View Full Version : Magennis

HendoDelivered
31-01-2022, 02:44 PM
Shaun Maloney: “Kyle [Magennis], unfortunately, won't be available now for a few weeks. He had a slight setback in a contact injury in one of the practice games, so he'll be a little bit longer.”

🙄

LunasBoots
31-01-2022, 02:46 PM
Oh jeez

31-01-2022, 02:47 PM
Gutted for the guy. I hope he is doing okay mentally as well because this cannot be enjoyable at all. Needs our full support.

Chorley Hibee
31-01-2022, 02:48 PM
2 years of his contract gone, by the end of this season, and hardly anything in return.

Another in the long line of sick note signings.

31-01-2022, 02:48 PM
Atleast its a contact injury

Annoying though

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

31-01-2022, 02:49 PM
I like Magennis but I think it's time we sign someone else to replace him.

31-01-2022, 02:49 PM
How long can this keep up before the club start thinking about cutting their losses?

Been an absolute waste of money so far

LunasBoots
31-01-2022, 02:50 PM
How long can this keep up before the club start thinking about cutting their losses?

Or just stop signing crocked players

Hibiza
31-01-2022, 02:52 PM
We need 2 quality midfielders now . Doesn't Surprise me ,only ( like all players to an extent ) one tackle from a lengthy spell in the treatment room . All the best Kyle.

31-01-2022, 02:55 PM
2 years of his contract gone, by the end of this season, and hardly anything in return.

From what we've seen this year he was well worth the risk- nobody has a crystal ball though. Do we assume that every player who's ever been injured will be a 'sick note signing'?

Highly unlikely we're able to sign a guy that good under other circumstances.

31-01-2022, 02:58 PM
From what we've seen this year he was well worth the risk- nobody has a crystal ball though. Do we assume that every player who's ever been injured will be a 'sick note signing'?

Highly unlikely we're able to sign a guy that good under other circumstances.

He's been here almost two years and has played something like 20 odd league games. It's undoubtedly a shame for the guy, but for me we need to find a replacement cause I honestly think he'll be out injured more than he isn't, happens with some players unfortunately.

31-01-2022, 03:02 PM
Mind Boyle got a lengthy injury then another one right on the back of it (mightve even been a reoccurance)

Thankfully we didn't bin him

Contact injury is just unfortunate

31-01-2022, 03:02 PM
This was a daft signing in the first place, his injury record is terrible and Ross knew that before we signed him anyway.

He was class at the start of this season but we're suffering massively by having our best player in his position permanently injured.

Suppose my point is, it's not like we couldn't have predicted this scenario unfolding before we signed him. It's not a freak injury or anything, he's just permanently injured.

31-01-2022, 03:04 PM
Ffs the boys made of balsa wood, is it a Hibs policy to sign permanently injured players, jeez.

Chorley Hibee
31-01-2022, 03:04 PM
This was a daft signing in the first place, his injury record is terrible and Ross knew that before we signed him anyway.

He was class at the start of this season but we're suffering massively by having our best player in his position permanently injured.

Suppose my point is, it's not like we couldn't have predicted this scenario unfolding before we signed him. It's not a freak injury or anything, he's just permanently injured.

Exactly, but don't worry, just another 3 years of his contract to keep paying up whilst he doesn't play.

If we sign Barker then at least he'll have company in the treatment room.

31-01-2022, 03:06 PM

Suppose my point is, it's not like we couldn't have predicted this scenario unfolding before we signed him. It's not a freak injury or anything, he's just permanently injured.. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220131/de9c510a84796e7845bdd6d5d0f28b2b.jpg

Hibiza
31-01-2022, 03:07 PM
Exactly, but don't worry, just another 3 years of his contract to keep paying up whilst he doesn't play.

If we sign Barker then at least he'll have company in the treatment room.
+ Murphy

TheGreenMan
31-01-2022, 03:16 PM
5 year deal too

31-01-2022, 03:17 PM
When fit and available he's our best midfielder since McGinn. He was a stand out earlier this season. Crazy talk talking about binning him.

Hibiza
31-01-2022, 03:19 PM
Jack Ross - a good eye for a treatment room player.

It never rains but it pours.

Cat Stanton
I like Magennis but I think it's time we sign someone else to replace him.

Maybe they should stop 'bounce games' - that's three players injured in them in the last fortnight....

When fit and available he's our best midfielder since McGinn. He was a stand out earlier this season. Crazy talk talking about binning him.

Aye but the first couple words of your post is what’s being debated. No-ones saying he isn’t good enough

Just seen he’s only started 19 of 90 games we’ve played since he’s signed

He’s missed 50 games

LunasBoots
31-01-2022, 03:26 PM

His injury record speaks for itself.

31-01-2022, 03:40 PM
We might get him on the park for one of his five years here if we’re lucky. A real shame for him but it was a risk from us giving him such a long deal given his previous issues. Badly need another midfielder now.

31-01-2022, 03:40 PM
Very good player. Will be great to have him back, wishing him well.

Hibees1973
31-01-2022, 03:45 PM
This.....Jesus don’t sign Barker as well, he’s another another we could get burnt with who has a terrible injury record.

31-01-2022, 03:46 PM
He needs to be sent away as soon as possible to an expert on whatever it is that’s causing him his issue. If we have to write off another season then so be it. Get him fit and a proper training schedule so that he can get through a season without breaking down every couple of weeks. Since he’s been injured we’ve struggled badly and haven’t been close to having another player come in and do what he does.

31-01-2022, 03:50 PM
He needs to be sent away as soon as possible to an expert on whatever it is that’s causing him his issue. If we have to write off another season then so be it. Get him fit and a proper training schedule so that he can get through a season without breaking down every couple of weeks. Since he’s been injured we’ve struggled badly and haven’t been close to having another player come in and do what he does.But this is apparently a contact injury

Unrelated completely to his groin injury

31-01-2022, 03:54 PM
Aye but the first couple words of your post is what’s being debated. No-ones saying he isn’t good enough

Just seen he’s only started 19 of 90 games we’ve played since he’s signed

He’s missed 50 games

And how many of those games did he last the full 90 mins? Or put in a sub par performance on account of him being out for so long?

31-01-2022, 04:02 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220131/06fca43788d05579753693ebff352da5.jpg

31-01-2022, 04:03 PM
Very good player. Will be great to have him back, wishing him well.

Agreed. Good player. Looking forward to having him back.

31-01-2022, 04:06 PM
He's a very good player but as usual, the only reason he is at Easter Road is because he is injury prone. The same can be said for Murphy and Cadden.
We seem to specialise in signing those types of player.

31-01-2022, 04:09 PM
He's a very good player but as usual, the only reason he is at Easter Road is because he is injury prone. The same can be said for Murphy and Cadden.
We seem to specialise in signing those types of player.Even if Murphy was fit 100% of the time he's not good enough for where we need to be. He can definitely do a job but we need better and all in he's been a poor signing, notwithstanding his injury record.

31-01-2022, 04:11 PM
This just hammers home the importance of signing a quality central midfielder now. I can almost guarantee a last minute loan deal similar to us signing the big huddie from Hull

31-01-2022, 04:18 PM
Sad for the guy must be gutted.

Mikey_1875
31-01-2022, 04:22 PM
Unbelievable. Sadly by the time (if) he gets back round to full sharpness the season will be coming to an end. We can’t catch a break at the moment.

31-01-2022, 04:25 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220131/06fca43788d05579753693ebff352da5.jpg

Alan62
31-01-2022, 04:31 PM
It's hugely encouraging that he got himself fit enough to get kicked in a bounce game.

31-01-2022, 04:39 PM
Since when has Cadden been injury prone?

delbert
31-01-2022, 04:53 PM

This guy makes Daniel Prodan look like an Ironman competitor !

31-01-2022, 04:53 PM
But this is apparently a contact injury

Unrelated completely to his groin injury

**** me you have to wonder what the guy can do to keep himself fit then.

Alan62
31-01-2022, 05:02 PM
**** me you have to wonder what the guy can do to keep himself fit then.

A 'contact injury' is probably a kick. He'll have bruising and stiffness probably that will set him back a bit. It isn't in the same sort of league (I'm sure we all hope) as a muscular or ligament injury.

h1bs4life
31-01-2022, 05:23 PM
Signed when still recovering from injury even paying a transfer fee , so far a waste of money .
Expect him to be fit for the final year of his contract looking for a new deal or a move

31-01-2022, 05:25 PM
Signed when still recovering from injury even paying a transfer fee , so far a waste of money .
Expect him to be fit for the final year of his contract looking for a new deal or a move[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

31-01-2022, 05:55 PM
Expect him to be fit for the final year of his contract looking for a new deal or a move

This implies he is faking injury, which is a disgusting thing to say, and a blatant lie based on the evidence we have. Poor stuff.

Basildon Hibs
31-01-2022, 06:13 PM

Correct.

31-01-2022, 06:20 PM
It’s just a knock from a bounce game. Something that happens to all players.

31-01-2022, 06:21 PM
It’s just a knock from a bounce game. Something that happens to all players.Noo it's. A disaster!!!

Boys a wage thief etc etc

31-01-2022, 06:54 PM
This implies he is faking injury, which is a disgusting thing to say, and a blatant lie based on the evidence we have. Poor stuff.

But you could argue the guys probably correct. Think Dylan mceough was similar , last year of his contract with us was probably his longest run of staying fit. Wouldn’t say it’s necessarily deliberate, but good chance sub consciously

31-01-2022, 06:59 PM
But you could argue the guys probably correct. Think Dylan mceough was similar , last year of his contract with us was probably his longest run of staying fit. Wouldn’t say it’s necessarily deliberate, but good chance sub consciously

You could not argue that unless you like an argument based on absolutely nothing whatsoever. Nothing to suggest Dylan was faking anything. He got a good run of fitness. Thats all.

Dylan McGeouch in his 4 seasons here - 95 games
David Gray in his last 4 seasons - 55 games.

Was Gray faking it?

31-01-2022, 09:03 PM

Exactly. Some very poor comments on this thread.

Key West
01-02-2022, 10:47 AM
Hibs have been unlucky with him and Clarke, the sooner they are available the better.

Highwayman
01-02-2022, 11:04 AM
I was wondering when Magennis got injured in September why there was no clear information as to when he was coming back.

As time went on and the lack of information continued,I became pessimistic that we wouldn’t see Magennis in a Hibs strip again this season.

This latest setback has done nothing to convince me otherwise.

01-02-2022, 11:07 AM
Has appeared in ~20 of past ~90 matches? He is a good player, but we can’t afford to have players who contribute to a quarter of our games.

01-02-2022, 11:17 AM
Has appeared in ~20 of past ~90 matches? He is a good player, but we can’t afford to have players who contribute to a quarter of our games.

Yeah we should use the money for a crystal ball instead then we could see future injuries for all potential signings over the length of their contract…would save us a fortune and I have no idea why the club hasn’t bought one yet.

Crunchie
01-02-2022, 11:30 AM

I think he'd much rather be playing, don't you?

01-02-2022, 12:00 PM

David Murphy was crocked when Mowbray signed him . He turned out OK.

Hibiza
01-02-2022, 04:26 PM
David Murphy was crocked when Mowbray signed him . He turned out OK.

Not like this Sur .

04-02-2022, 06:52 PM
Another 4-6 weeks according to Maloney due to the knock

04-02-2022, 06:52 PM
Another 4-6 weeks according to Maloney due to the knock

Ffs

04-02-2022, 07:11 PM
Ffs

Unlikely to see him play again this season it seems to me

04-02-2022, 07:12 PM
Due to a knock? Doubt we’ll see him again.

04-02-2022, 07:14 PM

Maloney said it was a 'contact injury' but didn't expand on it further.

04-02-2022, 07:16 PM
Unlikely to see him play again this season it seems to me

Beginning or middle of March ? Plenty games to go.

04-02-2022, 07:23 PM

We'll see him again, he has a knock. It happens.

BlackSheep
02-04-2022, 08:14 AM
I’ve been told that Kyle Magennis is due another op, a big one so not to expect him back any time soon.

Shame for the lad as he had fantastic start to the season and we haven’t looked the same without him.

02-04-2022, 08:22 AM
I’ve been told that Kyle Magennis is due another op, a big one so not to expect him back any time soon.

Shame for the lad as he had fantastic start to the season and we haven’t looked the same without him.

If that's the case his career may well be cut short which is a real shame for the lad. He's only played 21 games in 2 seasons for us and only 88 in 4 years at St Mirren.

02-04-2022, 08:24 AM
FFS. We can't really say it's unexpected with Magennis at this stage can we.

Mikey_1875
02-04-2022, 08:24 AM

That would tie in with what Maloney said in the preview interview for today’s game. He said we would find out early next week whether Magennis would be a few weeks away or maybe a bit longer.

I thought his season was over a while ago now but the ‘bit longer’ part had me worried that it might spill into next season as well! Hopefully things start to look up for the guy but it looks like we will need to sign a replacement for him in the summer.

02-04-2022, 08:27 AM

That would be a nightmare however if it means he comes back fully fit obviously needs it to happen. I had heard he had some sort of stomach muscle injury which if true can be very difficult to sort I think.

hibby rae
02-04-2022, 08:39 AM

I'd forgotten about him tbh.I don't expect to see him playing for us again sadly

Stubbsy90+2
02-04-2022, 08:44 AM
If that's the case his career may well be cut short which is a real shame for the lad. He's only played 21 games in 2 seasons for us and only 88 in 4 years at St Mirren.

He’ll be retired soon I reckon.

He’s spent the vast majority of the last 4 seasons out injured. Managed 57 league games out of 144 I make it.

We need to replace him and if possible move him on in the summer.

Mcbizz1998
02-04-2022, 08:46 AM
Kyle Magennis had the potential to be our best signing in year. Turned into a complete disaster. Really gutting.

02-04-2022, 08:47 AM
I think he’s finished.

Don’t see how you miss this many games with mystery injuries and come back.

Shame, because I thought he looked a class act at the start of the season.

chippy
02-04-2022, 08:54 AM
I think he’s finished.

Don’t see how you miss this many games with mystery injuries and come back.

Shame, because I thought he looked a class act at the start of the season.

With hindsight is signing him crocked perhaps a reason Ross and Mathie were fired?

02-04-2022, 09:03 AM
A big gamble signing him when injured and it’s not paid off (so far). There’s obviously still time for him at Hibs but it’s not looking promising.

02-04-2022, 09:05 AM
Had a feeling since quite early on in his Hibs career that it just wouldn’t work out for one reason or another. Real shame, as he showed what a good player he was at the start of this season.

I know it’s not as simple as him being missing, but the number of league games that we’ve won (or, conversely, not won) since he went off during that St. Johnstone game suggests that he’s really important to how we play.

I do remember being surprised at a five year contract being handed out. When’s the last time we had done that prior to him? Did we give Brebner five years when we signed him from Reading?

02-04-2022, 09:14 AM
Had a feeling since quite early on in his Hibs career that it just wouldn’t work out for one reason or another. Real shame, as he showed what a good player he was at the start of this season.

I know it’s not as simple as him being missing, but the number of league games that we’ve won (or, conversely, not won) since he went off during that St. Johnstone game suggests that he’s really important to how we play.

I do remember being surprised at a five year contract being handed out. When’s the last time we had done that prior to him? Did we give Brebner five years when we signed him from Reading?

Brebner signed a three year deal ( Wiki) prior to surprisingly being sold to Dundee United

I’m thinking Billy Findlay ? :greengrin

02-04-2022, 09:23 AM
Brebner signed a three year deal ( Wiki) prior to surprisingly being sold to Dundee United

I’m thinking Billy Findlay ? :greengrin

Ha, possibly with Findlay!

The article states that he signed the three year just deal before he was sold. I may well be wrong, but I thought he signed a five year deal with us initially.

02-04-2022, 09:33 AM
Looks like it was five years.

02-04-2022, 09:58 AM
Appreciate that it’s no fault of Kyle’s but you’ve got to question giving a 5 year contract to someone who had had serious injury issues before joining the club, this could turn out to be a horrendous piece of business for the club.

02-04-2022, 10:02 AM

Did we not give Calum booth a five year contract I seem to remember.

02-04-2022, 10:05 AM

Such a blow for him and us. He's a terrific player.

02-04-2022, 10:08 AM
Looks like it was five years.

02-04-2022, 10:10 AM
So disappointing for both us and him.

He was the difference at the start of the season but the number of games he has managed in each of the last few seasons speaks for itself. He just isn't going to be consistently available for so long that we really need to move to replace him in the short to medium term at least.

02-04-2022, 10:29 AM
It would be interesting to know how a club can remove itself from a contract when a player is so clearly unable to manage the rigours of playing?

It’s rare to see such a young guy actually retire. Who decides if his body is unable to cope?

A five year contract was always a gamble. I wasn’t that comfortable with it at the time, thinking it excessive. Hindsight has shown that was a huge error from the decision makers at the time.

I feel sorry for the guy, but he’s been an awful signing. It can’t be good for him physically, the operations will no doubt take their toll on him, as well as hit the club financially.

02-04-2022, 10:38 AM
Did we not give Calum booth a five year contract I seem to remember.

Good shout and well remembered - had a look and it was four and a half years (signed in December 2010).

02-04-2022, 10:40 AM
Good shout and well remembered - had a look and it was four and a half years (signed in December 2010).

Porto!

02-04-2022, 10:43 AM
Kyle is the missing link in our midfield imho.

Box to box and scores too!

Hopefully he’ll get it sorted and he can get back next season!

02-04-2022, 10:44 AM
Did John Souttar not have a similar injury record at Hearts? I think we should persevere with him. He's a fantastic player.

02-04-2022, 10:45 AM
Did John Souttar not have a similar injury record at Hearts? I think we should persevere with him. He's a fantastic player.

Aye, maybe Magennis will have one good season then **** off on a PCA as well.....................

02-04-2022, 10:48 AM
I can’t even begin to imagine the impact that this all must have on him mentally, also. Hard to imagine he’ll have much faith in this body holding up when he comes back from this latest setback - any twinge or slight pain will likely cause him huge concern.

Long road back in every sense.

Stubbsy90+2
02-04-2022, 10:56 AM
With hindsight is signing him crocked perhaps a reason Ross and Mathie were fired?

I’d imagine it would have played a part.

A presumably 3k a week or so wage over 5 years along with the transfer fee means he would have been a £1m commitment by Hibs. For Hibs that’s absolutely huge and I would imagine one of our most expensive signings all things considered of all time. The fact it’s turned out a disaster will have been a consideration imo.

02-04-2022, 11:03 AM
Kyle Magennis has had a really difficult period, we will get an update on him early next week on when he might return.

"No matter what happens with Kyle, we will be very patient and supportive with him and look forward to having him back when he is ready."

02-04-2022, 11:08 AM
I’d imagine it would have played a part.

A presumably 3k a week or so wage over 5 years along with the transfer fee means he would have been a £1m commitment by Hibs. For Hibs that’s absolutely huge and I would imagine one of our most expensive signings all things considered of all time. The fact it’s turned out a disaster will have been a consideration imo.
That’s all completely made up.

02-04-2022, 11:12 AM
Aye, maybe Magennis will have one good season then **** off on a PCA as well.....................

Hearts don't gave exclusivity on players leaving for nothing
for the big wages after benefiting from their treatment table. One of our cup winning heroes did the same.

02-04-2022, 11:35 AM
When the experts speak of getting rid of a Hibs player, I am reminded that we did the same with our greatest ever player. We dumped the great Gordon Smith and that worked out well! At least for Gordon it did as he won another 2 league medals. One with hertz and one with Dundee, he was the one supplying all the crosses for big Alan Gilzean to nod in as Dundee ran away wi the league that year. Only player in Scotland to win 3 league winners medals wi different teams.
So, all I wid say is be careful what you wish for, in getting rid of players due to injury, speaking of which the Sheep have told Dylan he can go in the summer, anyone for a great wee holding midfield player????

Stubbsy90+2
02-04-2022, 11:46 AM
That’s all completely made up.

There was a reason I said I’d imagine, presumably and imo in there. There was never any attempt in my post to suggest I knew exact figures or whether I knew if it contributed to Mathie being sacked, Infact it was made quite clear I didn’t.

It’ll not be a million miles off though. A 5 year contract for a player we paid a fee for is huge and will carry a significant financial cost for Hibs. If we deem a player good enough to pay a fee and a 5 year deal then they’re not coming in as a low earner.

There’ll not be many players in our history who we’ve made such a financial commitment in upon their initial signing.

Giving that contract to Magennis was absolute madness at the time and has been proven to be the case over the last two seasons.

02-04-2022, 11:58 AM
When the experts speak of getting rid of a Hibs player, I am reminded that we did the same with our greatest ever player. We dumped the great Gordon Smith and that worked out well! At least for Gordon it did as he won another 2 league medals. One with hertz and one with Dundee, he was the one supplying all the crosses for big Alan Gilzean to nod in as Dundee ran away wi the league that year. Only player in Scotland to win 3 league winners medals wi different teams.
So, all I wid say is be careful what you wish for, in getting rid of players due to injury, speaking of which the Sheep have told Dylan he can go in the summer, anyone for a great wee holding midfield player????

The experts are just fans with opinions, a bit like you? :wink:

Comparing Gordon Smith and Kyle Magennis is a bit ridic though, one had given 16 years of glorious service, the other has barely kicked a baw with any intent in the not quite two seasons he’s been at Hibs.

Bad luck for both Hibs and Magennis, but it’s hardly a surprise that people might question his capacity to recover.

loanheadhibby
02-04-2022, 12:10 PM
I know I'll be in trouble for being negative but is he really a fantastic player?
We miss him for sure but in what games has he looked special.
A previous post reckons he's box to box and scores goals.
I can remember a goal in the abroad leg when we got knocked out of Europe and I'm sure he has scored more than that.
Hopefully he'll be back but it will be next season.

02-04-2022, 12:13 PM
I know I'll be in trouble for being negative but is he really a fantastic player?
I can remember a goal in the abroad leg when we got knocked out of Europe and I'm sure he has scored more than that.
Hopefully he'll be back but it will be next season.He was part of our first 11 that has us top of the league in October

He was looking like an excellent player

LunasBoots
02-04-2022, 12:14 PM
Sadly Magennis has a truly awful injury record, the chances of him lasting more than a couple games if he returns are pretty slim, he's a good player but is just never going to be fit.

02-04-2022, 12:16 PM

He’s scored five goals in 19 starts so fair to say that’s a quality he has.

From memory he had a fluke v United at home last season, and scored in our first two league games this season. Scored in Europe as you said, and against Killie in the LC this season.

Stubbsy90+2
02-04-2022, 12:19 PM
He’s scored five goals in 19 starts so fair to say that’s a quality he has.

From memory he had a fluke v United at home last season, and scored in our first two league games this season. Scored in Europe as you said, and against Killie in the LC this season.

He’s quite clearly a very good player when everything falls into place perfectly for him.

When it doesn’t though, like last season, he was really really poor.

Someone with his injury record is rarely going to have things fall into place perfectly for him though. If he ever does appear for Hibs again he’s going to have to show a hell of a lot more than he has in the majority of his appearances for us so far which have by and large been poor.

02-04-2022, 12:24 PM

Wow take a day off and go and watch your team. Relentless

04-04-2022, 10:35 AM
Just posted on his instagram that the season is over for him.

04-04-2022, 10:36 AM
Really hoping he can get past this. Great player when fit.

04-04-2022, 10:37 AM

What a shame for the guy had no luck at all with injury. Hopefully come back stronger next season as been a huge miss.

04-04-2022, 11:00 AM
I would be a bit sceptical given his history but he is not even two years into his five year contract so time on his side

04-04-2022, 11:15 AM
It must be devastating for the guy. Obvious quality as a footballer, but obvious issues with fitness.

We can't go into next season with any expectations that he's going to be available. We absolutely need to bring in another Magennis type player.

04-04-2022, 11:19 AM
Gutted for him.

One thing I find weird is what the wait was for him getting the op? To begin with it was a set back after an injury in a bounce game.

You would think they would have known the extent of it quite quick and if it required an op or have they decided to treat an other area he’s had issues?

Either way he’s back for pre season which is a boost and hopefully he’ll have all his injuries behind him.

04-04-2022, 11:22 AM
Really not starting to look good for him & his career, constantly injured and we’ve had next to nothing to show for the money we spent on him

Hopefully he can get over his injury problems but it doesn’t look promising

04-04-2022, 11:23 AM
Gutted for the lad. He looked brilliant for us at the start of this season.

HFC93
04-04-2022, 11:24 AM
Can't some people are writing him off (I shouldn't be suprised given the form of some posters). Kyle Magennis just needs to look at John Souttar who has come back stronger after some horrendous injuries.

04-04-2022, 11:32 AM
Can't some people are writing him off (I shouldn't be suprised given the form of some posters). Kyle Magennis just needs to look at John Souttar who has come back stronger after some horrendous injuries.

Everyone says John Soutar came back stronger. When did he last play?

I think buying a crocked player is always a.risk. It hasn’t worked out . Posters are describing Magennis as brilliant. To me he is the sort of player everyone else in the league has-box to box,plenty energy,chips in with a few goals.Everyone but us. Brilliant? No.

04-04-2022, 11:34 AM
Is this the same injury he picked up in August, or is it a new one from the bounce game?

04-04-2022, 11:39 AM
It would be easier to moan about this guy's injury problems and go on about cutting our losses if it wasn't for the fact that in the brief spell we did get to see him he showed what a good player he can be. Without this new injury he looked like an absolute stick on starter every week if he continued to show the form he did in that spell, good on the ball and has a goal in him.

Lets hope he fully recovers and comes back next season the player it looks like he can be.

This is why even though I'm not convinced Maloney shouldn't find an alternative to his tippy tappy fitba in the short term I'm prepared to cut him some slack. No manager should be judged when faced with the horrendous injury list Hibs have been faced with to key players. I reserve the right to change that to a knee jerk Maloney out reaction if we lose the next two :greengrin

04-04-2022, 11:44 AM
Is this the same injury he picked up in August, or is it a new one from the bounce game?

Who knows Billy as far as we knew a few weeks ago an op wasn’t on the cards and he was back training again after that knock in training So have to assume he broke down in training

04-04-2022, 11:47 AM
I’d imagine one of the reasons he came to us was the security of a 5 year contract, looks like a wise move thus far for him. Any indication of what the issue is now or whether he’s be available for the start of the new season?

Stubbsy90+2
04-04-2022, 11:51 AM
I’d imagine one of the reasons he came to us was the security of a 5 year contract, looks like a wise move thus far for him. Any indication of what the issue is now or whether he’s be available for the start of the new season?

He says that he’s looking forward to pre season so at this point it would seem that the plan is that he’ll be ready to go for that.

hhibs
04-04-2022, 11:53 AM
There was a reason I said I’d imagine, presumably and imo in there. There was never any attempt in my post to suggest I knew exact figures or whether I knew if it contributed to Mathie being sacked, Infact it was made quite clear I didn’t.

It’ll not be a million miles off though. A 5 year contract for a player we paid a fee for is huge and will carry a significant financial cost for Hibs. If we deem a player good enough to pay a fee and a 5 year deal then they’re not coming in as a low earner.

There’ll not be many players in our history who we’ve made such a financial commitment in upon their initial signing.

Giving that contract to Magennis was absolute madness at the time and has been proven to be the case over the last two seasons.

All too sadly your points are valid.

However we are where we are,we must give full support as a club and as supporters to a player who has has cursed luck and who is in no way at fault.

WE all hope he can come back and be the player we have seen glimpses of,he could still make a mighty contribution to Hibs yet

04-04-2022, 12:11 PM
He says that he’s looking forward to pre season so at this point it would seem that the plan is that he’ll be ready to go for that.

Hopefully with another club. Far too much of a gamble for us.

hhibs
04-04-2022, 12:15 PM
Hopefully with another club. Far too much of a gamble for us.

He has a contract,we have sunk costs ,so no ,not at another club.

04-04-2022, 12:19 PM

Thats a bummer. Look forward to seeing him back in a Hibs shirt next season.

04-04-2022, 12:34 PM
Very disappointing news, not least for Magennis himself.

Sadly though football's a harsh business and the club must be looking for a replacement in the summer.

It will be hard to move him on though with almost 4 years left on his contract.

Real shame.

04-04-2022, 12:37 PM

Sadly though football's a harsh business and the club must be looking for a replacement in the summer.

Real shame.

Come May he will have 3 years left rather than 4. Shows how long he’s been with us.

04-04-2022, 12:45 PM
Come May he will have 3 years left rather than 4. Shows how long he’s been with us.

Oh ok just saw he signed a 5 year deal in October 2020 so assumed it was just under 4 years he had left.

04-04-2022, 12:50 PM

Real shame.

There’s no moving him on , where would he go? He’s had serious injury issues for 3 seasons and barely kicked a ball. It’s not likely he will attract a club who can pay him a salary close to what Hibs have paid.

The question for me is how much surgery and rehab does he go through before expert medical advice tells him to quit?

He’ll no doubt have a crack at a pre season. However, if that goes wrong, then enough is enough.

Very disappointing for Magennis and Hibs. He had four or five games this season where he actually looked decent.

skyehibee
04-04-2022, 12:51 PM
What exactly is the injury? ACL? Usually the sort of injury that puts you out for a full season and does re occur.

04-04-2022, 12:53 PM

Aw well, that’s encouraging at least. Not many games left this season, albeit very important one’s, and wouldn’t have expected him to contribute much even if he hadn’t required surgery given his lack of match fitness.

HFC93
04-04-2022, 01:01 PM
Everyone says John Soutar came back stronger. When did he last play?

I think buying a crocked player is always a.risk. It hasn’t worked out . Posters are describing Magennis as brilliant. To me he is the sort of player everyone else in the league has-box to box,plenty energy,chips in with a few goals.Everyone but us. Brilliant? No.

I think he last played in March, has played 30+ so far this season which has brought him back into the Scotland set up and a move to Rangers so I would he has done well since his injury.

04-04-2022, 02:02 PM
Out until next season.

04-04-2022, 02:19 PM
This thread is a horror show. People suggesting he should quit, be released or sold etc. Same jokers who thought McGeouch should have been released every season no doubt.

He's an excellent player. He averaged about 30 games a season as a young player for St Mirren. He's come to us and had some real bad luck but he'll only just be turning 24 in August. If we keep him fit he'll be a huge asset, he was tremendous at the start of the season.

Players do return from injury and go on to have successful careers FFS.

04-04-2022, 02:23 PM
This thread is a horror show. People suggesting he should quit, be released or sold etc. Same jokers who thought McGeouch should have been released every season no doubt.

He's an excellent player. He averaged about 30 games a season as a young player for St Mirren. He's come to us and had some real bad luck but he'll only just be turning 24 in August. If we keep him fit he'll be a huge asset, he was tremendous at the start of the season.

He’s only played more than 30 games in 1 season, going back to 2016-17. 32 that season, 29 the next and then dropped down to just 19 the following season. Since then it’s been 27, 23 and 13.

I’m not suggesting emptying him, I still think he’s got the potential to be a top player for us however that will only happen if he can get fit, stay fit and play a decent amount of games consistently

04-04-2022, 02:36 PM
No wonder Arsenal wanted to handle Clarke’s recovery given our impressive performance getting this guy fit.[emoji23]

04-04-2022, 03:51 PM

TBF, you’re totally exaggerating.

Imagine a football forum where fans can’t discuss a players fitness (ok, with Scott Allan, a degree of restraint was exercised and rightly so by the admin team). No one is saying anything unreasonable in my opinion.

04-04-2022, 04:56 PM
Looking at his stats, he has played 109 games.

St Mirren 88 from 2016-2020 and 21 for us. He has 5 Caps also.

That is a pretty low average year on year, 5 year contract always a gamble, is he just having extremely bad luck?

loanheadhibby
04-04-2022, 05:05 PM
How exactly did he get injured? He’s not kicked a ball since September.

04-04-2022, 05:06 PM

He got injured at his work

loanheadhibby
04-04-2022, 05:07 PM
Looking at his stats, he has played 109 games.

St Mirren 88 from 2016-2020 and 21 for us. He has 5 Caps also.

That is a pretty low average year on year, 5 year contract always a gamble, is he just having extremely bad luck?

You can’t really put it down to luck? He’s serially injured at both St Mirren & Hibs.

04-04-2022, 05:39 PM
You can’t really put it down to luck? He’s serially injured at both St Mirren & Hibs.

And? If you turn the wrong way on the training pitch, catch a stud, take a knock in a certain place.....all of that can and will cause injuries in any player. You appear to be suggesting he's fragile? Without any access to his medical records, or the injuries he has had how do you know that? You may as well claim that Hibs caused it by the way they trained him.

Stubbsy90+2
04-04-2022, 05:48 PM
And? If you turn the wrong way on the training pitch, catch a stud, take a knock in a certain place.....all of that can and will cause injuries in any player. You appear to be suggesting he's fragile? Without any access to his medical records, or the injuries he has had how do you know that? You may as well claim that Hibs caused it by the way they trained him.

He absolutely is fragile. We don’t need access to his medical records to see that.

loanheadhibby
04-04-2022, 05:53 PM

I am suggesting some players are more prone to injury than others. This guy has a horrendous injury record at both St Mirren & Hibs.

I am deducing from that he is very fragile.

04-04-2022, 05:57 PM
I have no idea if he's fragile, or just been very unlucky, what i do know is when fit he's a very good player and we miss him a lot.

loanheadhibby
04-04-2022, 05:58 PM

Am not downing the laddie but what exactly are you basing your thoughts on him being an excellent player?

I’ve barely seen this laddie play in 18 months. He had 5 or 6 decent games in September but to suggest he’s an excellent player is stretching it (unless you are down at East Mains watching training).

04-04-2022, 06:06 PM
He has a contract,we have sunk costs ,so no ,not at another club.

Ah but then there’s the sunk costs fallacy….

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunk_cost

fwiw I think we need to give him another chance. Until it becomes clear if we need to mitigate against further losses. I hope he comes good. It’s not as if he wanted to be sitting on the sidelines.

04-04-2022, 06:43 PM
Ah but then there’s the sunk costs fallacy….

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunk_cost

fwiw I think we need to give him another chance. Until it becomes clear if we need to mitigate against further losses. I hope he comes good. It’s not as if he wanted to be sitting on the sidelines.

He’ll get lots of chances because he still has three years left on his deal and no other club would be daft enough to sign an injured player.
At least with McGeogh it was one injury that was causing him a problem and eventually a specialist sorted it. With Macgennis it appear to be a catalogue of different injuries one after the other. And the recovery period after each one always takes much longer than expected. I don’t know of any other word that best describes him other than fragile.
Hopefully he turns it around but I have my doubts.

04-04-2022, 06:52 PM

I asked this question, I got a response it was in a warm up game v Huddersfield and he was due back the week after. Just unlucky.

Hibees1973
04-04-2022, 06:52 PM
St Mirren must be laughing at getting close to £200k for him from us.

Much as I sympathise with the player we have been royally shafted here.

Buying a player with a poor injury record and one who was not even fit to play when he joined us reflects really poorly on the recruitment guys and Jack Ross as well. Stupid idiots.

Is there really anyone else out there who thinks this guy will be able to play 10 consecutive games for us without getting injured again.

Get rid asap and remove him from the wage bill. Hopefully it's a lesson learned.

04-04-2022, 06:54 PM
He’ll get lots of chances because he still has three years left on his deal and no other club would be daft enough to sign an injured player.
At least with McGeogh it was one injury that was causing him a problem and eventually a specialist sorted it. With Macgennis it appear to be a catalogue of different injuries one after the other. And the recovery period after each one always takes much longer than expected. I don’t know of any other word that best describes him other than fragile.
Hopefully he turns it around but I have my doubts.

We’ve just signed Mitchell who’s 2 years older than Kyle, and has played 50% less games. I’m sure Kyle will come good though, although it will be frustrating for player and club

04-04-2022, 06:54 PM
St Mirren must be laughing at getting close to £200k for him from us.

Much as I sympathise with the player we have been royally shafted here.

Buying a player with a poor injury record and one who was not even fit to play when he joined us reflects really poorly on the recruitment guys and Jack Ross as well. Stupid idiots.

Is there really anyone else out there who thinks this guy will be able to play 10 consecutive games for us without getting injured again.

Get rid asap and remove him from the wage bill. Hopefully it's a lesson learned.

Just get rid 😂
FFS

04-04-2022, 06:55 PM
Am not downing the laddie but what exactly are you basing your thoughts on him being an excellent player?

I’ve barely seen this laddie play in 18 months. He had 5 or 6 decent games in September but to suggest he’s an excellent player is stretching it (unless you are down at East Mains watching training).

We signed him Ona 5 year deal for a reason. Captain of St Mirren with 100 games under his belt at 21. Their fans raved about him.

His first season here was a write off but look at how he started the season here, that was clearly the real Magennis - when fit.

Scored important goals for us, was a big threat in the derby game. Then moved back to a deeper role he was MOTM in home win vs Livi. Very good player at this level and has potential to go higher IMO

loanheadhibby
04-04-2022, 06:58 PM
We signed him Ona 5 year deal for a reason. Captain of St Mirren with 100 games under his belt at 21. Their fans raved about him.

His first season here was a write off but look at how he started the season here, that was clearly the real Magennis - when fit.

Scored important goals for us, was a big threat in the derby game. Then moved back to a deeper role he was MOTM in home win vs Livi. Very good player at this level and has potential to go higher IMO
I admire your optimism but if you're talking about the 0-0 at Tynecastle I'm not convinced.
A complete waste of money and if the St Mirren fans still rave about him perhaps they'll take him back.

04-04-2022, 07:02 PM
I admire your optimism but if you're talking about the 0-0 at Tynecastle I'm not convinced.
A complete waste of money and if the St Mirren fans still rave about him perhaps they'll take him back.

Would you have written Darren McGregor off as quick, 2 terrible injuries, and still playing into his 30’s

04-04-2022, 07:08 PM

This is the sort of p*sh I was referencing in my previous post. “A complete waste of money” and “get rid” etc. Pathetic.

04-04-2022, 07:16 PM
God I hope he proves everyone wrong like mcgeouch did. Same horrible things said about him.

04-04-2022, 07:24 PM
This seems to have developed into a ‘Magennis out’ thread. What’s going on with this fans’ site nowadays??

04-04-2022, 07:33 PM
This seems to have developed into a ‘Magennis out’ thread. What’s going on with this fans’ site nowadays??

Same on the Twitter feed. God forbid he'd check to see if anyone was wishing him well, he's getting told he's a waste of space.

There's a yawning chasm between 'it's not working out and it's doubtful he has a future here' to the really crass stuff. The gap between being a considerate normal person and a complete ****, basically.

loanheadhibby
04-04-2022, 07:43 PM
This is the sort of p*sh I was referencing in my previous post. “A complete waste of money” and “get rid” etc. Pathetic.

How would you rate him as a signing? Has the club had value for money?

CL0762
04-04-2022, 07:55 PM
How would you rate him as a signing? Has the club had value for money?

He’s no deliberately injuring himself ffs.

Some folk in this thread really need to have a look at themselves.

Stubbsy90+2
04-04-2022, 07:58 PM

Why? :confused:

It’s a fans forum. Saying a signing has been a poor signing is kind of the point of the place. It’s for people to give their opinions.

Nobody has suggested he’s getting injured deliberately either.

loanheadhibby
04-04-2022, 08:06 PM

Where did I suggest he had deliberately injured himself? You’re just making stuff up now.

Has he been a good signing and value for money?

04-04-2022, 09:18 PM
Wish you a good recovery Kyle

Hope to see you back to your best

04-04-2022, 09:24 PM
He’s a quality player - hope he recovers and is back in pre-season.

This season could be over in 2 weeks anyway if we don’t rise up to the challenge.

CL0762
04-04-2022, 09:48 PM
Where did I suggest he had deliberately injured himself? You’re just making stuff up now.

Has he been a good signing and value for money?

Sorry, didn’t mean to quote your post - definitely not a slight on your comment so apologies 👍🏻

It was aimed at those saying we should just pay him up and get rid of him.

It would be pretty hard to argue a case for Magennis being a good signing/value for money. Showed a lot of signs at the start of the season then another injury.

I seen him at the open goal event in October & he was adamant he’d be back after the upcoming international break.

Percy Vere
04-04-2022, 09:53 PM

It’s become a sad negative place. Mean spirited with absolutely no insight into the issues facing players. No one gets injured deliberately. I’m sure Kyle would love to be playing week in week out.
It seems unless you are Messi every week you are no use to Hibs.
Must be great to be perfect and know every nuance of the game.
I’m heartily sick of these so called supporters.

04-04-2022, 10:15 PM

Exactly...imagine if we hadn't renewed the contract of the young Martin Boyle whose contract expired when he was injured. For those on here that also criticise Doidge, the injury he had is a brutal one to fully recover from and only time will tell if he ever truly gets back to where he was.

04-04-2022, 10:32 PM

He’s clearly a good player.

The question is, will he ever be fit enough to make the wait worth the while.

cameronw-hfc
04-04-2022, 11:06 PM
He's got age on his side. Sometimes you just have a shoddy year or two in football, he's had that. He'll be fine, get him back fit and raring to go asap and see the real Kyle again.

04-04-2022, 11:35 PM
Some frankly poisonous comments in this thread.

The player isn't deliberately getting injured to spite you. Grow up.

04-04-2022, 11:51 PM

There's a good few posters who don't miss an opportunity at having a go at tearing down Hibs.

04-04-2022, 11:53 PM
There's a good few posters who don't miss an opportunity at having a go at tearing down Hibs.

And literally never post anything positive about the club or the team.

I wonder why.

Dmas
05-04-2022, 04:43 AM
It’s become a sad negative place. Mean spirited with absolutely no insight into the issues facing players. No one gets injured deliberately. I’m sure Kyle would love to be playing week in week out.
It seems unless you are Messi every week you are no use to Hibs.
Must be great to be perfect and know every nuance of the game.
I’m heartily sick of these so called supporters.

If we got rid of him you can bet ur mortgage the same posters will be wetting themselves when he came back and scored against us.

Magennis having a bad run of luck probably linked to the injury he was recovering from when we signed him, rushed himself back to quickly to play for new club or we rushed him too quick, sometimes ur too scared to use the previously injured muscles u put too much strain on the others to compensate,I dunno far from an expert we’d do well to stand by the guy and get him fully recovered and in the right frame of mind for next year though there’s no doubting he’s a talented player

05-04-2022, 05:14 AM
We didn’t get where we are today without perseverance - heck many of us literally and metaphorically bought the T-shirt. We’re all frustrated with the injuries - particularly bad this season.

Churchill said “when you’re going through hell, keep going”. time to roll up the sleeves and get on with it.

Stubbsy90+2
05-04-2022, 07:31 AM

There’s even more hugely exaggerated comments about the thread being poisonous and weird suggestions that people think he’s getting injured deliberately when nobody has ever suggested that.

05-04-2022, 08:12 AM
Wish you a good recovery Kyle

Hope to see you back to your best

my sentiments exactly 👍 Kyle’s a game changer when fit and we need him fit!

05-04-2022, 08:27 AM
Don’t think anybody is really having a go at the player. Not his fault he’s injured and it’s not his fault he was given a five year contract.

We can’t go in to next season relying on him though. We’ve not been able to do that in all his time here and St Mirren couldn’t before we paid them a lot of money (by our standards) for him.

Mcbizz1998
05-04-2022, 08:28 AM
In a weird way I’m glad we know he won’t be back this season, he can now concentrate on recovering and getting himself a full pre season.

Hopefully raring to go for next season. Good luck Kyle.

05-04-2022, 08:43 AM
Don’t think anybody is really having a go at the player. Not his fault he’s injured and it’s not his fault he was given a five year contract.

We can’t go in to next season relying on him though. We’ve not been able to do that in all his time here and St Mirren couldn’t before we paid them a lot of money (by our standards) for him.

It’s almost like some folk can’t tolerate the reality of the situation and want to silence the ones who are becoming increasingly concerned as to whether Magennis will ever be fit enough to play regular football at Hibs.

Some of the emotive language being used is really poor from the drama queens who can’t have a reasonable conversation without seeing some strange ulterior purpose behind any discouraging word. Of course we have our resident fud getting into the mix, which doesn’t help.

However, it’s ok to be sceptical about Magennis, his injury history, the wisdom of a fee and five year contract. Let’s not make it about happy clapping/ bed wetting, it’s boring.

05-04-2022, 08:43 AM

Try going to games. He was the main reason when we actually had a good run of form.

05-04-2022, 08:47 AM

We dont appear to rely on any player though. As it should be.

05-04-2022, 08:59 AM
Try going to games. He was the main reason when we actually had a good run of form.

Is that not a contradiction?

05-04-2022, 09:01 AM

Don’t actually know what you mean here?

05-04-2022, 09:01 AM
Is that not a contradiction?

Nope. We were better with him playing than without. But we clearly dont rely on any player anymore as we now dont have that many that actually play every game.

05-04-2022, 09:07 AM
Nope. We were better with him playing than without. But we clearly dont rely on any player anymore as we now dont have that many that actually play every game.

So, getting rid of or not having any game changing players removes the fear of relying on a talismanic game changing type player? That’s clear now:greengrin

05-04-2022, 09:13 AM

When I’m talking about not being able to rely on him, I’m talking about his fitness. Surely you can see he’s one off the less reliable members of the squad from that point of view?

05-04-2022, 09:18 AM
A lot has (rightly) been made of the loss of Boyle, and the importance he had to our results and the way we played.

Magennis looked to almost be the keystone in Jack Ross' side earlier this season and the difference in results with him in and out of the side has been stark.

He was really proving his worth earlier this season and every Hibs fan should be (and I'm sure will be) desperate to see him fully fit and back in the team.

But I don't think reasonable, adult conversation about the likelihood of that happening, given his terrible injury record in recent years is unfair.

Stubbsy90+2
05-04-2022, 09:23 AM
A lot has (rightly) been made of the loss of Boyle, and the importance he had to our results and the way we played.

Magennis looked to almost be the keystone in Jack Ross' side earlier this season and the difference in results with him in and out of the side has been stark.

He was really proving his worth earlier this season and every Hibs fan should be (and I'm sure will be) desperate to see him fully fit and back in the team.

But I don't think reasonable, adult conversation about the likelihood of that happening, given his terrible injury record in recent years is unfair.

It’s not unfair at all. He’s missed the overwhelming majority of the last 4 seasons. To suggest we shouldn’t be questioning his signing or voicing concern about it as some are suggesting is ridiculous really. As are the suggestions that it’s horrendous etc to do so.

05-04-2022, 09:28 AM
One of our best players. In a position where we aren’t blessed. Get well soon Kyle.

05-04-2022, 03:34 PM

Yam troll again torture

loanheadhibby
05-04-2022, 06:04 PM

You’re having a nightmare mate. Just a few contradictions. Brightside by name, not by nature.

loanheadhibby
05-04-2022, 06:07 PM
Yam troll again torture

You’ve sussed me out brains.

Any opinion other than yours then we must all be yams. Have a night off if you’ve not got anything to add to the debate. Or maybe just don’t comment?

05-04-2022, 06:09 PM
Yam troll again torture

Aint it just funny that it is always the same ones who jump on the bandwagon, like wee dugs after a bone, just don't want to give up so I give them a tiny bit of credit for stamina but nothing for perseverance that's for Hibs supporters.

:agree::agree::agree::agree::agree::agree::agree:

Skol
05-04-2022, 08:24 PM

This is actually a very good point. Our change in form closely correlates to magennis being unavailable. I liked what I saw of h8m this season and he looked a different player to the one last season

05-04-2022, 09:04 PM
You’ve sussed me out brains.

Any opinion other than yours then we must all be yams. Have a night off if you’ve not got anything to add to the debate. Or maybe just don’t comment?

You hate Hibs you troll every thread complaining about everything and everyone absolutely brutal patter.

05-04-2022, 09:41 PM
You hate Hibs you troll every thread complaining about everything and everyone absolutely brutal patter.

https://www.hibs.net/profile.php?do=addlist&userlist=ignore&u=11309

Thank me later

06-04-2022, 07:43 AM

Thank me later

Thank you 👍

06-04-2022, 08:14 AM

Thank me later

Thanks

06-04-2022, 08:24 AM

Thank me later

Thanks

147lothian
06-04-2022, 08:53 AM

Thank me later

Thanks

06-04-2022, 09:32 AM

He was good but everyone was playing well. He wasn't the main reason.

06-04-2022, 09:38 AM

We’ve not had an active no10 since he left the pitch imo.

loanheadhibby
06-04-2022, 09:46 AM

Thank me later

Thanks 🙏

loanheadhibby
06-04-2022, 09:48 AM

It’s an opinion, that’s all. Scared me a bit that you spend all your time checking my posts, but whatever floats your boat.

Caversham Green
06-04-2022, 10:34 AM
To look at the five year contract bit from another angle:

If we had only given him two years then it's fair to say that the fee paid would have been a waste of money but as it stands, when he recovers (and he will recover) he'll be like a new signing - an excellent players with three years on his contract for no further cost. That's not bad is it?

Stubbsy90+2
06-04-2022, 10:37 AM

Boyle was near enough i to double figures by the time Magennis got injured.

Magennis was good, so this isn’t a criticism of him, but it was Boyle who was the main man.

06-04-2022, 10:46 AM
Boyle was near enough i to double figures by the time Magennis got injured.

Magennis was good, so this isn’t a criticism of him, but it was Boyle who was the main man.

Aye and we have lost him too not to mention Doidge and Nisbet.
No wonder we are struggling up front.

06-04-2022, 10:49 AM
To look at the five year contract bit from another angle:

If we had only given him two years then it's fair to say that the fee paid would have been a waste of money but as it stands, when he recovers (and he will recover) he'll be like a new signing - an excellent players with three years on his contract for no further cost. That's not bad is it?

We haven't done a great job at helping him recover so far though.

Have we been trying to rush him back due to his importance? I don't know.

I just find it hard to be too optimistic in the aftermath of him being ruled out for the season that when he recovers from this injury he's going to be any more likely to fully recover than at any point he's been close to a full recovery than at any one of the many points he's seemed close to a return over the past x months/ years.

Caversham Green
06-04-2022, 03:01 PM
We haven't done a great job at helping him recover so far though.

Have we been trying to rush him back due to his importance? I don't know.

I just find it hard to be too optimistic in the aftermath of him being ruled out for the season that when he recovers from this injury he's going to be any more likely to fully recover than at any point he's been close to a full recovery than at any one of the many points he's seemed close to a return over the past x months/ years.

Past results are no guarantee of future performance.

At the start of next season we will have a very good player who is fit and ready to go on contract for three years. A Good Thing or a Bad Thing?

06-04-2022, 03:16 PM
After a full pre season Kyle looked like the player who we'd missed since SJM went down to Villa. Thought he was great before the injury. Hopefully he starts next season in a similar way. He was captian of St Mirren at 21. He's a very good player. Injuries have held him back so far but hoopefully he'll get through it. Time is on his side at least.