View Full Version : QF draw

13-02-2022, 05:51 PM
Who do we want?

Would be happy with St Mirren/Dundee/United, prefer to avoid Motherwell/Hearts and if we draw the OF, ah well there's always next year.

13-02-2022, 05:52 PM
The draw is on Monday night isn't it? I'd take the winner of Peterheid v Dundee at home.

Peterhead at Easter Road.

Anyone at home please. Old firm will probably be in Europe the Thursday before the game, so maybe a good time to get them
Think all 4 games are on TV

13-02-2022, 05:55 PM
Ideal draw:
Hibs v Dundee
Rangers v Celtic
Motherwell v Hearts
St Mirren v United

Likely draw:
Celtic v Dundee
Rangers v St Mirren
Motherwell v Dundee Utd
Hearts v Hibs

13-02-2022, 05:55 PM
The draw is on Monday night isn't it? I'd take the winner of Peterheid v Dundee at home.

Yes after that match.

13-02-2022, 05:59 PM
Anyone at home please. Old firm will probably be in Europe the Thursday before the game, so maybe a good time to get them
Think all 4 games are on TV

Yes two on BBC and two on Premier Sports.

davy67 +
13-02-2022, 06:12 PM
Home tie against anyone but Hearts

13-02-2022, 06:14 PM
Who do we want?

Would be happy with St Mirren/Dundee/United, prefer to avoid Motherwell/Hearts and if we draw the OF, ah well there's always next year.

Winner of Peterhead or Dundee.

13-02-2022, 06:15 PM

We’ve actually got a pretty decent home cup record against the ****bos. I’d much rather play them than either of the Infirm.

13-02-2022, 06:18 PM

You’d rather play rangers or Celtic than hearts? Crazy.

Home tie against the lowest ranked side, so the winner of Mondays tie. Failing that work your way up the rankings at home.

13-02-2022, 06:29 PM
Think all 4 games are on TVGood point about OF after Europe ( hoping that helps us in league v Celtic ) but are either likely to get through to that round . Celtic might beat norwegian team bur rangers are unlikely to beat Dortmund ( not sure if they drop into Conference ) . Semis also after European matches .

13-02-2022, 06:34 PM
Bring em all on...

13-02-2022, 07:20 PM
Hertz at Home please, they are pony

13-02-2022, 07:23 PM
Everyone saying a home fixture but I wonder if we might be a better team away from home.

13-02-2022, 07:23 PM

You must be joking? I’d much rather play hearts over the ugly sisters.

Tommy75
13-02-2022, 07:41 PM

This the same Hearts who got beat of Dundee at home, horsed by Rangers and just scraped past Livingston that you're scared of?

13-02-2022, 07:50 PM
If a team gets to the Scottish Cup final and faces either celtic/ rangers/ hearts, do they automatically get the European group stage spot? Or do they need to win it otherwise it goes to the third place team

Paulie Walnuts
13-02-2022, 07:52 PM
If a team gets to the Scottish Cup final and faces either celtic/ rangers/ hearts, do they automatically get the European group stage spot? Or do they need to win it otherwise it goes to the third place team

Need to win it.

If the winner of the cup has already qualified for Europe then the cup slot goes to third, third place goes to fourth and fourth goes to fifth.

Cup winning spot is the best one.

13-02-2022, 07:56 PM
If a team gets to the Scottish Cup final and faces either celtic/ rangers/ hearts, do they automatically get the European group stage spot? Or do they need to win it otherwise it goes to the third place teamCup winner gets play off for Europa League ( which means groups of Conference at worst ) unless already qualified for Champions League ( first 2 in league this year ) . If cup is won by team lower than 3rd then 3rd will go into Conference ( can`t remember at what stage ) . No Europe for losing final .

13-02-2022, 08:10 PM
If the Old Filth draw each other, then every other side is in with a shout of the final.

13-02-2022, 08:16 PM
If the Old Filth draw each other, then every other side is in with a shout of the final.

Wishful thinking - wasn’t the last time they met before a semi final over a decade ago (maybe 10/11)? And the time before that was 04/05.

13-02-2022, 08:22 PM
Bring on the gunts

13-02-2022, 08:25 PM
Hearts at home please.

LunasBoots
13-02-2022, 08:30 PM
Hearts at home

13-02-2022, 08:45 PM
Literally anyone at home, od argue best chance of beating either half of the uglies is pre Hampden at ER

JamesHFC
13-02-2022, 08:46 PM
I’m predicting three derbies and Well v St Mirren.

13-02-2022, 09:16 PM
I’m predicting three derbies and Well v St Mirren.Would take that . Home or away to Hearts no big difference . Only 1 of OF to beat to win cup after .

JamesHFC
13-02-2022, 09:18 PM
Would take that . Home or away to Hearts no big difference . Only 1 of OF to beat to win cup after .

Agreed. Hearts are a wee team.

davhibby
14-02-2022, 12:36 AM
Wishful thinking - wasn’t the last time they met before a semi final over a decade ago (maybe 10/11)? And the time before that was 04/05.

It was last season.

14-02-2022, 02:56 AM
Hearts at home please! They are utter garbage!!

14-02-2022, 07:28 AM
Peterhead or Dundee at home. Interesting to note that the teams already through sit 1-7 in the Premiership table.

14-02-2022, 08:38 AM
Hibs v Hearts
Celtic v Rangers
Dundee v Dun Utd
St Mirren v Motherwell

Premier Sports would show the old firm game one day and a repeat the following.

14-02-2022, 08:39 AM
With our impressive cup record of getting to semis/finals in recent years Hibs will be in be club that others will be hoping to avoid in tonights draw.

14-02-2022, 09:26 AM
Hibs v Hearts
Celtic v Rangers
Dundee v Dun Utd
St Mirren v Motherwell

Premier Sports would show the old firm game one day and a repeat the following.
That draw wouldn't be a bad shout for Scottish football.

All on TV with 3 1/2 derbies and setting up some tasty semis.

14-02-2022, 09:27 AM
We must be due Celtic away at some point

14-02-2022, 09:28 AM
Hoping for Peterhead at home. Will no doubt get Rangers or Celtic away. Quite fancy another 5/6k of us at Ibrox to be fair. What a day that was. Yet another 0-3.

Fifehibee1960
14-02-2022, 09:46 AM
At home to the weakest team would be great…. If not home tie would do but we really need to start turning up and keep the goals coming

14-02-2022, 12:23 PM
Peterhead or Dundee at home please.

14-02-2022, 12:36 PM
It was last season.

Website never had last years games, terrible that I forgot that one. So seems around once every 10 years.

14-02-2022, 12:40 PM
Need to win it.

If the winner of the cup has already qualified for Europe then the cup slot goes to third, third place goes to fourth and fourth goes to fifth.

Cup winning spot is the best one.
Cheers thought that. The deeper we go in the cup keeps things interesting.

14-02-2022, 01:00 PM
Always want the lowest ranked team on offer. It’s the best way to win a cup. Get to the final anything can happen. Old firm getting drawn together would be good.

Anyone at home bar the old firm would do.

PolmontHibby
14-02-2022, 01:06 PM
Celtc/Sevco drawn against each other, and a home tie against any of the others would do me

14-02-2022, 02:00 PM
Is Rod doing the draw tonight?

14-02-2022, 02:19 PM
Petrie or Stewart?

14-02-2022, 02:33 PM

Rod home , Emu away balls

14-02-2022, 05:46 PM
Rod home , Emu away balls

Get James Scott to officiate. Closer he gets to Hull the better.

14-02-2022, 05:50 PM

:faf::faf::faf::top marks

14-02-2022, 06:02 PM
Is the draw after tonights game? Or are they randomly throwing it in before/half time?

14-02-2022, 06:04 PM
Is the draw after tonights game? Or are they randomly throwing it in before/half time?

After the game, could be quite late if this goes to extra time

14-02-2022, 06:29 PM
A reasonable prediction looks like this:

Hotball 1 v St Mirren
Dundee v Hotball 2
Motherwell v Hibs
Hearts v D Utd.

14-02-2022, 06:41 PM
Difficult one to choose who I want to win tonight. Peterhead winning is only a good thing if we get drawn against them, although that would be the ideal draw. As others have said, provided we avoid the Glasgow teams is the main thing, I suppose.

14-02-2022, 06:46 PM
Difficult one to choose who I want to win tonight. Peterhead winning is only a good thing if we get drawn against them, although that would be the ideal draw. As others have said, provided we avoid the Glasgow teams is the main thing, I suppose.

I can't see the winner of tonight's match going further than the quarter finals so I'll take Peterhead.

Keepthefaith
14-02-2022, 06:48 PM

Genius.

loanheadhibby
14-02-2022, 07:13 PM
Hearts at home please! They are utter garbage!!
Maybe so but have a look at the league table.
Doesn't say much for us.

14-02-2022, 07:22 PM
Hearts at home please.

Hearts at home

No ta, we've had our fingers burned too many times in that fixture. Either of the Dundee teams would be good.

I have a bad feeling we will end up at Ibrox.

14-02-2022, 07:27 PM
Glasgow derby
Edinburgh derby
Dundee derby
Motherwell v St Mirren

14-02-2022, 07:30 PM
Glasgow derby
Edinburgh derby
Dundee derby
Motherwell v St Mirren

Great for the neutrals.

HibsIntl
14-02-2022, 07:35 PM
The Next round
Peterhead away for the trip
Glasgow derby to knock one of them out
Take it from there

seanshow
14-02-2022, 08:33 PM
Weve had a few games at ibrox pre semi stage
But when was the last away cup tie at celtic.

....Thinking being we are entitled to something like 20% of the tickets at their grounds, instead of being squashed into the corners.

14-02-2022, 08:40 PM
Weve had a few games at ibrox pre semi stage
But when was the last away cup tie at celtic.

....Thinking being we are entitled to something like 20% of the tickets at their grounds, instead of being squashed into the corners.Doubt it was last but in 1988 we drew 0v0 at Parkhead then lost 0 v 1 at home in replay .

Hibees1973
I've got bad karma about this draw.

Think it's gonna be Parkhead or Ibrox.

Draw coming on now.

14-02-2022, 08:41 PM
Who the hell is that clown??

Paul Slane.

lol

Whonis this arse doing the draw?

Slaney doing the draw 😂😂😂

Who is this roaster

14-02-2022, 08:42 PM
Hearts v St Mirren

Dundee Utd v Celtic

Dundee v Rangers

14-02-2022, 08:43 PM
Motherwell v Hibs

Motherwell it is then

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Tough draw

JamesHFC
We should take a good crowd for that. Better than facing the OF.

away from home :( winnable of course

What an away crowd that’s going to be I tell you.

14-02-2022, 08:44 PM
Happy with that

Good draw.

Celtic and Rangers both away is a surprise

14-02-2022, 08:45 PM
i've made the SF draw

Hibs v St Mirren
Sellick v Sevco

Tough away draw, but a fifty-fifty game. It should be a good cup tie.

Excited for that !

Should be a sell out and good atmosphere !

That’s decent.

LunasBoots
OK with that, avoided the OF is the main thing, 50/50 chance of a result I think

14-02-2022, 08:46 PM
When are the games?

12/13 March.

When are the games?

12 and 13 March

We have to be happy with that - any time you avoid Celtic or Rangers you have to be happy.

12th and 13th March.

14-02-2022, 08:47 PM
Decent draw. Every chance of going through and a nice big stand for us to all fit in.

I only go to a handful of away games per season but will definitely be going to that one. Decent draw I think, definitely winnable

Mikey_1875
That’s a cracking cup tie. Atmosphere was brilliant there first game of the season and we should take a good crowd through

Decent draw for us, can’t really complain. Very good one for Hearts

Would have preferred a home tie but happy to have avoided the old firm, great chance to get back to Hampden again.

Hibees1973
14-02-2022, 08:48 PM
Confident

ardecos
14-02-2022, 08:48 PM
OK with that, avoided the OF is the main thing, 50/50 chance of a result I think

100% chance of a result 😊. Whether it's a positive one is a different story.

14-02-2022, 08:49 PM
Anyone know the TV times for the games?

i noticed a big part of the away stand at fir park was empty for the game v sellick recently, obviously something to do with the away players having to use part of that stand but they must have lost out on a loady £££ with all those empty seats

Will Motherwell still make the away team change in that stand / not sell a full block and a bit of seats ?

Surely they can change in main stand ?

Didn’t get the uglies, didn’t get hearts.

not bad.

JamesHFC
Are all four games on TV?

14-02-2022, 08:50 PM
away stand holds just under 5k so shouldn't be a scramble for tickets

14-02-2022, 08:51 PM
Will Motherwell still make the away team change in that stand / not sell a full block of seats ?

Thats stand holds 5000, even with the block of seats closed off it's still over 4000 tickets for us. Thats plenty.

Decent draw for us, can’t really complain. Very good one for Hearts

Agree decent draw think we win that tie

JamesHFC
Will Motherwell still make the away team change in that stand / not sell a full block of seats ?

Hopefully we get the whole stand. I’m confident we will sell out 4,500 tickets for this one.

Anyone know the TV times for the games?

All of them.

14-02-2022, 08:52 PM

Yes us and Hearts will be on BBC and Celtic and Rangers will be on Premier.

JGS56

I think all the ties are televised.
The weegies on premier, the other 2 on BBC.

Should be a cracking cup tie and one to look forward to.

Yes, it’s a pity that a few sections of lower tier are out of use for the visitors changing, but should still see a decent allocation.

Stanton Spence
Got to be happy with that draw especially when the last 3 balls in the pot where us the huns and Motherwell.

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

hibeg

Last time we were there in a Scottish Cup qf was in the mid 70s. 2-2 draw if I remember correctly. Derek Spalding scored one of the goals
There were thousands of our fans there that day.

Hopefully we get the whole stand. I’m confident we will sell out 4,500 tickets for this one.

We failed to come close to telling out yesterday. This game will be on tv as well. Doubt we will sell out.

i noticed a big part of the away stand at fir park was empty for the game v sellick recently, obviously something to do with the away players having to use part of that stand but they must have lost out on a loady £££ with all those empty seats

I've been there a few times recently photographing games. Away players come out from the bottom left corner so much be nearly 1000 seats not used. Total madness when social distancing isn't required any more and other clubs have stopped it. Must be costing them a good few quid

14-02-2022, 08:53 PM
Decent draw. I am guessing that Motherwell will be quite pleased too.

14-02-2022, 08:53 PM
Hopefully it’s not a stupid kick off time and we can enjoy a cup away day.

14-02-2022, 08:55 PM
Got to be happy with that draw especially when the last 3 balls in the pot where us the huns and Motherwell.

Aye was fearing the worst when I realised that, was delighted to see Rangers getting pulled out for Dundee.

We failed to come close to telling out yesterday. This game will be on tv as well. Doubt we will sell out.

Think with a chance at Hampden and an easier away trip we will unless stupid ko time.

All of them.

I meant do bbc have the Saturday or Sunday slots or will that not be known yet?

Didn’t get the uglies, didn’t get hearts.

not bad.

Exactly. It will be tough at Fir Park, but it's a good draw at this stage.

Tough but winnable tie. Should be a cracking match.

14-02-2022, 08:56 PM
We’ll sell that stand out. Quarter final, easy place to get to. Hopefully a reasonable kick off time.

14-02-2022, 08:56 PM
I meant do bbc have the Saturday or Sunday slots or will that not be known yet?

Our QF against Motherwell last year was Saturday at 5pm, there were 2 other QFs on the Sunday and then last one was Monday night. All on telly.

Premier will have the OF games.

K-Zazu
14-02-2022, 08:57 PM
Why does the away team have to use the away stand?

14-02-2022, 08:57 PM

Eh?

14-02-2022, 08:58 PM
Eh?

Think he means the players now change there and therfore a section of seats where fans can't sit.

I've been there a few times recently photographing games. Away players come out from the bottom left corner so much be nearly 1000 seats not used. Total madness when social distancing isn't required any more and other clubs have stopped it. Must be costing them a good few quid

yep, i was going to take a guess at 900 :greengrin have a feeling it's probably even less than that though

900 x avg £26= 23,400, i do understand the whole block being empty though, just a lot of cash to lose out on

Eh?

To get changed ?

Motherwell were doing work on changing rooms - not sure if covid related anymore.

Babyshamble
14-02-2022, 08:59 PM

Surely you've answered your own question there 🤔

14-02-2022, 09:00 PM
If rangers and Celtic win in Europe they’ll play the midweek before, and both Dundee sides can’t be at home the same day. Could be a headache for the schedulers.

K-Zazu
14-02-2022, 09:01 PM
Surely you've answered your own question there 🤔

I meant the players

14-02-2022, 09:01 PM
Surely they won’t have both OF teams on the same day all decending on Dundee that’s for certain.

14-02-2022, 09:02 PM
Celtic and Rangers could be in Europe on Thursday so one will play on Sunday and other on Monday I suppose . No rugby on Saturday at Murrayfield so Hearts could play then .
Likewise us .
Not a bad draw . We were better team in recent league game at Motherwell . On current form I`d expect St Mirren to beat Hearts but still 4 weeks to go . Would expect both Dundee clubs to lose but OF will be vulnerable if playing in Europe on Thursday before .

Last time we were there in a Scottish Cup qf was in the mid 70s. 2-2 draw if I remember correctly. Derek Spalding scored one of the goals
There were thousands of our fans there that day.

Only thing I remember that day was the result AND was it the game that a dart was thrown from the Well fans and embedded in the head of one our fans?

I meant the players

Got you. Hopefully, that won't be required by then. We shall have to wait and see.

Babyshamble
14-02-2022, 09:03 PM
I meant the players

H
Ah.noticed the sheep did the same on Saturday. Must be to do with covid restrictions?

JamesHFC
Last season, Premier Sports had Saturday evening and Sunday evening slots for the Quarter Finals. BBC had Sunday afternoon and Monday evening.

If that’s the same this time round then I’d imagine Celtic and Rangers will be Saturday evening/Sunday evening. It will be toss up between us and Hearts for the Sunday afternoon/Monday evening slot if that’s still the case.

I highly expect Rangers will be knocked out by Dortmund so they will probably get the Saturday spot.

Surely they won’t have both OF teams on the same day all decending on Dundee that’s for certain.

Nae chance, there would be nothing left of the city.

Decent draw, interesting quarter finals. Every chance of us going through.

hibby rae
14-02-2022, 09:04 PM
I can't believe how annoying that guy doing the draw was, I pity anyone who has to be in his company.

14-02-2022, 09:04 PM
Would us playing Motherwell on the Friday night be an option?

hibeg
14-02-2022, 09:05 PM
Only thing I remember that day was the result AND was it the game that a dart was thrown from the Well fans and embedded in the head of one our fans?

That’s correct. The guy was just along from us in the shed. It was crazy that day !

14-02-2022, 09:05 PM
Tough draw

It’s far from a tough draw and we have every chance of winning ….. which we will. A tough draw might have been a game against Celtic or Rangers, home or away or a game away to Hearts. Very happy with that, thank you.

14-02-2022, 09:10 PM
The bus I was on that day had 4 windows broken cold journey back to Edinburgh.

14-02-2022, 09:10 PM
Would us playing Motherwell on the Friday night be an option?

Hope not!

14-02-2022, 09:11 PM
Slaney so put on it was cringe

Decent draw. To avoid either of the uglies at this stage is decent.

Get through hope for an old firm semi final and us v saints in the other.

Hibiza
14-02-2022, 09:11 PM
Good draw . Is it still no replay ?

14-02-2022, 09:12 PM
Good draw . Is it still no replay ?

No replays after the 3rd round.

14-02-2022, 09:13 PM
If rangers and Celtic win in Europe they’ll play the midweek before, and both Dundee sides can’t be at home the same day. Could be a headache for the schedulers.

One of them on the Monday night?

davhibby
14-02-2022, 09:13 PM
Last season, Premier Sports had Saturday evening and Sunday evening slots for the Quarter Finals. BBC had Sunday afternoon and Monday evening.

If that’s the same this time round then I’d imagine Celtic and Rangers will be Saturday evening/Sunday evening. It will be toss up between us and Hearts for the Sunday afternoon/Monday evening slot if that’s still the case.

I highly expect Rangers will be knocked out by Dortmund so they will probably get the Saturday spot.

I think they’ll give Rangers the Saturday spot as well but they’ll have to leave another time free in case they go through. So that probably means the BBC won’t have the option of the Monday night for us.

Think we’ll be looking at Saturday or Sunday lunchtime

14-02-2022, 09:14 PM
Decent draw all round but couldn’t believe how amateurish the presentation was. A really pathetic showing.

14-02-2022, 09:15 PM
Great draw for Hibs. Fancy us to beat them more than if we were at home to them :aok:

14-02-2022, 09:15 PM
That’s correct. The guy was just along from us in the shed. It was crazy that day !

Just looked it up. 17000 at fir park. 25000+ at ER for the replay. 16000 at Ibrox for the 2nd replay.
Crowds we can only dream about now!!
BTW - my crazy days are far behind me now. LOL

14-02-2022, 09:19 PM
i'm sure the dart game was just a run of the mill League game :hmmm: maybe no, my memory :( obviously a deranged half wit taking a dart to a game of football ffs

we usually had fans at either side of the home fans in the middle

as for the replay at Ibrox i'm sure both sets of fans were in the one end with segregation

hibeg
14-02-2022, 09:22 PM
i'm sure the dart game was just a run of the mill League game :hmmm: maybe no, my memory :(

we usually had fans at either side of the home fans in the middle

I can’t remember what I had for my tea yesterday, but the dart game was defo the qf. 😂

14-02-2022, 09:26 PM
I can’t remember what I had for my tea yesterday, but the dart game was defo the qf. 😂

:aok: i was probably too :cheers: to have a clue what competition it was :rolleyes: but i do know i've been to many many more games at Fir Park than i have at Tinycastle :greengrin

most away grounds visited

Fir Park
Hampden
Tinycastle

JamesHFC
14-02-2022, 09:26 PM
I think they’ll give Rangers the Saturday spot as well but they’ll have to leave another time free in case they go through. So that probably means the BBC won’t have the option of the Monday night for us.

Think we’ll be looking at Saturday or Sunday lunchtime

They will know whether Rangers and Celtic will qualify or not next Thursday which gives plenty of time before the Quarter Final games are played. I expect we will hear when these fixtures be played after those European games next week.

14-02-2022, 09:31 PM
One of them on the Monday night?

Possibly, not sure Premier would fancy a Monday night game but they won’t have a choice, although the chances of rangers winning against Dortmund are slim (not sure when confirmation of TV dates will need to be made).

14-02-2022, 09:32 PM
They will know whether Rangers and Celtic will qualify or not next Thursday which gives plenty of time before the Quarter Final games are played. I expect we will hear when these fixtures be played after those European games next week.Second legs to be played too , Not sure if Rangers fall into Conference if they lose to Dortmund .

hibeg
14-02-2022, 09:33 PM
Just looked it up. 17000 at fir park. 25000+ at ER for the replay. 16000 at Ibrox for the 2nd replay.
BTW - my crazy days are far behind me now. LOL

Was at the 3 games but there was never 16k at the 2nd replay surely. We were rattling about in the stadium.
In saying that, I thought it was played at Hampden 😄

14-02-2022, 09:34 PM
Second legs to be played too , Not sure if Rangers fall into Conference if they lose to Dortmund .

I don't think they do. Not sure.

14-02-2022, 09:36 PM
Agree decent draw think we win that tie
Agree not easy but definitely winnable.

Garymcl
14-02-2022, 09:36 PM
First game of the season there was an amazing atmosphere brilliant backing from the hibbys that day even if to say it’s a silly kick off time and live on tv we must surely take a big support not far to travel not much excuse for not going one of my favorite grounds and will be an excellent atmosphere canny wait :flag:

1875Sean
14-02-2022, 09:38 PM
Decent draw all round but couldn’t believe how amateurish the presentation was. A really pathetic showing.

It’s a bit of fun

14-02-2022, 09:39 PM

Exactly eh. The away fans should get the home end and the home team should get the away end. Spot on.

14-02-2022, 09:40 PM
It gets worse every time, from a drunk Rod Stuart to tonight's draw a shambolic, amateurish embarrassing presentation.

14-02-2022, 09:40 PM
Motherwell will be tough tbh

Stanton Spence
14-02-2022, 09:48 PM
It gets worse every time, from a drunk Rod Stuart to tonight's draw a shambolic, amateurish embarrassing presentation.Who was it who was doing the draw and his connection to the game??
I was watching the Spezia v Fiorentina game and just turned over in time for the draw.

14-02-2022, 09:48 PM
It gets worse every time, from a drunk Rod Stuart to tonight's draw a shambolic, amateurish embarrassing presentation.

Give me that laugh than an overly serious shirt and tied gadge speaking proper. It’s a cup draw, lighten up.

hibee1875
14-02-2022, 09:53 PM
Who was it who was doing the draw and his connection to the game??
I was watching the Spezia v Fiorentina game and just turned over in time for the draw.

Think he’s ex Celtic youth, then made a career in the lower leagues. He’s part of the open goal podcast now tho. Joker of the bunch

JamesHFC
14-02-2022, 10:00 PM
Hearts be happy with the home draw but I wouldn’t put it past St Mirren beating them, in great form just now and have history of doing Hearts when it matters.

14-02-2022, 10:19 PM
[QUOTE=chrisski33;6859634]Motherwell will be tough tbh[/QUOTE
So was Arbroath
Quality will rise.
Jack Ross has laid the foundation for Hampden visits.
This season will be the big one
We get to slay sevco on their 10th birthday anniversary year.

Keep the Faith...... And look forward to Exuberence 2... The Sequel

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

14-02-2022, 10:39 PM
Hearts be happy with the home draw but I wouldn’t put it past St Mirren beating them, in great form just now and have history of doing Hearts when it matters.

Things can change in 4 weeks

14-02-2022, 10:40 PM
Give me that laugh than an overly serious shirt and tied gadge speaking proper. It’s a cup draw, lighten up.

It makes the Scottish game look amateurish.

14-02-2022, 10:53 PM
Think he’s ex Celtic youth, then made a career in the lower leagues. He’s part of the open goal podcast now tho. Joker of the bunch

Career in the lower leagues is putting it nicely. Doubt he has even made 50 first team appearances in his whole career. More famous for a trip to Amsterdam that he took.

14-02-2022, 10:57 PM
Exactly. It will be tough at Fir Park, but it's a good draw at this stage.

They'll be thinking the same, tbf.

14-02-2022, 10:59 PM
Who cares about the presentation of the draw? It's the outcome of the draw that matters. I only cared about the numbers that came out, not how they came out.

14-02-2022, 11:01 PM
They'll be thinking the same, tbf.

Aye, it's a fifty-fifty tie, which is far better than going to Ibrox or Parkhead.

14-02-2022, 11:05 PM
First dibs to the STs who deigned to go to the Cove game, yeah? ;-)

14-02-2022, 11:06 PM
Aye, it's a fifty-fifty tie, which is far better than going to Ibrox or Parkhead.

Indeedy.

It's a game I almost wish I was watching as a neutral!

TelaStella
14-02-2022, 11:14 PM

Aye? In a few weeks time after all ties have been played tell us how amateur it is. It’s a cup draw for the tele, bit of a laugh isn’t such a bad thing and hardly amateur. Canny stand comments like this.

LunasBoots
15-02-2022, 02:32 AM
Great draw for Hibs. Fancy us to beat them more than if we were at home to them :aok:

Agreed, at home we seem to play like we're under more pressure and away we play with a bit of something, not a bad thing at all.

May21/05/216
15-02-2022, 05:08 AM
BTW - my crazy days are far behind me now. LOLI was at those games

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

15-02-2022, 05:19 AM
Think Hibs will do well with a huge vocal away support behind them. Fancy us away from home more than at ER.

15-02-2022, 05:42 AM
[QUOTE=chrisski33;6859634]Motherwell will be tough tbh[/QUOTE
So was Arbroath
Quality will rise.
Jack Ross has laid the foundation for Hampden visits.
This season will be the big one
We get to slay sevco on their 10th birthday anniversary year.

Keep the Faith...... And look forward to Exuberence 2... The Sequel

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
This'll do👍

15-02-2022, 05:43 AM
If we pass Motherwell, not insurmountable, could be Edinburgh and Glasgow’s big two in the semis.

Scratch that. Forgot Edinburgh City we’re knocked out.

JimboHibs
15-02-2022, 06:04 AM
Aye? In a few weeks time after all ties have been played tell us how amateur it is. It’s a cup draw for the tele, bit of a laugh isn’t such a bad thing and hardly amateur. Canny stand comments like this.

A laugh,what was the funny part.

15-02-2022, 07:15 AM

To who? The draw was on BBC scotland. Nobody outwith the Scottish game was watching 😂

hibby rae
15-02-2022, 08:02 AM

Bit of a laugh is great.

This guy was one of those folk who think they're funny so they constantly crack jokes, and none of them are.

Tried too hard and was just nippy. I had to mute him and watch the draw on silent.

15-02-2022, 08:06 AM

Another in a long line of comical performances. Be grateful the actual draw was completed. We don't do these things well.

15-02-2022, 08:10 AM
Been to Motherwell twice and seen 19 goals (6-6 and 3-4), might head along to this one.

15-02-2022, 08:16 AM
Was at the 3 games but there was never 16k at the 2nd replay surely. We were rattling about in the stadium.
In saying that, I thought it was played at Hampden 😄

I wasn’t at the 2nd replay. Fitbastats site has a footnote saying it was played at Ibrox. That’s usually the “bible” for most historical Hibs info. :greengrin
Either way we still got beat. :rolleyes:

15-02-2022, 08:27 AM

Except it wasn't funny.

15-02-2022, 08:27 AM
We could be playing this game on the Friday, Saturday or the Monday
Presume the bad firm will play on the Sunday, as they possibly will be in Europe Thursday before and after
Don’t fancy being in Dundee on the Sunday, if both are visiting the city

15-02-2022, 08:44 AM
Presume the bad firm will play on the Sunday, as they possibly will be in Europe Thursday before and after

I can't see both games being on the Sunday in Dundee.

If they both get through their European ties then I think one of them will play on the Monday.

15-02-2022, 08:45 AM
I can't see both games being on the Sunday in Dundee.

If they both get through their European ties then I think one of them will play on the Monday.

I can’t either, unless one was at 12noon and the other in the evening

15-02-2022, 08:52 AM
Except it wasn't funny.

It was painful. If nothing else the boy has proved to folk like me who had never seen him before that he is a complete erse and to be avoided.

If being able to have a bit of a laugh is the benchmark for cup draws well I give up.

15-02-2022, 08:58 AM
I can’t either, unless one was at 12noon and the other in the evening

I think that idea would get swiftly knocked back by the police. There might be more chance if the two grounds were more spaced out but having Rangers and Celtic fans coming to two grounds which are 200 yards apart is a recipe for disaster in my opinion.

Even if one of the games kicked off at noon and the other at night, there's still going to be fans of whichever one kicks off at night arriving several hours early for a drink.

15-02-2022, 09:18 AM
We haven't lost an away cup tie for four years. No pressure.

15-02-2022, 09:33 AM

Rangers will get beat from Dortmund

loanheadhibby
15-02-2022, 09:43 AM
It’s far from a tough draw and we have every chance of winning ….. which we will. A tough draw might have been a game against Celtic or Rangers, home or away or a game away to Hearts. Very happy with that, thank you.
Wow you don't think it's a tough draw?
Have you been to any of our games this year?

15-02-2022, 09:46 AM
Rangers will get beat from Dortmund

Probably, but they won’t wait that long to announce when the games will get played

15-02-2022, 09:50 AM
Indeedy.

It's a game I almost wish I was watching as a neutral!

Get yourself a half and half scarf. 😀

15-02-2022, 10:01 AM
We haven't lost an away cup tie for four years. No pressure.

:agree: Tynecastle - January 2018.

Since then our away record in the domestic cups is;

July 2019 - Stirling Albion - won on penalties
July 2019 - Elgin City - won 2-0
September 2019 - Kilmarnock - won on penalties
January 2020 - Dundee Utd - drew 2-2
February 2020 - BSC Glasgow - won 4-1
October 2020 - Cove Rangers - won 2-1
October 2020 - Forfar Athletic - won 1-0
December 2020 - Alloa Athletic - won 2-1
April 2021 - Queen of the South - won 3-1
April 2021 - Stranraer - won 4-0
September 2021 - Dundee Utd - won 3-1
February 2022 - Arbroath - won 3-1

15-02-2022, 10:05 AM
Get yourself a half and half scarf. 😀

15-02-2022, 10:08 AM
:agree: Tynecastle - January 2018.

Since then our away record in the domestic cups is;

July 2019 - Stirling Albion - won on penalties
July 2019 - Elgin City - won 2-0
September 2019 - Kilmarnock - won on penalties
January 2020 - Dundee Utd - drew 2-2
February 2020 - BSC Glasgow - won 4-1
October 2020 - Cove Rangers - won 2-1
October 2020 - Forfar Athletic - won 1-0
December 2020 - Alloa Athletic - won 2-1
April 2021 - Queen of the South - won 3-1
April 2021 - Stranraer - won 4-0
September 2021 - Dundee Utd - won 3-1
February 2022 - Arbroath - won 3-1

im still sore about that one. Horrible scuffy hearts goal

15-02-2022, 10:49 AM
im still sore about that one. Horrible scuffy hearts goal

True, but it gave us the Natural Order derby

15-02-2022, 11:18 AM
I don't think they do. Not sure.

They don't

15-02-2022, 12:20 PM
Probably, but they won’t wait that long to announce when the games will get played

👍

15-02-2022, 12:23 PM
To who? The draw was on BBC scotland. Nobody outwith the Scottish game was watching 😂
No wonder and who outwith Scotland would won't to???

15-02-2022, 12:25 PM

Hardly amateur, it was like a couple high school kids clowning around only not that funny. Pathetic.

15-02-2022, 12:42 PM
Wow you don't think it's a tough draw?
Have you been to any of our games this year?

We've been to motherwell twice this season.

Won once, drawn once.

We've also played them at home and not lost to them.

15-02-2022, 01:52 PM
No wonder and who outwith Scotland would won't to???

That’s my point, it’s hardly embarrassing our National game when nobody outwith our game watched the thing. A poster pointed to rod Stewart’s draw, however that’s still hailed to this day as hilarious in all media. Don’t think that embarrassed us at all.

JamesHFC
15-02-2022, 02:07 PM

Why not?

Last season the Quarter Final scheduled fixtures were announced just 5 days before our match against Motherwell.

If they wait until after the 2nd leg of the European ties next week there will still be over two weeks before this seasons Quarter Final. Plenty of time to shift tickets etc.

G15 Hibs
15-02-2022, 02:31 PM
Why not?

Last season the Quarter Final scheduled fixtures were announced just 5 days before our match against Motherwell.

If they wait until after the 2nd leg of the European ties next week there will still be over two weeks before this seasons Quarter Final. Plenty of time to shift tickets etc.

Last year was a bit different in that due to the shortened timescales for the Cup there was only 6 days between our game away to Stranraer in the previous round (18 April) and the quarter final (24 April), so there couldn't have been an announcement much earlier. It won't be as close to the games this year before the times and dates are announced.

15-02-2022, 02:42 PM

Nah, it was pure cringe, up there with a drunk Rod Stewart doing the draw and Delia's cooking sherry induced halftime rant.

15-02-2022, 02:58 PM
That whole podcast is absolutely unwatchable. Used to be good when it was the boy from Peterhead interviewing people in the game and not hogging the attention but the desperate attempts from McAvennie, Slane, Kevin Kyle and himself to push forward their pish Glasgow patter is absolutely tiresome.

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Kevin De Bruyne could all sign for Hibs and their first discussion and half the podcast would be about Rangers or Celtic.

15-02-2022, 03:03 PM
Nah, it was pure cringe, up there with a drunk Rod Stewart doing the draw and Delia's cooking sherry induced halftime rant.
👍

15-02-2022, 03:09 PM
That whole podcast is absolutely unwatchable. Used to be good when it was the boy from Peterhead interviewing people in the game and not hogging the attention but the desperate attempts from McAvennie, Slane, Kevin Kyle and himself to push forward their pish Glasgow patter is absolutely tiresome.

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Kevin De Bruyne could all sign for Hibs and their first discussion and half the podcast would be about Rangers or Celtic.

It's horrific.

JamesHFC
15-02-2022, 03:38 PM
Last year was a bit different in that due to the shortened timescales for the Cup there was only 6 days between our game away to Stranraer in the previous round (18 April) and the quarter final (24 April), so there couldn't have been an announcement much earlier. It won't be as close to the games this year before the times and dates are announced.

I’m just pointing out that if they are able to sort everything out in 5/6 days then there won’t be any problems with 2 weeks notice.

G15 Hibs
15-02-2022, 03:59 PM
I’m just pointing out that if they are able to sort everything out in 5/6 days then there won’t be any problems with 2 weeks notice.

There shouldn't be, you're right. I suppose the other difference last year was that there were no fans so late announcements wouldn't really inconvenience folk in the same way. But two weeks is more than enough time for anyone who wants to go to make plans.

Steven79
15-02-2022, 04:08 PM
There shouldn't be, you're right. I suppose the other difference last year was that there were no fans so late announcements wouldn't really inconvenience folk in the same way. But two weeks is more than enough time for anyone who wants to go to make plans.

Not if you need to take a day off work.

plhibs
15-02-2022, 04:56 PM

I was at that game before i moved to Canada, pretty horrifying to see that guy getting taken out of the crowd.

G15 Hibs
15-02-2022, 04:57 PM
Not if you need to take a day off work.

Ok, anyone who wants to go to make plans except those who have to give two weeks plus notice for a day off work or who have an operation scheduled for that weekend or those who have qualified for the 2022 Turkish Snooker Masters. Any better?

15-02-2022, 05:39 PM
Ok, anyone who wants to go to make plans except those who have to give two weeks plus notice for a day off work or who have an operation scheduled for that weekend or those who have qualified for the 2022 Turkish Snooker Masters. Any better?

I got knocked out the snooker in the final qualifying round gutted.

G15 Hibs
15-02-2022, 06:29 PM
I got knocked out the snooker in the final qualifying round gutted.

But on the upside you can go to the game. Hooray!

15-02-2022, 07:31 PM
But on the upside you can go to the game. Hooray!

15-02-2022, 08:34 PM

Yep the supposed banter is horrific. Si Ferry a very good interviewer and should get back to that without trying to help his mates out with giving them attention for no apparent reason.

21-02-2022, 01:49 PM
Presume we must be waiting to see what old firm teams are still in Europe, before telling us when we play?

davhibby
21-02-2022, 01:59 PM
Presume we must be waiting to see what old firm teams are still in Europe, before telling us when we play?

Looks that way. I’d guess that if one of them get knocked out then they’ll be Saturday evening with the other on the Sunday afternoon and one of the BBC games on Monday night with the other Sat/Sun lunchtime. That seems most likely now as I don’t see Celtic getting through

21-02-2022, 02:08 PM
St Mirren V Hearts Satutday 12th March 745pm kick off. Not sure why no other game dates confirmed yet?

davhibby
Just after I’ve sent that, the Hearts v St Mirren game has been confirmed as the Saturday at 7:45, so ours must be about to be announced too

We are Sunday 12:30 BBC

21-02-2022, 02:09 PM
St Mirren V Hearts Satutday 12th March 745pm kick off. Not sure why no other game dates confirmed yet?

At Tynecastle

21-02-2022, 02:23 PM
Two rounds in a row with a Sunday 12:30 kick off, ****ing pish.

21-02-2022, 03:00 PM
Will still go through but that is utter crap timing

21-02-2022, 04:07 PM
I was speaking to a customer of mine today, who lives in Arbroath
He was saying the Sunday lunchtime KO hit the trade in the town, rather than a Saturday or a later Sunday KO
Seemingly Arbroath got £24k from tv, but the bars in the town didn’t benefit from a big Hibs support due to no trains, and the early KO
Football is become too convenient for tv viewers, and not for the fans

Sioux
21-02-2022, 04:16 PM
He was saying the Sunday lunchtime KO hit the trade in the town, rather than a Saturday or a later Sunday KO
Seemingly Arbroath got £24k from tv, but the bars in the town didn’t benefit from a big Hibs support due to no trains, and the early KO

Aye, and plenty on here want to watch the games on TV, and threatening not to renew STs if TV lounging is removed. Who'd have thunked it.

21-02-2022, 04:35 PM

To be honest I couldn't care less if the bars didn't benefit. The fewer inadequates who need alcohol to fuel their support pi$$ heads at the game the better.

21-02-2022, 04:48 PM
To be honest I couldn't care less if the bars didn't benefit. The fewer inadequates who need alcohol to fuel their support pi$$ heads at the game the better.

You do realise it's a small minority who can't seem to behave,the vast majority have a few beers and enjoy the whole day out

21-02-2022, 04:53 PM

It’s not something I do pre game, but I was just pointing out that this is the effect on a little town, when if it had been a decent ko, the economy would have benefited in multiple ways

The dalmeny
21-02-2022, 04:55 PM

Pretty poor comment all round

21-02-2022, 04:57 PM

You couldn’t care less about local economies?

21-02-2022, 05:06 PM

Agree 100%.

Just drive to game, head straight in and head straight home after. Don’t even bother treating yourself to a pie.

Anyone who wants to enjoy themselves can do so behind closed doors in their own homes :agree:

21-02-2022, 05:10 PM

Bit small minded this

21-02-2022, 05:25 PM

Hope I’m sitting beside you at the next derby.

21-02-2022, 05:43 PM
Hope as many as you as possible can make it and cheer on the boys.

If all goes to plan and we get through I bet we will be Sunday 12:30 again for the semi.

SJNB Hibby
21-02-2022, 05:51 PM
Agree 100%.

Just drive to game, head straight in and head straight home after. Don’t even bother treating yourself to a pie.

Anyone who wants to enjoy themselves can do so behind closed doors in their own homes :agree:
Or go to the cinema

JamesHFC
21-02-2022, 05:57 PM
Getting a supporters bus and having a few drinks, soaking up the atmosphere makes the cup away days that bit more special I feel. I’m sure it would have been a cracking day out if we had the Saturday evening fixture. Will now drive through for this game and hopefully go out for a celebratory drinks when back in Edinburgh.