View Full Version : Fraser Hornby
broondog
10-02-2022, 02:40 PM
Have just received a text from a mate who was at the ticket office earlier today. Saw Fraser Hornby getting out a car nearby and approaching the stadium main entrance. Can only think this may be a deal about to get done. Personally had to look him up as the name was familiar but couldn't place him. Played for aberdeen and has a good record at U21 level for Scotland. Although appears to be contracted to a french club.
On the surface could be a good signing if this materialises and add to our firepower up front.
10-02-2022, 02:43 PM
I ****ing love these threads.
Unfortunately it does seem as though he's contracted to Reims until 2024 and I can't find anything saying they released him.
10-02-2022, 02:45 PM
I ****ing love these threads.
Unfortunately it does seem as though he's contracted to Reims until 2024 and I can't find anything saying they released him.
:greengrin Yeah but apart from that.
10-02-2022, 02:48 PM
Thought he looked brilliant for the Scotland u21 team and hoped Hibs would get him on loan
Didn't look good at Aberdeen although he got Injured
Not sure if/why he'd be at ER as he isn't out of contract so I'm assuming this just isn't happening.
broondog
10-02-2022, 02:48 PM
If that's the contract situation not sure then. He doesn't seem to have really played for them in the two years he's been there accoring to wikipedia.They have may hav agreed to release him should he find a suitable club thoiugh.
10-02-2022, 02:50 PM
He’s probably signing for the B team :wink:
10-02-2022, 02:53 PM
If that's the contract situation not sure then. He doesn't seem to have really played for them in the two years he's been there accoring to wikipedia.They have may hav agreed to release him should he find a suitable club thoiugh.
Suppose possible he was released in the window however would imagine it would have been publicised
10-02-2022, 02:55 PM
... or selling train sets :cb
seriously though, can we get players on loan after window closes?
He does play outside Scotland,of course. Is that allowed?
JXM73
10-02-2022, 03:15 PM
Havent the stadium tours started again?
10-02-2022, 03:43 PM
... or selling train sets :cb
seriously though, can we get players on loan after window closes?
He does play outside Scotland,of course. Is that allowed?
No we can't. He would need to have been released from his club within the window for us to sign him or a deal agreed within the window for a loan.
10-02-2022, 04:03 PM
No we can't. He would need to have been released from his club within the window for us to sign him or a deal agreed within the window for a loan.
Think we’re signing him to keep Melkerson company before they both make their debuts next season.
10-02-2022, 04:06 PM
Thank you !
10-02-2022, 04:11 PM
I hope not. He's absolute manure.
10-02-2022, 04:17 PM
Don’t think we’d be allowed to in any form given he’s contracted.
But is he not pretty brutal too? Not sure he even scored for Aberdeen last season, maybe once?
10-02-2022, 04:26 PM
Think we’re signing him to keep Melkerson company before they both make their debuts next season.
10-02-2022, 04:28 PM
But is he not pretty brutal too? Not sure he even scored for Aberdeen last season, maybe once?
He would be in good company then not scoring
Steven79
10-02-2022, 04:28 PM
29 senior apperances and 4 goals.
Looks like he would fit in really well...
10-02-2022, 04:30 PM
You can sign players at anytime, they just can’t be registered to play out with the registration window unless a free agent at the time the window closed.
Regardless of the above, we aren’t signing Hornby.
10-02-2022, 04:32 PM
Aaargh!Even the nonsense, imaginary signings are written off and slated before they start!!
Our fanbase is toxic right now and we need to snap out of it!!
Steve Austin
10-02-2022, 04:38 PM
You can sign players at anytime, they just can’t be registered to play out with the registration window unless a free agent at the time the window closed.
Scored Winner in French league Cup game against Amateur opponents end of January came of the bench for Stade Reims .As above have said he would have to had his contract terminated to sign with us?
Had excellent record for Everton u23 team and Scotland u21 ,seems to have lost his way a little last couple of years!
10-02-2022, 04:39 PM
Aaargh!Even the nonsense, imaginary signings are written off and slated before they start!!
Our fanbase is toxic right now and we need to snap out of it!!
wont be long til the protestors start gathering at the delivery room in Simpsons to get in early :)
10-02-2022, 04:39 PM
I'm just impressed someone knows what Fraser Hornby looks like!
I'm vaguely familiar with the name but he could literally walk right past me in the street and I'd be none the wiser.
The Captain....
10-02-2022, 04:45 PM
Our fanbase is toxic right now and we need to snap out of it!!I'm sick of reading this..the fans weren't toxic against Hearts, St Mirren or last night at Ibrox. I can only assume its the laptop brigade who don't go to games your referring to?
Sent from my SM-G996B using Tapatalk
10-02-2022, 04:48 PM
I'm just impressed someone knows what Fraser Hornby looks like!
I'm vaguely familiar with the name but he could literally walk right past me in the street and I'd be none the wiser.
Very good point would have no idea what he looked like other than I knew he was very tall. Maybe we are signing a basketball player :greengrin
10-02-2022, 04:49 PM
Sorry was meaning in the context that they’d be arriving now.
I actually think Hornby is a player we would target tbf.
I can’t see Maloney taking to Doidge and we’d likely get a decent enough fee for him.
Hornby brings that physicality but is more mobile and better technically. He also fits our ‘model’ and has played in Belgium.
Ticks a lot of boxes.
His ability on the other hand…
10-02-2022, 05:07 PM
He is after shirt number 00 😁
Spudster
10-02-2022, 05:09 PM
His stats at Aberdeen look brutal but he did have a horrific time with injuries. Also had to be the focal point of their hoofball tactics as McInnes waned
Chorley Hibee
10-02-2022, 05:13 PM
He is after shirt number 00 😁
As a train enthusiast I thoroughly endorse this post. 🤣
et_hibby
10-02-2022, 05:17 PM
I'm sick of reading this..the fans weren't toxic against Hearts, St Mirren or last night at Ibrox. I can only assume its the laptop brigade who don't go to games your referring to?
I agree- from where I was sitting in the East (nearest FF) the crowd at the St Mirren game kept behind the team (if a little subdued!)
10-02-2022, 05:18 PM
He would suit the 0-6-4 formation.
G15 Hibs
10-02-2022, 05:23 PM
Very good point would have no idea what he looked like other than I knew he was very tall. Maybe we are signing a basketball player :greengrin
Possibly there today to change the lightbulbs.
10-02-2022, 06:00 PM
I'm sick of reading this..the fans weren't toxic against Hearts, St Mirren or last night at Ibrox. I can only assume its the laptop brigade who don't go to games your referring to?
That's a great point and you are bang on. It's the Internet brigade I was referring too. I often find the fans, on the whole at games are much more grounded, supportive and realistic.
Apologies for not making that distinction.
10-02-2022, 06:06 PM
He's dreadful.
10-02-2022, 06:35 PM
Is he set to train with us?
10-02-2022, 06:42 PM
He'll run out of steam.
Jeez, I hope not, the last thing we need is another non scoring striker.
10-02-2022, 06:47 PM
He'll run out of steam.
In which case his career will hit the buffers.
The Captain....
10-02-2022, 06:48 PM
That's a great point and you are bang on. It's the Internet brigade I was referring too. I often find the fans, on the whole at games are much more grounded, supportive and realistic.
Apologies for not making that distinction.Fair enough..thanks for clarifying. I've seen it said a few times and it's a loud minority of daft wee lassies and laddies online imo.
My experience at games is home, more subdued than toxic, away has been very supportive.
Apologies for taking the thread off topic. Don't know anything about Hornby so nothing to contribute to that particular debate!
10-02-2022, 06:54 PM
Maybe just on his way to Waverley
10-02-2022, 07:00 PM
As usual, this thread has gone off the rails.
10-02-2022, 07:09 PM
need to get one of our .net operatives to snoop behind the East Mains bushes to see if he's Train ing
sigh
10-02-2022, 07:11 PM
need to get one of our .net operatives to snoop behind the East Mains bushes to see if he's Train ing
sigh
Hope no one signals his presence.....
scm70nyd1973
10-02-2022, 07:19 PM
Hope he’ll not be another who’ll ballast the ball over the bar 🤭
My coat is already on 😁
10-02-2022, 07:24 PM
That’s the way it is. Some things will never change.
Fine work.
10-02-2022, 07:31 PM
Jeez, I hope not, the last thing we need is another non scoring striker.
Our current strikers (Doidge and Nisbet) have nearly 250 career goals between them. They are just in poor goalscoring form. They certainly are not non-scoring strikers.
10-02-2022, 08:00 PM
Some on here go loco thinking up puns.
Maybe some one gave Hibs the signal to track this player and gauge his abilities.
10-02-2022, 08:13 PM
Maybe some one gave Hibs the signal to track this player and gauge his abilities.
Good point but I heard that he kicks his cat like Kurt Azuma.
Our current strikers (Doidge and Nisbet) have nearly 250 career goals between them. They are just in poor goalscoring form. They certainly are not non-scoring strikers.
Exactly right. I'm watching Liverpool game &, incredibly, Firmino hasn't scored a home league goal for 16 months!! He's obviously total keek!
10-02-2022, 09:40 PM
We can
I’m sure that negotiations will go like clockwork.
leith lynx
10-02-2022, 09:42 PM
I've heard he's a model professional
Dazzjw1875
10-02-2022, 09:45 PM
He doesn't seem to play with Reims 1st team anymore looks to have been bumped to their B team according to his stats, no sign of being released but doesn't mean he didn't come to agreement to end contract recently.
10-02-2022, 09:49 PM
He doesn't seem to play with Reims 1st team anymore looks to have been bumped to their B team according to his stats, no sign of being released but doesn't mean he didn't come to agreement to end contract recently.
Maybe he's a sleeper?
leith lynx
10-02-2022, 09:59 PM
Maybe he's a sleeper?
Hibs would be a great platform for him.
10-02-2022, 10:14 PM
If he conducts himself in the right manner,he just might be the ticket we need.
Is there a timetable on signing,or is that window closed?
10-02-2022, 10:19 PM
Our luck needs to change so he might be able to get us more points. We could turn him into a model professional or give him the bullet if doesn't train hard.
et_hibby
10-02-2022, 10:30 PM
Could either turn out to be the light at the end of the tunnel or the dreaded replacement bus service.
10-02-2022, 10:50 PM
Does he have a good engine?
This signals the ambition of the club to avoid being station-ary
10-02-2022, 10:59 PM
Add an ‘s’ and Bruce says ‘That’s the way it is’. Great song!
10-02-2022, 11:08 PM
In my Express opinion we can never have enough Model pros in the Line up if we're to get up a head of steam, rack up some Points on the board and get our form back on track.
Over to you Coach Maloney
10-02-2022, 11:10 PM
Add an ‘s’ and Bruce says ‘That’s the way it is’. Great song!
Is that the guy that shops in The Range😁
He'd get us lots of points.
Dr What If?
10-02-2022, 11:20 PM
Scalextric!!! Not a pun, not funny, was just feeling left out
10-02-2022, 11:28 PM
Is that the guy that shops in The Range😁
That’s the one.
https://youtu.be/GlRQjzltaMQ
10-02-2022, 11:38 PM
He would suit the 0-6-4 formation.
He'll run out of steam.
In which case his career will hit the buffers.
Maybe just on his way to Waverley
As usual, this thread has gone off the rails.
sigh
Hope he’ll not be another who’ll ballast the ball over the bar 🤭
My coat is already on 😁
We can
I’m sure that negotiations will go like clockwork.
Maybe he's a sleeper?
Could either turn out to be the light at the end of the tunnel or the dreaded replacement bus service.
Does he have a good engine?
This signals the ambition of the club to avoid being station-ary
Pack it in. I come here to get away from work. Bugger off to train spotting forums if you want to talk trains. :grr: :greengrin
He'd get us lots of points.
Why was I left out? 🤔
11-02-2022, 01:32 AM
Why was I left out? 🤔
Sorry, never seen yours. You can do one as well. :greengrin
11-02-2022, 01:36 AM
I hope he does not go off the rails.
Sorry, never seen yours. You can do one as well. :greengrin
That's better. 👍
11-02-2022, 02:00 AM
Why was I left out? 🤔
Missed me anaw, erse that he is....
11-02-2022, 05:28 AM
Missed me anaw, erse that he is....
And me! Am suitably (Kings) Cross about it...
11-02-2022, 05:59 AM
Here’s a ‘good book’ suggestion for you, Hermit Crab. I think it’s suitable for long train journeys.
Tarrahib
11-02-2022, 07:19 AM
No he was picking up his tickets for the “Pie Night”
zitelli62
11-02-2022, 07:21 AM
Was his nickname at Aberdeen the flying scotsman
11-02-2022, 07:44 AM
We could pick up some points with him on board.
Alfiembra
11-02-2022, 07:56 AM
Hornby is on the level, crossing is one of his main attributes. Steaming into tackles is another one of his strong points. I also hear he’s travelled inter the city several times. With the right coaching I feel he could help the defence put up the shunters.
11-02-2022, 07:56 AM
That's it, the games a bogie.
scm70nyd1973
11-02-2022, 08:44 AM
😂😂😂
Snot fair
Oh no - I might have started another pun thread 🤭
11-02-2022, 08:49 AM
We could pick up some points with him on board.
Probably best to read the previous posts before adding to the thread...:wink:
11-02-2022, 08:50 AM
Oh man, that's First Class.
Lets hope the coach trains him right, heard he has a good engine, good at circuits and if he can stay on the rails, he'll be on the track as long as he stays away from the buffet.
Sergio sledge
11-02-2022, 09:27 AM
If true he'll probably get the squad number "00"......
leith lynx
11-02-2022, 09:39 AM
If he conducts himself in the right manner,he just might be the ticket we need.
Is there a timetable on signing,or is that window closed?
Points taken.
11-02-2022, 09:42 AM
If true he'll probably get the squad number "00"......
Keep up! I said that yesterday :greengrin
11-02-2022, 10:02 AM
It's an interesting scoop, but I heard there's been a delay.
11-02-2022, 11:43 AM
Leaves on the line? :greengrin
11-02-2022, 12:08 PM
This thread needs to be parked in the siding.
Sergio sledge
11-02-2022, 12:08 PM
Keep up! I said that yesterday :greengrin
And I was thinking I'd finally had an original thought for once in my life..... :greengrin
11-02-2022, 12:12 PM
This thread needs to be parked in the siding.
Parked ? Shunted surely !
leith lynx
11-02-2022, 12:30 PM
Interest cancelled.
11-02-2022, 12:54 PM
Leaves on the line? :greengrin
An old favourite of mine, its not the leaves the are the issue, its the tree they're attached too thats causing the problems.
11-02-2022, 12:58 PM
Parked ? Shunted surely !
You're right shunted🚄
I do feel this thread is about to hit the buffers and don't call me Shirley.😁
11-02-2022, 12:59 PM
Hoped he might get us on a winning "streak"
Sorry, one for the older train spotter!
11-02-2022, 01:09 PM
Will he be our Flying Scotsman or our Stephensons Rocket.
Hillsidehibby
11-02-2022, 01:09 PM
If he does well here he will probably end up at Deltic
11-02-2022, 01:38 PM
If he does well here he will probably end up at Deltic
That's very good. Clearly we have a lot of Trainspotters on here.
11-02-2022, 01:47 PM
Never be as good as Casey Jones
darwenhibby
11-02-2022, 02:08 PM
We’ll be chuffed if he signs
If he doesn’t perform it will be another excuse for the hibs support to get steaming
11-02-2022, 02:31 PM
An old favourite of mine, its not the leaves the are the issue, its the tree they're attached too thats causing the problems.
11-02-2022, 02:38 PM
Hoped he might get us on a winning "streak"
Sorry, one for the older train spotter!
60001 to 60034 , the streaks. Managed to see about 20 plus of them during my spotting days.
11-02-2022, 02:47 PM
Never be as good as Casey Jones
Or Rob"Casey" Jones headlong on the Hampden Express.
When will all this come to a halt?
11-02-2022, 02:48 PM
But only on a branch line?
leith lynx
11-02-2022, 02:59 PM
But only on a branch line?
Good question bud
11-02-2022, 05:21 PM
This thread is terrible.I’m off to Clarksville. Should just about manage the last train.
11-02-2022, 05:24 PM
This thread is terrible.I’m off to Clarksville. Should just about manage the last train.
Me too
Al meet you at the station...
be there by 4.30
cos av made your reservation
et_hibby
11-02-2022, 05:25 PM
Too much Monkee business here. .Net is going badly off the rails. PETRIE!!!
11-02-2022, 05:26 PM
Or Rob"Casey" Jones headlong on the Hampden Express.
When will all this come to a halt?
Destination: Bangor, Maine
Hibiza
11-02-2022, 05:38 PM
If he's overweight with good ball skills he could be our " fat controller" .
11-02-2022, 05:44 PM
Too much Monkee business here. .Net is going badly off the rails. PETRIE!!!
I know,but its a happy thread.
Some threads are gloomier than a murder on the orient express.
So,we got beat last week,its all water under the Forth rail bridge now.
11-02-2022, 05:59 PM
Got on at weegie central after the ipox game, ended up in Chattanooga.
11-02-2022, 06:38 PM
A train of thought here.
Anyone know which record got the first golden disc?
et_hibby
11-02-2022, 07:11 PM
I know,but its a happy thread.
Some threads are gloomier than a murder on the orient express.
So,we got beat last week,its all water under the Forth rail bridge now.
👍Indeed, Mick
11-02-2022, 07:19 PM
A train of thought here.
Anyone know which record got the first golden disc?
Aye
But i wont clipe
The guy wot rote it has the same surname as oor club's stationmaster
ok ..must dash... Got a train to catch..Choo Choo !!
11-02-2022, 07:30 PM
Aye
But i wont clipe
The guy wot rote it has the same surname as oor club's stationmaster
ok ..must dash... Got a train to catch..Choo Choo !!
leith lynx
11-02-2022, 07:59 PM
4 pages of this! are we not up the junction yet? (thought I'd just squeeze that one in.
11-02-2022, 08:11 PM
4 pages of this! are we not up the junction yet? (thought I'd just squeeze that one in.
And every post is Labeled with Love.....
11-02-2022, 08:25 PM
Probably best to read the previous posts before adding to the thread...:wink:
Point taken. I will schedule my posts better in future and avoid them being delayed.
11-02-2022, 08:26 PM
Well if you squeeze one in ,good chance of getting her "up the junction".
Carol White RIP
11-02-2022, 08:40 PM
Admins, you can close this thread now.
It's run out of steam.
11-02-2022, 08:49 PM
Admins, you can close this thread now.
It's run out of steam.
Not yet, we are still at Haymarket yards loading coal
For younger viewers ,where the tram turns left going west after Haymarket stop, that area was a huge coalyard back in the day.
11-02-2022, 08:56 PM
Surly squad number 66 or 90?
11-02-2022, 08:59 PM
For younger viewers ,where the tram turns left going west after Haymarket stop, that area was a huge coalyard back in the day.
FFS I mind that as a bairn, when I started in the railway Haymarket only had 4 platforms as well. I feel old.
11-02-2022, 09:00 PM
Surly squad number 66 or 90?
A lot of spotters on here I see. This is like a busmans holiday. :grr:
leith lynx
11-02-2022, 09:03 PM
This thread is shafted now
11-02-2022, 09:07 PM
Is that you getting off at Haymarket again Mick😉😉
I have lost the plot with this. Are we likely to sign this guy? I cant be bothered going back through the thread to see if there is any substance to this.
11-02-2022, 09:35 PM
I have lost the plot with this. Are we likely to sign this guy? I cant be bothered going back through the thread to see if there is any substance to this.
He wanted time to discuss with his family down South
So he is on the Aberdonian sleeper to Kings Cross tonight.
All tickets please !
11-02-2022, 09:36 PM
I
Everything is in train.
leith lynx
11-02-2022, 09:38 PM
Now in talks with Watford, no further news at this junction.
11-02-2022, 10:04 PM
That’s all we need a Virgin striker who’s not scored yet🤔
leith lynx
11-02-2022, 10:12 PM
Orient have expressed interest as well
dchibs
11-02-2022, 11:23 PM
Let's get rid off all the puns is this guy any good, are we in for him, i'm sure we hoped Stubbs went for him with his connections with Everton but watching him play for the dons I wasn't impressed.
12-02-2022, 07:55 AM
I don't get it.
12-02-2022, 08:47 AM
https://youtu.be/u3tlCqqg7lw
Hope this keeps the thread puffing along.
12-02-2022, 08:50 AM
Let's get rid off all the puns is this guy any good, are we in for him, i'm sure we hoped Stubbs went for him with his connections with Everton but watching him play for the dons I wasn't impressed.
The Scottish Pun reports negotiations at a crossroads.
Another went with this line.
Hibs Nick Hornby.
Alfiembra
12-02-2022, 09:37 AM
What’s the timetable for signing him, has that ship already sailed?
Oh no what have I done?
12-02-2022, 10:19 AM
What’s the timetable for signing him, has that ship already sailed?
Oh no what have I done?
You're cruising for something buddy!
12-02-2022, 10:59 AM
:hijack: can I hijack this threat and ask if the player is considering signing?
thx :)
DanishJohn
12-02-2022, 11:30 AM
See what you did there.
You got your quote in just before the High Noon Train.
Great film but the theme song always sinks me when I go on a diet
Donut forsake me oh my Darlin.... On this our Wedding Day
leith lynx
12-02-2022, 11:40 AM
If he is not, he might sign for Crewe, change would be good for him.
Silky
12-02-2022, 11:57 AM
If he is not, he might sign for Crewe, change would be good for him.
Maybe we could railroad him in to signing. Come steaming in with an offer before it gets derailed.
leith lynx
12-02-2022, 12:18 PM
Maybe we could railroad him in to signing. Come steaming in with an offer before it gets derailed.
A 2 for 1 offer?
Silky
12-02-2022, 12:41 PM
A 2 for 1 offer?
Of course. Use some of the Boyle money to make a first-class offer
12-02-2022, 01:07 PM
Of course. Use some of the Boyle money to make a first-class offer
He does appear to have been shown round the train ing facility at the East Mains Depot.
Nice Buffet Lunch,too
Paulie Walnuts
12-02-2022, 01:07 PM
He can’t sign until the summer.
Stokesy's on fire
12-02-2022, 01:36 PM
Was his nickname at Aberdeen the flying scotsman
Think they had some other names for him
12-02-2022, 02:20 PM
He can’t sign until the summer.
We would be better wi Burt Lancaster, he knew his trains.
Could always throw another log on the fire and listen to "Love me Tender"
12-02-2022, 02:33 PM
Is Casey Jones a free agent? He has a cannonball of a shot....
leith lynx
12-02-2022, 02:34 PM
The Scottish Pun reports negotiations at a crossroads.
Another went with this line.
Hibs Nick Hornby.
This thread has taken a Benny and approaching fever pitch......