View Full Version : Announcement Persevere

Alan62
05-02-2022, 09:29 PM
I think we all need to take a deep breath and lean into the Leith motto.

Drama queens, this isn’t your moment. Put your keyboards down and stand well clear.

Half-time angry man in the West Stand Upper, yes, you should be feeling a bit embarrassed this evening.

‘Maloney Out Gang’, let’s not get over excited.

Let’s just keep the faith.

Persevere.

05-02-2022, 09:33 PM
We all want to persevere, but what positive signs are you seeing in our current performances that are worth persevering with?

05-02-2022, 09:44 PM
The whole ‘persevere’ thing and it’s links to Hibs fans is the most ironic thing possible.

Alan62
05-02-2022, 10:01 PM
We all want to persevere, but what positive signs are you seeing in our current performances that are worth persevering with?

I am seeing chances that, on another day, go in. I am seeing an attempt to play football rather than lump it into the channels. I am seeing a conscious effort to be something different. It isn’t easy. I know. It’s a horrible transition but I am willing to give it a chance because, if we don’t, if we demand instant gratification, we will never progress. Hard work, good ideas, commitment. That’s it. Our job is to support.

05-02-2022, 10:04 PM
Birthday caird pish

05-02-2022, 10:05 PM
I am seeing chances that, on another day, go in. I am seeing an attempt to play football rather than lump it into the channels. I am seeing a conscious effort to be something different. It isn’t easy. I know. It’s a horrible transition but I am willing to give it a chance because, if we don’t, if we demand instant gratification, we will never progress. Hard work, good ideas, commitment. That’s it. Our job is to support.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkVery well put . Even in defeat today I thought there were signs that we are trying to play good football . New players look good and more to come before next season .

Alan62
05-02-2022, 10:07 PM
Birthday caird pish

Do better then.

JXM73
05-02-2022, 10:20 PM

Drama queens, this isn’t your moment. Put your keyboards down and stand well clear.

Half-time angry man in the West Stand Upper, yes, you should be feeling a bit embarrassed this evening.

Persevere.

So just suck it up buttercup? Defeats to LIVINGSTON and ST MIRREN at home? Gtf

05-02-2022, 10:20 PM
but but but, I want to throw my toys out of the pram and show that I know better than folk who have actually played the game (and to the highest level)

Alan62
05-02-2022, 11:44 PM
So just suck it up buttercup? Defeats to LIVINGSTON and ST MIRREN at home? Gtf

Transition to a new management style is difficult in all walks of life.

Trying to do something difficult is hard.

So, yes. Suck it up, Buttercup.

Keepthefaith
06-02-2022, 12:29 AM

Well said, have posted similar elsewhere. It's an incessant demand for instant success with no reflection that string foundations are needed. Many folk get an induction period into new roles and are given time to build a team, develop ideas etc. Yeah football is different in many ways but history has shown us that doing the same doesn't always bring success.

I truly believe the club are doing so and what we're laying down now will come good. Think folk have forgotten what it really means to be a supporter.

gegs70
06-02-2022, 12:40 AM
This is his first management job he's got a lot to learn but he also has a load of new players.

Bit worried being honest in the lack of goals especially after losing Boyle.

I would love if we could get another central midfielder and a striker who are out of contract???? But it is what it is and Maloney needs to sort it out otherwise it could be a difficult month with Rangers, Ross County and Celtic to come and Arbroath in the cup - managers generally don't get a lot of time to hit the ground running!!

Islington Hibs
06-02-2022, 05:05 AM
Great post.

Hibs are become unmanageable with underperformance the inevitable result. Fans turn on the team after an absurdly short period of time. It’s dispiriting and an atmosphere conducive the decline. Contrast the positivity over a decent battling performance against Hearts and the negativity here. It’s not attractive frankly.

In recent times Heckingbottom sacked after less than a year(he won 19, lost 9) , Ross -(won 48 lost 29) the treatment was absurdly harsh given his record, and now Maloney, after what 8 games where he’s won as many as he’s lost many many turn on the management. Truly pathetic.

Before Stubbs/ Lennon we were in a similar merry-go-round of sack, rebuild, sack. Did we not have over 120 different players over around 8 years? How can that possibly succeed.

There is hardly a business on earth where results are achieved so quickly. More without consistency you will get no where. And you deserve to get no where where.

Of course there are occasions when mistakes are made and change should be made but all this negativity achieves is increased pressure, recrimination and embedded failure. Give the guy a decent chance.

06-02-2022, 05:18 AM
If the fans turn against the club and players so easily then they’ll never be able to give their best. They’ll just end up going through the motions.
Happened when we couldnt get away from relegation the year Hamilton put us down.
We have to get behind the players.

JimmyJazz1875
06-02-2022, 05:41 AM
Very much in agreement with the OP. It's pretty clear what we are trying to achieve (possession based football with an interchanging forward line, overlapping wing-play, plenty of crosses, etc). Thing is though, that is a completely different style from the high-pressing counter-attacking football we have traditionally aimed for.
It is gonna take time to get the players on the same page with this, more than a few weeks. I am absolutely on board with giving Maloney that time, even if it means writing off a top 4 finish this season.

There was plenty of good football from us last night. What is clear, however, is that Mueller is still getting settled, Doidge isn't quite up to full match fitness and Nisbet, despite putting in graft, is really lacking confidence in front of goal.

Thing I don't understand though, is how is berating our own players likely to help? Confidence is absolutely key in any walk of life, and football more than most. Destroying our own teams confidence is just so counter-productive.

Anyway, we still have Melkerson to come into the side (yes, he's a first team signing!) and I thought Jasper looked like the proverbial dogs bollocks, so, you know, persevere, Keep the faith and above all, FTH.

heid the baw
06-02-2022, 05:49 AM
Great post.

Hibs are become unmanageable with underperformance the inevitable result. Fans turn on the team after an absurdly short period of time. It’s dispiriting and an atmosphere conducive the decline. Contrast the positivity over a decent battling performance against Hearts and the negativity here. It’s not attractive frankly.

In recent times Heckingbottom sacked after less than a year(he won 19, lost 9) , Ross -(won 48 lost 29) the treatment was absurdly harsh given his record, and now Maloney, after what 8 games where he’s won as many as he’s lost many many turn on the management. Truly pathetic.

Before Stubbs/ Lennon we were in a similar merry-go-round of sack, rebuild, sack. Did we not have over 120 different players over around 8 years? How can that possibly succeed.

There is hardly a business on earth where results are achieved so quickly. More without consistency you will get no where. And you deserve to get no where where.

Of course there are occasions when mistakes are made and change should be made but all this negativity achieves is increased pressure, recrimination and embedded failure. Give the guy a decent chance.

Blaming the support is an odd approach. This is not an absurd short period, this group of players have served up failure all season at home. This is illustrated in today's attendance. At least those turning on the team bothered to show up, plenty others didn't and some won't renew next year when that season ticket money just might come in handy for the gas bill increase.

Attendances are the bottom line reason why you need quick results when things go wrong. No point in sacking Jack Ross if his replacement can't bring an immediate improvement. Many of the players in today's starting lineup were the same ones who underperformed week after week under Ross. Nothing has changed and Malloney looks out his depth. You mentioned Lennon in your post as stopping the merry go round. That's because he knows how to get a team to punch above their weight. That is what I would want in a Hibs managerial appointment.

I don't think it is acceptable to lose to Livi and St Mirren at home. I doubt David Gray as temp would have taken nothing from those games. I don't see why we have to hold back the negativity

coldingham hibs
06-02-2022, 06:06 AM
Unfortunately watching this Hibs situation just makes me think of the Terry Butcher spell, a different manager with a different personality and a different playing style but ultimately the same flaws. Cannot score and losing a single goal ends the game. Add to that a support completely split a half empty stadium and an owner who appears to have departed the scene. We have a team with players who simply shouldn’t be playing and players on the bench who shouldn’t be at the club. It’s all rather demoralising and uninspiring. There’s nothing worse than hoping things work out but realising the team is in free fall. Personally I won’t feel comfortable until we are mathematically clear of the bottom 2 spots and that’s a long way off.

06-02-2022, 06:10 AM
Unfortunately watching this Hibs situation just makes me think of the Terry Butcher spell, a different manager with a different personality and a different playing style but ultimately the same flaws. Cannot score and losing a single goal ends the game. Add to that a support completely split a half empty stadium and an owner who appears to have departed the scene. We have a team with players who simply shouldn’t be playing and players on the bench who shouldn’t be at the club. It’s all rather demoralising and uninspiring. There’s nothing worse than hoping things work out but realising the team is in free fall. Personally I won’t feel comfortable until we are mathematically clear of the bottom 2 spots and that’s a long way off.

We’re probably two wins off being safe, three at a push. I’d like to think we’ve got that in us between now and the end of the season but that Butcher reign obviously proved it is possible to **** it up that spectacularly.

06-02-2022, 07:34 AM
We’re probably two wins off being safe, three at a push. I’d like to think we’ve got that in us between now and the end of the season but that Butcher reign obviously proved it is possible to **** it up that spectacularly.

The worrying thing is I can't see a win coming. We've got Rangers and Celtic coming up to dent our confidence further as well.

06-02-2022, 08:19 AM
The worrying thing is I can't see a win coming. We've got Rangers and Celtic coming up to dent our confidence further as well.
And Arbroath......
I'm all for the perseverance mode and giving SM this season to get us settled into playing more successfully as a team in his style but if we go out of the cup to Arbroath then he is going to come under increasing pressure. How he would react to that would be a huge test, especially in keeping the faith of the players, even if not half the support. Lose the dressing room and he'll be gone no matter how many of us want to persevere.

06-02-2022, 08:22 AM
Blaming the support is an odd approach. This is not an absurd short period, this group of players have served up failure all season at home. This is illustrated in today's attendance. At least those turning on the team bothered to show up, plenty others didn't and some won't renew next year when that season ticket money just might come in handy for the gas bill increase.

Attendances are the bottom line reason why you need quick results when things go wrong. No point in sacking Jack Ross if his replacement can't bring an immediate improvement. Many of the players in today's starting lineup were the same ones who underperformed week after week under Ross. Nothing has changed and Malloney looks out his depth. You mentioned Lennon in your post as stopping the merry go round. That's because he knows how to get a team to punch above their weight. That is what I would want in a Hibs managerial appointment.

I don't think it is acceptable to lose to Livi and St Mirren at home. I doubt David Gray as temp would have taken nothing from those games. I don't see why we have to hold back the negativity
Read your last sentence again and have a wee think.

thebausburst
06-02-2022, 09:18 AM
Modern football is quite simple, teams who invest and buy the better players will have (relative) success, Hearts are good example almost always finishing above us in my lifetime and have always had a bigger budget, Aberdeen ditto, if we want better performances and (relative) success on the park the finances have to be there and how that happens is down to the owner. We’re all saying they are investing, look at all these players coming in, but seriously how good are they quality wise any better than what for example Dundee Utd are bringing in I’m not convinced. We just sold our best player for 3m and as far as I can see have brought in an ex Hearts player and largely untried laddie whose played some lower league games in England. I’m sorry but our performances reflect our ‘investment’ which imo is nothing to get excited about and reflected on the park.

heid the baw
06-02-2022, 09:20 AM
Read your last sentence again and have a wee think.
Ok here's my wee think
I think people should be allowed to speak their mind and also be able to vote with their feet. If you don't think recent attendances are concerning then fine.

I don't think those who are expressing a negative view of the Malloney appointment are wrong, stupid or lesser fans. I don't blame those who stay away.

The disconnect between club and fans that Dempster worked so hard to address is back to what it was in the Butcher times. Fans feel that the decisions and communication from the club are poor. Season ticket sales will fall through the floor next season.
That's my wee think

06-02-2022, 09:24 AM
I am seeing chances that, on another day, go in.
Chances that aren't being taken because the central midfielders and strikers aren't in place to take them. Whether it's the players lacking form, players lacking ability or tactics meaning they're not in position, it needs to improve.

I am seeing an attempt to play football rather than lump it into the channels.
True, but the pedestrian pace prevents us getting any benefit. Teams have time to drop back and organise their defence, leaving us no room for a telling forward pass and no time on the ball.

I am seeing a conscious effort to be something different. It isn’t easy. I know. It’s a horrible transition but I am willing to give it a chance because, if we don’t, if we demand instant gratification, we will never progress.
Different is not necessarily better. We played very well against Dundee United by playing quickly and with width, but we've gone backwards since then and it's not all down to the opposition working out how to stop us. It's up to Maloney to see what works and what doesn't, then build on what does and change what doesn't. Simply persevering with "different" isn't enough. At the minimum he needs to adapt his style to the limitations of the current playing squad until the end of the season, otherwise we'll slip down the table which will cost us as we miss out on two full houses (Sevco, Hearts) as well as prize money and the chance of Europe. And Maloney will need those extra funds to bring in players that suit his preferred style of play.

Hard work, good ideas, commitment. That’s it.
Which we saw against Hearts, but not against Livingston or St Mirren.

Our job is to support.
Agreed, but we support Hibs and want Hibs to do well so it also means being willing to point out problems. I'm not someone who will boo players during a game (although I will comment to the guys sitting next to me) and I do cheer when we do something right, even if it doesn't work out.

06-02-2022, 09:28 AM

I saw chances that on another day would have gone in every week under Butcher. We are powderpuff.

Alan62
06-02-2022, 09:32 AM
Different is not necessarily better.

I agree. But I also think it's worth waiting to see if this different can be better.

06-02-2022, 12:28 PM

Persevere.

This guy sits (mostly jumps up and shouts) not far from me and acts the same in every game. Screams and swears at practically every move on the pitch that doesn't end up in the opponents net. Got called out yesterday after his half time rant and he was quiet(ish) for the rest of the game. He's a baw hair away from a heart attack - good job the defibrillators are nearby.

06-02-2022, 12:38 PM
Ok here's my wee think
I think people should be allowed to speak their mind and also be able to vote with their feet. If you don't think recent attendances are concerning then fine.

I don't think those who are expressing a negative view of the Malloney appointment are wrong, stupid or lesser fans. I don't blame those who stay away.

The disconnect between club and fans that Dempster worked so hard to address is back to what it was in the Butcher times. Fans feel that the decisions and communication from the club are poor. Season ticket sales will fall through the floor next season.
That's my wee think

Maybe a support who can get behind the team instead of booing and screaming at players at the drop of a hat may be actually help through this transition? Positive energy and support from the stands help the players and allow them to be more confident in what is being tried.

I hope that we can get to a point where we can mix it, play from the back and keep possession but go quick and longer when needed to break a press. It's work in progress and defensively we already look more solid than under Ross where we were conceding from every cross ball into our box.

06-02-2022, 12:58 PM
More than half the support from Tuesday never persevered on the Saturday

06-02-2022, 02:27 PM
Birthday caird pish

That made me laugh

06-02-2022, 02:41 PM
Some folk need to make their minds up on whether they support Hibs or Jack Ross. The recent bedwetting on here is becoming unbearable.

Anyone remember Sir Alex Ferguson's early days with Man United?

heid the baw
06-02-2022, 03:15 PM
Some folk need to make their minds up on whether they support Hibs or Jack Ross. The recent bedwetting on here is becoming unbearable.

Is that the same Alex Ferguson who had won 3 league titles in Scotland, 4 Scottish cups, a league cup and European cup winners cup previously 😀

06-02-2022, 03:30 PM
Modern football is quite simple, teams who invest and buy the better players will have (relative) success, Hearts are good example almost always finishing above us in my lifetime and have always had a bigger budget, Aberdeen ditto, if we want better performances and (relative) success on the park the finances have to be there and how that happens is down to the owner. We’re all saying they are investing, look at all these players coming in, but seriously how good are they quality wise any better than what for example Dundee Utd are bringing in I’m not convinced. We just sold our best player for 3m and as far as I can see have brought in an ex Hearts player and largely untried laddie whose played some lower league games in England. I’m sorry but our performances reflect our ‘investment’ which imo is nothing to get excited about and reflected on the park.

When was the last time Hearts finished above Hibs? Serious question?

:cb

06-02-2022, 03:31 PM

Ferguson had just dominated Scottish football with Aberdeen and won them a European trophy. He was one of the best managers in Europe when he went to Man United. Maloney is very much an experiment.

06-02-2022, 03:36 PM

Comparing Maloney with Fergie is laughable.

06-02-2022, 03:40 PM
When was the last time Hearts finished above Hibs? Serious question?

:cb

10 years since they did it in the top league (though 4 of the seasons didn't have both of us in the top league).

06-02-2022, 03:42 PM
Comparing Maloney with Fergie is laughable.

You miss the point and if you dont see it then I'm not going to explain.

06-02-2022, 03:55 PM

Agree with the first part. Jack Ross, along with plenty of others, is part of the reason we are in the nick we are. Some folk seem to have a real desperation to prove that we were wrong to get rid of him though.

Maloney clearly needs to start getting some results again though. Don’t expect anything on Wednesday. If we don’t win agains Arbroath and Ross County, I’ll be pretty worried though.

06-02-2022, 04:03 PM

Seems to be becoming a new thing where people who think the club may have taken a wrong turn are branded “Jack Ross lovers” or similar.

I really don’t think it’s about Jack Ross and genuinely don’t think anyone is basing their thoughts on their feelings for one guy. There was never a huge warmth to him from many of our fans regardless on whether you believed in his abilities.

Seems more the case that some people are maybe realising that change isn’t always the answer … or at least that you need to be sure you’re making a measured decision.

At this point - and I’m not saying it’s all down to Maloney, people are feeling massively concerned about how things are shaping up and with good reason.