View Full Version : What was your first derby?
Babyshamble
31-01-2022, 09:56 PM
My dad took me to my first one when I was 13..at tynecastle. Saw Joe mcbride score a peach of a free kick.
Still get butterflies before these games..
Mon the Hibs🇳🇬
31-01-2022, 09:59 PM
My dad took me to my first one when I was 13..at tynecastle. Saw Joe mcbride score a peach of a free kick.
Mon the Hibs🇳🇬
https://youtu.be/75CBCuKOtp0
31-01-2022, 10:01 PM
Scottish cup 1971 at tynecastle and a 2-1 win
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=RxEslT5j8NU
Mon the Hibs🇳🇬
I saw Joe McBride score two late goals to equalize in a 2-2 away draw.
My first derby was a home Scottish cup win 2-1 i think it was 1979.
Babyshamble
31-01-2022, 10:03 PM
https://youtu.be/75CBCuKOtp0
Brilliant mate.💚🇳🇬🇳🇬
31-01-2022, 10:04 PM
Easter road hibs 3 hearts 5 . I just remember it was raining so my dad had to pay more to get in to the stand which had covering as Easter road didn’t have any covering in the terracing back then.
31-01-2022, 10:05 PM
Scottish Cup quarter final 1979, 2-1 to the good guys. Would love to see highlights if that game, not sure if they exist
31-01-2022, 10:06 PM
Hibs 2-1 Hearts October 1987 at ER. First win in 17 derbies but my first so wondered what all the fuss was about!
31-01-2022, 10:07 PM
Dunno but my earliest memory is of Peter Cormack taking over in goal with a yellow Goalie top 10 sizes too big for him throwing lumps of mud at passing jambos wi a big smile on his pus
31-01-2022, 10:08 PM
Scottish cup 1971 at tynecastle and a 2-1 winI think that was mine too , certainly at Tynecastle , might have been a 0 v0 at ER on 1/1/70 . I was on wall at halfway line at cup game in 1971 ( no segregation really ) but have seen video highlights and goals always seem to be at opposite end of what I remember . Duncan`s late winner at school end but I remembered opposite . In those days , Derby wins were routine at either ground .
31-01-2022, 10:09 PM
The first I can remember is the Skol Festival trophy one. I have a terrible memory but that tournament always sticks in my head and it was at that point I started going with mates rather than my uncle.
31-01-2022, 10:09 PM
Latapy "ET" game.
Think we won 2-0
Next was Sauzee's Teeth game, jackson scored a belter to make it 1-0 to them.
Third was 0-3 Millenium, missed the game we lost at the PBS to not make Europe (went to Parkhead with my pal to watch Celtic v Aberdeen, fk knows why) , sat in the hearts end the 0-0 game when Agathe missed a ****ter then 6-2 was after that.
something like that. I think.
31-01-2022, 10:10 PM
Dunno but my earliest memory is of Peter Cormack taking over in goal with a yellow Goalie top 10 sizes too big for him throwing lumps of mud at passing jambos wi a big smile on his pusthink this was a east of Scotland shield final .
31-01-2022, 10:12 PM
A meek 1-0 defeat at Tynecastle during the run of 22. Allan Johnston scored the goal, Michael O’Neill might have made his debut.
Feels like a lifetime ago and a totally different experience to the one we experience nowadays, standing on that Terrace at the Gorgie Road end.
31-01-2022, 10:12 PM
6-2 👌
31-01-2022, 10:20 PM
First one was a 1-0 defeat at Tynie, in August 1987 - Alan Rough had a mad dash from his goal and John Robertson scored.
Was at the very next one though, which we won 2-1 - and was our first derby win for years.
Much more pain than joy in the fixture over the years, but in amongst that I was at the win that ended 22 in a row, the 3-0 millennium derby, and the 6-2.
Think I’ve been at most of our wins at Tynie since I started going, not that there’s been many - and have missed the last two.
Gloucester Hibs
31-01-2022, 10:20 PM
The “Mercer Derby” 1990, pumped 3-0, not great.
Ginger Gehagan
31-01-2022, 10:21 PM
2.0 to the poppy thieves at Easter road in 1993, john colquhoun scored both, pr!ck. Tomorrow night will be my 84th Edinburgh derby
31-01-2022, 10:29 PM
A meek 1-0 defeat at Tynecastle during the run of 22. Allan Johnston scored the goal, Michael O’Neill might have made his debut.
Feels like a lifetime ago and a totally different experience to the one we experience nowadays, standing on that Terrace at the Gorgie Road end.
Correct about O’Neill, was at that game also. Had taken two points from our first three games of the season at that point, but I think when we beat St. Johnstone away a few weeks later, we went top of the league.
adopted_hibee
31-01-2022, 10:50 PM
August 2003, Grant Brebner sent off and Garry O’Connor scoring a last minute winner.
I was sat in the west stand, right behind the guy that ran on the pitch at half time to remonstrate with the ref.
I’d moved to Edinburgh a few months earlier and this was my first Hibs game. I was hooked after that!
31-01-2022, 10:52 PM
2006 semi final. Probably the source of my pessimism re Hibs and derbies.
31-01-2022, 10:55 PM
August 2003, Grant Brebner sent off and Garry O’Connor scoring a last minute winner.
I was sat in the west stand, right behind the guy that ran on the pitch at half time to remonstrate with the ref.
I’d moved to Edinburgh a few months earlier and this was my first Hibs game. I was hooked after that!
Was absolutely gutted to miss that game, left on a holiday to Greece that day. Previous season we’d been beaten 5-1 at Tynie, lost a one nil lead to lose 2-1 to a last minute goal at ER, and then that ****ing 4-4 draw at Tynie. Was dying for us to beat those *******s.
Felt good to get off the plane and receive the text with the news, but gutted to miss it. Ten men for more than half a game and then a last minute winner.
David_D
31-01-2022, 10:55 PM
Can’t remember my first one but the first one I remember being at was the game we won 2-1 at Easter road when Kevin Harper scored the winner.
31-01-2022, 11:33 PM
Great sunny day.
andrew70
01-02-2022, 12:14 AM
Geebsie’s winner to end that run. Young and facepainted. Loved it never missed one since. Sadly the wins don’t come around as much as I hoped then. Bring them on.
01-02-2022, 12:17 AM
Saturday 16 September 1961 at Tynecastle.
Hertz beat us 4-2
01-02-2022, 12:18 AM
Andy Goram's first derby, second game (IIRC). We won 2-1 and I remember the stress of those final minutes and the elation at full time. Think it was the game that ended their first long run against us, only to be followed by an even longer one not long after. It was hard being a Hibs supporter during those times.
01-02-2022, 12:20 AM
Can’t remember if it was definitely my first but the first I remember was 1-1 at tynie John O’Neill equalised in the last minute.
Bits of chairs flying past my head was all I could see when we scored
01-02-2022, 12:30 AM
Was absolutely gutted to miss that game, left on a holiday to Greece that day. Previous season we’d been beaten 5-1 at Tynie, lost a one nil lead to lose 2-1 to a last minute goal at ER, and then that ****ing 4-4 draw at Tynie. Was dying for us to beat those *******s.
Felt good to get off the plane and receive the text with the news, but gutted to miss it. Ten men for more than half a game and then a last minute winner.
Phil Stamp, daylight robbery that day. I had never been so angry before.
4-4 was just ridiculous, identical goals and Matty Jacks fault I think, instead of keeping the ball he hoofed it up the park giving possession away needlessly. There was an almighty rammy in the corner where section N is at the equaliser and I got hit by a seat thrown from the Hearts end, I was 17 at the time and was going rage, my old man stood there laughing and he turned to be and said get used to this with Hibs, I've seen this all before. He was right though.
We nearly blew that 1-0 Gary O game, Pressley should have equalised right after it IIRC. Stooped for a header when a tap was more obvious. although I may be thinking of another game but the Pressley miss definitely happened in a game at ER when we were leading into stoppage time.
May21/05/216
01-02-2022, 12:35 AM
It was in the sixties pat quinn scored a hatrick but the stand out one was 0 7 game and it should have been double that the tornados were a wonderful team
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
01-02-2022, 02:21 AM
Arthur Duncan's goal is my earliest memory of a derby.
I note that the attendance was over 30 thousand. What went wrong in the last half century?
OldEast
01-02-2022, 03:36 AM
1st Jan 1968. 1-0, a Joe Davis penalty. Over 30,000 there.
houstonhibbee
01-02-2022, 04:00 AM
I was at that one. First one I can recall being at. i remember getting a rosette outside the ground.
LeithMike
01-02-2022, 05:14 AM
First Derby was the Tom Hart Trophy in 1982 - 1-0 Hibs with Jackie McNamara scoring. That might have been my first ever game too.
Taking my son tonight for his his first derby. Would take the same score.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
01-02-2022, 05:18 AM
I cant remember what year, definitely early 80s, 0-0, zero entertainment and scraps along the street.
01-02-2022, 05:22 AM
1.0 Eddie May goal? 1987?
01-02-2022, 05:23 AM
2-1 1998. Lavety, Harper.
heidtheba
01-02-2022, 05:32 AM
My first was at tynie at the end of 92/93. O’Neill had a chance at the death to win it…and didn’t. My next tynie game was the Hunter one. Happy days.
01-02-2022, 05:55 AM
The “Mercer Derby” 1990, pumped 3-0, not great.
Toxic atmosphere that day
Beaten but not broken
The Hibees were still here
01-02-2022, 06:26 AM
November 1975 at Tiny. 1-1, Pat Stanton injury time equaliser. Was in the Hearts end with my Hibs scarf and tammy on, with my jambo supporting relative.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ylqab835BVs
01-02-2022, 06:34 AM
Was in the middle of the East for the Garry O game don't think I have ever went more mental than when that ball hit the net. Place went beserk. Officials definitely against us that game apart from the ridiculous red card after we scored there was a blatant offside missed by Lino but fortunately Caveman number one missed it. Glorious day. :flag:
DIXIHIBS
01-02-2022, 07:49 AM
New years day 1974. 3-1 to the hibees. Cropley got a couple i think. I was in the cowshed with a couple of mates. 10 year old and i thought it would always be like that. If only i knew...
Ginger Gehagan
01-02-2022, 07:59 AM
4-4 was just ridiculous, identical goals and Matty Jacks fault I think, instead of keeping the ball he hoofed it up the park giving possession away needlessly. There was an almighty rammy in the corner where section N is at the equaliser and I got hit by a seat thrown from the Hearts end, I was 17 at the time and was going rage, my old man stood there laughing and he turned to be and said get used to this with Hibs, I've seen this all before. He was right though.
We nearly blew that 1-0 Gary O game, Pressley should have equalised right after it IIRC. Stooped for a header when a tap was more obvious. although I may be thinking of another game but the Pressley miss definitely happened in a game at ER when we were leading into stoppage time.
4.4 game I'm sure it was Alan Orman at fault for the 3rd goal then Zambernadi hoofed it away from kick off before the 4th. Your right about the Gary O game, Pressley missed a sitter right at the end.
adam middlemass
01-02-2022, 08:12 AM
Think it was season 64/65 at Easter Road- New Year 2-0 up McGraw & MacNamee, but lost 2-3 think Don Kerrigan & Willie Wallace scored for Hearts. Pig sick 😂
01-02-2022, 08:14 AM
Alan OBrien Tynecastle derby, rest I'd had to watch from afar. Thought we'd signed a world beater.
Ray Donovan
01-02-2022, 08:16 AM
Hibs 1 Hearts 1 in 1999.
Latapy scored a pen for us and then McSwegan equalised for them.
2nd was away at Tynecastle opening day and it finished 0-0.. It was when Agathe missed a sitter. The third one was the next derby in that season. I'm sure it was a memorable one....
darwenhibby
01-02-2022, 08:24 AM
New Years Day 76
3-0 to Hibs
Sort of remember Cruickshank having a stormer for them in the 2nd half!
First derby going up and down from Lancashire in the same day
2-1 May & Kane October 87 brilliant day
1959 Hibby
01-02-2022, 08:27 AM
September 1971 at Tynecastle: dull game until Cropley scored a wonderful goal four minutes from time. Johnny Hamilton (I think) added number two in the last minute
malcolm
01-02-2022, 08:28 AM
0-7 :greengrin
Crunchie
01-02-2022, 08:31 AM
Scottish Cup quarter final 1979, 2-1 to the good guys. Would love to see highlights if that game, not sure if they exist
One of my fav games, played with an orange ball and pretty horrid conditions, no cover at ER back in those days on the terracing.
Plenty of fighting though during and after the game, I'm sure it was the last derby before segregation kicked in.
Skol1972
01-02-2022, 08:35 AM
Tynecastle 1965. Had recently moved to Edinburgh and had started watching Hibs. Neil Martin injured, so O'Rourke starts. Eleven minutes in Hearts 0 Hibs 4 (final score as well). Two apiece O'Rourke and Stevenson. Happy Days.
01-02-2022, 08:51 AM
Latapy "ET" game.
Think we won 2-0
Next was Sauzee's Teeth game, jackson scored a belter to make it 1-0 to them.
Third was 0-3 Millenium, missed the game we lost at the PBS to not make Europe (went to Parkhead with my pal to watch Celtic v Aberdeen, fk knows why) , sat in the hearts end the 0-0 game when Agathe missed a ****ter then 6-2 was after that.
something like that. I think.
The ET game was a 1-1 draw, as another poster described later in the thread - penalty gave us the lead and McSwegan equalised late on.
01-02-2022, 09:31 AM
2-1 win at Easter Road, Scottish Cup 1979 :flag:
01-02-2022, 09:41 AM
4-0 defeat at Hampden in the cup semi in ‘06. Some buzz.
01-02-2022, 09:45 AM
That Phil Stamp game was just ridiculous. Never laid a finger on Valois all game then some young boy came on for his 15 minutes of fame. You could sense it was coming a mile off.
Walking away with the entire South stand singling "are you watching Hibby ****" was not a high point.
As for my first derby, no idea of the specific game as it would have been the very early 90's but I do remember the dad of the family that took me raging that Levein had got Keith Wright booked by being a sleekit diving ******* - so some things never change I guess.
Alfiembra
01-02-2022, 10:03 AM
The earliest I can remember I was about 9 or 10 year old at ER so would have been around 1966/67, we got pumped 1-3 and I can remember greetin all the way home dreading going to school on the Monday at Parsons Green and seeing my Jambo schoolmates.
Hillsidehibby
01-02-2022, 10:34 AM
New Year 1969. 0-0. Cant remember much as a 10 year old apart from a fire being lit in the Cave.
01-02-2022, 10:59 AM
That Phil Stamp game was just ridiculous. Never laid a finger on Valois all game then some young boy came on for his 15 minutes of fame. You could sense it was coming a mile off.
Walking away with the entire South stand singling "are you watching Hibby ****" was not a high point.
As for my first derby, no idea of the specific game as it would have been the very early 90's but I do remember the dad of the family that took me raging that Levein had got Keith Wright booked by being a sleekit diving ******* - so some things never change I guess.
Neil Janczyk is was who came off the bench to shouts of “who?” from the home stands. Think he set up their two goals.
01-02-2022, 11:13 AM
Sept 1970. 0-0 First game as well as first derby.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
01-02-2022, 11:14 AM
Think mine was 6-2. I remember buying a half pizza when Latapy scored :greengrin
Crunchie
01-02-2022, 11:17 AM
Sept 1970. 0-0 First game as well as first derby.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
Between 1969/72 5 out of 7 League games ended 0-0, we won the other 2 :greengrin
01-02-2022, 11:22 AM
New years day 1974. 3-1 to the hibees. Cropley got a couple i think. I was in the cowshed with a couple of mates. 10 year old and i thought it would always be like that. If only i knew...
That was my first. It was easy in those days.
01-02-2022, 11:22 AM
I seem to have the same one as a couple of other posters, the 1979 Scottish Cup game at ER where we won 2-1, with an attendance of about 21k.
Incidentally, this was also my first ever game... and I was hooked
01-02-2022, 11:28 AM
1952-Reilly hat trick-I was about 10-remember very little about it other than huge crowd-went with pals and mum went berserk when she discovered where I'd been. Finally allowed to go to my next one-1955 at Tynecastle-Jimmy Mulkerrin goal in a 1-0 win.
01-02-2022, 12:10 PM
4-1 to them. September 1973, Gorgie Road end. First game after the 0-7 game. I was with lots of Jambo supporting laddies fae Fountainbridge. My auld man wouldn't take me to games v Hearts, Celtic or Rangers and this was the first time I remember seeing Hibs lose a game.
Aside from Schaedler's own goal, the other thing I recall was an almighty crush queuing to get in. I was only 9 and very scared. I suppose it was less than two years after the Ibrox disaster and that was in the minds of many people. I never liked visiting Tiny after that.
Feed McGraw
01-02-2022, 12:24 PM
Mine was Sept 1965, I was 9 y.o. Right down at the wall as kids did in those days at the McLeod St end. Hibs won 4-0 - all the goals coming within the first ten mins. O`Rourke 2 & Stevenson 2. Bit hard to see the goals from that point as they were scored at the Gorgie Rd end but still magic. It wasn`t my first time at Tynie though, I`d seen Hibs play Dunfermline in the Scottish cup semi final earlier in the year.
01-02-2022, 01:30 PM
1 number, 1 word. 36 seconds.
Mine was September 1966 3-1 Hibs at Easter Road we hadn't beaten them at Easter Road for over 10 years I think (we seemed to beat them at Tynecastle more often). Joe Davis penalty, Alan McGraw and Jim Scott and I think Thomson Allan saved a Willie Wallace penalty before half time.
01-02-2022, 02:27 PM
4-4 was just ridiculous, identical goals and Mk,atty Jacks fault I thin instead of keeping the ball he hoofed it up the park giving possession away needlessly. There was an almighty rammy in the corner where section N is at the equaliser and I got hit by a seat thrown from the Hearts end, I was 17 at the time and was going rage, my old man stood there laughing and he turned to be and said get used to this with Hibs, I've seen this all before. He was right though.
Zambernardi. Keep ****ing possession :rolleyes:
Tom Hart RIP
01-02-2022, 02:59 PM
New Year's Day 1968.
Remember it like it was yesterday.
10-mins to go.
Just started to snow.
Eric Stevenson cut in from the left and was brought down inside the box.
Joe the Penalty King Davis v Jim Cruikshank
Cool as Fck Joe slots the ball into the stanchion to the keeper's left in front of the Shed.
15-years later after never missing a derby I'd seen us lose two times (From memory)
Oh for someone like Eric tonight.
01-02-2022, 03:15 PM
What about everyone's first win?
Mine was the 1-0 at ER under Mixu. We were on a horrendous run of form (though had managed to arrest that somewhat with a late win at Hamilton three days prior). Confidence was rock bottom, Hearts were comfortably heading for third, and most on here (including me) predicted defeat. Parallels to today tbh.
The game comes, Fletcher scores a complete fluke off his shoulder early on, then their goalkeeper and Bamba are both sent off for professional fouls. Nothing of note happens for the remainder of the game bar a 1-on-1 miss from Fletcher, but we hold out.
My first derby win and it had only taken seeing eight draws/defeats to them beforehand over almost three years. Nothing's changed.
November 1st 1975 (had to google it) when I was 8.
At Tynie and I recall having a ticket that said enter via McLeod St which puzzled me when I started going to Tynie and by then we were at the Gorgie end.
It was a late Pat Stanton equalizer
I was also at the 2-1 Scottish Cup win in 1979 which may well have been my 2nd Derby, but I am not clear.
01-02-2022, 03:39 PM
What about everyone's first win?
Mine was the 1-0 at ER under Mixu. We were on a horrendous run of form (though had managed to arrest that somewhat with a late win at Hamilton three days prior). Confidence was rock bottom, Hearts were comfortably heading for third, and most on here (including me) predicted defeat. Parallels to today tbh.
The game comes, Fletcher scores a complete fluke off his shoulder early on, then their goalkeeper and Bamba are both sent off for professional fouls. Nothing of note happens for the remainder of the game bar a 1-on-1 miss from Fletcher, but we hold out.
My first derby win and it had only taken seeing eight draws/defeats to them beforehand over almost three years. Nothing's changed.
Crikey.
Having started going during 22 in a row I remember taking on something of a Jonah role when it came to these. The first few we won following that run I contrived to miss for one reason or other. It might have been a home win just before I went off to Uni, start of October 1995, Graeme Donald might have scored.
First time I saw us win at Tynecastle was the millennium derby. I was 22 years old and that was probably something like my 10th-15th attempt there.
I've actually missed a good few our best results against them come to think of it.
No wonder I'm the pessimist when it come to tonight.
We are the scarred children of the Alex Miller era.
01-02-2022, 03:42 PM
1st January 1968. 1-0 from a Joe Davis penalty. Beautifully described above although I can’t say I have quite such a good memory for detail.
01-02-2022, 05:13 PM
4-1 to them. September 1973, Gorgie Road end. First game after the 0-7 game. I was with lots of Jambo supporting laddies fae Fountainbridge. My auld man wouldn't take me to games v Hearts, Celtic or Rangers and this was the first time I remember seeing Hibs lose a game.
Aside from Schaedler's own goal, the other thing I recall was an almighty crush queuing to get in. I was only 9 and very scared. I suppose it was less than two years after the Ibrox disaster and that was in the minds of many people. I never liked visiting Tiny after that.My first trip to Tynie. Trying to get out after the game through those tiny exits I was crushed against the pitch wall. Somehow managed to get over only to be thrown back in by a polis who couldn't give a duck about how dangerous it was.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk