View Full Version : Stubbs Director of football?
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 09:11 PM
The inexperienced duo of Maloney and Caldwell is already looking like an appointment of real concern.
I wonder if bringing in someone with the confidence and stature of Allan Stubbs could help guide the rookie duo through what is an absolute asteroid belt of a season,taking too many bumps and in need of some fresh impetus from somewhere.
Whilst it might end up another manager/coach sacking,how can we fix the undoubtedly worsening situation at the club?
CL0762
09-02-2022, 09:15 PM
How would Stubbs, in a role he’s never performed in before, help the ‘inexperienced’ duo of Maloney & Caldwell?
09-02-2022, 09:16 PM
Griffiths DoF maybe? Or get him to return in a coaching role?
Willis1875
Can Stubbs score goals
Stubbs with his 3 years of management experience, most of which was in the 2nd tier?
09-02-2022, 09:18 PM
Gary Caldwell - 142 games as a manager.
Alan Stubbs - 123 games as a manager.
I will always love Stubbs for winning the Scottish Cup but in the league he came 3rd in a 2 horse race.
AL-Qaholik
09-02-2022, 09:19 PM
...Strachan, anyone? :tin hat:
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 09:20 PM
How would Stubbs, in a role he’s never performed in before, help the ‘inexperienced’ duo of Maloney & Caldwell?
Well just sack them then don’t try anything to fix it😂.was trying to be pragmatic in my approach to it not working but hey ho.
09-02-2022, 09:21 PM
Well just sack them then don’t try anything to fix it😂.was trying to be pragmatic in my approach to it not working but hey ho.
Here’s a novel idea, allow them time to fix it themselves.
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 09:22 PM
Can Stubbs score goals
Not now,but he knew how to send out a team.
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 09:23 PM
Here’s a novel idea, allow them time to fix it themselves.
That won’t work don’t kid yourself my man.
Not now,but he knew how to send out a team.
He knew how to keep us in the Championship 😉
Stubbs stature?
My word
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
09-02-2022, 09:25 PM
Much as I like Stubbs, strip out that day in 2016 and he’s got an awful managerial record.
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 09:25 PM
Gary Caldwell - 142 games as a manager.
Alan Stubbs - 123 games as a manager.
I will always love Stubbs for winning the Scottish Cup but in the league he came 3rd in a 2 horse race.
Two cup finals that season.won one.second tier team?took a second tier team to Europe.Caldwell? Anything achieved in management?
Willis1875
09-02-2022, 09:26 PM
This has went from Stubbs as DOF to Stubbs as manager 🤷🏼*♂️
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 09:27 PM
Stubbs stature?
My word
So a Scottish cup winning manager has no stature within Hibernian?
Deary me lad.
09-02-2022, 09:27 PM
Two cup finals that season.won one.second tier team?took a second tier team to Europe.Caldwell? Anything achieved in management?Won league one with Wigan
09-02-2022, 09:28 PM
Two cup finals that season.won one.second tier team?took a second tier team to Europe.[b]Caldwell? Anything achieved in management[b]?
Got his team promoted at the first attempt.
09-02-2022, 09:29 PM
Two cup finals that season.won one.second tier team?took a second tier team to Europe.Caldwell? Anything achieved in management?
Caldwell won a league title as a manager🙈😂
09-02-2022, 09:30 PM
So a Scottish cup winning manager has no stature within Hibernian?
Deary me lad.Ofcourse he's liked here but bringing him in a role he's never done before because he one 1 cup win with us is non sensical
He was pap at Rotherham and pap ar St mirren
No idea why you think he could 'guide' our current management team
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 09:31 PM
Got his team promoted at the first attempt.
Part time league with partick thistle.💪🏻Incredible stuff!
Willis1875
09-02-2022, 09:32 PM
Part time league with partick thistle.💪🏻Incredible stuff!
He won the league with Wigan
09-02-2022, 09:33 PM
I love Stubbs…but two things
a). Why the constant desire to get former players / people back to our club. It’s over, let them be
b) That’s not the structure of our club anymore.
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 09:35 PM
Ofcourse he's liked here but bringing him in a role he's never done before because he one 1 cup win with us is non sensical
He was pap at Rotherham and pap ar St mirren
No idea why you think he could 'guide' our current management team
Because the football maloney describes he wants to play we actually did play under Stubbs.fast sweeping football.we played in probably the most competitive the championship will ever be,and budgets based on that reflected the stuffy teams we had to play down there forget how hard the league is and your on a slippery slope back towards it.
Something needs changing fast at hibs.
Willis1875
09-02-2022, 09:38 PM
Because the football maloney describes he wants to play we actually did play under Stubbs.fast sweeping football.we played in probably the most competitive the championship will ever be,and budgets based on that reflected the stuffy teams we had to play down there forget how hard the league is and your on a slippery slope back towards it.
How exactly is Stubbs in a DOF role going to implement that change on the park?Do we want a Craig Levain at hearts scenario on our hands.
A DOF has nothing to do with how the team plays or trains
09-02-2022, 09:38 PM
Part time league with partick thistle.[emoji1320]Incredible stuff!Incredible stuff! [emoji23]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220209/5700e4779e97a7960dcff0c8703d03d7.jpg
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 09:39 PM
We signed better players under him,he could oversee that for a start.
09-02-2022, 09:39 PM
Something needs changing fast at hibs.Did we?
I remember this board being full of tippy tappy side to side complaints
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 09:40 PM
Did we?
I remember this board being full of tippy tappy side to side complaints
Complaints on .net really?
09-02-2022, 09:40 PM
Bring Sir Alan in as manager on a temporary basis and ask Shaun to learn his first management role in the development team?:agree:
Bring back wee Kitty while we are at it please and just have her being interviewed on the big screens talking about whatever the fk she wants.
09-02-2022, 09:43 PM
The inexperienced duo of Maloney and Caldwell is already looking like an appointment of real concern.
I wonder if bringing in someone with the confidence and stature of Allan Stubbs could help guide the rookie duo through what is an absolute asteroid belt of a season,taking too many bumps and in need of some fresh impetus from somewhere.
Whilst it might end up another manager/coach sacking,how can we fix the undoubtedly worsening situation at the club?
I can only assume that:
A - you are Alan Stubbs
B - off your nut
C - a puddle drinker
D - Alan Stubbs's other half
Clearly a bonkers, and unnecessary suggestion
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 09:45 PM
Incredible stuff! [emoji23]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220209/5700e4779e97a7960dcff0c8703d03d7.jpg
He’s a no.2 now though so not very incredible.tbf I don’t follow Wigan but surely they should’ve been promoted easily from that league anyway.been a biggish club won FA cup a few years back.
Still a strange coaching career for him regardless of my knowledge of it.was a manager now a no.2.
09-02-2022, 09:46 PM
He’s a no.2 now though so not very incredible.tbf I don’t follow Wigan but surely they should’ve been promoted easily from that league anyway.been a biggish club won FA cup a few years back.
Still a strange coaching career for him regardless of my knowledge of it.was a manager now a no.2.
Like Hibs when we finished 3rd in the championship behind Falkirk?
Willis1875
09-02-2022, 09:47 PM
As strange as appointing an unemployed manager with little management experience into a Director of Football role for which he has zero experience?
CL0762
09-02-2022, 09:47 PM
Fast sweeping football against the likes of Alloa (who beat us), QoTS (who beat us), Dumbarton (who beat us). Do people like you not remember we got papped out the playoffs by Falkirk AFTER finishing third 😂 we finished third in a 2 horse race.
Stubbs Is and forever will be a hero for delivering the Scottish cup, but that doesn’t give him a free pass when you look at the rest of his managerial career including after Hibs where he has been nothing short of rank rotten.
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 09:51 PM
As strange as appointing an unemployed manager with little management experience into a Director of Football role for which he has zero experience?
One way of looking at it,
However my point of view was coming from a highly regarded Scottish cup winning legend who coached some of the players in this team to come in and help an inexperienced duo ride out the storm in this bad phase.
So wasn’t thinking strange in the least.
Willis1875
09-02-2022, 09:53 PM
One way of looking at it,
However my point of view was coming from a highly regarded Scottish cup winning legend who coached some of the players in this team to come in and help an inexperienced duo ride out the storm in this bad phase.
So wasn’t thinking strange in the least.
Gary Caldwell is more experienced in the management game than Alan Stubbs,he’s there to help the inexperienced Shaun Maloney.
Will it be a success remains to be seen
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 09:54 PM
Fast sweeping football against the likes of Alloa (who beat us), QoTS (who beat us), Dumbarton (who beat us). Do people like you not remember we got papped out the playoffs by Falkirk AFTER finishing third 😂 we finished third in a 2 horse race.
Stubbs Is and forever will be a hero for delivering the Scottish cup, but that doesn’t give him a free pass when you look at the rest of his managerial career including after Hibs where he has been nothing short of rank rotten.
I’m pretty sure we beat the current buns 4-0 3-2 twice,I also remember beating nearly every premiership team we played in cups as well.same team gave brondby IF a real fright in Europe as well under a different manager but his team none the less.
Willis1875
09-02-2022, 09:55 PM
Stubbs has won 3 league games of football since June 2016
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 09:55 PM
Gary Caldwell is more experienced in the management game than Alan Stubbs,he’s there to help the inexperienced Shaun Maloney.
Will it be a success remains to be seen
He’s no experienced enough let’s at least agree on that?
09-02-2022, 09:59 PM
He’s no experienced enough let’s at least agree on that?So bring in someone less experienced to help?
Hows that work?
Willis1875
09-02-2022, 10:01 PM
He’s no experienced enough let’s at least agree on that?
If he’s good enough does it really matter?
We have tried the experienced old head with a good stature in the game with a rookie manager when we had Collins and Tommy Craig.
It wasn’t a rousing success
09-02-2022, 10:04 PM
Fast sweeping football, the likes of beating rangers 4-0 at home, away when Lewis scored to make it 2-0, Aberdeen in the cup with Malonga that run, Dundee Utd twice, St Johnstone at the pink **** tip and others I've missed, yes.
It's mental how some of our fans always try to belittle what Stubbsy done at Hibs, obviously not just him because it was a lot of work by a lot of people.
Going to Easter Road became enjoyable again, the players played with confidence attitude and as a team eventually.
Nobody expected us to go up the 1st season given the turmoil we where in.
Second season everyone expected the huns to piss the league. We lost in the playoffs scandalously then went and won the Scottish Cup.
Alan Stubbs entered Hibernian at one of it's lowest. He left 2 years later at it's greatest. :aok:
09-02-2022, 10:05 PM
If Shaun Maloney feels he needs advice from somebody more experienced he will have a raft of people he can speak to without us having to give someone else full time employment.
Always be thankful to Stubbsy for the cup but his managerial career otherwise is … patchy at best.
09-02-2022, 10:16 PM
If Shaun Maloney feels he needs advice from somebody more experienced he will have a raft of people he can speak to without us having to give someone else full time employment.
Always be thankful to Stubbsy for the cup but his managerial career otherwise is … patchy at best.
The reality he will ask Steve *** Kean.
09-02-2022, 10:19 PM
Fast sweeping football, the likes of beating rangers 4-0 at home, away when Lewis scored to make it 2-0, Aberdeen in the cup with Malonga that run, Dundee Utd twice, St Johnstone at the pink **** tip and others I've missed, yes.
It's mental how some of our fans always try to belittle what Stubbsy done at Hibs, obviously not just him because it was a lot of work by a lot of people.
Going to Easter Road became enjoyable again, the players played with confidence attitude and as a team eventually.
Second season everyone expected the huns to piss the league. We lost in the playoffs scandalously then went and won the Scottish Cup.
Alan Stubbs entered Hibernian at one of it's lowest. He left 2 years later at it's greatest. :aok:Wasn't it a Stubbs team that got the phrase Hibsed it attached to them? We lived up to that beautifully against Falkirk but threw it back in folks faces a week later!
I like Stubbs - who wouldnt
I do remember some saying he should go before the final though
09-02-2022, 10:23 PM
Wasn't it a Stubbs team that got the phrase Hibsed it attached to them? We lived up to that beautifully against Falkirk but threw it back in folks faces a week later!
I think the term started when we turned up wide at PBS and had a relegation party.
Then there was 2 up in the playoff against Hamilton.
So, probably no.
I can remember Alan Stubbs Hibsing it 21/05/16 though.
09-02-2022, 10:24 PM
Absolutely PMSL at some of the threads on here 😂.
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 10:25 PM
Absolutely PMSL at some of the threads on here 😂.
Why would that be? 🤔
09-02-2022, 10:25 PM
Johnny Collins would Ken what to dae
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 10:27 PM
Johnny Collins would Ken what to dae
Start a thread about it this is mine!😂
mixumatosis
09-02-2022, 10:44 PM
Why would that be? 🤔
Because see when you're trolling? And it's absolutely obvious that you're trolling ? And all the replies in the thread that your trolling on are laughing at your trolling attempt ?
See when that happens ? You're not even trolling, you're just making a fool of yourself.
09-02-2022, 10:53 PM
Griffiths DoF maybe? Or get him to return in a coaching role?
Aye and bring back Riordan and Garry O while we are at it!
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 10:55 PM
Because see when you're trolling? And it's absolutely obvious that you're trolling ? And all the replies in the thread that your trolling on are laughing at your trolling attempt ?
See when that happens ? You're not even trolling, you're just making a fool of yourself.
Get a grip! Trolling in what way?please explain that?you add nothing to the thread which was a genuine attempt to see what could possibly be done to change our fortunes.because you don’t agree it’s trolling?or should I not back up my Stubbs director of football theory and let a few folk and there wide comments just slip by without reply? If you don’t agree fair enough but trolling? Aye ok then!
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 10:57 PM
Bet you think your user name is quite funny as well eh?
Probably sums up your contribution to hibs debate.
RIP Bestie
09-02-2022, 11:16 PM
Ah well that's not Maloneys job though is it?
CL0762
09-02-2022, 11:20 PM
Alan Stubbs entered Hibernian at one of it's lowest. He left 2 years later at it's greatest. :aok:
For a Rangers 4-0, there’s a Rangers 6-2 at home. Run of games where (in 7) we lost consecutively against Greenock Morton, Dumbarton, QoTS, Raith Rovers we then drew with St Mirren, defeated Livingston then lost to Alloa. So 4 points from a possible 21 going into the business end of the season where we finished 11 points behind Rangers. Even if we’d won half those games we would’ve went up as champions, thus we actually ended up 3rd behind Falkirk.
I’m not for one second saying that Stubbs didn’t leave us in a better place than he found us, far from it. However, the cup win clouds a lot of peoples judgement regarding his overall performance on the park which league wise, was far from good enough IMO. Second season especially.
tonyrougier123
09-02-2022, 11:54 PM
For a Rangers 4-0, there’s a Rangers 6-2 at home. Run of games where (in 7) we lost consecutively against Greenock Morton, Dumbarton, QoTS, Raith Rovers we then drew with St Mirren, defeated Livingston then lost to Alloa. So 4 points from a possible 21 going into the business end of the season where we finished 11 points behind Rangers. Even if we’d won half those games we would’ve went up as champions, thus we actually ended up 3rd behind Falkirk.
I’m not for one second saying that Stubbs didn’t leave us in a better place than he found us, far from it. However, the cup win clouds a lot of peoples judgement regarding his overall performance on the park which league wise, was far from good enough IMO. Second season especially.
That 6-2 game,we had no defenders and got an injury not long into the game that further limited us at the back.but I remember thinking at least we had a go.also I remember the Scott Allan debacle being very concerning at the time as he was supposedly joining rangers.so we were a bit anxious as a support at during this game.it was ramsdens cup.Scott Allan was on the bench due to speculation.
We ended the season after signing John mcginn beating rangers in the league 3-2 and then brought home the Scottish cup winning 3-2 giving us the last word.
Stubbs is a confident guy who could deflect criticism by answering his critics,with wins and goals.
Could you imagine trying to lift the team from not getting in to play off, and losing league cup to Ross county and then navigate what he done for us on that day?
The fixtures that season were brutal for hibs fast coming and players dropping out through injury at times.and yes we had a few games we should’ve done better,but overall that was a tremendous season with us fighting on all fronts after starting the season with 6-2 defeat to sevco in the almighty ramsdens cup in a transitional period with no defence.
But we had the last say that season.
10-02-2022, 05:05 AM
Wasn't it a Stubbs team that got the phrase Hibsed it attached to them? We lived up to that beautifully against Falkirk but threw it back in folks faces a week later!
Absolutely not. I'd say mentality wise, stubbs Hibs team were as strong as we've ever had. Team full of fighters.
10-02-2022, 05:15 AM
Was that 6-2 game not a glorified pre season friendly challenge cup game? Sure we ended that season pretty well 😉 I agree though. There were some poor results and 3rd behind Falkirk wasn't good enough. On the flip side we made two finals and should have had a cup double. I felt like Stubbs gave me my club back after years of pish, was enjoyable going to watch them. Really wish I felt like that now.
10-02-2022, 05:21 AM
Was that 6-2 game not a glorified pre season friendly challenge cup game? Sure we ended that season pretty well 😉 I agree though. There were some poor results and 3rd behind Falkirk wasn't good enough. On the flip side we made two finals and should have had a cup double. I felt like Stubbs gave me my club back after years of pish, was enjoyable going to watch them. Really wish I felt like that now.
We had 7 first team players out, and were winning that rangers game until 2 more had to go off. Actually even mentioning it against stubbs is ridiculous.
Stubbs and his team rebuilt Hibs, made us worth watching. A brilliant manager for us.
Is there anything wrong anyway? They’re just in the door.We had positive early results and they are still fighting every game especially the derby.
10-02-2022, 05:27 AM
We had 7 first team players out, and were winning that rangers game until 2 more had to go off. Actually even mentioning it against stubbs is ridiculous.
Stubbs and his team rebuilt Hibs, made us worth watching. A brilliant manager for us.
Agree. McGinn, Dylan, Malonga, Allan etc. Really enjoyable times despite where we were. The Aberdeen game at ER when we knocked them out the cup I remember thinking to myself "I've got Hibs back".
10-02-2022, 05:52 AM
Aye, let’s just hire another person in to a role they’ve never done before! That’ll work.
10-02-2022, 06:49 AM
I don’t think signing players is the issue. We signed some talent last month.
I’ve got issues with the balance of the squad right now but I think we just have to see where this new direction will take us.
Hibs are showing a bit of ambition and I will take that.
10-02-2022, 06:52 AM
Hibs were worth watching last night. No disgrace.
There's not much difference between third and last in this league.
11-02-2022, 01:14 AM
Aye and bring back Riordan and Garry O while we are at it!
Firm agree on this :agree:
11-02-2022, 02:03 AM
Hibs were worth watching last night. No disgrace.
There's not much difference between third and last in this league.
Depends whether you believe Rangers had to get out of first gear or not. Certainly the result was never in doubt which is disappointing. We might not beat them but I'd gotten used to us giving them a bit of a scare...
Still, tricky cup tie coming up. I'm looking forward to seeing how we deal with that. A positive result could be the springboard we need.