View Full Version : Trouble at full-time

BegbieHSC
09-02-2022, 11:44 PM
It was battle stations at the section closest to the Broomloan at full time tonight, with raging Huns right up at the segregation point.

Saw a wee lad in our support get smacked in the face with a bottle coming from the Broomloan, and was receiving treatment as we finally got allowed out after 15-20 mins locked in. Hope the lad’s alright.

09-02-2022, 11:47 PM
As much as they are dirty *******s and nothing ever surprises me and I really hope everyone got out of there okay.

It genuinely is the best username giving a summary of incidents there's ever been on a football forum. :greengrin

I even read the post in the character voice.

09-02-2022, 11:48 PM
It was battle stations at the section closest to the Broomloan at full time tonight, with raging Huns right up at the segregation point.

Saw a wee lad in our support get smacked in the face with a bottle coming from the Broomloan, and was receiving treatment as we finally got allowed out after 15-20 mins locked in. Hope the lad’s alright.

Something got launched into the hibs fans at half time and a couple of bottles and coins launched into hibs fans after full time. Seemed to get a bit tasty but I had no idea why to be honest.

Mikey_1875
09-02-2022, 11:54 PM
Plenty of objects being flung back and forward at the end, not surprised someone took a sore one. Not sure what started it but did get a good laugh at the union bears “haud me back” routine as they ran over from the other side.

09-02-2022, 11:54 PM
There was a steward at that end who ran and pushed a hibs fan back into his seat in the first half because he had stepped into the aisle. I was pretty shocked to see him do that, and all the while the huns in the broomloan stand got away with constant baiting and throwing stuff. It’s the same every time but it never fails to amaze me what they get away with.

10-02-2022, 12:00 AM
Saw a video of a hibs fan or two hitting out with the 56 patter and giving someone racial abuse.

The racial abuse is embarrassing and inexcusable.

The 66 patter seems to be creeping I to the support and needs stomped out.

10-02-2022, 12:01 AM
Idiots in both ends tonight, there was some horrendous songs being sung by Hibs fans at halftime. We have a cheek to slag the OF for their party songs after that display tonight.

10-02-2022, 12:03 AM
Looked like a bunch of bairns from both ends pretending to act the big man with a big barrier in the middle.

The Ricksen song was pathetic.

10-02-2022, 12:10 AM
Looked like a bunch of bairns from both ends pretending to act the big man with a big barrier in the middle.

It seems to be the same dozen or so young lads that keep coming out with these songs, thankfully no one else joins in. I don’t even think it’s the block 7 boys as you never hear the drum going during.

10-02-2022, 12:12 AM

That was a shocker. No excuse for that at all. Not welcome if they're going to sing that pish

10-02-2022, 01:05 AM
Saw a video of a hibs fan or two hitting out with the 56 patter and giving someone racial abuse.

The racial abuse is embarrassing and inexcusable.

The 56 patter seems to be creeping I to the support and needs stomped out.

No excuses for racist behaviour, not just embarrassing but criminal. Genuine question and I just know I’m not going to like the answer but what is the 56 patter?

10-02-2022, 06:13 AM

Aw ffs, come on. There’s a song?

I despair sometimes.

Just_Jimmy
10-02-2022, 06:21 AM

The Ricksen song was pathetic.More than pathetic, it's offensive to fellow hibs fans.

It's time Hibernian clamped down on this *****. No excuses. We cannot throw stuff at the OF and allow the vermin element in our support to run wild.

Anybody chanting about illness or racist stuff isn't welcome at Hibs games as far as I'm concerned.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

10-02-2022, 06:42 AM
More than pathetic, it's offensive to fellow hibs fans.

It's time Hibernian clamped down on this *****. No excuses. We cannot throw stuff at the OF and allow the vermin element in our support to run wild.

Anybody chanting about illness or racist stuff isn't welcome at Hibs games as far as I'm concerned.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Agree with that.

It crosses a line that none of us should find acceptable.

10-02-2022, 06:46 AM
Is 56 a reference to the Ibrox disaster?
No doubt sung by 15 year old laddies whose parents weren't even born then.
Coupled with a song about a guy dying from MND it's not a songbook to be proud of is it?
I have to admit I sang some pretty horrendous stuff at that age but that obviously doesn't make it alright.
Being an erse is part of growing up and I suppose the only way to address this is if older supporters let these guys know what they are singing is offensive to their own supporters never mind the other side.
Hard for me to get too angry about this as I did it myself but, with the benefit of hindsight and the perception one gains with age, hopefully those responsible will grow out of it and stick to songs backing the team.

10-02-2022, 07:12 AM
No excuses for racist behaviour, not just embarrassing but criminal. Genuine question and I just know I’m not going to like the answer but what is the 56 patter?

It's 66, the number who died in the Ibrox disaster.
Plenty people shouting about this last night, thinking it was great "banter", *****.

10-02-2022, 07:19 AM
Walking in to the ground one of the young team said "I'm gonna get lifted tonight, watch me". They are really cool guys.

10-02-2022, 07:21 AM
Heard a few isolated “66” taunts which was brutal and really deflating to hear.

One of the great things about going to the football and especially away games is that camaraderie with being with fellow fans supporting your team, but over the last couple of years I have to admit that there is a section of support creeping in who I really don’t like at all and have nothing in common with.

Hopefully they remain a very small minority.

10-02-2022, 07:22 AM
Coupled with a song about a guy dying from MND it's not a songbook to be proud of is it?
I have to admit I sang some pretty horrendous stuff at that age but that obviously doesn't make it alright.
Being an erse is part of growing up and I suppose the only way to address this is if older supporters let these guys know what they are singing is offensive to their own supporters never mind the other side.
Hard for me to get too angry about this as I did it myself but, with the benefit of hindsight and the perception one gains with age, hopefully those responsible will grow out of it and stick to songs backing the team.

The world is a very different place now and what was acceptable then isnt acceptable now. When you were singing your songs we sang them along with you. Now its just a minority.
And here is the thing. The guys yesterday werent your part time, get drunk at semi finals or final guys that we usually lay the blame on.

10-02-2022, 07:23 AM
The world is a very different place now and what was acceptable then isnt acceptable now. When you were singing your songs we sang them along with you. Now its just a minority.
And here is the thing. The guys yesterday werent your part time, get drunk at semi finals or final guys that we usually lay the blame on.

It was never acceptable.

10-02-2022, 07:25 AM
It's 66, the number who died in the Ibrox disaster.
Plenty people shouting about this last night, thinking it was great "banter", *****.

Seriously? Where do these numbskulls come from? Pathetic !!

10-02-2022, 07:26 AM
Looking at some photos last night from Ibrox and it’s a very young Hibs away support. ****wits will be ****wits, but it’s an embarrassment to our club.

10-02-2022, 07:29 AM

I agree 100%.

10-02-2022, 07:44 AM
Erm........in the last 10 minutes my phone has been going mental with messages from hun friends and family all showing the same video clip from last night. It does not look good and involves the P and the N words.
Genuinely shocked and no words to defend it.

Col L
10-02-2022, 07:46 AM
Really saddens me that ANY Hibs fan would sing a song about Ricksen or the Ibrox Disaster. Can't blame it on all the young team, just a moronic minority who think it's edgy and somehow acceptable because its Rangers. I used to wince when I heard some of the things Aberdeen fans supposedly did and said when playing against them and thought at least we won't stoop so low. Doesn't seem to be the case any more.

Leave the bile to the bigots in the Rangers support, don't get dragged down to their level. It's not big and it's defo not clever. I also heard songs at Tynie earlier in the season about Mercer's wife, him dying from cancer etc, and it does my head in. Just not funny in the slightest.

I think a bit of self-policing is now required within the Hibs support. Those of us with morals and a bit of decency have got to start calling it out. The fans rep or the club maybe need to start being vocal about this - not in an Ann Budge Holier than Thou way, but with some strong condemnation. There's very little chance of it happening the other way round and Rangers calling out their idiotic MAJORITY for singing songs about Bobby Sands, and their constant obsession with hating Porto, but let's let them do their thing and we can do ours.

10-02-2022, 08:02 AM
Heard a Ricksen song a couple of times but lucky if it was being sung by about 5 people and it was coming from behind me, away from Block 7 before people put the blame on them. Always seemed to be straight after GSTQ or Rule Britannia in some sort of weird retaliation way. Ibrox doesn't half bring out the worst in some of our support - if you can't take listening and watching those ****ers don't go.

About a 3rd of the support seemed to be under 20 last night. For a lot of them with this covid stuff its probably their first trip to Ibrox - hopefully start growing out of it.

All this stuff not strictly a Hibs issue too (well I guess if its affecting us it is a Hibs issue but) - if social media and forums are anything to go by every team the length and breadth of the country seems to have this new young instagram generation following them.

10-02-2022, 08:05 AM
The problem with self policing coked up wanna be casuals is you’re more likely to get a hook in the mooth than stopping their behaviour. Last night was shocking in terms of our fans behaviour, a songbook that wouldn’t be out of place in a hun or celtc away section and lobbing glass bottles at the hun crowd. Singing about dead rangers players and fans killed in a stadium disaster made me sick to the stomach (literally) and it wasnae just a few singing them either. I always enjoyed away days at ibrox, not just cause we love to stick a 3-0 win up them every now and then but also being in that corner persecuted from all sides by offensive bigots. It becomes a lot less fun when we give them ‘excuses’ to be those offensive bigots and join in the offensive stuff. All in all I had a terrible night last night and apologies to my fellow passengers who had to listen to me spew my load a few times on the way home, still feeling dodgy this morning.

10-02-2022, 08:12 AM
Walking in to the ground one of the young team said "I'm gonna get lifted tonight, watch me". They are really cool guys.

Ffs

10-02-2022, 08:18 AM

That was all caused by the ridiculous decision to yet again keep the Hibs fans in. If we had been allowed to leave there would have been no flashpoint imo. However, those ****bags launnching bottles into our fans need caught. Polis told me cameras would catch them 🙈🙈.Saw the wee guy, hope he is ok🙏

JXM73
10-02-2022, 08:24 AM
Guys in row H seats 40-45 singing

Ricksen is a *****,
Gazza likes a strongbow
Queens gonna die as well

Along with many variations of the theme

Wee boys down the front with bless the pope and tri colours...

Was in no mood to bother wae either having scattered my dads ashes (great escape style in the ground, he was a rangers fan)

Confronting these lads only gonna end up with infighting and knowing the glasgow hun police I'd be the one lifted...

10-02-2022, 08:37 AM
Is this the Neil Lennon lot again? They need banned, this is getting ridiculous.

10-02-2022, 08:44 AM
There is an element of our support that would probably feel more at home at Parkhead. Noticed more IRA garbage in recent seasons (a small minority it must be said, but should be zero), now we're going along with the Pope thing that Celtic love. Chuck in the songs about Ricksen and the Ibrox disaster and you have the makings of our support being tarnished because of a few morons, who should be nowhere near normal people with pathetic bile like that coming out their mouths.

10-02-2022, 09:08 AM
I doubt these clowns will be at Arbroath on Sunday. Not interested in going to games unless its Celtic, Rangers or Hearts away.

10-02-2022, 10:05 AM
I doubt these clowns will be at Arbroath on Sunday. Not interested in going to games unless its Celtic, Rangers or Hearts away.

Well i do hope the ones involved in the 66 and Ricksen chants do get confronted/shouted down or booed if this happens again.

On the banners.
I notice tricolours are more evident in games against hertz and sevco.
Hertz do likewise,waving U/Jack and Ulster flags when plying us or Celtic.

We had lots of tricolours at semi final v sevco.
Guess the seller outside Hampden had some surplus flags from his Gallowgate pitch.
When i was younger it was much the same. Flying Irish flags when the hun came to town.
Nothing new.

On the Pope? Holy Father's were supporting Hibernian before Celtic existed:greengrin

LunasBoots
10-02-2022, 10:27 AM

If its the same one I've heard in the past it's about 'disaster was magic' and 'fell down the stairs', songs have really got cringy the last 5 years, there was some horrible stuff before but I feel its got a lot worse now.

10-02-2022, 10:37 AM
There is an element of our support that would probably feel more at home at Parkhead. Noticed more IRA garbage in recent seasons (a small minority it must be said, but should be zero), now we're going along with the Pope thing that Celtic love. Chuck in the songs about Ricksen and the Ibrox disaster and you have the makings of our support being tarnished because of a few morons, who should be nowhere near normal people with pathetic bile like that coming out their mouths.

Why bring Celtic into it? Its nothing to do with them, and everything to do with witless morons, the same people were singing songs about dead Lisbon Lions at Parkhead a few weeks ago.

10-02-2022, 10:47 AM

How do these clowns get tickets for celtic, rangers and hearts then. They clearly arent day trippers and go to other games.

Daniel 1875
10-02-2022, 10:52 AM
Some real idiots in our travelling support at the moment. Unsure how anyone can make a difference as trying to have a word as an individual would be far more hassle than it's worth. I usually think if folk just don't join in then the instigator will take the hint and shut up - but evidently not last night.

Ibrox always attracts the morons and given the limited number of tickets it's far easier to spot/hear than it is at Tynecastle but nevertheless the bus through and then some of the stuff at halftime was cringeworthy.

Feels like it's just wee guys trying to get one up on their mates by coming up with a song more ridiculous than the last one to get a few laughs.

Boys singing about Ricksen, Walter Smith and the Ibrox disaster when they probably don't have the first clue about any of it - embarrassing.

10-02-2022, 10:58 AM
Don't condone the singing at all, it's very poor but who polices it? Hibs? It's a tough one telling Hibs fans to stop singing offensive songs while the rest of the stadium sing their pathetic little "folk songs" of hate. Even worse when they're at Easter Road.

Torto7
10-02-2022, 11:01 AM
[QUOTE=Mick O'Rourke;6854690]Well i do hope the ones involved in the 66 and Ricksen chants do get confronted/shouted down or booed if this happens again.

On the banners.

Guess the seller outside Hampden had some surplus flags from his Gallowgate pitch.
When i was younger it was much the same. Flying Irish flags when the hun came to town.
Nothing new.

On the Pope? Holy Father's were supporting Hibernian before Celtic existed:greengrin[/QUu

Nothing wrong with the tricolour. You'll notice more flags against those clubs due to their being more fans present. Im always suspicious of the motive when someone singles out the Irish flag for complaint. Anti Irishness is still rampant in Scotland.

I agree about the ned element.

10-02-2022, 11:02 AM
How do these clowns get tickets for celtic, rangers and hearts then. They clearly arent day trippers and go to other games.

Rangers went to a general sale. No idea about the other games and how they get tickets.

10-02-2022, 11:09 AM
[QUOTE=Mick O'Rourke;6854690]Well i do hope the ones involved in the 66 and Ricksen chants do get confronted/shouted down or booed if this happens again.

On the banners.

Nothing new.

On the Pope? Holy Father's were supporting Hibernian before Celtic existed:greengrin[/QUu

Nothing wrong with the tricolour. You'll notice more flags against those clubs due to their being more fans present. Im always suspicious of the motive when someone singles out the Irish flag for complaint. Anti Irishness is still rampant in Scotland.

Let’s be honest here - nobody is bringing an Irish tricolour to a Hibs game at Ibrox to express pride in their Irish heritage.

10-02-2022, 11:17 AM
Let’s be honest here - nobody is bringing an Irish tricolour to a Hibs game at Ibrox to express pride in their Irish heritage.

If somebody had genuine affections for Ireland, it doesn't normally manifest itself by waving an Irish flag at a Rangers or Hearts fan.

Same with pledging allegiance to a religion. Leave that to the Church.

As for the Ricksen and 66 songs, they were being sung by a large group of Neds after the game about three years ago, the same group of 'hard men' that were then ****ting themselves walking to Queen St Stn

10-02-2022, 11:27 AM

Hope not.

They were also asking the female police officer on the Horse "how old is your pussy, can I touch your pussycat?" as if pretending a Horse was a Cat was some kind of new era quasi-sexist humour.

Absolute weirdos the lot of them, so find your nearest female police officer and that will tell you if they're at Arbroath.

10-02-2022, 11:47 AM
This is as depressing a thread as I've read on here and that's saying something.
Its the sort of stuff that would finally drive me away from the football for good.
It's almost impossible for the club to do much about this other than issue statements which will just go in one ear and out the other.
These clowns need hounded out and the only people that can put a stop to this are the fans themselves.

WestCoastHibby
10-02-2022, 11:52 AM
We’ve got plenty cretins as fans as do every club. I remember years ago reporting three clowns for monkey chanting every time a black player touched the ball.
Steward just looked at me as if I was daft.

10-02-2022, 11:52 AM
Rangers went to a general sale. No idea about the other games and how they get tickets.

Did it? Would have went but got told it was season ticket holders only.

10-02-2022, 11:57 AM
The rangers fans have a name for the guy in the video making the racist remarks. Already been asked if i know him (which I dont).

AndyM_1875
10-02-2022, 12:10 PM
[QUOTE=Torto7;6854760]

True. My mate used to refer to them as "wind up tricolors" that only ever put in an appearance during games against Rangers or Hearts.
Nowhere to be seen when you're playing Dundee or Morton on a wet Tuesday night the following week.

Logie Green
10-02-2022, 12:15 PM
This is as depressing a thread as I've read on here and that's saying something.
Its the sort of stuff that would finally drive me away from the football for good.
It's almost impossible for the club to do much about this other than issue statements which will just go in one ear and out the other.
These clowns need hounded out and the only people that can put a stop to this are the fans themselves.

Spot on. I saw a steward politely and correctly trying to usher a Hibs ‘fan’ out of the area between the front and rear seated areas pre-match as he was falling about drunk/stoned. The steward was being threatened/manhandled by his pals to the point where the drunken/stoned one managed to escape into the crowd. One of his pals is one of the clowns who was arguing with anyone who would listen at Celtic Park a couple of seasons ago, a real charmer.

We do seem to have a disproportionate number of young-ish ‘look at me’ types who have no regard for anyone around them. Hopefully at away grounds where it’s possible to do so the majority of decent fans can move away from them so that they are isolated and get the police attention their ****my behaviour deserves.

They are just as bad as the same types who follow hertz, Celtic and Rangers.

HibsIntl
10-02-2022, 12:15 PM
I was at the Chelsea Everton game the week before Christmas (in the away end). The guys next to me started chanting a famous anti-Chelsea/homophobic chant and within 20 seconds the stewards came up and told them they were now being watched all game and if they acted out again they’d be chucked out.

Now the last thing I want is more big brothers watching you but could stewards not take this calm but firm approach?

This was an away end of like 2000 as well so it would be even easier for us.

10-02-2022, 12:20 PM
I was at the Chelsea Everton game the week before Christmas (in the away end). The guys next to me started chanting a famous anti-Chelsea/homophobic chant and within 20 seconds the stewards came up and told them they were now being watched all game and if they acted out again they’d be chucked out.

Now the last thing I want is more big brothers watching you but could stewards not take this calm but firm approach?

So simple, yet effective

10-02-2022, 12:23 PM

Exactly what should happen

10-02-2022, 12:40 PM
Did it? Would have went but got told it was season ticket holders only.

Yeah it did, Hibs have been very very poor at communicating about ticket availability in the last few months bar the Derby. They've not even been plugging the Arbroath game on Sunday, the should be advertising that tickets are still available and to get along and support the boys if you can. I just don't think they give a Tom Tit about the fans to be honest.

10-02-2022, 01:05 PM
[QUOTE=Torto7;6854760]

Maybe if not their heritage, but Hibernian's heritage.

When i was younger, i took a tricolour into Easter Road most games and at away games.
My Grandson has an Erin go Bragh flag with Harp symbol
Our original motto and badge.

10-02-2022, 01:09 PM

On the banners.

Nothing new.

In case anyone reads it otherwise....
My post was not against the tricolour.
I use to take one to games,many moons ago!!
Nothing suspicious about me and my "Irishness"
My surname might be a clue.

10-02-2022, 01:42 PM

If somebody had genuine affections for Ireland, it doesn't normally manifest itself by waving an Irish flag at a Rangers or Hearts fan.

Same with pledging allegiance to a religion. Leave that to the Church.

As for the Ricksen and 66 songs, they were being sung by a large group of Neds after the game about three years ago, the same group of 'hard men' that were then ****ting themselves walking to Queen St Stn

Thats fine
Leave religion till Sunday or whichever day you pray.
But i would not suggest you ask our comrades in the St Patrick's Branch to change the branch name :greengrin

Yorkshire HFC
10-02-2022, 01:58 PM
This thread is the reason why I'm happy going to only one game a season.

Why does anyone want to put themselves through going to watch football matches regularly? People on here say how bad the football is, how badly they are treated at games, the moronic behaviour of the fans, bad food, drunks, high ticket prices, being locked into grounds for 20 minutes after the game's finished, crazy kick off times etc. etc. Where's the pleasure in it all - winning the occasional derby and a cup every 20 years? It was exciting for me when I was 15 - now I'm in my mid 50s, not so much.

Life's so much better over here on the moral high ground. :-)

10-02-2022, 02:07 PM
Hope not.

They were also asking the female police officer on the Horse "how old is your pussy, can I touch your pussycat?" as if pretending a Horse was a Cat was some kind of new era quasi-sexist humour.

Absolute weirdos the lot of them, so find your nearest female police officer and that will tell you if they're at Arbroath.

Swings in roundabouts, I recall before a certain cup final in 2016 a row of police horses standing in the sun and they were all sweating buckets. Someone commented on this and the female officer replied that he’d be sweating too if he was stuck between her legs for 4 hours.

10-02-2022, 02:09 PM

Why does anyone want to put themselves through going to watch football matches regularly? People on here say how bad the football is, how badly they are treated at games, the moronic behaviour of the fans, bad food, drunks, high ticket prices, being locked into grounds for 20 minutes after the game's finished, crazy kick off times etc. etc. Where's the pleasure in it all - winning the occasional derby and a cup every 20 years? It was exciting for me when I was 15 - now I'm in my mid 50s, not so much.

Brilliant stuff... but how true !

10-02-2022, 02:13 PM
Without going into detail about the Ricksen song was it the one to do with him doing wheelies?

Aberdeen fans were pelting this out at Pittodrie the other week and at half time some idiot decided it would be a good idea to play the original song over the sound system in what can only be an attempt to encourage them to sing it more.

Embarrassing.

10-02-2022, 02:33 PM
Without going into detail about the Ricksen song was it the one to do with him doing wheelies?

Aberdeen fans were pelting this out at Pittodrie the other week and at half time some idiot decided it would be a good idea to play the original song over the sound system in what can only be an attempt to encourage them to sing it more.

Embarrassing.

Was i hearing things or was there a version of Sloop John B (famine song) played at Ibrox last night just before kick off?

tomhorn
10-02-2022, 02:37 PM
As much as they are dirty *******s and nothing ever surprises me and I really hope everyone got out of there okay.

It genuinely is the best username giving a summary of incidents there's ever been on a football forum. :greengrin

I even read the post in the character voice.

Nae **** leaves til I find oot what **** did it

LunasBoots
10-02-2022, 02:54 PM
We’ve got plenty cretins as fans as do every club. I remember years ago reporting three clowns for monkey chanting every time a black player touched the ball.
Steward just looked at me as if I was daft.

Has a similar incident with Dominic Malonga at Falkirk away from two familiar faces, thankfully I've not seen them at games recently.

10-02-2022, 02:57 PM
Nae **** leaves til I find oot what **** did it

10-02-2022, 03:07 PM
[QUOTE=Torto7;6854760][QUOTE=Mick O'Rourke;6854690]Well i do hope the ones involved in the 66 and Ricksen chants do get confronted/shouted down or booed if this happens again.

On the banners.

Nothing new.

I agree about the ned element. (/QUOTE).

Have to disagree, we're a Scottish Club, Irish beginnings but that doesn't justify waving another country's flag about & I'm always suspicious when someone waves the Irish flag. I'm old enough to remember Pat Stanton's testimonial against Celtic & there were IRA
buckets doing the rounds, 'We're all the same, bhoys.' We're not.
It's the same with the Jambos waving their union jacks & Red Hands, it's pathetic & should be nowhere near football grounds. Should be left to the Old Firm bigots.

JXM73
10-02-2022, 03:10 PM

Definition of a snowflake...

10-02-2022, 03:18 PM
Spot on. I saw a steward politely and correctly trying to usher a Hibs ‘fan’ out of the area between the front and rear seated areas pre-match as he was falling about drunk/stoned. The steward was being threatened/manhandled by his pals to the point where the drunken/stoned one managed to escape into the crowd. One of his pals is one of the clowns who was arguing with anyone who would listen at Celtic Park a couple of seasons ago, a real charmer.

We do seem to have a disproportionate number of young-ish ‘look at me’ types who have no regard for anyone around them. Hopefully at away grounds where it’s possible to do so the majority of decent fans can move away from them so that they are isolated and get the police attention their ****my behaviour deserves.

They are just as bad as the same types who follow hertz, Celtic and Rangers.

Was about 4 yards from me. Saw it too

10-02-2022, 03:30 PM
[QUOTE=Torto7;6854760][QUOTE=Mick O'Rourke;6854690]Well i do hope the ones involved in the 66 and Ricksen chants do get confronted/shouted down or booed if this happens again.

On the banners.

Nothing new.

I agree about the ned element. (/QUOTE).

Have to disagree, we're a Scottish Club, Irish beginnings but that doesn't justify waving another country's flag about & I'm always suspicious when someone waves the Irish flag. I'm old enough to remember Pat Stanton's testimonial against Celtic & there were IRA
buckets doing the rounds, 'We're all the same, bhoys.' We're not.
It's the same with the Jambos waving their union jacks & Red Hands, it's pathetic & should be nowhere near football grounds. Should be left to the Old Firm bigots.

You have lumped other text with mine in your reply.
Confusing

What are you actually suspicious of?
My 3 Grandsons had "Erin Go Bragh" flags at 2016 final and other Hampden games.
Our original motto that is,and of course the Harp is now on our club badge again.
Our name is Hibernian !! Irish flag colours make up this years kit :greengrin

I too was a Pat's Testimonial.
A Republican Flute Band played at half time, to a mixed reception i might add.

Guy near me gave them abuse and anti fenian slurs.
Now that was bigotry.

OstKurve Hibs
10-02-2022, 03:46 PM
Was i hearing things or was there a version of Sloop John B (famine song) played at Ibrox last night just before kick off?

It was played before kick off. **** the huns, they're horrible bigoted rats.

10-02-2022, 03:54 PM
[QUOTE=Malthibby;6854976][QUOTE=Torto7;6854760]

Confusing

Our original motto that is,and of course the Harp is now on our club badge again.

Now that was bigotry.

Irish flag colours are green, white and orange

10-02-2022, 03:54 PM
It was played before kick off. **** the huns, they're horrible bigoted rats.

That is being kind to them. A scourge on Scottish society.

10-02-2022, 04:00 PM
[QUOTE=Pagan Hibernia;6854999][QUOTE=Mick O'Rourke;6854989][QUOTE=Malthibby;6854976]

Irish flag colours are green, white and orange[/QUOT

I kind of guessed someone would bite on my comment.

Hence the Green Grin :greengrin

So for orange,read yellow!
Or as in many an Irish song/poem... Green White and Gold
Example, The Dying Rebel (chorus)
Mind it use to be sung many years ago.

I never had much truck with those that would dilute or dismiss our clubs history
Not you,mind !

Erin go Bragh:greengrin

10-02-2022, 06:43 PM

Embarrassing.

No, it was to the tune of give it up by KC and the sunshine band and the lyrics included Ricksens in a box, in a box, Ricksens in a box. Horrendous.

There was lots and lots of shouts of Orange C U Next Tuesdays from all areas of our support last night, all went unpunished.

10-02-2022, 06:45 PM

They sing that 4 men had a dream song to the tune of Sloop John B

HibsIntl
10-02-2022, 07:13 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/talkSPORT/status/1491757458355802114

Interesting watch/it’s not just our lot…..seems to be the revival of football disorder

10-02-2022, 07:32 PM
[QUOTE=Malthibby;6854976][QUOTE=Torto7;6854760]

Confusing

Now that was bigotry.

No argument with that, I just associate the whole Irish thing with the Bigot Brothers & believe Scottish football would be much better off with neither. I suspect I'd be much more relaxed about it all if it wasn't for their poisonous influence.

10-02-2022, 07:34 PM

Interesting watch/it’s not just our lot…..seems to be the revival of football disorder

That was an interesting watch.

Maybe the Police should try adopting a different policy.

Instead of trying to keep these (mostly posturing, pavement dancing) morons apart they should funnel them towards each other, surround them and let them blooter lumps out each other - then simply pick up/arrest what's left when they finally run out of steam and/or bottle.

That would at least keep the city centre destruction and involvement of innocents to a minimum.

10-02-2022, 07:36 PM
They sing that 4 men had a dream song to the tune of Sloop John B

Thanks HC
I had to google that title,
Fair do's, pity its the Beach Boys tune they use.

I bought the 4 song record (EP) back when the Beach Boys first released it.
God Only Knows was the title song.
They zombies have ruined it now for me !
And that Tina Turner song .
Of course Sloop John B was the nickname of our own Tornado, John Blackley.

Wouldn't it be nice to have a Sloop type player now at Hibs

God only knows if we'll see their like again:greengrin

10-02-2022, 07:41 PM
No argument with that, I just associate the whole Irish thing with the Bigot Brothers & believe Scottish football would be much better off with neither. I suspect I'd be much more relaxed about it all if it wasn't for their poisonous influence.

10-02-2022, 07:53 PM
That was an interesting watch.

Maybe the Police should try adopting a different policy.

Instead of trying to keep these (mostly posturing, pavement dancing) morons apart they should funnel them towards each other, surround them and let them blooter lumps out each other - then simply pick up/arrest what's left when they finally run out of steam and/or bottle.

That would at least keep the city centre destruction and involvement of innocents to a minimum.

Very "Gangs of New York" that policy.

Although back in the sixties cops would do that if it was mass brawls.
And it was then,particulary in Glasgow. No much pavement dancing going on.
If a cop got hurt,though..all bets were off.
They steamed in wae batons
Good grounding for when they battered trade union strikers in later years.

LunasBoots
10-02-2022, 07:58 PM

Also doesn't help we've had lockdowns and now have teenagers to take up the roles in the casual scenes who want to make a name for themselves, alot of kids with very little future a sort of lost generation.

10-02-2022, 08:16 PM
[QUOTE=Mick O'Rourke;6854989][QUOTE=Malthibby;6854976]

I understand that,Mh
I have Celtic pals who dont go much on the Green Brigade and its mission,but dont see them as religious bigots.
On the other side, its clearly anti catholic bigotry.
That is still a curse on Scottish society today.
Its ignored by the establishment.
If bands were marching in the summer months. in towns and cities throughout the land,playing tunes and singing songs against jews or muslims,there would be uproar.

10-02-2022, 08:30 PM
Erm........in the last 10 minutes my phone has been going mental with messages from hun friends and family all showing the same video clip from last night. It does not look good and involves the P and the N words.
Genuinely shocked and no words to defend it.

Club have issued a statement regarding said video;

Hibs said they were aware of the footage.

A spokesperson for the club said: "We are aware of a video that has circulated on social media and if the footage is confirmed to be from last night’s game at Ibrox, and connected to a Hibernian FC supporter, then we will work closely with Police Scotland to identify the individual and take appropriate action.

Hibernian FC condemns any form of discrimination or unacceptable conduct and will continue to do everything it can to stamp it out of the game."

Police Scotland*says it is aware of the footage and is making enquiries into its origin.

10-02-2022, 08:38 PM

A spokesperson for the club said: "We are aware of a video that has circulated on social media and if the footage is confirmed to be from last night’s game at Ibrox, and connected to a Hibernian FC supporter, then we will work closely with Police Scotland to identify the individual and take appropriate action.

Hibernian FC condemns any form of discrimination or unacceptable conduct and will continue to do everything it can to stamp it out of the game."

Police Scotland*says it is aware of the footage and is making enquiries into its origin.

I've just seen the clip, absolutely indefensible. Hopefully whoever it is can be identified and banned for life.

10-02-2022, 08:56 PM

Police Scotland*says it is aware of the footage and is making enquiries into its origin.You really would hope that they would have shown some consistancy in doing what they are paid to do and enforce the laws related to what has been discussed here and what goes on in the stands at Ibrox.and other grounds when the bigots arrive

Lets be clear here,that institution at Ibrox,whether dead or alive,are the Establishments club .
They,police, can scour the estates/schemes of the East of Scotland for eighteen months at great cost to us taxpayers,lifting fans of a club, whose crime was to run on to football pitch to celebrate a cup win.

rAngers are untouchables.
A bit like whats going on with Trump.
People that could do something about it are either condoning it,or too scared to speak out or take action.
They might lose their positions and salary.

I hate this Country,sometimes.

10-02-2022, 11:48 PM
big brave group of Portsmouth fans attacking a lone Southampton fan VIDEO: Southampton fan headbutted by a Portsmouth rival at Basingstoke railway station - India Times Post (https://www.indiatimespost.com/video-southampton-fan-headbutted-by-a-portsmouth-rival-at-basingstoke-railway-station/) last weekend

#sohard

11-02-2022, 07:49 AM

If someone can be identified from a video taken with a phone then surely in this technological age with facial recognition cameras etc the culprits should be easily identified.

11-02-2022, 08:00 AM

Apparently they no longer sing the famine song and instead sing a song called "4 lads had a dream" to that.

11-02-2022, 08:07 AM
Apparently they no longer sing the famine song and instead sing a song called "4 lads had a dream" to that.

There’s a video on YouTube with Marvin Andrew’s singing the song. Easily found if you want to look for it.

11-02-2022, 08:32 AM
I've just seen the clip, absolutely indefensible. Hopefully whoever it is can be identified and banned for life.

some really vile stuff coming from the mouths of Hibs supporters these days

11-02-2022, 08:52 AM

some really vile stuff coming from the mouths of Hibs supporters these days

I'm sure there's always been vile stuff coming from Hibs supporters mouths, not just these days, infact I'd hazard a guess stuff like this was more prominent in the 80s and 90s than now. The difference being not everyone had a mobile phone and there was no social media.

11-02-2022, 08:58 AM

Indeed
Am sure that in the zombie clubs/bars and the lodge,when that song comes on the jukebox,someone says,
"right lads,nae naughty verses now,we've been telt"

11-02-2022, 09:37 AM
Also doesn't help we've had lockdowns and now have teenagers to take up the roles in the casual scenes who want to make a name for themselves, alot of kids with very little future a sort of lost generation.
Aw, poor wee things have had such a hard time of it. Let's cut them some slack.

11-02-2022, 10:04 AM

Agreed. No excuse for racism in any shape or form. Hopefully the victim of the racist abuse, who appears to be the same Rangers fan who was pictured at Easter Road last week with the Union flag, is also banned for life for the sectarian abuse he was giving out.

11-02-2022, 11:08 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/crime/police-enquiries-made-after-video-surfaces-of-racial-abuse-towards-rangers-fan-3564220?fbclid=IwAR3Hji18EceRiVptOoFiHohb1PQrpnegP D3RpQyvWE3pgzIREzK2x4F7FqE

11-02-2022, 11:26 AM
What a depressing thread. Of course the Huns were deplorable, but it seems there were some lunatics in our section, too. Just think, grown men shouting and singing some of the stuff reported on here. What is wrong with some folk?

11-02-2022, 11:48 AM
What a depressing thread. Of course the Huns were deplorable, but it seems there were some lunatics in our section, too. Just think, grown men shouting and singing some of the stuff reported on here. What is wrong with some folk?

Yep pretty depressing from a Hibs perspective. Fans doing it should be targeted and banned. Need to also be a bit of self policing if possible

LewysGot2
12-02-2022, 09:19 AM
Was in the middle section at the game GW2. There were a group of lads who were probably in late teens/early 20s off to the left (GW3) who spent the entire game just toing and froing nonsense with the home mob in the Sandy Jardine (?) stand. Zero interest in the game. At full time the dafties with the Union Bears in the Broomloan end made an attempt to breach the cordon with the Hibs support in GW1. The Hibs laddies from the Jardine stand nonsense then were suddenly at the other side as quick as their bottle green Stone Island jerseys could take them. You have to think some of these kids feel it’s a rite of passage but the green Stone Island swaggering and posturing/baiting on Wednesday was not the win they think it is.

Crunchie
12-02-2022, 11:00 AM
I'm sure there's always been vile stuff coming from Hibs supporters mouths, not just these days, infact I'd hazard a guess stuff like this was more prominent in the 80s and 90s than now. The difference being not everyone had a mobile phone and there was no social media.
Ain't that the truth, I sang some unsavoury stuff when Rangers, Celtic, and Hearts came to town in the 70's and 80's and even more so at away games, I cringe when I think at some of the songs we sung back then.

They'll grow up, and the next group of uneducated children will come along and take their place.

12-02-2022, 11:30 AM
Find them. Ban them. Never let them back in our ground.

Crunchie
12-02-2022, 11:45 AM
Find them. Ban them. Never let them back in our ground.
Educate them and make them see the error in their ways, if that doesn't work then ban them.

12-02-2022, 11:46 AM
Educate them and make them see the error in their ways, if that doesn't work then ban them.

If you’re in your late teens/early twenties and you don’t know why using the word paki is wrong you’re beyond education.

Fuzzywuzzy
12-02-2022, 12:48 PM

And after watching ufc for a bit they all turn in to Connor mcgregor.

LewysGot2
12-02-2022, 02:10 PM

a lot of those there on Wednesday were anything but though…a fair few whose families probably have no idea what they’re getting up to in these situations and where they very much have futures. Until they get a knock on the door. All sorts get involved in this stuff - folk with decent jobs, at university etc. Should know better but are seeking some sort of thrill, sense of belonging or validation. And there’s definitely a prevalence of recreational substance taking too.

Plus ca change…