View Full Version : Fans
zitelli62
13-02-2022, 06:17 PM
A big thanks to all the fans today in what was a miserable rainy day as cold and wet as I have been for many a year at a game but all credit to everyone for getting behind the team all in all a great effort by our supporters.
CB Hibs 68
13-02-2022, 06:19 PM
A big thanks to all the fans today in what was a miserable rainy day as cold and wet as I have been for many a year at a game but all credit to everyone for getting behind the team all in all a great effort by our supporters.
Totally agree.Hats off to everyone that made the journey up to Arbroath.The support was excellent.
13-02-2022, 06:23 PM
A big well done, does anyone know what the attendance was?
13-02-2022, 06:25 PM
A big well done, does anyone know what the attendance was?
BBC saying attendance was 4049
13-02-2022, 06:26 PM
Yup, well done each & every one that attended the game.👍
13-02-2022, 06:30 PM
Brilliant effort everyone!
Tully
13-02-2022, 07:21 PM
1758 hibs fans
13-02-2022, 07:23 PM
Brilliant support :flag:
13-02-2022, 07:23 PM
Great atmosphere today and the players' approach to the game after conceding early played a huge part in it.
13-02-2022, 07:54 PM
Great atmosphere today and the players' approach to the game after conceding early played a huge part in it.
For those of a certain vintage, today was perfect for yet another Hibs defeat in the Scottish Cup against a small, plucky club in windy conditions. Better Hibs teams have succumbed. Our record in Cups in last 10 years has been astonishing. All credit to the club and players.
13-02-2022, 08:27 PM
For those of a certain vintage, today was perfect for yet another Hibs defeat in the Scottish Cup against a small, plucky club in windy conditions. Better Hibs teams have succumbed. Our record in Cups in last 10 years has been astonishing. All credit to the club and players.Undoubtedly though losing away to leaders of Championship wouldn`t have been as bad as many defeats I remember in 70s ( Arbroath at ER in replay and others ) and 80s ( East Fife in replay etc) and more recently . None of us like to remember final of 10 years ago but we won several ties to get to 2012 and 2013 finals with Fenlon in charge while previous teams had lost similar ties regularly in both cups in previous 30 years . Since then we`ve only slipped up against Raith in SC in 2014 with Butcher and against Hearts in delayed semi of 19 / 20 when we were very unlucky to lose .
13-02-2022, 08:39 PM
Really enjoyed the game today.
Thought we played some really nice stuff in spells.
Stevenson a clear MOTM
It was baltic - but a good win and my steak pie was very good.
zitelli62
13-02-2022, 09:31 PM
Really enjoyed the game today.
Thought we played some really nice stuff in spells.
Stevenson a clear MOTM
It was baltic - but a good win and my steak pie was very good.
Steak and black pudding pie was excellent.
13-02-2022, 10:23 PM
Was really surprised at the size of our support and they seemed loud all the way through - a great effort and once again when the players get that encouragement it seems to make a big difference.
LewysGot2
14-02-2022, 07:32 AM
Great day out. Credit to Arbroath for how they handled the game and our visit. Nice to be treated in a welcoming way including even the polis. Stewards were how they should be.
Steak and black pudding with gravy pie...jeezo!
Watched it on TV last night again. It's never the same but glad the leadership of Lewy that was sooo evident at the game translated onto the TV.
No doubt in my mind Kenny Miller was wanting a Hibs win. A couple of times where Hibs went close to equalising in the first half he could be seen responding with body language much the same way as us ;)
14-02-2022, 07:39 AM
I think the difference was that it was a proper, traditional football stadium... the way stadiums are supposed to be.
We need to knock down three of our stands and rebuild the terracing.
14-02-2022, 08:42 AM
1758 hibs fans
It’s not really anything out the ordinary - pretty much our regular away support.
14-02-2022, 04:42 PM
It’s not really anything out the ordinary - pretty much our regular away support.
I know what you mean but it's pretty decent when you take the weather, lack of trains and recent form into account.
Everybody that went up yesterday is definitely an Uber Fan. :wink:
DIXIHIBS
14-02-2022, 06:05 PM
I know what you mean but it's pretty decent when you take the weather, lack of trains and recent form into account.
Everybody that went up yesterday is definitely an Uber Fan. :wink:
Im an uber fan....i didnt realise.
14-02-2022, 06:14 PM
For an early kick off in the pouring rain for a game that was free on the telly??
14-02-2022, 06:35 PM
Everyone standing singing behind the goals yesterday ,IMO Was a massive help to drive the team on . Surely having the same standing singing section behind the goals of the FF lower would help the team massively.
It’s about time someone starts a campaign to make this happen.
14-02-2022, 06:41 PM
Im an uber fan....i didnt realise.
Have you been sent the Uber Fan badge yet?
If not, phone the ticket office straight away and they'll send it out to you.
14-02-2022, 06:42 PM
My 7 month old nephew's 1st Hibs game.
JXM73
14-02-2022, 07:04 PM
Big thumbs up for Rab Douglas for seeing if the wee boy that got hit by the ball during the warm up...
Though the boy's da was a bit of a **** when asked if he was alright..glad i dinnae stop the ball then...
19-02-2022, 04:04 PM
****ing disgraceful today when Wright and Scott came on. Yes they are not good enough but for **** sake booing them as they come on won't make them any better.
Lendo
19-02-2022, 04:07 PM
****ing disgraceful today when Wright and Scott came on. Yes they are not good enough but for **** sake booing them as they come on won't make them any better.
Yep, 100%. Embarrassing stuff.
19-02-2022, 04:08 PM
It was after Wright's first pass. Never heard anything as ridiculous! He didn't even lose the ball. Such a shame man.
19-02-2022, 04:09 PM
As a support, we didn’t deserve that win today. Yes, the first half wasn’t great but booing team off, screaming at every misplaced pass or making “wrong” pass, still abusing players, particular Campbell while 1 up, booing the substitutions and abusing Maloney - we then add another and half the crowd leave for exits 5 mins from end.
Worst home support in league.
19-02-2022, 04:10 PM
More than comfortable with booing the team as a collective like at HT. Sometimes a message from the fans is needed but singling out individual players is poor. Especially when they're only coming on!
cameronw-hfc
19-02-2022, 04:11 PM
Disgusted by the imposters in our support. Would rather no fans that some of those idiots. If you boo'd wright and Scott coming in you shouldn't be at games
We have some belter fans.Have a word with yourselves.Idiots.
tonyrougier123
19-02-2022, 04:11 PM
As a support, we didn’t deserve that win today. Yes, the first half wasn’t great but booing team off, screaming at every misplaced pass or making “wrong” pass, still abusing players, particular Campbell while 1 up, booing the substitutions and abusing Maloney - we then add another and half the crowd leave for exits 5 mins from end.
Actually thought maloney got it spot on today with the subs based on how the game was playing out.
19-02-2022, 04:15 PM
Was the booing not for the decision to remove Henderson? He was one of our better players in an attacking sense today.
I get why he was replaced to an extent but certainly the 1 or 2 around me who booed were bemoaning that rather than slaughtering Wright and Scott.
19-02-2022, 04:19 PM
Was the booing not for the decision to remove Henderson? He was one of our better players in an attacking sense today.
I get why he was replaced to an extent but certainly the 1 or 2 around me who booed were bemoaning that rather than slaughtering Wright and Scott.
Combination of both I think. Had different players came on the reaction probably wouldn’t have been the same.
Bridge hibs
19-02-2022, 04:19 PM
More than comfortable with booing the team as a collective like at HT. Sometimes a message from the fans is needed but singling out individual players is poor. Especially when they're only coming on!
More than comfortable booing the team at half time, seriously ? The first half wasnt great granted but we werent losing and we were not playing too bad, they didnt deserve to be booed off at half time, ****ing muppets 🤬
19-02-2022, 04:20 PM
The booing definitely got louder when Wright and Scott were announced and came into the park.seruoisly disappointed with any Hibs fan who thought that was acceptable.
19-02-2022, 04:20 PM
It was after Wright's first pass. Never heard anything as ridiculous! He didn't even lose the ball. Such a shame man.
That was poor. Its not as if he lost possession. Not Drey Wrights biggest fan but that crap isn't going to help his confidence.
LunasBoots
19-02-2022, 04:23 PM
Always been the same, the moaning and booing is ridiculous.
19-02-2022, 04:28 PM
Was wondering that. If anyone is booing a Hibs player coming on - then they should be embarrassed imo
I’m hoping it was a reaction to the managers decisions ..rather than a player
19-02-2022, 04:28 PM
I thought Henderson was dreadful today. Opinions eh!
ionahibby
19-02-2022, 04:29 PM
It seems to have got worse the last couple of years, though there's always been an element of moaners in the stands. I always remember years ago arguing with a group of fans who were singing "mixu must go when we were comfortabley winning and we weren't even that bad at that point.
19-02-2022, 04:29 PM
Scott and Wright were fine when they came on.
HendoDelivered
19-02-2022, 04:33 PM
The thought of grown men booing cringes me out to the max
19-02-2022, 04:33 PM
Was wondering that. If anyone is booing a Hibs player coming on - then they should be embarrassed imo
I’m hoping it was a reaction to the managers decisions ..rather than a player
I think most of us were a bit perplexed by the double substitution and had we went on not to win the game questions would have been asked of Maloney about why he brought on Scott and Wright, but the booing is out of order.
19-02-2022, 04:34 PM
Scott and Wright were fine when they came on.Exactly and both could be important for us in rest of season . Scott preferred to Doidge today so manager clearly sees something in training too .
Rumble de Thump
19-02-2022, 04:35 PM
I'll never understand fans who want to shout and scream abuse at our players for the full match but don't want to sit with the away fans.
It’s evidence of a lack of leadership off the park.
Other clubs have a solid supporters organisation who encourage fellow fans to back their players when the team is going through a sticky patch.
Former players can also influence fans by helping to encourage a more courageous culture.
Building a braver Home Support is achievable. Otherwise we let the cowards take over.
Franck Le God
19-02-2022, 04:37 PM
Said this to my old man at half time. Mind blowing to me that we’d boo our own players - who does that help?
Yes we want to win every game but so do the players. Do we think they’re chuffed to be going in at 0-0? If people really can’t contain themselves surely booing at the end when it won’t lower player morale is the time to do it?
19-02-2022, 04:40 PM
Whilst I didn’t really agree with the subs, booing was the utter pits. It really needs to stop.
19-02-2022, 04:44 PM
Whilst I didn’t really agree with the subs, booing was the utter pits. It really needs to stop.
It's ****in pantomime, put any one of them in front of a player and see if he still boos.
:cb
Bridge hibs
19-02-2022, 04:45 PM
It’s evidence of a lack of leadership off the park.
Other clubs have a solid supporters organisation who encourage fellow fans to back their players when the team is going through a sticky patch.
Former players can also influence fans by helping to encourage a more courageous culture.
Building a braver Home Support is achievable. Otherwise we let the cowards take over.It has nothing to do with leadership off the park, hibs are going through a transition, football is not great just now and things need to settle down. Fans didnt need leadership in the 70s, 80s or 90,s etc, we just need the support to support, its not ****ing rocket science.
19-02-2022, 04:50 PM
I'm not a booing type, but in fairness...
The half time reaction and the pelters Wright took for his first pass were down to the same thing - pig sick of players simply taking the back the way it came from instead of turning with it.
Half-time we'd essentially watched the same passage of play for 45 minutes with zero hint of a goal. Wright's backwards pass, when there was no need to do it at all, was more of the same so got the same response.
That said, the individual stuff is just crap and embarrassing.
19-02-2022, 04:52 PM
Disgusted by the imposters in our support. Would rather no fans that some of those idiots. If you boo'd wright and Scott coming in you shouldn't be at games
Imposters? I doubt folk from other teams are paying dough to get into ER to shout abuse.
19-02-2022, 04:52 PM
19-02-2022, 04:56 PM
Very poor stuff. Plenty fuds in our support. Don't even know if I'd call them supporters actually, they certainly don't show the team support.
Torto7
19-02-2022, 04:58 PM
My favourite moaning b@s moment was when Scott had the audacity to hold onto the ball and pick the correct pass to Doig for a one on one. Absolute welts.
19-02-2022, 05:04 PM
I'm not a booing type, but in fairness...
The half time reaction and the pelters Wright took for his first pass were down to the same thing - pig sick of players simply taking the back the way it came from instead of turning with it.
Half-time we'd essentially watched the same passage of play for 45 minutes with zero hint of a goal. Wright's backwards pass, when there was no need to do it at all, was more of the same so got the same response.
That said, the individual stuff is just crap and embarrassing.
There wasn't no need to do it.
He kept possession for us when we were 1 up in a game with 15 minutes left. He was right in the middle of the park.
Vs livi josh Campbell decided to try and run forward from a similar position. He got dispossessed and we lost the game.
19-02-2022, 05:04 PM
So glad you've said that. You'll get some criticism but you're spot on. Booing should be a last resort and its getting embarrassing. And if anyone seriously thinks it doesnt affect the team's performance, that person is an idiot.
WestEndHibee
19-02-2022, 05:05 PM
All credit to the booing fans for being at the match but they have no idea the damage they're doing to the club. Aye if we lose 3 or 4 nil and players clearly weren't up to it then a full time voicing is somewhat understandable but when we're drawing or even winning? utter nonsense.
This is why I don't feel any joy going to Easter Road at the moment and the reason I haven't recommended it to any neutral friends visiting Edinburgh. Tried confronting a few guys and their mindset isn't to be changed, occasionally ending in aggression towards their own club's supporters.
Unfortunately the more actual supporting fans driven away from the stand the more these guys get a voice and the downward spiral continues. Give me an away day or cup match any day because the percentage of people wanting to cheer the team on is so much higher. I'm not a happy clapper, if we lose I'll complain all the way home but booing your own team is the pits. Worst part about our club is the home support.
h1bs4life
19-02-2022, 05:06 PM
Never really had a good at Hibs fans before , booing at half time when it’s 0-0 no idea what that’s all about each to there own .
I am certainly no fan of Wright or Scott but booing Hibs players when they are coming in when we are winning 1-0 is pathetic . Maloney got it spot on and we got a 2nd and won the game comfortably.
A get it right up you to those that did the booing.
I don’t know if it’s the remnants of the Ross love in boys but look around nobody else wants him , he should get right on the phone to Dempster and beg her for the Queens Park job .
19-02-2022, 05:08 PM
Never really had a good at Hibs fans before , booing at half time when it’s 0-0 no idea what that’s all about each to there own .
I am certainly no fan of Wright or Scott but booing Hibs players when they are coming in when we are winning 1-0 is pathetic . Maloney got it spot on and we got a 2nd and won the game comfortably.
A get it right up you to those that did the booing.
I don’t know if it’s the remnants of the Ross love in boys but look around nobody else wants him , he should get right on the phone to Dempster and beg her for the Queens Park job .
Why ruin a decent post by making it about Ross ..this was nothing to do with him- it was booing players and probably the manager ..very poor behaviour from our fans ..
19-02-2022, 05:10 PM
I didn’t get the need for that reaction. But then Drey Wright gets the ball straight away, there is an easy forward pass in to space available but he decided to go back the way. Folk are just frustrated watching poor players at times.
19-02-2022, 05:12 PM
I didn’t get the need for that reaction. But then Drey Wright gets the ball straight away, there is an easy forward pass in to space available but he decided to go back the way. Folk are just frustrated watching poor players at times.
You don't have to be an expert in psychology to know why players choose to 'go back the way'.
19-02-2022, 05:13 PM
There wasn't no need to do it.
He kept possession for us when we were 1 up in a game with 15 minutes left. He was right in the middle of the park.
Vs livi josh Campbell decided to try and run forward from a similar position. He got dispossessed and we lost the game.
He had Cadden as an easy pass which would've taken us at least another 30 yards up the pitch, but went out of his way to go backwards.
I totally see it's a confidence and maybe the easy/safe way out, but these guys are actually making it difficult for themselves. Nisbet could've taken the ball on the turn in the first half, instead runs straight into a Ross County player and ends up booked. Campbell and JDH for large spells of that game could have made the world of difference to their game by moving a yard in the right direction, but end up with little forward momentum or options.
Just wish a few of them would realise by being a bit sharper and braver that it would make it so much easier for them. Booing - not the personal stuff - is just borne out of frustration at this. Maloney's hinting at similar in his post-match comments, I'd reckon.
19-02-2022, 05:16 PM
He had Cadden as an easy pass which would've taken us at least another 30 yards up the pitch, but went out of his way to go backwards.
I totally see it's a confidence and maybe the easy/safe way out, but these guys are actually making it difficult for themselves. Nisbet could've taken the ball on the turn in the first half, instead runs straight into a Ross County player and ends up booked. Campbell and JDH for large spells of that game could have made the world of difference to their game by moving a yard in the right direction, but end up with little forward momentum or options.
Just wish a few of them would realise by being a bit sharper and braver that it would make it so much easier for them. Booing - not the personal stuff - is just borne out of frustration at this. Maloney's hinting at similar in his post-match comments, I'd reckon.
He was just on the park - playing his way in to the game ..people getting on his back was much worse than that pass. That’s for sure .
We seem to have some of our fan base now that leaves a lot to be desired …really Disappointing
CLASS OF 72 -73
19-02-2022, 05:17 PM
I think the fact that they have both been played regularly certainly in Wrights case and shown to have little to offer when there are better options nafs many off including me although wouldn't boo.
19-02-2022, 05:19 PM
Fans are odd - boo at half time then clap the team back on 2nd half. Doesn’t really make sense.
Wright and Scott…they are in a difficult situation. They don’t really offer much and I doubt they will be at Hibs past the summer. They really didn’t contribute much today either. Jasper / Demi have played only a few games and seem to offer more.
My bigger concern is the lack of signing a decent central midfielder in January transfer window. If we improved our midfield we would be so much better.
ACLeith
19-02-2022, 05:21 PM
West stand lower, one guy (can't call him a supporter) screamed abuse at Josh Campbell when he was coming off. Nobody challenged him because doing so with someone with such possible anger management issues might have led to a lot worse.
All I've heard from him is abuse, I've never heard anything positive. Why people like that bother I've never understood
19-02-2022, 05:23 PM
If its a 30 yard pass, it's not an easy pass.
DIXIHIBS
19-02-2022, 05:25 PM
He was just on the park - playing his way in to the game ..people getting on his back was much worse than that pass. That’s for sure .
We seem to have some of our fan base now that leaves a lot to be desired …really Disappointing
There were people along from me jumping out their seats and screaming at wright. I think it was his first touch in the game. They seriously embarrassed themselves. They honestly looked more passionate about abusing wright than when hibs scored. Strange behaviour. Feel sorry for wright...no need for the abuse.
19-02-2022, 05:25 PM
If its a 30 yard pass, it's not an easy pass.
Sorry, meant a 10-yard pass to feet - unobstructed - that wouldve given Cadden a good 30 yards of space.
19-02-2022, 05:26 PM
West stand lower, one guy (can't call him a supporter) screamed abuse at Josh Campbell when he was coming off. Nobody challenged him because doing so with someone with such possible anger management issues might have led to a lot worse.
All I've heard from him is abuse, I've never heard anything positive. Why people like that bother I've never understood
It is odd behaviour.
Boy behind me spent the whole game moaning. Clearly he hates Nisbet and I mean hate….moan moan moan moan no matter what he does.
Even went mental at Nisbet for giving the ball away when it was Campbell!
I get we are hardly too drawer entertainment just now but the hyperbole is off the scale in terms of what some folk expect from certain players.
4th in the league and you would think that we were 10 points adrift at the bottom the way some behave.
h1bs4life
19-02-2022, 05:27 PM
Why ruin a decent post by making it about Ross ..this was nothing to do with him- it was booing players and probably the manager ..very poor behaviour from our fans ..
You are probably right, but for the life of me I don’t see the point of booing subs we are bringing on when winning. Doesn’t help the players coming on and what does it say to the manager.
I have no idea why Maloney brought on both them but like every other manager in football you are judged on decisions / results and he got it spot on
19-02-2022, 05:27 PM
No excuse for that behaviour but I think Campbell needs time out of the team for his own good. He wasn’t making himself available today and did next to nothing of note. He has no confidence and keeping him in there with the abuse he’s getting will destroy him.
scotiaf
19-02-2022, 05:29 PM
No matter what you get paid, if you come on the park getting booed by your own fans. Football is all about confidence and what do they get from that. Not a fan of Hibs if your booing your one players coming on, or if you are have a look at yourself.
19-02-2022, 05:30 PM
No excuse for that behaviour but I think Campbell needs time out of the team for his own good. He wasn’t making himself available today and did next to nothing of note. He has no confidence and keeping him in there with the abuse he’s getting will destroy him.
Assist for first goal
19-02-2022, 05:31 PM
Think people do need to challenge some of these koks. Really is pathetic
19-02-2022, 05:32 PM
A guy behind me abused Nisbet for the whole time he was on the pitch today. Screaming at him for not running for balls he was never going to actually get etc, calling him every name under the sun.
It’s hardly likely to make the boy play better.
19-02-2022, 05:33 PM
I don't rate either Scott or Wright and hopefully neither of them have a long term future at the club but the booing when they both came on was embarrassing.
Whilst they are both representing the club they should be supported.
Having said that I do think bringing them both on was odd from Maloney's point of view but some people really should have a word with themselves.
19-02-2022, 05:34 PM
You don't have to be an expert in psychology to know why players choose to 'go back the way'.
I know what you’re getting at, but it’s not always just down to folk booing them either.
19-02-2022, 05:39 PM
Quite a few where i sit in the east booing them when they came on, to be fair quite a few folk saying there was no need to boo them, i dont rate either and will have a moan about players on here but as soon as they get on that park they should get supported
McSwanky
19-02-2022, 05:41 PM
Seriously think going to the football is more about an emotional release for some people rather than supporting their team and seeing them win. If it's not that then they clearly haven't engaged their brain.
It's sad, but it's not a new thing. Brian Hamilton, Michael Renwick are two names that spring to mind from days gone by. Both had to endure the same sort of treatment. And there are many many more.
capitals_finest
19-02-2022, 05:44 PM
These muppets that boo our own players coming on are totally ignorant in life and it's embarrassing.
This carry on really helps the away teams coming to ER. We are our own worse enemy at times.
19-02-2022, 05:45 PM
If the idiot sitting somewhere up the back of section 4 in the West Lower who was shouting abuse at young Campbell when he came off is reading this then have a word with yourself or even better, do us all a favour and stay away.
Absolute clown.
LewysGot2
19-02-2022, 05:47 PM
Why are some people so inherently intolerant and angry?
ACLeith
19-02-2022, 05:49 PM
If the idiot sitting somewhere up the back of section 4 in the West Lower who was shouting abuse at young Campbell when he came off is reading this then have a word with yourself or even better, do us all a favour and stay away.
Absolute clown.
Think that must be the same guy I mentioned a few posts ago
19-02-2022, 05:50 PM
Seriously think going to the football is more about an emotional release for some people rather than supporting their team and seeing them win. If it's not that then they clearly haven't engaged their brain.
It's sad, but it's not a new thing. Brian Hamilton, Michael Renwick are two names that spring to mind from days gone by. Both had to endure the same sort of treatment. And there are many many more.
Brian Hamilton-shot at Hampden that almost took the goals away when the ball hit the bar, fine player in a thankless position but very much needed.
He may have been a fud but would not boo him until he went to the tramps but that's another thing altogether.
:cb
19-02-2022, 05:53 PM
Assist for first goal
That’s a positive, I’m not going to tear the young guy to threads on here but he’s getting it tight from the stands and it must be affecting him.
pollution
19-02-2022, 05:57 PM
A reflection of their love life ?
Franck Le God
19-02-2022, 05:58 PM
I think we’re going to have to learn to be more patient in general as a fan base. Maloney clearly wants us playing possession football, even if that means it going back the way so we can start a fresh attack.
Won’t be for everyone but personally I prefer this approach to the players losing patience themselves and hitting it forward aimlessly. Obviously if the system is working we’ll be able to retain possession in tight areas in midfield and final third, but this will take time. Or we’ll need to sign the Belgian first team.
19-02-2022, 05:59 PM
Would the Campbell who did nothing of note be any relation to the Campbell who kept his head at the edge of a crowded area,summed up the situation and rolled the ball back to assist a goal?:greengrin
Seriously like all supports we’ve always had what appear to be severely damaged people who come to ER to hurl abuse at players and never give support.Maybe they’re frustrated players or lead unsatisfactory lives,who knows. When I started watching it was Eddie Turnbull who got it in the neck. Poor John Fraser used to get booed before he came on the park when his name was read out to replace Smith or Reilly. Peter Cormack was booed throughout his career here.Hearts put a para in their programme asking fans to stop booing Jimmy Wardaugh as he was on his way to becoming their all time top scorer.Nothing changes.
Paulie Walnuts
19-02-2022, 06:01 PM
I know what you’re getting at, but it’s not always just down to folk booing them either.
Absolutely. Drey Wright has come on previously to folk trying to urge him on. He came on and done the same as he did today.
He’s just not very good. No need to boo him when he came in but I’ve absolutely no doubt he would have done the same regardless of the reception he got as it’s all he’s ever really done for us.
19-02-2022, 06:02 PM
Absolutely.
Anybody that think's that's acceptable needs their head examined
19-02-2022, 06:21 PM
I think we should have a boo amnesty…it’s not healthy for folk to get so wound up by a game of football. We should try to support the team, that includes all the players and just see where it gets us. Perhaps the ones intent on booing should just give it a miss for a few weeks. This team is not as bad as some are making out and the continual booing, imo, needs to stop.
19-02-2022, 06:58 PM
I think we should have a boo amnesty…it’s not healthy for folk to get so wound up by a game of football. We should try to support the team, that includes all the players and just see where it gets us. Perhaps the ones intent on booing should just give it a miss for a few weeks. This team is not as bad as some are making out and the continual booing, imo, needs to stop.
We’re sitting 4th and in the quarters of the Cup. We’ve reached the final of the last 2 National Finals…. why are so many of our fans making out we’re in some period of crisis?
We’ve always been bad for booing and abusing our own players but things seem to have got so bad recently.
When did the ground start clearing so quickly EVERY week regardless of the scoreline or people stropping out the ground when we go behind with sometimes over half an hour to play?
Every time the support has backed the team properly this season we’ve done well on the park…..
19-02-2022, 07:10 PM
We’re sitting 4th and in the quarters of the Cup. We’ve reached the final of the last 2 National Finals…. why are so many of our fans making out we’re in some period of crisis?
We’ve always been bad for booing and abusing our own players but things seem to have got so bad recently.
When did the ground start clearing so quickly EVERY week regardless of the scoreline or people stropping out the ground when we go behind with sometimes over half an hour to play?
Every time the support has backed the team properly this season we’ve done well on the park…..
The leaving early thing is really noticeable actually. We've barely seen Hibs win a game in person in the last two years, absolutely no home game is a guaranteed win, but there's only about half the crowd left by full time.
If we're an abusive support, as many seem to think, we're not a very appreciative support either...
gazzag70
19-02-2022, 07:42 PM
Just back from the game, we may have won but does any true Hibs fan want to watch that.I have seen many Hibs teams but this is just dire to watch. Two long range shots to win the game, both of them quality strikes but apart from that we offered zero.
These 2 strikes have just papered over the cracks, we are total mince. A real poor watch. Maloney promised us attacking football, I see no evidence of it.
We are a brutal watch at the moment and nobody can realistically say any different.
19-02-2022, 07:47 PM
Just back from the game, we may have won but does any true Hibs fan want to watch that.I have seen many Hibs teams but this is just dire to watch. Two long range shots to win the game, both of them quality strikes but apart from that we offered zero.
These 2 strikes have just papered over the cracks, we are total mince. A real poor watch. Maloney promised us attacking football, I see no evidence of it.
We are a brutal watch at the moment and nobody can realistically say any different.
A true Hibs fan wants to watch Hibs win. End of.
That was exactly how I felt today. Dreadful to watch and so many areas to improve on. Yes we won but it was not enjoyable other than the goals
Bridge hibs
19-02-2022, 07:55 PM
We are a brutal watch at the moment and nobody can realistically say any different.We did attack, we won 2-0, it wasnt pretty but every hibs fan wanted a win, we won, result, back up to 4th, cheer up, could be worse, you could be a jambo 👍
19-02-2022, 07:58 PM
How about we focus on the negatives.
19-02-2022, 08:43 PM
We did attack, we won 2-0, it wasnt pretty but every hibs fan wanted a win, we won, result, back up to 4th, cheer up, could be worse, you could be a jambo 👍
Maloney's at least said he wants more excitement, which is a positive.
It was a pretty positive day for Hibs actually - results went for us elsewhere, we won after a bit of a slog but deserved it, yet the weaknesses were still pretty glaring. Lots of players to come back as well.
19-02-2022, 08:53 PM
The leaving early thing is really noticeable actually. We've barely seen Hibs win a game in person in the last two years, absolutely no home game is a guaranteed win, but there's only about half the crowd left by full time.
If we're an abusive support, as many seem to think, we're not a very appreciative support either...
I don’t think it’s even half the crowd from my vantage point - it’s normally half empty after about 85/86 mins.
Surely the whole point of attending is to hopefully celebrate a win at the end with the players?
I saw footage of a last minute winner in the Mowbray days the other day and was totally shocked to see an almost completely full FF stand going mental. Really sad that if we ever get a last minute winner now that it’ll be on front of such a sparse crowd.
Can’t understand why this has become such a noticeable Hibs thing.
19-02-2022, 08:58 PM
I don’t think it’s even half the crowd from my vantage point - it’s normally half empty after about 85/86 mins.
Surely the whole point of attending is to hopefully celebrate a win at the end with the players?
I saw footage of a last minute winner in the Mowbray days the other day and was totally shocked to see an almost completely full FF stand going mental. Really sad that if we ever get a last minute winner now that it’ll be on front of such a sparse crowd.
Getting out the East stand from near the top takes forever especially the central sections. Not the best design.
I do agree though some folk leave very early but folk have trains to catch etc. various reasons. Fans pay their £ and you would expect they celebrated the goal. Who knows..but no Uber fan status for arriving early for warm ups and leaving late sadly.
I do agree with earlier posts and football just seems a place for really angry people (mostly men) to just shout and scream - not the most family friendly place at times.
19-02-2022, 09:18 PM
Tough win against a tough opponent. Some games are about grinding it out and this was one. Great three points with two brilliant goals one an exceptional strike.
19-02-2022, 09:19 PM
Nobody is forcing you to go.
Bridge hibs
19-02-2022, 09:21 PM
Maloney's at least said he wants more excitement, which is a positive.
It was a pretty positive day for Hibs actually - results went for us elsewhere, we won after a bit of a slog but deserved it, yet the weaknesses were still pretty glaring. Lots of players to come back as well.Agree bud, small steps 👍
It has nothing to do with leadership off the park, hibs are going through a transition, football is not great just now and things need to settle down. Fans didnt need leadership in the 70s, 80s or 90,s etc, we just need the support to support, its not ****ing rocket science.
I disagree with your first point
We must be one of the only clubs in the country that doesn’t have an active supporters organisation
19-02-2022, 11:07 PM
This is the real question. It's just a game at the end of the day.
19-02-2022, 11:57 PM
Getting out the East stand from near the top takes forever especially the central sections. Not the best design.
I do agree though some folk leave very early but folk have trains to catch etc. various reasons. Fans pay their £ and you would expect they celebrated the goal. Who knows..but no Uber fan status for arriving early for warm ups and leaving late sadly.
I do agree with earlier posts and football just seems a place for really angry people (mostly men) to just shout and scream - not the most family friendly place at times.
Yeah i know getting out the East isn’t great but looks like you get out easier now if you wait till the end! I’m sure fans of other clubs have trains to catch etc. too but I’ve yet to see a ground in Scotland that clears so early (although I know folk will claim Ibrox does).
This ‘uber fan’ thing always comes up in a very defensive way but It’s just deflection. If we’re being brutally honest we’re creating a difficult environment for our players to win games. I don’t see a problem with people wishing the team were being backed more.
I reckon Shaun Maloney has been quite shocked about how the fans are to be honest although he obviously won’t come out and say that.
Like I said earlier - I just don’t know how so many people think we have so much to moan about. Relatively speaking the club is in good health and the team is going though a transition which is being backed well by the owner. There’s no need for all the spite and hate towards the club and players.
20-02-2022, 01:15 AM
Seen you pushing this type of thing a lot. We’re no different to anyone else.
Folk leave the football early, not sure why, but it’s not unique to us .
Ibrox the other week was about a quarter full by full time (mostly throwing objects at us in the corner who weren’t allowed to leave). Celtic were losing their first game in months on Thursday, the place emptied when they went 3-1 down.
If we’re in a tight game, going for a win, there’ll be plenty folk there to celebrate if we score.
It’s not a Hibs thing.
huggie1875
20-02-2022, 05:10 AM
Booing our own players is pointless never done it never will
But people on here need to realise this is the place to moan about players and management personally I’m fed up with some of the loons that sit behind us in the west upper one especially a lad in his early twenties with a voice like the teacher in Ferris Beullars day off
In short keep the booing and abuse away from the stadium
And if folk want a good vent on here let them if players choose to read forums that’s up to them but they shouldn’t especially when our forms terrible
May21/05/216
20-02-2022, 06:06 AM
We are a brutal watch at the moment and nobody can realistically say any different.Was it cold In Perth
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
20-02-2022, 06:22 AM
I’d maybe understand the frustration at Wrights first pass if we weren’t ahead in the match. It was a ridiculous reaction. Some “supporters” really need to sort themselves out because reacting like that is helping no one.
20-02-2022, 06:29 AM
I had a wee look on Kickback last night and there was a lot of posts calling for Neilson to be sacked. Bad football all season and now that's being matched by bad results was the main reason. They are 3rd and in the Cup quarter final.
Last season we were 3rd and have reached the last 2 finals and whilst not quite a majority there were growing calls for Ross to be sacked before it actually happened. Maloney has hardly had an easy ride of it since arriving either.
Aberdeen enjoyed a sustained period of consistently high league finishes under McIness, won a trophy and reached several finals and he was hated by the time the board finally crumbled and sacked him. His replacement didn't even last a season.
There seems to be something going on within the fanbases of all the bigger clubs in Scotland over the last couple of years. I wonder if part of it is that as fanbases we are, somewhat belatedly, realising the last ever non OF team to win the league has already happened and quite some time ago. Even in a good season we are competing to finish 20+ points adrift in 3rd and to get beat in a cup final (generally speaking with the last part, every 10-20 years we win one). Trophies are too much of a rarity for all of us, in the last 20 years Hearts and Hibs have won 2 trophies each and Aberdeen have managed 1. The preceding 20 years was even worse for Hibs and Hearts with 1 each.
I'm not saying that's the main reason for someone booing Drey Wright's 1st pass yesterday but there must a bit of underlying frustration there, it may even be subconscious.
Crunchie
20-02-2022, 06:38 AM
I had a wee look on Kickback last night and there was a lot of posts calling for Neilson to be sacked. Bad football all season and now that's being matched by bad results was the main reason. They are 3rd and in the Cup quarter final.
Last season we were 3rd and have reached the last 2 finals and whilst not quite a majority there were growing calls for Ross to be sacked before it actually happened. Maloney has hardly had an easy ride of it since arriving either.
Aberdeen enjoyed a sustained period of consistently high league finishes under McIness, won a trophy and reached several finals and he was hated by the time the board finally crumbled and sacked him. His replacement didn't even last a season.
There seems to be something going on within the fanbases of all the bigger clubs in Scotland over the last couple of years. I wonder if part of it is that as fanbases we are, somewhat belatedly, realising the last ever non OF team to win the league has already happened and quite some time ago. Even in a good season we are competing to finish 20+ points adrift in 3rd and to get beat in a cup final (generally speaking with the last part, every 10-20 years we win one). Trophies are too much of a rarity for all of us, in the last 20 years Hearts and Hibs have won 2 trophies each and Aberdeen have managed 1. The preceding 20 years was even worse for Hibs and Hearts with 1 each.
I'm not saying that's the main reason for someone booing Drey Wright's 1st pass yesterday but there must a bit of underlying frustration there, it may even be subconscious.
Gone are the days when you went to a game and had forgotten about it after a session in the boozer afterwards and the Monday banter with workmates. Social media has a lot to answer for.
Today's football supporter seems to think they know better than the actual professionals because they're good at football manager on a computer.
20-02-2022, 06:41 AM
Not that I'm going to loose sleep over it but at least take your empty bottle of buckfast home with you whoever had it in the FF.
20-02-2022, 07:07 AM
I dont think it's just Hibs, happens at grounds up and down the country. Personally, I see no reason to leave early after a game when we win and I happily clap the team off the park. Whether I'm out for a beer like i did yesterday and get back to the pub at 5pm rather than 4.50 or if I'm driving and get home at 6pm rather than 5.50 it makes no real difference to me, what's a few minutes of your time to show appreciation to the players after a good performance but I guess some folk like to get away early, thats their prerogative. Don't get it myself but whatever.
20-02-2022, 07:11 AM
For that first pass he had an angled pass down the line that would have put us in a good attacking position. Instead he made a short square pass that led to nothing. Scott was slightly better and a few good forward passes. Give him a bit more time and there is a player trying to get out.
20-02-2022, 07:15 AM
I dont think it's just Hibs, happens at grounds up and down the country. Personally, I see no reason to leave early after a game when we win and I happily clap the team off the park. Whether I'm out for a beer like i did yesterday and get back to the pub at 5pm rather than 4.50 or if I'm driving and get home at 6pm rather than 5.50 it makes no real difference to me, what's a few minutes of your time to show appreciation to the players after a good performance but I guess some folk like to get away early, thats their prerogative. Don't get it myself but whatever.
Some of us have to get back the wife can get to work on time, i always leave 5 mins before the end when its a 3pm kick off, if i stay to the end it takes me at least 10 mins to get out of the stand as i sit at the top of the east and then by then even longer to get out of where i park, is that ok with you?
20-02-2022, 07:25 AM
Some of us have to get back the wife can get to work on time, i always leave 5 mins before the end when its a 3pm kick off, if i stay to the end it takes me at least 10 mins to get out of the stand as i sit at the top of the east and then by then even longer to get out of where i park, is that ok with you?
Hmm, OK then but next week get a permission slip.😄
huggie1875
20-02-2022, 07:31 AM
I have to leave midweek games 10m early to get to work I’m guessing a lot of people are the same and on Saturdays people have other thing on in the evening so there not much to get unless you think we all work the same hours and family members have the same birthdays an anniversaries
Crunchie
20-02-2022, 07:35 AM
It's pretty much indicative of today's society as a whole, in a rush to get nowhere fast. I can't understand it myself either.
20-02-2022, 07:46 AM
It's pretty much indicative of today's society as a whole, in a rush to get nowhere fast. I can't understand it myself either.
Come join me at the top of the east and you will see why some of us leave a few mins early
20-02-2022, 07:47 AM
Hmm, OK then but next week get a permission slip.😄
Next week is a 12pm kick off so all good😉
20-02-2022, 07:48 AM
Next week is a 12pm kick off so all good😉
Nae excuses then. 👍😄
20-02-2022, 07:52 AM
Can’t understand why this has become such a noticeable Hibs thing.Its not a "noticable Hibs thing"
You're just trying really hard as usual to make it one.
huggie1875
20-02-2022, 08:00 AM
Again what’s there to understand not everyone lives the same life are you really that self engrossed that you think we all work the same hours
20-02-2022, 08:03 AM
That first half performance was as bad as I’ve seen at ER, we played most of the game with Nisbet sitting at the half way line had just about everyone else on our own half, god knows what the tactics were but it clearly wasn’t working. I did see an improvement in our starting positions and how better the midfield got up to support when in position, if my boos , along with a large proportion of the crowd at half time, in any way led to a change in mindset or gave the manager/players a vocal kick up the axxxx then good. Booing players when they come on is unacceptable, however, if professional footballers can’t handle expressions of dissatisfaction from the stands then they’re in the wrong job……..not sorry if that offends anyone🤷🏼
20-02-2022, 08:10 AM
That first half performance was as bad as I’ve seen at ER, we played most of the game with Nisbet sitting at the half way line had just about everyone else on our own half, god knows what the tactics were but it clearly wasn’t working. I did see an improvement in our starting positions and how better the midfield got up to support when in position, if my boos , along with a large proportion of the crowd at half time, in any way led to a change in mindset or gave the manager/players a vocal kick up the axxxx then good. Booing players when they come on is unacceptable, however, if professional footballers can’t handle expressions of dissatisfaction from the stands then they’re in the wrong job……..not sorry if that offends anyone🤷🏼
Christ, many times you been to Easter Road in your life? It was not good but certainly no way near the worst. Booing the team is just as pathetic as well, especially a super young Hibs team in transition.
Even worse the folk booing are 9 times out of 10 clueless about football and probs only ever played at Amateur level 🤣
You think at least 4 professional football coaches need to hear you boo to see somethings not working? Had you not boo’d Maloney wouldn’t have changed anything at all?
Professional football players are human like me and you increase the pressure performance suffers it would happen in any walk of life, Joe Newell told us all how much the negativity hampers the team, we saw the difference in performance with a serious backing against hearts, how is it so difficult to understand still?
20-02-2022, 08:18 AM
That first half performance was as bad as I’ve seen at ER, we played most of the game with Nisbet sitting at the half way line had just about everyone else on our own half, god knows what the tactics were but it clearly wasn’t working. I did see an improvement in our starting positions and how better the midfield got up to support when in position, if my boos , along with a large proportion of the crowd at half time, in any way led to a change in mindset or gave the manager/players a vocal kick up the axxxx then good. Booing players when they come on is unacceptable, however, if professional footballers can’t handle expressions of dissatisfaction from the stands then they’re in the wrong job……..not sorry if that offends anyone[emoji1743]
Were you also booing when the substitutes came on ?? I’d like anyone who booed to explain why ? What was the purpose of booing at that moment ?
Hibs fans have long had a tradition of booing at half time to show displeasure . I’m not a fan of it tbh ..feel when things are tough at HT, it is not helpful ..but booing subs I’ll never understand…
Crunchie
20-02-2022, 08:19 AM
Come join me at the top of the east and you will see why some of us leave a few mins early
I've stood/sat in the East for many a year, I understand that some fans will have to leave early and I'm not knocking them. What you will see though is the majority who leave early just want to get a jump on everyone else leaving.
OstKurve Hibs
20-02-2022, 08:22 AM
Stop attention seeking and looking to be offended, no one asked you to explain yourself so why do you feel the need to ?
huggie1875
20-02-2022, 08:23 AM
[QUOTE=Crunchie;6864754]I've stood/sat in the East for many a year, I understand that some fans will have to leave early and I'm not knocking them. What you will see though is the majority who leave early just want to get a jump on everyone else leaving.[/
Really so you asked them all or are you just assuming dear o dear have a word mate
huggie1875
20-02-2022, 08:25 AM
Stop attention seeking and looking to be offended, no one asked you to explain yourself so why do you feel the need to ?
Why do you feel the need to be annoyed
20-02-2022, 08:26 AM
Who is attention seeking, someone posted they dont understand why folk leave early, i answered, is that ok with you, if anyone is attention seeking it would be yourself looking to get a reaction from me so how about doing one
20-02-2022, 08:29 AM
Christ, many times you been to Easter Road in your life? It was not good but certainly no way near the worst. Booing the team is just as pathetic as well, especially a super young Hibs team in transition.
Even worse the folk booing are 9 times out of 10 clueless about football and probs only ever played at Amateur level 🤣
Been going for 30 plus years, next question? There was a marked improvement in urgency and tactics 2nd half, clearly the management team weren’t impressed either. Do we all need our coaching badges or have played professionally to express an opinion?
20-02-2022, 08:30 AM
Were you also booing when the substitutes came on ?? I’d like anyone who booed to explain why ? What was the purpose of booing at that moment ?
Hibs fans have long had a tradition of booing at half time to show displeasure . I’m not a fan of it tbh ..feel when things are tough at HT, it is not helpful ..but booing subs I’ll never understand…
Read my post, I said booing players when they come on is unacceptable.
20-02-2022, 08:41 AM
Been going for 30 plus years, next question? There was a marked improvement in urgency and tactics 2nd half, clearly the management team weren’t impressed either. Do we all need our coaching badges or have played professionally to express an opinion?
Well you obviously dont understand football if you think the first half was as bad as its ever been. Ill leave at that. You continue to boo even though our manager and one of our best players (Newell) are practically telling yous you are dampening the harmony of the team 👍
20-02-2022, 09:03 AM
Don't agree with the booing. But was Maloney not announced as an exciting young manager who understood the history at Hibs and style of attacking football we'd like to see. You look at a Maloney team at the moment and wonder how on earth we're going to build the play and get up the park. Lack of movement/ overlapping runs is chronic and it feels like we have even less attacking options than we did before the transfer window. Very pleased pleased the second half upturn but work to do for Shaun.
Crunchie
20-02-2022, 09:14 AM
Don't agree with the booing. But was Maloney not announced as an exciting young manager who understood the history at Hibs and style of attacking football we'd like to see. You look at a Maloney team at the moment and wonder how on earth we're going to build the play and get up the park. Lack of movement/ overlapping runs is chronic and it feels like we have even less attacking options than we did before the transfer window. Very pleased pleased the second half upturn but work to do for Shaun.
Rome wasn't built in a day :aok:
Sioux
20-02-2022, 09:25 AM
We play with a back 3! Where's the overlapping going to come from?
20-02-2022, 09:28 AM
Talk about stating the obvious. Am sure Maloney knows we are 3-4 players short.
huggie1875
20-02-2022, 09:34 AM
To be fair SM said it himself after yesterday’s game that we’re not quite there yet
20-02-2022, 09:37 AM
Rome wasn't built in a day :aok:
Right now Maloney feels closer to Alaric than to Romulus.
We can see that the play is slow and the players static, so I assume Maloney can as well. That raises the question of what he is working on in training and the instructions he's giving the players.
I don't want Maloney sacked but I would like to see some improvements in our play that indicate we will be better in time.
20-02-2022, 09:37 AM
I really think this also applies to performances. In other areas of life were used to getting stuff instantly, on demand. So many of us have forgotten the requirement of patience to learn, adapt & grow. Knowing that the team are trying to implement a different way of playing but not taking that into consideration when the games are actually happening.
SM stated yesterday we are no where near where he wants us to be "phew"...Admitting that doesnt make the transition easier to take but hopefully some will realise that everyone is looking for better in the long term.
linlithgowhibbie
20-02-2022, 09:44 AM
Maybe that explains why we need a separate family section. When the FFL was first opened as a family area they had club stewards who "policed" bad language quite successfully with a quiet word in peoples ears, maybe need that again!
20-02-2022, 09:46 AM
Probably six srarters unfit for yesterday getting a win against a team on a decent run who drew with Rangers couple of weeks back and we comfortably kept a clean sheet seems positive to me. Agree he will have players earmarked to come in during the summer. Fans need to be patient which some are clearly struggling with.
20-02-2022, 09:49 AM
I would say the worst would be going into half time three or four down not 0 0 against a stuffy well organised physical team.
20-02-2022, 12:41 PM
The Hibs support overall made much more noise booing their own side than actually singing Hibs songs or cheering on their team.
huggie1875
20-02-2022, 12:46 PM
I really think this also applies to performances. In other areas of life were used to getting stuff instantly, on demand. So many of us have forgotten the requirement of patience to learn, adapt & grow. Knowing that the team are trying to implement a different way of playing but not taking that into consideration when the games are actually happening.
What does any of that have to do with fans leaving for work commitments or did you not read the post you were replying to?
20-02-2022, 01:38 PM
If I was in charge, for a 3pm ko, I wouldn’t allow fans access to the stadium after 2:45 and NO exit until the full time whistle at 4:50. Would improve things for everyone. Make it clear that this rocking up to the game with 5 minutes to go and still finding your way to your seat spoiling my view when the game has actually ****ing started, is a thing of the past.
OstKurve Hibs
20-02-2022, 01:57 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-debrief-jake-doyle-hayes-match-winning-heroics-3576620
All done to all the booing clowns, you made the papers. You can go brag to your mates at work and down the pub now.
20-02-2022, 02:14 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-debrief-jake-doyle-hayes-match-winning-heroics-3576620
All done to all the booing clowns, you made the papers. You can go brag to your mates at work and down the pub now.
Completely agree with what Fowler has written there.
20-02-2022, 02:20 PM
No pub for them! They’ve got to sit on the naughty step until they say sorry.
20-02-2022, 02:57 PM
Hate to bring it up again but I still feel so sorry for Wright yesterday. That booing of a pass that kept possession is really really bad. What chance does the guy have.
20-02-2022, 03:02 PM
Correct
20-02-2022, 03:02 PM
Hate to bring it up again but I still feel so sorry for Wright yesterday. That booing of a pass that kept possession is really really bad. What chance does the guy have.
Yep. He’s getting hammered. it’s a real low from our support. I would imagine the dressing room will have noted the lack of the support, and how quick we are to get on the teams backs…
When players are struggling, it’s time to support them when they have our strip on..
Boo at the final whistle if you wish, but to do it when subs come on , or a poor pass choice, is appalling…
20-02-2022, 03:04 PM
Agreed. Subs maybe weren't to everyone's liking, but to boo will not fill the players with confidence.
20-02-2022, 03:08 PM
Agreed. Subs maybe weren't to everyone's liking, but to boo will not fill the players with confidence.Actually it does, unfortunately it's the opposition's :-(
20-02-2022, 03:10 PM
I didn’t really have an issue with the reaction to that pass, he should have looked forward and it was just frustration. Couldn’t quite believe the reaction when they came on though, even if I don’t think either of them should actually be coming on.
20-02-2022, 03:15 PM
Noticed some sporadic bits of booing Nisbet in the East yesterday. Sounded like only a handful, but not great.
DIXIHIBS
20-02-2022, 03:23 PM
Do people not realise the lift the opposition get when we turn on our own team? Other teams will come to ER and think if we can keep hibs out till HT the fans will turn. Ive been going to ER for 50 years now and it is now the worst ive seen it. No argument. I dare say other teams have similar issues but it really does seem worse at ER. Ive seen so many worse teams at hibs than our current one but they never got remotely the same stick. I dont know if any boo boys come on here but they seriously need to think about your actions. Its not helping.
LewysGot2
20-02-2022, 03:28 PM
Noticed some sporadic bits of booing Nisbet in the East yesterday. Sounded like only a handful, but not great.
Didn’t hear that but not warranted if folk were doing that.
The Nisbet issue definitely has roots in his alleged transfer request less than 5 months into his contract. The trust was eroded by that and he was actually pretty fortunate that it happened when there were no crowds to react in person at that time. We got past that point but there’s no doubt the relationship with the fans wasn’t anywhere near how it is with others. The celebration at the Cove game unfortunately compounded things - even the likes of AVFTT were commenting on it at the time - and the best thing he can do is try to ignore it and simply buckle down and work hard.
20-02-2022, 03:29 PM
Why anyone would boo Hibs players when there are 11 opponents on the park is a mystery to me. If one of our players isn’t performing they know this themselves. Booing them won’t enhance their performance.
LewysGot2
20-02-2022, 03:32 PM
Do people not realise the lift the opposition get when we turn on our own team? Other teams will come to ER and think if we can keep hibs out till HT the fans will turn. Ive been going to ER for 50 years now and it is now the worst ive seen it. No argument. I dare say other teams have similar issues but it really does seem worse at ER. Ive seen so many worse teams at hibs than our current one but they never got remotely the same stick. I dont know if any boo boys come on here but they seriously need to think about your actions. Its not helping.
We’ve had that reputation for years. So many opposition managers over the years openly saying that we can be weaponised against our own team.
The best games this season have been ones where people have parked their emotional fragility - last week at Arbroath was great atmosphere, Hearts games, Motherwell away at start of the season and Dundee Utd away in the cup. Easter Road is a whole different story…
20-02-2022, 03:39 PM
I didn’t really have an issue with the reaction to that pass, he should have looked forward and it was just frustration. Couldn’t quite believe the reaction when they came on though, even if I don’t think either of them should actually be coming on.
We were winning 1-0 at the time though and the guy kept possession of the ball? What did he do wrong?
Think I was maybe just shocked at the volume.
20-02-2022, 03:48 PM
We were winning 1-0 at the time though and the guy kept possession of the ball? What did he do wrong?
I just thought he had a fairly easy pass forward (everyone in the place saw it apart from him). Keeping the ball is fine (he actually does that most of the time) but he never really shows any attacking intent and I think that’s where most of the frustration comes from.
Silky
20-02-2022, 03:50 PM
:agree: that's what I don't get. He didn't lose it. He passed to a team mate! Suppose he had passed forward, for example and his teammate lost the ball-he's hounded for playing the wrong pass and potentially putting our slender lead at risk. Canny win.
20-02-2022, 04:01 PM
:agree: that's what I don't get. He didn't lose it. He passed to a team mate! Suppose he had passed forward, for example and his teammate lost the ball-he's hounded for playing the wrong pass and potentially putting our slender lead at risk. Canny win.
He didn’t even look forward as his first intention’s was to pass the ball back so that’s why the fans moaned not booed. He had a easy pass out to the wing but took the other option.
20-02-2022, 04:07 PM
He didn’t even look forward as his first intention’s was to pass the ball back so that’s why the fans moaned not booed. He had a easy pass out to the wing but took the other option.
If I’d just been booed on , and spent all this season with a chunk of the crowd on my back whenever I get a chance to play ..I’d pick an easy pass when I first got the ball too …
OstKurve Hibs
20-02-2022, 04:10 PM
If I’d just been booed on , and spent all this season with a chunk of the crowd on my back whenever I get a chance to play ..I’d pick an easy pass when I first got the ball too …
This, people on here tryin to excuse booing him, he made a wrong pass. Give the guy a break, it's because of who he is, if scott allan had came on and made that same pass there wouldnt have been a peep from the crowd
DIXIHIBS
20-02-2022, 04:11 PM
Moaned not booed. Your having a laugh. A sizeable chunk of fans seriously over reacted. They were raging. They would not have acted as bad as that to any other player. Hope the guy leaves hibs soon for his own sake.
20-02-2022, 04:12 PM
There’s a time and place for simply keeping the ball but that wasn’t one with a pretty straightforward pass forward available. He shows zero intent and no amount of support is going to change that. I don’t buy the whole thing about him not being able to win either. If he does something worthy of praise, he’ll get it. JDH is an example of that yesterday. Folk were on his back in the first half but he got plenty praise for his second half performance. Folk generally just call what they see IMO.
OstKurve Hibs
20-02-2022, 04:13 PM
There’s a time and place for simply keeping the ball but that wasn’t one with a pretty straightforward pass forward available. He shows zero intent and no amount of support is going to change that. I don’t buy the whole thing about him not being able to win either. If he does something worthy of praise, he’ll get it. JDH is an example of that yesterday. Folk were on his back in the first half but he got plenty praise for his second half performance. Folk generally just call what they see IMO.
It was pretty much his first touch of the ****ing ball, jesus christ.
20-02-2022, 04:15 PM
When Wright receives the ball Cadden had made a good run, for sure but he's behind him. There's no way Wright see's that so he knocks it back to the defender. A pass that's made a thousand times per match.
I'm obviously guessing here, but I'm assuming Wright's instructions when he was brought on was to chase the ball down and keep things simple. He did that.
20-02-2022, 04:19 PM
It was pretty much his first touch of the ****ing ball, jesus christ.
Did Jesus come on as well did he?
Seriously though, don’t think it really matters if it was his 1st or 21st touch, he’d likely do the same thing every time because that’s how he plays.
DIXIHIBS
20-02-2022, 04:30 PM
Seriously though, don’t think it really matters if it was his 1st or 21st touch, he’d likely do the same thing every time because that’s how he plays.
And you think he deserved dogs abuse for it?
20-02-2022, 04:45 PM
Unfortunately seems to be the way for some folks.
what can those around them do? Unfortunately the real bams do not usually take to reasonable requests to pack it in. So others see the futility in raising the issue. The sad thing is that the nuggets that persist fail to see that whilst they may see it as they pay their wages to have a right to express their displeasure, they can turn off those around them in the process.
In an ideal world, there should be some way for persistent offenders to be given an opportunity to reflect and change their ways but that’s not the reality. So the madness continues.
20-02-2022, 04:51 PM
That’s just a way of justifying the stick he takes .
he went on to (during the game) won tackles and headers and towards the end burst into the box waiting for a cross ..was he also looking to pass backwards ??
His Hibs career and contribution has not gone like we or he would have hoped - but fans are not supporting him . Regardless what he does - no wonder he is trying to play safe .
20-02-2022, 04:52 PM
Football has come a long way when fans are being criticised, and taking up column inches, for the pantomime booing of players. If certain players require unconditional support and encouragement from our support to help them produce on the pitch then afraid they’re in the wrong job……or at the very least, at the wrong club. I don’t condone the reaction to the players that came on but the day I don’t vent at the end of a half of football where our team hadn’t a single shot at target at home against Ross County will be the day I probably don’t bother my axxx going at all.
20-02-2022, 04:57 PM
Football has come a long way when fans are being criticised, and taking up column inches, for the pantomime booing of players. If certain players require unconditional support and encouragement from our support to help them produce on the pitch then afraid they’re in the wrong job……or at the very least, at the wrong club. I don’t condone the reaction to the players that came on but the day I don’t vent at the end of a half of football where our team hadn’t a single shot at target at home against Ross County will be the day I probably don’t bother my axxx going at all.
Sorry but I completely disagree with that. They're human beings at the end of the day, just like you or I. Not everyone can just shrug off a reaction like that.
20-02-2022, 05:08 PM
Seriously though, don’t think it really matters if it was his 1st or 21st touch, he’d likely do the same thing every time because that’s how he plays.Don't agree with that at all... the players are normally told to settle into the game for a few minutes, going 'safe' until they're up to speed with the rest of the team on the park.
(Exception being a striker getting popped on with a few minutes to go)
BlackSheep
20-02-2022, 05:08 PM
Very few posts here looking at the perspective that the boos aren’t aimed at the two players coming on but at the management for choosing to play them when we have better players on the bench or even not in the squad!
A few folk around me booed them coming on and of those who didn’t boo many expressed their discontent at seeing these players coming on in front of say Doidge or Melkerson.
The only way either Wright or Scott can change things like this happening is to show they’re worth the jersey… right now a lot of the support don’t think they are. Giving them 10/15 minute cameos isn’t enough time for players who have rarely seen more all season.
20-02-2022, 05:15 PM
Very few posts here looking at the perspective that the boos aren’t aimed at the two players coming on but at the management for choosing to play them when we have better players on the bench or even not in the squad!
A few folk around me booed them coming on and of those who didn’t boo many expressed their discontent at seeing these players coming on in front of say Doidge or Melkerson.
The only way either Wright or Scott can change things like this happening is to show they’re worth the jersey… right now a lot of the support don’t think they are. Giving them 10/15 minute cameos isn’t enough time for players who have rarely seen more all season.
Does that subtly make any difference ..if you’re booing me for coming on, or the manager for putting me on - it’s still about me …
The way to give Scott and a Wright the best chance to make a difference is to get behind them when they step over the white line …
20-02-2022, 05:25 PM
Does that subtly make any difference ..if your booing me for coming on, or the manager for putting me on - it’s still about me …
The way to give Scott and a Wright the best chance to make a difference is to get behind them when they step over the white line …..... to play for the team I support.
20-02-2022, 05:34 PM
And you think he deserved dogs abuse for it?
I didn’t agree with him being booed on to the park. I didn’t see much wrong with the moaning a couple of minutes later when he declined the opportunity to play forward though, that’s the type of thing that happens at games all the time when folk are frustrated with what they’re watching. I think that part is being made out to be worse than it was because of what happened a couple of minutes earlier.
20-02-2022, 05:37 PM
That’s just a way of justifying the stick he takes .
he went on to (during the game) won tackles and headers and towards the end burst into the box waiting for a cross ..was he also looking to pass backwards ??
His Hibs career and contribution has not gone like we or he would have hoped - but fans are not supporting him . Regardless what he does - no wonder he is trying to play safe .
I’m not looking to justify anything, I’ve already said I thought the reaction when he came on was out of order. I think people will support if they see something worth supporting and, with him, they just don’t.
BlackSheep
20-02-2022, 05:38 PM
Unfortunately for them they will be the scapegoats for the last few months of mediocrity and until they’re coming on and showing something more than just a body on the pitch, fans will continue to moan… especially at our club… we have some of the most negative fans I’ve experienced…. Even some of the lads I sit with are frustratingly negative week in and week out….
McSwanky
20-02-2022, 06:06 PM
Football has come a long way when fans are being criticised, and taking up column inches, for the pantomime booing of players. If certain players require unconditional support and encouragement from our support to help them produce on the pitch then afraid they’re in the wrong job……or at the very least, at the wrong club. I don’t condone the reaction to the players that came on but the day I don’t vent at the end of a half of football where our team hadn’t a single shot at target at home against Ross County will be the day I probably don’t bother my axxx going at all.Do you want to see your team win? Do you want to do everything in your power to help them win? A 12th man the Hibs fans are not. More like a man short at times.
I'm not going to sit here all high and mighty and say I've never booed Hibs players before, but it's only ever because I think they're ****ing about or not trying hard enough. The one that springs to mind was a game against, I think, Raith Rovers in our Duffy inspired season in the second flight. We were 1-0 down at half time I think and Yogi was grinning his mouth off and making drinking signs with his hands for some reason. Dogs abuse was given out, and quite justifiably so IMO! He knuckled down in the second half and I think we went on to win. All thanks to me [emoji6]. A constructive booing that one was [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
Edit, think I found the game and my memory clearly isn't that good.... It was 0-0 at half time, but Rovers took the lead in the second half only for Hibs to run out winners 3-1.
20-02-2022, 06:22 PM
Unfortunately for them they will be the scapegoats for the last few months of mediocrity and until they’re coming on and showing something more than just a body on the pitch, fans will continue to moan… especially at our club… we have some of the most negative fans I’ve experienced…. Even some of the lads I sit with are frustratingly negative week in and week out….
This is the heart of the issue - we now have groups of fans who are actively negative in the stadium, not just on social media . Don’t think it’s ever been worse at our club …
Been the case ever since I've been going to games. Some fans just need a scapegoat to boo. I remember in the McLeish years, despite playing some of the best foorball I have ever seen at ER, once we lost a couple of games after our flying start Dirk Lehmann was a target because he missed a couple of sitters...
Most of our support is fantastic, gets behind the team for most of the game and justly air their frustrations when things aren't going to plan. Unfortunately during some games the chronic negativity of a handful gets the loudest airing. Suppose empty vessels make the most noise.
OstKurve Hibs
20-02-2022, 09:25 PM
Not sure what you actually mean, must be one of those jokes you chuckle away to yourself at.
Joe Newell has already spoke out recently about how the drivel from the stands affects the squad yet it still continues, but on you go. You keep justifying it if it makes you happy.
StPauli
20-02-2022, 09:34 PM
I was sitting beside someone, when Nisbet got booked he shouted at the ref and said do us all a favour and send the f......r off. The boy and his pals sat for the next 45 mins telling everyone that we were s...t and he couldn't wait to go to the pub. What is that all about?
20-02-2022, 09:46 PM
Not sure what you actually mean, must be one of those jokes you chuckle away to yourself at.
Joe Newell has already spoke out recently about how the drivel from the stands affects the squad yet it still continues, but on you go. You keep justifying it if it makes you happy.
I’m not trying to justify anything, it’s up to other folk how they react.
Did I, or would I, boo a couple of players coming on to the pitch? Naw. Did I have a moan a couple of minutes later when one of them had the chance to pass the ball forward and didn’t? Aye. That’s the kind of thing that happens at games every week, always has and always will and I think it’s only being mentioned because of what happened when they came on. Even if the likes of Joe Newell don’t particularly like it, I don’t think the folk actually bothering to turn up at the moment are our biggest issue where crowds aren’t concerned.
It was you that brought Jesus in to things by the way, was just curious as to what he had to do with anything.
20-02-2022, 11:27 PM
So glad you've said that. You'll get some criticism but you're spot on. Booing should be a last resort and its getting embarrassing. And if anyone seriously thinks it doesnt affect the team's performance, that person is an idiot.
21-02-2022, 05:46 AM
Why would anyone boo when we were ahead in the game? Absolutely moronic especially when we have such a young set of players and a young management team? Really is pathetic.