View Full Version : Is anyone else feeling positive about Maloney & our vision?
munchar
06-02-2022, 10:27 PM
I find it ludicrous that anyone can be slaughtering SM already. Do folk not realise he’s inherited poor players from the previous manager, lost our best attacker, just signed his own players & trying to get them in the team & up to speed? As well as implementing his own style of play which will take a bit time! Folk think we have a right to just turn up & beat the likes of St. Mirren & Livy. Why? Our team really aren’t any better than theirs if you’re being honest. We’ve made some really exciting young signings for the future. I know the 1st team is the priority, but I’m really encouraged with the young signings. As for the 1st team signings, they’ve only been here a few weeks and getting judged already. I’m hopeful Mitchell, Henderson etc can have a big impact on the team after a few games, but whether we like it or not, sone of the mediocre players will still have to play until the seasons over. 4th place should still be a realistic target, but if not, as long as we see improvements in style of play & performance, that’s still progress until we can move on some more players, & bring in some QUALITY players. I think RG is a winner & I’m happy with his vision for the club. I think we’ll see how ambitious he is come the next transfer window. Really hope SM succeeds, as even though RG is ambitious, he won’t let a new manager come in again & keep shifting & signing players. Continuity this time is vitally important. Let’s get behind the club for the rest of the season & enjoy the ride.
andrew70
06-02-2022, 10:30 PM
Maloney will do just fine for Hibernian.
We are just at the very start.
06-02-2022, 10:49 PM
Happy to give him time. Disappointed we’re talking the squad that got us 3rd and to consecutive cup finals down. It just needed improved not ripped up.
Davy Mac
06-02-2022, 10:51 PM
Sometimes I think our attitude is reflective of our age and how long we have been following the club.
For what its worth I feel a bit scunnered by Hibs and Scottish football at the moment, but I just feel its like a re-run of the same movie every year in my lifetime, and the dominance of the game with the ugly sisters is just galling and frankly, depressing.
I appreciate the Latapy/Sauzee years are way behind us, and we perhaps didn't win as much as they should have but it was fun, the players looked interested, and it was enjoyable to watch but maybe its the attitude of the modern player, but in truth, most of them are humpty mince.
Maloney can only pxss with the cxxk he's got and he looks like he cant believe how poor we are.
Strategies are all good and well if they are achievable, but sadly, not with this lot, in my opinion of course.
We need a couple of office box signings which might just ignite the passion again.
07-02-2022, 01:18 AM
I find it ludicrous that anyone can be slaughtering SM already. Do folk not realise he’s inherited poor players from the previous manager, lost our best attacker, just signed his own players & trying to get them in the team & up to speed? As well as implementing his own style of play which will take a bit time! Folk think we have a right to just turn up & beat the likes of St. Mirren & Livy. Why? Our team really aren’t any better than theirs if you’re being honest. We’ve made some really exciting young signings for the future. I know the 1st team is the priority, but I’m really encouraged with the young signings. As for the 1st team signings, they’ve only been here a few weeks and getting judged already. I’m hopeful Mitchell, Henderson etc can have a big impact on the team after a few games, but whether we like it or not, sone of the mediocre players will still have to play until the seasons over. 4th place should still be a realistic target, but if not, as long as we see improvements in style of play & performance, that’s still progress until we can move on some more players, & bring in some QUALITY players. I think RG is a winner & I’m happy with his vision for the club. I think we’ll see how ambitious he is come the next transfer window. Really hope SM succeeds, as even though RG is ambitious, he won’t let a new manager come in again & keep shifting & signing players. Continuity this time is vitally important. Let’s get behind the club for the rest of the season & enjoy the ride.
I'm happy enough with Maloney's vision and of course I want him to do well. He has come across fine in interviews and spoken of a positive footballing philosophy which he's developed during an impressive coaching apprenticeship. As with any managerial appointment though it's a gamble and he's got a way to go before I'm convinced he's got what it takes to be a successful Hibs Manager. Results and performances have been patchy so far - wins vs Sheep & Arabs - great - losing at home to Livy and St Mirren - definitely NOT great - leaving me feeling not so much positive as mildly concerned at this stage. We have no right to expect to just turn up and beat these teams - but they DO represent our best chances of accumulating points over a season and zero out of 6 is poor.
Football management is a multi-faceted job and while having a positive vision is laudable, putting it into practice is the real challenge. Time will tell whether Shaun has the requisite strengths and skills - but he won't get much of it if we keep getting beat by Livy and St Midden!
Big90inOz
07-02-2022, 01:51 AM
I believe I'm seeing improvement game after game but having said that I seem to be in a very small minority based on Hibs.Net and FB, is it just the old saying empty vessels make the most noise ?
We have been an extremely safe negative side through JR's tenure, players would take the safe route regardless of where the ball is on the park which was bloody boring. It's easy to say the players can just switch to a positive mindset but its not so easy under pressure where your brain will fall back into the negative mindset. Its not working up front, we need the front players and midfielders not involved in the build up to be getting into the box. At least one striker needs to be attacking the front post rather than waiting for a ball to the penalty spot, the opposite wing back needs to get into the box to attack the ball to the back post and at least one midfielder attacking the edge of the box. I'm no professional footballer and I'm sure SM knows far more than I do but it seems to me he wants a quicker more interchangeable side than he inherited.
I'm feeling positive with what is going on right now and I believe the Club will continue to back SM
houstonhibbee
07-02-2022, 02:20 AM
Thank you for having the balls to post this. I am in total agreement with you - and obviously in the vast minority it would appear.
Yes its not great losing games but I thought we created quite a few good chances and could have won the game 2 or 3 - 1. I think the new additions are good and there was a recognition that our football under Ross Jack was not very exciting. We're trying to change that. Success is not automatic - its hard work and requires patience. It may reqiuire a few steps back before going forward. We are taking some risks and need to go with it - some want a safety net of McInness for security but that would mean similar fare to Ross Jack.
We are misfiring up front but at least I thought we were trying to be positive the last few games. Give it a chance.
07-02-2022, 02:29 AM
Sometimes I think our attitude is reflective of our age and how long we have been following the club.
For what its worth I feel a bit scunnered by Hibs and Scottish football at the moment, but I just feel its like a re-run of the same movie every year in my lifetime, and the dominance of the game with the ugly sisters is just galling and frankly, depressing.
I appreciate the Latapy/Sauzee years are way behind us, and we perhaps didn't win as much as they should have but it was fun, the players looked interested, and it was enjoyable to watch but maybe its the attitude of the modern player, but in truth, most of them are humpty mince.
Maloney can only pxss with the cxxk he's got and he looks like he cant believe how poor we are.
Strategies are all good and well if they are achievable, but sadly, not with this lot, in my opinion of course.
We need a couple of office box signings which might just ignite the passion again.
Same! Stopped going regularly when Calderwood was manager and Heckingbottom thoroughly sickened me. Aside from a few glimmers of hope, the cycle continues.
I foolishly gave my thoughts about transition and giving SM time on another thread, i dont get this Ron the con thing, and in a way i can see the seethe to losing at home to the likes of St Mirren and Livi, but we have no god given right to think we can just go on the pitch and collect 3 points, were missing Paul Hanlon and Martin Boyle and dare i say a younger Scott Allan. SM will hopefully be given time for his way of playing to bear fruit. God forbid we get a bad result at Arbroath on sunday.
B
Paulie Walnuts
07-02-2022, 05:17 AM
I’m not sure I’d go as far as saying I’m feeling really positive but I’m not seeing the disaster others are seeing.
We were the width of Tony Sibbicks boot away from being 4th place, 10 points from 7 games with 5 of those games having been against teams that were above us in the league when we played them whilst progressing in the cup. I realise that we didn’t actually score that goal against Hearts, but to me that would suggest we’re not absolutely miles off it as some would seem to suggest.
07-02-2022, 05:25 AM
I foolishly gave my thoughts about transition and giving SM time on another thread, i dont get this Ron the con thing, and in a way i can see the seethe to losing at home to the likes of St Mirren and Livi, but we have no god given right to think we can just go on the pitch and collect 3 points, were missing Paul Hanlon and Martin Boyle and dare i say a younger Scott Allan. SM will hopefully be given time for his way of playing to bear fruit. God forbid we get a bad result at Arbroath on sunday.
B
We've reached two finals in a row. Nothing less than a semi in the last two years. If Arbroath put us out it's a huge step backwards. Maloney will struggle to come back from it. Ibrox is a write off but Arbroath is massive for him. A win could be a springboard, hopefully.
07-02-2022, 05:30 AM
Not been the greatest of starts but will see where he goes, he really needs to understand that he clearly doesnt have the players yet to play the system he wants, so like any manager he needs to adapt, yet to be seen if he can adapt but still early doors
07-02-2022, 05:37 AM
Completely agree and theres another thread on the main page saying similar.
OldEast
07-02-2022, 06:11 AM
Absolutely feeling positive. Don't expect a great deal this season, need to replace a good few in the summer then Ron's vision will kick into play. The plans for the development team will help massively.
The short term negativity is absolutely draining.
07-02-2022, 06:18 AM
Not sure about positive however more than willing to give him proper time which appears to be in contrast to a loud minority in our support. Unfortunately fans these days are impatient. He has a tough job but what he is trying to do is the right thing imo. We have a young squad who need encouraged not raged at. Watched back the highlights of Saturday and some of the stuff was very good in the second half. Short term pain for longer term gain I think. Needs key players back in the team.
07-02-2022, 06:19 AM
Absolutely feeling positive. Don't expect a great deal this season, need to replace a good few in the summer then Ron's vision will kick into play. The plans for the development team will help massively.
The short term negativity is absolutely draining.
Couldn't agree more
07-02-2022, 06:20 AM
Yes, I'm very positive. If short term pain results in long term gain then bring it on please.
07-02-2022, 06:42 AM
Not especially, no, but would be delighted if he can turn it round... same as everybody else, I expect.
Pretty Green
07-02-2022, 06:44 AM
I'm still in the unsure camp. I see improvements but we're are just not very good from midfield to up front. There is just something missing but maybe that will come over the next few weeks.
07-02-2022, 06:47 AM
Happy to give him time. Disappointed we’re talking the squad that got us 3rd and to consecutive cup finals down. It just needed improved not ripped up.
I don’t think the defence or wingbacks needed ripped up, mainly just depth was required. I think her middle of the park needed a major rebuild and still does as well as the forward areas. Boyle masked a whole lot of out creative deficiencies.
We finished 3rd on merit. However I don’t think we were as good a team as finishing 3rd suggested. We were one of the few teams to spend money last season while everyone wise was cost cutting. I think our struggles this season in a stronger league and with Hearts back points towards this.
07-02-2022, 06:47 AM
FFS not another one.
Is anyone else feeling negative about the various positive threads about Maloney?
Or positive about the various negative threads about Maloney?
Or..............
07-02-2022, 06:58 AM
I don’t think the defence or wingbacks needed ripped up, mainly just depth was required. I think her middle of the park needed a major rebuild and still does as well as the forward areas. Boyle masked a whole lot of out creative deficiencies.
We finished 3rd on merit. However I don’t think we were as good a team as finishing 3rd suggested. We were one of the few teams to spend money last season while everyone wise was cost cutting. I think our struggles this season in a stronger league and with Hearts back points towards this.
Midfield didn’t need to be rebuilt - it needed a better player than JDH to be added to it.
We were cost cutting last season as well which meant we had little squad depth - can we say the league is poor this season as well cos we’ve only scored in 1 game in the last 5. That was the argument made last season when Aberdeen were in our position.
Mike Berry
07-02-2022, 07:12 AM
I find it ludicrous that anyone can be slaughtering SM already. Do folk not realise he’s inherited poor players from the previous manager, lost our best attacker, just signed his own players & trying to get them in the team & up to speed? As well as implementing his own style of play which will take a bit time! Folk think we have a right to just turn up & beat the likes of St. Mirren & Livy. Why? Our team really aren’t any better than theirs if you’re being honest. We’ve made some really exciting young signings for the future. I know the 1st team is the priority, but I’m really encouraged with the young signings. As for the 1st team signings, they’ve only been here a few weeks and getting judged already. I’m hopeful Mitchell, Henderson etc can have a big impact on the team after a few games, but whether we like it or not, sone of the mediocre players will still have to play until the seasons over. 4th place should still be a realistic target, but if not, as long as we see improvements in style of play & performance, that’s still progress until we can move on some more players, & bring in some QUALITY players. I think RG is a winner & I’m happy with his vision for the club. I think we’ll see how ambitious he is come the next transfer window. Really hope SM succeeds, as even though RG is ambitious, he won’t let a new manager come in again & keep shifting & signing players. Continuity this time is vitally important. Let’s get behind the club for the rest of the season & enjoy the ride.This is a great post. Like lots of Hibees, I've been throwing my toys out of the pram since the St Mirren game, and in fact was also in a full blown wee-boy-sulk after the Livi game. Yes, a lot of what we're watching looks disjointed and incoherent, but he's trying to completely change how we play, whilst simultaneously integrating new players to the team. And all of this during the season, not in preseason.
We all need to calm down.
That said, the hysteria will ramp up again if Arbroath put us out the cup. Which absolutely could happen. I watched them against Killie on TV the other night, and they're a good team. But we all need to keep the heid.
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
07-02-2022, 07:15 AM
Midfield didn’t need to be rebuilt - it needed a better player than JDH to be added to it.
We were cost cutting last season as well which meant we had little squad depth - can we say the league is poor this season as well cos we’ve only scored in 1 game in the last 5. That was the argument made last season when Aberdeen were in our position.
I disagree on the midfield and think we finished 3rd despite it not because of it. I’d have Magennis in my midfield, maybe Newell but I don’t think he plays at the level he can anywhere near as often as he can/we need from him. However given Magennis is never available and Newell is inconsistent then it’s closer to a rebuild than a tweak for me.
I think the league is still relatively poor this season. Hearts are comfortably securing 3rd despite being decent enough and solid, but nothing special. I think the league is stronger overall than last season and Hearts are back. The squad wasn’t broken up as is often the case for a drop of the next season. Reaching the same levels as the previous season is difficult, but we’ve been found badly wanting to this seasons challenges.
07-02-2022, 07:18 AM
I disagree on the midfield and think we finished 3rd despite it not because of it. I’d have Magennis in my midfield, maybe Newell but I don’t think he plays at the level he can anywhere near as often as he can/we need from him. However given Magennis is never available and Newell is inconsistent then it’s closer to a rebuild than a tweak for me.
I think the league is still relatively poor this season. Hearts are comfortably securing 3rd despite being decent enough and solid, but nothing special. I think the league is stronger overall than last season and Hearts are back. The squad wasn’t broken up as is often the case for a drop of the next season. Reaching the same levels as the previous season is difficult, but we’ve been found badly wanting to this seasons challenges.
The new formation only allows for 2 in midfield - Newell has shown he’s good enough, just needs to be more consistent.
The league is weaker - both Aberdeen and us are worse than last season and St Johnstone are rubbish as well. There’s no consistent team outside the top 3 whereas last year St Mirren and Livi both had runs.
We have been found wanting- I think because the first window was a failure and the second was a rip it up and start again (apart from CM for some reason).
07-02-2022, 07:21 AM
To early to tell. Trying out lots of players. This is obviously at least a medium term project with the signing of young and development players. He is going to be given time. Next season is the crucial one after he has finished the clear out and has his team and everybody is comfortable with how they have to play. This is a major restructuring from Ron and he will be given time.
07-02-2022, 07:23 AM
The new formation only allows for 2 in midfield - Newell has shown he’s good enough, just needs to be more consistent.
We have been found wanting- I think because the first window was a failure and the second was a rip it up and start again (apart from CM for some reason).
If we go with a two then I think we need two new midfielders (can’t rely on Magennis) suited to playing as a two. Newell played in a two, albeit with Gogic and they didn’t compliment each other, most of last season and struggled IMO. I don’t think he’s consistent enough, athletic enough or has enough drive to play in a two. Others see him differently though and that’s fair enough.
07-02-2022, 07:31 AM
If we go with a two then I think we need two new midfielders (can’t rely on Magennis) suited to playing as a two. Newell played in a two, albeit with Gogic and they didn’t compliment each other, most of last season and struggled IMO. I don’t think he’s consistent enough, athletic enough or has enough drive to play in a two. Others see him differently though and that’s fair enough.
I agree to an extent - I think when Newell’s good he’s excellent but it’s not often enough.
07-02-2022, 08:20 AM
FFS not another one.
Is anyone else feeling negative about the various positive threads about Maloney?
Or..............
😁
07-02-2022, 08:25 AM
So, so true.
To paraphrase, a lot of this indignation comes across like this:
“Why are folk slagging Maloney? Our previous manager was ***** and our players are ******* *****, especially ***** and ***** who are *****. Yous lot are all *****. Why are you being rude?”
07-02-2022, 08:33 AM
Not yet. The football is still boring to watch.
However, he's not even been in the job two months so it may take time. He could end up getting it right, or could be a complete flop. But it's too early to say if his vision will work.
Bad start, but let's see how the rest of the season plays out before any panic calls are made.
Paulie Walnuts
07-02-2022, 08:39 AM
Not yet. The football is still boring to watch.
However, he's not even been in the job two months so it may take time. He could end up getting it right, or could be a complete flop. But it's too early to say if his vision will work.
Bad start, but let's see how the rest of the season plays out before any panic calls are made.
I’m still hopeful that the long term aim is to play more like we did against Aberdeen and Dundee United.
There was a clear difference in our style of play in they games. I enjoyed it, I realise others maybe don’t, but it got two good results and imo it looked like we’d found a manager who was cut from a different cloth from the usual guys that kick about Scottish football. Of course it was too early to say whether that style could bring success, but I found it refreshing.
Since then though we don’t seem to be playing that way anymore. I’m not sure why we seem to have binned it? I wonder if he feels that even though we won the first two that the squad he has isn’t ready to play it yet whether that’s down to fitness (as to press the way we were you have to be ultra fit) or ability. We might find that next season we’ll go back to that style once we’ve had a full pre season to work on it and got in some new players who suit it.
munchar
07-02-2022, 10:18 AM
FFS not another one.
Or..............
Why the sarcasm? If you’ve nothing constructive to say, don’t reply then.
07-02-2022, 10:22 AM
The lack of patience is a bit mental.
ClermistonGreen
07-02-2022, 10:27 AM
Frustrated Hibby
watched for over 55 years
Still a frustrated Hibby
Its the Hibees way
:flag: GGTTH :thumbsup:
Theres always the next season until your dead :na na:
07-02-2022, 10:38 AM
Am not concerned. I think there will be a bit short term pain to get to were we want to but thats where we are as a club. We are not PSG or City were we can just pick the best players in the world.
The youngsters on Twitter are the ones that do my head in. Slating the club in everything they do. Its a strange wee entitled generation and they create a toxic environment. Suppose thats the world we live in. We still have a chance of Europe (although I think we will fall short) but you would think we were 2 points from the bottom of the league the way they act.
07-02-2022, 10:39 AM
I think it stems from the younger guys not knowing how difficult being a Hibs fan can really be. Our generation are probably the youngest to remember the mid-00s right up to our relegation so it's easier for us to temper our impatience. The guys that are vocal on twitter etc remember us going to Ibrox and winning or having a really good chance of winning when they were wee and it must be difficult for them to accept and understand that it won't always been that rosy.
JamesHFC
07-02-2022, 10:58 AM
Not concerned for now. He came in to a team 7th in the league, multiple players out of form and lost our best player. If we don’t finish top six I’ll probably have a different view but I fully believe in him to be very successful here.
I’ve seen managers go into clubs and have a fairly poor start before turning things around - Sarri won just one of his opening five games as Napoli manager before finishing the season in 2nd. Pochettino won just three of his opening nine Spurs games, then got them to a CL final and three consecutive top three finishes. Conte took 1 point from Swansea, Arsenal and Liverpool at the beginning of his Chelsea career then when onto win the league with the record amount of league wins.
There are plenty of other examples of managers turning around form. As Maloney said after Saturday, once we become clinical going forward we will win games. Hopefully that’s sooner rather than later though, because Boyle carried us in that department for a long time.
MKHIBEE
07-02-2022, 11:05 AM
Given time Maloney will get it right, whether he gets the time is another matter, we need to be planning long term while at the same time staying in the top 6 and hopefully getting 4th
ME
07-02-2022, 11:29 AM
The longest serving manager in the Premiership is James McPake and he's still got about 3 months to reach the 3 year mark. Jim Goodwin isn't far behind and then you have Robbie Neilson in 3rd and he's got a bit to go to even reach 2 years.
The law of averages suggests that Maloney isn't going to get long to get it right and whatever the long term plan is with development signings and so on, if or when it comes to fruition it will be a new manager reaping the rewards. Football management is notoriously short term, in the English Championship the average tenure is only a few days over a year!
I'm not turning on Maloney, far from it, but I'm also far from convinced we are close to getting it right. If the last couple of games where one offs that saw a few chances missed then I'd maybe accept we were a bit unlucky. Our record over half a season has been discussed at length though and it's frankly abysmal. We are miles short in the middle of the park, of the 3 regular starters only 1 is good enough (Newell). That failure in the middle also extends to our threat up top. In the period starting from October we have failed to score in 9 of our 18 league games, scored only 1 in a further 5 and scored more than 1 on only 3 occasion (2 twice and 3 once and one of those 2 was in a defeat). Under Maloney it's failed to score in 4 of 7 league games, scored 1 once and more than 1 twice, again one of those occasions coming in a defeat.
That isn't the record of a team 'not getting the rub of the green' or whatever. It's a team completely incapable of scoring goals and that means incapable of winning a lot of football matches. In terms of our league position we are 12 points off 3rd but only 13 away from the bottom of the league and only 2 clear off a chasing pack in 7th, 8th and 9th (2 of whom have games in hand on us). It's mid table mediocrity at the moment but it's not far being a potential cause for concern if we slip out that top 6 (and with Rangers and Celtic making up 2 of our next 3 fixtures that's not entirely unlikely).
I admire anyone feeling optimistic at the moment but I'm just not feeling it. Saturday was a lot of huffing and puffing and we showed a bit in the 1st 15 minutes of the 2nd half but beyond that it was grim. If anything it feels like we have regressed slightly since Maloney's 1st couple of games. He's not going anywhere soon and I like his football philosophy but we may be in a bit of a situation that requires pragmatism and grinding out a couple of wins now and we can leave the new Hibs for next season when we may have players capable of doing it.
munchar
07-02-2022, 11:48 AM
The longest serving manager in the Premiership is James McPake and he's still got about 3 months to reach the 3 year mark. Jim Goodwin isn't far behind and then you have Robbie Neilson in 3rd and he's got a bit to go to even reach 2 years.
The law of averages suggests that Maloney isn't going to get long to get it right and whatever the long term plan is with development signings and so on, if or when it comes to fruition it will be a new manager reaping the rewards. Football management is notoriously short term, in the English Championship the average tenure is only a few days over a year!
I'm not turning on Maloney, far from it, but I'm also far from convinced we are close to getting it right. If the last couple of games where one offs that saw a few chances missed then I'd maybe accept we were a bit unlucky. Our record over half a season has been discussed at length though and it's frankly abysmal. We are miles short in the middle of the park, of the 3 regular starters only 1 is good enough (Newell). That failure in the middle also extends to our threat up top. In the period starting from October we have failed to score in 9 of our 18 league games, scored only 1 in a further 5 and scored more than 1 on only 3 occasion (2 twice and 3 once and one of those 2 was in a defeat). Under Maloney it's failed to score in 4 of 7 league games, scored 1 once and more than 1 twice, again one of those occasions coming in a defeat.
That isn't the record of a team 'not getting the rub of the green' or whatever. It's a team completely incapable of scoring goals and that means incapable of winning a lot of football matches. In terms of our league position we are 12 points off 3rd but only 13 away from the bottom of the league and only 2 clear off a chasing pack in 7th, 8th and 9th (2 of whom have games in hand on us). It's mid table mediocrity at the moment but it's not far being a potential cause for concern if we slip out that top 6 (and with Rangers and Celtic making up 2 of our next 3 fixtures that's not entirely unlikely).
I admire anyone feeling optimistic at the moment but I'm just not feeling it. Saturday was a lot of huffing and puffing and we showed a bit in the 1st 15 minutes of the 2nd half but beyond that it was grim. If anything it feels like we have regressed slightly since Maloney's 1st couple of games. He's not going anywhere soon and I like his football philosophy but we may be in a bit of a situation that requires pragmatism and grinding out a couple of wins now and we can leave the new Hibs for next season when we may have players capable of doing it.
I think it’s difficult trying to grind results out while implementing his style of play at the same time. It looks like he’s trying a system that is finding some players not good enough ability wise to take on board. These players will be surplus to requirements if that’s the case. In the short term I can put up with mid table mediocrity if there’s an end goal. What we need to be ultra cautious with though, is not going into free fall and getting dragged into a relegation battle while doing so.
Everyone will have different opinions on certain players, but one thing that must be accepted by all, is that we are badly lacking in creativity. I’m hopeful SM’s signings like Henderson & the wing backs/wingers can do this once up to speed, then possibly a marquee signing or 2 come the end of the season.
A big problem will be that JR has given some long term contracts to players who aren’t any better than the Livy, St. Mirren etc players. Imo, this is why we’re struggling against these sides. The quality between us & the mediocre sides isn’t that different.
07-02-2022, 11:51 AM
Not me. I don't see it at all.
The best any of you can say is wait and see. There is nothing to suggest he will be a success.
07-02-2022, 11:56 AM
Needs a massive clear out and the ability to bring in his own players to suit the style he wants to play, similar to what Celtic have done.
Billy McKirdy
07-02-2022, 12:05 PM
After the last result I’ve calmed down a bit, I realise that it’s still too early to judge him as a coach.
His ideas still need time to get through to the players and the new players just in need time to adjust to the team.
This season will be a transitional one and he needs time to fully shape his ideology.
I think next season will be the time to begin to form a proper analysis to his coaching methods.
Sacking him right now won’t help us as a club, if we do we’re in danger of being labelled a basket case of a club.
Be patient.
07-02-2022, 12:13 PM
Why the sarcasm? If you’ve nothing constructive to say, don’t reply then.
:aok: I've already had my say on the nine other threads on the subject. :grr:
delbert
07-02-2022, 12:15 PM
Not me. I don't see it at all.
The best any of you can say is wait and see. There is nothing to suggest he will be a success.
Agree, all we can do is wait and see although I’m baffled by the comments regarding Maloney’s philosophy, ideas, vision, theories, so many seem to have turned into amateur psychologists as well as football fans. Personally I’d like any manager we have to simply set the team up to beat whoever happens to be the opponents on the day, that’s a ‘philosophy’ I could get right behind, the rest as far as I’m concerned is all smoke and mirrors.
07-02-2022, 12:25 PM
As it stands I’m a bit of both, nervous and positive.
What makes me nervous is we’ve just lost to Livi and St Mirren at home and our next game is at Ibrox and after that Arbroath. Arbroath away is such a hard place to go and they’ve not lost a game there all season, if we lose both the next two matches this place will be toxic and everyone demanding he goes.
What makes me positive is the club trying to adapt a Brentford type of model of buying young players at a good age to develop them and make a profit, it also allows us to immediately replace a first team player with a younger one that’s ready. The issue with this though is you still need the first team to be doing well and getting results, if not the rest is immaterial.
Re Maloney I think it’s clear the changes he’s made, they’re not in every game and imo it’s just bringing it all together. I’ve never seen Cadden and Doig get so much joy before on the wings and the positions they’re finding themselves in is imo credit to Maloney, we just need them to find that extra bit of quality in picking out the strikers.
Playing out from the back/going more direct in certain games has worked and again it’s down to finding the right blend and the players taking a bit of responsibility to decide when is the right time and trust themselves and their team mates.
On the players and this is the big one for me, we need better quality. Our squad is alright and I think this season has shown that, we’re just missing something in the middle to really make us click. For example if Maloney came into the team with Efe, McGinn, McGeough, prime Allan etc etc I imagine the football would be unbelievable.
Let’s give him time to make it work, there will be a few bumps along the way but if, and it’s a big if that it works it could be better than anything we’ve seen in years. Imo this is what Gordon and Kensell are thinking, they can get another manager that does decent to begin with but where does it go after that? Maloney will hopefully make us go higher than what they could.
It’s that or hire another Jack Ross (who I liked) who gets us far in the league and cups but ultimately there’s something missing and the fans want more excitement.
Good luck Shaun and Hibs, you have my backing 👍
07-02-2022, 12:47 PM
Just fed up of the same old cycle repeating itself with Hibs, the only consistency is that we will be poor, rebuild, be half decent, be very good then poor again as the next manager rebuilds. Been watching them for 30 odd years now and that’s how it feels.
07-02-2022, 01:05 PM
Just fed up of the same old cycle repeating itself with Hibs, the only consistency is that we will be poor, rebuild, be half decent, be very good then poor again as the next manager rebuilds. Been watching them for 30 odd years now and that’s how it feels.
Same here.
Thing is, inconsistency and poor patches of form will always be a factor. One day we will need to hold our nerve rather than demand a sacking and a clear out every time we go on a bad run.
HIBS NUTS
07-02-2022, 01:57 PM
Same here.
Thing is, inconsistency and poor patches of form will always be a factor. One day we will need to hold our nerve rather than demand a sacking and a clear out every time we go on a bad run.
I’m trying hard not get upset with SM, but when I read on utube, that he thinks we should have won 4-0 or 5-0 against st Mirren, my heart sank, watching Hibs at the moment is not enjoyable.
07-02-2022, 02:00 PM
I’m trying hard not get upset with SM, but when I read on utube, that he thinks we should have won 4-0 or 5-0 against st Mirren, my heart sank, watching Hibs at the moment is not enjoyable.
If you're reading on YouTube I think you're doing it wrong.
HIBS NUTS
07-02-2022, 02:08 PM
If you're reading on YouTube I think you're doing it wrong.
It was the headlines, I didn’t have the heart to watch the interview.👍
HIBS NUTS
07-02-2022, 02:10 PM
It was the headlines, I didn’t have the heart to watch the interview.👍
Mainly because it was nonsense.
07-02-2022, 02:12 PM
The changes they are trying to make to the club are to specifically address this situation so that we develop young players and ideally have another one coming through ready to step up.
But the way that football has changed in the last 30 years is huge, the rich clubs only got richer and everyone else had to find another way to survive. Some hibs fans have memories of us playing the biggest teams in Europe, but realistically unless we are bought by a Billionaire, that's never going to happen again.
07-02-2022, 02:16 PM
I disagree. We were told by Ron that "best of the rest" was the aim. In my opinion Ron, the club, have raised expectations amongst the support. We've gone from being the best of the rest to having a long term plan. To be honest i can't be arsed with yet another transitional period that may or may not work. Especially after our owner came out with a statement like that. I was positive about Maloney after his first two games. Since he has had time to work with the players we've gone backwards and i'm seriously concerned about where we're heading. I'm angry right now which is at least something. When i don't give a **** any more is when i'll start to worry.
Nitten
07-02-2022, 02:36 PM
I totally agree. Now I know we are no Juventus, but it has taken until now in the current season for Max Allegri, a far more experienced manager than Sean Maloney to get Juve anywhere near where he feels they should be. Maloney has just had a few weeks and already the grumblings are aired. FFS he has brought in players that need to bed in, introduce a style of play we apparently wanted, after the negativity associated with Jack Ross’s tenure and inherited a squad that is clearly deficient in at least 2 significant areas.
I feel we need to give him the time needed and certainly more than 5-6 weeks to get us anywhere near good enough to challenge for top 3.
In reality had the chances created in the last 2 or more games been converted from excellent positions the whole mood would be different, keep the faith and I believe Maloney will get us to where we all want to be.
07-02-2022, 02:47 PM
I disagree. We were told by Ron that "best of the rest" was the aim. In my opinion Ron, the club, have raised expectations amongst the support. We've gone from being the best of the rest to having a long term plan. To be honest i can't be arsed with yet another transitional period that may or may not work. Especially after our owner came out with a statement like that. I was positive about Maloney after his first two games. Since he has had time to work with the players we've gone backwards and i'm seriously concerned about where we're heading. I'm angry right now which is at least something. When i don't give a **** any more is when i'll start to worry.
Supporting Hibs is just always a transitional period, when was it ever not? I feel like this is something you have to account for going in, sometimes it will be great and sometimes it won't work, the only constant is the fans that remain, owners/chairmen/players come and go.
07-02-2022, 03:49 PM
I have no problem with Visions But it’s one thing having one and a totally different thing realising that Vision
It has in short term set us back when we should of ensured we built on last season to make third position our own again this season
That’s compounded by Hearts getting promotion and immediately recruiting better than us to take third spot
But the more I hear Steve Kean talking the more it makes sense to invest in the Development Team to hopefully reap the rewards further down the line But if we are looking to sell on some young players quickly for profits then those profits need to pay for the development systems running costs and be used to strengthen first team
It’s very rare for us to be able to blood three or four young players at the same timebut when we have ,and managed to hang onto them fir a few years we have had some of our better teams if we have good manager and coaching infrastructure
I think however it’s understandable fans Moan when they are not seeing us winning and we look like we can hardly score no matter what team is put out Goals Win Games
We could of done without facing rampant old firm teams so close together though and the Cup Trip is a potential banana skin given we struggle v cove at home
It’s usually harder to blood young players into a team not winning but I do think there are small signs of progressions and don’t think he has yet put out his preferred side due to injuries and new players needing to get up to speed
We could also really do with having Clarke and McGennis match fit but that won’t be till mid March possibly
07-02-2022, 04:10 PM
He didn't say anything like that on Hibs tv interview
Paul1642
07-02-2022, 04:16 PM
Folk think we have a right to just turn up & beat the likes of St. Mirren & Livy. Why? Our team really aren’t any better than theirs if you’re being honest.
This is nonsense. We might not have a right to beat them but our squad are considerably better than theirs. Almost any one of our match day squad would walk into their starting 11, whilst there is barely a player between the two sides that I would want Hibs to sign. We are only not better at them at this moment because our performances are rubbish.
07-02-2022, 04:22 PM
We played well against Hearts - not so good against St Mirren. Swings and roundabouts. It'll take time.
07-02-2022, 04:38 PM
Yip, folk now having a pop at something he didnt even say
07-02-2022, 04:43 PM
I'm feeling more positive now that many of my fellow supporters are positive at what they are watch.
Let's hope everyone seeing this is correct. :agree:
Hibiza
07-02-2022, 04:49 PM
You'll do it Shaun - stick in .
07-02-2022, 04:52 PM
He said we should have won 3,4 or 5-1 in his interview on the BBC
It's on the Podcast, 50 mins in, just in case you think I'm also making things up!
07-02-2022, 04:56 PM
It's on the Podcast, 50 mins in, just in case you think I'm also making things up!
Didn't listen to the BBC interview was Hibs tv I was talking about
07-02-2022, 04:56 PM
Honestly don't think they could've had many complaints if we had scored three.
Hendo two great chances, Nisbet chance saved onto or just past the post, Mueller in the box from Doidge's wee flick through but couldn't get the shot away, Mueller in the box when he tried to cut it back but didn't find Nisbet. That's not even counting all the balls fizzed into and across their box.
HIBS NUTS
07-02-2022, 05:38 PM
Watched the hibs tv interview for first time, and he didn’t say we should have won 4-0 5-0, and after looking properly this time, found nothing on you tube.saying anything. Your right 👍
07-02-2022, 05:51 PM
Watched the hibs tv interview for first time, and he didn’t say we should have won 4-0 5-0, and after looking properly this time, found nothing on you tube.saying anything. Your right 👍
You would be thinking of his interview with the BBC - he told them we could have scored five on Saturday in his post match interview.
I am not yet convinced. The way we play and our failings are very similar to the the way we played under Ross. Lots of the ball, lots of half chances but few clear chances or goals. Plus a tendency to give away a soft goal.
All of this building for the future has been said before and doesn’t often come to fruition.
I agree maloney needs to be given time but I also felt Ross deserved more time and had credit in the bank. However that horse has bolted so we support the new horse. So to speak.
munchar
07-02-2022, 06:53 PM
This is nonsense. We might not have a right to beat them but our squad are considerably better than theirs. Almost any one of our match day squad would walk into their starting 11, whilst there is barely a player between the two sides that I would want Hibs to sign. We are only not better at them at this moment because our performances are rubbish.
Meaning at this moment they’re a better team than us then?
07-02-2022, 07:10 PM
Na, they're not. Same as if we beat Rangers on wednesday we're not a better team than them.
07-02-2022, 07:13 PM
Na, they're not. Same as if we beat Rangers on wednesday we're not a better team than them.
St Mirren and Livi certainly are set up as a better team than us right now. The same as they are both a better side than Aberdeen from what I seen of the games there.
munchar
07-02-2022, 07:16 PM
Livy & St. Mirren 2 points behind us, St. Mirren with a game in hand. So at the moment there’s nothing between us. We’re a poor side. Results back this up. Hopefully SM with his signings will improve us.
07-02-2022, 10:51 PM
You would be thinking of his interview with the BBC - he told them we could have scored five on Saturday in his post match interview.
Yeah, that’s not the game I watched. At all.
However I appreciate managers are often addressing their squad when doing these interviews and he needs our strikers to have confidence and self-belief, so I guess it’s about backing them in public.
Nae booing!
07-02-2022, 10:52 PM
Yip, folk now having a pop at something he didnt even say
Nope, he did say it. Calm down.
08-02-2022, 12:13 AM
https://youtu.be/UPH89zMxp6Q
I’d recommend to listen to the interview with Ange Postecogolou.
I’m in no way saying him and Maloney’s styles are similar, but I think have a coach so set on his beliefs can only be a good thing and it’s something the players will strive off.
I’m not convinced Maloney wants us to play the style we’ve seen numerous times of late as in passing it along the back 4, into midfield and then back the way.
For me it’s the players lacking bravery or quality to get the ball on the half turn and go forward. He’s said plenty times in interviews how we need to be braver and more aggressive.
I think with time and the right recruitment it will end well (if our strikers start taking their chances/better use of the ball in great positions).
Paul1642
08-02-2022, 04:50 AM
Of they are a better team despite is having much better players then the manager needs to get things sorted ASAP.
08-02-2022, 06:46 AM
Personally think there is enough in the games I have seen to think better times ahead while conceding it has been disappointing. Thought large spells in the Derby against the bestest team ever we were good and spells in the other games particularly Dundee United. We are shooting ourselves in the foot defensively which needs to stop. Could do with not so many games allowing him to try and implement real change.
Key West
08-02-2022, 07:19 AM
I’m confident that we care going about things the correct way and look forward to watching a different and more consistent Hibs in the future.
Greenio
08-02-2022, 07:23 AM
Couldn't agree more
Agreed
But given how knee jerk all this doomsdaying is, it will turn just as fast
Also disagree with the whole notion that there is 'no coming back' from a single poor result.
Few wins and it'll all be rosy again - it's the way it's always been I think
08-02-2022, 08:04 AM
There's been enough positive signs for me. I'm optimistic that Maloney will do a good job for us. Having Hanlon return will make a massive difference to the team. As will hopefully hopefully melkerson, jasper and Clarke. and I think there's a lot more to come from Henderson and muller
08-02-2022, 08:22 AM
I couldn't care less how Hibs play as long as they're winning. Expansive, attractive football with flair would be nice, of course it would but in reality that rarely works unless you have the budget of Celtic and Rangers and can sign the players capible of doing it. It's a romantic notion thats gone against this club for years in my opinion. You'll maybe get four/five months to a season out of it like Lennon and Yogi managed but it's quickly worked out by the opposition. It was said by many on here last season that they'd take exciting performances and mid table over 3rd. Thats the kind of thing that holds us back. Right now we aren't there under Maloney, i doubt we'll get there. It's more like Yogis final months than Mowbrays swashbuckling team full of a once in a generation youngsters. Passing it around the back but doing hee haw with it. Give me 1-0 hoofball every week. We need to get back to winning pronto.
08-02-2022, 08:22 AM
Nope, he did say it. Calm down.
No he didnt, he said we could have scored that many, not won 4 or 5 nil, and im very calm thank you very much, and it also wasnt on the hibs tv interview
08-02-2022, 08:51 AM
I couldn't care less how Hibs play as long as they're winning. Expansive, attractive football with flair would be nice, of course it would but in reality that rarely works unless you have the budget of Celtic and Rangers and can sign the players capible of doing it. It's a romantic notion thats gone against this club for years in my opinion. You'll maybe get four/five months to a season out of it like Lennon and Yogi managed but it's quickly worked out by the opposition. It was said by many on here last season that they'd take exciting performances and mid table over 3rd. Thats the kind of thing that holds us back. Right now we aren't there under Maloney, i doubt we'll get there. It's more like Yogis final months than Mowbrays swashbuckling team full of a once in a generation youngsters. Passing it around the back but doing hee haw with it. Give me 1-0 hoofball every week. We need to get back to winning pronto.
I firmly believe if you are playing for 3rd each season you have to have a few different styles of play.
While we should be attacking where possibly we also have grind results out with a bit of quality also thrown into the mix.
Going to Tynecastle on a tight pitch with Hearts high press and trying to play passing football out from the back will be a receipt for disaster. Celtic did really well against Hearts recently at Tynecastle but mainly as they have very good players who can do that.
Performances tomorrow against Huns and Arbroath should give us another indicator where this team is heading. Expecting nothing from Ibrox but will be curious to see if we do anything different to the Celtic game.
Arbroath will need us to match their fight and work rate with some quality or it will be us out the cup.
08-02-2022, 09:07 AM
Did anyone actually say that? I know I said, in the hypothetical black and white scenario, I’d sacrifice a league place or two to enjoy the 90 minutes rather than finishing 3rd but the 90 minutes being the least enjoyable part of that success.
08-02-2022, 12:26 PM
No he didnt, he said we could have scored that many, not won 4 or 5 nil, and im very calm thank you very much, and it also wasnt on the hibs tv interview
You're still wrong!!
BBC interview towards the end he clearly states we could have won 3, 4 or 5 -1. It's on the podcast.
08-02-2022, 02:36 PM
I'm finding it hard to be positive but bar the immediate moments after the game has finished, I'm not writing anything off, etc.
The club has made the decision to bring in a new coach. We're supporters, so we should support and show our backing. Booing won't do any good right now. Am I seeing changes on field, positive steps forward, etc? Not really but it's early days.
Whatever the reasons for the change in management those decisions have been made, and no one promised an immediate upturn in results, the conversation was all about the long term vision and building a team that plays in a certain way.
I think we've good players right now. I don't think they're performing as they should. For me that's up to the whole coaching team to sort out. Once they do we've definitely got the potential to be a very good team that's enjoyable to watch play.
08-02-2022, 03:37 PM
You're still wrong!!
BBC interview towards the end he clearly states we could have won 3, 4 or 5 -1. It's on the podcast.
I believe the quote was "They had one chance from our mistake and we should have scored three, four or five goals today"
08-02-2022, 05:04 PM
Shaun speaking on STV News at Six shortly
08-02-2022, 06:08 PM
Shaun speaking on STV News at Six shortly
Missed it what did he say
08-02-2022, 06:41 PM
Missed it what did he say
"I think they (the fans) were reasonably supportive against St Mirren, I think they could see the performance was good but I understand the dynamics as well if we don't win then they're not happy. We're working extremely hard to try and change parts of the performance into actually wins.
But I also knew when I took over, I think I said there would be wins, there would be losses, I knew where the club was at. There was a reason for why we were 7th so we've got a lot of work to do. We're still there pushing for 4th and we're going to push for 4th until the last day."
On Jim Goodwin's disappointment at Maloney's post-match comments;
"I'd never purposely disrespect Jim, I think he does a fantastic job at St Mirren, I've known Jim a long time from when I was 15, 16. That was just my opinion of the game, I thought the chances we created we should have scored in my opinion 3 or 4. I think we had one of the Mueller was given offside when he was one v one which was incorrect. No I definitely wouldn't disrespect Jim and St Mirren they worked extremely hard they took their chances when they had it - that's football."
08-02-2022, 07:21 PM
"I think they (the fans) were reasonably supportive against St Mirren, I think they could see the performance was good but I understand the dynamics as well if we don't win then they're not happy. We're working extremely well to try and change parts of the performance into actually wins.
But I also knew when I took over, I think I said there would be wins, there would be losses, I knew where the club was at. There was a reason for why we were 7th so we've got a lot of work to do. We're still there pushing for 4th and we're going to push for 4th until the last day."
"I'd never purposely disrespect Jim, I think he does a fantastic job at St Mirren, I've known Jim a long time from when I was 15, 16. That was just my opinion of the game, I thought the chances we created we should have scored in my opinion 3 or 4. I think we had one of the Mueller was given offside when he was one v one which was incorrect. No I definitely wouldn't disrespect Jim and St Mirren they worked extremely hard they took their chances when they had it - that's football."
Cheers SDG
Well The man has a plan !
Lets hope we see real benefits before too long.
I dont think he or Ron will panic !
They will just let us fans do that :greengrin
loanheadhibby
08-02-2022, 09:59 PM
Good post and I agree with most.
Not sure what you mean when you say RG is a winner.
09-02-2022, 05:33 AM
The vast majority of those poor/mediocre players breezed 3rd last season and made two finals in a row. We've regressed since Maloney's had a transfer window and spent time with them on the training pitch. Tonight is a write off, I wont be judging him if we lose at Ibrox (unless it's heavily) but Arbroath is absolutely massive for him. He won't recover from a defeat there.
09-02-2022, 05:48 AM
The vast majority of those poor/mediocre players breezed 3rd last season and made two finals in a row. We've regressed since Maloney's had a transfer window and spent time with them on the training pitch. Tonight is a write off, I wont be judging him if we lose at Ibrox (unless it's heavily) but Arbroath is absolutely massive for him. He won't recover from a defeat there.
That's the problem he has had virtually no time with them with the ridiculous schedule not helped by a number of key injuries Clarke Newell Magennis and Hanlon plus 2 key defenders missing games through silly suspensions
09-02-2022, 05:50 AM
Why not only one game and should definitely be given the chance to if that indeed happens.
09-02-2022, 06:37 AM
You already have judged him and have posted saying you want him out already after only 8 games. You ought to make your mind up.
09-02-2022, 07:17 AM
That's the problem he has had virtually no time with them with the ridiculous schedule not helped by a number of key injuries Clarke Newell Magennis and Hanlon plus 2 key defenders missing games through silly suspensions
We were not allowed that excuse under Lennon or Ross, remember every club get those.
In short, yes.
If we stick to the plan, be supportive and give everyone time, it'll work.
Easier said than done though.
09-02-2022, 07:28 AM
Has anybody mentioned Barnard Castle yet?
OstKurve Hibs
09-02-2022, 07:29 AM
The plan might come to fruition a bit quicker if the section of our support that likes to heap pressure on our own players could give it a rest.
munchar
09-02-2022, 07:40 AM
Good post and I agree with most.
Not sure what you mean when you say RG is a winner.
In his previous businesses he’s very successful. Think he doesn’t settle for mediocrity. I like the way we’ve invested in developments squad,actually buying for the future, & also think SM will be given funds next window to bring in quality players. JR was backed, his signings regressed the team. Possibly why he was bulleted?
09-02-2022, 07:42 AM
The plan might come to fruition a bit quicker if the section of our support that likes to heap pressure on our own players could give it a rest.
If theres a part of the ground without any of these people, let me know and i'll happily move there. Its actually making me think twice about having a season ticket next year.
Tarrahib
09-02-2022, 07:43 AM
Is he out of contract?
munchar
09-02-2022, 07:44 AM
We regressed under JR & the cup defeats were pathetic. SM is just in the door. Arbroath are flying, unbeaten at home. I’d be gutted if we lose there, but it’s ridiculous to think about changing the manager after 10 games. The financial implications & new coach may not fancy the new signings! Needs at least another window to put his mark on the team.
09-02-2022, 07:56 AM
Is he out of contract?
😁
09-02-2022, 08:04 AM
Central midfield / striker or B team signing ?
09-02-2022, 08:57 AM
When Shaun came in, 3rd was still in reach. Now it’s not.
To break it down, I am positive about the overall vision for the club, we really have made a big investment in potential.
I want the new manager to do well but I am far from convinced as yet.
09-02-2022, 09:20 AM
We were not allowed that excuse under Lennon or Ross, remember every club get those.
I didnt agree with it then and I don't agree with it now :greengrin
09-02-2022, 09:39 AM
"I think they (the fans) were reasonably supportive against St Mirren, I think they could see the performance was good but I understand the dynamics as well if we don't win then they're not happy. We're working extremely hard to try and change parts of the performance into actually wins.
The media are really trying to spin what he says round aren't they? I'd be willing to bet they made more of Jim G being "raging" at his comments as well.
09-02-2022, 10:01 AM
The media are really trying to spin what he says round aren't they? I'd be willing to bet they made more of Jim G being "raging" at his comments as well.
I don’t think we should be too paranoid. Half the journos will give him an easy ride due to his previous connections.
Managing the media and the public message is part of the modern manager skill set. No excuses.
09-02-2022, 10:27 AM
I didnt agree with it then and I don't agree with it now :greengrin
09-02-2022, 10:30 AM
I don’t think we should be too paranoid. Half the journos will give him an easy ride due to his previous connections.
Managing the media and the public message is part of the modern manager skill set. No excuses.
Hibs managers don't tend to get an easy ride from the press irrespective of background
09-02-2022, 10:41 AM
Just watched his zoom press conference on hibs TV. I'm defo warming more and more to him he's getting much more relaxed and confident speaking to the press. I really hope we give him the chance to really change even if it comes at a cost of a decent season this season
09-02-2022, 10:42 AM
I agree it's part of the skill set - just think some of them might be taking a few liberties in an attempt to tarnish him with the "Cathro" brush.
09-02-2022, 10:52 AM
Goodwin said;
"Look I've known Shaun Maloney a long time, certainly not going to get into a war of words with any manager publicly but I was, I have to say, slightly disappointed with those comments because I thought my players deserved a bit more respect than that to be honest with you."
09-02-2022, 11:10 AM
When Shaun came in, 3rd was still in reach. Now it’s not.
To break it down, I am positive about the overall vision for the club, we really have made a big investment in potential.
I want the new manager to do well but I am far from convinced as yet.
We've been extremely poor since the break. Trying hard against Hearts at home doesn't cut it. That should be a prerequisite in a derby. They aren't Celtic or Rangers. I'm not seeing the beginnings of something good. I'm seeing us try to play in a certian system and not being very good at it. I would love him to shut me up (probably not as much as some folk on here would) and prove me wrong but i'm just not convinced. The club need to give the fans something on the park to get behind then it all falls into place. I'm not seeing it right now.
09-02-2022, 11:23 AM
Saturday was no doubt very poor overall, but Shaun was correct in his assessment that on another day we'd have won 3-1. Henderson should definitely have scored both his chances.
The xG plot from the match shows we deserved to win, apart from one defensive lapse we restricted them to creating very little, while creating more than enough chances to score a couple of times our self.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FK76V8jX0AcddOB?format=png&name=4096x4096
I know many on here think xG is a load of nonsense but its been proven to be the best indicator by far of how well a team is performing and likely to perform in future games (much more accurate as a metric for predicting results than possession, shots on target, passes completed or even points gained so far)
09-02-2022, 08:48 PM
Saturday was no doubt very poor overall, but Shaun was correct in his assessment that on another day we'd have won 3-1. Henderson should definitely have scored both his chances.
The xG plot from the match shows we deserved to win, apart from one defensive lapse we restricted them to creating very little, while creating more than enough chances to score a couple of times our self.
I know many on here think xG is a load of nonsense but its been proven to be the best indicator by far of how well a team is performing and likely to perform in future games (much more accurate as a metric for predicting results than possession, shots on target, passes completed or even points gained so far)
Liking this xG stuff! Would be interested to see how this method assessed the 0-0 vs hearts?
09-02-2022, 09:10 PM
Going back to the original question.
09-02-2022, 09:15 PM
Liking this xG stuff! Would be interested to see how this method assessed the 0-0 vs hearts?
Most of our xG predictably coming from Campbells late chance.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FKi1gl9WYAguqwG?format=png&name=large
09-02-2022, 09:24 PM
Going back to the original question.
I was just about to post the same. We’re going backwards but we’ve got to be patient.:rolleyes:
Paulie Walnuts
09-02-2022, 09:26 PM
I was really annoyed after the St Mirren game but the morning after once that had subsided I actually agreed with Maloneys assesment. We missed a few glorious chances and gave away a shocker. We should have won.
09-02-2022, 09:32 PM
I was really annoyed after the St Mirren game but the morning after once that had subsided I actually agreed with Maloneys assesment. We missed a few glorious chances and gave away a shocker. We should have won.
There’s no “should have”.
Teams that can’t score goals and ship cheap ones themselves don’t win games and don’t deserve to.
09-02-2022, 09:34 PM
Most of our xG predictably coming from Campbells late chance.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FKi1gl9WYAguqwG?format=png&name=large
Interesting - I was thinking after the match that Hearts edged it overall, but that late chance was huge and made it feel like a more even match.
Daily Hibs
10-02-2022, 08:11 AM
Maloney is so far out his depth. That lineup last night with 8 defensive players was mind boggling.
Arbroath on Sunday is a huge game already for his tenure. Very tough game on Sunday.
Paulie Walnuts
10-02-2022, 08:19 AM
Maloney is so far out his depth. That lineup last night with 8 defensive players was mind boggling.
Arbroath on Sunday is a huge game already for his tenure. Very tough game on Sunday.
Doig and Cadden have been playing on the left and right of our midfield for weeks now. They’re not defensive players.
Mitchell has been playing mainly as a winger and did again last night. He’s not a defensive player.
10-02-2022, 08:20 AM
Doig and Cadden have been playing on the left and right of our midfield for weeks now. They’re not defensive players.
Mitchell has been playing mainly as a winger and did again last night. He’s not a defensive player.
Yep no way it was defensive honestly worried about when Jasper came on that we were too attacking
10-02-2022, 08:22 AM
Once I actually saw how the team shaped up I thought what he tried to do made sense last night. It was helped by the enforced sub though.
Damage was done by not addressing our very obvious issues in January, after spending months talking about January saving us.
10-02-2022, 08:29 AM
Once I actually saw how the team shaped up I thought what he tried to do made sense last night. It was helped by the enforced sub though.
Damage was done by not addressing our very obvious issues in January, after spending months talking about January saving us.
This is the crux of the matter, we needed a midfielder, we've needed one maybe even two for a very long time.
Scott Allan is not getting game time, so its obvious SM does not rate him. We had to play Lewis Stevinson there last night, and as well as he did, he's not played there in years.
10-02-2022, 08:45 AM
This is the crux of the matter, we needed a midfielder, we've needed one maybe even two for a very long time.
Scott Allan is not getting game time, so its obvious SM does not rate him. We had to play Lewis Stevinson there last night, and as well as he did, he's not played there in years.
:agree: I really don’t understand it. While he’s not a Scott Allan replacement, from the little I’ve seen of him, McGrath would have added an attacking threat to our midfield. Can only assume Maloney didn’t fancy him and thought Henderson was the answer.
10-02-2022, 08:55 AM
:agree: I really don’t understand it. While he’s not a Scott Allan replacement, from the little I’ve seen of him, McGrath would have added an attacking threat to our midfield. Can only assume Maloney didn’t fancy him and thought Henderson was the answer.
I have no idea if SM wanted McGrath, but i thought he wanted to play in England, so he's seeing out his contract so he can leave for nothing in the summer.
10-02-2022, 09:01 AM
Spot on. We now have people taking about needing the summer window to sort out the mess. I have no confidence we will.
10-02-2022, 09:05 AM
It was only mind boggling because it didn’t work. I would have tried something similar. Hindsight is very handy.
stevenson
10-02-2022, 09:11 AM
I am torn.
Watching Hibs week in, week out is currently depressing (Hearts game aside). If we actually scored some goals, defensive errors might have less impact but there is little sign of improvement there.
But under Ron the club has spent the best part of £1.5 signing young players in the last 18 months, we have a manager who completely wants to change our style of play, some of our latest recruits looked brave and exciting last night, and we are bringing in young players from other countries who I assume will be coached to play the "Maloney way. If this all adds up in time to being an exciting formula for a swashbuckling team which competes near the top of the SPL and wins cup, and provides a conveyor belt of talent, I will be delighted.
But it is all an "if" at present and I fear this season will be a write off. When the interviewer recently put it to Maloney on Hibs TV that we were in a period of transition his reply was no, we are starting from scratch.
10-02-2022, 09:21 AM
Spot on. We now have people taking about needing the summer window to sort out the mess. I have no confidence we will.
We have a huge run of league games coming up:
Ross County
Celtic
Dundee
St Johnstone
Aberdeen
4 of the 5 are now bottom 6 rivals, 2 of the 5 are currently within striking distance of us in the league (and one has a game in hand) and the other 2 aren't all that far behind with a game in hand each.
We need to put to bed any risk of the play offs before the split and that means outperforming Dundee, Ross County, Aberdeen, Livingston and St Johnstone over this period. Doing that will give us every chance of top 6. Fail to do so and we will be bottom 6 and in among seasoned scrappers.
If the latter scenario plays out then people have to fall on their sword. Graeme Mathie was removed for his performance in the summer window so it stands to reason that a team that has regressed in terms of results since January should see someone face a similar outcome. Building for the future is all very well but failing to address the glaring problems in our midfield, and indeed with our strikers, is looking to be verging on disastrous. These young players are evidently being brought in to be coached in the 'new way' but if the current trend continues the new way will be over before it has even started. Since the January window opened our form reads LDLDLL and our goals for reads 002000. 2 points from 18, 2 goals from 540+ minutes of football. That's a continuation, arguably a worsening, of a run of form that dates back to October. Since 3rd October there has been 57 points to play for and we have amassed a grand total of 16, scoring 13 goals in those 19 games.
This season has been a shocker so far in almost every area and it's teetering on the edge of falling into unmitigated disaster. We need a win v Ross County. No vague positives, not another tale of the amazing chances we created and missed, not waxing lyrical over a few periods of nice play. Just a ****ing win.
10-02-2022, 09:25 AM
Ross County
Celtic
Dundee
St Johnstone
Aberdeen
4 of the 5 are now bottom 6 rivals, 2 of the 5 are currently within striking distance of us in the league (and one has a game in hand) and the other 2 aren't all that far behind with a game in hand each.
We need to put to bed any risk of the play offs before the split and that means outperforming Dundee, Ross County, Aberdeen, Livingston and St Johnstone over this period. Doing that will give us every chance of top 6. Fail to do so and we will be bottom 6 and in among seasoned scrappers.
If the latter scenario plays out then people have to fall on their sword. Graeme Mathie was removed for his performance in the summer window so it stands to reason that a team that has regressed in terms of results since January should see someone face a similar outcome. Building for the future is all very well but failing to address the glaring problems in our midfield, and indeed with our strikers, is looking to be verging on disastrous. These young players are evidently being brought in to be coached in the 'new way' but if the current trend continues the new way will be over before it has even started. Since the January window opened our form reads LDLDLL and our goals for reads 002000. 2 points from 18, 2 goals from 540+ minutes of football. That's a continuation, arguably a worsening, of a run of form that dates back to October. Since 3rd October there has been 57 points to play for and we have amassed a grand total of 16, scoring 13 goals in those 19 games.
This season has been a shocker so far in almost every area and it's teetering on the edge of falling into unmitigated disaster. We need a win v Ross County. No vague positives, not another tale of the amazing chances we created and missed, not waxing lyrical over a few periods of nice play. Just a ****ing win.
100%.
10-02-2022, 09:40 AM
I have no idea if SM wanted McGrath, but i thought he wanted to play in England, so he's seeing out his contract so he can leave for nothing in the summer.
He signed for Wigan for £150K (I think was the figure) but as far as I know was still coming to us in January had Ross still been in charge.
H18S NX
10-02-2022, 10:53 AM
Ross County
Celtic
Dundee
St Johnstone
Aberdeen
This season has been a shocker so far in almost every area and it's teetering on the edge of falling into unmitigated disaster. We need a win v Ross County. No vague positives, not another tale of the amazing chances we created and missed, not waxing lyrical over a few periods of nice play. Just a ****ing win............Well said PB,totally agree.
10-02-2022, 10:57 AM
He signed for Wigan for £150K (I think was the figure) but as far as I know was still coming to us in January had Ross still been in charge.
I had no idea he had left for Wigan, even though they are a crap rugby town team, they will still be paying much more than we do, i'm sure when given the option of Hibs under Ross for 3k a week, or Wigan for 6-7k a week, he'd have made the same decision.
10-02-2022, 10:58 AM
It was only mind boggling because it didn’t work. I would have tried something similar. Hindsight is very handy.
This is fair comment.
I looked at the line up prior to kick off and thought wtf? But we were undone by giving away a penalty in the 5th minute, so it’s impossible to say how the match would have played out had we been able to ride out the first 15-20 mins and settle into the game.
10-02-2022, 11:05 AM
This is fair comment.
I looked at the line up prior to kick off and thought wtf? But we were undone by giving away a penalty in the 5th minute, so it’s impossible to say how the match would have played out had we been able to ride out the first 15-20 mins and settle into the game.
Thought pretty much the same. Said on another thread that we should look at what Hearts did and do the opposite. We did and it worked to an extent. We weren't embarrassed at least. If we'd been mauled last night our confidence would have been in tatters.