View Full Version : Hibs bands and music

wearehibernian
08-01-2022, 07:40 PM
After seeing a couple music related posts of late I thought it might be interesting to hear about Hibees who play in bands. Or even songs that mention us? Will start with this classic: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n3GD3e4A3X0

08-01-2022, 07:59 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8TAyY8czqc

Braw are really good, guitarist is a big Hibby.

Juice-Terry
08-01-2022, 08:12 PM
https://youtu.be/2K5ATFtmnD4

hibby rae
08-01-2022, 08:12 PM
My brother is reading Bobby Gillespie's book and brought to my attention Robert 'Throb' Young from Primal Scream being a Hibby.

According to Gillespie, during the 70s he would constantly wear a Hibs purple away where ever he went. Bearing in mind this is in Glasgow as well, not Edinburgh.

wearehibernian
08-01-2022, 08:39 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8TAyY8czqc

Braw are really good, guitarist is a big Hibby.

Enjoying this. At the start I thought it was gonna be all folky but actually dead good. :wink:

08-01-2022, 08:46 PM
Enjoying this. At the start I thought it was gonna be all folky but actually dead good. :wink:

The albums great. ‘Auld Grey Toon’ is a banger as is ‘The Tide’ and ‘Home From Home’

08-01-2022, 09:14 PM
My brother is reading Bobby Gillespie's book and brought to my attention Robert 'Throb' Young from Primal Scream being a Hibby.

According to Gillespie, during the 70s he would constantly wear a Hibs purple away where ever he went. Bearing in mind this is in Glasgow as well, not Edinburgh.

I didn't know that. I've just fallen a bit more for him. Such a talent, sadly missed.

08-01-2022, 09:16 PM
https://youtu.be/zRrvD5aWHFo

Tom Fairnie, Lightning in the Dark. Season ticket holder at Easter Rd.

fiolex1
08-01-2022, 09:24 PM
Like this song
https://youtube.com/watch?v=QPOyHs1Bpto&feature=share

fiolex1
08-01-2022, 09:30 PM
Like this song

08-01-2022, 10:16 PM
Like this song

Blue Rose Code, without doubt the best modern folk band of the moment. Ross Wilson is outstanding and a Hibby.

08-01-2022, 10:38 PM
https://youtu.be/eI7KxEerCYo

I'm sure I read that Shirley Manson's a Hibby. she was in the same class as my sister as well.

Salisbury Hibby
08-01-2022, 11:54 PM
https://youtu.be/HKy6MWS2iws

Louis from Admiral Fallow is a Hibby. Did Sunshine on Leith on a BBC New Year program too.

Sent from my moto g(60)s using Tapatalk

08-01-2022, 11:56 PM
Blue Rose Code, without doubt the best modern folk band of the moment. Ross Wilson is outstanding and a Hibby.

I like them a lot and Ross is a Leith boy and a Hibee.

This song is a beauty, it references Hibs and Leith. If you’ve never heard it, give it a listen.

https://youtu.be/6EPMymQGAiQ

Salisbury Hibby
08-01-2022, 11:57 PM
https://youtu.be/6ugrVN6A***

The *** needs replacing with an F, a U and a Q.

Got to love the filters on here. It's Admiral Fallow performing Sunshine on Leith.

09-01-2022, 12:06 AM
Dick Gaughan- grew up in Leith ( Graham St) and a Hibee through and through.

He did what I consider the definitive version of Erin go bragh.
It tells the tale of Gaelic speaking Man , from Argyll. He’s in Edinburgh, stopped by the Polis and given gyp. It ends in conflict and .....well, best just to listen.

Dick was interviewed by the Evening News years ago and spoke of his love for Leith and for the Hibees. I know he’s not well, but he got to see us lift the cup. In the interview he spoke of his wish that it would come to pass whilst he still drew breath.

He’s playing live, bloody hell, what a guitar player.

https://youtu.be/2zu1HtV00qw

09-01-2022, 12:07 AM

Got to love the filters on here. It's Admiral Fallow performing Sunshine on Leith.

Video unavailable

Salisbury Hibby
09-01-2022, 12:08 AM
Video unavailableI know. The filters on this site have modified the URL. I did say.

09-01-2022, 12:15 AM
I know. The filters on this site have modified the URL. I did say.

Tbf, I had no idea wha5 you were saying.

https://soundcloud.com/jimispotland/the-key-to-the-house-of-love

Hibee Nation, Irvine Welsh and a member of Primal Scream, pretty gash, but still referencing the team with the coolest name and strip ....ever.

Cauld Bovril
09-01-2022, 12:26 AM
Some Hibbies from Leith in this band
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Ooiw0M1_wN4

Salisbury Hibby
09-01-2022, 12:40 AM
Tbf, I had no idea wha5 you were saying.

https://soundcloud.com/jimispotland/the-key-to-the-house-of-love

Hibee Nation, Irvine Welsh and a member of Primal Scream, pretty gash, but still referencing the team with the coolest name and strip ....ever.Sorry, I thought it was clear but it is late.

09-01-2022, 12:55 AM
Jo Malik is certainly one of the coolest Hibs supporting musical artists.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G3umXVZU5aM

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-01-2022, 02:33 AM

It tells the tale of Gaelic speaking Man , from Argyll. He’s in Edinburgh, stopped by the Polis and given gyp. It ends in conflict and .....well, best just to listen.

Dick was interviewed by the Evening News years ago and spoke of his love for Leith and for the Hibees. I know he’s not well, but he got to see us lift the cup. In the interview he spoke of his wish that it would come to pass whilst he still drew breath.

Love this song, tells the story of the Edinburgh Irish experience well, something that's often glossed over in coverage of sectarianism in Scotland in the media with it being framed as a west coast problem (understandably perhaps but certainly not confined to weegies). Saddened to hear Mr Gaughan is in poor health.

Roxyhibee
09-01-2022, 09:01 AM
Used to very regularly see guitarist Malcolm Ross at Easter Road, even up to a few years ago.

Was originally in the Edinburgh band Josef K from my punk/post punk gigging days, then he played with Orange Juice and Aztec Camera. Think he also later worked with Knopfler (but then who hasn’t.!)

Was told by a mate a few years back that he set up a band or project called High Bees but I didn’t follow up on it.

I don’t do any social media apart from a bit Hibs.net, so wouldn’t know what he’s up to these days but hope the boy is still going strong.

09-01-2022, 09:07 AM
Malcolm Ross of Josef K and Orange Juice is a good Hibby. His mid 80s project was given the name The High Bees. Think this was around about 1985

https://youtu.be/RdKZQe3Nad4

There were a few Hibs fans amongst the influential late 70s / early 80s Edinburgh post-punk bands like Josef K , Fire Engines, The Scars….

Edit. Just seen Roxy’s post on the matter!!

09-01-2022, 09:13 AM
Used to very regularly see guitarist Malcolm Ross at Easter Road, even up to a few years ago.

Was originally in the Edinburgh band Josef K from my punk/post punk gigging days, then he played with Orange Juice and Aztec Camera. Think he also later worked with Knopfler (but then who hasn’t.!)

Was told by a mate a few years back that he set up a band or project called High Bees but I didn’t follow up on it.

I don’t do any social media apart from a bit Hibs.net, so wouldn’t know what he’s up to these days but hope the boy is still going strong.

They kicked around for a while and did some gigs but only that one single on the YouTube clip.
Dave Ruffy of The Ruts played with them.
Malcolm also did a bit with Dave Henderson in Nectarine No 9.

Green_one
09-01-2022, 09:30 AM

Excellent cover. Worth the editing effort to hear it.

09-01-2022, 09:32 AM

Memory of Dick ,who i first met around 1981.
Labour had won overall control of Edinburgh Council for the first time in 1982.

Dick got on to the ramparts of the City Chambers and belted out The Internationale and other assorted Socialist songs.
The passing tourists and locals were stunned.
Great Day. Good man and wonderful singer and musician .

MKHIBEE
09-01-2022, 09:44 AM

Seen Dick many times, without doubt one of the best performers I have seen and a lovely guy to talk to.

He's here!
09-01-2022, 09:47 AM

Did he used to run a club in the basement of the former church at the foot of Broughton St? Seem to remember he had a connection to Finlay Quaye (also a Hibs fan?).

Roxyhibee
09-01-2022, 09:55 AM
Malcolm Ross of Josef K and Orange Juice is a good Hibby. His mid 80s project was given the name The High Bees. Think this was around about 1985

There were a few Hibs fans amongst the influential late 70s / early 80s Edinburgh post-punk bands like Josef K , Fire Engines, The Scars….

Ahh, never seen this before cheers. There was a band that used to play locally around then whose drummer used to wear a Hibs top. Can’t recall who they were though but they seemed very local and not one of the aforementioned Postcard or Zoom icons.

Those were the greatest of times, getting in early to The Tap O Lauriston and nabbing one of the bottom booths beside the jukebox when it was just a pub and before it became an actual gig venue. There was usually a Rezillo, Fire Engine, Scar, Josef hanging about - even saw The Mekons all sitting there before one of their gigs. An abundance of exciting bands and cheap gigs in those days.

He's here!
09-01-2022, 09:56 AM
A guy called Marty Waugh (any relation to Kenny?) released a CD single called the Famous Five circa 20 years ago.

There was also a CD which used to get played on repeat in the Cabbage and Ribs featuring a load of Hibs-related songs. Glory Glory to the Hibees, Turnbull's Tornadoes, Hibernian Give Us A Goal, Sunshine on Leith and the 80s Colin Chisholm Hibs Heroes single (When I was five my daddy took me down to Easter Road etc...) were on it, but the others were attributed mostly to artists I know nothing about. I suspect most were a one-off:

Cabbage and Ribs: The Peristalsis Brothers
Sea of Green: Green Party
Hibees Hibernian Let's Go: Kirsty Baird
Independence: Victory
We are the Hibees: Colin Morrison
Hibee Family: The Jimmy Boco Experience
Glory Glory: The Hibee Quartet
It's Good to be a Hibee: Billy McKenzie
Playing for the Hibees: Garry Stanton
Follow the Hibees: Green Party

wearehibernian
09-01-2022, 10:32 AM
They kicked around for a while and did some gigs but only that one single on the YouTube clip.
Dave Ruffy of The Ruts played with them.
Malcolm also did a bit with Dave Henderson in Nectarine No 9.

Ruts are one of my all time faves so pretty great to hear that he played with the High Bees!

Roxyhibee
09-01-2022, 10:54 AM
Ruts are one of my all time faves so pretty great to hear that he played with the High Bees!

Malcolm’s voice was one of the greatest I ever heard, live or on record. Tragic loss.

09-01-2022, 11:00 AM
I'm sure that most of Ballboy are Hibbies.

ErinGoBraghHFC
09-01-2022, 12:45 PM
Retro video club are hibees as well, done a cover of Hibs heroes on a view from the terrace a wee while ago

hibby rae
09-01-2022, 12:53 PM
I'm sure that most of Ballboy are Hibbies.

Ballboy is essentially Gordon McIntyre, and he is a life-long Hibby. He once gave John Peel a Hibs top.

Billy McKirdy
09-01-2022, 01:02 PM
A guy called Marty Waugh (any relation to Kenny?) released a CD single called the Famous Five circa 20 years ago.

There was also a CD which used to get played on repeat in the Cabbage and Ribs featuring a load of Hibs-related songs. Glory Glory to the Hibees, Turnbull's Tornadoes, Hibernian Give Us A Goal, Sunshine on Leith and the 80s Colin Chisholm Hibs Heroes single (When I was five my daddy took me down to Easter Road etc...) were on it, but the others were attributed mostly to artists I know nothing about. I suspect most were a one-off:

The Jimmy Boco Experience is my friend Steven Fraser, known as Socket.
Socket fronted a band in the late eighties called Moon and at the time of the Hands off Hibs campaign he recorded the Hands off Hibs single “Hands off Hibernian, hands off the Hibs”

09-01-2022, 01:08 PM
Ballboy is essentially Gordon McIntyre, and he is a life-long Hibby. He once gave John Peel a Hibs top.

Cheers, used to like them but didn't know much about them/him other then the Hibs connection. A Relatively Famous Victory is superb.

09-01-2022, 01:18 PM
Being an oldie,i dont recognise some of the bands mentioned.
However, it would appear that over the years,as well as having some talented and creative players ,we have also had some talented and creative musicians and singers supporting us.

I can understand why Stranraer like so lowly.
They could save a lot of points by signing Hibs goalie !

Green Reaper
09-01-2022, 01:26 PM
https://youtu.be/kXLbb7VRRcw

09-01-2022, 01:29 PM

Can just remember Josef K and The Fire Engines from my younger years. My mates big brother was into them. Later on the Finitribe surfaced on the back of that to become one the most influential industrial bands in my era then became house music royalty.

09-01-2022, 01:49 PM
Malcolm’s voice was one of the greatest I ever heard, live or on record. Tragic loss.

Did you see The Ruts live?

09-01-2022, 01:52 PM
Saw Fish from Marillion at ER in the late 80s / early 90s. Big guy I seem to remember

jaba1875
09-01-2022, 02:01 PM
Not sure if they are hibees but the dark jokes featured on a hibs promotional video during the Stubbs era. The song was called holding on, could t actually find their music online so ended up buying a signed LP! Pretty decent

09-01-2022, 02:02 PM

I seen them in Clouds when I was 16. Riotous.
Ruts DC still do dates and plenty of them and have a different sound. They do Ruts numbers but Malcolm Owen, well that presence and throat couldn’t ever replicate.

09-01-2022, 02:07 PM

That never came up when we spoke! Wish The Dickies had all been Hibbies….:greengrin
When’s the next book?

Roxyhibee
09-01-2022, 02:07 PM

Either in Glasgow or Dundee, I think. All a bit hazy but pretty sure it wasn’t Edinburgh unfortunately - would have loved to seen them in my own city.

WestEndHibee
09-01-2022, 02:08 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UNjdIe9nnhc&ab_channel=491FilmCo.

lead singer from Big Society, a manchester band, grew up in Leith and is often sporting a Hibs hat. This is a toned down version but good young band.

09-01-2022, 02:18 PM
Either in Glasgow or Dundee, I think. All a bit hazy but pretty sure it wasn’t Edinburgh unfortunately - would have loved to seen them in my own city.

https://i.ibb.co/0hyV8HK/F6-AA3-B4-A-3-EDE-4-BD3-9-B41-0-C7-DBFF5-AF7-E.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)
image hoster (https://imgbb.com/)

Roxyhibee
09-01-2022, 02:25 PM
https://i.ibb.co/0hyV8HK/F6-AA3-B4-A-3-EDE-4-BD3-9-B41-0-C7-DBFF5-AF7-E.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)
image hoster (https://imgbb.com/)

👍 yeah I missed some great ones too, including some in Clouds..

09-01-2022, 02:30 PM
👍 yeah I missed some great ones too, including some in Clouds..

Me too. Finding a couple of quid to witness rock music history was a lot harder then than it is now.

He's here!
09-01-2022, 03:04 PM
Saw Fish from Marillion at ER in the late 80s / early 90s. Big guy I seem to remember

Was never a Marillion fan tho a fair few at school were and I remember them saying Fish had worn a Hibs shirt at a gig.

On the subject of bands wearing football shirts I remember being at Stiff Little Fingers gig at the Barrowlands when they reformed for some Christmas gigs circa 1987. One of the band was wearing a Celtic shirt and another a Rangers shirt which was interesting.

Roxyhibee
09-01-2022, 03:55 PM
Me too. Finding a couple of quid to witness rock music history was a lot harder then than it is now.

The music scene was almost ridiculously vibrant in those days too - I’m afraid me and my mates took so much of it for granted. We still lament some of the great bands and support bands we missed because we were too drunk to leave the pub thinking we’ll catch them next time. Old man hindsight against raw 1977 youth I suppose.

09-01-2022, 04:08 PM
https://youtu.be/zRrvD5aWHFo (https://youtu.be/zRrvD5aWHFo)

Tom Fairnie, Lightning in the Dark. Season ticket holder at Easter Rd.

He's pretty good for an auld yin.....:greengrin

Niffy
09-01-2022, 04:09 PM
Was never a Marillion fan tho a fair few at school were and I remember them saying Fish had worn a Hibs shirt at a gig.

On the subject of bands wearing football shirts I remember being at Stiff Little Fingers gig at the Barrowlands when they reformed for some Christmas gigs circa 1987. One of the band was wearing a Celtic shirt and another a Rangers shirt which was interesting.

I wore a People's Republic of Leith t-shirt on sae at the Barras with my band supporting SLF March 2007... night before the Killie 5-1 final.

stu in nottingham
09-01-2022, 05:11 PM

It's called Hibernian FC: Glory Glory to the Hibees.

Still available on Amazon:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hibernian-FC-Glory-Hibees/dp/B0000241BM

https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/61xsyzdv-FL._AC_.jpg

09-01-2022, 06:31 PM

When I saw them at Barrowlands in the early 90s they did that for the encore with Jake wearing a Scotland shirt as well.

The Rejects used to wear West Ham shirts and the ToTP appearance doing Bubbles is brilliant. The documentary about them "East End Babylon" is brilliant and has a bit about the battle of Birmingham.

09-01-2022, 06:39 PM
I seen them in Clouds when I was 16. Riotous.
Ruts DC still do dates and plenty of them and have a different sound. They do Ruts numbers but Malcolm Owen, well that presence and throat couldn’t ever replicate.

My friends description of The Ruts (he saw them a few times) is simply "one hell of a band". I was only 11 when Malcolm Owen died so sadly never got the chance to see them.

09-01-2022, 07:01 PM

https://youtu.be/2zu1HtV00qwMy dad used to really enjoy listening to his segment on Black Diamond radio, lots of good folk and blues stuff I believe. I remember he didn't know why he stopped but it must have been due to his ill health that you mentioned.

09-01-2022, 07:07 PM
The drummer in We Were Promised Jet Packs is a big Hibee. I play football with most of the band.

09-01-2022, 07:14 PM
The drummer in We Were Promised Jet Packs is a big Hibee. I play football with most of the band.

That's right mind someone telling me that before. Good band them 👍

Billy McKirdy
10-01-2022, 01:28 AM
It's called Hibernian FC: Glory Glory to the Hibees.

Still available on Amazon:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hibernian-FC-Glory-Hibees/dp/B0000241BM

https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/61xsyzdv-FL._AC_.jpg

The very recording that started all the Glory Glory song around was the Hibs version.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glory_Glory_(football_chant)

hibby rae
10-01-2022, 07:56 AM

Is the singer a Jambo? I'm under that impression for some reason.

Roxyhibee
10-01-2022, 08:32 AM

Think you’re thinking of Frightened Rabbit.? Another great Scottish band who maybe were on the same label too.

Key West
10-01-2022, 08:51 AM
Kevin Gore is a big Hibernian supporter and his album ‘The Yearning’ is excellent.

Willis1875
10-01-2022, 08:59 AM
https://youtu.be/ssVEkWTwfc0
https://youtu.be/nQLOIgbXkG4
Couple from my mates band Svengali

wearehibernian
10-01-2022, 09:02 AM
That never came up when we spoke! Wish The Dickies had all been Hibbies….:greengrin
When’s the next book?

Ha ha, I'm sure Banana Splits could be lyrically converted into a Hibs song somehow.... Had the honour of meeting Ruts DC a few years ago, wish I'd know about the High Bees at that point.

10-01-2022, 09:15 AM

Not sure as he doesn’t play in our game of 7s. Think the other member is a Jambo but only loosely as not really a big football fan outside of playing. Hadn’t realised the other guy that plays left the band, but he’s an Ayr United fan for what it’s worth while I’m giving the We Were Promised Jet Packs biography.

Roxyhibee
10-01-2022, 10:56 AM
Not sure as he doesn’t play in our game of 7s. Think the other member is a Jambo but only loosely as not really a big football fan outside of playing. Hadn’t realised the other guy that plays left the band, but he’s an Ayr United fan for what it’s worth while I’m giving the We Were Promised Jet Packs biography.

Must be at least 10 years since it’s release but that first Jetpacks album is absolutely outstanding. Second one pretty fine too.

10-01-2022, 11:39 AM
I like them a lot and Ross is a Leith boy and a Hibee.

This song is a beauty, it references Hibs and Leith. If you’ve never heard it, give it a listen.

https://youtu.be/6EPMymQGAiQ

Beautiful song, thanks for sharing.

HibsTYT
10-01-2022, 02:52 PM
5 Seconds of Summer from Australia, Bassist Calum Hoods dad was a hibs fan so he regularly wears retro hibs kits.

Here he is performing in on of our old kits:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pkVH7v72l3Y

Huge band nowadays.

hibby rae
10-01-2022, 03:11 PM
Think you’re thinking of Frightened Rabbit.? Another great Scottish band who maybe were on the same label too.

Nah it was defo Jetpacks I was thinking of.

I knew Scott Hutchison in passing, and while he did record The Hearts Song for charity, he told me one night he had zero interest in them or football in general. His brother Grant, the drummer, is a Jambo though, on account of their grandad having been one.

10-01-2022, 04:05 PM

I don't think he is. He sat next to me one summer at work when he was doing some temp work during the uni holidays (I worked with his parents).

BS44
10-01-2022, 04:33 PM
Lead singer of a band called Vida is a good guy in green. Unfortunately Vida now chucked it.

hfc-1875
10-01-2022, 05:29 PM
Retro video club and about a year ago sung a version of hibs heroes and is on YouTube.

wallpaperman
10-01-2022, 06:27 PM
5 Seconds of Summer from Australia, Bassist Calum Hoods dad was a hibs fan so he regularly wears retro hibs kits.

Here he is performing in on of our old kits:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pkVH7v72l3Y

Huge band nowadays.

That’s nuts, who’d have thought that, thanks for sharing. Was just reading about him, was a promising footballer when younger.

Peanut Shaz
10-01-2022, 09:51 PM

He featured on a 2020 live release by Dave Graney and Clare Moore from live gigs recorded in Hull and London in 2017.

TheGreenMan
10-01-2022, 09:56 PM
Seems like a thread for self promo :greengrin

Long time ST holder :agree:

Links to my album on Spotify/Youtube and others if anyone wants to check it out...You may well recognise the song Reflections from the Down The Slope podcast intro - which you should also check out if you don't already! Video link below too :thumbsup:

http://li.sten.to/9DxQ1wG

12-01-2022, 01:35 AM
Finley Quaye is a Hibby.

12-01-2022, 09:00 AM
The "goto parkhead" brigade might want to make sure the cat isn't about as I give you the Wolfetones - Hibernia "We are the Hibs of Edinburgh" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQCxtX1frDQ

Neil4Hibs
12-01-2022, 09:04 AM

Wow, that is a beautiful song. Never heard of them or the song before but I will be checking out some more of their stuff!

12-01-2022, 09:06 AM
The "goto parkhead" brigade might want to make sure the cat isn't about as I give you the Wolfetones - Hibernia "We are the Hibs of Edinburgh" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQCxtX1frDQ

That's a cracker, Thanks!

12-01-2022, 05:12 PM

Still a regular attendee at ER and a massive Hibby (not just in physical stature). He often talks about Huns in his weekly Fish on a Friday Facebook broadcasts. I remember going nuts with him when Darren Jackson scored against Anderlecht in Brussels in ’92.

12-01-2022, 05:44 PM
Like this song

Had this as first dance when I got married in 2017. Beautiful song.

Was also on the advert for our purple away kit 15/16.

12-01-2022, 05:45 PM

Great band,The Wolfe Tones , named after an even greater man.
From one who was raised on the Clancy Brothers and Tommy Makem !!
...and Glen Daly !:greengrin

Slainte,Antifa :aok:

SOL
HGSP

rossi
14-01-2022, 12:48 PM

Joe supports Celtic Coco.

Syuzen
14-01-2022, 11:00 PM
Below was taken from 'The List':

...Leith’s Bum-Clocks are the only Robert Burns tribute band who play in the style of Iggy and the Stooges. If that sounds too high-concept for you, a glance over those involved mean they demand a listen. The Bum-Clocks – ye olde Scottish name for a beetle, making them the Scottish Beatles – are Tam Dean Burn (actor), his brother Russell (Fire Engines’ drummer) and Malcolm Ross, sometime guitarist with Josef K, Orange Juice and Aztec Camera. Could they be Leith’s first ever supergroup? ...

Not forgetting Coco Whitson on bass ( a recent addition to the band), the whole band are all die-hard Hibs supporters.

wearehibernian
15-01-2022, 11:23 AM

...Leith’s Bum-Clocks are the only Robert Burns tribute band who play in the style of Iggy and the Stooges. If that sounds too high-concept for you, a glance over those involved mean they demand a listen. The Bum-Clocks – ye olde Scottish name for a beetle, making them the Scottish Beatles – are Tam Dean Burn (actor), his brother Russell (Fire Engines’ drummer) and Malcolm Ross, sometime guitarist with Josef K, Orange Juice and Aztec Camera. Could they be Leith’s first ever supergroup? ...

Not forgetting Coco Whitson on bass ( a recent addition to the band), the whole band are all die-hard Hibs supporters.

Always count on big Coco for some storming bass lines!

wearehibernian
15-01-2022, 11:25 AM

This is class! :flag:

15-01-2022, 11:39 AM

I wonder, do they have a Burns night gig planned anywhere?

gaz1875
15-01-2022, 12:15 PM
https://youtu.be/kXLbb7VRRcw

That's a cracker along with the video :top marks

15-01-2022, 12:20 PM

Coco was a notable Gin Goblin and still gigs with Boots For Dancing of course and has worked with another hHibby Paul Research of The Scars.

There was also Norbert Bassbin of the brilliant Twisted Nerve, “Mint Sauce for the Masses” fame.

Babyshamble
15-01-2022, 07:49 PM
Kevin Gore is a big Hibernian supporter and his album ‘The Yearning’ is excellent.

And a proper nice guy as well.met him a few times.seen him playing with Bobby Nicholson when they play as gone native.two top lads.

Babyshamble
15-01-2022, 07:52 PM
https://youtu.be/zMP3ff2aQ40

15-01-2022, 08:44 PM
Joe supports Celtic Coco.

Does he? I know he is originally from Glasgow but I've seen him at ER a couple of times.

wearehibernian
05-03-2022, 11:16 AM
May as well get a shameless plug in for my band Gutterblood as we have our CD out soon.:wink: If you like it a bit heavier with a range of styles, including some spoken work/social/political content from Hibees Jim@Helping Hands and Bonnie Prince Bob. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cHwDBqnrxC4&t=1205s

07-03-2022, 05:11 PM

Same song, with bonus:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WouU7PY-LoM