View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Livingston

Pages : 1 [2] 3

29-01-2022, 03:23 PM
What a shambles this half has been.

Second half been really poor. Might get slaughtered for this but football still so boring.

c31
Boring football, no threat and piss poor players.. Mr Maloney wont last long I'm afraid!!

Absolute Jobbie fc, erratic team selections, erratic performances, now do you's understand why I'm worried? Hopeless.

There were no complaints in the 1st half though, we strolled it and were winning, fell apart this half and that's a worry.

itslegaltender
Anyone actually think this is any better than Jack Ross? Number of attempts at goal against Livi at home is very poor.

We continue to lose goals like that. Campbell loses the ball and the opposition score.

At least the players are being brave - or some ***** like that.

Not looking forward to Tues'.

29-01-2022, 03:24 PM
This is pathetic.

Another failed managerial experiment?

Campbell isnt good enough for hibs. Absolutely dreadful

Campbell isn’t good enough to play league football in Scotland.

Absolute Jobbie fc, erratic team selections, erratic performances, now do you's understand why I'm worried? Hopeless.

Missed you posting about this at half time when we were 2-1 up.

Broxburn Greens
Right now Maloney looks way out of his depth

Silky
Absolute shambles…

Buck stops with the manager.

This team are all over the place!

Campbell should be subbed and punted. Murder.

29-01-2022, 03:25 PM
How can maloney not see this needs changed?

Buck starts with the players who have thrown two managers under the bus in the space of 8 weeks.

hfcok
Campbell isn’t good enough to play league football in Scotland.

Totally agree, I can’t see what others really see in the lad.

nickwhibs
We just don’t look up for it

Broxburn Greens

Agree 100%

We’re no 2-1 up, we’re 3-2 down! What does it matter what was said at half time?

29-01-2022, 03:26 PM
Why does Maloney insist on playing without a midfield?

Cannot see how we will finish 3rd or even top 4 playing like we’ve started the second half. Criminal!

Nearly 4-2.

Deserved tbh. We’ve been woeful. They are everything we are not.

It’s a smash and grab job. We’ve dominated. Dunno what some folk are watching.

We’ve dominated the ball. Livi have had way more threat than us in front of goal. Should be a couple ahead now.

We’ve far from dominated the second half. They’ve been all over us.

This tinkering with the squad every game ***** is going to get us dismantled by Hearts.

29-01-2022, 03:27 PM
Why does Maloney insist on playing without a midfield?

There’s literally 5 players in our midfield

Stats, shots Hibs 4 Livi 13
On Target Hibs 2 Livi 7

Thats what I was just looking at. Livi had more shots on target in one game than we had across all our games in January. Extremely poor.

JammyDoidger
Maloney and Caldwell combo isn't going to cut it, there ive said it.

We’re no 2-1 up, we’re 3-2 down! What does it matter what was said at half time?

We’ve far from dominated the second half. They’ve been all over us.

:agree: Second half's been a disgrace so far.

noz
fed up with Campbell, wot does he bring?
a midfielder has four attributes- passing, tackling, scoring, running. he has none of them. Thank god hes off!!

bringbackbenny

First half yes, this half Livi have dominated could have been more.

shots

4 v 14

Really concerning that we've turned this into what it is from what it was.

2 awful goals from a defensive point of view, Porteous needs to be having a long hard look in the mirror.

This needs changed, we're a distant second best here.

He is not wrong though. Early signs are not encouraging

I am watching but we’ve given the ball away in the middle of the park goal. Piss poor defending goal!

Possession doesn’t always win you games…

Broxburn Greens
29-01-2022, 03:28 PM

Really? You watching a different game the second half? Livingston all over us

AZhibee
29-01-2022, 03:28 PM
Shots and shots on target are unbelievable

loanheadhibby
29-01-2022, 03:29 PM
a midfielder has four attributes- passing, tackling, scoring, running. he has none of them. Thank god hes off!!
How is JDH playing?

noz
29-01-2022, 03:29 PM
dominated? maybe possession. Livi have had 15 shots to our 8.

McHibby
29-01-2022, 03:30 PM
WTF n’ F

Off topic, but I love this!! There are times (like now) when a 'WTF' just isn't enough.

HendoDelivered
This possession based nonsense doesn’t win many football matches, Shaun.

How is JDH playing?

Is he playing?

29-01-2022, 03:31 PM
Christ last seen it at 2-1, what the ****s happening

LunasBoots
How is JDH playing?

Invisible

Cannot see how we will finish 3rd or even top 4 playing like we’ve started the second half. Criminal!

3rd or 4th bottom maybe.

29-01-2022, 03:32 PM
Is he playing?

Both JDH and Campbell posted missing this half

We’re going to get torn a new one on Tuesday. Genuinely worried for it.

3rd or 4th bottom maybe.

Not relegation then.

29-01-2022, 03:33 PM
Scott and Doig coming on, why have Allan on the bench?

sorrow sorrow
Defence been very poor today but our problems start with our midfield,it offers absolutely nothing going forward.
No creativity or drive.
Team selection today was very strange,Campbell and jdh as a central midfield pairing is no where near good enough

hibstag
Maloney and Caldwell combo isn't going to cut it, there ive said it.

THIS, it's going to be a painful few months.

We have appointed the boy who was the equivalent of jacket Holder at Belgium training camps

Also whilst I know Campbell frustrates he is capable of a bit of everything imo.

He’s also capable of something stupid but he’s young.

Short or long passing with either feet, beating a man, slide pass through and not scared to shoot.

Also gets about the park effortlessly and puts pressure on opposition.

Not saying he’s brilliant, but he does have a bit of everything.

Opinions!?

29-01-2022, 03:34 PM
Campbell pissing about then putting nae effort into making up for it.

That was the annoying thing, loses the ball and then strolls back, no urgency from him at all.

This is embarrassing now.

We are all over the place.

They have had 4x as many shots and 4x as many shots on target!!!

LunasBoots
Defence been very poor today but our problems start with our midfield,it offers absolutely nothing going forward.
No creativity or drive.
Team selection today was very strange,Campbell and jdh as a central midfield pairing is no where near good enough

Yup, too similar.

Mutu
Not at the game but mystifying to me how Campbell gets so many minutes. He must be amazing in training.

29-01-2022, 03:35 PM
Amateur stuff in the box trying to clear the ball, this is going to take more than one window to fix.

tonyrougier123
We could be in real danger.transfer dealings are shambolic at hibs.never really signing what we need now these days.pathetic!

No they haven’t

HendoDelivered
29-01-2022, 03:36 PM
Is this managerial appt going to end in disaser?

29-01-2022, 03:37 PM
Cadden needs support there. 25 yards to the closest Hibs player. We’re just no working hard enough. It’s ****ing horrible

I’m a bit concerned here, this is really poor.

shots 5 v 16

thank goodness it's 67% v 33% possession

That’s very good from Nisbet.

Should have scored there.

Not at the game but mystifying to me how Campbell gets so many minutes. He must be amazing in training.

It's terrifying that Maloney has persisted with him.

AdidasHibernian
29-01-2022, 03:38 PM
Always baffles me when people talk about possession and least we have alot of it..means absolute ****** all if your not scoring goals.

Would take 20% possession every game if it means we win after 90 minutes.

We are so poor this second half it's frightening.

What is the point of possession if we do nothing with it??

noz
unlicky nisbet

What has Scott Allan have to do?!

Basildon Hibs
Soft as *****e in the middle. Have been for a few years now.

Never mind...😄😉

LunasBoots
Scott and Doig ahead of Allan says it all, Nisbet has played well which is a bonus and isn't the problem

29-01-2022, 03:39 PM
2.4 and 2.0 but lets not let facts get in the way of the outrage! :wink:

Silky
29-01-2022, 03:40 PM

We'll find out on Tuesday.

tonyrougier123

Pulling the trigger on Ross this season was a mistake.
Needed backed not sacked.

Need a goal, bring on Allan, naw lets bring on Scott who's done **** all since he came.

No they haven’t

It was the last time I checked, we must be upping our game.

29-01-2022, 03:42 PM
Omeonga bossing our midfield but seemingly he's not good enough for us.

Losing at home to Livingston isn't good enough. Transitional period or not

hfc-1875
Anyone that think omeonga isn’t good enough for us is off there head

Need a goal, bring on Allan, naw lets bring on Scott who's done **** all since he came.

Tbh JC Allan hadn’t been much better!

LunasBoots
We'll find out on Tuesday.

Play like this in front of a full house he will know all about it that's for sure

29-01-2022, 03:43 PM
Theres hearts’ new striker scoring. Ours can’t even make the bench

Losing at home to Livingston isn't good enough. Transitional period or not
Certainly disappointing

Why he's persisting with Scott is a ****ing laugh.

Allan will be away tomorrow.

Where the **** is our centre midfield?

There’s absolutely nae point being a team that wants to play the ball out if there’s nae central midfield.

29-01-2022, 03:44 PM
Tbh JC Allan hadn’t been much better!

But he's still capable of that one pass to split a defence, could you say that about Scott or bloody Murphy.

Theres hearts’ new striker scoring. Ours can’t even make the bench

He picked up an injury in a bounce game, what’s your point?

1 point in 9. Bring back JR.

Should put to bed any inkling Josh Campbell is a starter

Edit - probably JDH too

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

C'mon hibs

29-01-2022, 03:45 PM
Its more individual mistakes that have really cost us today than anything else. Murphy is a waste of a jersey, I don't understand how he is still playing for us.

JJP
I feel bad for Nisbet today. Worked his socks off and completely starved of any service from our anonymous midfield.

No chance we are beating them on Tuesday. We were beaten after 25 minutes against Celtic, struggled to beat a League One side in 2 hours of football, never had a single shot on target against 10 man Motherwell and now this absolute shambles.

We're in terrible form and I don't care if Maloney comes out saying we played well and dominated again. We are doing neither of those things.

Omeonga has done more in the last 5-10 mins than any lour centre mids all day. He’s hassled more. Ran more. Dribbled more. Passed better.

Here we go.....

29-01-2022, 03:46 PM
I wish we pressed as good as livi do, the players we currently have dont look good enough to play the way maloney wants them to play when theyare pressed.

Same folk saying Newell isn't the answer but happy with JDH and Campbell.

Wull
I would be Goin for Omionga for man o match, great performance

H18S NX
Omeonga dominating this game

tonyrougier123

Exactly my thoughts.

Silky

But he wasn't good enough. And the football was terrible.

29-01-2022, 03:47 PM
Where the **** is our centre midfield?

There’s absolutely nae point being a team that wants to play the ball out if there’s nae central midfield.Exactly this, we have descended into the same pattern we did at fir park

Euan Henderson I assume is supposed. To be our attacking midfielder but he has often been deeper than JDH this half

But he's still capable of that one pass to split a defence, could you say that about Scott or bloody Murphy.

No but who knows these days.

Big few days for SM and co. On our second half performance we can forget about 3rd and maybe even 4th

nickwhibs
Omeonga best player on the park by a mile. But my god we’ve made it easy for them.

All is forgiven Jack

Thought we played quite well first half and was a decent enough watch. Haven’t seen much if the second but looked like we were under the cosh for 20 minutes, thought we’ve been better last 15 and created a few good chances.

Thought Nisbet looks more like his old self today.

Murphy is ****ing horrendous, cuts inside and loses the ball to Omeonga, truly brutal.

2.4 and 2.0 but lets not let facts get in the way of the outrage! :wink:

It was 4:16 and 2:8 at the time I posted!

29-01-2022, 03:48 PM
This appointment is showing worrying signs of going “full Cathro”.

cekim
If Maloney continues to try and play football from the back he'll be out a job sooner than he thinks. You need good football players do this unfortunately we don't have this.

Rediculous starting line up. Got what we deserved.

29-01-2022, 03:49 PM
This is horrendous.

No but who knows these days.

Big few days for SM and co. On our second half performance we can forget about 3rd and maybe even 4th

We'll never find out if he doesn't get on the pitch, Scott and Murphy are shockingly poor players.

tonyrougier123
Rocky beat piece of business we’ve done in january

Here we go.....

Good retort. What do you see that is an improvement?

29-01-2022, 03:50 PM
First half was fine. This second half has been abysmal. They made a tactical change and we’ve had no clue how to respond. Should be losing by more.

Agree on nisbet btw

Done well overall

HendoDelivered
Play like this in front of a full house he will know all about it that's for sure

Good chance a lot of folk wont bother turning up if we lose today tbh.

29-01-2022, 03:51 PM
Omeonga has ripped the piss out of hibs in the 2nd half

29-01-2022, 03:51 PM
We'll never find out if he doesn't get on the pitch, Scott and Murphy are shockingly poor players.

Allan isn’t the answer either imho!

29-01-2022, 03:52 PM
Why the **** is it Nisbet who has to take the ball off the defence?????

Henderson very poor today too.

Let's just keep getting players for the B team first team not important.

Henderson very poor today too.

Not good enough from what I’ve seen so far.

29-01-2022, 03:53 PM
Not good enough from what I’ve seen so far.

Worrying how many are not good enough

Anyone that think omeonga isn’t good enough for us is off there headNot even in this keeping possession but not having many shots and failing to win type set up we hear about?

Probably the best midfielder on the pitch today.

Thought we played quite well first half and was a decent enough watch. Haven’t seen much if the second but looked like we were under the cosh for 20 minutes, thought we’ve been better last 15 and created a few good chances.

Thought Nisbet looks more like his old self today.

Unfortunately there are those who ignore what has gone before and go mental at every player in the second half.

As far as I can tell, there have been individual mistakes at the back which have cost us, some of the midfield have been decent, and tried to play, and the forwards havent had the best game.

For me, and this is no reflection on anybody else, Cadden, Campbell and Nisbet have been the best on the day.

29-01-2022, 03:54 PM
I’m worried Maloney‘s going to end up being our cathro

People need to get a grip, we're losing to 3 errors in play but have generally strolled the game, this'll take more than this window to fix. Extending contracts of JDH, Campbell etc was a poor decision.

I wish cliff would stop saying great ball on or does well before he even sees where the cross ends up

'Cadden, does well' as he punts it out for a goal kick

10 v 19 shots at home to Livingston, embarrassing

29-01-2022, 03:55 PM
Gonna be a long week. Maloney out of his depth. Bring back Ross.

Let's just keep getting players for the B team first team not important.Didn't we sign 5 or 5 players for the 1st team so far this window?

People need to get a grip, we're losing to 3 errors in play but have generally strolled the game, this'll take more than this window to fix. Extending contracts of JDH, Campbell etc was a poor decision.

Shots on target win games and they’ve battered us on that front.

Errors have been our downfall all season

Livi have pumped us second half. Way more attacking threat.

Well that's me done! From one bunch of p@sh to another! I'd definitely had Lenny back. Football on offer from the last three managers has been utter rubbish. Hiding from the jumbos ensues!

Saint Hibee
Nisbet probably my man of the match, but Omeonga really ran us ragged second half. Not sure what the point of Scott or Murphy is ...

That was reminiscent of the tail end of the Duffy era. We are in real trouble.

Tuesday unlikely to be much fun.

loanheadhibby
Keep taking the tablets mate.

29-01-2022, 03:56 PM
Re-sign Omeonga.

FT 2-3 credit to the away side

thank god they don't have the budget we have

Allan isn’t the answer either imho!

You think Scott, Murphy, Wright etc are? :faf:

Nisbet has played very well today. Camden, good 1st half. Rocky ok. Henderson looks a bit lightweight but done OK. Just not seeing what Campbell brings to the team. Mitchell looked decent fisrts half. Lewis was Lewis. JDH is not attacking enough. Missed Newell

We strolled nothing. 2nd half was as bad as anything this season.

****ing terrible.

Tuesday night is going to be grim stuff if we repeat this 2nd half form.

****ing crap.

That second half was absolutely abysmal. Frightening.

It won’t end well this.

29-01-2022, 03:57 PM
Bring on the Jambos!

29-01-2022, 03:57 PM
Dreadful second half, very concerning.

29-01-2022, 03:58 PM
****ing dreadful. As soon as teams figure us out we are absolutely clueless.

Bring on the Jambos!

Please don’t

They’re going to embarrass this hibs team

I’m getting sick of Porteous.

He throws his arms about if someone makes a mistake despite him making plenty.

No surprise one of the goals is a header where he misses it and then turns round and blames Cadden.

Saint Hibee
Re-sign Omeonga.

If he played like that consistently, then we certainly should!

Strolled the game? What? Livi could have scored more than they did. We look hopeless going forward and so weak at the back.

Boy Band stuff.

We're getting pushed around by the Jumbos at this rate.

Bit of a wake-up for Maloney.

2 of their goals came from terrible individual mistakes, not sure what the manager can do about those, the type of mistakes that ultimately got JR the sack.

29-01-2022, 03:59 PM
We’ve been much improved defensively since Maloney came in. That today was miles off it. Worried that he didn’t seem to have a clue how to deal with it in the second half.

Keep taking the tablets mate.

I'm not denying it's a poor result but the problems of bang average/poor players won't be fixed overnight. These are the same players that got Ross the sack by having horrendous half's/games of football. they're the same players who ****ed up the 1st 20 minutes in the 2nd half today.

No surprise one of the goals is a header where he misses it and then turns round and blames Cadden.

Loads of people saying that there’s a witch-hunt against him for getting himself suspended when he’s hoofing a another player in the balls but he’s now been suspended for three games and was rusty today.

He needs to grow the **** up very quickly.

JJP
Sick of watching us enjoy possession in our own half playing safe passes. So much for exciting attacking football.

Orchard_Hibs
That was awful

No urgency to push for an equaliser at the end there. Half hearted. Worrying.

Livi well deserving of the 3 points.

I’m raging about that today. We had 2 leads, at home, to Livingston.

If we dinnae sign at least…at least!…one new centre mid, then the games up the pole.

Put James Scott on a train back to Hull in the next hour.

Why the **** is it Nisbet who has to take the ball off the defence?????

Correct mate. No forward central midfield play.
JDH is useless. Kills any momentum, receives a pass and either gives it straight back to the player he got it from or plays it 20 yards backwards.

nickwhibs
29-01-2022, 04:00 PM
Too many players not knowing what they’re doing; not up for it or not good enough. We need so much more from the manager and the players. Rocky, Cadden and Nisbet at least were ok but when the team plays collectively as bad as that second half we have no chance

LunasBoots
Bring on the Jambos!

Can we get another delay to the game....😬

H18S NX
W.ell done Livi you deserved that,what a total mess that second half was for Hibs

Mutu
We should look to sign that Omeonga lad - looks tidy.

Silky
29-01-2022, 04:01 PM
I’m worried Maloney‘s going to end up being our cathro

Be out quicker than Sauzee.

The Green Sea
29-01-2022, 04:01 PM
Chopping and changing of the side all the time is utterly naive as well from Maloney.

supersauzee
29-01-2022, 04:02 PM
That was pretty horrendous, all the possession but doing nothing with it. Maloney isn't going to change his tactics. Very worrying

Strolled the game? What? Livi could have scored more than they did. We look hopeless going forward and so weak at the back.

1st half was a stroll, Macey error gave them the goal, fell apart for 20 mins in the 2nd but were the batter team the last 15 mins. Individual errors beat us again and not for the 1st time this season, need a total clear out.

I can't get my head around how we deteriorated so badly there.

First half was good.

Second half was absolute garbage. We were dreadful in all areas - lost cheap goals and defended badly, were a distant second best in midfield and poor general forward play. A notable exception should be made for Kevin Nisbet who was actually brilliant throughout and even when everything around him was falling apart he kept a level head and kept going.

Sadly - I don't think our rookie manager has a clue. There, I've said it. He was outthought today and couldn't deal with the tactical tweak Livi made in advance of the second half.

So much to be concerned about with that performance, coupled with the last 3 makes me wonder where we are going and what we are doing.

Has Maloney had as long as Sauzee yet?

Martindale schooled Maloney 2nd half. Very disappointing 2nd half. Our defending has been good recently but couldn’t cope with balls into the box and the Livi press today.

Be out quicker than Sauzee.

If we endure a heavy defeat on Tuesday he’ll struggle to come back from it

Really awful stuff.

60% possession but they have 10 attempts on goal more than us.

Of their players I’d take Forrest, Bailey or omeonga. They then bring on Bruce Anderson who is a better CF than Doidge or Scott.

We are currently a mess with no signs that maloney knows his best team.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

tonyrougier123
Shocking no other way to describe that second half,rocky good player.Nisbet played well should’ve scored today again though clear chance.maloney is wrong appointment at wrong time.recruitment generally still a shambles.

29-01-2022, 04:03 PM
If hibs got in a fight on a Saturday night

We would sit down to reconstruct and evaluate how get on it the situation before we thought about clenching our fist.

Saint Hibee
On the plus side, Nisbet's passing from midfield was true quality. Just a pity it was him back there having to do it!

What's concerning for me is even at 2-2/2-3 was still the same boring pass it about in our own half.

Roll on Tuesday night.

29-01-2022, 04:05 PM
I don't mind us losing but there's been long periods of the last 2 games where I had absolutely no clue what we were trying to

Both the previous 2 games final 20 mins or so we looked to have zero structure and zero plan

1st have was a stroll, Macey error gave them the goal, fell apart for 20 mins in the 2nd but were the batter team the last 15 mins. Individual errors beat us again and not for the 1st time this season, need a total clear out.

First half was ok, wouldn’t class it as a stroll by any stretch of the imagination. Livi were far better in the second half than we were in the first.

If anyone strolled it, it was them.

If there was ever a sign of a new manager bounce then it has well and truly gone. That was worryingly hopeless.

Bridge hibs
29-01-2022, 04:06 PM
Omeonga bossing our midfield but seemingly he's not good enough for us.Honestly cant remember him bossing our midfield when he played for us, all of a sudden he is a super star because he bossed a weak hibs midfield today 🤣

StockholmHibs
29-01-2022, 04:07 PM
Tough time to be a hibby. Absolutely no enthusiasm to watch this pash.
Take my hat off to the poor souls that actualy go to Easter Road.
Not even motivated to switch on the ipad and endure this torture.
We are in real trouble!

Sean ma who? He will be out before summer.

Silky
29-01-2022, 04:08 PM
If we endure a heavy defeat on Tuesday he’ll struggle to come back from it

The way we're playing it's not looking like anything else. He'll get until Arbroath do us.

29-01-2022, 04:09 PM
Decent first half undone by an absolutely dreadful second half. Livingston deserved the 3 points IMO. They looked more creative going forward, better technically, even fitter in physical and mental terms as the game progressed, and they played like a TEAM that knew what it had to do and they were hungrier, they wanted it more.
We made far too many unforced errors as the say in tennis ... not sure how Maloney is going to explain this embarrassing 2nd half performance

29-01-2022, 04:09 PM
We were not a very great side before when JR was manager, we are still a poor side, Livi were just so much better than we were in that 2nd half, wee Omeonga ran the show and his type of player is just what we need in the middle of the park. This team is going to take a lot of hard work to get it going, we are not very good, a couple of real experienced good quality signings may make a difference but this team as it is, will not do it. Hope I am wrong but its gonna be a long 2nd half of the season, we will struggle on.

29-01-2022, 04:10 PM
I wonder if maloney will claim we were fantastic again

I mean we did have 67 percent possession and 528 passes [emoji106]

If hearts get in our faces we could be up for a drubbing mid week

Surely Newell has to come back in

Campbell is just not good enough to start - possibly squad player but no where near good enough at this time

JDH I'm no fussed about either - average at almost everything

29-01-2022, 04:10 PM

I thought he was an absolute shambles today.

Orchard_Hibs
29-01-2022, 04:11 PM
Tough time to be a hibby. Absolutely no enthusiasm to watch this pash.
Take my hat off to the poor souls that actualy go to Easter Road.
Not even motivated to switch on the ipad and endure this torture.
We are in real trouble!

Sean ma who? He will be out before summer.

I take my kids and the second have was verging on child abuse

29-01-2022, 04:11 PM
Nothing in midfield and nothing up front.

Collection of players feather than a team. Too many players in that squad that don’t contribute anything and don’t give a ****.

Famousfivehh
29-01-2022, 04:12 PM
Looks like the Boyle money will be getting used for severance pay.

29-01-2022, 04:12 PM
This appointment is showing worrying signs of going “full Cathro”.

Not the first person to make that comparison

MKHIBEE
29-01-2022, 04:13 PM
That was a hard watch. Can’t see the point of paying wages for Scott, can he not be sent back? I’m beginning to think that Maloney doesn’t rate Doidge very much at all which begs the question of what to do with Nesbit. Played quite well today but thought he was too deep.

stuart-farquhar
29-01-2022, 04:14 PM
Decent first half undone by an absolutely dreadful second half. Livingston deserved the 3 points IMO. They looked more creative going forward, better technically, even fitter in physical and mental terms as the game progressed, and they played like a TEAM that knew what it had to do and they were hungrier, they wanted it more.
We made far too many unforced errors as the say in tennis ... not sure how Maloney is going to explain this embarrassing 2nd half performance

Seems like no matter what coaches we bring in, no matter what players we sign, clubs like Livingston have fitter and better organised teams. How do we do so badly?

29-01-2022, 04:14 PM
Heckingbottom Mk. 2 I fear - all this talk of a passing, pressing and possession based system totally ignoring that a Scottish club outside Celtic or Rangers aren't going to be able to attract the sort of players required to play a system like that.

I think we have to change plan of how we play and play to the personnel we have.

percy veer
29-01-2022, 04:16 PM
Brutal stuff ,lose on Tuesday he will be lucky to last until Xmas fans on back already .

Yorkshire HFC
Seems like no matter what coaches we bring in, no matter what players we sign, clubs like Livingston have fitter and better organised teams. How do we do so badly?

We keep selling our best players - it's the Hibs way. What's the point in having £3m in the bank?

I don't mind us losing but there's been long periods of the last 2 games where I had absolutely no clue what we were trying to

Both the previous 2 games final 20 mins or so we looked to have zero structure and zero plan

That's what it's like for me watching Maloneyball - I just don't get it.

The players look like they're doing strange things at times, under instruction.

Un until now I've shrugged my shoulders, accepted I'm a punter who knows f all about football and that I should really give a talented young coach (who knows what he's doing) the time needed to get his ideas across, get his players in, and to get them doing what he wants.

Right now I'm asking if I've been effectively gaslighting myself - and that rather than there being a masterplan that exists on a level I don't understand, it's just utter pish and he doesn't have a clue.

29-01-2022, 04:17 PM
Heckingbottom Mk. 2 I fear - all this talk of a passing, pressing and possession based system totally ignoring that a Scottish club outside Celtic or Rangers aren't going to be able to attract the sort of players required to play a system like that.

I think we have to change plan of how we play and play to the personnel we have.

Or we give home more than 6 games to implement it, to improve the players and bring ones in who can allow us to attempt to play that way? Without being able to see if we can make it work we will never know and may as well just bring back Bobby Williamson and repeat.

I didn't think it was a good performance across the 90, again, unfortunately.

Livi threw a couple of goals our way, and we don't really create much at all - apart from nisbet trying to force the game, his finishing let him down but the rest of his play was excellent today.

We don't look athletic and asking wingers to play CAM isn't maximising their attributes or the width of the park. With no overlapping the only option for the wingbacks is to throw it in the box.

Missed Newell in the centre of the park and Campbell; classic when a young player breaks through, good first few games but it's whether they can sustain it, and he's struggling.

Doidge in this system offers very little as his link up play is poor so when he's not getting on the end of things as our only player in the box, then he's a man down.

Again, unimpressed with Henderson, don't think he offers enough. Mitchell started brightly and faded, at least he's willing to run at players.

Livi were the much better side second half, deserved the win from what I could see on Hibs TV. Better organised and knew that a high press would see us offer them opportunities.

What odds on hearts on Tuesday, might pay my mortgage off.

Omeonga was coached through the match today and ran the show - even in the first half.

Three times I seen him come to the side being instructed by Martingdale then Marv' our guys looked utter clueless and lack self belief.

I thought he was an absolute shambles today.

He was. Crazy decision to try and head the ball back in those conditions for the penalty, and awful defending for the third goal.

29-01-2022, 04:18 PM
I can see a defeat against Arbroath coming never mind a hammering from Hearts.

Correct mate. No forward central midfield play.
JDH is useless. Kills any momentum, receives a pass and ether gives it straight back to the player he got it from or plays it 20 yards backwards.

Then we have Lewis (love the guy but) who gets to the half way line and it is like he hits a brick wall. turns right away and goes backwards, Livi hunted us down in packs just the way I want Hibs to do, but instead we fart around with passes in our own half that will always end up in disaster and dont get me started on that goalkeeper. No looking forward to the rest of the season (that could all change with a miracle result against them on Tuesday, but me dont believe in miracles)

Silky
Brutal stuff ,lose on Tuesday he will be lucky to last until Xmas fans on back already .

When Dick Campbell shows him up, that will signal the end.

roo62
Nothing in midfield and nothing up front.

Collection of players feather than a team. Too many players in that squad that don’t contribute anything and don’t give a ****.

I haven't seen the last few games but because we are stil so lightweight in centre mid area could Bushiri do a job for us in midfield?

29-01-2022, 04:22 PM
As someone who was at Livi for JR's last game it's frustrating to see limited if any progress, although it's still early days for SM. Our main threats first half were from Mitchell and Cadden. The big failure remains a powderpuff midfield and we don't seem to have any leaders on the pitch who can drive the team forward.

Chorley Hibee
29-01-2022, 04:23 PM
Before starting on management, tactics etc, the lack of desire shown by a lot of the players is frankly a disgrace.

Players unwilling to track their man, unwilling to commit into 50/50 tackles, and unwilling to support fellow teammates in possession.

All of the above is the least I expect from a Hibs player, yet it's lacking in abundance.

Campbell, Doyle Hayes and Henderson were all frankly a waste of space, and the idea that these guys are better than Omeonga was shown up for the nonsense it is today.

I'd be on the phone to Livingston tonight asking how much they want for him.

sauzeelegod
29-01-2022, 04:24 PM
We lost 3 very very bad goals due to terrible defending.
If we had defended they situations better we would be sitting here with a 2-0 victory.

Onto Tuesday and give these maroon muppets a spanking.

29-01-2022, 04:25 PM
We keep selling our best players - it's the Hibs way. What's the point in having £3m in the bank?

It's all that Ron Gordon worries about - I'm more worried with him at the helm than anything else.

LunasBoots
29-01-2022, 04:26 PM
Before starting on management, tactics etc, the lack of desire shown by a lot of the players is frankly a disgrace.

Players unwilling to track their man, unwilling to commit into 50/50 tackles, and unwilling to support fellow teammates in possession.

All of the above is the least I expect from a Hibs player, yet it's lacking in abundance.

Campbell, Doyle Hayes and Henderson were all frankly a waste of space, and the idea that these guys are better than Omeonga was shown up for the nonsense it is today.

If I was Maloney I'd be in Gordon's office telling him what I need pronto.

29-01-2022, 04:26 PM
We were not a very great side before when JR was manager, we are still a poor side, Livi were just so much better than we were in that 2nd half, wee Omeonga ran the show and his type of player is just what we need in the middle of the park. This team is going to take a lot of hard work to get it going, we are not very good, a couple of real experienced good quality signings may make a difference but this team as it is, will not do it. Hope I am wrong but its gonna be a long 2nd half of the season, we will struggle on.

Its still largely the same poor players, albeit playing a totally different 'style', so no great surprise, having said that, the second half was utterly awful today, and even that poor group of players should be capable of better.

29-01-2022, 04:27 PM
Wasn't bored today, thats a positive I suppose.

Not really bothered though, which is worrying. Was kind of expected and this season is just going to be one of these awful ones we want over and done with.

Feels like such a wasted opportunity after last year. The last 2 transfer windows have set us back miles.

AZhibee
29-01-2022, 04:27 PM
Would really like to see Magennis healthy soon

ShetlandHibby
29-01-2022, 04:28 PM
Is it too late to bring back jack ross? This experiment isn’t working. We’ve brought in a pile of pish and the tactics aren’t working. I fear the worst on Tuesday.

hibstag
29-01-2022, 04:29 PM
I haven't seen the last few games but because we are stil so lightweight in centre mid area could Bushiri do a job for us in midfield?

we need him at the back given the clueless way we are set up but You'll need to make that call yourself shaun...

29-01-2022, 04:29 PM
Gonna be a long week. Maloney out of his depth. Bring back Ross.

Ross didn’t have the best record against Livi.

29-01-2022, 04:30 PM
It's all that Ron Gordon worries about - I'm more worried with him at the helm than anything else.

Not heard this before. I thought he was all about a competitive team on the park, hence the change of manager?

29-01-2022, 04:31 PM

🤣🤣🤣

29-01-2022, 04:31 PM
The way things are going top 6 will be a struggle.

29-01-2022, 04:33 PM

Not one of our players won their personal battles in the second half and that is just unacceptable.

29-01-2022, 04:34 PM
Would really like to see Magennis healthy soon

:faf::faf: that would require an individual having minerals and not wanting to miss games 'cos he's felt a wee twinge. Place in the 'Dylan' pigeonhole of players who can't stomach playing regular football and has 'injuriesinhisheaditis' :aok:

29-01-2022, 04:35 PM
Not one of our players won their personal battles in the second half and that is just unacceptable.

We are a team who have very little about us. No character. Just a collection of players.

Bobo
29-01-2022, 04:36 PM
Absolute garbage from a very poor football team lacking in any desire or determination. To call Maloney's style of football bland would be giving him credit because we are far worse than that. He's managed to make the poor side that saw Jack Ross emptied even worse.

29-01-2022, 04:36 PM
:faf::faf: that would require an individual having minerals and not wanting to miss games 'cos he's felt a wee twinge. Place in the 'Dylan' pigeonhole of players who can't stomach playing regular football and has 'injuriesinhisheaditis' :aok:

This is a pathetic post. Disgraceful way to talk about 2 brilliant players.

skyehibee
29-01-2022, 04:37 PM
First half was slightly better but that 2nd half was a disgrace. We deserved everything we got in the end.

vahibbie
29-01-2022, 04:39 PM
Two words - utter pish😠

29-01-2022, 04:40 PM
Individual errors once again cost us dear. There's not much a Manager (any manager) can do about that.

It was a very disappointing performance but we've seen it all before.

29-01-2022, 04:40 PM
Starting to worry even more about our recruitment and what the actual plan is.

The only positive about today is that it may mean we add more players - but at the same time if they aren’t ready or good enough why waste the ££.

More concern is Maloney will be either sacked or moved on in next 2 years and Ben will probably move too then we are back to square 1 with trying to find a new manager and new ideas and new chief executive and new ways to recruit.

Probably been answered but why was our best player (Rocky) against Motherwell not playing today ?

29-01-2022, 04:41 PM
Not a bad performance. Players look good and we are well equipped to challenge.

Is that right? Is this the type of post people are meant to believe? Because usually when those of us are honest, we get shot down for being ‘too negative’ despite just being honest.

But it’s all good anyway.

29-01-2022, 04:41 PM
Two words - utter pish😠

Just pish would suffice

29-01-2022, 04:43 PM

Is that right? Is this the type of post people are meant to believe? Because usually when those of us are honest, we get shot down for being ‘too negative’ despite just being honest.

Oh come on, give it 56 games at least. Work in progress. :aok:

wilkie_1
29-01-2022, 04:48 PM
All maloney has introduced is a back three that passes it between each other in our own box that does ***** all with it. You would expect with the additional men we have in midfield they could make space and find a man without relying on nisbet to drop deep to get it.

Got absolute no penetration in the middle of the park to take a man on. Just so many bang average players in this squad at the moment. I don’t think there is many players coming off that bench your thinking “yeah he’s going to make a difference” , however Mueller looks to have potential but it’s early days and needs time . Campbell should not be starting week in week out, he had far too many loose passes today and just offers nothing. If he starts against Hearts we are in going to get beat by a couple goals easy.

29-01-2022, 04:49 PM
This is a pathetic post. Disgraceful way to talk about 2 brilliant players.

That brilliant that they rarely play any football :aok: Lennon was right about Dylan, and I think I am right about Magennis :aok: pathetic or not, my opinion and I'm entitled to it MW :aok:

29-01-2022, 04:49 PM

29-01-2022, 04:51 PM
Why has it been left to Lewis to give the match reaction on BBC, why not our manager?

Wull
29-01-2022, 04:51 PM
I think that's the worst I've seen Porto play, I know he missed 3 games, but who's fault was that, and the 3rd goal Campbell loses the ball on half way then saunters back just in time to watch Forrest score the winner, shocking.

29-01-2022, 04:52 PM
Martindale said he ws delighted when Doidge went off as then his CH's were more comfortable

29-01-2022, 04:53 PM
That brilliant that they rarely play any football :aok: Lennon was right about Dylan, and I think I am right about Magennis :aok: pathetic or not, my opinion and I'm entitled to it MW :aok:

Hiding behind the right to an opinion is a good sign you're talking rubbish. It's a pish opinion. Lennon was wrong and lost a brilliant footballer because of it. Replaced him with pish and got binned. Dylan a Hibs legend. Lennon a fool.

You're wrong about magennis unless you go and prove he is faking his injuries. He'll be as gutted as anyone that he isn't involved

Wull
29-01-2022, 04:56 PM
And while I'm on it Livi will more than likely take our top 6 spot, we will end up 7 or 8 at best.

29-01-2022, 04:57 PM
Boy Band stuff.

Don’t bother with that pish on here.