View Full Version : Lewis Stevenson taking a corner

20-02-2022, 06:43 PM
WTF Was that all about :greengrin

Ran 60 yards to take a corner ( And by the way it was well swung in :greengrin )

Has he ever taken a corner for Hibs before ?

20-02-2022, 06:44 PM

Ran 60 yards to take a corner ( And by the way it was well swung in :greengrin )

He took them under Lennon at the start of his first season.

20-02-2022, 06:46 PM

Fair enough :aok:

Just seemed a bit strange calling wee Lewy fae his ain half to come and take it

Then we got a corner from his corner and let Henderson take it.

Definitely different 😁

It was strange, what was even more peculiar is we won a corner directly from his corner and then younger Hendo took it?! So weird! haha

Then we got a corner from his corner and let Henderson take it.

Definitely different 😁

Beat me to it! Haha

20-02-2022, 06:47 PM
It was bizarre particularly as the previous out swinger had caused them all sort of bother and then we took another out swinger directly afterwards.

20-02-2022, 06:52 PM
Just keep people guessing ?! Even after all these years Lewis needs something to rock the boat, he’ll be playing in goals before he retires I’ll call it now !

20-02-2022, 06:55 PM
Yes remember that they were all excellent. The man is a legend

20-02-2022, 06:55 PM
As much as I've 'maligned' Lewy this season and still think we need to plan ahead next season without reliance on him, he is still the best technical player at Hibs. Consistently keep possession, and under pressure, moves the ball forward in the main, and strong as an ox still.

If we keep him next season, for me, he has to remain as a holding defensive midfielder, given his skill at keeping the ball and reading the game ahead of him. The younger midfielders panic a little, you never get that with Lewis - purely down to his technical ability to retain and move the ball intelligently.

I've been overly harsh on him this year, and it's when we have injuries and suspensions that you realise he is so adept at stepping in to any situation and position on the pitch. I still think we need a left back to challenge Josh, but I'm keen to see Lewis in midfield when it's a battle, because we don't have many with his sheer grit and determination in that area, and skill level.

20-02-2022, 07:03 PM
As much as I've 'maligned' Lewy this season and still think we need to plan ahead next season without reliance on him, he is still the best technical player at Hibs. Consistently keep possession, and under pressure, moves the ball forward in the main, and strong as an ox still.

If we keep him next season, for me, he has to remain as a holding defensive midfielder, given his skill at keeping the ball and reading the game ahead of him. The younger midfielders panic a little, you never get that with Lewis - purely down to his technical ability to retain and move the ball intelligently.

I've been overly harsh on him this year, and it's when we have injuries and suspensions that you realise he is so adept at stepping in to any situation and position on the pitch. I still think we need a left back to challenge Josh, but I'm keen to see Lewis in midfield when it's a battle, because we don't have many with his sheer grit and determination in that area, and skill level.

I do agree in that I think his best position now is in the middle of the pitch, I think it highlights his attributes well.

It's hard for me to comment on any Stevenson thread constructively cause I genuinely love the guy. I've called him a legend on so many threads now it's probably becoming a bore, but he is exactly that. Don't think I'll ever think more of a Hibs player in my lifetime.

Oh aye, and also a class corner haha.

20-02-2022, 07:22 PM
I do agree in that I think his best position now is in the middle of the pitch, I think it highlights his attributes well.

It's hard for me to comment on any Stevenson thread constructively cause I genuinely love the guy. I've called him a legend on so many threads now it's probably becoming a bore, but he is exactly that. Don't think I'll ever think more of a Hibs player in my lifetime.

Oh aye, and also a class corner haha.

Agreed. I think the family must hate me with the amount I talk about him whenever I come back from a game.

hibee1875
20-02-2022, 07:28 PM
Every time a new manager comes in his career takes a new turn. I’d love to see him in training. By all accounts he’s a quiet guy but everyone speaks so highly of him. Jack Ross was gushing over him when he was a pundit for the derby.

I hope we can get another good year or two out of him. After that the club has to do whatever to keep him within the club

Stonewall
20-02-2022, 07:46 PM

People have been saying we need to get better than Lewis since about 2010 and yet…

mokie
20-02-2022, 08:05 PM
People have been saying we need to get better than Lewis since about 2010 and yet…

since 2010 we have the majority of the time been utter dross , so yes we do need to get better than Lewis Stevenson.

20-02-2022, 08:13 PM
since 2010 we have the majority of the time been utter dross , so yes we do need to get better than Lewis Stevenson.

Welcome to the board…great to have an uplifting thoughtful new poster…..

hibee
20-02-2022, 08:25 PM
Every time a new manager comes in his career takes a new turn. I’d love to see him in training. By all accounts he’s a quiet guy but everyone speaks so highly of him. Jack Ross was gushing over him when he was a pundit for the derby.

I hope we can get another good year or two out of him. After that the club has to do whatever to keep him within the club

I remember going on a Hibs.net trip to the training ground and watching them train.

Lewis put in so much effort and must have run twice as far as anyone else that day. I was really impressed with his attitude so it doesn’t surprise me that he’s picked by every manager, get 11 players on the pitch with his attitude and we’d do well.

mokie
20-02-2022, 08:26 PM
Welcome to the board…great to have an uplifting thoughtful new poster…..

as you can see I joined in 2008. Your peepers certainly aren’t the best are they ??

Not a big poster as you can see but not afraid to chuck my 10 pence worth in every other year.

20-02-2022, 08:26 PM
Just keep people guessing ?! Even after all these years Lewis needs something to rock the boat, he’ll be playing in goals before he retires I’ll call it now !

I could go all Kevin Keegan and say, I would love it if on his last ever appearance for Hibs that they gave him the gloves for the last five minutes of a game, that's after starting him up front!

20-02-2022, 08:30 PM
the biggest problem with Lewis is there is only one of him.

mokie
20-02-2022, 08:33 PM
the biggest problem with Lewis is there is only one of him.

I don’t know if you’re being serious or you’re just trolling. I’d call it a blessing personally.

20-02-2022, 08:38 PM
Was surprised to see him move into a back 3 yesterday, given his performances in the middle of the park recently.. I was initially wondering why not play mcgregor in the back 3 with Lewis still in the midfield. In the end it worked out fine, we got the win .. but he has been our best performer in midfield these past few weeks.

20-02-2022, 08:57 PM
I don’t know if you’re being serious or you’re just trolling. I’d call it a blessing personally.

I'm being very serious. He has been a fantastic player for Hibs and continues to be an important player for the squad and manager. He passes the ball well, is hard as nails, must be one of the fittest at the club and never gives in or stops trying to win. He has all the attributes I want to see in every outfield player at the club and very few have them all.
It has taken many years for some fans to appreciate how good a player he is. Thankfully, there are only a few left, like you, who just can't see the many attributes Lewis brings to the team.

20-02-2022, 09:01 PM

Thats not true. In fact, since 2014, we've actually been good the majority of the time, recording 13 Hampden visits, 3rd, 4th, 5th places, and that Scottish cup win and Lewis being a key player in that.

mokie
20-02-2022, 09:04 PM
I'm being very serious. He has been a fantastic player for Hibs and continues to be an important player for the squad and manager. He passes the ball well, is hard as nails, must be one of the fittest at the club and never gives in or stops trying to win. He has all the attributes I want to see in every outfield player at the club and very few have them all.
It has taken many years for some fans to appreciate how good a player he is. Thankfully, there are only a few left, like you, who just can't see the many attributes Lewis brings to the team.

Yep a fantastic player for hibs and there’s a reason he’s been here this long. His commitment and work rate are second to none I agree but it’s the 30% ability that’s worries me. Let’s be honest here , if he was that good a player then he would’ve been signed by a better team long before now.

Your comment about him passing the ball well is laughable. Hoofs it forward at every opportunity when he’s playing at the back. Better distribution when he’s in midfield I will say.

hibby rae
20-02-2022, 09:05 PM

Agree with all of that. My love for Lewie knows no bounds. He's also maybe the nicest person in Scottish football.

Iirc Lennon was talking about him once and he said no one puts more effort in that him.

20-02-2022, 09:06 PM

Jeez, you really hate the guy don’t you

mokie
20-02-2022, 09:08 PM
Jeez, you really hate the guy don’t you

Far from it. Hate is a strong word.

as I said can’t question his commitment but his ability isn’t the best.

Wouldn’t you say if he was a better player he’d have been away from hibs long before now ????

20-02-2022, 09:10 PM
as you can see I joined in 2008. Your peepers certainly aren’t the best are they ??

Not a big poster as you can see but not afraid to chuck my 10 pence worth in every other year.

Well come back in another couple years then because you’ve no been missed.

20-02-2022, 09:14 PM
Far from it. Hate is a strong word.

as I said can’t question his commitment but his ability isn’t the best.

Wouldn’t you say if he was a better player he’d have been away from hibs long before now ????

You're the one that questioned somebody's eyesight and yet you've implied that Lewis he has only 30% skill. If you watch him every week you must do so with your eyes shut.

I used the word hate because you're vitriol; in this and other threads about Lewis is just that.

I see you've used the old 'if he was a better player he’d have been away from hibs long before now' card. Pathetic.

20-02-2022, 09:15 PM
Yep a fantastic player for hibs and there’s a reason he’s been here this long. His commitment and work rate are second to none I agree but it’s the 30% ability that’s worries me. Let’s be honest here , if he was that good a player then he would’ve been signed by a better team long before now.

Your comment about him passing the ball well is laughable. Hoofs it forward at every opportunity when he’s playing at the back. Better distribution when he’s in midfield I will say.

That is simply not true , You are either trolling or believing your own rubbish .

No way does Stevenson hoof at every opportunity , Not even close

mokie
20-02-2022, 09:22 PM
You're the one that questioned somebody's eyesight and yet you've implied that Lewis he has only 30% skill. If you watch him every week you must do so with your eyes shut.

I used the word hate because you're vitriol; in this and other threads about Lewis is just that.

I see you've used the old 'if he was a better player he’d have been away from hibs long before now' card. Pathetic.

answer the question John. Don’t bat it off. If he was as good as the majority of hibs fans say he is then wouldn’t he be playing at a better side ?? Why can’t you give me an answer ? I’m curious for your opinion. You watch him with your eyes open , unlike me so tell me why he’s still at Hibs ?.

As I said , hate is a strong word. I praise him for his commitment and work rate but he’s a bang average player in my opinion. On here , going against the status quo sets you up for mob mentality treatment where your shot down from all angles.

mokie
20-02-2022, 09:25 PM
That is simply not true , You are either trolling or believing your own rubbish .

Here we go , go against the grain and I’m trolling. Point proven I’d say.

20-02-2022, 09:27 PM
What an odd argument to pile into.

mokie
20-02-2022, 09:29 PM

basically Andy you go against the majority , have a different point of view and you’re classed as a troll.

no wonder I don’t post on here very often.

20-02-2022, 09:32 PM
answer the question John. Don’t bat it off. If he was as good as the majority of hibs fans say he is then wouldn’t he be playing at a better side ?? Why can’t you give me an answer ? I’m curious for your opinion. You watch him with your eyes open , unlike me so tell me why he’s still at Hibs ?.

As I said , hate is a strong word. I praise him for his commitment and work rate but he’s a bang average player in my opinion. On here , going against the status quo sets you up for mob mentality treatment where your shot down from all angles.

Interesting that you refer to me by name .... almost like you know me but I don't know anyone named mokie ... assuming that's your real name.

The argument of he'd be at a better side if he was as good as folk say he is, is pointless. You yourself have highlighted this is a messageboard for offering opinions and on the point of Lewis I'd argue your views are not only very much in the minority and have no basis in fact whatsoever. I've no idea whether other clubs have looked at him and neither have you so the point is, well pointless.

It just completely mystifies me that you consider him bang average. To turn your argument on it's head slightly you might say if he's no better than bang average it's a miracle he's lasted at a club like Hibs for so long.

20-02-2022, 09:32 PM
A player that never lets us down regardless of where he plays and someone people won’t realise how lucky we are to have him once he retires

mokie
20-02-2022, 09:40 PM
Interesting that you refer to me by name .... almost like you know me but I don't know anyone named mokie ... assuming that's your real name.

The argument of he'd be at a better side if he was as good as folk say he is, is pointless. You yourself have highlighted this is a messageboard for offering opinions and on the point of Lewis I'd argue your views are not only very much in the minority and have no basis in fact whatsoever. I've no idea whether other clubs have looked at him and neither have you so the point is, well pointless.

It just completely mystifies me that you consider him bang average. To turn your argument on it's head slightly you might say if he's no better than bang average it's a miracle he's lasted at a club like Hibs for so long.

Clubs looking at a player and buying a player are totally different things.

As for clubs buying Lewis , if better teams thought he was any good then he would’ve been away a long time ago. John McGinn didn’t hang around very long did he ?.

He’s a bang average player playing in a bang average hibs team and Hibs have been average at best for over 10 years now.

20-02-2022, 09:42 PM

He probably plays more forward passes along the deck than any other player at the club. His first touch is one of the best at the club too and he runs with the ball very well. He has plenty skill and lots more attributes and as I said the vast majority of fans can now see this. No idea why they couldn't from the start as he has always been a very consistent performer. What 70% skills is he lacking for a player who has mostly played in defensive positions.

There are only a couple of clubs bigger than Hibs in Scotland to move too so they are only interested in a select few players and can afford to have specialists in every position with specialist cover. Lewis is perhaps not recognised for playing a single position through his versatility

20-02-2022, 09:45 PM

As for clubs buying Lewis , if better teams thought he was any good then he would’ve been away a long time ago. John McGinn didn’t hang around very long did he ?.

He’s a bang average player playing in a bang average hibs team and Hibs have been average at best for over 10 years now.

You're a lost cause, mokie

Edit: Bang average Hibs won the Scottish Cup in 2016 :na na:

20-02-2022, 09:48 PM

What🤣🤣

20-02-2022, 10:30 PM
… popped in to see what was being discussed and can now hear Rod Serling’s intro …

20-02-2022, 11:09 PM
It was a pretty decent corner fwiw.

From an absolute legend who is currently playing at a very high standard, and is an example to all around him.

20-02-2022, 11:17 PM
basically Andy you go against the majority , have a different point of view and you’re classed as a troll.

Do us a favour and just don't post at all. Away back to Gorgie.

20-02-2022, 11:17 PM

It would be good if you ever reached the heights of being a bang average poster.

21-02-2022, 04:08 AM

At best? Do you know what that means? At best we've won the Scottish Cup and finished 3rd and 4th.

He's a Hibs legend. He'll do more for the club today than you have in your life. Don't forget that.

21-02-2022, 05:31 AM

Troll!

You are not a Hibs fan. Plain and simple!

JamesHFC
21-02-2022, 06:36 AM

We had our day at Hampden and it’s all because of you 🎶

21-02-2022, 06:53 AM

Re your last sentence, it would seem that the poster in question has a more informed opinion than:

John Collins
John Hughes
Mixu
Colin calderwood
Pat fenlon
Alan Stubbs
Neil Lennon
Paul Heckingbottom
Jack Ross

And now Shaun Maloney.

So that’s 10 managers. Vs one guy on Hibs net.

(T**** Bu***** is not included in this list because he’s a prick.)

21-02-2022, 07:32 AM

Indeed. He’s made fools of them.

hibsforeurope
21-02-2022, 07:33 AM
Lewy’s just living his best life now, captain, centre half, centre mid maestro, Corner taker. I wouldn’t be surprised to see him step up n try a direct free kick at goal next week.

hibby rae
21-02-2022, 07:36 AM
Lewy’s just living his best life now, captain, centre half, centre mid maestro, Corner taker. I wouldn’t be surprised to see him step up n try a direct free kick at goal next week.

Or use his right foot 😉

21-02-2022, 07:50 AM
It looked like Henderson didn't fancy the corner and Lewis ran over and then the following corner they was both looking at each other and Euan was like I'll have this one Lewis.

21-02-2022, 08:08 AM
Thats not true. In fact, since 2014, we've actually been good the majority of the time, recording 13 Hampden visits, 3rd, 4th, 5th places, and that Scottish cup win and Lewis being a key player in that.

well said. too many on here won't accept anything less than Champions League winners medals as a sign of success.

21-02-2022, 09:53 AM
I seem to remember when he was taking corners early one season Lennon was here, we would have two players lined up to take the corner, I guess to create confusion as to whether it was going to be an inswinger or an outswinger.

21-02-2022, 09:57 AM

Too often for my cash.

mokie
21-02-2022, 11:16 AM
You're a lost cause, mokie

Edit: Bang average Hibs won the Scottish Cup in 2016 :na na:

Won the cup in 2016 but cast to your mind back to what division we were in at that time and how long we stuck around in there for ???

mokie
21-02-2022, 11:18 AM
It would be good if you ever reached the heights of being a bang average poster.

Touchee Matty .. It would be good if your podcast could reach the heights of being average so lets '' agree to disagree '' on this one shall we???

mokie
21-02-2022, 11:19 AM
Troll!

You are not a Hibs fan. Plain and simple!

The good old classic Hibs.net response.. A season ticket holder for 25 years would tell me different..

21-02-2022, 11:25 AM
The good old classic Hibs.net response.. A season ticket holder for 25 years would tell me different..

Don’t know why you’ve bothered with season tickets when you clearly don’t like Hibs. Save your money next year.

mokie
21-02-2022, 11:28 AM
Re your last sentence, it would seem that the poster in question has a more informed opinion than:

John Collins
John Hughes
Mixu
Colin calderwood
Pat fenlon
Alan Stubbs
Neil Lennon
Paul Heckingbottom
Jack Ross

And now Shaun Maloney.

So that’s 10 managers. Vs one guy on Hibs net.

(T**** Bu***** is not included in this list because he’s a prick.)

Yeh what a list of names on there. With the exception of Lennon and Maloney every single of them you could say know hee haw about football management.. Collins and Stubbs won trophies but over the grand scale of things along with the rest of them were absolutely terrible..

From The latter part of Collins's reign to when we went down was years of absolute dross.. Stubbs won th cup was terrible when it came to 2 league campaigns. Lenny got us up but that all went pear shaped. The less about Heckingbottom the better whereas Ross got to finals and finished 3rd but lets be honest here , the football was eye bleeding. All of them since leaving HIBs have went onto have really really memorable managerial careers havent they ???

mokie
21-02-2022, 11:31 AM
Don’t know why you’ve bothered with season tickets when you clearly don’t like Hibs. Save your money next year.

If I didn't like HIbs then I wouldn't buy season tickets year after year. What a pathetic reply..

The replies I've been getting sum up the warriors on here.. Go against the grain , have a different opinion to the majority when it comes to certain players an the usual rubbish like '' trolling , you're a Jambo '' starts along with the bully boy mentality....

Been happening for years..

21-02-2022, 11:35 AM

No this is my response.

mokie
21-02-2022, 11:36 AM
No this is my response.

The same response that been trotted out for years now..

21-02-2022, 11:37 AM
If I didn't like HIbs then I wouldn't buy season tickets year after year. What a pathetic reply..

The replies I've been getting sum up the warriors on here.. Go against the grain , have a different opinion to the majority when it comes to certain players an the usual rubbish like '' trolling , you're a Jambo '' starts along with the bully boy mentality....

Been happening for years..

Weird that you’d be getting singled out as a Jambo when you’re posting such good opinions like:

“Hibs have been dross since 2010”
“Stevenson hoofs it forward at every opportunity” that’s a favourite of mine.
“Bang average player playing in a bang average Hibs team”
“Collins and Stubbs were absolutely terrible”

There’s going against the grain and then there’s just posting nonsense. Personally I think you just like the attention.

21-02-2022, 11:40 AM
I have to admit I've really enjoyed seeing Stevenson in centre mid recently. He attacks every ball like it's 90th minute in a cup final, he is calm on the ball under pressure and he competes so well in the air for someone his size. He never gives up and he sets a really good example to the younger players. He deserves his place in the team at the moment, whether that is centre mid or left side of the back three.

mokie
21-02-2022, 11:43 AM
Weird that you’d be getting singled out as a Jambo when you’re posting such good opinions like:

“Hibs have been dross since 2010”
“Stevenson hoofs it forward at every opportunity” that’s a favourite of mine.
“Bang average player playing in a bang average Hibs team”
“Collins and Stubbs were absolutely terrible”

There’s going against the grain and then there’s just posting nonsense. Personally I think you just like the attention.

cast your mind back to that time then.. You talk me through Hibs since then .... If you think Hibs have been good to watch apart from our first season back in the top league under Lennon then bash on.. You after all are entitled to your opinion...

I think the negatives will override the positives...........

21-02-2022, 11:46 AM
Touchee Matty .. It would be good if your podcast could reach the heights of being average so lets '' agree to disagree '' on this one shall we???

We don’t try, to be honest.

mokie
21-02-2022, 11:56 AM
We don’t try, to be honest.

Ditto.. Just like I'm not trying to reach the heights of a bang average poster.....:wink::wink::wink:

My opinion is in the minority and the bully boy posters are out on force.. A common theme on here wouldn't you say ??

21-02-2022, 11:57 AM
cast your mind back to that time then.. You talk me through Hibs since then .... If you think Hibs have been good to watch apart from our first season back in the top league under Lennon then bash on.. You after all are entitled to your opinion...

The cup win overrides everything. We were ****ing brilliant to watch that season.

21-02-2022, 12:14 PM
Ditto.. Just like I'm not trying to reach the heights of a bang average poster.....:wink::wink::wink:

My opinion is in the minority and the bully boy posters are out on force.. A common theme on here wouldn't you say ??

Folk disagreeing with you isn’t bullying, as entitled as you are to voice an unpopular opinion, folk are entitled to call you out in it.

Crying bullying completely misses the point.

Hibiza
21-02-2022, 12:22 PM
Lewis : class person , class player.

21-02-2022, 12:26 PM

Why always look at the negatives. Instead look at the positives or do you see 2016 a negative??

What I don’t get is why you buy a ST if you think nothing but negative about the club/team?

mokie
21-02-2022, 01:12 PM
Folk disagreeing with you isn’t bullying, as entitled as you are to voice an unpopular opinion, folk are entitled to call you out in it.

Crying bullying completely misses the point.

Yes they are entitled to call me out on it which is fair enough but when I am being accused on more than one occasion of trolling , being called a lost cause and being a Hearts fan because I don't post very often , that is personal abuse.. That isn't having a debate is it ???

I am not crying in anyway or form but I am you asking a question to see if you see the difference between the two.....

21-02-2022, 01:35 PM
There are only 2 teams in Scotland that would have been a step up for Lewis and that is the bigot twins. Is he good enough to play for them now? No. That doesn't mean he isn't a very good player. Could he have played in England's 2nd or 3rd flight and made more money? In my opinion yes he could. So the fact he hasn't played for the bigots or played in England in your view makes him bang average? His two winners medals and a long career at one of Scotlands top clubs says different. Did Pat Stanton only become a Hibs legend and a great player when he signed for Celtic? What about Jimmy O, he played for teams we would class as below Hibs level when he left us. Does that mean that he was average? Stevenson is a Hibs legend who has given great service to the club and been regularly selected to play under many managers and will continue to be selected as he is a consistently high performer at the level Hibs are playing

mokie
21-02-2022, 01:39 PM
There are only 2 teams in Scotland that would have been a step up for Lewis and that is the bigot twins. Is he good enough to play for them now? No. That doesn't mean he isn't a very good player. Could he have played in England's 2nd or 3rd flight and made more money? In my opinion yes he could. So the fact he hasn't played for the bigots or played in England in your view makes him bang average? His two winners medals and a long career at one of Scotlands top clubs says different. Did Pat Stanton only become a Hibs legend and a great player when he signed for Celtic? What about Jimmy O, he played for teams we would class as below Hibs level when he left us. Does that mean that he was average? Stevenson is a Hibs legend who has given great service to the club and been regularly selected to play under many managers and will continue to be selected as he is a consistently high performer at the level Hibs are playing

What about when Hibs were relegated ?? Wouldn't you have said that Aberdeen would've been a step up considering they were always in the top 3 and even second one season for a considerable period of time ??

21-02-2022, 01:51 PM
What about when Hibs were relegated ?? Wouldn't you have said that Aberdeen would've been a step up considering they were always in the top 3 and even second one season for a considerable period of time ??

Can you ever see the positives??

You constantly post and look at the negatives.

21-02-2022, 02:02 PM
Yes they are entitled to call me out on it which is fair enough but when I am being accused on more than one occasion of trolling , being called a lost cause and being a Hearts fan because I don't post very often , that is personal abuse.. That isn't having a debate is it ???

I am not crying in anyway or form but I am you asking a question to see if you see the difference between the two.....

You’re not being called a hearts fan because of your low post count, you’re being called a hearts fan because you’ve had 20 odd posts without a single good thing to say about hibs in general.

21-02-2022, 02:13 PM
Yeh what a list of names on there. With the exception of Lennon and Maloney every single of them you could say know hee haw about football management.. Collins and Stubbs won trophies but over the grand scale of things along with the rest of them were absolutely terrible..

From The latter part of Collins's reign to when we went down was years of absolute dross.. Stubbs won th cup was terrible when it came to 2 league campaigns. Lenny got us up but that all went pear shaped. The less about Heckingbottom the better whereas Ross got to finals and finished 3rd but lets be honest here , the football was eye bleeding. All of them since leaving HIBs have went onto have really really memorable managerial careers havent they ???

So you know better than a list of 10 people who were and are successful enough to get to the point of managing Hibs? Ok doke.

And that bit of bold is just total nonsense.

mokie
21-02-2022, 02:17 PM
You’re not being called a hearts fan because of your low post count, you’re being called a hearts fan because you’ve had 20 odd posts without a single good thing to say about hibs in general.

:aok::aok::aok::aok::aok::aok::aok:

hibby rae
21-02-2022, 02:17 PM

If you combined the cups, league titles and promotions those managers have accumulated in their careers leading teams, you are going to be well into double figures.

21-02-2022, 02:21 PM

It goes both ways though, you’re calling people bullies etc for disagreeing with you.

People will think you’re trolling if you hardly ever post then pop up with this stuff.

21-02-2022, 02:27 PM
When he was 1st playing for Hibs he played in centre mid and I really liked him. He was MOM when we won the league cup in 2007 IMO as well. I don't know who switched him, it might of been Hughes, he liked to play people out of position regularly, Wotherspoon was another who ended up playing out of position, But I'm not going to bum him up by saying he is a classy left back, he isn't, he's alright, no more than that, he is nowhere near the ability of, for example, David Murphy. I'm really glad he's back playing centre mid again, he could show a lot of players things such as commitment, drive and energy and what it means playing for Hibs. I've always rated Lewis Stevenson highly on many levels, I just don't rate him nearly as highly as a left back as some people on here do.

21-02-2022, 02:48 PM
Not really. What did they win in that period of time? They were by default the 2nd team in Scotland at that time and did the square root of **** all with the advantage they were handed.
Since Lewis made his debut Hibs have won the league Cup and Scottish Cup. We also made the final of the SC 3 more times and the semis 5 times. League Cup we have had 2 further finals and 3 other semis. In the scheme of no one will ever win the league again I would suggest that puts us a step above Aberdeen, even taking into account our relegation. Call me biased of you like but cups is what all other clubs outside the Glasgow two are playing for

mokie
21-02-2022, 03:01 PM
It goes both ways though, you’re calling people bullies etc for disagreeing with you.

People will think you’re trolling if you hardly ever post then pop up with this stuff.

No it doesn't work both ways Matty.. That is absolute rubbish.. My issue is the abuse has came my way because I went against what the majority think. I said earlier on that I can accept people calling me out because they don't agree with me but it doesn't give them or anyone else the right to launch a personal attack does it ???

Also just because I don't post very often doesn't make me a troll or make it ok for others to subject me to personal abuse wouldn't you agree ???

Hibiza
21-02-2022, 03:02 PM

Don't particularly agree re Lewis but stick in Mokie .all the best sur.

rodhibs55
21-02-2022, 03:09 PM

And he has a Scotland cap.
Totally deserves to be labeled a legend for us.

21-02-2022, 03:20 PM

It was you that started the talk of trolling. Seemed odd to me being called out as someone who was trolling or wasn't being serious for being supportive of a Hibs legend. Looking at your posts I can see why you are being called out and you seemed happy to dish it out but went all defensive when the same was labelled toward you. I have no idea if you are a Hibby or not but you certainly don't sound like a supporter.

21-02-2022, 03:29 PM
No it doesn't work both ways Matty.. That is absolute rubbish.. My issue is the abuse has came my way because I went against what the majority think. I said earlier on that I can accept people calling me out because they don't agree with me but it doesn't give them or anyone else the right to launch a personal attack does it ???

Also just because I don't post very often doesn't make me a troll or make it ok for others to subject me to personal abuse wouldn't you agree ???

Think that’s a fair point on the personal stuff Mokie ..

Do you not think you could have introduced yourself by getting involved in a few threads , settling in to the forum - before throwing these hand grenades everywhere on Hibs and Lewis . It’s no wonder you’ve had the same reaction in return ..

21-02-2022, 03:36 PM

Your second post on this thread is having a go at another poster and your third is suggesting someone else is trolling. I would suggest this definitely is going both ways.

21-02-2022, 03:44 PM

I’m not sure I’d agree that being called ‘a lost cause’ or a hearts fan qualifies as ‘abuse’ anyway. I think we’d be a bit thin skinned if that’s what crosses the line of what’s acceptable.

I remember Lewis used to divide opinion a lot on here. There’s no doubt he’s improved his game over the years to the point where his critics have just been proved wrong. That’s all that needs to be said really, you sound like you’re still watching the player from 2013 or something.

aljo7-0
21-02-2022, 04:10 PM
Perhaps Lewis staying at Hibs should be a case of commending for his loyalty to a club he fits well with, plays well for and is generally well respected with rather than an explanation for him not being a good player. Loyalty is rare in football. Perhaps there have been enquiries from "bigger" clubs but they've been headed off by Lewis as he's not wanted to move? Some players fit well at some clubs and don't at others. We've seen good players at other teams come to Hibs and it just doesn't work out here.

mokie
21-02-2022, 05:59 PM
Your second post on this thread is having a go at another poster and your third is suggesting someone else is trolling. I would suggest this definitely is going both ways.

We all know though Matty that isn't really the case though is it ??

Culture on here of piling in on folk who go against the majority and therefore they are subjected to some pretty heavy duty flak which is pretty much uncalled for. Sometimes 3/4/5 [posters having a go at once then the person who's getting it is usually the one kicked off....

It's been a consistent trend for a while now on here being perfectly honest..

21-02-2022, 06:06 PM
We all know though Matty that isn't really the case though is it ??

Culture on here of piling in on folk who go against the majority and therefore they are subjected to some pretty heavy duty flak which is pretty much uncalled for. Sometimes 3/4/5 [posters having a go at once then the person who's getting it is usually the one kicked off....

It's been a consistent trend for a while now on here being perfectly honest..

It literally is the case. The evidence is on this thread for anyone that wants to see it.

mokie
21-02-2022, 06:38 PM
It literally is the case. The evidence is on this thread for anyone that wants to see it.

I am not just talking about this thread mate. We both know there is a pile in culture on here where one poster gets hammered for being in the minority.... It has been going on for god knows how long.

Anyway , lets just leave it before it turns silly. Think we've discussed it to the death so no point in going around in circles...

21-02-2022, 06:50 PM
I am not just talking about this thread mate. We both know there is a pile in culture on here where one poster gets hammered for being in the minority.... It has been going on for god knows how long.

Anyway , lets just leave it before it turns silly. Think we've discussed it to the death so no point in going around in circles...

Nonsense.

21-02-2022, 07:08 PM

Honestly don't see that at all.

21-02-2022, 07:20 PM

:aok: happy to leave it there.