View Full Version : Griffiths Released By Dunder
Highwayman
02-02-2022, 02:22 PM
Just heard a report that Leigh Griffiths has been released by Dundee at the end of his loan deal
Don’t even think about it Bring Him Home Brigade.
02-02-2022, 02:24 PM
:hyper
02-02-2022, 02:25 PM
TamHibs
02-02-2022, 02:25 PM
He’s off to Queens Park apparently
Seemingly away to Queens Park!
He hasn’t been released. He refused extension. Now free agent.
Story suggests he has a few options 👀
02-02-2022, 02:43 PM
He hasn’t been released. He refused extension. Now free agent.
Story suggests he has a few options 👀
That’s not quite right.
He was on loan at Dundee from Celtc but Celtc have settled his contract, which meant the loan also finished.
He obviously hasn’t signed a new contract with Dundee to replace that one, so he’s now a free agent.
What a fall from grace. I hope he sorts his life out.
He's here!
02-02-2022, 02:52 PM
Worth a punt? Maloney might sort him out...
:whistle:
02-02-2022, 02:57 PM
Persona non grata.
02-02-2022, 03:07 PM
Bring him home.
Would have scored last night.
02-02-2022, 03:57 PM
Pay per play, nothing to loose.
The dalmeny
02-02-2022, 03:58 PM
Raith?
JamesHFC
02-02-2022, 04:00 PM
Raith?
Dazzjw1875
02-02-2022, 04:02 PM
Genuinely I would give him a 6mnth deal, we showed last night we are very short of options to bring on up top not even a striker on the bench.
02-02-2022, 04:03 PM
Would let him use the facilities and train with us.
02-02-2022, 04:08 PM
He’s off to Queens Park apparently
Leeann did have a soft spot for him.
02-02-2022, 04:09 PM
Bring him home.
Don’t think he will go to Livi.
02-02-2022, 04:16 PM
Don’t think he will go to Livi.
Home is where the Hibs are :agree:
Hibiza
02-02-2022, 04:18 PM
Get him back we need a centre forward.
02-02-2022, 04:21 PM
Persona non grata.
Yep.
Amazes me that anyone would consider him at Hibs in the physical state he’s in for one second.
02-02-2022, 04:23 PM
Maloney doesn't need all that baggage right now.
Hibs would knock him into shape within a fortnight.
Saint Hibee
02-02-2022, 04:32 PM
If you were a Hearts fan at last night’s derby, which Hibs substitution with 10 minutes to go would give you the most fear: Drey Wright or Leigh Griffiths?
If Justin Timberlake can bring sexy back, surely Hibs can bring Sparky back?
02-02-2022, 04:33 PM
Maloney doesn't need all that baggage right now.
If he could show he can deal with someone the character of SLG then it would go a long way into convincing some he's the right man for the job. :agree:
If you were a Hearts fan at last night’s derby, which Hibs substitution with 10 minutes to go would give you the most fear: Drey Wright or Leigh Griffiths?
:faf::faf::faf: :top marks
We shouldn’t have to knock him into shape, he should want to be in shape for us.
Cat Stanton
02-02-2022, 04:39 PM
That was nice of Dunder.
02-02-2022, 04:54 PM
Hibs would get him injured within the first 45 minutes of his first bounce game.
02-02-2022, 04:55 PM
We shouldn’t have to knock him into shape, he should want to be in shape for us.
This is the issue.
I would take him for the rest of the seasons desperate for a goal scorer and low risk for 4 months.
02-02-2022, 05:14 PM
That was nice of Dunder.
Is James McPake a Dunder heid?
02-02-2022, 05:20 PM
Is James McPake a Dunder heid?
No idea but the OP might be :greengrin
Juice-Terry
02-02-2022, 05:23 PM
Of course we should take him. Make it clear to him what the expectations are and if he doesn't meet them he's out immediately. Nothing to lose from our perspective.
02-02-2022, 05:27 PM
Have him at Hibs in a flash!
02-02-2022, 05:31 PM
Of course we should take him. Make it clear to him what the expectations are and if he doesn't meet them he's out immediately. Nothing to lose from our perspective.
How would we do that? Even if we only signed him until the summer he would be under contract and we would be obligated to pay him until then no?
Hibiza
02-02-2022, 05:33 PM
If Justin Timberlake can bring sexy back, surely Hibs can bring Sparky back?😂
02-02-2022, 05:54 PM
The fact that club like queens park are being spoken about with griffiths shows the level he is at now, the guy is past it at this level and his form in the last while has shown this
02-02-2022, 05:59 PM
Ffs this has been done to death, just delete the thread
02-02-2022, 06:12 PM
The fact that club like queens park are being spoken about with griffiths shows the level he is at now, the guy is past it at this level and his form in the last while has shown this
Or maybe more accurately, the level Queens Park are currently at? When were they ever mentioned in the same breath about signing a proven ‘veteran’ Scottish international who scores goals for fun?
Never, until now, in my lifetime!!
02-02-2022, 06:13 PM
Pay per play, nothing to loose.
Just a screw.
02-02-2022, 06:22 PM
Or maybe more accurately, the level Queens Park are currently at? When were they ever mentioned in the same breath about signing a proven ‘veteran’ Scottish international who scores goals for fun?
Scores goals for fun? He certainly doesn’t score many for money.
02-02-2022, 06:22 PM
02-02-2022, 06:23 PM
Nope he is at that level, he has been poor for ages and doesnt score for fun, far from it
You're an erse :greengrin
Absolutely ****ing not.
02-02-2022, 06:27 PM
You're an erse :greengrin
Oh indeed!
JamesHFC
02-02-2022, 06:36 PM
Falkirk have offered him around £1500 a week to play for them.
02-02-2022, 06:38 PM
Oh indeed!
Hope all is well with you up there in the barren winter land's. Going to get to -3C here with a light dusting of snow on Thursday. Hope the sleigh dogs and rescue crews are ready.....:greengrin
02-02-2022, 06:54 PM
Only 31 and his goal scoring record is around a goal every 2 games for most of his career. Has to be an asset for someone if he gets his head right.
02-02-2022, 07:22 PM
Just a screw.
Damn dyslexia again, but thanks for pointing it out, my comment stands we would have nothing to lose with Griff on a pay per game basis.
HendoDelivered
02-02-2022, 07:25 PM
Falkirk offering him nearly £1,500 p/w seemingly.
02-02-2022, 07:29 PM
Absolutely ****ing not.
See, we agree on something Pep.
02-02-2022, 08:02 PM
Regardless of whether he may or may not be capable of getting back close to what he was as a player… he certainly isn’t the answer to “we need a goal scorer” right now.. as he’s not nearly in the shape to make our squad.
It’s up to Leigh to get himself back fit and playing, not our job.
davhibby
02-02-2022, 08:19 PM
Big risk from the clubs mentioned above to spend money on someone who’s likely to be banned for months at some point soon.
Juice-Terry
02-02-2022, 08:34 PM
How would we do that? Even if we only signed him until the summer he would be under contract and we would be obligated to pay him until then no?
Just get him on a zero hour contract, or the fitba equivalent.
02-02-2022, 08:36 PM
Just keep him miles away from ER unless he’s a paying punter like the rest of us.
02-02-2022, 08:42 PM
Interesting to see the differing views on James Scot who hasn’t been fit enough to contribute compared to Griffiths who bottom of the table Dundee don’t want to keep.
If he gets himself fit and focussed, and wants to sign on a heavily weighted pay as you play deal then a small chance I’d look to sign him in the summer. Just now I’d rather play Melkerson and/or promote the likes of Laidlaw/Young/O’Connor instead.
02-02-2022, 08:44 PM
I'd prefer we signed good proven players with a bit of a tummy than injured players with a bit potential. 🤔
But no, that ship has sailed I reckon. 👍🇳🇬
02-02-2022, 08:46 PM
I'd prefer we signed good proven players with a bit of a tummy than injured players with a bit potential. 🤔
But no, that ship has sailed I reckon. 👍🇳🇬
He’s proven that’s he’s not very good with that bit of a tummy though.
02-02-2022, 08:47 PM
If he had any interest in getting fit then he’d be fit.
What do people think has been preventing him from getting fit up to now?
02-02-2022, 08:50 PM
If he had any interest in getting fit then he’d be fit.
What do people think has been preventing him from getting fit up to now?Lennon being too hard on him
McPake being too soft with him
Basically anyone bar Leigh Griffiths
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
02-02-2022, 09:19 PM
Hope all is well with you up there in the barren winter land's. Going to get to -3C here with a light dusting of snow on Thursday. Hope the sleigh dogs and rescue crews are ready.....:greengrin
Been a beautiful 45F today, nearly got the shorts out and bbqd on the porch!
02-02-2022, 09:31 PM
Been a beautiful 45F today, nearly got the shorts out and bbqd on the porch!
Currently 71F here but it's about to cool off pretty damn quick.
Criswell
02-02-2022, 10:36 PM
He's Hibs through and through. Bring him home and it may just "spark" him back to his best.
02-02-2022, 10:46 PM
02-02-2022, 11:13 PM
He's Hibs through and through. Bring him home and it may just "spark" him back to his best.
Apart from the times he was going about waving tri colours and kissing the Celtic badge
03-02-2022, 12:53 AM
The fact that club like queens park are being spoken about with griffiths shows the level he is at now, the guy is past it at this level and his form in the last while has shown thisif he goes to the spiders, he's at a club that has won the scottish cup more times than Hibs.:duck:
03-02-2022, 04:02 AM
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 07:48 AM
With the way Nisbet's playing at the moment and Doidge looking like he needs a few games to get up to speed I'd get him in as an option off the bench.
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 07:50 AM
Apart from the times he was going about waving tri colours and kissing the Celtic badge
On a par with KT being a flag bearer for Rangers?
03-02-2022, 07:56 AM
With the way Nisbet's playing at the moment and Doidge looking like he needs a few games to get up to speed I'd get him in as an option off the bench.
Why just have 2 off form strikers when you can have 3?
Nah, sooner give Melkerson some game time.
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 07:59 AM
Why just have 2 off form strikers when you can have 3?
Nah, sooner give Melkerson some game time.
Present Leigh with the chances Nisbet and Doidge are getting he'll put more of them away imo. I'd pay him on an appearance basis only to the end of the season, can't see the harm in it myself.
Is Melkerson not injured?
03-02-2022, 08:02 AM
Queens Park and Falkirk linked with him. Two clubs in the 3rd teir of Scottish football. At the moment that is his level. He is unfit and looks uninterested. That may change at some point but for the moment I wouldn't go near him.
03-02-2022, 08:21 AM
Present Leigh with the chances Nisbet and Doidge are getting he'll put more of them away imo. I'd pay him on an appearance basis only to the end of the season, can't see the harm in it myself.
Is Melkerson not injured?
He wasn’t scoring chances for Dundee, what makes you think he’d score then for Hibs, he scored 1 goal from open play in 17 games.
What makes you think Griffiths would take a contract based on appearances? He’ll join the club who is silly enough to pay him the most money.
03-02-2022, 08:43 AM
Queens Park and Falkirk linked with him. Two clubs in the 3rd teir of Scottish football. At the moment that is his level. He is unfit and looks uninterested. That may change at some point but for the moment I wouldn't go near him.
St Johnstone linked now also
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 09:00 AM
He wasn’t scoring chances for Dundee, what makes you think he’d score then for Hibs, he scored 1 goal from open play in 17 games.
What makes you think Griffiths would take a contract based on appearances? He’ll join the club who is silly enough to pay him the most money.
i don't, but what do we have to lose? there's 14 League games left we wouldn't be wasting a fortune.
TheGog
03-02-2022, 09:06 AM
Griff can do one.
I used to get lambasted on here for calling Edinburgh city out in there shameful signing of Thomson. People used to back that club on here it’s the same people calling Raith out for Goodwillie. Double standards as and when it suits them.
Raith, Edinburgh City & Dundee are disgraceful clubs. Anyone who goes to city games take along hard look at your selfs.
Griff should not play football again.
03-02-2022, 09:08 AM
Steve Archiebald but was slim and fit.
03-02-2022, 09:11 AM
He can't run or get his fat stomach of the ground for a header.
03-02-2022, 09:13 AM
The bench would need to be reinforced with steel girders if Griffiths was on it.
03-02-2022, 09:14 AM
i don't, but what do we have to lose?.
The buy in and trust of the other players in the dressing room? If we’ve told them that we’re looking for hungry young footballers who play a pressing game and have brought in a fitness coach to help them do so, then we bring in a fat has been who had barely been performing for another team that has some meaning to him resulting in him being let go, what does that say about our standards and our vision?
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 09:15 AM
The bench would need to be reinforced with steel girders if Griffiths was on it.
Darren McGregor was on our bench Tue night and it survived :greengrin
03-02-2022, 09:16 AM
Darren McGregor was on our bench Tue night and it survived :greengrin
There isn’t a bench in the world that would pick a fight with Daz.
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 09:17 AM
The buy in and trust of the other players in the dressing room? If we’ve told them that we’re looking for hungry young footballers who play a pressing game and have brought in a fitness coach to help them do so, then we bring in a fat has been who had barely been performing for another team that has some meaning to him resulting in him being let go, what does that say about our standards and our vision?
I'm saying as an option off the bench if we need a goal for the rest of the season, it's hardly going to compromise our football philosophy or put a few young laddies nose out of joint.
03-02-2022, 09:19 AM
I'm saying as an option off the bench if we need a goal for the rest of the season, it's hardly going to compromise our football philosophy or put a few young laddies nose out of joint.
If we desperately need a goal I doubt we’d be calling on someone who has only scored once from open play this season and that goal was nearly 4 months ago.
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 09:23 AM
If we desperately need a goal I doubt we’d be calling on someone who has only scored once from open play this season and that goal was nearly 4 months ago.
Have you seen him miss the chances Nisbet and Doidge have recently? I'm of the opinion he'd score some those chances that's all, I doubt he got many chances at Dundee.
03-02-2022, 09:30 AM
Have you seen him miss the chances Nisbet and Doidge have recently? I'm of the opinion he'd score some those chances that's all, I doubt he got many chances at Dundee.
I'm of the opinion he'd be too fat and lazy to get into those positions.
03-02-2022, 09:30 AM
I’m saying signing him would shatter the credibility of the vision and image that we’ve put forward to the dressing room and the club.
We want to play attacking, fast paced and pressing football. The players have brought into that.
Griffiths has just been released by Celtic and Dundee, barely scores and is visibly overweight. Massive questions hang over his commitment and attitude.
Why on earth would we sign someone who can’t play the way we do, hasn’t gotten himself into shape despite getting a second chance at Dundee and could alienate the dressing room?
Bizarre.
03-02-2022, 09:32 AM
Yes, let's risk our new strategy and system just to accommodate someone who has shown repeatedly that he isn't going to change. Sounds great!
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 09:34 AM
I’m saying signing him would shatter the credibility of the vision and image that we’ve put forward to the dressing room and the club.
We want to play attacking, fast paced and pressing football. The players have brought into that.
Griffiths has just been released by Celtic and Dundee, barely scores and is visibly overweight. Massive questions hang over his commitment and attitude.
Why on earth would we sign someone who can’t play the way we do, hasn’t gotten himself into shape despite getting a second chance at Dundee and could alienate the dressing room?
Bizarre.
You make quite a few assumptions there :confused:, don't worry I doubt we'll sign him. Your vision for the club is safe :aok:
03-02-2022, 09:35 AM
Unsure what Griffiths has done in the last couple of years to warrant any sort of contract at Hibs. I’d rather give Melkersen a chance.
03-02-2022, 09:36 AM
You make quite a few assumptions there :confused:, don't worry I doubt we'll sign him. Your vision for the club is safe :aok:
I can't see any assumptions there, but he's right.
03-02-2022, 09:38 AM
I’m really amazed at the number of nostalgics on here who are seriously touting for LG’s return. Let’s draw a line under under the possibility. Anyway, I don’t think Maloney would remotely consider it.
03-02-2022, 09:43 AM
What assumptions?
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 09:46 AM
What assumptions?
That he'd alienate the dressing room for one, but I'll leave it at that. We have differing opinions is all :aok:
03-02-2022, 09:49 AM
That he'd alienate the dressing room for one, but I'll leave it at that. We have differing opinions is all :aok:
That he could, and I explained why.
You seem to have the assumption that bringing him to a different club he’s represented before might kick off a Holllywood style plot where he returns to form, gets the girl, scores the winner in the cup and rides off into the sunset.
But let’s leave it at that because one of us clearly has higher standards and expectations for Hibs than the other.
Crunchie
03-02-2022, 09:55 AM
That he could, and I explained why.
You seem to have the assumption that bringing him to a different club he’s represented before might kick off a Holllywood style plot where he returns to form, gets the girl, scores the winner in the cup and rides off into the sunset.
But let’s leave it at that because one of us clearly has higher standards and expectations for Hibs than the other.
I once had hopes Hibs could be a major force when I was younger, I realised it wasn't ever going to happen long before I reached your age. I hope your vision and dream is realised :aok:
It's not his vision and dream but the new manager's and many of us are excited to have someone trying change things for the better. I have never understood this place for wanting to try and turn the clock backwards and re sign past players.
03-02-2022, 10:06 AM
It's not his vision and dream but the new manager's and many of us are excited to have someone trying change things for the better. I have never understood this place for wanting to try and turn the click backwards and re sign past players.
Kcilc.
03-02-2022, 10:10 AM
Maybe signing questionable characters wouldn't be the best idea right now.
03-02-2022, 10:19 AM
I was hoping you'd actually post "he's had his chance, time to move on" since everyone was just waiting for the hyper emoji.
03-02-2022, 10:23 AM
It's not his vision and dream but the new manager's and many of us are excited to have someone trying change things for the better. I have never understood this place for wanting to try and turn the click backwards and re sign past players.
Thank god those rumours about Stokes returning never amounted to anything eh?!
03-02-2022, 10:24 AM
On a par with KT being a flag bearer for Rangers?
I’m not sure what your point is? I wouldn’t say either were “Hibs through and through” after their antics. I certainly wouldn’t be kissing the Celtic badge if I played for them.
Thank god those rumours about Stokes returning never amounted to anything eh?!
Haha don't always work out that well, his return afterwards was a total mistake.
Kcilc.
Eh?
Haha just spotted it, clock obviously, edited.
03-02-2022, 11:05 AM
Leeann did have a soft spot for him.
I very much doubt that!
03-02-2022, 04:43 PM
St Mirren in for him now too.
03-02-2022, 06:00 PM
I’m not sure what your point is? I wouldn’t say either were “Hibs through and through” after their antics. I certainly wouldn’t be kissing the Celtic badge if I played for them.
If we’re comparing both their ‘antics’, I would say they are different. Griffiths, could kiss the Celtic badge to curry favour with the masses but could easily be saying ‘eff off you lot’ to himself. Who knows? On the other hand Katie says openly that he loves Rangers, has ambitions to be their manager and is proud to be an ambassador for them.
St Mirren in for him now too.
Surely they don't need him now they've got Gogic banging them in for them.
04-02-2022, 01:25 AM
04-02-2022, 06:54 AM
If we’re comparing both their ‘antics’, I would say they are different. Griffiths, could kiss the Celtic badge to curry favour with the masses but could easily be saying ‘eff off you lot’ to himself. Who knows? On the other hand Katie says openly that he loves Rangers, has ambitions to be their manager and is proud to be an ambassador for them.
Maybe Thomson said those things with his fingers crossed.
He's here!
04-02-2022, 07:14 AM
Big risk from the clubs mentioned above to spend money on someone who’s likely to be banned for months at some point soon.
Why is he likely to be banned for months? Have I forgotten about some pending trial date?
A fit Griffiths is one of the best strikers in Scotland. He's also a lifelong Hibs fan whose previous time at the club lit up some dark days and who would doubtless love to play for us again. I'd have him back if he could sharpen up but my head says he'd struggle to do do.
04-02-2022, 07:21 AM
We could sign him and loan him out to Charleston Battery :greengrin
04-02-2022, 10:06 AM
Falkirk would be a perfect fit. He certainly owes them!
04-02-2022, 10:51 AM
That's a genuine "laugh out loud" moment 😂
04-02-2022, 11:42 AM
Bring him back alongside Jason. And what about Deeks? Disappointed to see the ‘does anybody thing he could still do a job for us’ threads have closed there.
04-02-2022, 12:06 PM
I very much doubt that!
Why.
Leaving comps for him under his name for home games, he then started giving them to friends and family who were known to cause bother in the players lounge and was pulled up about it that the 2 tickets were for him and one other person and not to be handed out to friends, she defo had a soft spot for him.
Where other players who were Hibs players and not here on loan deals had to pay for tickets to get in to watch games.
04-02-2022, 12:11 PM
Why.
Leaving comps for him under his name for home games, he then started giving them to friends and family who were known to cause bother in the players lounge and was pulled up about it that the 2 tickets were for him and one other person and not to be handed out to friends, she defo had a soft spot for him.
Where other players who were Hibs players and not here on loan deals had to pay for tickets to get in to watch games.
Thats pretty embarrassing from Hibs if true. Very poor way to treat guys playing for us.
04-02-2022, 01:42 PM
Why is he likely to be banned for months? Have I forgotten about some pending trial date?
A fit Griffiths is one of the best strikers in Scotland. He's also a lifelong Hibs fan whose previous time at the club lit up some dark days and who would doubtless love to play for us again. I'd have him back if he could sharpen up but my head says he'd struggle to do do.
He has a court case over kicking the flare back at StJ. fans and will be dealt with by the SFA after that.
Why would a guy who couldn’t be bothered to get himself fit to try to win a league or fight relegation suddenly decide to smarten up for us?
30-10-2022, 12:36 PM
such a fall from grace for him and his career, still only 32 as well Leigh Griffiths: Former Celtic and Scotland striker opens up on fall from grace - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/63421617)
Former Celtic and Scotland striker Leigh Griffiths admits his career as a professional footballer could be over, although he retains hope a manager will "pick up the phone".
The 32-year-old has been without a club for five months and is currently training with Livingston.
Griffiths has also opened up to BBC Scotland on the "massive mistake" which saw him "dismissed" from Celtic.
"The longer it goes on I think, 'Is football for me anymore?'," he said.
30-10-2022, 02:28 PM
such a fall from grace for him and his career, still only 32 as well Leigh Griffiths: Former Celtic and Scotland striker opens up on fall from grace - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/63421617)
Former Celtic and Scotland striker Leigh Griffiths admits his career as a professional footballer could be over, although he retains hope a manager will "pick up the phone".
The 32-year-old has been without a club for five months and is currently training with Livingston.
Griffiths has also opened up to BBC Scotland on the "massive mistake" which saw him "dismissed" from Celtic.
"The longer it goes on I think, 'Is football for me anymore?'," he said.
It is a real waste, as he's genuinely one of the most talented players I've seen play for Hibs.
30-10-2022, 03:08 PM
Could still do a job..... [emoji6][emoji848]
WWFTWTG
30-10-2022, 07:59 PM
I hope someone gives him another chance. Be good to see him back doing what he does best.
30-10-2022, 11:12 PM
Could still do a job..... [emoji6][emoji848]
I agree :agree:
Donegal Hibby
30-10-2022, 11:22 PM
I agree :agree:
Falkirk and Aussie club would probably not agree , wonder if he's back to his best why Livingston don't try and sign him? Sadly the time for talking about Griffith's coming back is long gone and we need to move on .
31-10-2022, 12:01 AM
Falkirk and Aussie club would probably not agree , wonder if he's back to his best why Livingston don't try and sign him? Sadly the time for talking about Griffith's coming back is long gone and we need to move on .
Maybe because he is waiting for a Hibs contract? Just using the other clubs to keep fit until we do the right thing.
Donegal Hibby
31-10-2022, 12:08 AM
Maybe because he is waiting for a Hibs contract? Just using the other clubs to keep fit until we do the right thing.
I'd hazard a guess and say he's going to have a very long wait on a contract from us 😁 . Guys away past his best days and not the sort of signing Lee Johnson is likely to make at us either .
31-10-2022, 03:28 AM
Give it up. He's washed. Nowhere near the level we need.
31-10-2022, 05:56 AM
For someone who’s career nosedived as a result of letting himself get badly out of shape, he still looks badly out of shape and heavy for a professional footballer.
If he hasn’t addressed that as a priority, I’m not sure why he’s surprised that nobody is willing to take him on.
31-10-2022, 06:00 AM
For someone who’s career nosedived as a result of letting himself get badly out of shape, he still looks badly out of shape and heavy for a professional footballer.
If he hasn’t addressed that as a priority, I’m not sure why he’s surprised that nobody is willing to take him on.
Yep you would have thought that getting himself as fit as he could and having a decent diet would be two things he could control in making it more likely he was signed up. Assuming he doesn't have some long term injury stopping him doing that.
31-10-2022, 06:09 AM
Yep if the fat guy down the road from me can turn into an athlete in 4 months through bootcamp and good diet I'm sure Leigh could if he really wanted to. Getting stick off huns and jambos when you're out and about isn't really much of an excuse.
31-10-2022, 07:08 AM
Tiresome. It’s not funny. Time to give it a rest.
31-10-2022, 07:24 AM
Tiresome. It’s not funny. Time to give it a rest.
It is a bit weird now to be honest. Was mildly amusing for about the first 3 years but it's just strange now.
I'm Spartacus
31-10-2022, 07:51 AM
I hope someone gives him another chance. Be good to see him back doing what he does best.
I say the opposite, at the expense of a young lad trying to make a mark in the game. How many chances does he need, now he has the small violin out in the press. He had it all in his own hands and could still have been there playing those Champions League nights, I actually think if he was fit and hungry he would score a shed load the way Celtic play.
31-10-2022, 08:01 AM
The minimum he could be is fit. If he turned up at Livi and he was flying they’d soon change their mind on a contract. Until you do the hard work yourself no one is going to take another chance.
Trinity Hibee
31-10-2022, 09:50 AM
The minimum he could be is fit. If he turned up at Livi and he was flying they’d soon change their mind on a contract. Until you do the hard work yourself no one is going to take another chance.
Yep, a fit Leigh Griffiths would improve any team. Ability wise he could still do a job for us if he was fit. His issues off the pitch is what will put teams off I fear.
A tremendous finisher and I don’t think that will ever leave him. Never seen anyone at Hibs like him. Even better than Deek which is saying something
31-10-2022, 09:55 AM
It will be the lower leagues for him now unfortunately. I feel for him, hopefully whatever happens he finds something fulfilling to occupy him.
WestStandWillie
31-10-2022, 09:57 AM
Saddens me that Leigh has joined Deek and Garry in self destructing their careers when they have/had so much tae offer.
All natural finishers who could change a game with at the drop of a hat.
Need tae stop all this romance about LG coming back, he’s done and his recent spells/trials just back it up.
We’ll get a chance to applaud him at “Le Match”
31-10-2022, 10:14 AM
It will be the lower leagues for him now unfortunately. I feel for him, hopefully whatever happens he finds something fulfilling to occupy him.
I think he'd take that. A run of games at a decent level to show he still has it.
To be honest I'm surprised he hasn't got anything.
I wonder if clubs are spooked by the strong reactions to the Goodwillie episode. Although Griff was found to have no criminality I imagine it isn't a good time to try and get a club with anything dubious in your background.
31-10-2022, 12:25 PM
I'm still trying to suss out the title of the thread. 🤔
Green Man
31-10-2022, 12:28 PM
He got a job at a paper company in the US but they let him go.
Trinity Hibee
31-10-2022, 12:37 PM
He got a job at a paper company in the US but they let him go.
😂😂
31-10-2022, 12:51 PM
After the goals at hampden he had it all shame to see how it’s went for him naturally talented
31-10-2022, 01:42 PM
Does he come from a land Down Dunder? :confused:
31-10-2022, 01:57 PM
I think he'd take that. A run of games at a decent level to show he still has it.
To be honest I'm surprised he hasn't got anything.
I wonder if clubs are spooked by the strong reactions to the Goodwillie episode. Although Griff was found to have no criminality I imagine it isn't a good time to try and get a club with anything dubious in your background.
He had a run of games at Dundee then Falkirk last season and all that he showed then is that he's pretty much done with playing professional football.
If he was fit and able he would find a club.
31-10-2022, 02:02 PM
Does he come from a land Down Dunder? :confused:Only a Dunderheid would bring him home now?[emoji6]
01-11-2022, 07:44 AM
Why does he say he will ‘never be as fit as Scott Brown or Calum McGregor’?
Wtf not? He’s 32, not 52. If he’d spent the past five months dedicated to getting himself in shape he would be.
Clearly the penny is never gonna drop.
Keyser Sauzee
01-11-2022, 12:44 PM
Why shouldn’t he be as fit as any other football player? He has all the time in the world to work on that but he can’t be arsed. Loser attitude and has only himself to blame for his situation. It will always be someone else’s fault with him.
01-11-2022, 08:49 PM
The Griffiths back to Hibs boat has long long sailed and people need to stop living in the past. Fantastic talent that had it all at his feet 5 years or so ago but sadly too much off-field dramas along with (in my opinion) a poor attitude put paid to that. He's not looked after himself. If going for 10 in a row with Celtic plus Scotland getting into the Euros wasn't enough motivation for him to get himself in top shape then not much will.
I get mental health issues have been a factor as well and with that I sympathize but lets not kid on that Leigh is a saint.
Grateful to him for what he did for us. Some of the goals he scored were unbelievable but sadly it's done for him at any decent level now IMO.
JamesHFC
03-11-2022, 08:00 PM
Will sign for either Tranent or Arbroath I expect.
Signing for someone called Sandys AFC get a few texts saying that today
04-11-2022, 09:39 AM
That’s mental ! And the end of his pro career ..he’ll have to acquire “amateur” status to do that ..never used to be that easy to do it quickly .
Has to be a wind up surely doesn’t help his career at all
04-11-2022, 09:57 AM
Has to be a wind up surely doesn’t help his career at all
Would end his pro career that imo
whereswallace?
04-11-2022, 10:15 AM
He’s not,It was a wind up.
That’s my ITK spell over then 😂
McSwanky
04-11-2022, 10:40 AM
Good wind up, that one :top marks:faf:
whereswallace?
04-11-2022, 11:46 AM
02-12-2022, 04:45 AM
https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/breaking-leigh-griffiths-arrested-betting-28635187?utm_source=linkCopy&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar
02-12-2022, 05:16 AM
https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/breaking-leigh-griffiths-arrested-betting-28635187?utm_source=linkCopy&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar
Strange how they name Griffiths but not the other two people.
02-12-2022, 05:35 AM
Yeah, and seems a bit heavy handed to have 10 police officers raid your house and spend over 2 hours searching.
Surely an investigation of this nature would involve taking mobile phones and laptops to pull all the data they want from there. Unless they think he’s got a big stash of cash hidden away.
02-12-2022, 06:48 AM
Paul McGowan is one of the others.
Absolutely pathetic how the police have treated this “raid”. High profile though and tells you everything you need to know about Policing in Scotland.
02-12-2022, 07:27 AM
Yeah, and seems a bit heavy handed to have 10 police officers raid your house and spend over 2 hours searching.
Surely an investigation of this nature would involve taking mobile phones and laptops to pull all the data they want from there. Unless they think he’s got a big stash of cash hidden away.
:agree: Some of Griffiths behavior has been deplorable and i'm not defending that but this seems way OTT bordering on victimisation.
Wee Effen Bee
02-12-2022, 08:06 AM
He’s been arrested again…for sports gambling!
02-12-2022, 08:15 AM
Absolutely pathetic how the police have treated this “raid”. High profile though and tells you everything you need to know about Policing in Scotland.
What exactly does it tell us about Police Scotland 😂? Leigh is high profile, it’s serious allegations, and it’s not a bedsit it’s a four bed luxury home - so that’ll explain the number of officers - especially when things can be hidden on SD cards, small devices, etc. Plus I’ve no doubt neighbours tipped off the media with sneaky photos etc. Curious to know why Police Scotland are at fault here ?
Hopefully there’s no truth in it, but as a fan who likes a wee flutter myself, if there is, hope they throw the book at him (pardon the pun).
02-12-2022, 08:28 AM
‘Allegedly’ its a Dundee player who is also the one raided (worst hair in the world) and another guy from Bonnyrigg who’s very public about his bets and used to have a twitter page for tips.
02-12-2022, 09:32 AM
He’s been arrested again…for sports gambling!
Won’t be his fault tho. 😂
Paulie Walnuts
02-12-2022, 09:36 AM
He’s been released without charge. Whether that’s because he’s not done anything wrong or a charge will come at a later date is anyone’s guess.
02-12-2022, 09:43 AM
No doubt related to that game v hearts and the yellow cards
archie
02-12-2022, 09:46 AM
I find all of this absolutely heartbreaking. I suspect all of us would have given anything to play professional football at all, never mind for Hibs. I have so many happy memories of Griffiths in a Hibs jersey. The great goals, the anticipation as he stepped up for a free kick and, if I'm honest, the indulgence of a colourful social life. He should be a senior pro, showing he's still got it and looking back on a stellar career. Instead he will be remembered for the wrong reasons. It is such a shame.
02-12-2022, 10:13 AM
He’s a dobber. Another footballer who had the world at his feet and ****ed it.
02-12-2022, 10:49 AM
He’s a dobber. Another footballer who had the world at his feet and ****ed it.
thank **** someone said it
02-12-2022, 10:52 AM
I find all of this absolutely heartbreaking. I suspect all of us would have given anything to play professional football at all, never mind for Hibs. I have so many happy memories of Griffiths in a Hibs jersey. The great goals, the anticipation as he stepped up for a free kick and, if I'm honest, the indulgence of a colourful social life. He should be a senior pro, showing he's still got it and looking back on a stellar career. Instead he will be remembered for the wrong reasons. It is such a shame.
Is it a shame? He's in a privileged position that most of us could only dream of and seems to think he can do what he likes. He's responsible for his own actions and choices. If he's remembered for the wrong reasons then that's on him. Someone like Jimmy O'Rourke who nobody had a bad word to say about is what he should be aiming for. Brought it all on himself.
NC1875
02-12-2022, 10:55 AM
No doubt related to that game v hearts and the yellow cards
Yup, him and McGowan booked within 4 minutes of each other.
Donegal Hibby
02-12-2022, 11:05 AM
thank **** someone said it
Yeah I agree , extremely talented player who threw it all away though repeatedly people say on here to bring him home and he knows how to score goals and can still do a job for us , while others find it amusing . He's finished as a footballer and hasn't done himself any favours with his actions outside football , hopefully this puts to bed any nonsense talk of him coming back!
02-12-2022, 11:22 AM
What 'mistake' is this then? His 7th or 8th? I've lost count.
I wanted him back in the past but he's 32 now but still acting like a 17 year old
02-12-2022, 11:25 AM
A chance 99.9% of us can only dream of, with the talent he has, and despite second, third, tenth chances to get it right he's wasted it every time.
Most gifted player I've ever seen play for us and at 32 he can't even win contracts with third division teams. A real shame.
02-12-2022, 11:43 AM
A chance 99.9% of us can only dream of, with the talent he has, and despite second, third, tenth chances to get it right he's wasted it every time.
Most gifted player I've ever seen play for us and at 32 he can't even win contracts with third division teams. A real shame.
To be a great striker you have to be supremely confident. As philosopher Bertrand Russell wrote in the 1880s "The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt."
02-12-2022, 12:55 PM
What exactly does it tell us about Police Scotland 😂? Leigh is high profile, it’s serious allegations, and it’s not a bedsit it’s a four bed luxury home - so that’ll explain the number of officers - especially when things can be hidden on SD cards, small devices, etc. Plus I’ve no doubt neighbours tipped off the media with sneaky photos etc. Curious to know why Police Scotland are at fault here ?
Hopefully there’s no truth in it, but as a fan who likes a wee flutter myself, if there is, hope they throw the book at him (pardon the pun).
For the same reason that they pose in front of cartons of milk, confiscated bevvy from football fans and in my opinion no longer serve in the public interest. It’s all about how they look in front of their paymasters in Holyrood.
One for the Holy Ground :)
For the same reason that they pose in front of cartons of milk, confiscated bevvy from football fans and in my opinion no longer serve in the public interest. It’s all about how they look in front of their paymasters in Holyrood.
One for the Holy Ground :)
Agree and they wonder why Joe Public is losing respect for them.
Stokesy's on fire
02-12-2022, 02:37 PM
Under sturgeon police Scotland are a total shambles
itslegaltender
02-12-2022, 02:38 PM
Absolute rubbish
I’m no fan of the FM but you are way off the mark with this one!
02-12-2022, 02:45 PM
Perhaps the politics stuff can be done in the right part of the forum?
02-12-2022, 05:27 PM
Keep it on the Holy Ground please.
Paulie Walnuts
02-12-2022, 05:29 PM
Apparently it’s Griffiths, McGowan and a well known Twitter tipster from Bonnyrigg. The same guy apparently got raided when McNulty got done for betting.
I’ve no idea who the guy is or his Twitter handle though.
02-12-2022, 07:01 PM
Apparently it’s Griffiths, McGowan and a well known Twitter tipster from Bonnyrigg. The same guy apparently got raided when McNulty got done for betting.
I’ve no idea who the guy is or his Twitter handle though.
Will be Conan McDiarmid aka Conso. Former Arniston Rangers manager and veteran of semi pro football. Looks like his twitter is down just now. No stranger to putting thousands of pounds on single bets before and during games, so wouldn't automatically assume this was corruption.
That said, it wouldnt also surprise me if Conso and LG were aquaintances.
02-12-2022, 07:35 PM
Agree and they wonder why Joe Public is losing respect for them.
Pedant alert.
It’s Jo Public. As in “my Jo” 😏
02-12-2022, 07:44 PM
Pedant alert.
It’s Jo Public. As in “my Jo” 😏Since when?
06-09-2023, 03:13 PM
fined £1k for kicking that flare into the away fans at Dens
the poster known as Haymaker has four months to help him pay it
:)
fined £1k for kicking that flare into the away fans at Dens
06-09-2023, 05:00 PM
fined £1k for kicking that flare into the away fans at Dens...
Seems reasonable. There was talk of a possible custodial sentence, which seemed a bit over the top
06-09-2023, 05:25 PM
Since when?
That change was lost on me too.
Footballers and their gambling habits, an enduring tale of folly that started way back in the old days and is no doubt much, much worse in this age of bet on anything, anywhere. I wonder how long betting and sport sponsorship will be tolerated?
cam75
06-09-2023, 05:37 PM
Thought this was going to be a coming home thread look what NM done with the last Hibs player released by Dundee if he gets the Job 🤔
06-09-2023, 05:58 PM
How's he doing down in Australia?
06-09-2023, 06:26 PM
How's he doing down in Australia?
Apparently he's playing for FREE so his bank balance can't be doing to good.
06-09-2023, 11:07 PM
Apparently he's playing for FREE so his bank balance can't be doing to good.
Won't be for much longer once he's back at the Hibs. :agree:
06-09-2023, 11:08 PM
I've started a crowd fund!:hyper
Bridge hibs
06-09-2023, 11:09 PM
Won't be for much longer once he's back at the Hibs. :agree:
He could volunteer to paint the steps etc
06-09-2023, 11:10 PM
He could volunteer to paint the steps etc
25 goals minimum this season once signs, painted steps or no painted steps!
Bridge hibs
06-09-2023, 11:13 PM
He has more chance of painting 25 steps than he has of scoring 25 for hibs
06-09-2023, 11:14 PM
He has more chance of painting 25 steps than he has of scoring 25 for hibs
We shall see! He'll fire us to the title!
06-09-2023, 11:41 PM
I thought 15 was his minimum.
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-09-2023, 11:42 PM
We shall see! He'll fire us to the title!
Too much Miller lite this evening Haymaker?[emoji16] unfortunately he’s finished and a ticket, was a great player for club and country once upon a time
06-09-2023, 11:42 PM
Oh dear
06-09-2023, 11:43 PM
Too much Miller lite this evening Haymaker?[emoji16] unfortunately he’s finished and a ticket, was a great player for club and country once upon a time
I'm a Bud Light man.
06-09-2023, 11:43 PM
15 goals minimum is what he would bring us! Nae danger!
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-09-2023, 11:47 PM
I'm a Bud Light man.
Wouldn’t touch either, bit of a snob me [emoji6]
06-09-2023, 11:48 PM
Wouldn’t touch either, bit of a snob me [emoji6]
I'm cheap so it's all about quantity, not quality for me.
ErinGoBraghHFC
06-09-2023, 11:51 PM
I'm cheap so it's all about quantity, not quality for me.
Neither are undrinkable, but I’m sat here with a Lowenbrau Oktoberfestbier as we speak as I’m off tomorrow so I feel like I have to act like I’m above drinking American “beer”[emoji23]
If we bought players like you buy beer though, maybe we’d see Griffiths back at Hibs. He isn’t up to scratch anymore, as unfortunate as that may be.
06-09-2023, 11:52 PM
Neither are undrinkable, but I’m sat here with a Lowenbrau Oktoberfestbier as we speak as I’m off tomorrow so I feel like I have to act like I’m above drinking American “beer”[emoji23]
If we bought players like you buy beer though, maybe we’d see Griffiths back at Hibs. He isn’t up to scratch anymore, as unfortunate as that may be.
Enough of both beers leads you to the same place! And Griffiths leads us to goals and glory!!
07-09-2023, 12:01 AM
Enough of both beers leads you to the same place! And Griffiths leads us to goals and glory!!
Haw you, how's it going mate? Is it even warm up in your neck of the woods? :greengrin
07-09-2023, 12:11 AM
Haw you, how's it going mate? Is it even warm up in your neck of the woods? :greengrin
100 degrees today pal! Toasty. And makes the beer taste better I must say.
07-09-2023, 12:30 AM
100 degrees today pal! Toasty. And makes the beer taste better I must say.
We got back from Scotland on June 6th and it's been between 96 and 102 ever since and rained once. Even native Texans are grumbling :greengrin
07-09-2023, 12:32 AM
We got back from Scotland on June 6th and it's been between 96 and 102 ever since and rained once. Even native Texans are grumbling :greengrin
That's quite toasty.
ErinGoBraghHFC
07-09-2023, 10:01 AM
Google says that’s about a low of 35 degrees. Take care and keep safe mate.