View Full Version : Sylvester Jasper

01-02-2022, 12:40 AM
Welcome Sylvester

Sylvester Jasper Joins On Loan! - Hibernian FC (https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/sylvester-jasper-joins-on-loan)

Have we ever had a Sylvester that's played for us before?

01-02-2022, 12:45 AM
Sylvester Jasper Goal | AFC Sudbury 0-3 Colchester United | FA Cup - YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DBN853I55PE)

01-02-2022, 01:38 AM
Sufferin' succotash!

Welcome to hibs and good luck!

tomhorn
01-02-2022, 03:20 AM
Welcome Sylvester

Sylvester Jasper Joins On Loan! - Hibernian FC (https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/sylvester-jasper-joins-on-loan)

Looks mighty real

Siralbertkidd
01-02-2022, 04:33 AM
Sufferin' succotash!

Welcome to hibs and good luck!

As long as he doesnt bring that annoying bird Tweety Pie with him.

DarrenSQH
01-02-2022, 04:50 AM
Signing a guy on loan at the last minute that's only played a few games for the team in 22nd in league 2 doesn't inspire me hugely.

Seems the people in charge of transfer may have changed but a last minute panic loan remains.

Dmas
01-02-2022, 05:10 AM
Signing a guy on loan at the last minute that's only played a few games for the team in 22nd in league 2 doesn't inspire me hugely.

Seems the people in charge of transfer may have changed but a last minute panic loan remains.

🤦*♂️

01-02-2022, 05:31 AM
https://www.gazette-news.co.uk/news/19872615.colchester-united-former-loanee-sylv-jasper-time-us/

01-02-2022, 05:49 AM
Is he injured yet?

Steve88
01-02-2022, 05:53 AM
I fear Maloney is going to find out what club management is like the hard way..

01-02-2022, 05:57 AM
Sounds quire an interesting player seems to be progressing and will come here fit after played matches in a very physical league. Gives us pace and directness we need. Hope it works well for him. Welcome Sylvester. :flag:

nickwhibs
01-02-2022, 06:45 AM
The Jasper derby…

Dmas
01-02-2022, 06:45 AM
I fear Maloney is going to find out what club management is like the hard way..

Why is that?

We need a winger, SM wanted a fast and direct player sounds like he’s the one he gets to have a look at him before deciding if he’s worth the permanent deal already agreed.

Club can’t do a single thing right at the moment it’s ridiculous, if we got him on loan and he’s a success with no deal in place to get him we’d be hearing about how poor we are on recruitment if we didn’t get anyone in at all we’d be getting the same and here we are with someone in place still no good enough

Regen Charles-cook amassed an impressive 1 outing for the mighty Charlton Athletic over a 3year period according to Wikipedia but we where all clambering for him because he’s managed a good half a season, give the guys a chance to play

01-02-2022, 06:48 AM
The Jasper derby…

Don't think he is able to play for some reason

01-02-2022, 06:58 AM
Welcome Sylvester. Looking forward to seeing him play. Sounds like he could be an exciting player to watch.

01-02-2022, 07:02 AM
Looks like an excellent bit of business, Colchester fans gutted he is leaving. Strong, fit, fast direct and has a goal in him. Welcome Sylvester..looks like you could be the real McCoy ! :greengrin

Tarrahib
01-02-2022, 07:03 AM
The Jasper derby…
Welcome. Last gasper Jasper.

He's here!
01-02-2022, 07:03 AM
Why is that?

We need a winger, SM wanted a fast and direct player sounds like he’s the one he gets to have a look at him before deciding if he’s worth the permanent deal already agreed.

Club can’t do a single thing right at the moment it’s ridiculous, if we got him on loan and he’s a success with no deal in place to get him we’d be hearing about how poor we are on recruitment if we didn’t get anyone in at all we’d be getting the same and here we are with someone in place still no good enough

Regen Charles-cook amassed an impressive 1 outing for the mighty Charlton Athletic over a 3year period according to Wikipedia but we where all clambering for him because he’s managed a good half a season, give the guys a chance to play

I'm guessing he means that the bulk of the signings are very young and without a great deal of experience. Great if it pays off but if the going gets tough we may struggle without some older heads.

01-02-2022, 07:06 AM
I'm guessing he means that the bulk of the signings are very young and without a great deal of experience. Great if it pays off but if the going gets tough we may struggle without some older heads.

Older heads like McGregor, Hanlon, Stevenson, McGinn etc?

Steve88
01-02-2022, 07:08 AM
Why is that?

We have no balance. Our central midfield offers no creativity therefore we only have one option, play out the wings - Opposition teams know this, will double up against the wingers to block 1 v 1 chances maloney said he wants to create in games.

We'll become easy to play against

The only player who could add a new dimension to this is KM (whenever he is fit).

01-02-2022, 07:08 AM

To be fair I’m quite happy to have swapped Murphy for a younger, quicker winger.

Steve88
01-02-2022, 07:10 AM
To be fair I’m quite happy to have swapped Murphy for a younger, quicker winger.

Agreed:agree:

01-02-2022, 07:17 AM
Older heads like McGregor, Hanlon, Stevenson, McGinn etc?

Aye but apart from all of them

01-02-2022, 07:33 AM
Welcome Sylvester

Not sure about that but I miss the Cat on here

Gloucester Hibs
01-02-2022, 07:42 AM
Welcome Sylvester

We've had plenty of Elmer Fudd's

Crunchie
01-02-2022, 07:44 AM
Sylvester Jasper Goal | AFC Sudbury 0-3 Colchester United | FA Cup - YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DBN853I55PE)
He certainly looks the part, he has that arrogant look about him. I think we're on to a winner here :aok:

Tarrahib
01-02-2022, 07:44 AM
We've had plenty of Elmer Fudd's
Mostly posters.

Dmas
01-02-2022, 07:50 AM
We have no balance. Our central midfield offers no creativity therefore we only have one option, play out the wings - Opposition teams know this, will double up against the wingers to block 1 v 1 chances maloney said he wants to create in games.

We'll become easy to play against

The only player who could add a new dimension to this is KM (whenever he is fit).

This is a thread titled sylvester jasper, nothing welcoming, nothing about him at all in ur post just more negativity countless threads for u to add that too just now.

We’ve addressed a fair few of the squads short comings have we not? Are you expecting every problem sourced and solved in the window where there is no value? It’s Hibs not Man City and this is real life not footy manager it all takes time mistakes will be made

01-02-2022, 08:00 AM
Why is that?

What a sensible post.

Dmas
01-02-2022, 08:01 AM

We’ve been told the club are looking to sign ‘young and hungry’ players to develop to move on for profit, why is it such a surprise to see the club signing young players?

What experienced players we going to get? Champs league winners? Ballon d’or runners up? Or guys that have played 200 times at the same levels this young guy is coming from? Been down the road of signing those types of guys last 15 year and you could probably count on one hand how many have actually pushed us on

01-02-2022, 08:02 AM
This is a thread titled sylvester jasper, nothing welcoming, nothing about him at all in ur post just more negativity countless threads for u to add that too just now.

We’ve addressed a fair few of the squads short comings have we not? Are you expecting every problem sourced and solved in the window where there is no value? It’s Hibs not Man City and this is real life not footy manager it all takes time mistakes will be made
A other sensible post from you, well done 👍

01-02-2022, 08:04 AM
Looks mighty real

😀

Dmas
01-02-2022, 08:10 AM
A other sensible post from you, well done 👍

Thanks, expect normal service to resume shorty 😉

01-02-2022, 08:26 AM

Disney appear to be a last minute panic signing.
First photo put up here last night had him in Hibs gear.
So be must surely have had a screen test earlier .
I would have thought as soon as Martin left(if not before) we would be looking at pacy players.
Jasper fits that,it appears ,as does Mitchell.
Barker was another name touted (here anyway)
I doubt they contacted his club only yesterday,

Anyway,I think overall the number of signings since Jack left is fine.
Jujst need them all fit and ready :greengrin

So welcome Jasper, to Hibernian,the friendly host club.

01-02-2022, 08:32 AM
Welcome Jasper, I hope you do very well at Easter Road.

Steve88
01-02-2022, 08:35 AM

Well, if you read the post properly you would note I'm talking about our reliance on wide players. In which, Jasper is part of that classification of wide players.

Ironically, you've then gone on to contradict yourself by stating "We've addressed a fair few of the squads shortcoming have we not.." which is you expanding the conversation in this thread, outside of Jasper - which is exactly what you've accused me of..

Finally, "Are you expecting every problem sourced and solved in the window where there is no value?" Of course not and not once did I ever suggest this. A gain, if you're read my post you would note my own opinion is that we should of prioritised a central midfielder

01-02-2022, 08:41 AM
Well, if you read the post properly you would note I'm talking about our reliance on wide players. In which, Jasper is part of that classification of wide players.

Ironically, you've then gone on to contradict yourself by stating "We've addressed a fair few of the squads shortcoming have we not.." which is you expanding the conversation in this thread, outside of Jasper - which is exactly what you've accused me of..

Finally, "Are you expecting every problem sourced and solved in the window where there is no value?" Of course not and not once did I ever suggest this. A gain, if you're read my post you would note my own opinion is that we should of prioritised a central midfielder

Do you know that we didn't? what if the player we want isn't available? club won't let him go? doesn't even want to sign for hibs? We can't attract every player we want, it's not that easy. But I am sure you probably know this, just keep on moaning.

Dmas
01-02-2022, 08:46 AM

Come on Steve had we signed a CM and not replaced Boyle in anyway This place would have went into meltdown, the priority was to try and replace some of what we’re missing with Boyle being away which is what’s happened.

01-02-2022, 09:15 AM
Come on Steve had we signed a CM and not replaced Boyle in anyway This place would have went into meltdown, the priority was to try and replace some of what we’re missing with Boyle being away which is what’s happened.

Is Henderson not a midfielder?

Is Newell not counted as an experienced head?

I assume Maloney is looking for mobile and technical players rather than a big lump in the middle.

Jasper looks the part on the show reel so he could prove to be the hidden gem we are always craving for.

Either way some people need to calm doon and give the new squad and manager some time to find their feet and become a team. I’m not sure what some people want really…demand wholesale changes in personnel then immediately declare that it’s all been regressive before we’ve even got some of them onto the park! Odd behaviour.

01-02-2022, 09:40 AM
Any chance we can get international clearance for tonight?

Hearts managed to get it for their guy in 4 hours, not quite sure what the difference is here.

01-02-2022, 12:39 PM
Looks mighty real

😁👍

01-02-2022, 12:41 PM
Any chance we can get international clearance for tonight?

Hearts managed to get it for their guy in 4 hours, not quite sure what the difference is here.

I’m guessing the difference is there’ll be hundreds of applications for them to work through since it was TDD yesterday.

01-02-2022, 02:15 PM
Me too

01-02-2022, 02:19 PM
Blooters one in from about 50 yds out, a Jasper rasper.

Keepthefaith
01-02-2022, 02:23 PM
Is Henderson not a midfielder?

Is Newell not counted as an experienced head?

I assume Maloney is looking for mobile and technical players rather than a big lump in the middle.

Jasper looks the part on the show reel so he could prove to be the hidden gem we are always craving for.

Either way some people need to calm doon and give the new squad and manager some time to find their feet and become a team. I’m not sure what some people want really…demand wholesale changes in personnel then immediately declare that it’s all been regressive before we’ve even got some of them onto the park! Odd behaviour.

Well said 👍

05-02-2022, 06:59 AM
Got a good feeling about Sylvester. Comes across well in this interview and think he could become a fans favourite.

'I'm Extremely Excited To Get Started' - Sylvester Jasper | First Hibs TV Interview - YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_l8HPd9DW9A&t=208s)

St.Kristopher
05-02-2022, 06:03 PM
Was one of the only positives today.

05-02-2022, 06:47 PM
Looked a definite starter just from his sub appearance today.

Hibee_Lisa
05-02-2022, 06:50 PM
Looked a definite starter just from his sub appearance today.

Not scared to drop deep to receive the ball and looks to take on his man, looks a decent addition.

05-02-2022, 06:51 PM
Dare I say he reminded me of Boyle in his cameo 👀

05-02-2022, 06:51 PM
Is he rapid or just really wee?

Liked the look of him though! Think him and Hendo made a difference and can see both starting sooner rather than later.

05-02-2022, 06:54 PM
Reminded me of Zemmama. Even if he’s half as good, he’ll shine in this current team.

05-02-2022, 07:06 PM
Put some of the other players to shame. What he contributed in his appearance today, a few haven’t done that in their whole hibs career.

First name on team sheet for ibrox.

Zambernardi1875
05-02-2022, 07:10 PM
I’d be worried if him and Henderson don’t start v rangers

05-02-2022, 07:10 PM
There's was a few positives today despite the result. Jasper and his contributions were one them. Moved forward through the middle of the park. Something all the rest of our players have a phobia against.

05-02-2022, 07:11 PM
Got to be in the starting 11 midweek

05-02-2022, 09:01 PM
He was smashing out wide when he first came on. He didn't look as assured in the middle. Not sure how he ended up there, but we need to keep him wide. He'll cause all sorts of damage to the opposition out there.

gaz1875
05-02-2022, 09:13 PM
There's was a few positives today despite the result. Jasper and his contributions were one them. Moved forward through the middle of the park. Something all the rest of our players have a phobia against.

I thought Henderson's corner kicks were a positive, most zipped in at head height across the 6 yard box. He also improved the speed of the play, which wasn't hard mind you.

05-02-2022, 09:38 PM
I think him and Cadden will link up really well down that right side. Some good positive signs today and it will only get better the more they play together.