobriety, slight doubt over who saw what. Unless it is a slam dunk (unlikely) the jury wouldn't be able to return a guilty verdict.

Let's see what happens but until he is found guilty, he is innocent.

26-02-2022, 08:35 PM

It's common knowledge here in Dalkeith who threw it.

26-02-2022, 08:41 PM
It's common knowledge here in Dalkeith who threw it.

If it was Ryan it will be chucked out then.

26-02-2022, 08:44 PM

There are loads of reasons cases fail even if they reach court, primary one being that the crown can't prove its case beyond reasonable doubt.

In a case like this all it needs is for some doubt over witnesses sobriety, slight doubt over who saw what. Unless it is a slam dunk (unlikely) the jury wouldn't be able to return a guilty verdict.

Infact it's not worth posting.

26-02-2022, 08:51 PM
About a million years ago I suggested he was a lad who had mates. Some other ‘folk’ suggested he needed different mates. I asked what a working class boy should do to find new mates. Fair? You’re the campaigner. This is clear to me anyway.

Not clear it fair. I’m no campaigner I’m just making a point the hard of understanding are struggling with. That’s clear to me.

I'm Spartacus
26-02-2022, 09:01 PM
ANY footballer going to the Woodburn Miners is going to get some sort of abuse at closing time, it's hardly rocket science.

Why why why does he have to get involved? And why can't his clown group of mates protect him?

26-02-2022, 09:26 PM

Won’t be a jury trial.

26-02-2022, 09:31 PM

Won’t be a jury trial.

Yes. More like district court stuff. But maybe his “public profile” will see him infront of a sheriff??

linlithgowhibbie
26-02-2022, 09:46 PM
Yes. More like district court stuff. But maybe his “public profile” will see him infront of a sheriff??

An assault that results in the victim needing to go to hospital for their injuries will be a Sheriff court case!

26-02-2022, 11:17 PM

He has been charged so it will go to court Scoops, charges may be dropped on the day, will depend if any CCTV has caught it,.

Mr Riordan was charged with assaulting a bouncer at a casino a few years back, bouncer was charged first and lost his job on the night and was then sacked by security company, police weeks later charged Deek’s, bizarre decision, the CCTV showed a brutal assault on Deek’s, I seen it in court, the judge asked the prosecutor if they wanted to continue with case reply was no and Deek walked free, bouncer is still to get his day in court charged with serious assault but you won’t read that in the papers, nasty stuff, staff and customers pleaded for assault to be stopped, due to covid and witnesses not turning up it is still to go to trial.

Hope Ryan has a good lawyer as it always helps and was advised to say No Comment on the incident when charged.

26-02-2022, 11:23 PM
He has been charged so it will go to court Scoops, charges may be dropped on the day, will depend if any CCTV has caught it,.

Mr Riordan was charged with assaulting a bouncer at a casino a few years back, bouncer was charged first and lost his job on the night and was then sacked by security company, police weeks later charged Deek’s, bizarre decision, the CCTV showed a brutal assault on Deek’s, I seen it in court, the judge asked the prosecutor if they wanted to continue with case reply was no and Deek walked free, bouncer is still to get his day in court charged with serious assault but you won’t read that in the papers, nasty stuff, staff and customers pleaded for assault to be stopped, due to covid and witnesses not turning up it is still to go to trial.

Hope Ryan has a good lawyer as it always helps and was advised to say No Comment on the incident when charged.

What's stopping the prick being taken to court?

That's all it takes though, the bouncer to lie and the police to make up a story and you get charged right away no questions asked. Fair play to Deeks not taking breach of the peace and seeing it through. I personally know it's tough but the correct judgement is more than worth it.

DR has always been the least confrontational person I've ever met. Always head down and shy even with his group who even then were okay. Been out with him loads and the first thing that happens is everyone got body searched and had ******** bouncers each and every time. Ridiculous behavior that was just accepted and never reported. :aok:

26-02-2022, 11:23 PM
If witnesses say he done it or there's camera evidence alongside the victims injuries there won't be a leg to stand on sadly.

I hope you aren't including me in the embarrassing comments as I've said it's a something over nothing.

I think RP will get a fine for breach of the peace as a lesser charge. If there's evidence he will be advised to plead guilty and it doesn't matter at all the events leading to it unless he claims he was defending himself and felt to be in real danger and the only option was to launch it.

There is also a victim in this despite what it was that hit them. Lets hope they are okay.

Did I not read in one of the rags that the woman was taking to hospital but didn’t need any medical attention.

He isn’t charged with breach of the peace so he won’t get found guilty of that, he will be guilty or not guilty of assault.

26-02-2022, 11:25 PM
An assault that results in the victim needing to go to hospital for their injuries will be a Sheriff court case!

This is correct. Even if the assailant is taken to hospital too.

26-02-2022, 11:28 PM
Did I not read in one of the rags that the woman was taking to hospital but didn’t need any medical attention.

He isn’t charged with breach of the peace so he won’t get found guilty of that, he will be guilty or not guilty of assault.

Soon as they are taken to hospital and the police are involved and charged him the lesser charge of breach is recommended. He's charged with assault. He the lesser charge because hospital and police are involved is breach. It's what I was personally advised. I didn't know this until I was told this officially. I declined because I done nothing wrong. Thankfully the outcome was in my favour.

26-02-2022, 11:41 PM
What's stopping the prick being taken to court?

That's all it takes though, the bouncer to lie and the police to make up a story and you get charged right away no questions asked. Fair play to Deeks not taking breach of the peace and seeing it through. I personally know it's tough but the correct judgement is more than worth it.

DR has always been the least confrontational person I've ever met. Always head down and shy even with his group who even then were okay. Been out with him loads and the first thing that happens is everyone got body searched and had ******** bouncers each and every time. Ridiculous behavior that was just accepted and never reported. :aok:

Not just CCTV, you can hear what is being said, Deek was attacked from behind, bouncer said Deek had attacked him, when police arrived they looked at CCTV and arrested the bouncer, the casino boss sacked him on the spot, the bouncer is massive and had deek in a choke hold, the other bouncer had to drag him off Deek, papers know all about it as they were in court when charge was dropped against Deek but not a peep about the bouncer to stand trial.

Also been out with Derek many times and the grief he gets is way over the top, I watched a lass spit in his face when he was just back from china and bouncer through the female out of bar, I know how he was treated at times and at times you can only protect yourself from idiots, bouncer’s included.

26-02-2022, 11:51 PM
Not just CCTV, you can hear what is being said, Deek was attacked from behind, bouncer said Deek had attacked him, when police arrived they looked at CCTV and arrested the bouncer, the casino boss sacked him on the spot, the bouncer is massive and had deek in a choke hold, the other bouncer had to drag him off Deek, papers know all about it as they were in court when charge was dropped against Deek but not a peep about the bouncer to stand trial.

Also been out with Derek many times and the grief he gets is way over the top, I watched a lass spit in his face when he was just back from china and bouncer through the female out of bar, I know how he was treated at times and at times you can only protect yourself from idiots, bouncer’s included.

Does there not have to be two witness statements to get charged though?

And you don't have to say to me bud. I've seen first hand the **** he was getting and no saint but he's always been humble wanted no trouble and was shy at the height of his career. Welts on a weekend basis took advantage of it and so did bouncers. The bouncer trouble wasn't the first time. There came a point it was an actual piss take. Like Ryan with a drink there's times you have enough and bite back. Who wouldn't when you've got absolute tits in your face with a phone begging for a reaction. And it all starts especially with Deeks with the bouncers being tits before anything even happens.

27-02-2022, 08:41 AM
Dont even know what he is meant to be going to court for, but I would be thinking the courts would throw this out as a waste of public time and money long before it got in front of any hun judge.

If you have any daughters and they unfortunately get assaulted in a bar I assume you will be all for just letting the guy off as it’s a waste of money. Note I’m not saying Porto is innocent or guilty. But the thought process is mental of this thread just because he is a hibs player.

27-02-2022, 09:10 PM
Ryan is a young laddie, we all do stupid things when we are young. Absolutely not for a second excusing it or condoning it but everyone in there younger days has got caught up in silly nonsense especially when drinks involved. What Ryan needs to remember though is that he is not like most other 21 year olds. Ryan is a football player who will be recognised when hes out and everything he does will get picked up on. There will also be people out there who deliberately try to provoke him into doing stupid things. Ryan needs to be mature enough to keep away from trouble and chose his friends circle wisely.

Young guy or not, he still needs to act responsibly and take ownership of his actions. If he is guilty then he should be rightly punished just as everyone should who breaks the law but some of the exaggeration against him is ridiculous. Immature and wreckless but hardly a dangerous hardened criminal like some of the media would have you believing.

27-02-2022, 10:58 PM

That’s a shocker of a story and not in the least like the media like to paint it. Here’s hoping it is resolved soon for DR and the papers finally tell it as it is.

28-02-2022, 09:15 AM
Ryan is a young laddie, we all do stupid things when we are young. Absolutely not for a second excusing it or condoning it but everyone in there younger days has got caught up in silly nonsense especially when drinks involved. What Ryan needs to remember though is that he is not like most other 21 year olds. Ryan is a football player who will be recognised when hes out and everything he does will get picked up on. There will also be people out there who deliberately try to provoke him into doing stupid things. Ryan needs to be mature enough to keep away from trouble and chose his friends circle wisely.

Young guy or not, he still needs to act responsibly and take ownership of his actions. If he is guilty then he should be rightly punished just as everyone should who breaks the law but some of the exaggeration against him is ridiculous. Immature and wreckless but hardly a dangerous hardened criminal like some of the media would have you believing.

He's not 21. Almost 23. :aok:

28-02-2022, 09:20 AM
He's not 21. Almost 23. :aok:

So he’s definitely no like most 21 year olds then 😁

28-02-2022, 09:35 AM
So he’s definitely no like most 21 year olds then 😁