View Full Version : Butcher
1875Sean
21-01-2022, 11:09 PM
Interesting read from our ex player Tim Clancy, we all know how bad butcher was but this is the second ex Hibs player along with Thommo who has came out in the last few weeks saying how that spell under him taught him what not to do in management. (Not sure is link will work as posting on phone)
https://www.the42.ie/tim-clancy-st-pats-5652977-Jan2022/
22-01-2022, 08:43 PM
Interesting read from our ex player Tim Clancy, we all know how bad butcher was but this is the second ex Hibs player along with Thommo who has came out in the last few weeks saying how that spell under him taught him what not to do in management. (Not sure is link will work as posting on phone)
Clancy was a disappointment
Butcher was a walking catastrophe
22-01-2022, 09:00 PM
Tim Clancy stole a wage at Hibs, awful player and professional, more interested in Twitter and boxing quips. Butcher was as awful as Tim.
Heart of a mouse too, played on 'injuries' - best thing he ever did was take a throw at Tynie and tell the fan he smelled. A truly awful player. Butcher probably told him the truth - he was lilian gish :aok:
hibbydog
23-01-2022, 07:40 AM
Och I find all of these ex players slating ex managers very cheap and undignified. Kevin Thomson been at it too.
No problem having these opinions, but probably best kept to yourself if you’re a professional.
Not Hibs class
23-01-2022, 08:03 AM
Clancy has a cheek, he was a wage thief. Pretended to be injured during his entire time with us. The odd time he did actually play he was absolute gash.
23-01-2022, 08:35 AM
Clancy has a cheek, he was a wage thief. Pretended to be injured during his entire time with us. The odd time he did actually play he was absolute gash.
I’m not sure how he has a cheek, or why anyone getting peed off at him for what he’s said in that article. He’s basically saying Butchers an arse, which is hard to disagree with.
23-01-2022, 08:43 AM
Are you sure his injuries were faked?
23-01-2022, 08:51 AM
Are you sure his injuries were faked?
I find it very difficult to believe. His career was ruined by niggly injuries wherever he went, I think it’s much more likely he was just unlucky. What a terrible group of players we had in our defence back then. Mcgivern Nelson past it Maybury and Fraser Mullan.
23-01-2022, 08:57 AM
I had a pal who was at Hibs at the time and the stuff he told me about what Butcher and Malpas were up to beggared belief.
His treatment of Harris, Stanton and Forster was appalling and I know that that was something Thomson clashed with Butcher and Malpas over.
I often wonder how those 3’s career’s would’ve panned out if we didn’t appoint that pair.
Crunchie
23-01-2022, 09:03 AM
I’m not sure how he has a cheek, or why anyone getting peed off at him for what he’s said in that article. He’s basically saying Butchers an arse, which is hard to disagree with.
His biggest mistake was telling the Prima donnas in the team their gig was up at the end of the season, that includes Clancy, Thomson and a few others who downed tools and got us relegated.
1875Sean
23-01-2022, 09:05 AM
We had a poor run of managers with Calderwood, Fenlon and Butcher, although Fenlon was responsible for some of the worse results in our history I have more of a dislike for Butcher
23-01-2022, 09:28 AM
We had a poor run of managers with Calderwood, Fenlon and Butcher, although Fenlon was responsible for some of the worse results in our history I have more of a dislike for Butcher
Only fair to balance it out and say fenlon managed some great wins too. Fenlon was miles better than butcher and Calderwood
TelaStella
23-01-2022, 09:37 AM
Was Clancy actually still around by that time? Can’t for the life of me remember him kicking a ball that season. Wage thief alright.
23-01-2022, 09:40 AM
Was Clancy actually still around by that time? Can’t for the life of me remember him kicking a ball that season. Wage thief alright.
He was injured. Don't think that's fair to call an injured player a wage theif. He was rubbish after a decent start, but he just had injuries.
Was Scott Allan a wage theif last season?
23-01-2022, 09:54 AM
He was injured. Don't think that's fair to call an injured player a wage theif. He was rubbish after a decent start, but he just had injuries.
Was Scott Allan a wage theif last season?
Exactly.
What do you want to be when you grow up, son, a football player?
"No, dad, I will become good at football, but I want to sign for a team then pretend I'm injured all the time so I get paid for doing nothing until they end my contract and I can't get work anywhere else because of my history of injuries".
"Good lad".
loanheadhibby
23-01-2022, 11:13 AM
Ha has a cheek because as almost everyone has stated he contributed nothing to our great club,
23-01-2022, 11:17 AM
Ha has a cheek because as almost everyone has stated he contributed nothing to our great club,
That's a really stupid comment.
23-01-2022, 11:57 AM
What a poor comment. Any player who hardly plays due to injuries is a cheat and a “wage thief” according to you and a few others. Pathetic patter.
23-01-2022, 12:06 PM
The one that sticks on my mind is the use of Liam Craig. The guy was captain one week, on the bench or out the squad the next, then brought back as captain. His treatment of players was horrendous and ultimately he got the worst out of them. Not to mention the long ball hoof style into channels, so much for the tactical and scouting dream team up and down that A9!! Thankfully all a distant memory.
23-01-2022, 12:13 PM
At least Fenlon put his heart and soul into it and now has a genuine affection for the club. The others were just imposters. Although I think it was too big a job for him Fenlon left us in a better state than when he took over. Butcher made a **** of it. Fenlon had some horrible results but I'd still blether to him if I saw him. Not Caldewood or Butcher.
23-01-2022, 12:36 PM
At least Fenlon put his heart and soul into it and now has a genuine affection for the club. The others were just imposters. Although I think it was too big a job for him Fenlon left us in a better state than when he took over. Butcher made a **** of it. Fenlon had some horrible results but I'd still blether to him if I saw him. Not Caldewood or Butcher.
100%
23-01-2022, 12:39 PM
Only fair to balance it out and say fenlon managed some great wins too. Fenlon was miles better than butcher and Calderwood
Also worth mentioning that he was miles worse than quite a few others.
23-01-2022, 01:16 PM
His biggest mistake was telling the Prima donnas in the team their gig was up at the end of the season, that includes Clancy, Thomson and a few others who downed tools and got us relegated.
That was absolutely insane telling players that,when he did.
As for his and Malpas alleged bullying of players ?
Schaedler and Blackley would have knocked both of them spark out.
So senior players it seems turned a blind eye to the bullying of younger players?
If so, shame on them.
23-01-2022, 01:19 PM
Also worth mentioning that he was miles worse than quite a few others. it's really not worth mentioning at all.
It applies to nearly every manager since Eddie Turnbull.
Put them in order if you like; https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Hibernian_F.C._managers
23-01-2022, 02:20 PM
Considering what he inherited, Pat done okay. Good few worse than him.
23-01-2022, 04:14 PM
Considering what he inherited, Pat done okay. Good few worse than him.
100%. Inherited a ****show. Club wasn't in a very good place at all. Job was too big for him but not even in the bottom 3 managers in my lifetime. Was unlucky with the likes of Deegan getting a broken jaw. Wasn't the same after it. Added a bit of steel.
23-01-2022, 05:21 PM
Mentioning Fenlon in the same breath as Butcher and Calderwood is a hanging offence IMO. At least he cared, wasn't a bully and didn't spend his time looking in bags of sweeties. Thoroughly decent bloke as well by all accounts. Butcher and Calderwood can take a long walk off a short pier for all I care
tomhorn
23-01-2022, 05:39 PM
Genuinely have no memory whatsoever of him (Clancy) being at Hibs.
23-01-2022, 05:42 PM
Duffy, Williamson, Calderwood, Butcher and sadly, Sauzee, were all much poorer managers than Pat Fenlon.
Even Pat Stanton and Bertie Auld had unsuccessful stints in charge. Jocky Scott was another.
23-01-2022, 05:42 PM
Genuinely have no memory whatsoever of him (Clancy) being at Hibs.Me either.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
23-01-2022, 05:54 PM
Me either.
He was notable for having a long throw
23-01-2022, 05:55 PM
Mentioning Fenlon in the same breath as Butcher and Calderwood is a hanging offence IMO. At least he cared, wasn't a bully and didn't spend his time looking in bags of sweeties. Thoroughly decent bloke as well by all accounts. Butcher and Calderwood can take a long walk off a short pier for all I care
Jim Duffy was/is a nice guy, but he was still a **** Hibs manager.
23-01-2022, 05:56 PM
Jim Duffy was/is a nice guy, but he was still a **** Hibs manager.
Fenlon has on his CV, 2 of our worst scores in our history
23-01-2022, 06:02 PM
Was it Clancy who left as he was quitting football due to injury only to re-emerge and play full time over in Ireland? My recollections of him was contributed little to the club.
23-01-2022, 06:06 PM
No single result is worse than relegation.
23-01-2022, 06:07 PM
Most Hibs managers have 2/3 absolutely dreadful results on their cv here. Ross, Mowbray and Stubbs certainly do.
Fenlon has 8 trophies on his managerial CV, I think he'll look back quite proudly.
23-01-2022, 06:07 PM
Main thing I remember about Clancy was a spectacular goal in a pre season friendly v East Fife . Scored against Celtic too . Was signed for cover in defence and did that in his first season before injuries put an end to his Hibs`career .
23-01-2022, 06:39 PM
No single result is worse than relegation.
Don’t disagree with that
23-01-2022, 07:02 PM
Mowbray got a good few scuddings from Hearts. Some of the worst batterings I've seen from them including Hampden. Happens to the best. If Twitter was as big then as it is now it would have been insufferable.
23-01-2022, 07:11 PM
Main thing I remember about Clancy was a spectacular goal in a pre season friendly v East Fife . Scored against Celtic too . Was signed for cover in defence and did that in his first season before injuries put an end to his Hibs`career .
He was signed to be first choice right back, no doubt about that. Played 90 minutes whenever fit that first season.
His performance in the Falkirk semi was as bad as I've seen from an individual at Hibs tbh. He had an absolute nightmare.
Me either.
All I remember of him was permanently injured and slower than a week in jail, one of many really poor players we had at the club at that time.
I really, really hate the 'wage thief' expression.
23-01-2022, 09:24 PM
McLeish was a good manager for Hibs.
23-01-2022, 09:28 PM
I really, really hate the 'wage thief' expression.Same here . Used without knowing anything about fitness or other problems of players . Presumably those that use the expression are perfect workers in whatever they do .
23-01-2022, 09:40 PM
Tim Clancy stole a wage at Hibs, awful player and professional, more interested in Twitter and boxing quips. Butcher was as awful as Tim.
Heart of a mouse too, played on 'injuries' - best thing he ever did was take a throw at Tynie and tell the fan he smelled. A truly awful player. Butcher probably told him the truth - he was lilian gish :aok:
Butcher told more than just one player the truth but it's always been ok to blame him for our relegation, not the p@sh players, no coincidence that not one of the more than dozen he got rid of came back to haunt us, only LD stopped him before he finished the clear out
Tobias Funke
23-01-2022, 09:42 PM
:agree: Only an idiot would use such a term. Wonder how many of them are lazy, useless twats in their own profession.
23-01-2022, 09:48 PM
All I remember of him was permanently injured and slower than a week in jail, one of many really poor players we had at the club at that time. Do you remember him being permanently injured or people here or in press saying he was ? He played nearly 20 games for us in 2012 / 13 after being signed to be general defensive cover after being a stable but not spectacular player for Motherwell and Killie . Was outstanding as cover in a team that was top of league at Christmas and had just knocked Hearts out of cup a few months after May 2012 dsaster . He then got injured and left us after Butcher took over . Played some games for St Johnstone but missed their cup win for injury ( would have been highlight of his career probably ) . So he didn`t contribute to our relegation but did contribute to our qualifying for Europe the year before .
As for all the really poor players we had at that time , which players did we have then ( not sure exactly what period you mean but suppose you mean 2012 to 2014 more or less ) that compare so infavourably with what we`ve had for last couple of years ?
23-01-2022, 09:57 PM
Butcher told more than just one player the truth but it's always been ok to blame him for our relegation, not the p@sh players, no coincidence that not one of the more than dozen he got rid of came back to haunt us, only LD stopped him before he finished the clear out
Those pish players had us safely mid-table before Butcher arrived.
23-01-2022, 10:11 PM
Butcher told more than just one player the truth but it's always been ok to blame him for our relegation, not the p@sh players, no coincidence that not one of the more than dozen he got rid of came back to haunt us, only LD stopped him before he finished the clear outWhen Butcher took over we were 5th and had just lost to Hearts in a LC tie where we`d totally outplayed them but lost to a one off shot ( Pat had decided to leave even if we`d won against Hearts anyway ) . Butcher took over at worst middle of league team and after a few decent results led us to relegation . He was a terrible appointment in many ways .
23-01-2022, 10:30 PM
He was notable for having a long throwThe only long throw I can remember is the one Mark Milligan launched in the final game of the season. Not a tactic I associate with Hibs post Schaedler.
More generally as one of few who was there at the final whistle in the Malmo game everything they hit was postsge stamp. I doubt they ever had another result like it. Score was horrible and we werr stuffed afer McPake injured himself. Im not defending the result but a lot went right for them on the day including us hitting the post.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
loanheadhibby
24-01-2022, 12:28 AM
He was signed to be first choice right back, no doubt about that. Played 90 minutes whenever fit that first season.
His performance in the Falkirk semi was as bad as I've seen from an individual at Hibs tbh. He had an absolute nightmare.
Completely agree that's what sticks in my mind.
I seem to remember Cairney also had a shocker.
24-01-2022, 04:36 AM
Do you remember him being permanently injured or people here or in press saying he was ? He played nearly 20 games for us in 2012 / 13 after being signed to be general defensive cover after being a stable but not spectacular player for Motherwell and Killie . Was outstanding as cover in a team that was top of league at Christmas and had just knocked Hearts out of cup a few months after May 2012 dsaster . He then got injured and left us after Butcher took over . Played some games for St Johnstone but missed their cup win for injury ( would have been highlight of his career probably ) . So he didn`t contribute to our relegation but did contribute to our qualifying for Europe the year before .
As for all the really poor players we had at that time , which players did we have then ( not sure exactly what period you mean but suppose you mean 2012 to 2014 more or less ) that compare so infavourably with what we`ve had for last couple of years ?
Tim Clancy was not signed as cover. He was first choice right back whenever fit in his first season.
Do you remember him being permanently injured or people here or in press saying he was ? He played nearly 20 games for us in 2012 / 13 after being signed to be general defensive cover after being a stable but not spectacular player for Motherwell and Killie . Was outstanding as cover in a team that was top of league at Christmas and had just knocked Hearts out of cup a few months after May 2012 dsaster . He then got injured and left us after Butcher took over . Played some games for St Johnstone but missed their cup win for injury ( would have been highlight of his career probably ) . So he didn`t contribute to our relegation but did contribute to our qualifying for Europe the year before .
Clancy made 21 appearances in 2102 season and zero appearances in 2013(permanently injured) and released in January 2014.
Poor players in those 2 seasons are Sean O'Hanlon, Matt Done, Pa Kujabi, Gary Deegan, Ryan McGivern, Shefki Kuqi, Daniel Boetang, Owain Tudor Jones, Alan Maybury (nice bloke but past it), Rowan Vine, Michael Nelson, Fraser Mullen, Danny Haynes.
I think you get the gist from that list of ex players.
24-01-2022, 06:22 AM
:agree: Only an idiot would use such a term. Wonder how many of them are lazy, useless twats in their own profession.
Terrible post.
It is a good term and nobody is in doubt what is meant by it. Some folk don't like the term - fair enough. Some folk don't like having players at the club who contribute nothing.
As to your second point you can't possibly know. The people using the term could equally be the hardest working going. Their opinion on here is no more or less valid either way.
24-01-2022, 07:33 AM
Terrible post.
It is a good term and nobody is in doubt what is meant by it. Some folk don't like the term - fair enough. Some folk don't like having players at the club who contribute nothing.
As to your second point you can't possibly know. The people using the term could equally be the hardest working going. Their opinion on here is no more or less valid either way.
Lin the absence of anything else shaming is the way to go…
24-01-2022, 08:30 AM
The only long throw I can remember is the one Mark Milligan launched in the final game of the season. Not a tactic I associate with Hibs post Schaedler.
More generally as one of few who was there at the final whistle in the Malmo game everything they hit was postsge stamp. I doubt they ever had another result like it. Score was horrible and we werr stuffed afer McPake injured himself. Im not defending the result but a lot went right for them on the day including us hitting the post.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
Absolutely correct. I said at the time that it was the perfect storm.
We had no fit strikers so Malmo didn't have to concern themselves with defending and when McPake got injured, it was shooty-in.
A shocking result, but a fluke nonetheless.
24-01-2022, 08:35 AM
Terrible post.
It's a shocking thing to call a professional in any field.
No, he can't know which is why he said that he "wonders how many..."
hibby rae
24-01-2022, 08:36 AM
When Butcher took over we were 5th and had just lost to Hearts in a LC tie where we`d totally outplayed them but lost to a one off shot ( Pat had decided to leave even if we`d won against Hearts anyway ) . Butcher took over at worst middle of league team and after a few decent results led us to relegation . He was a terrible appointment in many ways .
I still think we wouldn't have got relegated if Fenlon had stayed.
24-01-2022, 08:50 AM
Folk blaming players for Butcher getting us relegated is mental. There were some very poor players who still wouldn’t have got us relegated had Butcher not come in. He destroyed them, told them they were binned, alienated the senior players, tore the younger players a new one.
Won 1 in 12 at Newport after us. Walked out on the Phillipines, the guy is a roaster and deserves every bit of hostility he gets from us.
24-01-2022, 09:36 AM
When Butcher took over we were 5th and had just lost to Hearts in a LC tie where we`d totally outplayed them but lost to a one off shot ( Pat had decided to leave even if we`d won against Hearts anyway ) . Butcher took over at worst middle of league team and after a few decent results led us to relegation . He was a terrible appointment in many ways .
One of the most one sided derbies i've seen. Absolutley battered them. Jamie McDonald i think it was in goals had the game of his life. Typical against that lot. Their goal was a 30 yard once in a lifetime screamer. If the performances were reversed Hearts would win 5-0.
24-01-2022, 09:47 AM
Not a nice term,at all,Brian.
Trying to mind when i first read/heard it.
Bobo Balde was offered to leave Celtic on a free transfer if he could find a club.
He apparently could not find a club that would match his current earnings at Celtic .
So he ran down his contract with Celtic by sitting in the stand for a season or so.
Which i suppose he was entitled to, but he never played again and he knew he wouldn't.
So some may have called him that.
If i got that all wrong,i apologise to Bobo !
24-01-2022, 09:51 AM
I still think we wouldn't have got relegated if Fenlon had stayed.
Very hard to imagine we would have been - Pat left after a full round of fixtures, we were 6th with 15 points from 11 games. On track for 52 points. St. Johnstone finished 6th with 53, Ross County in 7th with 40.
Fenlon's PPG was 1.36. Butcher's (20 points from 25 games) was 0.8. It's easy to see where the problem lay, and it wasn't from the players - as unremarkable as they were.
hibby rae
24-01-2022, 10:56 AM
Very hard to imagine we would have been - Pat left after a full round of fixtures, we were 6th with 15 points from 11 games. On track for 52 points. St. Johnstone finished 6th with 53, Ross County in 7th with 40.
Fenlon's PPG was 1.36. Butcher's (20 points from 25 games) was 0.8. It's easy to see where the problem lay, and it wasn't from the players - as unremarkable as they were.
Yeah the players weren't great, and the team overall was as slow as a week in Saughton, but Fenlon had made them hard to beat.
Fenlon was a good coach to get in to steady the ship after Calderwood, and he achieved that, but we needed someone better to come in and push on from there. Unfortunately we got the worst manager I've ever seen manage Hibs. I've never seen such an irretrievable collapse.
24-01-2022, 10:59 AM
:agree: Yes indeed. Would be brilliant if it came up on the swear filter like ****.
24-01-2022, 02:29 PM
No it’s not.
This thread is about Clancy’s opinion of Terry Butcher as a manager.
Your comment is off topic and unnecessary.
Bushwoof
24-01-2022, 03:43 PM
I'm certainly in the camp that holds Butcher to be the worst manager we've ever had, but let's not forget to give full credit also to Malpas, who was utterly despicable, and that fat bloke who slept in his car and managed to identify absolutely no decent signing targets whatsoever.
I'd rather spend an evening with Craig Levein than any one of that disgusting lot.
24-01-2022, 03:51 PM
I'm certainly in the camp that holds Butcher to be the worst manager we've ever had, but let's not forget to give full credit also to Malpas, who was utterly despicable, and that fat bloke who slept in his car and managed to identify absolutely no decent signing targets whatsoever.
I'd rather spend an evening with Craig Levein than any one of that disgusting lot.
Ha! I’m with you on that .
Soon after he was appointed, I recall hearing from a then director that he was proud to be the one who first suggested Butcher’s name forward . The story he gave at the time , was that he had sounded out his representation and they confirmed Butcher would be interested. When it was raised at the board meeting there was unanimous support to approach him . So much so they stopped any further exploration of alternative candidates.
Butcher was not well thought by players of at Caleb. Despite their success at the time . The lack of research done in that recruitment process must go down as the worst price of management recruitment done in many many years .
Funnily enough, That said director never mentions that story now !
24-01-2022, 06:00 PM
When the term “wage thief” is used it actually turns “wage theft” on its head.
In a legal sense “wage theft” is perpetrated by an _employer_, not an _employee_ so shaming folks in this way turns the spotlight away from the wider topic - mandating unpaid overtime, organising events that effectively boil down to working during breaks and the like.
But perhaps there is one former Hearts player who appeared to do little to no work whilst pulling in shed-loads. Step forward Larryea Kingston…. :) I don’t think we or others - perhaps Balde excepted - have had someone take things to the degree of Larryea.
24-01-2022, 07:06 PM
Bobo Balde was offered to leave Celtic on a free transfer if he could find a club.
He apparently could not find a club that would match his current earnings at Celtic .
So he ran down his contract with Celtic by sitting in the stand for a season or so.
Which i suppose he was entitled to, but he never played again and he knew he wouldn't.
He wasn’t even allowed to sit in the stand and see his contract out, Strachan got someone to tell him to empty out his locker at Lennoxtown and he was told not to enter Parkhead on match days, it resulted in a couple of people at celtc getting visits from the big chap at there homes, he didn’t take it very well. :greengrin
24-01-2022, 07:50 PM
Butcher made quite a nice address at Dan McMichael’s rededication service in the Eastern Cemetery. Other than that there were no positives from his time at Hibs.
While he was the the runaway “fans choice” at the time, myself included, I just knew we had made a serious error the minute he pulled that daft face during the photo shoot at his unveiling.
24-01-2022, 07:55 PM
Played for two other teams after Celtic....
24-01-2022, 08:02 PM
And tried to impersonate a goalkeeping coach. I've forgotten his name and don't really want to remember it.
24-01-2022, 08:26 PM
And tried to impersonate a goalkeeping coach. I've forgotten his name and don't really want to remember it.
Marsalla. Came from a place called Farton near Huddersfield or Macclesfield iirc. My mind is cluttered with crap like this unfortunately… one of these days the bit where a cross the road will get taken up with a Dr Pauls quiz factoid and I’ll get run over :)
1875Sean
24-01-2022, 08:26 PM
That would be super scout Steve Marcella
24-01-2022, 08:30 PM
He wasn’t even allowed to sit in the stand and see his contract out, Strachan got someone to tell him to empty out his locker at Lennoxtown and he was told not to enter Parkhead on match days, it resulted in a couple of people at celtc getting visits from the big chap at there homes, he didn’t take it very well. :greengrin
i remember him in a reserve game at ER in the period he was outcast he completely went for Konte and went through him when he didn’t even have the ball absolute thug. Amado absolutely shat it anytime the ball came near him with Bobo in the vicinity. Wholely unnecessary display of outright aggression. Never see anything like it before or since.
24-01-2022, 08:42 PM
i remember him in a reserve game at ER in the period he was outcast he completely went for Konte and went through him when he didn’t even have the ball absolute thug. Amado absolutely shat it anytime the ball came near him with Bobo in the vicinity. Wholely unnecessary display of outright aggression. Never see anything like it before or since.
He was jealous of The Magician. I mean, who isn’t jealous of a man who has it all? :dunno:
24-01-2022, 09:07 PM
When you hear the Sacked in the Morning podcast and the like Butcher actually comes across really well.
I did know an ex ICT player who was there when Butcher was manager and it’s almost impossible to believe it’s the same person. He’s a monster when it comes to man management IMO.
25-01-2022, 08:09 AM
Ha! I’m with you on that .
Soon after he was appointed, I recall hearing from a then director that he was proud to be the one who first suggested Butcher’s name forward . The story he gave at the time , was that he had sounded out his representation and they confirmed Butcher would be interested. When it was raised at the board meeting there was unanimous support to approach him . So much so they stopped any further exploration of alternative candidates.
Butcher was not well thought by players of at Caleb. Despite their success at the time . The lack of research done in that recruitment process must go down as the worst price of management recruitment done in many many years .
Funnily enough, That said director never mentions that story now !
I think Colin McNeil admitted that he out up his hand and voted for Butcher
Presume that’s how it used to be in the boardroom
loanheadhibby
25-01-2022, 12:02 PM
Folk blaming players for Butcher getting us relegated is mental. There were some very poor players who still wouldn’t have got us relegated had Butcher not come in. He destroyed them, told them they were binned, alienated the senior players, tore the younger players a new one.
Won 1 in 12 at Newport after us. Walked out on the Phillipines, the guy is a roaster and deserves every bit of hostility he gets from us.
To be fair, the players had a significant role as well as they could have won a couple of games to save us. I actually think ihe blame is in equal measure. Horrendous manager and horrendous players.
If a managers slaughters you and tells you you're out the door, you can sink or swim. Too many of those players were gutless and devoid of fight and passion.
I was absolutely in favour of Butcher getting the job. I remember his 1st game away to St Mirren in a dreary 0 0 draw and most of the support that day was right behind him.
25-01-2022, 12:10 PM
I bought Fenlon a pint before the Scottish Cup final. He was up on his own supporting the Hibees. He cared big time for the club and done a much better job than many of the managers mentioned.
The problem the likes of Caldwerwood had was under-estimating the Scottish Prem bringing hundreds of **** up from down south. Still baffled how he managed to get Vaz Te up the road, even he wasn't up to much apart from a derby goal then went back down south and was **** hot.
25-01-2022, 12:16 PM
When you hear the Sacked in the Morning podcast and the like Butcher actually comes across really well.
I did know an ex ICT player who was there when Butcher was manager and it’s almost impossible to believe it’s the same person. He’s a monster when it comes to man management IMO.
Malpas was meant to be even worse. The bad cop to Butchers gid.
I think at Hibs he simply couldn't handle the pressure from the beginning.
One of the stories I heard was during training, the players played a lovely 5-6 pass movement for a goal and Malpas went nuts at them. Stick in the ****ing corners he shouted, wanting them to lump it into deep channels to turn the opposition, dinosaur training and tactics.
25-01-2022, 01:15 PM
So has Butcher. :agree:
25-01-2022, 01:21 PM
He wasn’t even allowed to sit in the stand and see his contract out, Strachan got someone to tell himto empty out his locker at Lennoxtown and he was told not to enter Parkhead on match days, it resulted in a couple of people at celtc getting visits from the big chap at there homes, he didn’t take it very well. :greengrin
Not surprised wae the size of the man .Well both of them !
Bad attitude from someone who made a packet at Celtic.
Gordon must have tippled early to what could likely happen ,when he (Balde) was told to find another club.
25-01-2022, 01:24 PM
Played for two other teams after Celtic....
I was referring to him not playing for Celtic again :aok: