View Full Version : Winter Olympics
Nobody watching it?
Quite enjoying the Big Air. Young Scottish lass, Kirsty Muir, has qualified for tonight's final (or rather Tuesday morning's, at 2am).
https://www.bbc.com/sport/winter-olympics/60284421
10-02-2022, 03:05 AM
eve muirhead has been terrible in this loss to switzerland, i think she's played four or five decent stones throughout, even having the hammer and everything set up for her last stone in the extra end and she still totally mucked up running straight through
MUCH better this time against the olympic champions sweden 8-2 with three ends to spare
10-02-2022, 07:22 PM
eve muirhead has been terrible in this loss to switzerland, i think she's played four or five decent stones throughout, even having the hammer and everything set up for her last stone in the extra end and she still totally mucked up running straight through
MUCH better this time against the olympic champions sweden 8-2 with three ends to spare
Having to suffer Steve Cram and his patronising tone puts me off a wee bit. He honestly thinks he is more knowledgeable about curling than the expert co-commentators. Good wins for the women and men today though.
10-02-2022, 09:10 PM
The image of the artificial giant ski slope in front of the coal power plant is scarred into my brain...
Mr Grieves
12-02-2022, 10:08 AM
Some story in the snowboard cross for Lindsey Jacobellis. Pretty much dominated the sport for years but the Olympic gold medal has always been elusive (partly self inflicted!). Then she wins two golds in the space of days at the age of 36.
13-02-2022, 10:00 AM
Enoying a lazy morning watching Sweden v Finland in the Ice Hockey. Sweden 3 up after two periods, Finland fought back to 3-3, I pretty big deal in Finland I would imagine.
13-02-2022, 10:10 AM
Finland win 4-3 in OT, cracking game and fab comeback. Finlandia for breakfast in Helsinki :greengrin
davy67 +
13-02-2022, 06:54 PM
The Short Track Speed Skating relay is absolute chaos but fabulous to watch
13-02-2022, 11:20 PM
Having to suffer Steve Cram and his patronising tone puts me off a wee bit. He honestly thinks he is more knowledgeable about curling than the expert co-commentators. Good wins for the women and men today though.
i've listened to his co-commenting for a many years now for the curling and i actually think he's quite knowledgeable of the sport, but believe it or not it was only on friday that i've actually watched the lead-up to a curling game starting and i heard his name mentioned as co-commentator and only then did i click that he was THEE steve cram of running fame :greengrin so just googled the now to confirm it was indeed him and one of the first articles is viewers complaining about the commentary done by him and paula radcliffe doing the 2018 Olympics, further research took me to a BBC forum and the first comment is....
Why on earth is Steve Cram commentating on the curling - he doesn’t have a clue about the tactics, how to build an end, etc.
The number of times poor Rhona has to correct him, or point out what is going on is embarrassing.
Jobs for the boys.
was that you:greengrin
14-02-2022, 05:12 AM
Hahaha...wisnae me but glad to hear I am not alone!
14-02-2022, 11:28 PM
15 year old Russian figure skater fails a drug test. ****in disgusting what they’re doing to win medals, I wonder if the parents are aware of what’s going on.
G15 Hibs
15-02-2022, 09:15 AM
15 year old Russian figure skater fails a drug test. ****in disgusting what they’re doing to win medals, I wonder if the parents are aware of what’s going on.
Fails a drugs test, is allowed to continue competing, if wins will get a medal, but there won't be a medal ceremony. Whit? Doesn't seem very Olympian.
LunasBoots
15-02-2022, 10:26 AM
Fails a drugs test, is allowed to continue competing, if wins will get a medal, but there won't be a medal ceremony. Whit? Doesn't seem very Olympian.
All seems because of her age, if she was older she'd be disqualified and banned
G15 Hibs
15-02-2022, 12:12 PM
All seems because of her age, if she was older she'd be disqualified and banned
It's odd eh? Understandable from the point of view of not wanting to ruin her career while she's still a child, it's also very unfair on both her competitors and teammates.
Stairway 2 7
15-02-2022, 01:19 PM
Should under 16s compete then, if they can whilst on drugs
15-02-2022, 02:28 PM
The fact that Russia got to rebrand as the ROC and still compete in any sporting event is a farce in itself
15-02-2022, 07:19 PM
Yet sprinter Sha Carri Richardson has one joint, in her spare time, in a US state where it is legal, no performance enhancing benefit, gets banned from the last olympics.
16-02-2022, 04:54 AM
turns out she had traces of three different heart drugs in her system, just one is banned though, i did feel sorry for such a young girl but now she's claiming the drugs were contaminated with her grandfathers medicine, a young girl thought up that one, aye right, 15 year old and taking a mixture of drugs that are a combination that can increase endurance, reduce fatigue and efficiency in using oxygen, ******* shame on any/all of the adults involved in this, whether with the consent of the 15 year old or not, i feel sad for her opponents, she's going to win and it's 100% tainted.
16-02-2022, 07:43 AM
Am I the only person who loves watching the curling to the point of feeling almost addicted? I never think about it for 4 years but at every Olympics I can't get enough of it.
I'm the same when the BBC shows the World Bowls Championship. Wouldn't watch either curling or bowls any other time, have never played them but for those short periods I love them. The whole tactical nature of it, building an end, playing percentages and then sublime skill is just brilliant.
G15 Hibs
16-02-2022, 08:16 AM
Am I the only person who loves watching the curling to the point of feeling almost addicted? I never think about it for 4 years but at every Olympics I can't get enough of it.
I'm the same when the BBC shows the World Bowls Championship. Wouldn't watch either curling or bowls any other time, have never played them but for those short periods I love them. The whole tactical nature of it, building an end, playing percentages and then sublime skill is just brilliant.
My old dear's like this. Every time I phone her over this fortnight she's telling me about how the curlers are doing. She won't watch it again until 2026, God sparing. Sadly, I don't have the concentration span for it anymore. Stayed up to the early hours in 2002 though, to see Rhona etc winning the gold.
16-02-2022, 01:22 PM
Same here, love the curling, the bowls too but I play bowls so that is no surprise. The curling is a fantastic game to watch and the skill and tactics are too class. Would love to try it but don’t know if I can get down that low 😁
16-02-2022, 01:40 PM
I love it as well. I probably would watch it outside of the Olympics but as far as I know this is the only time it's on UK tv.
davy67 +
17-02-2022, 06:10 AM
[QUOTE=nonshinyfinish;6860842]I love it as well. I probably would watch it outside of the Olympics but as far as I know this is the only time it's on UK tv.[/Q
Eurosport usually have coverage of world and European championships
G15 Hibs
17-02-2022, 08:03 AM
I just caught the end to the women's round robins in the curling - dramatic stuff! Again, I'd probably struggle to remain engaged for a full game but the way GB v ROC then Sweden v Korea ended was pretty tense. Amazing how something which normally means nothing to you can draw you in like that.
17-02-2022, 11:33 AM
what a disaster that 2nd end was, holding the hammer and USA steal two
0-2 after two ends
that's more like it, 3 picked up 3-2
17-02-2022, 12:27 PM
Nip and tuck here. This is going to go to the wire.
Shuster looks like he could start a career singing songs about his baby leaving him if curling doesn't work out.
17-02-2022, 12:41 PM
Eurosport usually have coverage of world and European championships
Thanks, will look out for it in future.
G15 Hibs
17-02-2022, 12:49 PM
Nip and tuck here. This is going to go to the wire.
Shuster looks like he could start a career singing songs about his baby leaving him if curling doesn't work out.
They've got the look of a proper bunch of good ol' boys eh?
Nothing in this game
17-02-2022, 12:55 PM
I wish Steve Cram would shut his pus a bit more. You've got a co-commentating expert for a reason, Steve. :rolleyes:
17-02-2022, 01:10 PM
There should be a rule for how many times you can blank an end, it’s all very negative.
17-02-2022, 01:15 PM
There should be a rule for how many times you can blank an end, it’s all very negative.
funnily enough i also thought that at the end of yet another blank, boring boring yanks
17-02-2022, 01:16 PM
funnily enough i also thought that at the end of yet another blank, boring boring yanks
The hearts of the curling world :greengrin
17-02-2022, 01:18 PM
The hearts of the curling world :greengrin
lol
don't think a blank is coming this end
lost count was that four or five blanked ends
17-02-2022, 01:20 PM
lol
don't think a blank is coming this end
No I don’t think so, but Shuster has played some amazing shots in this game.
17-02-2022, 01:25 PM
That was a bold call from Shuster there.
17-02-2022, 01:28 PM
That was a bold call from Shuster there.
Strange one, even if they manage two they wouldn't have the hammer in the extra end.
He looked absolutely fuming before his last stone.
17-02-2022, 01:28 PM
Tense as **** :worried:
17-02-2022, 01:29 PM
i predict this will be the last end :)
17-02-2022, 01:31 PM
Strange one, even if they manage two they wouldn't have the hammer in the extra end.
He looked absolutely fuming before his last stone.
Not exactly rallying his troops, was he?
17-02-2022, 01:31 PM
Shuster likes everyone to hear what they're thinking
i think it's a yank thing :)
17-02-2022, 01:33 PM
Not exactly rallying his troops, was he?
I didn't catch what he said, but the commentator seemed convinced he was slating the bad shots from the second and third that had left him in that position. Maybe they respond well to the Lenny treatment, but it seems pretty incongruent with the way the players usually relate to each other.
17-02-2022, 01:47 PM
Played superbly after a shaky start, brilliant performance.
17-02-2022, 01:49 PM
Never in doubt! Sheesh.
18-02-2022, 12:20 PM
The women are drawing 5-5 after 5 ends, they got a steal in the 5th to draw level.
18-02-2022, 01:20 PM
Enjoyable game this. Some great shots from both teams. Nip and tuck.
18-02-2022, 01:37 PM
4 for GB in the 9th, they lead by 3 in the last end.
18-02-2022, 01:38 PM
Brilliant stuff from the GB women there. Theirs to lose now.
18-02-2022, 01:39 PM
Brilliant stuff from the GB women there. Theirs to lose now.
Surely they just remove every Swedish stone now?
18-02-2022, 01:39 PM
Fantastic in the 9th!
18-02-2022, 01:49 PM
I’m totally confused by this. If Britain just took out every stone Sweden put down the most they could have got is 1, I’m guessing that’s not allowed in the final end.
18-02-2022, 01:50 PM
They have certainly got themselves in a bit of a pickle here.
18-02-2022, 01:51 PM
i'm absolutely staggered why they were allowed a chance even to get three, i just don't get that
18-02-2022, 01:52 PM
Extra end it is then. GB with the hammer.
18-02-2022, 01:52 PM
Aw man! Trying to defend against a 3 when they should just have defended full stop?
18-02-2022, 01:58 PM
Why didn’t they do this in the last end.
18-02-2022, 02:06 PM
Get in there.
18-02-2022, 02:13 PM
I’m totally confused by this. If Britain just took out every stone Sweden put down the most they could have got is 1, I’m guessing that’s not allowed in the final end.
It's a bit more complicated than that, for the first five stones you can't knock them out if they're above the rings – that's why they play all those shots early on where they gently move the guards without knocking them right out. You can always aim to keep the ice clear and everything open, but it won't always be possible.
18-02-2022, 02:14 PM
They must fancy their chances of a gold as well having beaten the Japanese team earlier in the round Robin.
18-02-2022, 02:16 PM
They must fancy their chances of a gold as well having beaten the Japanese team earlier in the round Robin.
More so than in the men's competition, it seems like most of the women's teams are capable of beating any of the others if they play well. Great chance though.
Final late on Sunday night (i.e. 1.05am Monday morning). It'll be like Super Bowl Sunday all over again. 😀
18-02-2022, 02:18 PM
It's a bit more complicated than that, for the first five stones you can't knock them out if they're above the rings – that's why they play all those shots early on where they gently move the guards without knocking them right out. You can always aim to keep the ice clear and everything open, but it won't always be possible.
Thanks for the explanation, I was tearing my hair out. :greengrin
18-02-2022, 02:18 PM
Final late on Sunday night (i.e. 1.05am Monday morning). It'll be like Super Bowl Sunday all over again. 😀
No, it's 0105 on Sunday, not Monday morning.
18-02-2022, 02:19 PM
Who's the half-time entertainment? Jimmy Shand?
18-02-2022, 02:20 PM
Thanks for the explanation, I was tearing my hair out. :greengrin
Yeah it was arguably the lead player who won it in the extra end – she nailed those tick shots so it was easy(ish) for the others to keep taking stones out and keep the centre open.
No, it's 0105 on Sunday, not Monday morning.
You're right, thanks. Good job you corrected me otherwise I might have missed it. 😯 So it's up early tomorrow morning for the men's final at 6.50am and then stay up late to watch the women's. No chance am I not going to fall asleep in the middle of at least one of them. 😴
Instead Snoop Dogg, Dr Dre, 50 Cent and Eminem. We'd have Yappy Dug, Dr Budge (also not a real doctor), 10 Bob and Highland Toffee.
18-02-2022, 02:51 PM
:faf: :top marks
18-02-2022, 03:30 PM
You're right, thanks. Good job you corrected me otherwise I might have missed it. 😯 So it's up early tomorrow morning for the men's final at 6.50am and then stay up late to watch the women's. No chance am I not going to fall asleep in the middle of at least one of them. 😴
I stayed up till 5am once to watch a Mike Tyson fight. Fell asleep just before his ring walk and woke up just after it had finished. The days before sky plus.
Did pretty much the exact same thing except for the waking up right after it finished. IIRC it was the 1st ever pay per view event in the UK.
18-02-2022, 10:00 PM
i feel for his team mates who will now have to hand back those medals.. CJ Ujah: Great Britain lose Tokyo Olympics relay medal after doping violation - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/athletics/60437373)
Great Britain have been stripped of the silver medal won in the 4x100m relay at last summer's Tokyo Olympics after team member CJ Ujah was found to have committed a doping violation.
The British team finished second to Italy by one-hundredth of a second.
Ujah tested positive for ostarine and S-23 after the event on 6 August.
The 27-year-old says he "unknowingly consumed a contaminated substance" and the situation is one he "will regret for the rest of my life".
London-born Ujah added: "I would like to apologise to my team-mates, their families and support teams for the impact which this has had on them. I'm sorry that this situation has cost my team-mates the medals they worked so hard and so long for, and which they richly deserved.
19-02-2022, 01:02 AM
Watching these skiing competitions where they do various tricks is entertaining for a while, but it’s impossible to understand what’s actually going on, it as like watching the skateboarding in the olympics. The comentaitors make a lot of noise but it’s not obvious whether it’s for good reasons or bad. As impressive as it is, it doesn’t make for great viewing in a competitive sense.
McHibby
19-02-2022, 02:00 AM
Watching these skiing competitions where they do various tricks is entertaining for a while, but it’s impossible to understand what’s actually going on, it as like watching the skateboarding in the olympics. The comentaitors make a lot of noise but it’s not obvious whether it’s for good reasons or bad. As impressive as it is, it doesn’t make for great viewing in a competitive sense.
I agree. I was watching the half-pipe and the commentators were flying out a random, "that's a seven/six" but with no explanation as to what that meant (if it was good or bad) or what was actually being scored.
Sergio sledge
19-02-2022, 07:07 AM
i feel for his team mates who will now have to hand back those medals.. CJ Ujah: Great Britain lose Tokyo Olympics relay medal after doping violation - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/athletics/60437373)
Great Britain have been stripped of the silver medal won in the 4x100m relay at last summer's Tokyo Olympics after team member CJ Ujah was found to have committed a doping violation.
The British team finished second to Italy by one-hundredth of a second.
Ujah tested positive for ostarine and S-23 after the event on 6 August.
The 27-year-old says he "unknowingly consumed a contaminated substance" and the situation is one he "will regret for the rest of my life".
London-born Ujah added: "I would like to apologise to my team-mates, their families and support teams for the impact which this has had on them. I'm sorry that this situation has cost my team-mates the medals they worked so hard and so long for, and which they richly deserved.
The old "unknowingly consumed a contaminated supplement" excuse. I don't believe it for a second.
If you read what one of his team mates said it's clear he's spun a story to them but they're not sure they believe him.
19-02-2022, 07:10 AM
Sweden having a phenomenal first half of the curling final, leading GB 3-2 with a 95% success rate.
19-02-2022, 07:26 AM
If this was football Sweden would be accused of parking the bus. Quite happy to blank ends and keep the hammer.
It's working well for them.
19-02-2022, 08:15 AM
Final end maybe, GB 4-3 down but have the hammer, can see it going to an 11th end.
19-02-2022, 08:32 AM
Extra end as predicated. Advantage Sweden with the hammer.
19-02-2022, 08:51 AM
All over, silver for GB
19-02-2022, 08:55 AM
Enjoyed that. Really tense up until the final stone.
Swedes probably deserved it but nothing really between the teams.
19-02-2022, 09:18 AM
Was a good watch interesting to see how tactical the game is. Thought the final uk shot was very high risk thought he could have tried a draw to go shot knocking the red stone out.
19-02-2022, 09:52 AM
I was lucky enough to watch it all week. They played great & were just against an inspired skip today. Happy that I wont have to listen to Steve Cram any more, if theres a less knowledgeable commentator out there Im yet to hear them.
19-02-2022, 10:31 AM
The 4 man bobsleigh is a sight to behold, 80 odd miles an hour they’re going down that course.
19-02-2022, 01:44 PM
I was lucky enough to watch it all week. They played great & were just against an inspired skip today. Happy that I wont have to listen to Steve Cram any more, if theres a less knowledgeable commentator out there Im yet to hear them.I think his knowledge of curling is decent (considering how far removed it is from his expertise), the big problem is the way he talks over the experts.
19-02-2022, 01:47 PM
Was a good watch interesting to see how tactical the game is. Thought the final uk shot was very high risk thought he could have tried a draw to go shot knocking the red stone out.I think the previous red stone sitting just above prevented getting in with enough weight to tap the red out. And if that shot was on, then the yellow would probably end slightly further to the right than the red it replaced, so the Swede would have an easier version of the same shot.
6 points better off than we were after the 1st end in the semi.
Well done to Team Muirhead, great performance.
08-03-2022, 10:44 PM
GB side sitting 7th at the moment with W3 L3 need to win a couple i think as only top four go through
good luck to Hibby Gary Smith