View Full Version : Kevin Dabrowski

-Jonesy-
01-02-2022, 08:40 PM
Three huge saves one on one tonight and one crucial save from a pass back he had to make (cheers rocky). Looked a decent shot stopper if nothing else, not an easy way to make your debut.

01-02-2022, 08:40 PM
Keeps the gloves by far.

01-02-2022, 08:41 PM
Keeps the gloves. Well done Kevin.

01-02-2022, 08:42 PM
Has to keep his place after that.

chasitup
Solid debut.

Great performance from him.
Keeps the gloves.

kentao
01-02-2022, 08:43 PM
Great performance from Kevin, needs to keep the gloves. Some of his saves were outstanding.

01-02-2022, 08:44 PM
Done really well. Daft breakdown in communication for the FK but otherwise solid.

We may as well see what we have with him between now and the summer.

Hfc_Since1875
01-02-2022, 08:44 PM
Well played young man 👏🏻

King conrad
01-02-2022, 08:45 PM
He was outstanding

Bridge hibs
01-02-2022, 08:45 PM
Good to see Dabrowski get his chance, has bloody quick feet 😵

01-02-2022, 08:46 PM
He had some very good saves also some very eccentric saves with him trying to push it out - on another day it might come back to bite him

But it never.

Congratulations on your debut Kev, great performance for a young keeper playing his first game at this level and first competitive game in what 8 months?

cameronw-hfc
Was in tears at the end. Clean sheet in a derby at home for an academy product is about is big a moment as it gets for him.

Fair play to him. Thought he was a bit nervy first half with a couple of crosses but made some big saves 2nd half.

CallumHibs07
01-02-2022, 08:47 PM
No chance Macey would’ve kept a clean sheet tonight.

-Jonesy-
01-02-2022, 08:47 PM
Was in tears at the end. Clean sheet in a derby at home for an academy product is about is big a moment as it gets for him.

A pretty busy clean sheet too

01-02-2022, 08:48 PM
Be mental to drop him now. Especially after the howler for Livi's first on Saturday.

-Jonesy-
01-02-2022, 08:48 PM

Macey had an outstanding first derby this season and kept a clean sheet with two absolute worldy saves mind

01-02-2022, 08:49 PM
Played brilliantly

I remember Rocky getting injured but coming straight back in to starting 11 when fit, I don't think Macey has done enough to cement the number one position so keeps the gloves even if Macey is back at the weekend

01-02-2022, 08:49 PM

Brilliant. Dick Campbell always says that players play themselves into a team and they play themselves out of a team and Kevin has played himself into the team tonight. Gloves are his for the forseeable.

Fantastic young man, can be proud of himself. We're proud of him.

01-02-2022, 08:50 PM
I'll be honest, if he doesn't keep his place on Saturday I'll be a wee bit annoyed.

The place in the team is his to lose now.

01-02-2022, 08:50 PM
Great interview too. Lovely guy, great keeper. Give him the jersey.

OldEast
01-02-2022, 08:51 PM

Not even playing and still the negativity.
Agree with everything said about Dabrowski. Nervous start but grew in confidence. Kept us in the game and must keep the gloves.

Eaststand
01-02-2022, 08:51 PM
Well played KD, a motm performance 👍

01-02-2022, 08:52 PM
Could tell he was nervous, but honestly. I would start him every game. Very big potential, I like him.

Also for what it's worth, we finally have a goalie who can kick the bloody ball upfield!!!

Take a bow my pal.

MW was right :aok:

Really lovely post-match interview on Sky Sports. What a deserving young man.

01-02-2022, 08:53 PM

01-02-2022, 08:54 PM
Did fine

01-02-2022, 08:54 PM
Jack Ross on KD

"who's the idiot manager that didn't pick him"

:greengrin credit where it's due

01-02-2022, 08:55 PM
Great goalie from the 2 games I’ve seen him in

01-02-2022, 08:55 PM
Massive. In a derby ? Well played !

01-02-2022, 08:56 PM
With the mood and atmosphere amongst a lot of supporters in the past few weeks,it was crucial we did not lose tonight.
The banner said "Fight for the Badge"
The defending at that free kick inside the box illustrated that they did just that.
Kevin in goal was tremendous.
He looked like he had been our number one for ages
Superb display and saves.

Oor Ryan !!?
Heart of a lion that laddie has.
Not short on skill either.

01-02-2022, 09:01 PM
He can be well pleased with his game tonight, saved us from ourselves a few times, well done the new goalie.

01-02-2022, 09:01 PM
Did he not play well in a friendly vs Celtic? Can't remember what season butnnever really had a chance.

Can be proud of his performance.

01-02-2022, 09:04 PM
Jack Ross on KD

Laughed at that too.

Hopefully KD keeps the gloves on Saturday, has earned his chance.

01-02-2022, 09:05 PM
Would definitely keep him in on Saturday. No reason to drop him after that.

HendoDelivered
01-02-2022, 09:06 PM
Top drawer

01-02-2022, 09:06 PM
Did he not play well in a friendly vs Celtic? Can't remember what season butnnever really had a chance.

Can be proud of his performance.

Was good against Arsenal pre-season as well. Think he should get a run of games now.

random sub
01-02-2022, 09:07 PM
Well done KD. And to be honest, it looked like a dodgy attempt at a pass back by Rocky rather than any mistake or communication problem by him.

01-02-2022, 09:07 PM
Fantastic interview on Sportsound just now. Really impressed with him.

01-02-2022, 09:08 PM
Dawdled coming out for a bouncing ball in the first half but otherwise my MOTM. In a 0-0 game a keeper that makes those saves must be MOTM for me

Not that I told you so but told you so...

He was OK. Made a couple of good saves but he is shocking with the ball at his feet. Certainly no better than Macey for me. Well done to him though, clean sheet isn't to be sniffed at

Well done KD. And to be honest, it looked like a dodgy attempt at a pass back by Rocky rather than any mistake or communication problem by him.

Absolutely. Complete brain fart from the otherwise excellent Rocky

01-02-2022, 09:10 PM
Was in tears at the end. Clean sheet in a derby at home for an academy product is about is big a moment as it gets for him.Felt that myself! Bloody brilliant moment

01-02-2022, 09:12 PM
He was OK. Made a couple of good saves but he is shocking with the ball at his feet. Certainly no better than Macey for me. Well done to him though, clean sheet isn't to be sniffed at

I genuinely think there's no way Macey saves that back pass from Rocky late on. I'd be given Dabrowski a run out after tonight for sure.

vincipernoi
01-02-2022, 09:13 PM
any one got a clip of the interview with kevin?

01-02-2022, 09:14 PM

Not disagreeing with you, you could be right, but can you tell me some of the 'shocking' things he done with his feet. I genuinely don't recall any that I would describe as shocking

01-02-2022, 09:15 PM
any one got a clip of the interview with kevin?

https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1488632619063513094?s=21

01-02-2022, 09:17 PM
Not disagreeing with you, you could be right, but can you tell me some of the 'shocking' things he done with his feet. I genuinely don't recall any that I would describe as shocking
His kicking was very poor, often not even getting past the hearts midfield. It was also clear to me that the defence were very reluctant to pass it back to him. As I say he did OK but I'm not getting carried away that we have the new Peter Shilton. Youngsters will need to look that one up

01-02-2022, 09:18 PM

Oh please.

01-02-2022, 09:18 PM

Brilliant stuff, good on the laddie...

01-02-2022, 09:19 PM
He was brilliant tonight. Earned a start the next game at least. Well done Kevin and delighted he got a chance.

01-02-2022, 09:21 PM
Great performance, would keep him ahead of matey, deserves a run of games

01-02-2022, 09:22 PM
Great performance, would keep him ahead of matey, deserves a run of games

He’s burst Matey’s bubble.

JamesHFC
01-02-2022, 09:24 PM
Well done Kev, should be proud. Watched his interview and he seems humble. His place to lose from now as far as I’m concerned.

Turkish Green
01-02-2022, 09:24 PM
The Emperor Napoleon would say when appointing a general "do not tell me he is good, tell me he is lucky". Dabrowski is lucky. Should keep the gloves.

01-02-2022, 09:26 PM
Absolutely brilliant,full of confidence the whole game 10/10

01-02-2022, 09:29 PM

****ing love that. Clearly means so much to him.

Tarrahib
01-02-2022, 09:38 PM
Keeps the gloves by far.
He canna keep the gloves. He gave them away to a young boy at the end of the game. Nice touch.

01-02-2022, 09:44 PM

That's an amazing interview. Genuine rather than the normal rubbish.

01-02-2022, 09:50 PM
I’ve been saying it for months now, he’s the best keeper at the club.

Rumble de Thump
01-02-2022, 09:56 PM
Was a foul awarded against him for handling the ball from a backpass? It seemed like he had to make a diving one handed save, which couldn't be considered a backpass. Maybe I just didn't see it properly.

01-02-2022, 09:58 PM
Has to keep his place after that.

Malobey confirmed in after match interview he would be in goal on Saturday

01-02-2022, 09:59 PM
I was a wee bit emotional watching that interview, well done to him, he should be proud of himself as he’s had to bide his time and obviously work hard. It would have been easy for him to give up and join a lesser club.

I’m looking forward to seeing his second half saves, sat in the famous five it’s hard to judge properly what happens at the other end (I hate it 😂), my jambo mates were spewing with him though so he obviously did well.

If I’m going to be overly critical, I think he was a bag of nerves in the first half and that contributed to his poor kicking. He did the right thing though; loads of keepers ruin their careers early by making bad judgement calls trying too hard to make themselves look brilliant as they might not get another chance any time soon. He was clearly a bit uneasy so he took the safe option and got the ball away from the goals.

He’ll play on Saturday and be a lot calmer now, I’m sure of it.

01-02-2022, 09:59 PM
Was a foul awarded against him for handling the ball from a backpass? It seemed like he had to make a diving one handed save, which couldn't be considered a backpass. Maybe I just didn't see it properly.

Surely has to be deemed a back pass? Rocky was trying to play the ball back to our keeper, he clearly over hit it and Kev had to make the save to stop it being an own goal?

01-02-2022, 10:01 PM

Totally deserved as well.

Rumble de Thump
01-02-2022, 10:01 PM
Surely has to be deemed a back pass? Rocky was trying to play the ball back to our keeper, he clearly over hit it and Kev had to make the save to stop it being an own goal?

I would deem it an attempt on goal 😄

ThisIsTheYear
01-02-2022, 10:02 PM
Outstanding!! :)

01-02-2022, 10:03 PM
He’s burst Matey’s bubble.

Totally agree mate

01-02-2022, 10:03 PM
I would deem it an attempt on goal 😄

😂 Fair point

01-02-2022, 10:15 PM
Some great saves, interview was magic.

We can pick up on his kicking another day.

01-02-2022, 10:16 PM
Can't help but love the guy, really happy for him.

Maloney definitely have him licence to kick the ball long given he's dropped into the starting 11. Ironically I actually think that worked well for us as we were way more direct in the first half with some good possession in their half.

I wonder if he will be able to adapt to Maloney's passing game, but I really hope he can as he deserves his chance with us.

01-02-2022, 10:21 PM
Does anyone know the rule regarding the back pass? As a keeper I honestly thought he was going to be sent off for a deliberate handball denying a clear goal. Heard the studio mention that he couldn’t be sent off for that, just not sure of the actual rule. Decent to know now for myself going forward though 😂

01-02-2022, 10:22 PM
Some great saves, interview was magic.

We can pick up on his kicking another day.

Was this a Sky interview?

01-02-2022, 10:33 PM
Was this a Sky interview?

Yeah - he got the MOM. Was getting a bit emotional and spoke really wee about Hibs.

https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1488632619063513094?s=10

01-02-2022, 10:35 PM
Totally deserved as well.

Agree he was so humble Grateful and self effacing after the match itvwas heartwarming to listen to
He has been waiting all his life for this moment and Hibs have looked after him and made him into a Man
If he can keep improving he could be our next No 1 keeper

01-02-2022, 10:35 PM
Yeah - he got the MOM. Was getting a bit emotional and spoke really wee about Hibs.

https://twitter.com/scotlandsky/status/1488632619063513094?s=10

Ta, anyone who’s come into contact with Kevin, will realise he’s a fantastic lad, and loves being at Hibs

01-02-2022, 10:39 PM
Delighted for Kev brilliant debut. In all honesty I think the saves he made Macey would have made them aswell and would expect a keeper to save them and that’s not meant to take away from him as for his debit he did brilliant.

01-02-2022, 10:42 PM
Deserved to play. Should keep the gloves.

01-02-2022, 10:44 PM
Gloves are his to lose IMO. He’s been patient, deserves a chance to show if he’s up to it.

01-02-2022, 10:45 PM
Does anyone know the rule regarding the back pass? As a keeper I honestly thought he was going to be sent off for a deliberate handball denying a clear goal. Heard the studio mention that he couldn’t be sent off for that, just not sure of the actual rule. Decent to know now for myself going forward though 😂

One handed stop of the ball that is goal bound from a player of own team is seen as a pass back. Doesn’t have to be a pick up.

01-02-2022, 11:00 PM

Good stuff.

01-02-2022, 11:03 PM
They’re his to lose, absolutely deserves his chance to prove himself. Well done KD 👍🏻👍🏻

01-02-2022, 11:04 PM
Good stuff.

Macey must be out for a while which give him a chance to get the position.

Let’s not hound him when he makes a mistake.

01-02-2022, 11:17 PM

A goalkeeper can never be carded for handball in he box no matter what the circumstances.

HIBS NUTS
01-02-2022, 11:19 PM
Jack Ross on KD

Wallyford man well done

LunasBoots
01-02-2022, 11:21 PM
Legend.

02-02-2022, 08:37 AM
Looked a wee bit nervous in the 1st 15 mins but grew into the game and made some tremendous saves, looked comfortable with his feet and kicking, I noticed he was shouting and pointing a lot at the defence, which is good, he keeps the gloves for me.

02-02-2022, 08:42 AM
Think we need to give him a chance to keep the gloves. We’re bringing a lot of young players from abroad in to the development set up, we need to show them that there is a pathway and that they’ll get an opportunity when it’s earned rather than just because we’re forced to play them. Obviously they do need to earn it, but if we put a young striker in and he scored he’d more than likely keep his place, same should apply to a goalie keeping a clean sheet and getting MOTM.

02-02-2022, 02:48 PM
Agree he was so humble Grateful and self effacing after the match itvwas heartwarming to listen to
He has been waiting all his life for this moment and Hibs have looked after him and made him into a Man
If he can keep improving he could be our next No 1 keeper

Right now he is our #1 keeper...

angus hibby
02-02-2022, 03:18 PM
Some very good saves in 2nd half, a bit fortunate that Simms put his header over the bar in first half after he pushed Boyce’s shot straight out in front of him. If the header had gone in, think that would have gone down as an error.

Overall though, a very good debut and he should start on Saturday. Although I remember Chris Reid having an excellent debut at Dunfermline and Goram coming straight back in (not that Macey is in Goram’s league).

Nice to see him taking the time to do his own wee lap of honour, similar to Budgie!

02-02-2022, 03:20 PM
Some very good saves in 2nd half, a bit fortunate that Simms put his header over the bar in first half after he pushed Boyce’s shot straight out in front of him. If the header had gone in, think that would have gone down as an error.

Overall though, a very good debut and he should start on Saturday. Although I remember Chris Reid having an excellent debut at Dunfermline and Goram coming straight back in (not that Macey is in Goram’s league).

Nice to see him taking the time to do his own wee lap of honour, similar to Budgie!

Yep, there was that and a bad moment with the ball at his feet, otherwise he did well.

02-02-2022, 03:24 PM
Certainly looked the part. He should be in again for the next game.

h185forever
02-02-2022, 04:26 PM
He could’ve been sheeeeite last night, but was absolutely brilliant, and I wouldn’t have cared.

His after match interview brought a tear to my glass eye and he’d deserve the gloves on Saturday for that alone.
I wish we could hear more interviews like that from our players.

Kevin clearly gets the club, the honour it is to play for the badge and is truly appreciative of how the club have developed him as a player and for me …more importantly…a man !.

Gets player of the coming year Now for me….made me so proud to be a Hibbie last night.

Lendo
15-03-2022, 11:00 AM
https://youtu.be/09wTDQtmE7o

Grest video on Hibs Youtube channel on Kevin helping out with the aid collection to Ukraine.

15-03-2022, 11:37 AM

Grest video on Hibs Youtube channel on Kevin helping out with the aid collection to Ukraine.

Yes so that brilliant job. :aok:

Assume Dabrowski may be playing Saturday as looked like Macey hurt himself again at Motherwell.

15-03-2022, 11:38 AM

You should see the comments on Twitter from Rangers fans accusing him of using it as a self-promotion video.

The dalmeny
15-03-2022, 11:54 AM
Has he thrown his lot in with Poland? (maybe I've missed something)

15-03-2022, 12:06 PM

He's Polish so I imagine that's a yes!

Mike Berry
15-03-2022, 12:08 PM
You should see the comments on Twitter from Rangers fans accusing him of using it as a self-promotion video.Rangers fans frequently have trouble understanding concepts like decency. The idea that someone would do a good thing just because it's the right thing to do confuses some of them.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

Stubbsy90+2
15-03-2022, 12:11 PM
Rangers fans frequently have trouble understanding concepts like decency. The idea that someone would do a good thing just because it's the right thing to do confuses some of them.

Lendo
15-03-2022, 01:23 PM
Rangers fans frequently have trouble understanding concepts like decency. The idea that someone would do a good thing just because it's the right thing to do confuses some of them.

You can’t read a twitter feed about Ukrainian charity work without some clown with a Union Jack profile picture and a ‘55’ saying something about “looking after our own”. ****ing tragic.

16-03-2022, 01:09 AM

Yes I believe you may well have missed something 😆😆😆

16-03-2022, 02:13 AM
He's Polish so I imagine that's a yes!

Unless the rules have changed (and they may have!) He could be eligible to play for Scotland should he get a UK passport.

As far as I remember if he hasn't represented Poland at youth level, once nationalized, he should be available to play for Scotland.

16-03-2022, 02:32 AM
Unless the rules have changed (and they may have!) He could be eligible to play for Scotland should he get a UK passport.

As far as I remember if he hasn't represented Poland at youth level, once nationalized, he should be available to play for Scotland.
Bet he will always feel Polish though, and so he should. I'm officially American now but still a Scot really :agree:

16-03-2022, 03:35 AM
Bet he will always feel Polish though, and so he should. I'm officially American now but still a Scot really :agree:

Totally understand that!

But this is football.

16-03-2022, 05:39 AM

Capped at U17 and U18 level

He's here!
16-03-2022, 06:24 AM
You can’t read a twitter feed about Ukrainian charity work without some clown with a Union Jack profile picture and a ‘55’ saying something about “looking after our own”. ****ing tragic.

Rangers, and their charitable wing, do appear to be leading the way when it comes to Scottish clubs helping Ukraine:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/60748567

16-03-2022, 09:21 AM
Yes so that brilliant job. :aok:

Assume Dabrowski may be playing Saturday as looked like Macey hurt himself again at Motherwell.

Aye, Macey seems to have been playing with an injury for at least a month. Explains the 2 keepers on the bench.

Lendo
16-03-2022, 10:59 AM
Rangers, and their charitable wing, do appear to be leading the way when it comes to Scottish clubs helping Ukraine:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/60748567

That’s great to see, hopefully other clubs can follow suit. Their fans are still ***** though.

16-03-2022, 12:46 PM
Capped at U17 and U18 level

Ahh, couldn't see any reference that he had been, so that's that then!

16-03-2022, 01:30 PM
Ahh, couldn't see any reference that he had been, so that's that then!

I thought players could still switch to another country even if they'd played youth games?

In fact Declan Rice appears to have played in a senior-level friendly for Ireland before switching to England: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Declan_Rice#International_career

16-03-2022, 01:32 PM
I thought players could still switch to another country even if they'd played youth games?

In fact Declan Rice appears to have played in a senior-level friendly for Ireland before switching to England: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Declan_Rice#International_career

Think the rule is you had to have been eligible for both at the time you were capped. There was a big call for Morgan Schneiderland years ago to play for England but he wasn't able to because he wasn't eligible for England at the time he won like one U16 cap for France

16-03-2022, 01:34 PM
Think the rule is you had to have been eligible for both at the time you were capped. There was a big call for Morgan Schneiderland years ago to play for England but he wasn't able to because he wasn't eligible for England at the time he won like one U16 cap for France

Ah right, makes sense.

I vaguely remember chat about Amoruso possibly playing for Scotland (having played U21 for Italy, obviously long before he was eligible for Scotland), but the rules might have changed since then or it might have been nonsense at the time.

16-03-2022, 07:21 PM
Ah right, makes sense.

I vaguely remember chat about Amoruso possibly playing for Scotland (having played U21 for Italy, obviously long before he was eligible for Scotland), but the rules might have changed since then or it might have been nonsense at the time.

Was it not the case if they've been educated for something like 5+ years they are eligible, was this not the case with Andrew Driver.

16-03-2022, 07:24 PM
Was it not the case if they've been educated for something like 5+ years they are eligible, was this not the case with Andrew Driver.I thought it was maybe three years of school? I thought the five years was for adults (as would have been the case for Amoruso). Could be completely wrong…

16-03-2022, 07:36 PM
Quite a few rules but I think generally if you play a competitive international match you have chosen your footballing nationality.
https://digitalhub.fifa.com/m/ccab990abf45fcf6/original/ro8mje8vw98yp3rvfbmi-pdf.pdf

16-03-2022, 08:25 PM

Dont think friendlies count that’s why he could change

16-03-2022, 08:35 PM
Dont think friendlies count that’s why he could change

Yep, and the fact he held both nationalities from birth.