View Full Version : Tonights bigot-fest
02-02-2022, 08:49 PM
lol
Seriously though. How bouncing would ER have been if it eas us V hearts.
02-02-2022, 08:50 PM
Who’s Ben Doak.
Was discussing him with a mate at the weekend as I didn’t recognise the name.
Doak is 9 months older than his daughter… he was born in 2005.
He pops up on their English game coverage too. They must see the same in him as they do other empty heads like Lee Hendrie, Andy Walker, Davie Provan, Michael Dawson….
Yip was on amazon prime for a number of EPL games.
How crap was that atmosphere. Imagine we were beating hearts 3-0 for the whole of the 2nd half.
Seem Ed pretty good to me.
02-02-2022, 08:59 PM
Celtic manager has been giving the chance to bring his own
players in to suit the way he wants his team to play...
Cat Stanton
02-02-2022, 09:15 PM
Doak is 9 months older than his daughter… he was born in 2005.
Weirdo inbred Celtc players.
02-02-2022, 09:16 PM
Gios puss incoming should be decent
02-02-2022, 09:42 PM
Seriously though. How bouncing would ER have been if it eas us V hearts.
Celtc Park was bouncing.
HibsIntl
02-02-2022, 10:07 PM
**** the how good the atmosphere was.
Will the resulting riots in Glasgow, arrests, domestic abuse, sectarianism, people waking up having tweeted Vile stuff when drunk that’s going to impact their life be worth it?
Yes it would be amazing to have ER bouncing in a similar way but the ripple effects of bigot fest aren’t worth it.
02-02-2022, 10:14 PM
They copy everything we do first!
3-0 against them at half time🤔
02-02-2022, 10:16 PM
When they’re at full steam Celtic are absolutely unplayable this season. Think they’ll go on to win the league now.
LunasBoots
03-02-2022, 01:09 AM
**** the how good the atmosphere was.
Will the resulting riots in Glasgow, arrests, domestic abuse, sectarianism, people waking up having tweeted Vile stuff when drunk that’s going to impact their life be worth it?
Yes it would be amazing to have ER bouncing in a similar way but the ripple effects of bigot fest aren’t worth it.
I hear Rangers fans where there horrible selves in Glasgow centre tonight.
...WentToMowAnSPL
03-02-2022, 01:41 AM
Ouch!
03-02-2022, 06:43 AM
Barasic's performance could well be the worst by a left back since Jamie McQuilken in the 96-97 play-offs at Airdrie.
That was a memory I really didn't need brought up 😁
This has turned into a borefest without away fans.
hibstag
03-02-2022, 07:14 AM
Kris Boyd is a total embarrassment and I can’t believe Sky are paying him for his contributions. Trying to argue the first goal should not have stood was just ridiculous. I don’t know how the rest of the studio didn’t burst out laughing.
He really struggles with the blue tinted specs on and a few well crafted memes add to this persona . I'm going against the grain here but I have found him quite good on the non match related round table stuff on SSN . He made a really valid point about how young players get their chance and how Covid and injury call offs in the premiership were becoming an issue that stifles this opportunity. He also came across well on the super Saturday covering English league stuff
03-02-2022, 07:16 AM
When they’re at full steam Celtic are absolutely unplayable this season. Think they’ll go on to win the league now.
Considering the money that they've spent the last two windows, it would be embarrassing for them if they didn't.
This thread again showing we have a far too many Hibs fans with soft spots for Celtic.
Renfrew_Hibby
03-02-2022, 07:32 AM
He really struggles with the blue tinted specs on and a few well crafted memes add to this persona . I'm going against the grain here but I have found him quite good on the non match related round table stuff on SSN . He made a really valid point about how young players get their chance and how Covid and injury call offs in the premiership were becoming an issue that stifles this opportunity. He also came across well on the super Saturday covering English league stuff
He was a total git the other night when they signed Ramsey, really pi$$ing off Clinton Morrison who looked like he wanted to deck the fud. Hope they get them on together very soon now after last night, Clinton will be relishing it!
Mantis Toboggan
03-02-2022, 07:52 AM
Barasic's performance could well be the worst by a left back since Jamie McQuilken in the 96-97 play-offs at Airdrie.
I was sure that was his last game for us (and rightly so) but according to wiki he played one more at the start of 97/98. Replaced by Jimmy Boco - that ended well.
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 07:55 AM
Considering the money that they've spent the last two windows, it would be embarrassing for them if they didn't.
This thread again showing we have a far too many Hibs fans with soft spots for Celtic.
03-02-2022, 08:43 AM
Not really. Just people expressing an opinion about football.
Its tiresome when any comment about this fixture is pounced upon by a poster trying to find evidence of bias (and presumably finger pointing about Irish politics/religion, lurking in the background like a bad smell). Celtc are simply good to watch at the moment.
03-02-2022, 08:55 AM
Its tiresome when any comment about this fixture is pounced upon by a poster trying to find evidence of bias (and presumably finger pointing about Irish politics/religion, lurking in the background like a bad smell). Celtc are simply good to watch at the moment.
this presumed zero-sum game with the old firm is hilarious. Apparently if you have pure undiluted hatred for one it means you must have a soft spot for the other.
I support Hibs. I dislike Celtic and I despise Rangers. Frankly why enjoying the huns getting a doing should irritate other Hibs fans is difficult to fathom. It absolutely does not mean I support Celtic in any way, shape, or form.
OldEast
03-02-2022, 08:57 AM
Agree, the Japanese contingent in particular are excellent. Wish we had them.
03-02-2022, 09:00 AM
this presumed zero-sum game with the old firm is hilarious. Apparently if you have pure undiluted hatred for one it means you must have a soft spot for the other.
I support Hibs. I dislike Celtic and I despise Rangers. Frankly why enjoying the huns getting a doing should irritate other Hibs fans is difficult to fathom. It absolutely does not mean I support Celtic in any way, shape, or form.
I absolutely despise the New Huns. Last night was a nice bit of schadenfreude.
03-02-2022, 09:01 AM
Thats *****, if Rangers had done it to Celtic folk would be saying the exact same thing.
You're allowed to discuss and compliment while still finding them detestable.
03-02-2022, 09:03 AM
That was a memory I really didn't need brought up 😁
Pretty sure it could be trumped by Kujabi anyway.
(Sorry.)
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 09:05 AM
When Rangers are good to watch do we see people waxing lyrical about them?
03-02-2022, 09:07 AM
Certianly no soft spot for Celtic from me. The entitled way they acted over the cup final tickets in December reminded me just how much i can't stand them but i can appreciate how well they played last night. Similarly Rangers got a lot of praise for how they played last season especially in Europe. I hope they lose every game they play but good football is good football.
03-02-2022, 09:08 AM
Who's waxing lyrical about them? No one on here thats for sure.
03-02-2022, 09:18 AM
I don’t know. Probably. Who cares?
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 09:20 AM
I don’t know. Probably. Who cares?
Not I.
03-02-2022, 09:30 AM
I’ll be supporting them on Sunday if that counts
03-02-2022, 09:35 AM
Dont be cute now !!:greengrin
You know fine well why many Hibernian supporters have an inherent,deep rooted abhorance to what rAngers and their supporters represent in Scottish society.
"Wax lyrical" about the club whose many followers would love to be "up to their knees in my blood" and terrorise small communities in Scotland every Summer with their anti Catholic pageantry.
I will wax lyrical if i am here to see them implode again!
On wanting Celtic to win last night ?
Of course i did. I wanted them to score 7.
03-02-2022, 09:37 AM
As much as I utterly detest them, I can't disagree with you - there are some quality players in that team and Postecoglu has them playing some brilliant stuff. Players like Jota, Hatate, Juranovic etc won't be at the club long and will probably go on to play at a decent level down south in the next year or so - even if playing for a club you can't stand, there's nothing wrong in grudgingly praising them from time to time, whilst simultaneously hoping they lose every game.
I'm glad to see I'm not the only one on here who makes a point of calling them Celtc to this day :greengrin
03-02-2022, 09:37 AM
When Rangers are good to watch do we see people waxing lyrical about them?I took dogs abuse for calling them the Barcelona of Scotland during that period
So, some were, yes.
And now I'd gladly say celtic are a very very good side with the potential to be a great side
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
03-02-2022, 09:40 AM
I'm maybe in the minority, but as much as I also hate Rangers, yes, I was willing to say when I thought they were playing some excellent football.
Again, they have players that won't be long for this league and will earn their move to something bigger and better soon. But last night, they were positively brutal to a man (apart from Ryan Jack when he came on).
If a football fan can't praise good football (or players), even when it's a rival club, they're not true football fans IMO.
03-02-2022, 09:42 AM
I have no strong feelings for any football club apart from Hibs, hearts and the rangers.
If one of the other teams are playing well, I'm happy to acknowledge that and Celtc were very impressive in the first half yesterday.
I will never "wax lyrical" about hearts or the rangers.
I dislike hearts because they're our local rivals but I despise the rangers for everything they stand for.
Just for the record, I love Hibs.
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 09:43 AM
I'm maybe in the minority, but as much as I also hate Rangers, yes, I was willing to say when I thought they were playing some excellent football.
Again, they have players that won't be long for this league and will earn their move to something bigger and better soon. But last night, they were positively brutal to a man (apart from Ryan Jack when he came on).
If a football fan can't praise good football (or players), even when it's a rival club, they're not true football fans IMO.
I agree :agree: but when it comes to those 2 I tend to remain silent. They both have a huge advantage over the rest of us.
03-02-2022, 09:45 AM
I see you lived in Lanark.
My Faither was born and raised in Lanark,1920s onwards.
Very much in the minority in Lanark back then.Probably still the same.
He knew about being told to mind his place when marching season came round.
No praise for "them" from my old man.
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 09:51 AM
I have no strong feelings for any football club apart from Hibs, hearts and the rangers.
If one of the other teams are playing well, I'm happy to acknowledge that and Celtc were very impressive in the first half yesterday.
I will never "wax lyrical" about hearts or the rangers.
I dislike hearts because they're our local rivals but I despise the rangers for everything they stand for.
Just for the record, I love Hibs.
I have feelings for one club and one club only.
If I were to have feelings for another it would be our cousins from the west who since their inception tried every trick in the book to put us out of business. Hearts and Rangers were willing to welcome us with open arms :wink:
03-02-2022, 10:05 AM
I’ll be supporting them on Sunday if that counts
03-02-2022, 10:09 AM
If I were to have feelings for another it would be our cousins from the west who since their inception tried every trick in the book to put us out of business. Hearts and Rangers were willing to welcome us with open arms :wink:
is your last sentence there some sort of joke?
Credit to hearts for the Christmas Day friendly when no one else wanted us anywhere near Scottish football but the credit stops there. They stuck the boot into us continuously after that, including voting against us getting into the league in the early 1890s. Don’t even get me started on 1990…
03-02-2022, 10:12 AM
If anyone here is in doubt about the nauseating inherent deference to Celtic among some Hibs fans, I have two words for you: Jason Cummings.
03-02-2022, 10:15 AM
If anyone here is in doubt about the nauseating inherent deference to Celtic among some Hibs fans, I have two words for you: Jason Cummings.
What's JC got to do with Celtc? Genuinely mystified. :confused:
03-02-2022, 10:15 AM
Agree, the Japanese contingent in particular are excellent. Wish we had them.
Our Norwegian contingent will be even better :greengrin
People are merely pointing out the obvious, Celtic are streets ahead of the rest of Scottish football and play in an attractive attacking way.
03-02-2022, 10:31 AM
How nauseating were our two loan signings from Celtic who played not a small part in our cup run and win. :greengrin
Anthony and Liam.
Oh... and Dylan McGeoch !! :agree:
James Stephen
03-02-2022, 10:33 AM
Hearts tried to have Hibs expelled from Edinburgh football, and also tried to buy Hibs over in 1990.
Rangers havent, as far as i know. Neither have Celtic, although they probably did act in bad faith and an underhand manner upon their founding.
Regardless, as with many others on this thread, the only team i really detest is the Huns. Most other clubs i dont mind, including Celtic.
03-02-2022, 10:35 AM
I agree :agree: but when it comes to those 2 I tend to remain silent. They both have a huge advantage over the rest of us.
Absolutely, and the ill-gotten source of the revenue that allows that massive financial advantage is often ignored. It's easy to bring in quality players when you have 10x the budget of most of your rivals, so the competition is irrevocably diluted. Hatred of the club or their fanbase isn't a good enough reason to fail to see that x is a decent player though (which we clearly agree on).
I see you lived in Lanark.
My Faither was born and raised in Lanark,1920s onwards.
Very much in the minority in Lanark back then.Probably still the same.
He knew about being told to mind his place when marching season came round.
No praise for "them" from my old man.
I live here, yes, but I'm not from here (originally from West Lothian) - and I'm all too familiar with the fact that this 'Royal Burgh' is a blue town - though ironically, having said that, the only abuse I've received here randomly in the street was a Celtc fan calling me a hun c*** while walking through town wearing a blue and white Quiksilver shirt following an Old Firm game where Celtc pumped them, and in the 6 years I've been living here, I've only ever seen one Orange Walk and it was bizarrely in November last year.
I've very little praise for the bigots that support them or the general 'mantra' of both clubs - but it doesn't mean I can't praise a good football player or team when I see one - even if I detest everything they stand for.
03-02-2022, 10:40 AM
Pretty much sums up the way I feel too and I'd expect the majority of Hibs fans would have a similar view. In fact, I think the huns are despised by most non-OF supporting Scottish football fans. The hun fans even acknowledge they are universally hated in one of the sectarian ditties they blast out regularly.
03-02-2022, 10:50 AM
Absolutely, and the ill-gotten source of the revenue that allows that massive financial advantage is often ignored. It's easy to bring in quality players when you have 10x the budget of most of your rivals, so the competition is irrevocably diluted. Hatred of the club or their fanbase isn't a good enough reason to fail to see that x is a decent player though (which we clearly agree on).
I live here, yes, but I'm not from here (originally from West Lothian) - and I'm all too familiar with the fact that this 'Royal Burgh' is a blue town - though ironically, having said that, the only abuse I've received here randomly in the street was a Celtc fan calling me a hun c*** while walking through town wearing a blue and white Quiksilver shirt following an Old Firm game where Celtc pumped them, and in the 6 years I've been living here, I've only ever seen one Orange Walk and it was bizarrely in November last year.
I've very little praise for the bigots that support them or the general 'mantra' of both clubs - but it doesn't mean I can't praise a good football player or team when I see one - even if I detest everything they stand for.
Not been through for a long time,
Lost touch with younger cousin,nephews etc.
Old man lived in New Lanark.
Family still had a house in Braxfield Terrace when i was growing up .
So through there a lot
Most recent was a cousin in Kenilworth Road.
Had some good times in Lanark.And drunken Lanimars !
Good it has a Hibernian Branch :greengrin
November march?
I think some lodges use Armistice Day as an excuse to march.
As if Irish Catholics didn't serve and die in both world wars.
03-02-2022, 10:56 AM
although they probably did act in bad faith and an underhand manner upon their founding.
Absolutely 100% definitely did. Agree with the rest of your post.
03-02-2022, 11:04 AM
Well said. It seems to be a thing that supporting a team means you have to have a sliding scale of hatred fur the other sides and their supporters. Cards on the table, first and foremost I am Hibs supporter then a Scottish and I like to appreciate a good game of football even if it is not involving Hibs or Scotland. My preference, however, it to watch Scottish football.
That said, I really don’t care what Scottish team beats the the rangers and I hope they get cuffed by our neighbours at the weekend. I will be at ER on Saturday but sat firmly infront of a tv to watch the two games on Sunday too. I don’t think it makes me any less a Hibs supporter.
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 11:14 AM
is your last sentence there some sort of joke?
Credit to hearts for the Christmas Day friendly when no one else wanted us anywhere near Scottish football but the credit stops there. They stuck the boot into us continuously after that, including voting against us getting into the league in the early 1890s. Don’t even get me started on 1990…
Hearts and Rangers both voted for us to get promotion when we won the 2nd division way back in the day, Celtic's vote kept us down, it was the following season when we won it again that we were promoted. Not sure what history books I've been reading if that's not the case.
As for 1990 that was not so much Hearts as one man, and as it turned out he did us a favour although it didn't feel like it at the time.
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 11:16 AM
Well said. It seems to be a thing that supporting a team means you have to have a sliding scale of hatred fur the other sides and their supporters. Cards on the table, first and foremost I am Hibs supporter then a Scottish and I like to appreciate a good game of football even if it is not involving Hibs or Scotland. My preference, however, it to watch Scottish football.
That said, I really don’t care what Scottish team beats the the rangers and I hope they get cuffed by our neighbours at the weekend. I will be at ER on Saturday but sat firmly infront of a tv to watch the two games on Sunday too. I don’t think it makes me any less a Hibs supporter.
I'm pretty much in the same boat as you ( I think ) I'll be watching The Rangers v Hearts game cheering on the Gers but only cos they're playing Hearts, it won't ruin my day if they don't.
OldEast
03-02-2022, 11:51 AM
In my 50 odd years of watching Hibs I've never hated Hearts. Never liked them and always want them to get beat but never hated them. Also defeat to them is far more painful than defeat to any other club. Rangers though are a whole different matter. A fan base the length and breadth of the country spewing hatred and poison means I genuinely hate them as a club.
03-02-2022, 11:56 AM
Hearts and Rangers both voted for us to get promotion when we won the 2nd division way back in the day, Celtic's vote kept us down, it was the following season when we won it again that we were promoted. Not sure what history books I've been reading if that's not the case.
As for 1990 that was not so much Hearts as one man, and as it turned out he did us a favour although it didn't feel like it at the time.
Total bollocks Yam revisionism. Hearts attempted a hostile takeover of Hibs with the intention of closing us down. Mercer may have been the prime mover but their whole club bought into his plan.
03-02-2022, 12:01 PM
I'm pretty much in the same boat as you ( I think ) I'll be watching The Rangers v Hearts game cheering on the Gers but only cos they're playing Hearts, it won't ruin my day if they don't.
Am actually stunned to read that a Hibs supporter wrote that.
I know and have said why i loathe that club and its bigot followers.
My wee brother Billy,God bless him,had another reason.
Billy when he was 14 went along to Tynecastle one Wednesday night in 1968 with 2 Hearts pals from Clerry.
They sneaked in,or got a lift over.
The game was a Cup replay v rAngers
The Attendance was over 44.000.No segregation.
In the final minutes,Donald Ford scored the winner for Hearts.
The hordes streamed out. Fights all over the place.
Billy's abiding memory from that game was not the fine goal scored by Ford, but an adult hun smashing a glass bottle into the face of a schoolboy Jambo outside the ground.
That was Billy's reason for loathing that mob.
In all those years,not a lot,if anything has changed with that "entitled" mob.
I know we are a bit behind our rivals, but i hope they beat that lot at the weekend.
On the evidence of what we saw at Celtic Park ,its very possible.
03-02-2022, 12:13 PM
im nearly certain hearts (and Celtic) voted against our promotion but I’d have to check
03-02-2022, 12:15 PM
Even if all that is true how does it stop anyone admitting that Celtic are playing really good football at the minute?
The first 25 minutes they played against us I was left thinking that's how I want Hibs to play, doesn't mean you like them in any way shape or form
03-02-2022, 04:50 PM
In my 50 odd years of watching Hibs I've never hated Hearts. Never liked them and always want them to get beat but never hated them. Also defeat to them is far more painful than defeat to any other club. Rangers though are a whole different matter. A fan base the length and breadth of the country spewing hatred and poison means I genuinely hate them as a club.
I get where you are coming from. My dislike of Them isn't on the same scale as the absolute loathing I have for The The Huns as a club and their supporters as a whole. I know the odd Hun supporter, some of whom incredibly are decent folk in every other aspect, but one of whom has sent me to Coventry cos he can't take a ribbing about his horrible horrible club. No great loss.
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 05:02 PM
Total bollocks Yam revisionism. Hearts attempted a hostile takeover of Hibs with the intention of closing us down. Mercer may have been the prime mover but their whole club bought into his plan.
Yam revisionism you say :confused:, he WAS the whole club at the time. Wee Robbo never bought into his plan did he, but you crack on with your own version of bollocks, I'm happy with what I know to be the truth as I saw it.
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 05:04 PM
Even if all that is true how does it stop anyone admitting that Celtic are playing really good football at the minute?
The first 25 minutes they played against us I was left thinking that's how I want Hibs to play, doesn't mean you like them in any way shape or form
I've known quite a few Hibs fans who've drooled over a celtic performance against us citing what you did. It turned my stomach as much then as it did now.
Superscoreboard just starting, expecting plenty of tears and snotters.
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 05:09 PM
People are merely pointing out the obvious, Celtic are streets ahead of the rest of Scottish football and play in an attractive attacking way.
Streets ahead? they needed an injury time winner against the mighty Ross County and scraped through against Hearts recently, where does that make them streets ahead? they have a lead of a point in the League.
03-02-2022, 05:14 PM
I see that fud McCann has been spouting off that Hatate's first goal should have been chalked off 'cos a Hun was down with a head knock. Geez peace. The boy took a glancing slap from one of his own but fell as if he'd been floored by a Tyson Fury haymaker. "But but player safety comes first." Get tae.....
This "stop the game 'cos of a head knock" is getting abused (a la Porto on Tuesday) and it's only going to get worse. Imagine that sort of accidental contact happening on Saturday at Murrayfield. In fact, don't imagine. It probably will happen about fifty times, but no-one will take any notice, with not one second of hesitation nor any histrionics.
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 05:23 PM
Am actually stunned to read that a Hibs supporter wrote that.
I know and have said why i loathe that club and its bigot followers.
My wee brother Billy,God bless him,had another reason.
Billy when he was 14 went along to Tynecastle one Wednesday night in 1968 with 2 Hearts pals from Clerry.
They sneaked in,or got a lift over.
The game was a Cup replay v rAngers
The Attendance was over 44.000.No segregation.
In the final minutes,Donald Ford scored the winner for Hearts.
The hordes streamed out. Fights all over the place.
Billy's abiding memory from that game was not the fine goal scored by Ford, but an adult hun smashing a glass bottle into the face of a schoolboy Jambo outside the ground.
That was Billy's reason for loathing that mob.
In all those years,not a lot,if anything has changed with that "entitled" mob.
I know we are a bit behind our rivals, but i hope they beat that lot at the weekend.
On the evidence of what we saw at Celtic Park ,its very possible.
I was once punched in the mouth at Ibrox by a grown man when I was 16 standing in line to get into the old enclosure, I was told by my elders not to wear my scarf, it was a harsh lesson. It hasn't made me hate their whole club though.
Come to think of it we were jumped by some Ayr Utd fans in the late 70s, I don't hate them either.
James Stephen
03-02-2022, 05:25 PM
Yam revisionism you say :confused:, he WAS the whole club at the time. Wee Robbo never bought into his plan did he, but you crack on with your own version of bollocks, I'm happy with what I know to be the truth as I saw it.
Alternatively, the fact that Robbo's principled stance sticks in the memory from that time so much is because it was the exception, and he was one of very few Hearts supporters who were against the move at the time.
The official prospectus of that offer was Heart of Midlothian offer to buy Hibernian.
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 05:30 PM
Alternatively, the fact that Robbo's principled stance sticks in the memory from that time so much is because it was the exception, and he was one of very few Hearts supporters who were against the move at the time.
The official prospectus of that offer was Heart of Midlothian offer to buy Hibernian.
I know exactly what it was I lived through it and one of the first at ER when the news broke.
03-02-2022, 05:38 PM
Your usual way of “staying silent” I see.
Can’t believe anyone still takes your posts seriously when you’re clearly at it. Appealing for folk to have more time for Huns and hearts 😂😂
03-02-2022, 05:39 PM
The Gers…
I know exactly what it was I lived through it and one of the first at ER when the news broke.
Me too, remember it very well. Anyone who tells you that the hearts fans were against it and supported our fight en masse are I'm afraid lying. At best they were ambivalent but most were pissing themselves about it and rubbing their hands at the thought. The myth that there were hundreds of them at the rally at ER and the Usher Hall is laughable
The Gers…
It’ll be ‘the teddy bears’ next :agree: ‘drooling’ and ‘stomach churning’ anyone?
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 05:41 PM
Your usual way of “staying silent” I see.
Can’t believe anyone still takes your posts seriously when you’re clearly at it. Appealing for folk to have more time for Huns and hearts 😂😂
:faf: WTF are you on about now? At what? You clearly can't read if that's what you read into my post.
03-02-2022, 05:43 PM
:faf: WTF are you on about now? At what? You clearly can't read if that's what you read into my post.
You seem to find people reading your posts the wrong way quite often.
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 05:44 PM
Me too, remember it very well. Anyone who tells you that the hearts fans were against it and supported our fight en masse are I'm afraid lying. At best they were ambivalent but most were pissing themselves about it and rubbing their hands at the thought. The myth that there were hundreds of them at the rally at ER and the Usher Hall is laughable
Who said anything about en masse? Most of them probably were pissing themselves laughing, as would most of our fans. The more level headed would have thought otherwise though.
Not sure where you get the last part of your sentence from :confused:
03-02-2022, 05:44 PM
It’ll be ‘the teddy bears’ next :agree: ‘drooling’ and ‘stomach churning’ anyone?
If I took him remotely seriously it would be beyond stomach churning 👍
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 05:46 PM
You seem to find people reading your posts the wrong way quite often.
You and a couple of others have a habit of twisting yup, or quoting partial posts.
03-02-2022, 05:51 PM
I took dogs abuse for calling them the Barcelona of Scotland during that period
So, some were, yes.
And now I'd gladly say celtic are a very very good side with the potential to be a great side
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Yep. I absolutely despise rangers - I still despised them at the time but nobody could argue their unbeaten season (under that prick Gerard) was impressive and they were a very good side.
I despise Celtic but it’s night and day the improvement in their play since this time last year (I forget who on here kept insisting Ange P was a donkey and would be gone in weeks after a slow start.. but he’s doing a very good job).
I hate them both and always will and wish they were constantly pish.. but it doesn’t happen.
Oh and 1/2 Celtic to win the league right now as an absolute gift in my opinion.
pollution
03-02-2022, 05:51 PM
If Hibs had disappeared at that time, I remember thinking that I could not support the club that had caused it. How could any Hibs fan have done so ?
So which team would I have watched. It really was a simple choice, fortunately it did not happen of course.
Some friends would have followed Celtic because of their style of play. Others would go to watch Hearts in order to support ex Hibs players.
For younger fans today it must be all ancient history but it was do or die stuff which worked out ok in the end .
James Stephen
03-02-2022, 05:59 PM
Ok, so Celtic make your stomach turn, but Rangers you are ambivalent to, and you think the 1990 takeover was all 'a big boy did it ran away'.
03-02-2022, 06:00 PM
Ok, so Celtic make your stomach turn, but Rangers you are ambivalent to, and you think the 1990 takeover was all 'a big boy did it ran away'.
Get it right now, its 'the Gers' apparently :agree:
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 06:03 PM
Get it right now, its 'the Gers' apparently :agree:
Not sure what your game is but put your spoon in your mouth, better still put it away. Your childish attempts at stirring are beneath a man of your intelligence.
03-02-2022, 06:03 PM
Who said anything about en masse? Most of them probably were pissing themselves laughing, as would most of our fans. The more level headed would have thought otherwise though.
Got to disagree with you on this. The majority of Hearts fans I knew at the time were in favour of us going to the wall. It was just all the funnier to them that it was their hero who was driving it.
Hearts supporters like John Robertson were definitely in the minority.
03-02-2022, 06:04 PM
A common myth put about by jambos that they helped save Hibs
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 06:04 PM
Hibs fans drooling over the way celtic play turns my stomach, you another one that can't read? Your last part's not worth a reply.
03-02-2022, 06:05 PM
Not sure what your game is but put your spoon in your mouth, better still put it away. Your childish attempts at stirring are beneath a man of your intelligence.
I disagree. Its good clean fun. And im not all that bright either :greengrin
03-02-2022, 06:06 PM
I disagree. Its good clean fun. And im not all that bright either :greengrin
In that case - come join the reading classes with me, James Stephen and the rest of the gang 🤗
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 06:09 PM
In that case - come join the reading classes with me, James Stephen and the rest of the gang 🤗
Enjoy your night Russ, I'm being told my teas oot :greengrin
03-02-2022, 06:11 PM
Enjoy your night Russ, I'm being told my teas oot :greengrin
Luck you - I’m away to play fitbaw in the wind and rain!
Until next time, crunch 👍
I see that fud McCann has been spouting off that Hatate's first goal should have been chalked off 'cos a Hun was down with a head knock. Geez peace. The boy took a glancing slap from one of his own but fell as if he'd been floored by a Tyson Fury haymaker. "But but player safety comes first." Get tae.....
This "stop the game 'cos of a head knock" is getting abused (a la Porto on Tuesday) and it's only going to get worse. Imagine that sort of accidental contact happening on Saturday at Murrayfield. In fact, don't imagine. It probably will happen about fifty times, but no-one will take any notice, with not one second of hesitation nor any histrionics.
Just checked and it was only 3 seconds from Bassey going down and the ball hitting the back of the net. It's not as if the ref had been ignoring a player down with a head knock. Bassey managed to play the remaining 85 minutes okay.
03-02-2022, 09:35 PM
Got to disagree with you on this. The majority of Hearts fans I knew at the time were in favour of us going to the wall. It was just all the funnier to them that it was their hero who was driving it.
Hearts supporters like John Robertson were definitely in the minority.
Absolutely correct
03-02-2022, 10:32 PM
Exactly!
03-02-2022, 10:36 PM
Spot on. Surprised El Crunch had any time for Hands Off Hibs with all the SNP campaigns he was doing at the time. :faf:
Crunchie
04-02-2022, 05:53 AM
Spot on. Surprised El Crunch had any time for Hands Off Hibs with all the SNP campaigns he was doing at the time. :faf:
I do believe I've gotten under your skin at some point. It's a football forum don't take what I say to heart, life's too short :aok:
04-02-2022, 06:03 AM
That is my recollection also. Can remember at work one or two decent ones apologised to me that it was happening however the main takeaway was that they were loving it. From my admittedly distant memory of the ER event was there were at most 10 or so Hearts fans there.
Crunchie
04-02-2022, 06:09 AM
That is my recollection also. Can remember at work one or two decent ones apologised to me that it was happening however the main takeaway was that they were loving it. From my admittedly distant memory of the ER event was there were at most 10 or so Hearts fans there.
There was a scattering in the Dunbar end with their scarves and probably a few in the Hibs end with mates/relatives.
04-02-2022, 06:14 AM
There was a scattering in the Dunbar end with their scarves and probably a few in the Hibs end with mates/relatives.
A scattering of 10.
Crunchie
04-02-2022, 06:17 AM
A scattering of 10.
I remember we counted them at the time, not got a clue what the number was but I'd say you're not far wrong.
04-02-2022, 06:25 AM
I've known quite a few Hibs fans who've drooled over a celtic performance against us citing what you did. It turned my stomach as much then as it did now.
Your stomach is easily turned, some teams play really good football, Celtic at the minute are doing just that, would it make your head explode to tell you Brian Laudrup is the best player ive seen play in Scotland and I thought he was a fantastic player? :faf:
04-02-2022, 06:29 AM
Some bizarre posts on here. I thought I'd strayed onto the wrong forum. Fwiw the Dons fans loved the skelping der hun got. I don't care for either of them but celtic were superb in the first half and it was joyous watching der hun being torn a new one. Not interested in all the rest of the baggage. I support hibs end of.
04-02-2022, 06:32 AM
As for the mercer period,the hearts fans with there hordes were loving it but privately were dead against it. The ones I knew anyway. It was different times then to the social media ****storm we have now.
Crunchie
04-02-2022, 06:37 AM
Your stomach is easily turned, some teams play really good football, Celtic at the minute are doing just that, would it make your head explode to tell you Brian Laudrup is the best player ive seen play in Scotland and I thought he was a fantastic player? :faf:
I'm sorry to disappoint but nothing you could say would make me raise an eyebrow let alone make my head explode.
The best player I've seen in Scotland would be King Kenny, no laughs.
04-02-2022, 08:15 AM
I'm sorry to disappoint but nothing you could say would make me raise an eyebrow let alone make my head explode.
I saw Bestie but Sauzee every day of the week for me!
04-02-2022, 08:41 AM
Did you cheer on ‘the hoops’ as well as the SNP in those days prior to a big U-turn which saw them both make your stomach turn?
04-02-2022, 08:45 AM
I do believe I've gotten under your skin at some point. It's a football forum don't take what I say to heart, life's too short :aok:
You are a mild irritant, to be fair. :wink:
04-02-2022, 09:11 AM
A scattering of 10.
i counted 07 in the Dunbar End.
For younger viewers,the South Stand was known as the Dunbar End. Why ?
Behind that terracing was the James Dunbar Lemonade factory,later Dunn & Co.Lemolade :greengrin
04-02-2022, 09:12 AM
Did you cheer on ‘the hoops’ as well as the SNP in those days prior to a big U-turn which saw them both make your stomach turn?
Thought this was a football thread?
04-02-2022, 09:16 AM
political football ?
04-02-2022, 09:20 AM
Gascoigne for me. Majestic. Privillaged that i got to see him play.
James Stephen
04-02-2022, 09:26 AM
Gascoigne for me. Majestic. Privillaged that i got to see him play.
Either of those two for me (prob just lean towards Laudrup) with honourable mentions for Moravcik and Sauzee.
04-02-2022, 09:36 AM
political football ?
Unfortunately aye! We could though, discuss the corrupt unionist party members who are supporters of certain teams? That might make the cut!
04-02-2022, 09:47 AM
i counted 07 in the Dunbar End.
For younger viewers,the South Stand was known as the Dunbar End. Why ?
Behind that terracing was the James Dunbar Lemonade factory,later Dunn & Co.Lemolade :greengrin
All these years I've wondered why and thought someone's geography was up their erchie!
04-02-2022, 09:56 AM
The finest footballer to grace the Scottish game in my lifetime was the late great Jimmy Johnstone.
The Bernabau in Madrid once rose to a man and woman to applaud Jimmy's performance in Alfredo de Stefano's testimonial.
After him would be Jim Baxter.
Jim would dazzle all,worldwide, who saw his performances against England in the early sixties.
Both genuinely world class.No argument.
If MOTM awards were given out back then,those two would have needed a house extension to store them.
Best i saw at Hibernian? Willie Hamilton.
The great Ferenc Puskas praised Willie.
Back on topic
Jim Baxter of rAngers was a Fife Hibby !
And as much as i dont like hertz,i loathe the hun.
So hertz win this weekend for me.... even although i am a Lochend spoonburning vermin tramp.!!
Edit;
Of Course,Gordon Smith and Joe Baker up there too :greengrin
But Gordon won his 3rd League title medal with Hibs the year i was born and i was still at primary school when Joe left the club.
04-02-2022, 10:01 AM
The finest footballer to grace the Scottish game in my lifetime was the late great Jimmy Johnstone.
The Bernabau in Madrid once rose to a man and woman to applaud Jimmy's performance in Alfredo de Stefano's testimonial
Jim would dazzle all,worldwide, who saw his performances against England in the early sixties.
Both genuinely world class. No argument.
If MOTM awards were given out back then, they two would have needed a house extension to store them.
Back on topic
So hertz win this weekend for me.... even although i am a Lochend spoonburning vermin tramp.!!
He was married to my mums cousin and was a Raith fan. He didn't want to play for rankers but his agent/handler at the time, reminded him about how many more pints he could buy with his rankers wage. That was the story in my mums side of the family any way.
04-02-2022, 10:06 AM
All these years I've wondered why and thought someone's geography was up their erchie!
Strange too,that we called the FF the Albion Road End and yet Dunbar's address was Albion Road.
The Ground address is Albion Place and we dont play on Easter Road:greengrin
Al leave you to work it all out on google earth !
04-02-2022, 10:09 AM
He was married to my mums cousin and was a Raith fan. He didn't want to play for rankers but his agent/handler at the time, reminded him about how many more pints he could buy with his rankers wage. That was the story in my mums side of the family any way.
I'm sure he says in his book that he was a Hibby, mostly on account of the Famous Five
04-02-2022, 10:15 AM
Spoil the myth
I accept that,but Jim was quoted as saying he use to travel over the Forth to watch the Hibs midweek in night games.
Maybe with his dad,when Jim was a boy.
But of course,thousands of neutrals did back then as Hibs made good use of the new fangled invention..#football floodlights !!
And some famous opponents in Friendly games.
But anyway,that wasn't the main thrust of my post :greengrin:wink:
Jim was a footballing genius
04-02-2022, 10:19 AM
I'm sure he says in his book that he was a Hibby, mostly on account of the Famous Five
I have not read his book
But remember older fans saying he could be seen at ER when not playing himself,and that he watched Hibs before he was a pro.So yes ,the Famous Five.
He could some times be seen with Willie Hamilton,and other Hibs players and also a good Hibby pal of my dads in Peter and Dykes Williamson's clubs/bars back in the day.
Lock ins,anaw !
Ma faithers pal was well in with Peter W
Spoil the myth
I accept that,but Jim was quoted as saying he use to travel over the Forth to watch the Hibs midweek in night games.
Maybe with his dad,when Jim was a boy.
But of course,thousands of neutrals did back then as Hibs made good use of the new fangled invention..#football floodlights !!
And some famous opponents in Friendly games.
But anyway,that wasn't the main thrust of my post :greengrin:wink:
Jim was a footballing geniusHe also said in one interveiw his perfect Saturday was to get the train to Edinburgh, go round the tailors shops (he was a bit of a mod) then onto Easter Road to watch the Hibs. So he went midweek and weekends.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
04-02-2022, 10:27 AM
Strange too,that we called the FF the Albion Road End and yet Dunbar's address was Albion Road.
The Ground address is Albion Place and we dont play on Easter Road:greengrin
Al leave you to work it all out on google earth !
Confused.com!
In fact come to think of it, with the new regime's focus on maximising commercial income maybe we will soon be playing at the Confused.com Arena.
Tangent.
04-02-2022, 10:27 AM
Is it true that Val McDermid's Dad, who was a scout at Rovers, was the guy who signed him?
Gloucester Hibs
04-02-2022, 10:30 AM
George Best the only Ballon d'Or winner to have played in Scottish fitba? :hmmm:
04-02-2022, 10:32 AM
Mr Smith
Am not doubting Jim supported the Rovers.
Maybe once he got the bus fares or ferry fare he became a glory hunter and chose to watch the Hi- bees!:greengrin
I have not read his book
But remember older fans saying he could be seen at ER when not playing himself,and that he watched Hibs before he was a pro.So yes ,the Famous Five.
He could some times be seen with Willie Hamilton,and other Hibs players and also a good Hibby pal of my dads in Peter and Snuffy Williamson's clubs/bars back in the day. Lock ins,anaw !
Ma faithers pal was well in with Peter W
Mick, I was at Joe Baker's Appreciation Dinner (30 years ago now) when Jim Baxter stood up & said he was a Hibs fan and Joe was his idol, though it could have been he was a Hibs fan because Joe was his idol! I still have pix somewhere & the programme signed by Joe, Jim B, Denis Law, Ken Buchanan, King Pat and of course George Stewart (Captain!) :wink:. Not a bad collection!
04-02-2022, 10:35 AM
Is it true that Val McDermid's Dad, who was a scout at Rovers, was the guy who signed him?
Don’t know about that one, there are very few of that age left in the family so, will ask.
04-02-2022, 10:37 AM
George Best the only Ballon d'Or winner to have played in Scottish fitba? :hmmm:
He did, but he was well past his prime when he played in Scotland.
Jimmy Johnstone dazzled crowds in Scotland for well over 10 years
George was only here a couple o month !!:greengrin
04-02-2022, 10:38 AM
Mr Smith
Am not doubting Jim supported the Rovers.
Maybe once he got the bus fares or ferry fare he became a glory hunter and chose to watch the Hi- bees!:greengrin
My mums family were full of Hibees unfortunately for, Raith Rovers, Dunfermline & Cowdenbeath, but not doubting for a moment he was a Hibs fan, certainly wasn’t a ranker!
04-02-2022, 10:38 AM
The Bernabau in Madrid once rose to a man and woman to applaud Jimmy's performance in Alfredo de Stefano's testimonial.
If MOTM awards were given out back then,those two would have needed a house extension to store them.
Back on topic
In need of a few pegs, can you sort me out?
04-02-2022, 10:42 AM
Mick, I was at Joe Baker's Appreciation Dinner (30 years ago now) when Jim Baxter stood up & said he was a Hibs fan and Joe was his idol, though it could have been he was a Hibs fan because Joe was his idol! I still have pix somewhere & the programme signed by Joe, Jim B, Denis Law, Ken Buchanan, King Pat and of course George Stewart (Captain!) :wink:. Not a bad collection!
That is Jim's allegiance sorted then !
Cheers,Brian What a turnout there.
The Baxter debate is closed.
Adjourn for lunch !
04-02-2022, 10:48 AM
In need of a few pegs, can you sort me out?
Sorry, I sold the last batch on Gorgie Road this morning !"
Chamois Leathers,anyone ?
04-02-2022, 10:54 AM
I didn’t think I would get away with a flippant mention of politics that I needed to make my unnecessary bad joke, without someone screaming ‘holy ground’ or asking the question you did..
Just to reassure you.. I wasn’t trying to turn the thread into politics. It was really just the best example that worked.
04-02-2022, 11:10 AM
Don’t know about that one, there are very few of that age left in the family so, will ask.
Ta.
It came up this week (for obvious reasons) but I can't remember where I read it.
04-02-2022, 01:58 PM
Back on topic
Jim Baxter’s performance against England in 1963 must be close to the best ever by anyone in a Scottish jersey.
04-02-2022, 02:17 PM
Jim Baxter’s performance against England in 1963 must be close to the best ever by anyone in a Scottish jersey.
Slim Jim was sublime.
What a team that was during those early 60s years.
Sadly with injuries and our usual bad luck not to qualify for England 66 World Cup.
That final qualifying group game in Italy.
I was at school.
We all crammed into the gym hall to watch the game on a wee telly !
Well a lot of us were allowed to watch the game.
My register/Maths teacher was a season ticket holder at ER
Uncommon then, STs .So we got on fine !
He also taught Jimmy and Brog here at Holy Cross.
Mr Hugh "Shug" Boyle !!
Memories !