View Full Version : Tom English

02-02-2022, 10:23 AM
Must be itching to get a job in communications at Tynecastle as his love in with them continued last night.

02-02-2022, 10:26 AM
The true epitome of a mood hoover!

Pretty Green
02-02-2022, 10:27 AM
Must be itching to get a job in communications at Tynecastle as his love in with them continued last night.

Felt the same listening on my way home, they were apparently worthy of the 3 points. How he worked that out I have no idea

hibby rae
02-02-2022, 10:31 AM
Man's a welt.

His sycophantic relationship with Anne Budge was really pathetic.

Fuzzywuzzy
02-02-2022, 10:31 AM
He's a absolute welt. His lovein with budge continues.

I get the penalty claim for the handball but for the first? Nah. The daggers seemed to be out for porteous again last night. It'd be interesting for this prick to have a face to face with porteous

02-02-2022, 10:34 AM
He's a complete bell end.

Should stick to egg chasing.

02-02-2022, 10:39 AM
I get that Porteous does himself no favours at times but I don't understand why he was getting such a hard time last night from English and Gordon. He was only doing what a lot of players would have done in that situation.

To focus on that instead of his excellent display last night was really poor.

02-02-2022, 10:42 AM
He’s a complete ******. Paid handsomely by the BBC I’m sure and just continually talks our game down rather than promote it. Was a good game last night but he was so negative about it. Get him in the bin [emoji1005]

02-02-2022, 10:45 AM
I get that Porteous does himself no favours at times but I don't understand why he was getting such a hard time last night from English and Gordon. He was only doing what a lot of players would have done in that situation.

Was quite taken back when Gordon made a really arsey comment about Porteous during the penalty discussion. He's brought it up once before - fair enough - then went completely out of his way to interrupt Thompson/Stewart for another dig.

Couldn't imagine him speaking about many other players - if any - like that. Obviously personal, and didn't even mitigate by acknowledging how good he'd been.

02-02-2022, 10:45 AM
Was quite taken back when Gordon made a really arsey comment about Porteous during the penalty discussion. He's brought it up once before - fair enough - then went completely out of his way to interrupt Thompson/Stewart for another dig.

Couldn't imagine him speaking about many other players - if any - like that. Obviously personal, and didn't even mitigate by acknowledging how good he'd been.

Exactly - the man's an arse.

02-02-2022, 10:46 AM
He's a absolute welt. His lovein with budge continues.

I get the penalty claim for the handball but for the first? Nah. The daggers seemed to be out for porteous again last night. It'd be interesting for this prick to have a face to face with porteous

I actually thought the first was a stronger claim. With the second Stevenson is running out from the wall which is pretty difficult to do with your hands behind your back so saying it's an unnatural position is harsh. I'd not be jumping up and down if it was a Hibs free kick and that happened.

First one I was sure at the time it was a penalty and had it been at the other end, I think I'd still be raging. Luckily the ref disagrees with me so who am I to argue?

02-02-2022, 10:48 AM
Whole lot of greeting about nothing here :boo hoo:

The Baldmans Comb
Its the BBC and there are far better ways to show your contempt for such an organisation and there is nothing they can do about it.

Chorley Hibee

It was disgusting.

The two of them are cowards, and I guarantee should a similar incident arise tonight they'll barely cover it.

Indicative of the bias all too accepted on a supposedly impartial programme and national broadcaster.

I still wish Hibs were more proactive in defending their own.

02-02-2022, 10:49 AM
I actually thought the first was a stronger claim. With the second Stevenson is running out from the wall which is pretty difficult to do with your hands behind your back so saying it's an unnatural position is harsh. I'd not be jumping up and down if it was a Hibs free kick and that happened.

First one I was sure at the time it was a penalty and had it been at the other end, I think I'd still be raging. Luckily the ref disagrees with me so who am I to argue?

Still think it's a penalty, but nowhere near the stonewaller the TV/radio were suggesting. Could barely see the fuss about it when finally getting round to seeing the replay.

Not that it makes a difference, but wasn't even like the shot was going in.

02-02-2022, 10:50 AM
If someone argued that had Hearts nicked it 1-0 last night then we couldn't have had too many complaints then I'd probably accept it, I'd argue the same could be said the other way around too. To say they were 'worthy of 3 points' is bollocks though.

He's one of these guys who seems to be held in some kind of esteem when talking about football without actually really seeming to have that much of a clue or saying anything insightful. His comments about McGinn prior to his move to Aston Villa should disqualify him from ever commenting on football again.

Football coverage on Sportsound is generally shocking. The same voices saying the same things over and over again. I listened to Open All Mics on Saturday for the 1st time in ages and I had to switch it off. A bunch of shrieking children shouting over each other. No structure to it, no insight and I had no clue what was going on in any of the games. The whole football output from Radio Scotland badly needs a refresh.

02-02-2022, 10:51 AM
Still think it's a penalty, but nowhere near the stonewaller the TV/radio were suggesting. Could barely see the fuss about it when finally getting round to seeing the replay.

Not that it makes a difference, but wasn't even like the shot was going in.

Nothing was getting by Kev last night. He was having a Conrad Logan night.

02-02-2022, 10:54 AM
Why Gordon hates Porty? Scored a winner against Aberdeen then had a retrospective red card. Bitter.

02-02-2022, 11:00 AM
Why Gordon hates Porty? Scored a winner against Aberdeen then had a retrospective red card. Bitter.

I was thinking last night Porteous is becoming our version of Lennon (as a player), I've seen someone else suggest he's like Brown, which I see.

He's combative and in the oppositions face from the get go, he's the player everyone dislikes bar his own fans. Not a bad thing, as long as he keeps calm and doesn't allow himself to get dragged in to silly situations.

It does mean the press, etc are likely going to always single him out as they did with Lennon and Brown.

02-02-2022, 11:09 AM
If someone argued that had Hearts nicked it 1-0 last night then we couldn't have had too many complaints then I'd probably accept it, I'd argue the same could be said the other way around too. To say they were 'worthy of 3 points' is bollocks though.

He's one of these guys who seems to be held in some kind of esteem when talking about football without actually really seeming to have that much of a clue or saying anything insightful. His comments about McGinn prior to his move to Aston Villa should disqualify him from ever commenting on football again.

Football coverage on Sportsound is generally shocking. The same voices saying the same things over and over again. I listened to Open All Mics on Saturday for the 1st time in ages and I had to switch it off. A bunch of shrieking children shouting over each other. No structure to it, no insight and I had no clue what was going on in any of the games. The whole football output from Radio Scotland badly needs a refresh.

Whenever I try to listen to them there’s the sound of someone with a blocked nose trying to breathe in the background that drives me up the wall.

Tom its not fair English

MagicSwirlingShip
I was thinking last night Porteous is becoming our version of Lennon (as a player), I've seen someone else suggest he's like Brown, which I see.

He's combative and in the oppositions face from the get go, he's the player everyone dislikes bar his own fans. Not a bad thing, as long as he keeps calm and doesn't allow himself to get dragged in to silly situations.

It does mean the press, etc are likely going to always single him out as they did with Lennon and Brown.

Yup. He’s our pantomime villain. Superb on his day. Really mature performance last night

02-02-2022, 11:12 AM

As I mentioned previously - holds the Guinness Book of Records record for the longest on-air interview for the Hearts Head of Comms position.

02-02-2022, 11:18 AM

Couldn't imagine him speaking about many other players - if any - like that. Obviously personal, and didn't even mitigate by acknowledging how good he'd been.He acted in the same way with Gary O'connor. What a divvy.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Hibees1973
02-02-2022, 11:28 AM
Richard Gordon.

He does like having a regular snide comment. Not just on our players but other clubs as well and he tends to chose the topical target which is a bit predictable. To give balance he does have regular digs at his own club, Aberdeen so I do not think he is biased in any way. Almost all the time, his snide comments are met with a momentary silence from his co-presenters either not agreeing with his opinion or do as Gordon should do, keep his opinion to himself.

On the whole I reckon Gordon is a smooth and likeable presenter. Think he just loses his professionalism at times and talks like a pub punter.

02-02-2022, 11:32 AM
I'm amazed people get so upset by folk like Gordon and English. Just don't listen to the melts.

02-02-2022, 11:33 AM

Do you remember Richard Gordons weird obsession with Doidge when he first arrived? You would think he was an absolute donkey the way RG spoke about him and his missed chances every week. he scored a hattrick (vs saintees i think) and you could almost feel RGS seethe over the airwaves. It cant be a coincidence its always Hibs players he has a go at.

02-02-2022, 11:35 AM
I'm amazed people get so upset by folk like Gordon and English.

Don't be. Paying almost £150 for a licence fee entitles folk to make judgements about the quality on offer.

Hibees1973
02-02-2022, 11:42 AM
Tom English.

Yeah, he is a bit of a strange one at times. He tends to go off on a rant at times and quite often loves to exaggerate and hype up a minor story. To be fair though he is a jurno.

When Levein was manager at Hearts it was clear they had good relationship. They still seem to have whenever they are on the radio together. English was more than happy to big up comments he obviously got from Levein, when he was at Hearts. Saying things like Sean Clare is a seriously good player and Levein is expecting big things of him and other ridiculous things I've really just forgotten about that have not come to fruition.

He does go straight for the jugular and deliberately looks to irritate supporters and club hierarchy.

If any club is underperforming, such as us just now, expect a few chortles and condescending comments from Tom.

More will be coming our way, but again, it's only Tom.

02-02-2022, 11:47 AM
He's the roasters favourite roaster and I'm delighted he is associated with poppy thievery rather than anything at all to do with Hibs.

I'd like to see us pushing back as a club when our players are actively singled out by welts like him and Gordon.

02-02-2022, 11:50 AM

He's just the same degree of bell-end when he's commenting on egg-chasing ie an absolute 100% bell-end. I've stopped even clicking on anything on the BBC website that bears his name. If he actually knew half as much as he purports to with his superior know-it-all comments, he'd be the first ever coterminous Coach of both the Scotland football and rugby teams, and our most successful ever such coach in both sports.

02-02-2022, 11:52 AM
I'm aware of the irony in the next comment but he clearly beleives the worst thing about being talked about is when you are not being talked about. Lets stop talking about him.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

02-02-2022, 11:55 AM
Man's a welt.

His sycophantic relationship with Anne Budge was really pathetic.

He's been licking her arse ever since she invited him over for tea and scones in that conservatory of hers. The one with the 10 foot high hedge 6 inches away from the windows.

02-02-2022, 12:39 PM
It was disgusting.

The two of them are cowards, and I guarantee should a similar incident arise tonight they'll barely cover it.

Indicative of the bias all too accepted on a supposedly impartial programme and national broadcaster.

I still wish Hibs were more proactive in defending their own.

Agree with all of that.

02-02-2022, 01:59 PM

I see this all the time about him. He is as **** at rugby punditry as he us at football. He is an insufferable bore who spouts absolute drivel on any number of topics.

02-02-2022, 02:40 PM
I just dont listen to him at all now.
Ive been listening to superscoreboard instead. Yes its mostly weegies but its better than listening to him.

loanheadhibby
02-02-2022, 02:44 PM
Whole lot of greeting about nothing here :boo hoo:
I agree dont know what everone is moaning about.
For the away team in a Derby I felt Hearts just shaded it.
I suppose we would have been shouting for both Hearts penalty claims and could you imagine the uproar on here if we had these claims turned down.
I thought Porteous was excellent last night which makes it frustrating when he misses games.

02-02-2022, 03:13 PM
Is Gordon the guy who said it was karma when we got relegated? Never really understood that and any justifiable reason why he would say that.

Does kind of suggest he has an issue with us if he indeed did say that.

02-02-2022, 03:17 PM
He's a complete and utter Bell End. Probably gets freebies to Murrayfield from the hearts directors.

h1bs4life
02-02-2022, 03:31 PM
Don't be. Paying almost £150 for a licence fee entitles folk to make judgements about the quality on offer.

Correct very rarely listen usually just on way home from the match. Started listening last night heard the fat jambo havering on to Shaun only for Shaun to say what was the question again leaving the fat jambo all flustered after that the rugby reporter and Gordon started talking crap so switched it off.
The fact that we are forced to pay a license fee which in effect goes towards paying there wages makes me look forward to the day when no longer have to pay it and let them stand on there own feet.

02-02-2022, 03:44 PM
I agree dont know what everone is moaning about.
For the away team in a Derby I felt Hearts just shaded it.
I suppose we would have been shouting for both Hearts penalty claims and could you imagine the uproar on here if we had these claims turned down.
I thought Porteous was excellent last night which makes it frustrating when he misses games.

Whats that got to do wi Tam English spouting gorgie sheite all over the bbc.
only ones greeting are jambo's or have you not noticed?

02-02-2022, 03:45 PM
Its the BBC and there are far better ways to show your contempt for such an organisation and there is nothing they can do about it.

:top marks:aok:

02-02-2022, 03:48 PM
Ive been listening to superscoreboard instead. Yes its mostly weegies but its better than listening to him.

Aye, same. That and the Go Radio football show with 'Bangers Hibs Talk and Down the slope (606 and the world football phone in too obviously)

Hibiza
02-02-2022, 05:44 PM
Tom English , probably the most mundane
( Face for radio )pundit in the World . Stick to Rugby , Hurling , boxing or golf . 😷

Hibiza
02-02-2022, 05:56 PM
English : " Jack of all trades - master of none " .

02-02-2022, 06:07 PM
Similar to quite a few people I stopped listening to Heartsound years ago. I have absolutely no interest in anything Gordon or English say, I got sick and tired of listening to them sooking up to the likes of Preston years ago and stopped listening. I would suggest others should maybe consider it too.

02-02-2022, 06:21 PM
I stopped listening to them a while back.

It's a shame because I like listening to football on the radio and Scottish football provides plenty of interesting topics and angles well worth covering.

Sportsound has actually been superb in the past. Coverage would start at 2pm, topics of the day discussed for an hour. Round the grounds, team news, same until 5 mins before ht then live commentary of the biggest game of the day. Round the grounds again at ht then live commentary of the second half, breaking away when something big happens on one of the other big games. Round the grounds after the games then interviews with the managers.

A pretty much perfect afternoon of football - as long as you get the people right. It can be Glasgow heavy but that's Scottish football, most people are interested in those 2. As long as the rest aren't ignored and ludicrous pro Aberdeen or pro Hearts editorial lines are taken then it's all good.

What is on offer at the moment is shameful and badly in need of a shake up. I guess they can't be that bothered about some folk drifting away as long as they've got the usual gimps in their cardigans tuning in from their Rovers as they drive back from the golf to hear about how the Hearts are getting on and the rugby is going.

02-02-2022, 06:22 PM

The presenter Andrew Duncan is excellent
He doesn’t take any nonsense from callers either

02-02-2022, 06:26 PM

Particularly from Gordon who is normally peeing his pants at his teams excellence in “game management”.

English is just an irritating sycophantic ****.

02-02-2022, 06:40 PM
Only heard some of it because I was told that Maloney got a bit narked at McLaughlin (which I wanted to hear) and of course then immediately heard English’s condescending sneers about SM’s comments straight afterwards.

I absolutely despise him. Talked down the quality of the game last night as well, despite it being a really good contest with - clearly - many talking points.

Would love to meet him and politely tell him how utterly pish he is. Absolute clown.

02-02-2022, 06:50 PM
Felt the same listening on my way home, they were apparently worthy of the 3 points. How he worked that out I have no idea

He is a welt.

But Hearts were the better team imho.

It took us 85 minutes to get a shot on target and hearts bossed the midfield .

They had more possession, more shots off and on target, more passes, better pass accuracy

I think we need to be honest .

We have work to do, so that we may receive Hearts at home, expect to beat them and then do so.

02-02-2022, 07:00 PM
He’s the main reason I stopped listening to Sportsound after god knows how many years. His greetin and whinging in the BBC summer of Hearts’ relentless bleating about their ***** team being relegated even outstripped Levein, Preston, McCann, Stewart and Gordon et al.

Sanctimonious p***k.

Mike Berry
02-02-2022, 07:00 PM
He is a welt.

They had more possession, more shots off and on target, more passes, better pass accuracy

We have work to do, so that we may receive Hearts at home, expect to beat them and then do so.Hearts had periods of dominance, but so did Hibs. It was a proper end to end blood and thunder derby. Best atmosphere I can remember at ER for a long time. Hearts had their moments, but they weren't better.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

02-02-2022, 07:11 PM
Hearts had periods of dominance, but so did Hibs. It was a proper end to end blood and thunder derby. Best atmosphere I can remember at ER for a long time. Hearts had their moments, but they weren't better.

It was a good game and atmosphere and as you say, it’s been a while

But I do think Hearts were better - marginally.

02-02-2022, 07:12 PM
He is a welt.

We have work to do, so that we may receive Hearts at home, expect to beat them and then do so.

…in all the statistical categories you mention they had a very narrow advantage in. It was a well contested game of two halves and a draw was the right result. Any other opinion is frankly bollocks or the product of a pishy breeked, sister pumping, dermatitis ridden hertz welt.

02-02-2022, 07:15 PM
Nothing wrong with saying Hearts edged it, but from all in the post-match I heard it made it seemed there was only one team in it and totally overlooked what Hibs put into the game. Forget the lack of on target efforts, there were a lot of near things and we contributed an awful lot in the first half particularly - wouldn't exactly have been a smash and grab had Campbell scored.

02-02-2022, 07:18 PM
He is a welt.

We hit the post and had a goal chalked off for offside early on. Yes, correctly given as offside but still closer to scoring than they got. Their keeper was beaten again in injury time but it was cleared off the line. The closest they came to beating our keeper was Rocky's dodgy pass back.

An even match which either side could have won but neither side deserved to win. A draw was a fair result.

zitelli62
02-02-2022, 07:39 PM
Tom English an Irish rugby fan what he knows about football you could write on the back of a stamp the man's a complete roaster who would love to cuddle up to the budgie wumman what a thought.

02-02-2022, 07:43 PM
He is a welt.

You make it sound like we barely troubled them for 85 minutes - the first half was hugely uncomfortable for Hearts - as was a good bit of the second half for us.

The shots on target chat is so tiresome already - not every shot on target means a chance was created, and not every good opportunity results in a shot on target.

Look at the Rangers tonight, one shot on target this half - does that mean they’ve been better in their first half than we were last night? And on that note, Kent hits a 25 yard trundler into Hart’s arms - shot on target; Aribo puts Arfield through one on one, great chance, no shot on target.

Hearts had more chances than us, but the best chance of the game was ours. Draw was a fair result with both sides having a decent claim to have won.

Hearts did not boss the midfield.

02-02-2022, 07:46 PM
He is a welt.

Blether

02-02-2022, 07:52 PM
I've stopped listening to that BBC trash
Home of the sacked managers

02-02-2022, 09:12 PM
Remember when Gordon used to ridicule Malonga on an almost weekly basis. Didnt half shut him up with that solo goal tho

02-02-2022, 11:18 PM
I enjoy BBC SportSound I must say. I don't even mind Tom English. Back when we were flying under Lennon Tom was waxing lyrical about Hibs!

03-02-2022, 05:29 AM
The format, content and direction will be determined by the producer?
Follow the trail to see who’s really setting the agenda.

03-02-2022, 05:54 AM
The format, content and direction will be determined by the producer?
Follow the trail to see who’s really setting the agenda.

Was there not chat the editor was a jambo?

03-02-2022, 05:56 AM
Remember when Gordon used to ridicule Malonga on an almost weekly basis. Didnt half shut him up with that solo goal tho

He's ridiculed Malonga, Doidge and Porto. Can't think of another player from any other team. Weird behaviour.

03-02-2022, 05:58 AM
He's ridiculed Malonga, Doidge and Porto. Can't think of another player from any other team. Weird behaviour.

3 guys who all stuck it right up Aberdeen by scoring big goals.

03-02-2022, 06:01 AM

Garry O also when we got a pen but he didn't get banned after SFA review. Went on about it for weeks it was laughable but set an agenda about him being a diver. Still waiting on some confirmation why he would say it was karma when we went down.

03-02-2022, 07:49 AM
You make it sound like we barely troubled them for 85 minutes - the first half was hugely uncomfortable for Hearts - as was a good bit of the second half for us.

The shots on target chat is so tiresome already - not every shot on target means a chance was created, and not every good opportunity results in a shot on target.

Look at the Rangers tonight, one shot on target this half - does that mean they’ve been better in their first half than we were last night? And on that note, Kent hits a 25 yard trundler into Hart’s arms - shot on target; Aribo puts Arfield through one on one, great chance, no shot on target.

Hearts had more chances than us, but the best chance of the game was ours. Draw was a fair result with both sides having a decent claim to have won.

Hearts did not boss the midfield.

The shots on target stat masks chances like the last ditch clearances made from Rocky’s header and the cross Doidge was about to tap in.

Newel and JDH had a good game and I thought played McKay and the superstar number 6 out of the game for much of it.

03-02-2022, 07:51 AM
The shots on target stat masks chances like the last ditch clearances made from Rocky’s header and the cross Doidge was about to tap in.

Newel and JDH had a good game and I thought played McKay and the superstar number 6 out of the game for much of it.

And the twice that Nisbet was through and didn’t get a shot of with his left foot ….

03-02-2022, 07:58 AM
Garry O also when we got a pen but he didn't get banned after SFA review. Went on about it for weeks it was laughable but set an agenda about him being a diver. Still waiting on some confirmation why he would say it was karma when we went down.

I’d guess it was because we were all laughing our heads off at them cos of the Yams administration and Vlad, the billionaire banker doing a runner.

Dublin07
03-02-2022, 08:06 AM
English is an Irish rugby reporter with a strange affection for the British establishment. He knows nothing about football other than the agenda he is fed each week. The BBC appears to be the perfect home for him. Anyone taking him seriously after his McGinn comments are as daft as him.

03-02-2022, 08:16 AM
And the twice that Nisbet was through and didn’t get a shot of with his left foot ….

Yip. Also the master tactician said before the game that possession doesn’t matter - so not sure how it matters now they had more of it?

03-02-2022, 08:22 AM
Just switch it off.

03-02-2022, 11:49 AM
I’d guess it was because we were all laughing our heads off at them cos of the Yams administration and Vlad, the billionaire banker doing a runner.

Fair does wonder why he would be bothered given he is an Aberdeen fan

03-02-2022, 11:52 AM

It was because of the "relegation party" at Tiny where they didn't get relegated, then they subsequently did but so did we. Not our finest hour, to be fair.

Typical of the Scottish media he fully bought into the "poor Hearts fans, look what Vlad did to them and isn't it great how they've saved their club" narrative. :rolleyes:

03-02-2022, 11:56 AM
Just switch it off.

I'm forced by law to pay his wages

03-02-2022, 11:56 AM
Fair does wonder why he would be bothered given he is an Aberdeen fan

I think we were taking the piss out of the BBC sports team too.

They spent the previous years licking Vlad’s a*** , whilst we were telling anyone who would listen he was a crook.

They don’t like being proven to be wrong.

03-02-2022, 12:26 PM
Slightly off track here but the Sky team on Tuesday also bought in to the 'Hearts continually being hard done by' agenda. They mentioned Celtc's recent goal at Tiny as being offside and referenced the previous game against Celtc also. Strangely they forgot about Hearts offside goal against Celtc and the Celtc goal wrongly chalked off at PBS in opening game of season.

03-02-2022, 12:35 PM
L
Slightly off track here but the Sky team on Tuesday also bought in to the 'Hearts continually being hard done by' agenda. They mentioned Celtc's recent goal at Tiny as being offside and referenced the previous game against Celtc also. Strangely they forgot about Hearts offside goal against Celtc and the Celtc goal wrongly chalked off at PBS in opening game of season.

Maybe they are using some of Benny’s money to entertain the media folk at the 5 star castle view roof-top chip shop. :greengrin

Maybe they’ve found a copy of Vlad’s play book and decided to give it a go. I seem to remember nothing but good Vlad story’s for months after that media trip to Lithuania.

03-02-2022, 12:51 PM
L

Maybe they are using some of Benny’s money to entertain the media folk at the 5 star castle view roof-top chip shop. :greengrin

Maybe they’ve found a copy of Vlad’s play book and decided to give it a go. I seem to remember nothing but good Vlad story’s for months after that media trip to Lithuania.

Can remember the self sustainable interview before a Derby. Absolute propoganda

03-02-2022, 01:20 PM

Probably because the Sky team consisted of 2 jambos in McCann and John Robertson. Plus Kris Boyd who would back anything anti Celtic. And Jack Ross who would never say anything remotely controversial or go out of his way to defend Hibs.

It's getting a bit tiresome than we basically have no representation amongst the Scottish media. The best we can hope for is Mikey Stewart FFS!

The only answer is to win the next few derbies and ignore these wallopers.

03-02-2022, 02:22 PM
Probably because the Sky team consisted of 2 jambos in McCann and John Robertson. Plus Kris Boyd who would back anything anti Celtic. And Jack Ross who would never say anything remotely controversial or go out of his way to defend Hibs.

It's getting a bit tiresome than we basically have no representation amongst the Scottish media. The best we can hope for is Mikey Stewart FFS!

The only answer is to win the next few derbies and ignore these wallopers.

Pat Nevin used to speak up for us but doesn’t seem so vocal these days.

03-02-2022, 02:23 PM
It was because of the "relegation party" at Tiny where they didn't get relegated, then they subsequently did but so did we. Not our finest hour, to be fair.

Typical of the Scottish media he fully bought into the "poor Hearts fans, look what Vlad did to them and isn't it great how they've saved their club" narrative. :rolleyes:

Nothing grinds my piss like this. Hearts fans are as much to blame as anyone for what happened. Absolutely lapped it up for years. They adored Vlad, even as he killed their club infront of them.

03-02-2022, 02:32 PM
Nothing grinds my piss like this. Hearts fans are as much to blame as anyone for what happened. Absolutely lapped it up for years. They adored Vlad, even as he killed their club infront of them.

And still are incapable of admitting there's anything tainted about the cup wins his dirty money bought.

03-02-2022, 02:46 PM
Can remember the self sustainable interview before a Derby. Absolute propoganda

Ah, Self Sufficient Southern, now a Football Industry Advisor building on his great experience in helping relegate Hearts and Dundee United!

hibbydog
03-02-2022, 02:49 PM
Och I think these folk are instructed to be controversial by their bosses to make their outlets more interesting.

Chris Sutton
Craigan
Fatty Boyd

Nothing more than grown up trolls to be honest.

03-02-2022, 04:38 PM
That's a new turn of phrase for me.
But if you can do that, you really should see a doctor!

03-02-2022, 04:41 PM
That's a new turn of phrase for me.
But if you can do that, you really should see a doctor!

:greengrin Combination of 2 other phrases.

03-02-2022, 04:58 PM
I think we were taking the piss out of the BBC sports team too.

They spent the previous years licking Vlad’s a*** , whilst we were telling anyone who would listen he was a crook.

They don’t like being proven to be wrong.

They fools lapped him up.
He was always good copy for them with his odd ways and sticking his fingers up to the SFA and the like.
However Vlad was nobody's fool.He knew what he really wanted.
Even if the rest of us didn't at the time.

One reason Vlad came here was to open a branch of his bank in Edinburgh.
Buying Hearts he thought would be a route to doing that.
Our banking authority/regulator denied him that. They knew something.
'Had he succeeded he would have cleaned out the accounts of the many jambos,who would have no doubt used his bank,and left them penniless,as he did to thousands of depositors and pensioners in his own Country.

Hindsight is wonderful,but early in his time there,alarm bells were ringing.
People like Fatty Foulkes should have had him investigated.Even discreetly,he had the contacts to do that.
But Lord George was too busy getting drunk in them days
Like the day i saw him getting poured out of Jenny Ha's into a taxi

When Vlad fled the nest,charity shops in Gorgie and Morningside were full of Cossack hats :greengrin

03-02-2022, 05:19 PM
I'm forced by law to pay his wages

You aren’t you know.

03-02-2022, 05:28 PM
You aren’t you know.

Tell me now.. Just paid them after a lot of hassle :confused:

03-02-2022, 07:31 PM
They fools lapped him up.
He was always good copy for them with his odd ways and sticking his fingers up to the SFA and the like.
However Vlad was nobody's fool.He knew what he really wanted.
Even if the rest of us didn't at the time.

One reason Vlad came here was to open a branch of his bank in Edinburgh.
Buying Hearts he thought would be a route to doing that.
Our banking authority/regulator denied him that. They knew something.
'Had he succeeded he would have cleaned out the accounts of the many jambos,who would have no doubt used his bank,and left them penniless,as he did to thousands of depositors and pensioners in his own Country.

Hindsight is wonderful,but early in his time there,alarm bells were ringing.
People like Fatty Foulkes should have had him investigated.Even discreetly,he had the contacts to do that.
But Lord George was too busy getting drunk in them days
Like the day i saw him getting poured out of Jenny Ha's into a taxi

When Vlad fled the nest,charity shops in Gorgie and Morningside were full of Cossack hats :greengrin

I spoke to Leslie Deans about Vlad on a number of occasions but he told me that there was no problems with Hearts and Vlad would sort things out and his bank was too big to fail
I did warn him.

03-02-2022, 09:06 PM

Watching the SPFL highlights on Sky.

They show 9 or 10 Hearts chances and one solitary Hibs chance, Campbell's Shot at the end.

No view of disallowed goal or Rocky header deflected over the bar.

Budge or Benny must be doing some charm offensive on the Sky people.

04-02-2022, 06:21 AM
I've stopped listening to that BBC trash
Home of the sacked managers

Exactly. In the preview of the game Harry Potter asked his views on the Derby. No hibs input. Wheel out Collins or Hughes occasionally but their coverage is so skewed in hearts favour it's becoming a standing joke. The porteous bashing when he was sen off when no contact but the horrendous tackle the following week at hunbrox by aribo I think it was hardly talked about. They deliberately IMHO target certain hibs players and overlook others shocking tackles. Farce of a programme. They actually made out the infirm game sound dull. None of them are football pundits. Itsa tragedy it's stooped to this. I only know one jambo who listens to it. Audience figures never given out but are thought to be drastic.

04-02-2022, 06:22 AM
I spoke to Leslie Deans about Vlad on a number of occasions but he told me that there was no problems with Hearts and Vlad would sort things out and his bank was too big to fail
I did warn him.

Does Deans get anything right ever? :greengrin

04-02-2022, 06:25 AM
To compare it to the fantastic sports podcasts on horse racing and cricket especially it's primary 1 against elite college level. There are so many cracking sports podcasts out there that just show how bad they are. Steve Cowan who does his bit on forth is very good and is usually unbiased and very informative. If he was on every hibs game he would balance out the nonsense.

Mike Berry
04-02-2022, 07:06 AM
Exactly. In the preview of the game Harry Potter asked his views on the Derby. No hibs input. Wheel out Collins or Hughes occasionally but their coverage is so skewed in hearts favour it's becoming a standing joke. The porteous bashing when he was sen off when no contact but the horrendous tackle the following week at hunbrox by aribo I think it was hardly talked about. They deliberately IMHO target certain hibs players and overlook others shocking tackles. Farce of a programme. They actually made out the infirm game sound dull. None of them are football pundits. Itsa tragedy it's stooped to this. I only know one jambo who listens to it. Audience figures never given out but are thought to be drastic.Exactly. Actually the way Porteous was treated still sticks in my throat. It was a witch hunt. Players go to ground in the tackle every week, and in that case there was no contact, not even close. It wasn't dangerous. The Lundstram tackle in the same game WAS arguably dangerous, but he's a Rangers player so of course that's different. I'm fuming just from writing this.

Maybe I need to get out more.

04-02-2022, 07:19 AM
Exactly. Actually the way Porteous was treated still sticks in my throat. It was a witch hunt. Players go to ground in the tackle every week, and in that case there was no contact, not even close. It wasn't dangerous. The Lundstram tackle in the same game WAS arguably dangerous, but he's a Rangers player so of course that's different. I'm fuming just from writing this.

Maybe I need to get out more.

Sportscene would analyse to the nth degree decisions given in favour of Hibs when it involved tackles on Martin Boyle and ignore similar incidents in other games,insinuating that he was diving. Comments made such as he went down too easily and the like. Comments made by pundits who Tom Daly would have loved to have had as a coach.

hibstag
04-02-2022, 07:51 PM
If you can find it listening to the Tom English and levein double team getting their ***** handed to them in consecutive podcasts by the Cowdenbeath and Raith Rover Chairmen in summer 2020 was comedy gold the arrogance of English in taking on Donald Findaly was unbelievable. Findlay never even got out into second gear.

It's just not fair does not wash as a an
argument with a QC

04-02-2022, 07:54 PM
If you can find it listening to the Tom English and levein double team getting their ***** handed to them in consecutive podcasts by the Cowdenbeath and Raith Rover Chairmen in summer 2020 was comedy gold the arrogance of English in taking on Donald Findaly was unbelievable. Findlay never even got out into second gear.

argument with a QC

The discussion with Donald Findlay was one of the highlights of the first lockdown. He completely demolished English and it was glorious.

04-02-2022, 08:13 PM

argument with a QC

Think BBC podcasts are only available for a week.

He's here!
08-09-2024, 12:09 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian

Maybe already posted, but if you scroll down a bit you'll find a Q&A where Tom English is none too hopeful for our chances this season.

08-09-2024, 12:34 PM

Maybe already posted, but if you scroll down a bit you'll find a Q&A where Tom English is none too hopeful for our chances this season.

Does Tom English watch every Hibs game or just a few highlights on Sportscene?

If he just sees the odd game in full then why are Hibs fans asking him questions about Hibs?

Just hot air and speculative ramblings.

Lendo
08-09-2024, 12:47 PM

Should stick to talking about his egg-chasing pish

08-09-2024, 01:04 PM
Tbh hes not conpletely wrong in what he says

Saint Hibee
08-09-2024, 01:15 PM
Following his Budge love in, I really can’t stand the guy. Which makes it even more depressing that most of what he’s saying here is true. The only bit I really disagree with is his assertion that we don’t pose any threat in attack.

08-09-2024, 01:27 PM

Think he’s spot on with what he says about us.

08-09-2024, 01:37 PM
Lack of presence in midfield? No real threat up top? A total mess after a handful of games? Playing the identity card? He’s a slaver. Always has been.

Keepthefaith
08-09-2024, 01:53 PM
Lack of presence in midfield? No real threat up top? A total mess after a handful of games? Playing the identity card? He’s a slaver. Always has been.

Absolutely my thoughts too!

08-09-2024, 01:53 PM
He's the poster child for the Dunning Kruger effect, I just can't recall ever hearing or reading anything from him that's even remotely insightful or clever.

08-09-2024, 01:55 PM
What is our identity…..
What is our DNA…

What a load of meaningless codswallop.
Trying to sound clever, but demonstrating he’s an idiot.

If anyone actually understands these stupid questions, and has an answer, please post on this thread, or have your nurse do it for you.

Presumably there is no answer because the egg chaser means them as rhetorical rather than moronic.

HFC93
08-09-2024, 02:03 PM
I don't disagree with a lot of what he says in that Q&A.

He's here!
08-09-2024, 02:09 PM

Nor do I. A lot of it is spot on.

08-09-2024, 02:52 PM
It is, unfortunately.

Saint Hibee
08-09-2024, 03:03 PM
Following his Budge love in, I really can’t stand the guy. Which makes it even more depressing that most of what he’s saying here is true. The only bit I really disagree with is his assertion that we don’t pose any threat in attack.

08-09-2024, 03:09 PM

I agree. Just because the message isn't what we want to hear, doesn't mean it's not right.

08-09-2024, 03:11 PM
I agree. Just because the message isn't what we want to hear, doesn't mean it's not right.
Some of it is but most of it is his uninformed opinionated waffle.

08-09-2024, 03:15 PM

I stopped reading. Top six isn't good enough. The defence needs to settle. Aye, no **** Sherlock. I don't disagree but he isn't telling me anything I don't know. Now all I need is time to see if the defence settles. Time to see where the new players and manager takes us. Time I don't intend to waste reading nothing articles by Tom bloody English.

Donegal Hibby
08-09-2024, 03:49 PM
Tom English doing what Tom English does best in talking a load of ….💩.

Can’t stand the guy .

08-09-2024, 03:55 PM
he is a right phanney, and he does wear a phanneys hat, he will also be pleased he has as much publicity as we give him.

08-09-2024, 03:56 PM
He's the poster child for the Dunning Kruger effect, I just can't recall ever hearing or reading anything from him that's even remotely insightful or clever.Indeed, I'm really looking forward to his succinct analysis of the current situation at his beloved Tynecastle (or is it just a Mrs doctor Budge love in?).

His thoughts on returns on investment would be particularly interesting, even if no such thing will ever happen[emoji16]

scm70nyd1973
08-09-2024, 04:10 PM
Indeed, I'm really looking forward to his succinct analysis of the current situation at his beloved Tynecastle (or is it just a Mrs doctor Budge love in?).

His thoughts on returns on investment would be particularly interesting, even if no such thing will ever happen[emoji16]

Was he not the tosser who said something like SJM would be warming the Celtic bench and wouldn’t improve the Celtic midfield if they signed him from us 😡

08-09-2024, 04:12 PM
Was he not the tosser who said something like SJM would be warming the Celtic bench and wouldn’t improve the Celtic midfield if they signed him from us [emoji35]The very same, I think.[emoji6]

DIXIHIBS
08-09-2024, 04:14 PM
Saying that getting into top 6 shouldn't spark any parties at ER. It doesn't ya slaver. I don't know any hibby that would celebrate just getting into top 6. It should be a minimum requirement every season with top 3/4 our target. The problem with journalists etc saying stuff like that, it then becomes something that other fans connect with Hibs. It's like the Tiny atmosphere myth. It doesn't exist but people talk about it.

08-09-2024, 04:16 PM
He's nothing but a mouthpiece for Budge and the Gorgie mob, and a 2nd rate so-called journalist to boot. I've no intention of reading any of his ramblings.

08-09-2024, 04:56 PM
Identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity

08-09-2024, 05:42 PM
Was he not the tosser who said something like SJM would be warming the Celtic bench and wouldn’t improve the Celtic midfield if they signed him from us 😡
Yes he was and he still gets bent out if shape when challenged about it.

scm70nyd1973
08-09-2024, 06:01 PM
Identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity identity

At least he hasn’t (to my knowledge) used that odious phrase (you know something ed it ) -if he does then all hell will be unleashed - well by me 😡

Unlike that fechin Uber BBC tosser Adam Binnie

08-09-2024, 06:05 PM

X-ray Spex classic

08-09-2024, 06:10 PM
X-ray Spex classic

Your comment made my world turn day glo....

08-09-2024, 06:24 PM
Tom English doing what Tom English does best in talking a load of ….💩.

Can’t stand the guy .

Yep, couldn't agree more.

08-09-2024, 06:40 PM

Genuinely think he has very little football knowledge

08-09-2024, 07:16 PM

Every single regular poster on here will have more knowledge about Hibs than he does. Or anyone else employed by the BBC to drone on in the guise of “experts”.

08-09-2024, 07:23 PM

He's hardly great at rugby either, I find him just as tedious with that as I do football.

Mcbizz1998
08-09-2024, 07:39 PM
As a rugby fan I can confirm he knows as much about football as he does about rugby - **** all!

I can’t stand the guy!