View Full Version : Team vs Motherwell

24-01-2022, 03:24 PM
Big game on Wednesday with a win seeing us leapfrog Motherwell into 4th place and with hearts playing Celtic we need to close as much of the gap as possible so a must win for me.

Any team news? Be nice to have Porteous back and hopefully Rocky will be ready.

1875Sean
24-01-2022, 03:26 PM
Sure this will be Porto’s last game out but McGinn should be back

24-01-2022, 03:30 PM

Wonder if McGinn will take over the RCH position with Hanlon centre and Rocky on the Left?

24-01-2022, 03:31 PM

Oh ok im not sure. The winter break maybe playing tricks on me. Can someone confirm?

24-01-2022, 03:34 PM
Oh ok im not sure. The winter break maybe playing tricks on me. Can someone confirm?

Porto definitely out of this game. This is the last game of his suspension

24-01-2022, 03:39 PM
Porto definitely out of this game. This is the last game of his suspension

Ok thanks 👍 big miss for the way Maloney wants to play.

Bit harsh on lewis but I'd have a back 3 of

Mcginn Rocky Hanlon.

inglisavhibs
24-01-2022, 03:53 PM
Ok thanks 👍 big miss for the way Maloney wants to play.

Bit harsh on lewis but I'd have a back 3 of

Macey
Rocky, McGinn, Hanlon
Cadden, JDH,Newall, Doig
Henderson or Campbell (Henderson looked a bit lightweight on Thursday but Campbell had probably his worst game in a while)
Mueller, Nisbet.

24-01-2022, 04:02 PM
Is Melkerson definitely out of this game?

BlackSheep
24-01-2022, 04:09 PM
If the news that he was injured today in a bounce game is true then I would assume so

24-01-2022, 04:25 PM
Macey

McGinn
Rocky
Hanlon

Cadden
?
?
Doig

Mueller
Nisbet
Murphy

Have no idea about the middle of the park. It can’t be Newell and JDH together. The problem is I don’t think Campbell is very good either, though he’s a bit different so him with one of the other two probably the best bet for me.

Hibees1973
24-01-2022, 04:35 PM
Macey

McGinn
Rocky
Hanlon

Cadden
?
?
Doig

Mueller
Nisbet
Murphy

Have no idea about the middle of the park. It can’t be Newell and JDH together. The problem is I don’t think Campbell is very good either, though he’s a bit different so him with one of the other two probably the best bet for me.

Please anyone but Murphy....wrote him off after his inept display in the League Cup Final. Get his sort out of the building

24-01-2022, 04:56 PM
Please anyone but Murphy....wrote him off after his inept display in the League Cup Final. Get his sort out of the building

Aye so did I but he’s done all right since then. Nothing spectacular but I’m not sure we have a better, available, option in that position.

24-01-2022, 05:01 PM
Aye so did I but he’s done all right since then. Nothing spectacular but I’m not sure we have a better, available, option in that position.

Henderson?

24-01-2022, 05:01 PM
………….…………Macey…………………

……..McGinn….Rocky….Hanlon…..

Cadden……JDH…….Newell…..Doig….

…………Mueller…………..Wright……

……………………..Nisbet………

Is what I think we’ll see.

Really need to add some creative players with skill and pace.

I look at that and don’t have a huge amount of faith we’ll create loads. Loss of Boyle is huge.

24-01-2022, 05:04 PM
Macey

Mcginn
Rocky
Hanlon

Cadden
JDH/Newell
Campbell
Doig

Mueller
Nisbet
Henderson

24-01-2022, 05:06 PM
Macey

McGinn Hanlon Rocky

Cadden Newell Stevenson Doig

Henderson Mueller

Nisbet

24-01-2022, 05:08 PM
Macey

Mcginn
Rocky
Hanlon

Cadden
Newell
JDH
Doig

Mueller
Doidge
Wright

24-01-2022, 07:23 PM
Macey

McGinn
Rocky
Hanlon

Cadden
?
?
Doig

Mueller
Nisbet
Murphy

I agree that Campbell has been poor in the last 2 games. But to be fair he’s had spells playing centre midfield, left wing back and right centre back in those games.

I’d give him another chance at centre midfield alongside Newell. Ideally we’d be looking to bring in a replacement before the window closes but I can’t see that happening.

24-01-2022, 07:40 PM
........................macey...................
........rocky........hanlon...........mcginn
Cadden............................................ ....doig
......................newell......Henderson
..........Mueller................................. ..Murphy/Scott
............................Nisbet

(I'd still prefere to give doidge another run)

Saint Hibee
24-01-2022, 08:32 PM
We really do lack positive, attacking creativity in midfield. Hopefully Henderson can provide some.

24-01-2022, 09:29 PM
Hopefully this is the game where we start to look a bit more creative and fashion some more chances with positive forward thinking play.

It's taking a while for that part to click, which is understandable, I'm just looking forward to when it does.

Dazzjw1875
25-01-2022, 05:01 AM
Macey
Mcginn Rocky hanlon
Newell
Cadden Doig
Henderson
Mueller Mitchell
Doidge

25-01-2022, 05:52 AM
Drey Wright should be in the team IMO, he’s done well under Maloney and deserves his chance to get an extended run of games.

25-01-2022, 07:03 AM
We really do lack positive, attacking creativity in midfield. Hopefully Henderson can provide some.

Agree, and it’s glaringly obvious too. Wide players are great, but you need that drive and urgency through the middle. I don’t see anyone doing that and none of the new signings offer it. There’s definitely no budding SJM’s out there that come cheap, but we need one. Magennis is possibly the answer but he’s so injury prone he’s unreliable in that sense.

Highwayman
25-01-2022, 08:46 AM
Beware,Motherwell at Fir Park on what will probably be a dreich January night.
Motherwell’s tactics won’t be any surprise.They are a team that don’t take prisoners and fully exploit any weaknesses they might detect.
Maloney seems to have high ideals as to how he wants his teams to play.But he needs to learn and learn fast that good managers have to be pragmatic and adapt accordingly.
In order for Hibs to win this game they first must win the battles all over the field
On that basis I would go with a very flexible 3-4-3

Macey
McGinn,Bushiri,Hanlon
Cadden,Doyle-Hayes,Campbell,Mackie,
Mueller,Doidge,Nisbet

The inclusion of Mackie might be a surprise,but Maloney has been fair in wanting to have a look at fringe players and this might be his chance to assess Mackie.

25-01-2022, 08:52 AM
Mackie in.
Campbell ahead of Newall.
Not so much.....

25-01-2022, 09:20 AM
Wonder if we might see Magennis on the bench? Maybe too soon. Promising that he played in the bounce game.

HendoDelivered
25-01-2022, 09:55 AM
Marcey

McGinn
Bushiri
Hanlon

Cadden
Hendo
Newell
Wright
Mitchell

Nisbet
Doidge

Hibby-G
25-01-2022, 10:03 AM
Macey

McGinn
Rocky
Hanlon

Cadden
Newell
Campbell
JDH
Stevenson

Mueller
Nisbet

25-01-2022, 10:53 AM
Wonder if we might see Magennis on the bench? Maybe too soon. Promising that he played in the bounce game.

Did he play in the bounce game yesterday

25-01-2022, 10:59 AM

Apparently he did mate

Inconsequential
25-01-2022, 10:59 AM
Beware,Motherwell at Fir Park on what will probably be a dreich January night.
Motherwell’s tactics won’t be any surprise.They are a team that don’t take prisoners and fully exploit any weaknesses they might detect.
Maloney seems to have high ideals as to how he wants his teams to play.But he needs to learn and learn fast that good managers have to be pragmatic and adapt accordingly.
In order for Hibs to win this game they first must win the battles all over the field
On that basis I would go with a very flexible 3-4-3

Macey
McGinn,Bushiri,Hanlon
Cadden,Doyle-Hayes,Campbell,Mackie,
Mueller,Doidge,Nisbet

The inclusion of Mackie might be a surprise,but Maloney has been fair in wanting to have a look at fringe players and this might be his chance to assess Mackie. Reports suggest that Mackie is surplus and will be let go.

25-01-2022, 11:08 AM
Apparently he did mate

That's great new for Kyle and Hibs. Plenty of games coming up to ease him back in

25-01-2022, 11:38 AM

Apparantly so according to another poster. Would be a big boost.

25-01-2022, 11:41 AM
That's great new for Kyle and Hibs. Plenty of games coming up to ease him back in

Yep. No rush. Let’s get him properly fit.

Souter96Mac
25-01-2022, 12:15 PM
I'd like to see

Macey
McGinn Rocky Hanlon
Cadden JDH Newell Doig
Henderson
Mueller Nisbet

Hopefully Rocky is fit for this one after not being in the squad for Cove.

Like many others, I don't like us playing JDH & Newell together, but I've not been too whelmed with Campbell last couple games - albeit he's been played in different positions.

Would like to see more of Henderson in that number 10 position, see what he has to offer in attack.

Would leave a bench of

Dabrowski
Stevenson
Hallberg
Wright
Mitchell
Murphy
Allan
Scott
Doidge

Although would be great to see Magennis on the bench too

25-01-2022, 05:29 PM
Would be great to see Nisbet and Doidge start up front tomorrow
Think we’ve got at least 4 players to add to the squad for the game, from the Cove game
McGinn
Mitchell
Rocky?
Bradley

Magennis an outside bet

allmodcons
25-01-2022, 05:48 PM
Drey Wright should be in the team IMO, he’s done well under Maloney and deserves his chance to get an extended run of games.

Not for me.

He's done OK (just) under Maloney but if he is the standard of player that is starting for us that would be concerning for me.

25-01-2022, 05:55 PM
Not for me.

He's done OK (just) under Maloney but if he is the standard of player that is starting for us that would be concerning for me.

I agree. Didn’t do much wrong against either Celtic or Utd, but we need players in that position who are going to influence things in the final third and I don’t see him doing that. Think that is a poison that’s up for grabs as nobody really shown any consistency.

AL-Qaholik
25-01-2022, 06:10 PM
Macey
McGinn Rocky Hanlon
Cadden Henderson Newell Doig
Mueller……………….Mitchell
Nisbet/Doidge
(can’t decide…)

Green Reaper
25-01-2022, 06:17 PM
Macey
McGinn Rocky Hanlon
Mueller……………….Mitchell
Nisbet/Doidge
(can’t decide…)

This for me, with Nisbet over Doidge

25-01-2022, 06:32 PM
Macey

McGinn
Hanlon
Stevenson

Cadden
JDH
Newell
Doig

Mueller
Wright

Doidge

Stevenson and Wright start, they’ve probably settled best into the way Maloney wants to play.

Some decent options off the bench too.

JammyDoidger
25-01-2022, 06:46 PM
Stuff the way Maloney wants to play. We need our best team on the park and that for me is doidge and nisbet together.

A goalie

Mcginn
Bushiri
Hanlon

Cadden
Newell
Campbell
Doig

Mueller

Doidge
Nisbet

1875Sean
25-01-2022, 09:23 PM
Would be great to see Nisbet and Doidge start up front tomorrow
Think we’ve got at least 4 players to add to the squad for the game, from the Cove game
McGinn
Mitchell
Rocky?
Bradley

Magennis an outside bet

Would love to see nisbet and doidge start, my only worry is the system maloney likes to use I don’t see it unless nisbet drops off the front

25-01-2022, 09:30 PM
Macey

Rocky hanlon Stevenson

Cadden Henderson Doig

Mueller Mitchell

Nisbit
Doidge

IncredibleHibee
25-01-2022, 09:34 PM
Macey
McGinn Rocky Hanlon
Mueller……………….Mitchell
Nisbet/Doidge
(can’t decide…)

This for me. Nisbet would probably edge it over Doidge but only just

26-01-2022, 07:37 AM
Not for me.

He's had what, 2 games? He did well against United, nobody particularly shone against Celtic.

I hope Maloney gives him at least more of a chance than Hibs.net does.

Macey
Bushiri Hanlon Stevenson
Cadden JDH Newall Doig
Mueller Doidge Wright

26-01-2022, 07:47 AM
He's had what, 2 games? He did well against United, nobody particularly shone against Celtic.

Macey
Bushiri Hanlon Stevenson
Cadden JDH Newall Doig
Mueller Doidge Wright

I hope Maloney plays someone that is likely to score or create something, which is pretty important in that position. If it’s him, great, not sure it will be though.

26-01-2022, 07:51 AM

Macey
Bushiri Hanlon Stevenson
Cadden JDH Newall Doig
Mueller Doidge Wright

What has Doidge done since returning from injury to warrant a place a head of Nisbet? Doidge has looked well off it since returning.

26-01-2022, 07:55 AM
A few more options starting to open up.

Macey

Rocky
Hanlon
Lewis

Cadden
Newall
JDH
Doig

Mueller
Nisbet
Mitchell.

That will do for me.

26-01-2022, 07:56 AM
What has Doidge done since returning from injury to warrant a place a head of Nisbet? Doidge has looked well off it since returning.

Thought he did well against Cove. How can you get match fit getting 10 mins here and there

26-01-2022, 07:57 AM
Maloney said Mitchell prob won’t start , guess he’ll be on the bench come on to score the winner

26-01-2022, 07:58 AM

Actually thought done well against Cove and looked a goal threat. On another day he’s scoring at least 2.

Wrongly flagged for offside when 1 v 1
Wrongly flagged for offside when he scored
Header just past post
Overhead kick

I was quite happy the positions he was getting into.

26-01-2022, 08:14 AM
Actually thought done well against Cove and looked a goal threat. On another day he’s scoring at least 2.

Header just past post
Overhead kick

On another day we’re unlikely to be playing against League 1 opposition.

26-01-2022, 08:14 AM

Header just past post
Overhead kick

I agree, he scored a perfectly good goal and looked a real danger until he ran out of steam. Needs more minutes.

26-01-2022, 08:29 AM

Before Thursday he'd played something like 30 minutes in total since returning from injury. That's what he'd done.

26-01-2022, 08:36 AM

Scored a perfectly legitimate goal against Cove, only an incompetent official stopped that. He needs minutes, Nisbet IMO is still very valuable but has needed a rest of some sort for a long time.

26-01-2022, 08:48 AM
Is a must win game away to the team directly above us the right time to give someone minutes to play themselves into fitness?

Nisbet will be starting tonight.

26-01-2022, 08:49 AM
Scored a perfectly legitimate goal against Cove, only an incompetent official stopped that. He needs minutes, Nisbet IMO is still very valuable but has needed a rest of some sort for a long time.

Appreciate what you’re saying but I’d start Nisbet again tonight. Hopefully can continue where he left-off with grabbing that late goal against Cove.

Be nice to get a couple of goals ahead (wishful thinking maybe) and then that’s the time to get minutes into players. This would be a huge 3 points.

26-01-2022, 09:05 AM
Is a must win game away to the team directly above us the right time to give someone minutes to play themselves into fitness?

Is it a time for Nisbet to play himself into form though?

It's probably the biggest problem position in the team and there is risk involved with whoever we pick.

I reckon we've got more chance of getting Doidge fit than we have of getting Nisbet to link the play, make decent runs to get on the end of crosses or score a header.

26-01-2022, 09:14 AM

Digging yourself into a hole now
I never said Nisbet shouldn’t start, but Hibs and Kevin are a better team with Doidge plays. He’s fit and ready to play now

26-01-2022, 09:26 AM
Digging yourself into a hole now
I never said Nisbet shouldn’t start, but Hibs and Kevin are a better team with Doidge plays. He’s fit and ready to play now

My original post was in response to someone who said Doidge should start ahead of Nisbet and all my posts have been in reference to that. I haven’t responded to any of your posts.

26-01-2022, 09:44 AM
Macey

Rocky hanlon Stevenson

Cadden Henderson Doig

Mueller Mitchell

Nisbit
Doidge

Only 1 central midfielder and he is more noted for his technical ability than his physical. Not for me although with the attacking strength in there it could end up another 6-6 game. Would certainly be exciting to watch:agree:

26-01-2022, 09:55 AM
Can Nisbet and Doidge both play in Maloney's formation? Doidge as the main striker and Nisbet as one of the inside forwards in the 3?

Nisbet already drops off into deep areas to pick up the ball and usually does well to quickly release it to wide players in space. He might be quite suited to doing it, and there's no question that he plays better when Doidge is on the park taking some of the heat off of him from the defenders.

Obviously we'd lose some of the benefits of a true midfielder in there but I wonder if it might be the right move to try and get us fashioning more chances and scoring more goals?

26-01-2022, 10:27 AM
Nisbet could play wide, he has it in his bag but maybe not the most effective use of his skills?

…………………………Macey………………………….

……….McGinn…….Rocky………Hanlon………

Cadden……..Newall……Henderson……….Doig

…………Nisbet…….Doidge……Mueller…………..

Key West
26-01-2022, 10:38 AM
Macey

McGinn
Bushiri
Hanlon
Doig

Cadden
Doyle-Hayes
Newell
Henderson

Mueller

Nisbet

26-01-2022, 10:43 AM
Nisbet could play wide, he has it in his bag but maybe not the most effective use of his skills?

…………………………Macey………………………….

……….McGinn…….Rocky………Hanlon………

Cadden……..Newall……Henderson……….Doig

…………Nisbet…….Doidge……Mueller…………..

I like that team for today's match. Maybe could do with more of a physical presence than Henderson but I also like the idea of a more creative player central.

RE Nisbet - I think the reason it could work is that the "wide" players in the front thee aren't actually used as wingers in Maloney's 343 set up. The width comes entirely from the wing backs which in theory allows the two either side of the front 3 to float in spaces a bit more central.

They'd definitely end up out wide at certain points of the match but it wouldn't be like playing him as an out and out wide man or on the wing.

26-01-2022, 10:47 AM
Macey

McGinn Bushiri Hanlon
Cadden JDH Newell Doig
Mitchell Mueller
Nisbet

26-01-2022, 10:50 AM
Macey

McGinn Bushiri Hanlon
Cadden JDH Newell Doig
Mitchell Mueller
Nisbet

This will be the team except Wright, Murphy or Henderson will be starting in place of Mitchell.

26-01-2022, 10:52 AM
Really excited to see Mueller again tonight. Was very impressed last week.

26-01-2022, 11:00 AM
This will be the team except Wright, Murphy or Henderson will be starting in place of Mitchell.

That’s what I thought when I heard maloney say Mitchel might be too soon for tonight. But part of me hopes he chucks him in for element of surprise.

26-01-2022, 11:02 AM
Macey

McGinn Bushiri Hanlon
Cadden JDH Newell Doig
Mitchell Mueller
Nisbet

I know Mitchell apparently isn’t featuring tonight, but aren’t him and Cadden more likely to play the other way round in terms of how far up the pitch they are?

Or am I thinking of the wrong ex jambo?

BlackSheep
26-01-2022, 12:07 PM
A mate of mine just messaged me to say he had heard Hanlon was injured for tonight....? anyone else heard anything?

26-01-2022, 12:24 PM
That’s all we need, Paul injured

26-01-2022, 01:53 PM
A mate of mine just messaged me to say he had heard Hanlon was injured for tonight....? anyone else heard anything?

Hope not that wud be a mare

26-01-2022, 02:33 PM

I'm sure he took a sore one late on blocking a shot against Cove could be related to that

yerauldda
26-01-2022, 02:54 PM
If Hanlon it’s fit. I reckon it’ll be:

Macey
McGinn Rocky Hanlon
Cadden JDH Newell Doig
Mueller Nisbet Henderson

26-01-2022, 03:11 PM
I’d like to see him play the best players and for me that involves playing two up top.

But I think he has his system and will try to fit players into it rather than the other way around.

I hope it doesn’t bite him if he does. Lets see.

26-01-2022, 03:22 PM
I’d like to see him play the best players and for me that involves playing two up top.

But I think he has his system and will try to fit players into it rather than the other way around.

I agree Alex. Regardless of the manager's preferred style, he has to work with what he has at the moment and a blunt attack (even more since we 've lost Boyle's goals) won't keep winning games.

You would hope Maloney recognises this and will be more flexible in his tactical approach.

I have no idea what the team will be, but hopefully it features Bushiri, Mueller, Henderson, Mitchell and Melkerson, either starting or from the bench. The team is desperately in need of more options.

26-01-2022, 03:31 PM

I think from the team picked on Thursday it's clear it's system first, players second.

26-01-2022, 03:37 PM
I think from the team picked on Thursday it's clear it's system first, players second.

Yup. If it isn’t working hopefully he recognises that and shows flexibility or it could be a short lived appointment. I hate to be so negative this early, it’s just a concern based on what I’ve seen.

I agree Alex. Regardless of the manager's preferred style, he has to work with what he has at the moment and a blunt attack (even more since we 've lost Boyle's goals) won't keep winning games.

You would hope Maloney recognises this and will be more flexible in his tactical approach.

I have no idea what the team will be, but hopefully it features Bushiri, Mueller, Henderson, Mitchell and Melkerson, either starting or from the bench. The team is desperately in need of more options.

Hopefully mate

26-01-2022, 03:49 PM

I think that team showed he was keen on giving as many players a shot as possible.

26-01-2022, 03:51 PM
[QUOTE=Alex Trager;6831255]Yup. If it isn’t working hopefully he recognises that and shows flexibility or it could be a short lived appointment. I hate to be so negative this early, it’s just a concern based on what

Forgettinf tbat Doidge goal shouldve been given onside which would have seen us comfortable. Nisbet not firing and Boyle gone we could be a bit more understanding, no.

26-01-2022, 03:51 PM
Yup. If it isn’t working hopefully he recognises that and shows flexibility or it could be a short lived appointment. I hate to be so negative this early, it’s just a concern based on what I’ve seen.

Hopefully mate

Wow that seems incredibly negative given how short in his tenure we are. Things take time to change.

26-01-2022, 04:06 PM
Wow that seems incredibly negative given how short in his tenure we are. Things take time to change.

Fingers crossed chief

26-01-2022, 04:11 PM
I think that team showed he was keen on giving as many players a shot as possible.

Yeah but by playing players out of position it’s not giving the best opportunity.

26-01-2022, 04:26 PM

Hasn’t Shaun already been on record saying that Mitchell and Melkerson will not be near the squad for a wee while until their fitness is up and they’ve been through the tactical coaching?

BlackSheep
26-01-2022, 04:27 PM
Hasn’t Shaun already been on record saying that Mitchell and Melkerson will not be near the squad for a wee while until their fitness is up and they’ve been through the tactical coaching?

Mitchell is in the squad for tonight but may not see any game time…. It was in Maloney’s pre match interview.

K-Zazu
26-01-2022, 04:32 PM
Play 2 strikers

26-01-2022, 04:33 PM
Get as many of the new players on the pitch as possible, they’ll be full of optimism and raring to go.

Let’s freshen things up and see what they can do.

26-01-2022, 04:33 PM
Nisbet does have pace to get on the end of all the great crosses that Cadden and Doig deliver across the six yard line. Doidge seems to lack that. In recent years we’ve had a wee striker such as Griffiths, Cummings and Maclaren meeting cross balls.

I’d like to see Mueller in the 6-yard box role

ThatDayInMay
26-01-2022, 04:38 PM
New song suggestion 👀?

When you score you make the Hibees sing,
Mueller on the Wing,
Mueller, Mueller on the wing,
Every time you’re on the ball we know,
There’s gonna be a goal,
Our superstar from Orlando.

🇺🇸

https://twitter.com/herecelts/status/1484468849017769985?s=21

26-01-2022, 04:45 PM
New song suggestion 👀?

Mueller on the Wing,
There’s gonna be a goal,

🇺🇸

It’s a no from me I’m afraid.

We don’t need to nick anything from that lot, least not their sh** songs.

26-01-2022, 04:58 PM
New song suggestion 👀?

Mueller on the Wing,
There’s gonna be a goal,

🇺🇸

I like it

https://twitter.com/mentorred/status/1422148007039053827?s=21 Personally still prefer this as it’s very catchy.

Give it give it give it to Christopher Mueller
Pass him the ball and he’ll score all the goals

26-01-2022, 05:00 PM

Mitchell has been playing at Blackpool. Making appearances off the bench and starting since he returned from injury.

9 9/25/21 H Blackpool FC (18.) Barnsley FC Barnsley FC (17.) 1:0 7'
10 9/28/21 A Blackpool FC (13.) Hull City Hull City (23.) 1:1 LM 1 62'
11 10/2/21 H Blackpool FC (15.) Blackburn Rovers Blackburn (6.) 2:1 on the bench
12 10/16/21 A Blackpool FC (11.) Nottingham Forest Nottm Forest (16.) 2:1 LM 28'
13 10/20/21 A Blackpool FC (14.) Reading FC Reading (17.) 2:3 LM 57' 68'
14 10/23/21 H Blackpool FC (11.) Preston North End Preston (17.) 2:0 2'
15 10/30/21 A Blackpool FC (11.) Sheffield United Sheff Utd (13.) 0:1 27'
16 11/3/21 H Blackpool FC (6.) Stoke City Stoke City (9.) 0:1 RM 79'
17 11/6/21 H Blackpool FC (10.) Queens Park Rangers QPR (5.) 1:1 11'
18 11/20/21 A Blackpool FC (10.) Swansea City Swansea (12.) 1:1 RM 66'
19 11/23/21 H Blackpool FC (10.) West Bromwich Albion West Brom (3.) 0:0 Not in squad
20 11/27/21 A Blackpool FC (11.) Birmingham City Birmingham (17.) 1:0 LM 68'
21 12/4/21 H Blackpool FC (11.) Luton Town Luton (15.) 0:3 RM 59'
22 12/11/21 A Blackpool FC (15.) Derby County Derby (24.) 1:0 Not in squad
23 12/18/21 H Blackpool FC (17.) Peterborough United Peterborough (22.) 3:1 Not in squad
24 12/26/21 A Blackpool FC (14.) Huddersfield Town Huddersfield (10.) 3:2 8'
25 12/29/21 H Blackpool FC (14.) Middlesbrough FC Middlesbrough (7.) 1:2 1'
26 1/1/22 H Blackpool FC (14.) Hull City Hull City (19.) 1:0 on the bench
27 1/15/22 A Blackpool FC (14.) Barnsley FC Barnsley FC (23.) -:- Information not yet available

Squad: 15, Starting eleven: 6, Substituted in: 7, On the bench: 2, Suspended: 0, Injured: 0

JammyDoidger
26-01-2022, 05:01 PM
New song suggestion 👀?

Mueller on the Wing,
There’s gonna be a goal,

🇺🇸

Superb

26-01-2022, 05:04 PM

Not really a wowser or that negative though really, is it?

If Maloney can't get the best out of what he has, then it'll not work. Certainly until he has time to sign his own players etc, he will need to be pragmatic and compromise.

26-01-2022, 05:06 PM
New song suggestion 👀?

Mueller on the Wing,
There’s gonna be a goal,

🇺🇸

That is horrendous

26-01-2022, 05:10 PM
Not really a wowser or that negative though really, is it?

If Maloney can't get the best out of what he has, then it'll not work. Certainly until he has time to sign his own players etc, he will need to be pragmatic and compromise.

Mentioning he may be a short term appointment after 4 games.

26-01-2022, 05:13 PM
Mentioning he may be a short term appointment after 4 games.

I don't think it was a voice of doom moment.

26-01-2022, 05:24 PM
This chat about Maloney is brutal.

He’s won 3/4 games including United and Aberdeen who were above us in the league.

26-01-2022, 05:32 PM
Team confirmed

……………………… Macey……………..

……….McGinn…Rocky…Stevenson….

Cadden……JDH………….Newell……Doig…

………………Mueller………..Campbell….

……………………….Nisbet…..

Hanlon out injured now. McGinn returns.

JamesHFC
26-01-2022, 05:32 PM
Paul McGinn is no longer vice captain I assume.

26-01-2022, 05:33 PM
Stevenson as captain, I approve…

26-01-2022, 05:33 PM
We really have been punished by Porteous silly ban

26-01-2022, 05:35 PM
I really dont see what campbell brings to the team but the manager clearly does

26-01-2022, 05:35 PM
No sure where the creativity is coming from.

26-01-2022, 05:36 PM
Not good news that Hanlon’s injured.

Missing porteous. Also might’ve went with Henderson ahead of Campbell who’s been pretty poor recently

BlackSheep
Team confirmed

……………………… Macey……………..

……….McGinn…Rocky…Stevenson….

Cadden……JDH………….Newell……Doig…

………………Mueller………..Campbell….

……………………….Nisbet…..

Hanlon out injured now. McGinn returns.

Seems Hanlon being injured was true then.

No matter what anyone says about Maloney he’s not had it easy

Porteous missing 3/5
McGinn missing 2/5
Rocky signs and is only fit for 1
Clarke signs and immediately injured
Hanlon now out injured
Sign a striker who can’t get a work permit

He’s had to reshuffle the team a lot.

I really hope this post comes back to bite me on the arse but I don’t get why Campbell keeps starting when games continually pass him by without him really contributing anything.

He doesn’t do anything wrong, he just doesn’t really do anything.

Absolutely posting this hoping it works as a sort of reverse hex, but I still think it as well though.

26-01-2022, 05:37 PM
. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220126/8472555b4a21ad9cf5490574ee81fcdd.jpg

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

26-01-2022, 05:38 PM
No matter what anyone says about Maloney he’s not had it easy

Porteous missing 3/5
McGinn missing 2/5
Rocky signs and is only fit for 1
Clarke signs and immediately injured
Hanlon now out injured
Sign a striker who can’t get a work permit

He’s had to reshuffle the team a lot.

Tbf he’s signed a striker who he knew probably wouldn’t have been fit and ready to go. I have no doubt it’s a great signing but in January you really need players who’re coming in to be fit and ready to go

26-01-2022, 05:38 PM
Stevenson as captain, I approve…

26-01-2022, 05:39 PM
I really hope this post comes back to bite me on the arse but I don’t get why Campbell keeps starting when games continually pass him by without him really contributing anything.

Absolutely posting this hoping it works as a sort of reverse hex, but I still think it as well though.

I actually like him because he plays forward, gets in the opposition face and takes a risk.

Against cove he played the pass to Doidge which put him 1v1 and got wrongfully flagged offside. If that was Allan people would be raving for it.

He also won the ball for Doidge’s offside goal from pressing high and aggressively.

26-01-2022, 05:41 PM
Motherwell’s front 3 of Van Veen, Robert’s and shields will be a handful.

Need to stop the supply to them and stop them early.

hfcok
26-01-2022, 05:43 PM
Does he not like Big Daz?, or is he carrying a knock as well

Crunchie
26-01-2022, 05:44 PM
. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220126/8472555b4a21ad9cf5490574ee81fcdd.jpg

When was HAnlon injured and how long's he out for?

26-01-2022, 05:44 PM
Really hope I'm wrong but don't fancy us at all tonight with that team...we look pretty weak at back and no idea where the creativity comes from...hope like hell I'm wrong tho obviously

Crunchie
26-01-2022, 05:46 PM
Really hope I'm wrong but don't fancy us at all tonight with that team...we look pretty weak at back and no idea where the creativity comes from...hope like hell I'm wrong tho obviously
I have to say I thought the same but that's usually when we turn in a performance, here's hoping :aok:

26-01-2022, 05:47 PM
Is no-one brave enough to start an official match thread?

26-01-2022, 05:48 PM
I actually like him because he plays forward, gets in the opposition face and takes a risk.

Against cove he played the pass to Doidge which put him 1v1 and got wrongfully flagged offside. If that was Allan people would be raving for it.

He also won the ball for Doidge’s offside goal from pressing high and aggressively.

Fair enough, you might be right.

He maybe needs to die his hair bleach blonde or something so I notice him more 😂

26-01-2022, 05:48 PM
is no-one brave enough to start an official match thread?

booooooooooooooo

26-01-2022, 05:51 PM

Likewise, hard to get excited about that line up to be honest.

26-01-2022, 05:52 PM

on a positive note, you would think that cadden , DH, Newwell, Doig and Campbell would be getting their heads around what Maloney wants them to do. If we just change the midfield every game then that won’t happen.

Mueller, Doig and Cadden are are very capable of creating, we just need Nisbet to get on the end of the crosses. Could be fun to see Doidge and Mitchell coming on in the 2nd half too.

( plus Rocky will score an outrageous goal from a corner tonight)

26-01-2022, 05:53 PM
Not much else we could do personal wise

Hanlon and porto are big losses

26-01-2022, 05:54 PM

Our bench is now noticeably stronger. And that is without Hanlon, Porto, Magennis and Melkersen.

on a positive note, you would think that cadden , DH, Newwell, Doig and Campbell would be getting their heads around what Maloney wants them to do. If we just change the midfield every game then that won’t happen.

Mueller, Doig and Cadden are are very capable of creating, we just need Nisbet to get on the end of the crosses. Could be fun to see Doidge and Mitchell coming on in the 2nd half too.

Very true here's hoping

Our bench is now noticeably stronger. And that is without Hanlon, Porto, Magennis and Melkersen.

No Clarke yet neither

26-01-2022, 05:55 PM

Agree about Mueller, Doig and Cadden, plenty creativity in those players.

Hopefully Campbell has a good game tonight. Thought he looked great his first few games but really struggled recently.

Our bench is now noticeably stronger. And that is without Hanlon, Porto, Magennis and Melkersen.Yep, considering the players we are missing (Clarke too) squad looks much better

it's astonishing how many injuries we've had in the last 18+ months, i can't remember anything like this

EVENTUALLY
Have a feeling Campbell may partner Rocky in the centre of defence.

26-01-2022, 05:56 PM
It’s only 2 different from the team I picked, Rocky in for Hanlon and Campbell in for Wright so I shouldn’t complain, especially as one of those was enforced.

Campbell appears to be a favourite which is a bit strange. I don’t think he’s a bad player but he’s been shoehorned in all over the place so far when there were more obvious solutions available.

Can’t say I’m confident and I don’t love the approach where we wedge players into a system but I guess we’ve got to go with it.

Not sure where Campbell plays unless Maloney has changed the formation.

Back three of Stevenson, Rocky and McGinn I'd have thought?

26-01-2022, 05:57 PM
Paul McGinn is no longer vice captain I assume.

Wonder why ?

26-01-2022, 05:58 PM
Wonder why ?

Good point actually, didn't even think about that.

26-01-2022, 05:59 PM

No chance

EVENTUALLY
26-01-2022, 05:59 PM
Back three of Stevenson, Rocky and McGinn I'd have thought?

Mcginn and Lewis as full backs
Rocky and Campbell in centre of defence
Cadden and Doig out wide
JDH and Newall in midfield
Nisbet and Mueller up front

EVENTUALLY
26-01-2022, 06:01 PM
No chance

Moved back to central defence in ET v Cove

26-01-2022, 06:02 PM
Mcginn and Lewis as full backs
Rocky and Campbell in centre of defence
Cadden and Doig out wide
JDH and Newall in midfield
Nisbet and Mueller up front

I reckon it'll be

Stevenson, Rocky, McGinn back three
Doig left wing back, Cadden right wing back
Newell, JDH and Campbell in the middle
Nisbet and Mueller up top

Be interesting to see how we line up.

Sioux
26-01-2022, 06:03 PM
Not sure where Campbell plays unless Maloney has changed the formation.

A midfield 3.

chi-bee
26-01-2022, 06:03 PM
New song suggestion 👀?

Mueller on the Wing,
There’s gonna be a goal,

🇺🇸

For potentially selfish reasons, I'd change Orlando to Chicago (though I'd catch a lot of flack from my mates for suggesting Schaumburg is Chicago).

26-01-2022, 06:07 PM
Not much else we could do personal wise

Hanlon and porto are big losses

Defensively, no issue. But don’t see any creativity and there are options there for that.

Stanton Spence
26-01-2022, 06:12 PM
Defensively, no issue. But don’t see any creativity and there are options there for that.I agree mate and would maybe have put Mitchell straight in and played him up front on the left instead of the 3 in the middle and left Campbell out , seems more balanced to me

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

ddoc
26-01-2022, 06:19 PM
The BBC has Hallberg in place of Campbell, and he is not listed as a sub.

Hanny
26-01-2022, 06:22 PM
The BBC has Hallberg in place of Campbell, and he is not listed as a sub.

So have the Sky Sports app

26-01-2022, 06:28 PM
Defensively, no issue. But don’t see any creativity and there are options there for that.What would you do offensively

26-01-2022, 06:31 PM
....?

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220126/90e4fdd4a5fad0ee2c35e744b4790418.jpg

26-01-2022, 06:32 PM
No Clarke yet neither

He's out injured, 6 to 8 weeks

26-01-2022, 06:34 PM
This chat about Maloney is brutal.

He’s won 3/4 games including United and Aberdeen who were above us in the league.

It’s too early to be suggesting anything - we should be supporting him while he finds his feet.

The 3/4 can’t be used as a reason he’s sussed it though. He lost his only big game in charge after all. :wink:

26-01-2022, 08:57 PM

Reverse hex never worked. Another game exactly as predicted from Campbell. Never did anything wrong but just doesn’t do anything.

Drey Wright managed to come on and do even less which was some achievement.

If either of them are anywhere near our team we won’t achieve anything IMO.