View Full Version : Demetri Mitchell

Nailsea Hibby
24-01-2022, 04:50 PM
Surprised nothing be said about the below seems to be happening. Blackpool’s Demetri Mitchell is closing in on a move to Hibernian, as detailed in a report by the Blackpool Gazette (https://www.blackpoolgazette.co.uk/sport/football/blackpool-fc/january-transfer-window-blackpools-current-state-of-play-with-seven-days-to-go-3538593).Blackpool left him out of the squad in their Championship fixture against Millwall over the weekend. Mitchell, 25, travelled to Edinburgh on Friday to finalise his transfer and have a medical.
The Blackpool Gazette reports (https://www.blackpoolgazette.co.uk/sport/football/blackpool-fc/january-transfer-window-blackpools-current-state-of-play-with-seven-days-to-go-3538593) that the deal is expected to go through as the wait for official confirmation ensues. :greengrin

24-01-2022, 04:52 PM
Surprised nothing be said about the below seems to be happening. Blackpool’s Demetri Mitchell is closing in on a move to Hibernian, as detailed in a report by the Blackpool Gazette (https://www.blackpoolgazette.co.uk/sport/football/blackpool-fc/january-transfer-window-blackpools-current-state-of-play-with-seven-days-to-go-3538593).Blackpool left him out of the squad in their Championship fixture against Millwall over the weekend. Mitchell, 25, travelled to Edinburgh on Friday to finalise his transfer and have a medical.
The Blackpool Gazette reports (https://www.blackpoolgazette.co.uk/sport/football/blackpool-fc/january-transfer-window-blackpools-current-state-of-play-with-seven-days-to-go-3538593) that the deal is expected to go through as the wait for official confirmation ensues. :greengrin

There has

24-01-2022, 05:09 PM
From what I saw the Blackpool fans weren't that bothered about him leaving, but he was good when he was with Hearts so might be a decent signing. Providing he's not injured.

Dazzjw1875
24-01-2022, 05:40 PM
Has the deal not collapsed and he is away back to Bpool? 🤣

w pilton hibby
24-01-2022, 05:44 PM

From the Evening News

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-closing-in-on-signing-of-former-hearts-defender-demetri-mitchell-3539798

24-01-2022, 06:02 PM

From the Evening News

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-closing-in-on-signing-of-former-hearts-defender-demetri-mitchell-3539798

Maybe the deal has collapsed because he couldn’t find Easter Road or East Mains. After all, a couple of years ago he said he had never heard of Hibs. :stirrer: :greengrin

24-01-2022, 06:03 PM
Done deal. 2.5 year contract confirmed by Hibs.

24-01-2022, 06:04 PM
Done deal. 2.5 year contract confirmed by Hibs.

Beat me to it.

24-01-2022, 06:05 PM
Very good video on social media announcing him 😂

24-01-2022, 06:06 PM

It's class! Fair play Hibs and Demetri.

24-01-2022, 06:07 PM
Promo video is brilliant.

24-01-2022, 06:08 PM
Dundee fans weren’t bothered when Boyle signed for us. Hope Mitchell is similar.

24-01-2022, 06:10 PM
Welcome, Demetri!

24-01-2022, 06:11 PM
That video is superb. There's no point in trying to hide from those things, put them front and centre and you take away any power they have.

24-01-2022, 06:13 PM
He used to be a Jambo but he's ok now.

24-01-2022, 06:14 PM
Good video, hopefully does the job and puts to bed any beef some fans might have.

24-01-2022, 06:14 PM
He was good in his first spell at Hearts, although that’s a wee while ago now. Did well to help get Blackpool promoted.
Do you reckon this means we’re not in the hunt for Charles-Cook? I like the look of him for County this season.

24-01-2022, 06:15 PM
Have we ever signed a decent ex Jambo?

Could this be one of the 1st?

24-01-2022, 06:17 PM

Could this be one of the 1st?Jason Cummings surely counts?

If it's first team Jambos then I'm struggling to think of too many. Michael Stewart?

seanshow
24-01-2022, 06:18 PM
Good video, hopefully does the job and puts to bed any beef some fans might have.

What does he say about hibs, i cant make out his thick english accent.

Cracking wee video, welcome Demetri.

RoslinInstHibby

Alan Gordon

24-01-2022, 06:20 PM
Alan Gordon

Oh Ralphy Ralphy………

Lendo
24-01-2022, 06:20 PM

Did we not sign some left of right back that had played with them but I don’t think he ever got off the bench for us. Only a few seasons ago. Name escapes me.

24-01-2022, 06:21 PM

Michael Stewart arguably played some of the best football of his career at Hibs. Some fans never took to him but he was quality for a long spell albeit it ended on a sour note.

A long list of very successful ex hearts players at ER. Including Tornado Alan Gordon.

He was good in his first spell at Hearts, although that’s a wee while ago now. Did well to help get Blackpool promoted.
Do you reckon this means we’re not in the hunt for Charles-Cook? I like the look of him for County this season.

I don’t know if we have ever been in for Charles Cook but I imagine Mitchell is coming in to play LWB so don’t think it would impact it if we were in for him.

Did we not sign some left of right back that had played with them but I don’t think he ever got off the bench for us. Only a few seasons ago. Name escapes me.

Aye, Dutch guy right? Can't remember his name either.

HIBEETILLIDIE
24-01-2022, 06:22 PM

Alan Gordon
Ralf Callaghan
Chris Shevlane
Jason Cummings

IncredibleHibee
24-01-2022, 06:22 PM
Alan maybury

24-01-2022, 06:23 PM

Faycal Rherras? Made 1 appearance for us I think.

24-01-2022, 06:23 PM
Josh Doig

24-01-2022, 06:24 PM
Jim Brown

Rherras, Keatings, Hartley come to mind

Eckersley or something?

Was also a young full back with blond hair and got a red face we had briefly?

ElginHibbie
24-01-2022, 06:25 PM
David Gray was on at Hearts as youngster was he not?

Rherras, Keatings, Hartley come to mind

I think Hartley was here before he went to the dark side

CL0762

We had both Eckersley & Rherras for a period of time. Don’t think either of them made an appearance.

Adding a bit of pace to the side is no bad thing in the absence of Martin Boyle, and can play in a couple of different positions. Sounds like a positive signing, and he looks to have a bit of character about him as he hammed it up for an entertaining club tweet.

Look forward to seeing him play.

24-01-2022, 06:26 PM
David Gray was on at Hearts as youngster was he not?

Sure was. Daniel Galbraith too.

I think Hartley was here before he went to the dark side

Yep - other way about for him

Eckersley or something?

Was also a young full back with blond hair and got a red face we had briefly?

Fraser Mullen.

Currently plying his trade with Cowdenbeath.

24-01-2022, 06:27 PM
Fraser Mullen.

Currently plying his trade with Cowdenbeath.

That’s the fellae. I could have been all night and wouldn’t have remembered that name.

Steven79
Rherras, Keatings, Hartley come to mindHartley came from Raith then went to St Johnstone before signing for Hearts.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Lendo
James Keatings signed for us straight from Hearts didn’t he?

Steven79
24-01-2022, 06:28 PM
James Keatings signed for us straight from Hearts didn’t he?Yeah he did.

24-01-2022, 06:28 PM
Willie Wilson
Willie Hamilton

ElginHibbie
24-01-2022, 06:29 PM
James Keatings signed for us straight from Hearts didn’t he?

Yup and soon as we got promoted moved onto Dundee United who had just been relegated, loves the Championship him

Steven79
24-01-2022, 06:30 PM
Yup and soon as we got promoted moved onto Dundee United who had just been relegated, loves the Championship himDidn't love it at Raith for some reason.

Renfrew_Hibby
Josh Doig away soon then?

Definitely never heard of him

24-01-2022, 06:31 PM

Ralph Callachan. Eric Stevenson. Chris Shevlane. Jason Cummings. Not necessarily in that order.

Hillsidehibby
24-01-2022, 06:33 PM
Andy Watson :bitchy:

24-01-2022, 06:34 PM

We could probably field a team of ex Jambos with Alan Gordon and Willie Hamilton being the standouts. If we stretch things, 2 great Hibees, and both in our Hall of Fame, Eric Stevenson and Peter Cormack, were both on Hearts' books as youngsters.

24-01-2022, 06:34 PM
Adding a bit of pace to the side is no bad thing in the absence of Martin Boyle, and can play in a couple of different positions. Sounds like a positive signing, and he looks to have a bit of character about him as he hammed it up for an entertaining club tweet.

Look forward to seeing him play.

Yep fully agree, serious pace (with ability) is always welcomed. Just what we need.

24-01-2022, 06:35 PM
There's been lots of toing and froing over the decades between us and Hearts.

The late great Gordon Smith is one from us to them, as is the not so exalted or lamented Brian Hamilton. Loads the other way, too.

So welcome Demetri!

24-01-2022, 06:35 PM
Malcolm Robertson
Lawrie Tierney
Andy Watson
Eamon Bannon

Former Jambos who managed game or two at Hibs........:sick:

24-01-2022, 06:36 PM
We could probably field a team of ex Jambos with Alan Gordon and Willie Hamilton being the standouts. If we stretch things, 2 great Hibees, and both in our Hall of Fame, Eric Stevenson and Peter Cormack, were both on Hearts' books as youngsters.

Thanks!
A bit before my days and ill at the moment, so couldn't really think.. just had a feeling we end up with duffers than good ones.

24-01-2022, 06:36 PM
Malcolm Robertson
Lawrie Tierney
Andy Watson
Eamon Bannon

Former Jambos who managed game or two at Hibs........:sick:

Tbf the poster asked have we signed a good one ? :).

h1bs4life
24-01-2022, 06:38 PM
Brilliant video welcome Demetri.
Was never a Hertz player only on loan from Man Utd.
Play both Doig and him on the left hand side.

MikeyS
24-01-2022, 06:38 PM
Michael Stewart arguably played some of the best football of his career at Hibs. Some fans never took to him but he was quality for a long spell albeit it ended on a sour note.

League Cup winning legend too👀

24-01-2022, 06:40 PM
who he, never heard of him

:)

24-01-2022, 06:40 PM

Apart from the many mentioned already, we could go with Willie Hamilton, Peter Cormack, Eric Stevenson and right up to date with Josh Doig. It is an impressive list when you look through them all.

24-01-2022, 06:42 PM
Josh Doig away soon then?

We’ve spent the first half of the season crying out for depth, every incoming doesn’t mean an outgoing starter.

Cat Stanton
24-01-2022, 06:42 PM
From what I saw the Blackpool fans weren't that bothered about him leaving, but he was good when he was with Hearts so might be a decent signing. Providing he's not injured.

Not quite true. Just had a look - most are very positive about him, and all seem to be wishing him good luck. Sounds like he was a favourite early on, but struggled a bit after then getting an injury. Lots saying there is a lot of potential there. I was quite heartened reading it.

24-01-2022, 06:43 PM
Tbf the poster asked have we signed a good one ? :).

Who cares? Just for you though, I’ll quote every post that mentioned the gash ones and let them know:aok:

The only good Jambo is a Hibee Jambo.

24-01-2022, 06:45 PM
He's better than Murphy and Scott who've played in that position this season so it's a yes for me. Don't really care about any previous comments.

24-01-2022, 06:47 PM
This isn’t a criticism, but it feels like his agent has simply touted him to us and we’re thinking we might as well give it a go.

It’s too much of a coincidence that our scouts stumbled upon an ex Hearts player and I doubt we’ve been keeping tabs on him since he left Scotland.

Cat Stanton
24-01-2022, 06:51 PM
This isn’t a criticism, but it feels like his agent has simply touted him to us and we’re thinking we might as well give it a go.

It’s too much of a coincidence that our scouts stumbled upon an ex Hearts player and I doubt we’ve been keeping tabs on him since he left Scotland.

This isn't a criticism, but.. I doubt that's how things work to be honest.

24-01-2022, 06:52 PM

I don’t think we’d give someone a two and a half year deal just to give them a go, even if I’m a bit unsure about the signing.

24-01-2022, 06:55 PM
Thought he was excellent his first spell at Hearts where he was utilised effectively as an overlapping wingback and looked useful against us on more than one occasion

His second spell with them not so much but think he got a bad injury

Ex Man Utd IIRC ?

24-01-2022, 06:59 PM
Have we ever signed an ex Man Utd full back who has done anything for us?

The last one wasn't up to much iirc......

24-01-2022, 07:00 PM
Have we ever signed an ex Man Utd full back who has done anything for us?

The last one wasn't up to much iirc......

24-01-2022, 07:00 PM

Might be worth a punt sort of thing?

Not a chance, buddy.

24-01-2022, 07:02 PM
Really poor signing imho

Backward step.

24-01-2022, 07:02 PM
Michael Stewart was good for Hibs, in particular the first half of the 06/07 season. I still like him now

24-01-2022, 07:03 PM
Really poor signing imho

Backward step.

Backward step from what?

AngloHibs
24-01-2022, 07:04 PM
Thought he was excellent his first spell at Hearts where he was utilised effectively as an overlapping wingback and looked useful against us on more than one occasion

His second spell with them not so much but think he got a bad injury

Ex Man Utd IIRC ?

He was Manchester United's under-23s Player of the Year for 2017-18.

King Cosell
24-01-2022, 07:09 PM
Really poor signing imho

Backward step.

"Ooo, look at me."

24-01-2022, 07:11 PM
What video? Do you have a link please?

24-01-2022, 07:12 PM

It’s on official hibs site

24-01-2022, 07:16 PM
Good luck Demi’.

24-01-2022, 07:18 PM
Jason Cummings surely counts?

If it's first team Jambos then I'm struggling to think of too many. Michael Stewart?Alan Gordon did rather well.

24-01-2022, 07:28 PM

Seems like you’ll find any reason at the moment to criticise Hibs recruitment.

GRA
24-01-2022, 07:31 PM
Spoke to couple of Hearts pals and they rated him highly during his couple of loan spells there. Both times he started off bang in form. 1st spell he got injured and 2nd loan spell lost confidence under the useless management of Levein.

I couldn't care less about comments he made over four years ago. If he can recapture the early form in his loan spells then he'll be exactly what we need.

24-01-2022, 07:35 PM
Family yam reckons he was a good prospect, but not physical enough for them at that time. He doesn't really do humour, or generosity now that I come to think of it, so unlikely to be a wind up. We'll see.

Welcome to the good half of the city.....

24-01-2022, 07:36 PM
Gordon Marshall snr via Newcastle

St.Kristopher
24-01-2022, 07:37 PM

Twitter Video (https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1485689861017247745?s=21)

24-01-2022, 07:37 PM

Wonder what else you could make up to have a moan at hibs about?

norwayhibs
24-01-2022, 07:39 PM

Was his name Mullen:confused:, think he had a couple of first team appearances

24-01-2022, 07:39 PM

Well that's possible I suppose, but nope can't see it happening that way myself. 😕

24-01-2022, 07:43 PM

Behave yourself lol. Dearie me......

24-01-2022, 07:46 PM
Players quite often get a bit of a slagging off when they leave, but Blackpool fans have wished him well and generally regard him as being a bit unlucky picking an injury up in pre seaon, he sounds a bit of a character.

Thread below from the Seasiders main message board AVFTT (A iew from the tower)

https://avftt.co.uk/index.php?threads/demi-mitchell-has-left-the-building.28344/

JamesHFC
24-01-2022, 07:48 PM
Danny Swanson another who played for them before us.

24-01-2022, 07:50 PM
Players quite often get a bit of a slagging off when they leave, but Blackpool fans have wished him well and generally regard him as being a bit unlucky picking an injury up in pre seaon, he sounds a bit of a character.

https://avftt.co.uk/index.php?threads/demi-mitchell-has-left-the-building.28344/
Bit worried about his injury record to be honest. That’s both spells across the road and Blackpool.

24-01-2022, 07:54 PM

Some of our best signings in recent years have come from agents simply touting their players to us. Marciano for one wasn’t scouted, he came from an agent Lennon regularly used. Similarly the signings of Kamberi and McLaren were touted to us by ex-Pro Mark Fotheringham. For players under contract at clubs, without agents advising of us on their potentially availability they’d unlikely be on our radar.

thebausburst
24-01-2022, 07:54 PM
Described in Blackpool fans forum as being ‘on fire’ preseason then got injured and couldn’t get back in the team, so sounds promising 👍

24-01-2022, 07:55 PM
Bit worried about his injury record to be honest. That’s both spells across the road and Blackpool.

Don’t worry too much. If we haven’t already got them, there will soon be more than enough injured players at ER to keep him company.:greengrin

24-01-2022, 07:56 PM

53 appearances in 16 months for Blackpool suggests he was available for most of his time there.

24-01-2022, 07:57 PM

Jason the Jambo was pretty good 🙂. Also some guy called David Gray, though addmitedly he only scored 7 goals in 126 appearances 🙄

leith lynx
24-01-2022, 08:00 PM

Does Olly Shaw count?

24-01-2022, 08:17 PM
Was his name Mullen:confused:, think he had a couple of first team appearances

Aye Fraser Mullen. Was touted as a bit of a coup picking him up as Hearts had to cut loads of their squad loose because of the administration, and he was supposed to be a real prospect.

Made an inauspicious start, then got injured and was never seen again.

24-01-2022, 08:34 PM

We’ve moved on from the way Neil Lennon used to sign players.

24-01-2022, 08:49 PM
Twitter Video (https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1485689861017247745?s=21)

That's actually pretty funny.

loanheadhibby
24-01-2022, 09:06 PM
Was it Fraser Mullen?

24-01-2022, 09:07 PM
Willie Hamilton is obviously the standout but you could make up a pretty good team-Roy Barry is another one.

Percy Vere
24-01-2022, 09:11 PM

And????

24-01-2022, 09:12 PM
Think Demi could be a really good signing.

Played 13 games already this season for a team playing in the English Championship. We're realistically not going to sign players from a higher level than that. Very versitile and just turned 25 as well so room for improvement. Buzzing to see him play.

Percy Vere
24-01-2022, 09:16 PM
Welcome Dmitri
Very funny welcome interrogation
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1485689861017247745?s=21

24-01-2022, 09:19 PM

:agree: first half of that season with Brown Thomson and Boozy alongside he was absolutely outstanding.

JamesHFC
24-01-2022, 09:24 PM
And????

If you read the thread there was a conversation on players who have played for both us and Hearts. Not sure what you are getting wound up about.

24-01-2022, 09:53 PM
Thanks!
A bit before my days and ill at the moment, so couldn't really think.. just had a feeling we end up with duffers than good ones.

We've had a few duffers as well!! 😁

24-01-2022, 09:54 PM

Hopefully going to make more of impact than him.

1875Sean
24-01-2022, 09:55 PM
Wonder how much the fee was, seen on a Blackpool forum saying they got 300k

24-01-2022, 09:59 PM

When he’s out of contract in the summer? Absolutely no chance IMO.

Will be for less than £100k I reckon.

24-01-2022, 10:04 PM
To be honest the Blackpool forum is fairly complimentary about him

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

24-01-2022, 10:36 PM
Welcome Dmitri
Very funny welcome interrogation
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1485689861017247745?s=21

Well handled by the club that, put a good bit of humour into it .... who gives a **** who he played for before or what he said when he was there so long as he plays well for us.

24-01-2022, 10:51 PM

No chance

24-01-2022, 11:12 PM

The thread I read a week or so ago on the Blackpool forum didn't really rate him all that much and implied that he would be no great loss to them as he wasn't going to get back into the 1st team, but it was only 1 thread I read on him so others probably had a different opinion.

24-01-2022, 11:24 PM

A speedboat without a driver he’s been described in this thread…hmm now where have I heard a Hibs player described as that?

24-01-2022, 11:30 PM
A speedboat without a driver he’s been described in this thread…hmm now where have I heard a Hibs player described as that?

As long as he's not ivan sproule on a motorbike i'm happy :aok:

Crunchie
25-01-2022, 03:16 AM
Dundee fans weren’t bothered when Boyle signed for us. Hope Mitchell is similar.
Spot on :agree:. Welcome Demetri I'm looking forward to seeing you in the green and white :aok:

25-01-2022, 04:08 AM
[QUOTE=HoboHarry;6829684]Behave yourself lol. Dearie me......[/QUOTE

Exactly, what team signs a player on " might as well give it a go "

Absolute crap

25-01-2022, 05:36 AM
Like most, if not all of our signings, the jury is out until I've seen them play a few games. Initial thoughts are that Rocky and Mueller look real finds but don't want to Judge either way too soon. My Jambo mates say Mitchell was class before his injury. Sounds quite similar to what Blackpool fans were saying about him pre season. I'll give him a chance.

25-01-2022, 05:44 AM
[QUOTE=HoboHarry;6829684]Behave yourself lol. Dearie me......[/QUOTE

Exactly, what team signs a player on " might as well give it a go "

Absolute crap

Us under McLeish on the big adventure 😁

JXM73
25-01-2022, 07:53 AM
Is he injured yet? Hear these medicals can be tough going...

25-01-2022, 08:34 AM

Doig , Cummings, SDG , Stewart worked out no too bad

zitelli62
25-01-2022, 08:42 AM
Every jambo I spoke to said he is rubbish and a waste of money which tells me he's a good player.

25-01-2022, 08:57 AM
Doig , Cummings, SDG , Stewart worked out no too bad

:agree: Stewart was class imo. Played his best football with us.

BlackSheep
25-01-2022, 09:12 AM
The lad spent 10 years in the Man United Academy and even made it to the first team squad, that there says a lot, more than any Jambo related rubbish folk are spouting.

Was released by United during their long period of uncertainty and the club looking at buying success instead of breeding it.

Around 5 years ago he was touted as the next big thing at Man U and unfortunately for him the revolving door of management probably put pave to his progression.

Give him time, im sure he will be an asset.

25-01-2022, 09:18 AM
Every jambo I spoke to said he is rubbish and a waste of money which tells me he's a good player.

Exactly

Stokesy's on fire
25-01-2022, 09:23 AM

The fact they are calling him a rat and snake is also a good sign about his ability. They didnt cry as much when we signed Mullen for example. This one has broken them

Hibiza
25-01-2022, 10:07 AM
Welcome Sur - all the best.

25-01-2022, 10:11 AM
Well handled by the club that, put a good bit of humour into it .... who gives a **** who he played for before or what he said when he was there so long as he plays well for us.

If only people had the same opinion of Kevin Thomson.

25-01-2022, 10:12 AM

He went back to them when they where utter ***** and potter got sacked. He was hardly going to thrive as a youngster on loan going into that environment. Then he probably looked at our Daniel and ran back to Manchester.

25-01-2022, 10:13 AM

Don't think Demetri Mitchell has ever claimed to be a Hibs supporter though.

25-01-2022, 10:22 AM
Don't think Demetri Mitchell has ever claimed to be a Hibs supporter though.

His talking of pish is hopefully also of the past. Thomson is as prolific as ever in his efforts to pander to the hun hordes.

Alfiembra
25-01-2022, 10:49 AM
Just watched a YouTube interview for Soccer AM with Luke Shaw being asked who was the best singer in the Man Utd. squad and Dimitri gets his vote https://youtu.be/xYrMRI8b3AY jump to about 3:55 to hear him.

H18S NX
25-01-2022, 11:03 AM
Willie Wilson
Willie Hamilton....My alltime favourite player.

NC1875
25-01-2022, 11:16 AM

You’re joking right ? Mitchell once said “who are Hibs”

Thomshun on the other hand….

25-01-2022, 11:17 AM

You win todays whataboutery biscuit, for comparing Mitchell with an entirely different situation altogether.

25-01-2022, 11:17 AM
He will be a big threat at corners [emoji44]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220125/9ec770e1c0215db06c3a8ce2552d7347.jpg

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

25-01-2022, 11:23 AM
Think he’s decent at free kicks also so that’s a positive.

25-01-2022, 11:26 AM
I won't be satisfied until he forgets who Hearts are in a press conference. Disgrace. Maloney out.

25-01-2022, 11:31 AM
Some of our best signings in recent years have come from agents simply touting their players to us. Marciano for one wasn’t scouted, he came from an agent Lennon regularly used. Similarly the signings of Kamberi and McLaren were touted to us by ex-Pro Mark Fotheringham. For players under contract at clubs, without agents advising of us on their potentially availability they’d unlikely be on our radar.

Yup, that’s why I said it wasn’t a bad thing, just a bit strange.

Seems to have upset a few folk though.

25-01-2022, 11:44 AM
Yup, that’s why I said it wasn’t a bad thing, just a bit strange.

Seems to have upset a few folk though.

It’s not strange at all though, it’s entirely normal and happens at all levels of the game.

CLASS OF 72 -73
25-01-2022, 12:14 PM

how can you compare with Judas?:no way:

25-01-2022, 12:16 PM
Mitchell was right.

I often ask myself: Who are Hibs?

Stanton Spence
25-01-2022, 12:24 PM
If only people had the same opinion of Kevin Thomson.I don't think you can even compare with what Thomson continues spew out with what Mitchell said

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

25-01-2022, 12:31 PM
I don't think you can even compare with what Thomson continues spew out with what Mitchell said

Thomson got hounded for ten years when he made comments about Collins as a daft wee laddie.

If they do the job for the club it doesn't really matter what is said. Which could be the same as Thomson the manager also.

25-01-2022, 12:34 PM
Ralph Callachan. Eric Stevenson. Chris Shevlane. Jason Cummings. Not necessarily in that order.

Did you lift your glasses when you posted that?

😏

Stanton Spence
25-01-2022, 12:57 PM
Thomson got hounded for ten years when he made comments about Collins as a daft wee laddie.

If they do the job for the club it doesn't really matter what is said. Which could be the same as Thomson the manager also.Thomson still bangs the hun drum when it suits him
I agree with you on as long as he does the job for hibs now and I hope he does. He can bring us a bit more balance to the side at least

25-01-2022, 01:11 PM
The lad spent 10 years in the Man United Academy and even made it to the first team squad, that there says a lot, more than any Jambo related rubbish folk are spouting.

Was released by United during their long period of uncertainty and the club looking at buying success instead of breeding it.

Around 5 years ago he was touted as the next big thing at Man U and unfortunately for him the revolving door of management probably put pave to his progression.

Give him time, im sure he will be an asset.

Colin Murdock spent a few years at the Man U academy :flamed:

25-01-2022, 01:12 PM

As did John Rankin

25-01-2022, 01:16 PM

Coincidentally, Colin Murdock is his agent.

25-01-2022, 01:17 PM
As did John Rankin

As did David Gray. Case closed.

25-01-2022, 01:38 PM
Think he’s decent at free kicks also so that’s a positive.

different option if we have a lefty and a right standing over a free kick.

25-01-2022, 01:39 PM

Heh, good on him. To put it kindly big Col did not inspire the most confidence in the fans but he was quite the hero for majestically stroking away his penalty against EBT cheating Rangers with his left peg.

25-01-2022, 01:43 PM

He’s done really well as an agent. Got some big names under Murdoch Sports Management

25-01-2022, 01:45 PM
Heh, good on him. To put it kindly big Col did not inspire the most confidence in the fans but he was quite the hero for majestically stroking away his penalty against EBT cheating Rangers with his left peg.

Rangers need to score to win - Danny Anderson saves.

Up steps Murdoch (oh naw) scores.

De Boer - hits post.

Great night.

25-01-2022, 02:58 PM
Just like any player I will give them a chance before judging them. A winner next week would be a good start.

25-01-2022, 03:30 PM
Just like any player I will give them a chance before judging them. A winner next week would be a good start.

THey will go radge in never never land,if he scores.
Go on Demetri, make our day ! Score at the Dunbar End !

Stanton Spence
25-01-2022, 03:38 PM
There's a decent article in the Blackpool gazette about Mitchells time at Blackpool
I wasn't sure how his career went after leaving them but after reading the article it seems he was playing out off his skin pre season and was their top performer until an injury at Morecambe
I don't know how to post links but I found it on my news feed on my phone

25-01-2022, 03:45 PM
He’s done really well as an agent. Got some big names under Murdoch Sports Management

Endorsement from Maloney on their website.

w pilton hibby
25-01-2022, 03:46 PM
There's a decent article in the Blackpool gazette about Mitchells time at Blackpool
I wasn't sure how his career went after leaving them but after reading the article it seems he was playing out off his skin pre season and was their top performer until an injury at Morecambe

https://www.blackpoolgazette.co.uk/sport/football/blackpool-fc/demetri-mitchell-to-hibs-why-didnt-it-work-out-for-the-former-manchester-united-winger-at-blackpool-3540146]

25-01-2022, 04:10 PM

SS

Hope you can open links.! Is this the article you mention?

https://www.blackpoolgazette.co.uk/sport/football/blackpool-fc/demetri-mitchell-to-hibs-why-didnt-it-work-out-for-the-former-manchester-united-winger-at-blackpool-3540146

If not,it is still an interesting read about Demetri.

Stanton Spence
25-01-2022, 04:15 PM
SS

https://www.blackpoolgazette.co.uk/sport/football/blackpool-fc/demetri-mitchell-to-hibs-why-didnt-it-work-out-for-the-former-manchester-united-winger-at-blackpool-3540146

If not,it is still an interesting read about Demetri.I've mastered the opening Mick [emoji6]
Yes that's the article cheers [emoji1303]

BS44
25-01-2022, 04:22 PM

Loved the shaky leg run up - gave me a wet leg as I recall.

25-01-2022, 04:39 PM
I've mastered the opening Mick [emoji6]
Yes that's the article cheers [emoji1303]

I think WP Hibby added the same link
A few articles re Demitri in that newspapers archive,for those interested.

I think we may have won a watch here !!
I hope so anyway,as that was initially said of Brandon Barker !

Stanton Spence
25-01-2022, 05:18 PM
https://www.blackpoolgazette.co.uk/sport/football/blackpool-fc/demetri-mitchell-to-hibs-why-didnt-it-work-out-for-the-former-manchester-united-winger-at-blackpool-3540146]Cheers wp hibby I just noticed your reply [emoji1303]

davhibby
25-01-2022, 07:54 PM
Interesting that Maloney said in his interview that he wanted Mitchell as soon as he was given the job. So this is someone he’s been after specifically rather than someone Hibs have been looking at

25-01-2022, 08:18 PM
As did David Gray. Case closed.

Can we open it again with Michael Stewart?

26-01-2022, 01:07 AM
SS

If not,it is still an interesting read about Demetri.

He certainly seems to be unlucky with injuries. From that POV we are taking a punt on him I suppose, but he was decent going forward in his first spell with Hertz and seems to have been the same at Blackpool off and on. As for his decision making, Ivan Sproule was the poster boy for picking the wrong option and when he first came to Hibs Martin Boyle was the same though he improved quite a bit .... neither player ended up being considered a failure here, far from it in fact, and if Demitri can sort out that side of his game he could be a real asset.

As for his shooting .... I wouldn't worry about that, I can hardly think of any season out of the last 5 or so that Hibs have scored more than a tiny handful of goals from outside the box, in fact our woeful long range shooting has become a bit of a theme for quite a while now, so on that score Mr Mitchell should fit right in. :greengrin

In fact on a serious note ... how often do any of our players even attempt to shoot from distance, it hardly ever seems to happen, do they even practice it in training?

26-01-2022, 01:17 AM
He certainly seems to be unlucky with injuries. From that POV we are taking a punt on him I suppose, but he was decent going forward in his first spell with Hertz and seems to have been the same at Blackpool off and on. As for his decision making, Ivan Sproule was the poster boy for picking the wrong option and when he first came to Hibs Martin Boyle was the same though he improved quite a bit .... neither player ended up being considered a failure here, far from it in fact, and if Demitri can sort out that side of his game he could be a real asset.

As for his shooting .... I wouldn't worry about that, I can hardly think of any season out of the last 5 or so that Hibs have scored more than a tiny handful of goals from outside the box, in fact our woeful long range shooting has become a bit of a theme for quite a while now, so on that score Mr Mitchell should fit right in. :greengrin

In fact on a serious note ... how often do any of our players even attempt to shoot from distance, it hardly ever seems to happen, do they even practice it in training?

Oh come on now, Tam McManus scored a long range effort just a couple weeks ago no? 😉

26-01-2022, 01:31 AM

Not very often since Mallan left though Mueller looks like he's willing to shoot from distance, which I'm happy to see.

26-01-2022, 09:16 AM
Mitchell is comfortable on either wing, as a traditional left winger or cutting in from the right, he'll not be competition for Doig, he'll be used in attacking way. The benefit he brings is he's a decent wingback to cover Doig if needed.

26-01-2022, 10:50 AM
Mitchell is comfortable on either wing, as a traditional left winger or cutting in from the right, he'll not be competition for Doig, he'll be used in attacking way. The benefit he brings is he's a decent wingback to cover Doig if needed.

Yup. Mitchell is all about attacking.