On loan till end of season.
edited Efe I meant.

04-02-2022, 06:42 PM
Best club in Fife

04-02-2022, 07:04 PM
Best club in Fife

When i was at school early 1960s,my big brother took me over to East End Park more than once to see that great Pars team in Europe.Fond of them ever since.

Then they had two great players in their forward line.

George Peebles and Harry Melrose.

What was the longest pass ever in World football ?

Melrose to Peebles :greengrin

Hoooft !!

04-02-2022, 08:21 PM
When i was at school early 1960s,my big brother took me over to East End Park more than once to see that great Pars team in Europe.Fond of them ever since.

Hoooft !!

There has to be a one liner about Benny Brazil in there somewhere!

04-02-2022, 08:37 PM
There has to be a one liner about Benny Brazil in there somewhere!

I dont know about Benny.
I guess when he left Hibs his career was at a crossroads.

04-02-2022, 08:39 PM
I dont know about Benny.
I guess when he left Hibs his career was at a crossroads.

McArthur can throw the ball as far as Brazil every week. That sort of thing!

04-02-2022, 08:46 PM
McArthur can throw the ball as far as Brazil every week. That sort of thing!

Crossroads? Naw

I get you ....as far as Brazil..but Benny couldnae trap it and it landed in Peru

Ok al get ma jaicket,, Goodnight !

04-02-2022, 09:13 PM

Hoooft !!

Their centre forward Charlie Dickson was nicknamed Galashiels because he was between Melrose and Peebles! IIRC Charlie scored 2 when the wee team Heartsed it in the 1968 final!!

04-02-2022, 09:45 PM
Their centre forward Charlie Dickson was nicknamed Galashiels because he was between Melrose and Peebles! IIRC Charlie scored 2 when the wee team Heartsed it in the 1968 final!!Was this final which Alex Edwards played in in his teens ? Mid teens at that . Before my time but I vaguely remember Hearts losing cup final in 1968 but certainly remember Dunfermline winning in Europe about same time so result was no surprise - Dunfermline were a better team than Hearts for several or more years at that time not that that was difficult !

04-02-2022, 10:00 PM

Hoooft !!

My auld man enjoyed that yin 😂

I should stress that does NOT make it a good joke 😁

04-02-2022, 10:11 PM
Was this final which Alex Edwards played in in his teens ? Mid teens at that . Before my time but I vaguely remember Hearts losing cup final in 1968 but certainly remember Dunfermline winning in Europe about same time so result was no surprise - Dunfermline were a better team than Hearts for several or more years at that time not that that was difficult !

Yes,Alex did play and Roy Barry was in that Pars team,too.
Good centre half was Roy at Hibs and Hearts.
The Manager,George Farm had a short spell at Hibs after the war.

I was at that final .I was 16,
I had a pal who stayed in Stenhouse who was a Jambo and his older family members asked if i wanted to go with them.
Went on a bus from the BMC Club.
Apart from that,no recall of the game itself.

04-02-2022, 10:15 PM
My auld man enjoyed that yin 😂

I should stress that does NOT make it a good joke 😁

Oldie,but a goldie !

04-02-2022, 10:18 PM
Their centre forward Charlie Dickson was nicknamed Galashiels because he was between Melrose and Peebles! IIRC Charlie scored 2 when the wee team Heartsed it in the 1968 final!!

Good old Charlie !! Thats brilliant !

As Max Boyce used to say "I was there"

04-02-2022, 10:19 PM
Yes,Alex did play and Roy Barry was in that Pars team,too.
Good centre half was Roy at Hibs and Hearts.
The Manager,George Farm had a short spell at Hibs after the war.

I was at that final .I was 16,
I had a pal who stayed in Stenhouse who was a Jambo and his older family members asked if i wanted to go with them.
Went on a bus from the BMC Club.
Apart from that,no recall of the game itself.

George Farm played a handful of games for Hibs before moving south, he went on to play well over 400 games for my local club Blackpool including being the keeper in the legendary 53 FA cup final when Blackpool beat Bolton 4-3. Played for Scotland too.

zitelli62
05-02-2022, 09:03 AM
Always been my second team my dad's best friend was Harry Melrose brother and got us tickets a lot of the time so I went a lot real affection for them not as much as hibs though.