View Full Version : Pubs for the derby
Latapy'sVolley
27-01-2022, 10:50 AM
Saw a bit of discussion about this on the tickets thread, and seems there are increasingly fewer places welcoming football supporters near the ground.
Anyone know why The Artisan is very much a Hibs pub, yet becomes flooded with Hearts/Celtic/Rangers when they come to Easter Road?
27-01-2022, 10:53 AM
Saw a bit of discussion about this on the tickets thread, and seems there are increasingly fewer places welcoming football supporters near the ground.
Anyone know why The Artisan is very much a Hibs pub, yet becomes flooded with Hearts/Celtic/Rangers when they come to Easter Road?
Its close to the away end and is kind of on route for away fans. Its kind of mixed that pub. Middletons always becomes an away boozer on match days.
Latapy'sVolley
27-01-2022, 11:01 AM
Its close to the away end and is kind of on route for away fans. Its kind of mixed that pub. Middletons always becomes an away boozer on match days.
Middletons I'd always think of as an away fans pub, but the Artisan's filled with about 90% Hibs fans most home games other than the aforementioned three.
With Four in Hand out the picture, less options for what'll be busy prematch pubs.
27-01-2022, 11:15 AM
I never understand a pub like whatever the Four In Hand is called now turning away football fans.
Obviously you have your real Hibs pubs that the likes of Hearts and Rangers fans would know to avoid but even somewhere like the Iona had Celtic fans in a few weeks back and a handful of Cove fans last week with no bother. Likewise the Mash Tun is mixed on most match days with no trouble. Stick a couple of bouncers and make it clear it's not a classic 'fitba boozer' and you'd do ok. I went past before the Rangers game just after it had opened and there was quite literally no one except staff inside. The issue for them is a lot of the different clientele they obviously want to attract are going to avoid ER on a match day.
I'm taking a half day next Wednesday and will be in the Iona from early doors, expect it to be mobbed so happy to use up some flexi time and get a seat and a few pints.
ER has lost a few pubs in recent years with the Royal Nip/Office, Coopers Rest, Four in Hand all closing the doors. Take away BTG as well and the choice is definitely being diluted.
27-01-2022, 11:17 AM
I never understand a pub like whatever the Four In Hand is called now turning away football fans.
Obviously you have your real Hibs pubs that the likes of Hearts and Rangers fans would know to avoid but even somewhere like the Iona had Celtic fans in a few weeks back and a handful of Cove fans last week with no bother. Likewise the Mash Tun is mixed on most match days with no trouble. Stick a couple of bouncers and make it clear it's not a classic 'fitba boozer' and you'd do ok. I went past before the Rangers game just after it had opened and there was quite literally no one except staff inside. The issue for them is a lot of the different clientele they obviously want to attract are going to avoid ER on a match day.
I'm taking a half day next Wednesday and will be in the Iona from early doors, expect it to be mobbed so happy to use up some flexi time and get a seat and a few pints.
ER has lost a few pubs in recent years with the Royal Nip/Office, Coopers Rest, Four in Hand all closing the doors. Take away BTG as well and the choice is definitely being diluted.
The game is on Tuesday. I'm guessing it's just a typo and you've not taken the wrong day off!
27-01-2022, 11:20 AM
The game is on Tuesday. I'm guessing it's just a typo and you've not taken the wrong day off!
Definitely a typo :greengrin
27-01-2022, 11:22 AM
The smoking ban killed a lot of pubs. The Nip used to be full most weeknights with Dominoes, pool and darts on various nights. Smoking ban came in and the old timers stayed indoors then they went fully reliable on Category A sell outs - then most the matches moved to early sunday and they where fkd. :agree:
27-01-2022, 11:26 AM
The Alhambra for us.
27-01-2022, 11:27 AM
The hoppy then cut through back of Sainsbury's
27-01-2022, 11:42 AM
The Alhambra for us.
Cracking pub.
27-01-2022, 11:49 AM
What’s happened to The Four in Hand? Is Derek Riordan no longer mine host?
Not been in for years myself.
27-01-2022, 11:49 AM
Cracking pub.
Aye it's a good local, good bunch of guys.
27-01-2022, 11:51 AM
Nah he gave it up. Too stop/start.
LunasBoots
27-01-2022, 11:55 AM
Imagine Covid put a spanner in the works....
DIXIHIBS
27-01-2022, 11:56 AM
Its like the Roseburn. Probably a hertz pub but all hibs on derby day coz its near the away end.
Latapy'sVolley
27-01-2022, 12:01 PM
Its like the Roseburn. Probably a hertz pub but all hibs on derby day coz its near the away end.
Folk just not fancying the walk down after with those lots then you reckon?
Because been in there before and seen plenty of away fans palmed off/chucked out, albeit the Motherwells and St Mirrens of this world.
27-01-2022, 12:05 PM
Its turned into a craft beer place and point blank refuses entry and service to anyone wearing anything remotely related to football colours.
27-01-2022, 12:08 PM
Its turned into a craft beer place and point blank refuses entry and service to anyone wearing anything remotely related to football colours.
I hate this world. :brickwall
stuart-farquhar
27-01-2022, 12:59 PM
I was in it with my wife before the Cove game.
Excellent selection of beers. The pilsner (brewed in Dalkeith) was excellent.
We entered with our tartan hibs scarves and were welcomed to sit at the bar.
I think that they are looking for a different customer to the old Four days. I liked it.
Latapy'sVolley
27-01-2022, 01:15 PM
I think that they are looking for a different customer to the old Four days. I liked it.
I think there's an in-between to be had though - it's not like football supporters don't like good beer.
When West Ham moved to the Olympic Stadium near Hackney Wick - the craft breweries that already existed there opened their doors to the pre and post match crowd because it meant business. Never any trouble, despite not being "football pubs", just meant home fans that wanted to go there before/after a game in their colours could.
Getting in with scarves is promising though.
27-01-2022, 01:24 PM
Tartan scarves? They probably thought you were American tourists until you spoke. :greengrin
Gloucester Hibs
27-01-2022, 01:44 PM
Usually we head to the Mash Tun but there was a large amount of away support in for both the Aberdeen and Sevco games at the end of last year. No trouble but not sure if we'll take the chance for the derby, might try the Iona or trot down to the Percy.
LunasBoots
27-01-2022, 01:50 PM
Usually we head to the Mash Tun but there was a large amount of away support in for both the Aberdeen and Sevco games at the end of last year. No trouble but not sure if we'll take the chance for the derby, might try the Iona or trot down to the Percy.
Last Derby we went in for a pint, it was a good mixture of both sets of fans although it did seem more Hibs fans, no bother though and plenty fans mingling with each other. It's good to see it open on match days though, I remember doing programmes outside there 10-12 years ago and what ever it was called then would never open on match days due to the bother that used to happen.
stuart-farquhar
27-01-2022, 01:57 PM
Tartan scarves? They probably thought you were American tourists until you spoke. :greengrin
It's funny you should say that. One of us is American lol.
davhibby
27-01-2022, 03:13 PM
I think there's an in-between to be had though - it's not like football supporters don't like good beer.
When West Ham moved to the Olympic Stadium near Hackney Wick - the craft breweries that already existed there opened their doors to the pre and post match crowd because it meant business. Never any trouble, despite not being "football pubs", just meant home fans that wanted to go there before/after a game in their colours could.
Getting in with scarves is promising though.
I agree with this. It seems a bit mental if they’re not interested in allowing any fans in at all, given the number of pubs similar to this these days there will be a decent number of Hibs fans that would probably enjoy going in before/after games.
The people I imagine they’re worried about coming in wouldn’t be interested anyway.
I always thought there were too many pubs in such close proximity on ER so it’s not really surprising that a few have gone in the last couple of years. We used to come through a bit early most games to have a pint or two but haven’t really been doing it this season and I don’t see that changing unless Hibs open up a bar again. Everywhere will be rammed by about 6 on Tuesday and it’ll be almost impossible to get a pint and have time to enjoy it if you were rocking up at half 6 later.
Liberton_Hibs
27-01-2022, 04:30 PM
Best thing I done a number of years ago was get a Hibs club membership, I admit you need to get in early for the big games and I presume it will be members only on Tuesday
28-01-2022, 09:17 AM
Away fans buses park up in Regent Rd so its one of the closest.
28-01-2022, 10:27 AM
Kennedy's in Zurich will definitely have it on and the chances of encountering a Hearts fan are (or rather have been up to this point) precisely 0 :greengrin
Downsides? Well, if you thought George Street was pricey for a pint.......
28-01-2022, 02:23 PM
Percy or Hibs Club for me. Thankfully both still open Amy turned into Nuevo Leith hipster hangouts.
28-01-2022, 03:02 PM
Tamsons bar was ok last time I went which was a few years ago though.
28-01-2022, 03:45 PM
Still as dark and dingy as ever.
28-01-2022, 05:08 PM
Best pub on the stree. :agree::thumbsup::greengrin
28-01-2022, 05:49 PM
I'm not from Edinburgh so wasn't sure what to expect. Was a little small so don't think many would fit in on a derby night but a nice Hibs pub.
DIXIHIBS
28-01-2022, 06:06 PM
Best pub on the stree. :agree::thumbsup::greengrin
I knew you'd say that😅😅😅
31-01-2022, 03:25 PM
Chances of getting a table for food around 6pm somewhere like the Mash Tun slim I assume?
Got the missus and wee yin with me tomorrow night and eating before the game... slightly different pre-derby gig for me but would be nice to still incorporate a 'Hibs pub' into the itinerary :greengrin
I'd thought St. James' centre or Omni for food and a couple of pints might be the sound option but would be a bonus to get the walk to Easter Rd done before stuffing oor faces :flag:
31-01-2022, 04:08 PM
I went in before the Aberdeen game. It was busy and had a fair few Aberdeen fans with colours on. I thought it was decent and pubs need to change if they want people in on a daily basis so can't blame them for doing so.
linlithgowhibbie
31-01-2022, 09:42 PM
Chances of getting a table for food around 6pm somewhere like the Mash Tun slim I assume?
Got the missus and wee yin with me tomorrow night and eating before the game... slightly different pre-derby gig for me but would be nice to still incorporate a 'Hibs pub' into the itinerary :greengrin
I'd thought St. James' centre or Omni for food and a couple of pints might be the sound option but would be a bonus to get the walk to Easter Rd done before stuffing oor faces :flag:
You'd be better/safer in the Persevere at the foot of Easter RD
LunasBoots
31-01-2022, 09:55 PM
Elm bar
01-02-2022, 08:01 AM
I used to use Dizzy Lizzies years and years ago (late 1980s), is it still there/changed name?
01-02-2022, 08:07 AM
I used to use Dizzy Lizzies years and years ago (late 1980s), is it still there/changed name?
Now called The Tourmalet.
01-02-2022, 08:15 AM
Now called The Tourmalet.
Nice pub that.
01-02-2022, 08:55 AM
I went in before the Aberdeen game. It was busy and had a fair few Aberdeen fans with colours on. I thought it was decent and pubs need to change if they want people in on a daily basis so can't blame them for doing so.
Must admit, it’s sounds like a place I’d quite enjoy.
LunasBoots
01-02-2022, 09:03 AM
Heard it mentioned it may be shut today...
01-02-2022, 09:21 AM
You'd be better/safer in the Persevere at the foot of Easter RD
Cheers - booked-in uptown, plenty time to get fed and then down for the Hibees :aok:
01-02-2022, 11:36 PM
‘Eastway Tap’ ie the old four in hand was totally closed tonight which I found utterly bizarre. Does Paul kane still own it and lease it out?
They’d have made a fortune today but I suppose the new owners are happy to turn down thousands of pounds of free money to keep happy the sockless and half mast trooser wearing clientele they seem to be wanting to attract happy. God forbid their Instagram was tarnished by football supporters
Strikes me as pure snobbery they’d turn their nose up at easy money tonight from the very football supporters who’ve frequented Easter road pubs for years and years. As I said utterly bizarre, how busy can a craft beer boozer on Easter Road be midweek that they’re happy to shut up and turn away hundreds of punters
‘Eastway Tap’ ie the old four in hand was totally closed tonight which I found utterly bizarre. Does Paul kane still own it and lease it out?
They’d have made a fortune today but I suppose the new owners are happy to turn down thousands of pounds of free money to keep happy the sockless and half mast trooser wearing clientele they seem to be wanting to attract happy. God forbid their Instagram was tarnished by football supporters
Strikes me as pure snobbery they’d turn their nose up at easy money tonight from the very football supporters who’ve frequented Easter road pubs for years and years. As I said utterly bizarre, how busy can a craft beer boozer on Easter Road be midweek that they’re happy to shut up and turn away hundreds of punters
It’s not free money.
01-02-2022, 11:43 PM
It’s not free money.
Id say money literally pouring into their tills as opposed to being shut is free money?
02-02-2022, 12:44 AM
Heard it mentioned it may be shut today...
It was closed at half 10 when I drove past after the game. Amateurs, they missed out on a fortune.
02-02-2022, 12:50 AM
The pub is in a working class area, the area is full of jimmys and eileen's who want to guzzle lager and Malibu and coke, not some specially brewed pish with a name like the cow chews grass pale ale or hazelnut hoppy goodness. If they're expecting Barnaby and Beatrice to meander down from Morningside to have a have a few tipples then they better think again. It is pure and utter snobbery of the highest order. Everyone should boycott it on Saturday, plenty other pubs to got to in the area. Percy, Iona, Hibs Club, Mash Tun (pricey) Middletons, Artisan, The Harp, Joe Pearces, and many more. ***** Thum
02-02-2022, 01:05 AM
The pub is in a working class area, the area is full of jimmys and eileen's who want to guzzle lager and Malibu and coke, not some specially brewed pish with a name like the cow chews grass pale ale or hazelnut hoppy goodness. If they're expecting Barnaby and Beatrice to meander down from Morningside to have a have a few tipples then they better think again. It is pure and utter snobbery of the highest order. Everyone should boycott it on Saturday, plenty other pubs to got to in the area. Percy, Iona, Hibs Club, Mash Tun (pricey) Middletons, Artisan, The Harp, Joe Pearces, and many more. ***** Thum
Slam dunk ... nailed it :aok:
Actually when you think about it it's getting harder and harder to find a pub you can get into around ER on big match days considering the number that have closed unless you arrive in the area about two hours before kick off ... me and my mate arrived at around 6:45 and couldn't get in anywhere before heading back to Tamsons and sneaking in a quick one as it emptied around 7:25
When you consider that more than once Ron Gordon has been in the media beating his gums about allowing drinking inside stadiums, it's just a wee bit ironic is it not that the one bar in Edinburgh he owns ( IE Behind the goals ) has been closed for ages and remained closed tonight as the Hibees faithful staggered around Leith looking for somewhere to get a sodding drink :confused:
LunasBoots
02-02-2022, 01:11 AM
😄 👌
02-02-2022, 01:38 AM
What a post
02-02-2022, 06:57 AM
Iona was rammed inside and out.
Pints of Tennents that don't cost a fiver, a mad scramble at the bar, bar staff that call a spade a spade and decor that was last updated in 1972. Can't beat it.
I like a craft beer as much as anyone but there is a time and a place. I give the Old Eastway Tap or whatever it's called 6 months max.
02-02-2022, 07:04 AM
Edinburgh's fine line in reverse snobbery alive and well I see. Leith and Easter Road have become infinitely more diverse and, dare I say it, desirable places to live in the past 20-30 years (thank ****) and with that comes evolving tastes. I think it's safe to say the football boozer is not what the Eastway Tap is aiming at as a clientele but it's also perfectly possible to be a person that enjoys a scoop in the Iona on Saturday and a midweek pint or 2 of something a bit more "crafty"
The usual rules of any pub will apply to them - if the beer is *****, the pipes not regularly cleaned, if the service is gash and the food out a microwave it'll not survive.
But fair play to them for starting a hospitality business, especially these days. Leith isn't quite as solely "Jimmy and Eileen" as it once was, and apparently catering to a different crowd has got people's backs up for some weird reason.
02-02-2022, 07:10 AM
Edinburgh's fine line in reverse snobbery alive and well I see. Leith and Easter Road have become infinitely more diverse and, dare I say it, desirable places to live in the past 20-30 years (thank ****) and with that comes evolving tastes. I think it's safe to say the football boozer is not what the Eastway Tap is aiming at as a clientele but it's also perfectly possible to be a person that enjoys a scoop in the Iona on Saturday and a midweek pint or 2 of something a bit more "crafty"
The usual rules of any pub will apply to them - if the beer is *****, the pipes not regularly cleaned, if the service is gash and the food out a microwave it'll not survive.
But fair play to them for starting a hospitality business, especially these days. Leith isn't quite as solely "Jimmy and Eileen" as it once was, and apparently catering to a different crowd has got people's backs up for some weird reason.
I've lived in Leith my whole life and it has always been diverse, I'm 42 and went to primary school with countless Sikhs, Muslims, Eastern European and Black people, if you mean diversity in the sense that the majority of the people I grew up with now can't afford to live here anymore as it's now some kind of hipster south central then you are spot on
02-02-2022, 07:13 AM
I've lived in Leith my whole life and it has always been diverse, I'm 42 and went to primary school with countless Sikhs, Muslims, Eastern European and Black people, if you mean diversity in the sense that the majority of the people I grew up with now can't afford to live here anymore as it's now some kind of hipster south central then you are spot on
Yep it's like Edinburgh's answer to Shoreditch.
'Gentrification'. Which generally means pricing the people with familial roots in an area out and congratulating yourself on how much better it is now, not realising you have just decanted the social problems and/or pressure on public services elsewhere. I wonder how much life has improved for people in the banana flats now they have Tom Kitchin and Martin Wishart on the doorstep?
02-02-2022, 07:19 AM
Spoke by someone who doesn't even live in Leith, or Edinburgh for that matter, and has not got a clue what it means in reality.
Pretty Boy's post sums it up perfectly.
02-02-2022, 07:39 AM
Spoke by someone who doesn't even live in Leith, or Edinburgh for that matter, and has not got a clue what it means in reality.
Don't worry, growing up 5 minutes from Leith during the period I'm referencing gives me a decent idea of what I'm talking about 😂
02-02-2022, 07:44 AM
Don't worry, growing up 5 minutes from Leith during the period I'm referencing gives me a decent idea of what I'm talking about 😂
How long has it been since you lived here?
DanishJohn
02-02-2022, 07:45 AM
Could someone explain to me exactly what a craft beer is ?
02-02-2022, 07:47 AM
A beer that has a funny name, something like Funky Cat/ Mad Rat ect, has lots of outlandish colours on the branding and is 50% more than your standard pint.
02-02-2022, 07:52 AM
It used to mean beer made on a smaller scale, more traditionally and maybe not using mechanical aids.
Not really the case now though as the likes of Sierra Nevada and Brewdog are corporate beasts operating on a huge scale.
I think the current definition is beer that has increasing amounts of hops thrown in, not always for any obvious reason.
02-02-2022, 07:55 AM
Good post - no idea why people are so angry with this place. If you dont like it don't go ( not that you could have last night:greengrin).
Have to say though it does seem daft to turn trade away on the busiest match day of the season. Get a decent bouncer on the door and a couple of extra bar staff and they'd be fine.
DanishJohn
02-02-2022, 08:04 AM
Thanks guys for the answers. Got a handle on it now.
"Barman ! A pint of your cheapest crafted lager beer, a crafted pie and I'll be sitting at the red formica table in the corner."
steve75
02-02-2022, 08:05 AM
I'm all for any pub opening that doesn't essentially have the same lager on 5 taps. Can barely go anywhere that doesn't have the 'choice' of Tenants, Carling, Fosters, Moretti, Amstel, Heineken etc. I went in post match on Saturday and there was plenty of folk with hibs scarfs. Was also in the Brass Monkey pre match last night which is also a 'no football colours' pub and seen plenty hibs gear. I really wouldn't get too hung up on it.
I seen online that they were closed for a staff party. I can only assume it's a postponed Christmas party, probably with the date set before the rearranged fixture. If you want to keep your staff happy, you don't bump that off for a football match.
Mantis Toboggan
02-02-2022, 08:55 AM
As someone who does live in Leith, I think the poster is correct, and a blanket description of Leith as a "working class area" is obviously inaccurate. In any case I don't see how this is a class issue, and in relation to the pub itself, it appeared to be dying on its arse under the previous management so no wonder someone has tried a different approach.
Daniel 1875
02-02-2022, 09:16 AM
There’s a reason why the same types of pubs selling the same types of beer are shutting down on Easter Road and surrounding area though, isn’t there?
As you say there are plenty of other pubs to go to before the football, there aren’t plenty of other pubs like the Eastway Tap for folk who live in Leith to go to the other 13 days of the fortnight when Hibs don’t have a home game.
02-02-2022, 09:23 AM
The Central was quite lively before and after the game, thoroughly enjoyed it.
G15 Hibs
02-02-2022, 09:35 AM
There's something about contrived names like Old Eastway Tap that sets my teeth on edge. Sounds like they're trying too hard. Obviously they want to demonstrate that its a different type of place now, but the Four in Hand is such a classic name. Don't like things like that.
Personally, I really like pubs where I can get a pint of Tennants for £3 and sit of an afternoon watching the racing on the telly (without having any interest in racing), watch the world go by and share occasional bon mots with fellow imbibers. In other circumstances I also enjoy going to pubs with the missus where I can try different types of overpriced beer, served by bloke with a Karl Marx beard wearing a leather apron. There's a place for both. Its like cinema and theatre. Both are in the same area, but offer different experiences. Ultimately, the alternative to this place as it is would probably be the Four in Hand sitting derelict.
Its not something to get angry about.
02-02-2022, 09:42 AM
Yep it's like Edinburgh's answer to Shoreditch.
'Gentrification'. Which generally means pricing the people with familial roots in an area out and congratulating yourself on how much better it is now, not realising you have just decanted the social problems and/or pressure on public services elsewhere. I wonder how much life has improved for people in the banana flats now they have Tom Kitchin and Martin Wishart on the doorstep?
Social engineering ,.. been going on for years.
Get the hoi polloi out the town and into the schemes.
In the area around where Hibs were born there is still social,cooncil housing.
But goodness try and afford a house there now or rent in the private sector.
No cheap!
Not to mention that effing airbnb,and the problems that type of rental causes residents.
When i was a youngster the Grassmarket wasn't the sought after place it is now ..Not at all !!.
Celebrities fall over each other to open places there now.
My brother sometimes wishes he had bought our Granny's hoose in the Grassmarket,when the price would have been buttons.
Not to make a profit, but ideally keep it in the family.
Now.no chance.
Sad,as unlike the new half built stand at tynie, our granny's auld hoose at #17 has an exceptional view of the Castle. :greengrin
02-02-2022, 09:52 AM
There's something about contrived names like Old Eastway Tap that sets my teeth on edge. Sounds like they're trying too hard. Obviously they want to demonstrate that its a different type of place now, but the Four in Hand is such a classic name. Don't like things like that.
Personally, I really like pubs where I can get a pint of Tennants for £3 and sit of an afternoon watching the racing on the telly (without having any interest in racing), watch the world go by and share occasional bon mots with fellow imbibers. In other circumstances I also enjoy going to pubs with the missus where I can try different types of overpriced beer, served by bloke with a Karl Marx beard wearing a leather apron. There's a place for both. Its like cinema and theatre. Both are in the same area, but offer different experiences. Ultimately, the alternative to this place as it is would probably be the Four in Hand sitting derelict.
Its not something to get angry about.
Where can you get a pint for £3 in Edinburgh that isn't a spoons?
02-02-2022, 09:55 AM
Shandwicks - £1.95 😉
G15 Hibs
02-02-2022, 10:04 AM
I'm not sure, mate. I've lived in Glasgow for nearly 20 years so not entirely au fait with current cheap pint prices in the ancestral homeland. When I'm through in Edinburgh I'm more likely to go to somewhere central and expensive. Plenty of places in Maryhill though.
Green Badger
02-02-2022, 10:09 AM
Actually when you think about it it's getting harder and harder to find a pub you can get into around ER on big match days considering the number that have closed unless you arrive in the area about two hours before kick off ... me and my mate arrived at around 6:45 and couldn't get in anywhere before heading back to Tamsons and sneaking in a quick one as it emptied around 7:25
When you consider that more than once Ron Gordon has been in the media beating his gums about allowing drinking inside stadiums, it's just a wee bit ironic is it not that the one bar in Edinburgh he owns ( IE Behind the goals ) has been closed for ages and remained closed tonight as the Hibees faithful staggered around Leith looking for somewhere to get a sodding drink :confused:
Why is BTG still closed? Do they plan on re-opening it any time soon?
davhibby
02-02-2022, 10:12 AM
I still can’t get my head around someone taking on a pub right next to a football stadium and being scared of having any fans inside though. It’s not for me but there would’ve been plenty people happy to go in for a couple before the game last night and they’d have made a decent wedge for a Tuesday night.
Actively ignoring one of your most obvious revenue streams seems crazy especially when it’s for a few hours a couple of times a month.
02-02-2022, 10:42 AM
Really liking the Stattie since it’s refurb. Nice feel to the place and good mix of drinks on offer to please the Tennents drinker (me), w***y beer fans and a good selection of craft gins etc. Will be my pre-match venue of choice going forward. Was surprised they closed at 11.30pm whilst still pretty busy though.
Must admit, I found it very odd for the Eastway Tap to close all together. Surely they can open for fans who like that style of bar. Reminded me of the Brass Monkey who closed after we won the cup in 2016 rather than have the dreaded football fans in. Bizarre.
02-02-2022, 11:20 AM
I still can’t get my head around someone taking on a pub right next to a football stadium and being scared of having any fans inside though. It’s not for me but there would’ve been plenty people happy to go in for a couple before the game last night and they’d have made a decent wedge for a Tuesday night.
Actively ignoring one of your most obvious revenue streams seems crazy especially when it’s for a few hours a couple of times a month.
Those obvious revenue streams a couple of times a month were not enough to make the previous ventures sustainable in that location. I applaud them for trying a different angle and trying to attract a clientele that they feel will work for them even if it does appear a bit niche.
02-02-2022, 11:30 AM
A beer that has a funny name, something like Funky Cat/ Mad Rat ect, has lots of outlandish colours on the branding and is 50% more than your standard pint.
In the USA,craft beer is also known as micro- brew.
Micro brew pubs i used when i stayed in Denver had beers far superior to the most common US beers, Coors ,Bud etc
Dark beer that is.
Am not a real ale regular ,but loved the US ones .... hic!... i tried.
Some decent Guinness there,too.
I reckon they closed on purpose because of the game. If it's not the clientele they want then why would they open? Folk would bundle in & that would be that
Good luck to them in their venture
davhibby
02-02-2022, 11:52 AM
Those obvious revenue streams a couple of times a month were not enough to make the previous ventures sustainable in that location. I applaud them for trying a different angle and trying to attract a clientele that they feel will work for them even if it does appear a bit niche.
That’s my point though, it’s maybe 3 hours on a matchday. It’s hardly going to spoil their brand by having a few fans in before the game and if people enjoy it they might go back on a day when Hibs aren’t playing.
Clarence
02-02-2022, 11:57 AM
If you can’t find a pub in leith to drink in before a game, it means that you’ve already had too much. Granted more of the traditional pubs have closed down over the last 20 years but there are still loads to chose from. Why wouldn’t you want there to be new thriving businesses in leith that cater to people that have moved into the area? Would you prefer them to lay empty like the Cooper’s rest? Or cheaply renovated into a shop/flat like Shades? Move with the times, you might just enjoy it.
02-02-2022, 11:58 AM
I reckon they closed on purpose because of the game. If it's not the clientele they want then why would they open? Folk would bundle in & that would be that
Good luck to them in their venture
In the vein of what another poster said though, why turn down the chance to accumulate a fair wedge from fitba fans even if it isn't the regular client base you are aiming for? A hundred folk spending two hours and spending an average of twenty quid each comes to £2000 ... if you average that for 18 Hibs home games its £36,000 .... if you open before and after the game you can probably double that to £72,000
Hospitality has fast overtaken farming as the go to industry if you want to see folk wringing their hands bemoaning how hard it is to survive, it's hard to reconcile that with pubs seemingly willing to turn down money on that scale.
02-02-2022, 11:58 AM
Really liking the Stattie since it’s refurb. Nice feel to the place and good mix of drinks on offer to please the Tennents drinker (me), w***y beer fans and a good selection of craft gins etc. Will be my pre-match venue of choice going forward. Was surprised they closed at 11.30pm whilst still pretty busy though.
Must admit, I found it very odd for the Eastway Tap to close all together. Surely they can open for fans who like that style of bar. Reminded me of the Brass Monkey who closed after we won the cup in 2016 rather than have the dreaded football fans in. Bizarre.
I was in there over the summer for the 1st time in ages and really liked it. Passed last night pre match and it looked busy.
I went to my sisters after the game until the crowds cleared then walked up to London Road to jump on a bus. Was surprised to see the Artisan closed so early so ended up nipping into the Safari lounge for a beer. That's somewhere that seems to have it's own vibe going on whilst still coexisting with football fans. Been in a few times pre match and always a smattering of Hibs fans mixed in with what I assume is their more regular clientele.
02-02-2022, 11:59 AM
What a post
I first started drinking in the Cabbage and Ribs but George sold up to start a limo business or something and that was that (if I had the money I'd open that up again), then moved onto Coopers rest but that shut down as well, then it was the Royal Nip and then that changed into a wine bar of sorts and was pish, then moved onto to the Four In Hand and that took a nose dive, now I'll drink in the Iona on or the Hibs Club depending on what game it is. The Iona is a decent boozer for what you get.
G15 Hibs
02-02-2022, 12:09 PM
I first started drinking in the Cabbage and Ribs but George sold up to start a limo business or something and that was that (if I had the money I'd open that up again), then moved onto Coopers rest but that shut down as well, then it was the Royal Nip and then that changed into a wine bar of sorts and was pish, then moved onto to the Four In Hand and that took a nose dive, now I'll drink in the Iona on or the Hibs Club depending on what game it is. The Iona is a decent boozer for what you get.
With that history I'd bar you
05-02-2022, 01:36 PM
In the Eastway Tap right now - looks a nice pub, just doesn't feel like Easter Road (which is probably the intention). No football colours sign on the door, but no door staff & a lot of the patrons are clearly going to the game, albeit outnumbered by the rugger buggers (lots of England & Wales colours on display).
Goldexon
12-12-2023, 11:47 AM
I'm just sharing my two cents on the pub scene. I noticed The Artisan flip-flopping team vibes - a bit confusing, right? Maybe it's just the footie fever taking over. Anyone else got the lowdown on the footie pub shuffle near Easter Road? Or do you prefer fancy restaurants, like riwa-restaurant.de (https://www.riwa-restaurant.de/de/)? Let me know!
Trinity Hibee
12-12-2023, 12:02 PM
Maybe it's just the footie fever taking over. Anyone else got the lowdown on the footie pub shuffle near Easter Road?
Footie fever? Footie pub shuffle?
When were you last out?😂
12-12-2023, 12:12 PM
Maybe it's just the footie fever taking over. Anyone else got the lowdown on the footie pub shuffle near Easter Road?
What's footie?
Saint Hibee
12-12-2023, 12:23 PM
Craft beer does not equal gentrification. I always go to The Strathmore on Iona Street before games. Full of local Hibs fans, but a great selection of craft beers from Pilot and Campervan, as well as the usual Tennents and Guinness, all below a fiver a pint.
12-12-2023, 01:26 PM
What's footie?
Exactly……It’s Footy.
Cardinal G
12-12-2023, 01:37 PM
Craft beer does not equal gentrification. I always go to The Strathmore on Iona Street before games. Full of local Hibs fans, but a great selection of craft beers from Pilot and Campervan, as well as the usual Tennents and Guinness, all below a fiver a pint.
If I get train up for Match I always pop into Strathies for a pint, cracking wee pub.
leith lynx
12-12-2023, 01:49 PM
What's footie?
Kevin Thoms*un talk...
12-12-2023, 01:50 PM
Exactly……It’s Footy.
Maybe if you're talking Aussie Rules it is.
Stairway 2 7
12-12-2023, 01:57 PM
If I get train up for Match I always pop into Strathies for a pint, cracking wee pub.
Preferred it when it was a dive pre hipster, was one of the last old man boozers left around the walk.
12-12-2023, 05:53 PM
The Old Eastway Tap is a great local pub for modern day Leith. Nice selection of Scottish beers and ales, decent selection of drams, really friendly staff and a nice place to spend your time. If it's not your bag then plenty of other pubs but it's funny that people get angry about successful local businesses that bring life into the area.