View Full Version : Scottish Cup draw - Arbroath v Hibs

21-01-2022, 11:06 AM
Date for 5th round is on Saturday night following Alloa v Celtic 5.30pm KO. Game is live on Premier

You’ve got to be in it, to win it

Hopefully get a favourable draw. Games due to be played weekend of 12/13 Feb

Crunchie
21-01-2022, 11:09 AM
Date for 5th round is on Saturday night following Alloa v Celtic 5.30pm KO. Game is live on Premier

You’ve got to be in it, to win it

Hopefully get a favourable draw. Games due to be played weekend of 12/13 Feb
Hearts at home please :greengrin

21-01-2022, 11:16 AM
Hearts at home please :greengrin

Auchinleck Talbot at home please

ajf
21-01-2022, 11:17 AM
I'd much rather have auchinleck Talbot

21-01-2022, 11:20 AM
Presumably it's on Radio Scotland too?

21-01-2022, 11:22 AM
Presumably it's on Radio Scotland too?

Yes, but you won’t be able to watch it😀

21-01-2022, 12:14 PM
Any team with Rangers in their name is a bye to the next round. Wouldn't mind Auchinleck at home either.

22-01-2022, 03:29 PM
I believe the draw is around 7.40pm tonight

22-01-2022, 03:51 PM
Was after an Alloa v Celtic tie Rod Stewart made the draw :greengrin

22-01-2022, 03:58 PM
The winner of clydebank v alloa for me please.

hibby rae
22-01-2022, 04:02 PM
The winner of clydebank v alloa for me please.

Clydebank away is the one I'd love. Away ties against lower teams are far more fun than home ties.

Quite happy for other teams to knock out Hearts.

22-01-2022, 04:06 PM
StJ behind at Kelty.

JamesHFC
22-01-2022, 04:19 PM
Clydebank away is the one I'd love. Away ties against lower teams are far more fun than home ties.

Quite happy for other teams to knock out Hearts.

Home tie always for me regardless of opponent.

22-01-2022, 04:25 PM
Alloa, Kelty or Raith please. All local to me.

22-01-2022, 04:25 PM

Aye home tie but I’ll have Bankies or Arbroath over Rangers or Celtic!

PolmontHibby
22-01-2022, 04:28 PM
Livingstone at home please - I can’t see that the interesting tv so chance it might be a rare Saturday game at ER

hibby rae
22-01-2022, 04:37 PM

A good fun away day against a team we'd never normally get, to a ground I've never been 👌👌

The BSC Glasgow game was great fun, from being called spoonburning b******s by one of the BSC players to seeing the numerous Hibees brave a pie and slice sausage on a roll. Still makes me feel all stodgy just thinking about it.

Me being a vegetarian, I opted for the veggie option of crisps and was given a free roll to go with them 😂😂

22-01-2022, 04:38 PM
Peterhead home or away.

22-01-2022, 04:38 PM
When is it?

22-01-2022, 04:40 PM
When is it?

Shortly after Alloa-Celtic.

22-01-2022, 04:50 PM
When is the next round played?

22-01-2022, 04:57 PM

1st weekend in February.

22-01-2022, 04:59 PM
1st weekend in February.

2nd weekend
weekend of 12/13 Feb

22-01-2022, 04:59 PM

12th Feb

JGS56
22-01-2022, 05:00 PM

Saturday 12 February.

22-01-2022, 05:04 PM
Annan at home please.

22-01-2022, 05:08 PM
For anyone who doesn’t have Premier Sports, draw is on the below link
You’d think it would be on sportsound too?

https://twitter.com/scottishcup/status/1484949613287292930?s=21

22-01-2022, 05:09 PM
Think we will get Aberdeen or Kelty Hearts.

22-01-2022, 05:15 PM
Here's hoping Hearts get Rangers, will make the Souttar situation interesting. Would Hearts point blank refuse to let him go? Or would maybe do one of those loans to the end of the season.

22-01-2022, 05:15 PM
St Johnstone are out so it doesn't matter who we get now

22-01-2022, 05:21 PM
by the law of averages we must be due an early tie v either of the old firm

shirly

22-01-2022, 05:29 PM
Dundee at ER is my guess.

22-01-2022, 05:35 PM
Rangers will get their standard home draw and Hearts will get their usual lowest placed team left in the draw

22-01-2022, 05:39 PM
We've been very fortunate with the draw in recent years to be fair.

22-01-2022, 05:41 PM
2nd weekend
weekend of 12/13 Feb

Never even checked! Sure I read 5/6 February on here earlier, oh well!

22-01-2022, 05:47 PM
Never even checked! Sure I read 5/6 February on here earlier, oh well!

We’re home to St Mirren on the 5th

22-01-2022, 05:50 PM
we're at castle Mordor on Wednesday the 9th feb

22-01-2022, 05:53 PM
Anyone from a lower league at home.

22-01-2022, 06:06 PM
Think BBC and premier get 2 live games each, rounds 4 to 6
Celtic and Rangers will be 2 of them, providing they are drawn apart

22-01-2022, 06:11 PM

Premier get first pick too so you’ve got to assume if we’ll be on the telly we’ll be BBC again

davhibby
22-01-2022, 06:11 PM

I can’t remember us having a non televised Scottish Cup tie since the tv deal with Premier started and the BBC got 2 games a round.

Think it’ll be fairly likely again as the fact only 2 Premiership teams are out means the draw could be quite boring.

nairn hibee
22-01-2022, 06:15 PM
How do you mean providing, it’s guaranteed unless they heat the wrong ball

22-01-2022, 06:21 PM
Would like Celtic v The Rangers and Aberdeen v Hearts

22-01-2022, 06:28 PM
Home tie v Kelty

22-01-2022, 06:31 PM
Draw numbers
Aberdeen 1
Annan 2
Arbroath 3
Celtic 4
Dundee 5
Dundee Utd 6
Hearts 7
Hibs 8
Kelty 9
Livingston 10
Motherwell 11
Partick 12
Peterhead 13
Raith 14
Rangers 15
St Mirren 16

cannastar
22-01-2022, 06:31 PM
reckon we will get st mirren away

22-01-2022, 06:33 PM
Annan please

22-01-2022, 06:35 PM
Draw now.

22-01-2022, 06:36 PM
Motherwell v Aberdeen

22-01-2022, 06:36 PM
Motherwell v Aberdeen

22-01-2022, 06:37 PM
Celtic v Raith Rovers

Arbroath v Hibs

Oh dear.

Not easy that

Mikey_1875
22-01-2022, 06:38 PM
Tough draw but a good day out!

Annan v Rangers

Hearts v Livingston

Brilliant draw.

22-01-2022, 06:39 PM
St Mirren v Kelty Hearts

Motherwell v Aberdeen
Celtic v Raith Rovers
Arbroath v Hibs
Annan v THE Rangers
Hearts v livi
Peterhead v Dundee
Partick Thistle v Dundee Utd
St Mirren v Kelty

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

I'll take that.

22-01-2022, 06:40 PM
Tv game I bet. Hopefully not a Thursday again.

Another potential banana skin. We will need to be up for a battle.

Think we’ll be on TV

Good away day that, looking forward to it!

Quite a tough draw, we won't relish a trip up there.

It can’t be as we play Rangers away on the Wednesday before

Settle for that. Surely some mistake was made there though Rangers got an AWAY tie against easy opposition

22-01-2022, 06:41 PM
Oh dear.

Its a good draw, might as well give up if we are fearing a trip to Arbroath.

22-01-2022, 06:42 PM
Pretty sure we'll be one of the BBC live games with premier sports taking the Celtc and Sevco games as always.

We are away to Rangers Wed 9th Feb so no Thursday or Friday game for us.

Maybe a Monday night game...

did they say who we play after Arbroath :)

Someone’s got to derail Arbroath’s season. Might as well be us.:cb

Motherwell v Aberdeen
Celtic v Raith Rovers
Arbroath v Hibs
Annan v THE Rangers
Hearts v livi
Peterhead v Dundee
Partick Thistle v Dundee Utd
St Mirren v Kelty

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

They’ll need to redraw that. The huns have an away tie.

JamesHFC
22-01-2022, 06:43 PM
Its a good draw, might as well give up if we are fearing a trip to Arbroath.

Every year we get drawn a lower league side there are some who see it as difficult, we will win the tie and be in the next round imo 👍🏻

There won't be any ties on the Thursday or Friday as there's a full Premiership card on the Wednesday.

What’s the capacity nowadays at Gayfield

It can’t be as we play Rangers away on the Wednesday before

Oh I forgot about that.

22-01-2022, 06:44 PM
Hope the sea breeze isn't up! https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220122/12b5851b2e9024ef3a27248458df7280.jpg

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

capacity 6600(861 seating)

That’s a terrible draw IMO.

22-01-2022, 06:45 PM

This is what it says online - Capacity: 4,153 (seated 814)

22-01-2022, 06:45 PM

22-01-2022, 06:46 PM
Potential banana skin especially away from home.

This is what it says online - Capacity: 4,153 (seated 814)

6,600 (861 seated) according to Wikipedia.

A terrible draw would have been away to Celtic or Rangers.

Confident of a win.

Great draw :aok: couple more signings, new signings already here more up to speed, get the professional heads on and a Hibs win :aok: good wee side Arbroath, but heavy favourites and we are a good cup side.

Ugly sisters avoid each other in the early rounds yet again :rolleyes:

That’s a terrible draw IMO.Any draw down the league is decent

Potential banana skin especially away from home.

It is, but good to go somewhere we don’t play at too often

22-01-2022, 06:47 PM
6,600 (861 seated) according to Wikipedia.

I looked on Scottish ground guides so guess could be wrong.

22-01-2022, 06:48 PM

You're surely not being serious ?

It's hardly a terrible draw. It could have been better but it's not Celtic, Rangers, Hearts or Aberdeen away. All of those would have been terrible.

If we're on our game Arbroath away should never be classed as a terrible draw.

Any draw down the league is decent

Not this one. Gayfield is a tough place to play at the best of times, but against a team with nothing to lose and in incredible form, particularly if the winds off the North Sea are up, that’s an awful draw. No pressure on them and expectation completely on us.

green with envy

Would you have preferred the old firm away instead. 🙈🤣

22-01-2022, 06:49 PM
It’ll be a lot tougher than a lot of people expect - they’ve not been beaten at home since July.

For those that haven’t had the pleasure of a visit to Garfield before, the ground/wind will be a real leveller.

nickwhibs
Happy with that. Tough but winnable draw and good away trip

JamesHFC
A terrible draw would have been away to Celtic or Rangers.

Confident of a win.

Me too. We should never be losing to teams in a lower division.

22-01-2022, 06:50 PM
They're a lower league team and home or away, we should have too much for them.

Pleased with that draw.

Garymcl
22-01-2022, 06:51 PM
Canny wait for this mad scramble for tickets great day out takes me back to the 70s will get a ticket for home end if unsuccessful for ballot ggtth

Christ that’s a bit OTT. A tough game but terrible? Never in a million years

Arbroath haven’t lost at home since August 2021.

22-01-2022, 06:52 PM
We should have nothing to fear there, it’s a cracking draw. Delighted with this one.

22-01-2022, 06:53 PM

They aren’t up against much in the championship, quality’s dross in that league this season

22-01-2022, 06:53 PM
Christ that’s a bit OTT. A tough game but terrible? Never in a million years

We’ll see. I’ve seen them a couple of times this season and quite honestly they could draw any team in the competition at home and they could be a cup upset in waiting for literally anyone.

This will be a massively difficult game against a team who as a rule don’t lose at home.

22-01-2022, 06:54 PM

Good record, but have they played anyone above championship level?

22-01-2022, 06:54 PM
It’ll be a lot tougher than a lot of people expect - they’ve not been beaten at home since July.

For those that haven’t had the pleasure of a visit to Garfield before, the ground/wind will be a real leveller.
Will it be CAT a?

22-01-2022, 06:55 PM
We’ll see. I’ve seen them a couple of times this season and quite honestly they could draw any team in the competition at home and they could be a cup upset in waiting for literally anyone.

This will be a massively difficult game against a team who as a rule don’t lose at home.

I agree. It will be a game for our experienced players

Will it be CAT a?

Gotta love autocorrect

green with envy
Brings back SC memories as a 14 year old playing Arbroath up there. Enjoyed the trip going on the supporters bus from the local pub which formally the Willie Muir in Granton. Didn't enjoy the replay which was played on the following Wednesday though.

Our cup record is excellent, home and away. Nothing at all to fear, think folk are still in Cove 'mourning' here :rolleyes:

22-01-2022, 06:56 PM

Aye a difficult game not debating that but “terrible draw” is over the top/very dramatic

Gotta love autocorrect

🤣🤣

Not this one. Gayfield is a tough place to play at the best of times, but against a team with nothing to lose and in incredible form, particularly if the winds off the North Sea are up, that’s an awful draw. No pressure on them and expectation completely on us.

They’re doing well but I’ll never view a tie against a part time side as a terrible draw. Celtic or Rangers away would have been a terrible draw, no this.

Brings back SC memories as a 14 year old playing Arbroath up there. Enjoyed the trip going on the supporters bus from the local pub which formally the Willie Muir in Granton. Didn't enjoy the replay which was played on the following Wednesday though.
Had my stag do in there

Great draw.

Cracking away day to an old school ground and a shortish trip to north to the seaside. Has the makings of a good tie.

22-01-2022, 06:57 PM
Aye a difficult game not debating that but “terrible draw” is over the top/very dramatic

Again, we’ll see. But outwith the old firm, Arbroath away for me is the one I wanted to avoid.

davhibby
Pretty sure we'll be one of the BBC live games with premier sports taking the Celtc and Sevco games as always.

We are away to Rangers Wed 9th Feb so no Thursday or Friday game for us.

Maybe a Monday night game...

It looks like Premier like to be the last game so they can do the draw after it so it’ll probably be Saturday or Sunday lunchtime

In hearing the club are giving priority to those who attended the Cove match.
Those who couldn't be bothered will have to watch this one on TV, or listen to biscuits and his mates

Will it be CAT a?

lol

22-01-2022, 06:58 PM
Again, we’ll see. But outwith the old firm, Arbroath away for me is the one I wanted to avoid.

You’d rather Hearts or Aberdeen away than Arbroath?

That’s nuts.

hibby rae
22-01-2022, 06:59 PM

St Johnstone beat them 3-2 after AET at Gayfield.

You’d rather Hearts or Aberdeen away than Arbroath?

That’s nuts.

Yep. Or just as keen not to get that tie Tbf.

SJNB Hibby

Played Dundee Utd in the LC group stages, lost away 1-0. Lost at home to St Johnstone on penalties in the next round

22-01-2022, 07:00 PM
Yep. Or just as keen not to get that tie Tbf.

That’s not what you’ve said though

22-01-2022, 07:01 PM
It’ll be difficult but the new players will be match fit and if we can’t beat a team from the league below we won’t have deserved to progress. Should be a great day out. One ground I’ve not seen us play at so I’ll be involved in the scramble for tickets.

22-01-2022, 07:03 PM
Are the amusements at the back of the stadium at Arbroath open all year round or just in the summer?

I’ve passed a hundred times with work but never actually been inside the stadium. Also trying to remember if it’s an indoor amusements or just an outdoor funfair? Memory playing tricks on me here.

22-01-2022, 07:03 PM
That’s not what you’ve said though

I said it was a terrible tie. It is a terrible tie. Arbroath haven’t lost at home in literally months, will be confident they can win it, have a very good manager and a very tidy squad and will have no expectations or pressure on them whatsoever .

If Rangers or Celtic got the same draw I’d still fancy an upset. Seen them this season so this isn’t based on nothing.

22-01-2022, 07:04 PM

Has anyone said they dont expect a tough tie? Just because some of us aren't quaking in our boots doesn't mean we expect a stroll.

22-01-2022, 07:04 PM
I said it was a terrible tie. It is a terrible tie. Arbroath haven’t lost at home in literally months, will be confident they can win it, have a very good manager and a very tidy squad and will have no expectations or pressure on them whatsoever .

If Rangers or Celtic got the same draw I’d still fancy an upset. Seen them this season so this isn’t based on nothing.

Seen them this season against who? Other championship sides. That league is as poor as it’s been in years.

You’d have fancied Arbroath to beat Rangers or Celtic? Are you having a bevy tonight?

22-01-2022, 07:05 PM

Back in the day,laddies would be on the beach to retrieve the ball when it was kicked over the wall.
Clubs didnae have dozens of free sponsors balls back then.
Gayfield on a windy day ? Paragliders dream.
Hibs will need to be at their best. The elements may be tougher than the Red Lichties.

22-01-2022, 07:06 PM
Seen them this season against who? Other championship sides. That league is as poor as it’s been in years.

You’d have fancied Arbroath to beat Rangers or Celtic? Are you having a bevy tonight?

You seem determined to have an argument, I hope you find it with someone but as for just now, you’re not worth another second of my time pal 👍

22-01-2022, 07:09 PM
In hearing the club are giving priority to those who attended the Cove match.
Those who couldn't be bothered will have to watch this one on TV, or listen to biscuits and his mates

Hearing all those folk who shout abuse at our own players and moan about Nisbet on here and at games are at the back of the queue for tickets.

22-01-2022, 07:10 PM

It’s no a terrible tie, it’s a part time side from a lower league.

It’s a proper cup tie and will probably be tough, hope it’s not moved to some ridiculous time as it’ll be a good day out.

22-01-2022, 07:11 PM
Arbroath have Partick thistle and Killie at home before facing us, they will have lost their unbeaten home record for this season before we roll up to beat them ;)

Wull
22-01-2022, 07:12 PM
If we are seriously worried about Arbroath (Im no sayin we shouldnt be), why dont we buy half o their team, while the windy is still open :wink:

Zambernardi1875
22-01-2022, 07:14 PM

Settle down, it’s not played on a rig off Norway

22-01-2022, 07:16 PM
It's definitely not an easy fixture. Just like it wouldn't be if we were drawn away to ICT or Kille, two teams Arbroath are ahead of in the league.

Still think we'll win though.

22-01-2022, 07:18 PM
Aye home tie but I’ll have Bankies or Arbroath over Rangers or Celtic!

Boom get in!

Would have preferred home time but will take that!

Zambernardi1875
22-01-2022, 07:20 PM
Hope the sea breeze isn't up! https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220122/12b5851b2e9024ef3a27248458df7280.jpg

How do Arbroath manage

green with envy
22-01-2022, 07:23 PM

Keep digging.🤣

22-01-2022, 07:24 PM
Settle down, it’s not played on a rig off Norway
It could feel like it though. :wink:

Zambernardi1875
22-01-2022, 07:25 PM
It could feel like it though. :wink:

Are you from Arbroath

22-01-2022, 07:29 PM
Keep digging.🤣

What?

Tell you what, seeing as how you can only resort to trolling and the like, I’m guessing you know **** all about this one. They score a lot of goals in the league compared to other teams in the league and are amongst the best defences too. Despite their part time status they may be the fittest team in the league. We struggle against a hard and high press which they do very well, we concede too many goals from crosses and they’ve scored a good amount this season from crosses too. We struggled against St Johnstone and their organisation last season - the core of their team has been there for ages.

If we play against them like we did against Cove they’ll beat us within the 90. Maloney needs to get this system clicking very quickly as we will need to be at our very best for this one, their style will suit the game and it’s a very tough venue on a tight pitch. Their centre backs in Little and O’Brien are strong, good in the air and are a very good partnership and don’t make many mistakes. They also offer a threat at set pieces.

I’m sure you’ll have some knowledge about them to enlighten us with.

22-01-2022, 07:37 PM

We should be beating Arbroath in our sleep.

Rumble de Thump
22-01-2022, 07:38 PM
I wonder if any of our players would get into Arbroath's starting 11.

22-01-2022, 07:39 PM
Is that a wee pitch & putt begins the stadium?

Zambernardi1875
22-01-2022, 07:44 PM

Like cove at home

22-01-2022, 07:46 PM
Gayfield in winter is the coldest place on earth. Brutal doesn't begin to describe it. It won't be easy.

SJNB Hibby
22-01-2022, 07:46 PM

I'd say cove Rangers would beat Arbroath
If abroad DONT get promoted this season, they won't find Cove easy to beat
It's not an easy tie...it's the last 16 of the Scottish Cup, it's VERY winnable and I will be gutted if we lose

green with envy
22-01-2022, 07:47 PM
What?

Tell you what, seeing as how you can only resort to trolling and the like, I’m guessing you know **** all about this one. They score a lot of goals in the league compared to other teams in the league and are amongst the best defences too. Despite their part time status they may be the fittest team in the league. We struggle against a hard and high press which they do very well, we concede too many goals from crosses and they’ve scored a good amount this season from crosses too. We struggled against St Johnstone and their organisation last season - the core of their team has been there for ages.

If we play against them like we did against Cove they’ll beat us within the 90. Maloney needs to get this system clicking very quickly as we will need to be at our very best for this one, their style will suit the game and it’s a very tough venue on a tight pitch. Their centre backs in Little and O’Brien are strong, good in the air and are a very good partnership and don’t make many mistakes.

I’m sure you’ll have some knowledge about them to enlighten us with.

Haha. I'm a regular home and away most weeks and I expect this to be a hard game but Jeezo, I'm not getting worried about playing a team in a lower league compared to a whole load of other ties we could have got. TBH, I'm really happy with the outcome.

Stanton Spence
22-01-2022, 07:48 PM
It's never a bad draw getting a side from a level below and we should have more than enough
Ideally you want avoid teams you think might win the Cup and Arbroath for me ain't one of them
Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

22-01-2022, 07:54 PM
I agree with Northernhibee about this . One of the worst possible draws for us . No replay to fall back on if things go badly and low gate receipts .

22-01-2022, 08:00 PM
I agree with Northernhibee about this . One of the worst possible draws for us . No replay to fall back on if things go badly and low gate receipts .

Should be a great cup tie ….looking f forward to it

22-01-2022, 08:01 PM
I agree with Northernhibee about this . One of the worst possible draws for us . No replay to fall back on if things go badly and low gate receipts .Surely any prem team away would be worse

Rangers, celtic Aberdeen and hearts at home would be worse too

22-01-2022, 08:01 PM
It's one of the ones that has disaster written all over it, given it's top of the Championship and a ground that you wouldn't typically expect us to adapt well to.

Would rather have the comfort of a replay, but we'll still be favourites. Good enough to win, should win, might not, which probably wouldn't be as embarrassing as others would find it.

Ray Donovan
22-01-2022, 08:03 PM
This will likely be a difficult game for us.

Arbroath are going well and as others have said the weather conditions could throw a real spanner in the works.

I'd take any type of win just now and i think we'll do just enough to get through. However, we do need to play with more intensity than we did for the first 70 minutes of the game against Cove.

22-01-2022, 08:03 PM
Is it a plastic pitch?

22-01-2022, 08:05 PM
We will batter them 1-0 AET

DIXIHIBS
22-01-2022, 08:05 PM
Some flapping on here tonite over a cup tie against a team a division below us. Yes they are playing well, yes its a tough place to go, yes it wont be easy but come on. Tougher than old firm hertz dons united livi etc...seriously. I hope the players/manager have a stronger mindset than some fans.

22-01-2022, 08:08 PM
Oldies on here will mind playing against Arbroath back in day was not uncommon.
They were in the top division in the 60s.
For the younger guys who dont know the ground.
Consider playing an 11 a side game on the Portobello promendade in a gale.
Or at Seafield public pitches in winter months .
That's Gayfield on a good day.

I know whats been said about lower division team.So are Cove.
Shaun i am sure will pop up there before we play them.

green with envy
22-01-2022, 08:09 PM
This will likely be a difficult game for us.

Arbroath are going well and as others have said the weather conditions could throw a real spanner in the works.

I'd take any type of win just now and i think we'll do just enough to get through. However, we do need to play with more intensity than we did for the first 70 minutes of the game against Cove.

We had 3 starters against Cove that hadn't played any top games in weeks/months. By the time we play Arbroath, I expect all 3 players to up and running to full match fitness. As I've already said I expect be a hard game but no way is this one of the hardest away ties that we could have got. There's another 10,or 11 away games that would have been harder.

22-01-2022, 08:11 PM
Oldies on here will mind playing against Arbroath back in day was not uncommon
They were in the top division in the 60s
For the younger guys
Consider playing an 11 a side game on the Portobello promendade in a gale. Or at Seafield pitches in winter

If the pitch is really that bad, maybe explains why (despite being top of their league) they’ve only won four games on it in the league. Few wins against teams from lower leagues than themselves as well in the cups.

green with envy
22-01-2022, 08:11 PM
Oldies on here will mind playing against Arbroath back in day was not uncommon
They were in the top division in the 60s
For the younger guys
Consider playing an 11 a side game on the Portobello promendade in a gale. Or at Seafield pitches in winter

Was there for a friendly a couple of years ago and you couldn't have had better conditions to play a game of fitba. TBF, it was in July.😆

22-01-2022, 08:13 PM
Was there for a friendly a couple of years ago and you couldn't have had better conditions to play a game of fitba. TBF, it was in July.😆

We lost that game, didn’t we?

22-01-2022, 08:15 PM
Well for sure we have a better team than Arbroath.
No point sweating about it.

22-01-2022, 08:16 PM
It's one of the ones that has disaster written all over it, given it's top of the Championship and a ground that you wouldn't typically expect us to adapt well to.

Would rather have the comfort of a replay, but we'll still be favourites. Good enough to win, should win, might not, which probably wouldn't be as embarrassing as others would find it.

Exactly . We`ve got 5 league matches to play before Arbroath . We could win them all and still have a hard time in cup there . If we lose , press will label it as a shock and a lot of our support will label it as a disgrace etc but reality is that any non OF teams in our division would be in for a hard game there and even OF might have problems .

22-01-2022, 08:17 PM
Arbroath away from home in the cup...it'll be a breeze 😉

22-01-2022, 08:22 PM
If the pitch is really that bad, maybe explains why (despite being top of their league) they’ve only won four games on it in the league. Few wins against teams from lower leagues than themselves as well in the cups.

I never said the pitch was bad.
I dont even know what kind of pitch they have nowadays.
It is the weather conditions there that are the enemy at this time of year.
To see it is to believe it. Honest,its some ground in bad weather.
Nae flair fitba at Gayfield !!

green with envy
22-01-2022, 08:24 PM
We lost that game, didn’t we?

Wee did indeed. TBFi was ****ting myself that night. We couldn't have had a harder pre season friendly.

22-01-2022, 08:24 PM
How often do Rangers and Celtic get drawn against pish teams? Must be above average.

22-01-2022, 08:25 PM
Arbroath away from home in the cup...it'll be a breeze 😉
That's if our players dont get the wind up

22-01-2022, 08:27 PM
Hearing all those folk who shout abuse at our own players and moan about Nisbet on here and at games are at the back of the queue for tickets.

Imagine if tickets were limited to those who attended the Cove match and weren't moaning and shouting at Nisbet. We'd take about one minibus up there.

22-01-2022, 08:28 PM

Well you would hope the seaside would be nice in July :greengrin

If its baltic and windy Its gonna be tough and a leveller.

22-01-2022, 08:28 PM
That's if our players dont get the wind up

Maybe we should sign Dwight Gayle(force) for the game..........

22-01-2022, 08:29 PM
head to head

League, Hibs-13 Arbroath-5, Draws-4
League cup Hibs-2 wins
SC Hibs-4 Arbroath-1, Draws-1

Hibs wins-19
Arbroath wins- 6
Draws -5

22-01-2022, 08:35 PM
Arbroath are having a great season, but probably won’t be promoted, and considering all the advantages they’ve got - a wind that only blows in their favour etc, it’s surprising that it’s a first good season in decades, how does everyone else cope with them when Hibs cant? FFS stop hyping them up to be world beaters. It’s a tough tie, but one that any club with ambitions to lift the trophy will be content with.

22-01-2022, 08:37 PM
Some flapping on here tonite over a cup tie against a team a division below us. Yes they are playing well, yes its a tough place to go, yes it wont be easy but come on. Tougher than old firm hertz dons united livi etc...seriously. I hope the players/manager have a stronger mindset than some fans.

No flapping.
Just think to let those that have not experienced Gayfield in Winter,what the conditions could possibly be like.
It's a unique ground in that its so close to the North Sea.
You could throw a stone from the ground and it might hit a mackerel in the face.

Zambernardi1875
22-01-2022, 08:43 PM

I don’t think anyone said it would be tougher than the gsmes you mentioned. A few have been very ignorant and arrogant towards the opposition

22-01-2022, 08:57 PM
Maybe we should sign Dwight Gayle(force) for the game..........

To play in a back 4 wae Dean Windass, Robbie Winter and Ally McCloud !

22-01-2022, 08:59 PM
No flapping.
Just think to let those that have not experienced Gayfield in Winter,what the conditions could possibly be like.
It's a unique ground in that its so close to the North Sea.
You could throw a stone from the ground and it might hit a mackerel in the face.

nae need, very cruel

22-01-2022, 08:59 PM
The colour of Arbroath's strip will be enough to see us thru comfortably. Dinnae worry lads and lassies.

👍😄

22-01-2022, 09:09 PM
Tough draw for us.

22-01-2022, 09:25 PM
Arbroath Hospitality £60

Match ticket
5 drinks
3 course meal
HT pies

Hibees1973
22-01-2022, 09:31 PM
I can still clearly remember as a young boy the Scottish Cup replay against Arbroath in the 70s at Easter Road. I watched it from the old main stand with my late dad (a Jambo).

We scored early but then lost 2 goals within a couple of minutes of each other. Hibs pummelled Arbroath but just could not turn it around......still haunts me.

The Tornadoes were a thing of the past and the team and the club were on the decline.

Been to hundreds of Hibs games but this one somehow this game gives me a real shiver.

22-01-2022, 09:31 PM
Arbroath Hospitality £60

Match ticket
5 drinks
3 course meal
HT pies
Not very good as there is no Arbroath Smokie in the package.🐟🐟🐟

22-01-2022, 09:44 PM
I can still clearly remember as a young boy the Scottish Cup replay against Arbroath in the 70s at Easter Road. I watched it from the old main stand with my late dad (a Jambo).

We scored early but then lost 2 goals within a couple of minutes of each other. Hibs pummelled Arbroath but just could not turn it around......still haunts me.

The Tornadoes were a thing of the past and the team and the club were on the decline.

Been to hundreds of Hibs games but this one somehow this game gives me a real shiver.
I remember seeing a man with a young boy with an Arbroath scarf on that night. His dad had the young lad sitting on one of the barriers and when the early goal went in I thought, what a shame for the boy. Being trailed all the way down from Arbroath on a dreich winters night to see his team slaughtered. I shouldn't have worried! That wee boy will be well into his 50s now and no doubt telling all his pals that he was there that night.
They also beat us at Easter Road in a league game during their brief stay in the top league, 15th March 1969. I think it was their only away win that season.
My wedding day ruined!

22-01-2022, 09:46 PM

Been to hundreds of Hibs games but this one somehow this game gives me a real shiver.We drew 1 v 1 in first game with John Blackley scoring ( That was unusual ) then lost 1 v 2 at Holy Ground in replay in ironically ( given talk of wind at Arbroath ) gale force winds . Dominated game but lost . At that time many / most fans thought we were still a great team just because we were better than Hearts ( much better , Hearts were total rubbish at that time - reached SC final in 1976 after needing ET and numerous replays against teams from lower divisions - the equivalent of a lower Championship or First Divisio team making final ) . This year is different . Arbroath are top of Championship and everyone knows their home advantage is special : I believe we can win but if we don`t I certainly won`t be calling for a new manager .

22-01-2022, 09:50 PM

That game was a sore one, I remember it more than I should. Being brought up watching The Tornadoes spoiled us, these games were usually a formality so it was hard to take at the time. That game was a replay, the first time was a 1-1 draw up there. All I remember is going on the football special train and all the young team crossing directly over the pitch at half time to get behind the goals at the other end with 2 cops trying to stop us. Or did I imagine that?

22-01-2022, 10:03 PM

I was at that game, and the one at Gayfield.

I'm still embarrassed!

22-01-2022, 10:28 PM
Just seen the draw, well chuffed.

Absolutely no nerves at all about facing Arbroath, easy win.

22-01-2022, 10:29 PM
Is it a plastic pitch?

No, it's a traditional grass pitch.

22-01-2022, 10:31 PM
head to head

League, Hibs-13 Arbroath-5, Draws-4
League cup Hibs-2 wins
SC Hibs-4 Arbroath-1, Draws-1

Hibs wins-19
Arbroath wins- 6
Draws -5

Aye. Our overall record against them is decent
However, the draw and loss in SC was (or will be) almost 45 years ago to the day, when it’s played next month.

We struggled to get a draw in the first game at Gayfield but thought the replay would be a dawdle at ER. How wrong that turned out!! One of the worst nights at ER we’ve had. Some would say a “cup shock”.

I know there’s no correlation to now and then. Nevertheless, this one won’t be easy!!

green with envy
22-01-2022, 10:52 PM
Aye. Our overall record against them is decent
However, the draw and loss in SC was (or will be) almost 45 years ago to the day, when it’s played next month.

We struggled to get a draw in the first game at Gayfield but thought the replay would be a dawdle at ER. How wrong that turned out!! One of the worst nights at ER we’ve had. Some would say a “cup shock”.

I know there’s no correlation to now and then. Nevertheless, this one won’t be easy!!

Headlines in the Evening News the following day read... Hibs fans smash windows in Cockburn Street after defeat of Arbroath.

22-01-2022, 11:30 PM
Just seen the draw, well chuffed.

Absolutely no nerves at all about facing Arbroath, easy win.

Nope it’s a terrible draw. They’d beat the old firm too y’know

22-01-2022, 11:41 PM
Canny wait for this mad scramble for tickets great day out takes me back to the 70s will get a ticket for home end if unsuccessful for ballot ggtth

Certainly remember playing them in the 70's :rolleyes:, talked about it in another thread, enough to be worried but this time we'll be okay.

22-01-2022, 11:50 PM
Headlines in the Evening News the following day read... Hibs fans smash windows in Cockburn Street after defeat of Arbroath.

Speaking to the news in the aftermath of the Cockburn Street Riot, shopowner,Fred Plaice the Fishmonger said

" I telt that daft assistant o mine, tae take they Arbroath Smokies away fae the windae"

23-01-2022, 12:01 AM
It will be a tricky tie, but it’s one we should be winning. Arbroath have done amazingly well this season, but the championship is pretty weak this year.

23-01-2022, 12:07 AM
Bloody hell, can't agree this will be some hard draw. Part time lower league side. Should be winning this no problem. They're having a good season but we're a different level. The championship is a dreadful league.

23-01-2022, 12:13 AM
Speaking to the news in the aftermath of the Cockburn Street Riot, shopowner,Fred Plaice the Fishmonger said

" I telt that daft assistant o mine, tae take they Arbroath Smokies away fae the windae"
Ye canna spik Doric min. "I telt the daft loon tae tak the smokies awa fae the windee...

King Cosell
23-01-2022, 12:20 AM
Bloody hell, can't agree this will be some hard draw. Part time lower league side. Should be winning this no problem. They're having a good season but we're a different level. The championship is a dreadful league.

Wouldn't say it's a dreadful league. We should be winning this game but the top 5 in the championship could hold there own against Dundee & St Johnstone and we've had 4 tough games against Dundee & St Johnstone.

23-01-2022, 12:21 AM
I agree, but we did just struggle to beat a full time team a league below Arbroath at Easter Road.

23-01-2022, 12:22 AM

They're top of the championship and probably better than Ross County, St johnstone, Dundee and St mirren.

hibeerealist
23-01-2022, 12:30 AM
Imagine if tickets were limited to those who attended the Cove match and weren't moaning and shouting at Nisbet. We'd take about one minibus up there.

Imagine if posts on here were limited to those that were sensible!!!!

23-01-2022, 01:11 AM

There will be no scramble for tickets, we will get about 3000 and anyone who wants one will get one no problem.

23-01-2022, 05:16 AM
They're top of the championship and probably better than Ross County, St johnstone, Dundee and St mirren.

What makes you say they are better than those sides? I'd fancy all those Premiership teams to beat them should they meet in a play off.

23-01-2022, 05:27 AM
Arbroath are nae mugs and top for a reason, they are quite capable of beating this Hibs team.

JamesHFC
23-01-2022, 05:37 AM
What makes you say they are better than those sides? I'd fancy all those Premiership teams to beat them should they meet in a play off.

Dundee United and St Johnstone have already beat them in cup competition this season.

Crunchie
23-01-2022, 08:07 AM
Dundee United and St Johnstone have already beat them in cup competition this season.
Both tough games, I'm hoping ours is easier but I'll not be surprised if it isn't. It's a potential banana skin for sure.

23-01-2022, 08:07 AM
No, it's a traditional grass pitch.

Grass? Mown kelp surely

23-01-2022, 08:09 AM

Aye...and Kelty Hearts just beat St Johnstone

23-01-2022, 08:14 AM
Surely Davidson's coat must be on a shoogly peg. Can't continue to live on last season's fluke, funny as it is.

23-01-2022, 08:17 AM
Arbroath Hospitality £60

Match ticket
5 drinks
3 course meal
HT pies

Aye it will be £150 v Hibs

23-01-2022, 08:24 AM
Arbroath Hospitality £60

Match ticket
5 drinks
3 course meal
HT pies

Where you getting these prices? I just went on their site & the cheapest I seen was £95.

23-01-2022, 08:25 AM
Arbroath will be a tough fixture but one we should win.

We are not firing on all cylinders currently but the new boys will be up and running before the tie.

They are on an unbelievable run but some could argue punching above their weight in a league that’s not as strong as it has been previously. They will be well organised but we should have enough to comfortably get through.

If this tie was reversed, we’d all be saying it was a good draw.

0-2 Hibs.

Crunchie
23-01-2022, 08:25 AM
Surely Davidson's coat must be on a shoogly peg. Can't continue to live on last season's fluke, funny as it is.
Definitely, and to think there were calls to get him in here. I think they'll stick by him for another few games though, he deserves it imo.

23-01-2022, 09:15 AM
Where you getting these prices? I just went on their site & the cheapest I seen was £95.

https://twitter.com/ArbroathFC/status/1484997718200270850?s=20

23-01-2022, 09:28 AM
Arbroath chairman Mike Caird on utube clip below,discussing the club's hospitality facilities.
Caird Hospitality Suite.
Its popular and sold out most home games .
Caters for 120 persons.
Am thinking away fans might be busy getting a table.
Particularly if the package detailed is only £60,but i think it is £95
Might be sold out the morn!!
Clip shows film of Hospitality Suite

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3r76_9am55M

From AFC website
Our Hospitality Package Includes:
-12.45pm arrival at Gayfield.
-Three-course meal with drinks until 5:30pm.
-Reserved seating in the Main stand.
-Half-time refreshments (tea / coffee and a pie).
-Hospitality Entertainment.
-Not forgetting your photograph on Facebook!
Requirements: Dress code of a shirt and tie are required with a strict no jeans policy.
Cost £95

23-01-2022, 09:33 AM
Tough game but lets not get carried away, we should beat them quite easily, we made it hard for ourselves against cove, not because cove played particularly well

KDY Hibs
23-01-2022, 09:41 AM
Good draw, I fancy Arbroath to start struggling in the coming weeks due to being part time, great season they’ve had though!

He's here!
23-01-2022, 09:50 AM

Is it funny? He seems a decent bloke to me and his teams were too good for us last season when it mattered. Sure we turned in such a dismal display in the Scottish Cup final that it still irritates me but what Davidson achieved was quite extraordinary. You don't 'fluke' both domestic cups.

23-01-2022, 09:54 AM
If this is on TV I might be able to go. Saturday 3pm won't work as we're visiting friends in Dalry (I know) that day.

23-01-2022, 10:09 AM
Meh tough game and wouldn’t have been my first choice but it’ll be fiiiiiine… right ? 🙃

Zambernardi1875
23-01-2022, 10:17 AM
https://twitter.com/ArbroathFC/status/1484997718200270850?s=20

It’s all sold out now anyway

23-01-2022, 10:27 AM
Good away day that, looking forward to it!

23-01-2022, 10:30 AM
It’s all sold out now anyway

That was quick!
Did they know they were getting a home cup tie !

The clip from u-tube i linked, suggests that most home games sell out at hospitality.
Well off cliche of regulars,maybe !
Very popular,it seems.

stuart-farquhar
23-01-2022, 10:51 AM
That was quick!
Did they know they were getting a home cup tie !

The clip from u-tube i linked, suggests that most home games sell out at hospitality.
Well off cliche of regulars,maybe !
Very popular,it seems.

All sitting there wearing ties. As you do to attend football! What is it with clubs having a daft "dress code". I've been to many high end restaurants and worn what I like including jeans.

HFC93
23-01-2022, 10:53 AM
Tough draw but I can't believe some Hibs fans, particularly on social media, are ****ing themselves.

23-01-2022, 11:02 AM
Could of definitely had a tougher draw but I'm confident of wining.

Is it 4 games to be shown again with two on BBC and two on premier? Would be shocked to see other than the old firm on premier so maybe BBC Saturday 12:30?

Nice to see either Motherwell or Aberdeen out next round.

23-01-2022, 11:33 AM
Tough draw but I can't believe some Hibs fans, particularly on social media, are ****ing themselves.

Indeed. Its a part time lower league side, zero excuses for not winning. We should be too fast and strong for them and should have far more quality.

23-01-2022, 11:39 AM
Indeed. Its a part time lower league side, zero excuses for not winning. We should be too fast and strong for them and should have far more quality.

Agreed. If we think we are a top 6 club this should be looked at as a good draw.

23-01-2022, 11:44 AM

The Saintees walk of shame.

https://twitter.com/alanmccredie/status/1485036298985476096?t=RU5rFIBDPGilgIL8usp-LQ&s=19

23-01-2022, 11:45 AM

https://twitter.com/alanmccredie/status/1485036298985476096?t=RU5rFIBDPGilgIL8usp-LQ&s=19

Kelty need to sort this is they are going to be on the higher leagues
Been at the ground a few times for development games

23-01-2022, 11:49 AM
Could of definitely had a tougher draw but I'm confident of wining.

Is it 4 games to be shown again with two on BBC and two on premier? Would be shocked to see other than the old firm on premier so maybe BBC Saturday 12:30?

Nice to see either Motherwell or Aberdeen out next round.

Rangers and Celtic games will 100% be on premier sport to keep the masses happy. I reckon our game will be on tv but hopefully it is a Saturday tea time or Sunday afternoon game. A half 12 kick off in Arbroath on a Saturday, while not overly difficult to get to by train it means an early start and a tad inconvenient.

Hearts or Livingston going out as well.

EDIT - we are away to Rangers on the 9th Feb so our cup game definitely won't be a Thursday or a Friday night and I think it would be unfair to kick us off at 12:30 on the Saturday have had an away game in midweek.

23-01-2022, 11:51 AM
Tough draw yes, winnable? Absolutely. We will have signed a few more by then and the new lads will be well bedded in by then. We have a very difficult away game on Wednesday the 9th away to Rangers just before it though.

Yorkshire HFC
23-01-2022, 11:54 AM

He's the greatest manager the club has ever had - I think he should be allowed to stay there as long as he likes.

If the Board have any backbone then they should leave the decision up to him. Managers like that don't come along very often.

23-01-2022, 12:14 PM
Rangers and Celtic games will 100% be on premier sport to keep the masses happy. I reckon our game will be on tv but hopefully it is a Saturday tea time or Sunday afternoon game. A half 12 kick off in Arbroath on a Saturday, while not overly difficult to get to by train it means an early start and a tad inconvenient.

Hearts or Livingston going out as well.

EDIT - we are away to Rangers on the 9th Feb so our cup game definitely won't be a Thursday or a Friday night and I think it would be unfair to kick us off at 12:30 on the Saturday have had an away game in midweek.

Unless it’s changed for tv I doubt they will take into account we have played mid week

23-01-2022, 12:20 PM
How many tickets are we likely to get for this? Apologies if it’s already been mentioned

23-01-2022, 12:20 PM

That is shambolic that being allowed to happen. Plus the fans ridiculously short memories is a joke also.

23-01-2022, 12:24 PM
I think this is a very tricky tie, we should still win, but this will be close.

inglisavhibs
23-01-2022, 12:26 PM

Arbroath punched above their weight for a long time in the seventies under the legend that was Albert Henderson. He took them in to the top flight and I think they spent a few seasons there. Some achievement for Arbroath and he will always be remembered as Arbroath’s best ever manager. Mind you, Dick Campbell is coming close to matching that success and any victory in the cup tie will be hard earned.

23-01-2022, 12:36 PM
Arbroath punched above their weight for a long time in the seventies under the legend that was Albert Henderson. He took them in to the top flight and I think they spent a few seasons there. Some achievement for Arbroath and he will always be remembered as Arbroath’s best ever manager. Mind you, Dick Campbell is coming close to matching that success and any victory in the cup tie will be hard earned.

Known locally as Henderson to Deliver when getting promotion :greengrin

Indeed,he is a legend up there.

23-01-2022, 12:51 PM
A lot of folk are suggesting, the game v Arbroath will be really tough and a potential banana skin. I don’t get that....... to me it’s a contradiction in terms. They’re either a good side, will give us a good game and could very well beat us or our relative positions suggest we should and probably will beat them. Losing to a side, adjudged to be a really good team is not a banana skin and if they beat us it will be no surprise and nothing to be ashamed of. For what it’s worth, I think we will win the game in normal time.

23-01-2022, 01:18 PM
How many tickets are we likely to get for this? Apologies if it’s already been mentioned

Stadium holds 6600 , so my guess is in between 2 to 3 thousand.

23-01-2022, 01:37 PM
Stadium holds 6600 , so my guess is in between 2 to 3 thousand.

thanks

23-01-2022, 01:46 PM
Surely they will announce tv games soon?

23-01-2022, 01:52 PM

I’d have thought tomorrow

23-01-2022, 02:11 PM
Interesting that Arbroath have dropped more league points at home than they have away despite having played two more games away than home.

23-01-2022, 04:22 PM

Actually would like it to be moved for TV now, I have a prior engagement but if it's on a different day I'll go.

23-01-2022, 06:19 PM
I'd like it moved for TV, but only so it doesn't clash with the Six Nations.