View Full Version : Bounce Games
Manxhibs
08-01-2022, 10:07 AM
First of all apologies if it has been mentioned elsewhere. It was mentioned that we would be playing a number of bounce games before Celtic a week on Monday. Does anyone know when they will take place? Excited to hear how the new guys get on
08-01-2022, 11:47 AM
Bounce games are mostly played behind "closed doors".
In Hibs case at the moment,the break and such games lets Shaun and his staff further assess players,try systems etc.
Most likely to be played at East Mains,i would say.
Break,of course,would also give ground staff lots of time to work on the ER pitch.
So its up and running for the" total football" we can now expect !!! :greengrin
Manxhibs
08-01-2022, 11:53 AM
I was just hoping to potentially read some initial reports about them. I know I’ll not get to watch them.
Only just over a week to wait anyway
08-01-2022, 12:00 PM
You never know .
I was just expressing my thoughts on what may be the case regards the break and practice/bounce games.
I guess someone will report on how things go/went.
Wont be long !! :aok:
08-01-2022, 12:43 PM
Don't usually get a match report but recent bounce games have definitely been announced. Seen someone post on here a game on the 11th TBC
Cat Stanton
08-01-2022, 02:41 PM
Don't usually get a match report but recent bounce games have definitely been announced. Seen someone post on here a game on the 11th TBC
There haven't been any reports - because they are behind-closed-doors bounce games. But there *have* been quite a few angry hbs.netters moaning about the lack of match reports anyway...
08-01-2022, 02:45 PM
First of all apologies if it has been mentioned elsewhere. It was mentioned that we would be playing a number of bounce games before Celtic a week on Monday. Does anyone know when they will take place? Excited to hear how the new guys get on
I think covid might play a part in any bounce games
08-01-2022, 03:19 PM
Been mentioned elsewhere about no video if the squad training. Perhaps because there’s a player or two being looked at. If that is the case there won’t be any announcement of bounce games. They’ll very much be behind closed doors.
08-01-2022, 04:01 PM
There haven't been any reports - because they are behind-closed-doors bounce games. But there *have* been quite a few angry hbs.netters moaning about the lack of match reports anyway...
There have been a few reports in the past.
08-01-2022, 05:37 PM
Yes there has been 😂
08-01-2022, 06:31 PM
Been mentioned elsewhere about no video if the squad training. Perhaps because there’s a player or two being looked at. If that is the case there won’t be any announcement of bounce games. They’ll very much be behind closed doors.
Exactly
Funny enough,recently on another thread,i mentioned that the late great Willie Ormond when in management at club and with Scotland did not want any "outsiders/spies" observing bounce games or training sessions.
I tried to find the video clip of Willie barring press,opposition agents and assorted hingers oan,trying to spy on a Scotland training session in Germany 1974.
He said in so many words,angrily. "We are trying to work on tactics here,so no, your not getting in to watch"
Good old Willie !!
11-01-2022, 10:36 AM
Couple of Patks of Hamilton coaches making their way in to the ground…. Something on today maybe?
11-01-2022, 10:38 AM
Aye I seen a few folk around the ground today
Slim Shady
11-01-2022, 10:43 AM
Playing Dunfermline today at HTC
11-01-2022, 10:44 AM
Playing Dunfermline today at HTC
If they don’t win by 5-0, Maloney out😀
andrew70
11-01-2022, 12:21 PM
Time is the game?
11-01-2022, 12:37 PM
Bus loads of new signings from Belgium😁
11-01-2022, 01:37 PM
HIBS Central reporting we are playing Queens Park at HTC on Twitter??
Did we not play Yogi’s Pars a few weeks back?
11-01-2022, 01:40 PM
HIBS Central reporting we are playing Queens Park at HTC on Twitter??
Did we not play Yogi’s Pars a few weeks back?
It definitely is Queens Park today. They were desperate on a match as well due to matches being cancelled due to Covid.
HibsTYT
11-01-2022, 02:22 PM
Was 1-0 us last I heard, unsure on scorer and final score though
11-01-2022, 03:21 PM
Think we played 2 games 2 60m games 1 and 2:30 pm kick offs. Everyone involved bar dabroski and Rocky looking at both team line ups. Second team stronger IMO, Boyle, Doidge, Newall, Henderson and Cadden in the first game so that was also strong to be fair.
HendoDelivered
11-01-2022, 04:50 PM
Think we played 2 games 2 60m games 1 and 2:30 pm kick offs. Everyone involved bar dabroski and Rocky looking at both team line ups. Second team stronger IMO, Boyle, Doidge, Newall, Henderson and Cadden in the first game so that was also strong to be fair.
No Porto in either squad today. Injured or on the move?
11-01-2022, 04:51 PM
No Porto and no Hallberg.
Make of that what you will.
11-01-2022, 04:51 PM
No Porto in either squad today. Injured or on the move?
Probably not a priority as he’s suspended until the end of the month
11-01-2022, 04:52 PM
Isn't Porto banned for three games so no real need to play him in these bounce games?
11-01-2022, 04:53 PM
Jake Doyle Hayes was sent off for violent conduct. Let’s hope he’s not reported and then suspended. Mueller looked miles off it.
11-01-2022, 04:55 PM
Jake Doyle Hayes was sent off for violent conduct. Let’s hope he’s not reported and then suspended. Mueller looked miles off it.
In a bounce game?
11-01-2022, 04:56 PM
It was a 60 minute bounce game so should be OK but a bit strange nonetheless.
11-01-2022, 04:58 PM
I don't see any way that he would be banned for being sent off in a bounce game.
A bit disappointing nonetheless.
11-01-2022, 05:00 PM
Did you watch the match? Interested on your Mueller point a looked miles off what? Fitness? Pace? Tactical awareness? Strength?
11-01-2022, 05:00 PM
It was a 60 minute bounce game so should be OK but a bit strange nonetheless.
2x 60 min bounce games
1-0 Hibs 1st game, 1-1 2nd game, both v QP
hibby rae
11-01-2022, 05:01 PM
Mueller lacking fitness and/or sharpness? Hasn't played since 20 November. Or was it the different way of playing from the US?
11-01-2022, 05:07 PM
Would have expected both to have a run out. Be very surprised if Porto wasn’t quoted for the Cove game or is that one of his suspensions?
11-01-2022, 05:08 PM
Would have expected both to have a run out. Be very surprised if Porto wasn’t quoted for the Cove game or is that one of his suspensions?
Suspended
11-01-2022, 05:11 PM
Anyone know if Boyle played
11-01-2022, 05:13 PM
Anyone know if Boyle played
He played. Seemed to lose the head a bit along with Murphy and SDG when JDH got sent off.
11-01-2022, 05:14 PM
Would have expected Porteous to play some part despite his upcoming suspension.
11-01-2022, 05:14 PM
He played. Seemed to lose the head a bit along with Murphy and SDG when JDH got sent off.
Hopefully the sending off doesn't carry forward to real games
11-01-2022, 05:16 PM
Hopefully the sending off doesn't carry forward to real games
Don't think it will. I'm sure someone got sent off in a bounce game earlier this year or at the end of last year's lockdown and it didn't carry over.
11-01-2022, 05:20 PM
Our big signing from America was miles off it against QOTS?! Brilliant 😅
11-01-2022, 05:25 PM
It was Queens Park
Alan62
11-01-2022, 05:26 PM
Our big signing from America was miles off it against QOTS?! Brilliant [emoji28]
Queens Park. [emoji2359]
11-01-2022, 05:32 PM
Wonder if John Potter was in the QP dugout.
Must have been strange for him if he was
11-01-2022, 05:34 PM
Wonder if John Potter was in the QP dugout.
Must have been strange for him if he was
Has he moved there Billy ??
11-01-2022, 05:38 PM
Squad 1:
Mitchell
Johnson
Gogic
McGregor
Stevenson
Cadden
Newell
Campbell
Wright
Bradley
Boyle
Henderson
Doidge
Hamilton
Squad 2:
Macey
Hanlon
McGinn
Clarke
Mueller
Doig
Mackay
Murphy
Allan
JDH
Nisbet
Melkerson
Scott
McIntyre
11-01-2022, 05:38 PM
Has he moved there Billy ??
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/former-hibs-coach-back-in-football-with-his-old-easter-road-boss-3522160?amp
11-01-2022, 05:39 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/former-hibs-coach-back-in-football-with-his-old-easter-road-boss-3522160?amp
Cheers. Hadn’t seen that
11-01-2022, 05:43 PM
Strange Dabrowski wasn't involved, injured?
11-01-2022, 05:43 PM
Porteous unwell
11-01-2022, 05:48 PM
Porteous unwell
Hope he feels better soon but glad it's not football related.
11-01-2022, 05:48 PM
Brilliant in what way?
11-01-2022, 05:51 PM
He's suspended against Celtic, Cove Rangers and Motherwell.
11-01-2022, 05:52 PM
Squad 1:
Mitchell
Johnson
Gogic
McGregor
Stevenson
Cadden
Newell
Campbell
Wright
Bradley
Boyle
Henderson
Doidge
Hamilton
Squad 2:
Macey
Hanlon
McGinn
Clarke
Mueller
Doig
Mackay
Murphy
Allan
JDH
Nisbet
Melkerson
Scott
McIntyre
Interesting the young players were called upon and it wasn’t the ones we normally hear about
Laidlaw
O’Connor
Blaney
Young
Suppose it depends on what positions needed filled.
Any idea on how anyone played?
11-01-2022, 05:54 PM
Brilliant in what way?
It was sarcastic, being described as miles off it isn’t particularly reassuring. Especially when some have very high expectations for him.
That said I’ll wait till he settles in, gets his fitness back up and plays a competitive game for us.
11-01-2022, 05:54 PM
No danger? He's on about £300k a week!
Wouldn't be surprised if Maloney punished KDH for being sent off in a bounce game, very unprofessional, does he gave any prior history like this?
11-01-2022, 05:56 PM
Wouldn't be surprised if Maloney punished KDH for being sent off in a bounce game, very unprofessional, does he gave any prior history like this?
Would depend what the circumstances. If it was retaliation fir some hammer thrower going through him in a bounce game for instance I’d give him a pay rise.:greengrin
11-01-2022, 06:04 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/martin-boyle-and-new-boys-involved-in-hibs-bounce-games-3523617
11-01-2022, 06:06 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/martin-boyle-and-new-boys-involved-in-hibs-bounce-games-3523617
It's behind a pay wall. What does it say?
11-01-2022, 06:07 PM
Chris Mueller is clearly Alan O'Brien with a book out. :agree:
Oh, just a report of today with Hamilton scoring in the first game and Mackay in the second.
Nothing we didn’t know. Could gave been lifted from here. Interesting playing members Scores and scorers basically.
Copy the link, paste in private viewing window, nae paywall.
11-01-2022, 06:08 PM
Squad 1:
Mitchell
Johnson
Gogic
McGregor
Stevenson
Cadden
Newell
Campbell
Wright
Bradley
Boyle
Henderson
Doidge
Hamilton
Squad 2:
Macey
Hanlon
McGinn
Clarke
Mueller
Doig
Mackay
Murphy
Allan
JDH
Nisbet
Melkerson
Scott
McIntyre
Delighted Mackay featured and scored.
11-01-2022, 06:08 PM
👍
11-01-2022, 06:09 PM
I think we see him as a long term Boyle replacement albeit on the left or through the middle. Hope he stays fit and develops like we hope he can.
11-01-2022, 06:28 PM
Magennis not featuring at all is really worrying.
Delighted for Dan Mackay, he seems to score most games he plays in for us (albeit they’ve mainly been friendlies).
Is Tait back at RR. Or is he injured, thot he may feature.
B
11-01-2022, 06:37 PM
Great wee tip, cheers for that. Incognito tabs the way to go for these links in future.
Any further news on Magennis, folks? He seems to have been missing forever and I don't remember seeing any info on expected return dates.
11-01-2022, 06:38 PM
Delighted for Dan Mackay, he seems to score most games he plays in for us (albeit they’ve mainly been friendlies).
Not surprising though. Think we’ll be lucky to see him again this season.
The way it was spoken about it almost sounded like they didn’t really know what was wrong or how to treat it. Best part of four months he’s been out already.
11-01-2022, 06:39 PM
Thanks for posting that. It seems a bit unusual, the News reporting on a bounce game, but good to see our younger players playing and scoring. .
11-01-2022, 06:43 PM
I don’t think Magennis will play again this season. Real shame for him and the club. Really not working out for him so far.
11-01-2022, 06:51 PM
We never got a further update on zMagennis so still not sure what issue is But Ross did say we wouldn’t see back training g till January at earliest and then we haven’t had further update At that point he needed rest but they didn’t seem to know exact extent of what was causing his injury is my recollection
But agree it’s worrying and we could be into his third season with us still not knowing if we will get a decent run of games from him
11-01-2022, 07:00 PM
Great wee tip, cheers for that. Incognito tabs the way to go for these links in future.
Any further news on Magennis, folks? He seems to have been missing forever and I don't remember seeing any info on expected return dates.
Most welcome :aok:
I don’t think Magennis will play again this season. Real shame for him and the club. Really not working out for him so far.
Having no mention of him and what exactly his problems are is a real worry, could it be a career threatening injury? we have no clue as nothing has been said re his injury.
11-01-2022, 07:05 PM
Magennis was looking immense earlier this season. Superb talent but injuries are really killing him. Shame.
11-01-2022, 07:14 PM
Aye he seems to score goals so hopefully he can get and stay fit.
Disappointed that Magennis is still not back
11-01-2022, 07:17 PM
Hes not back training yet.
11-01-2022, 08:02 PM
No danger? He's on about £300k a week!
:agree: After tax.
FifeHibs
11-01-2022, 08:09 PM
Do you think he will play again this season
12-01-2022, 04:06 PM
Report today says he is now back training but doesn’t mention what the injury was and not giving any time line for when he could be back playing
12-01-2022, 04:22 PM
https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1481307796318703623?s=21
12-01-2022, 04:56 PM
https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/1481307796318703623?s=21
Brilliant news
13-01-2022, 08:02 AM
Celtic won 1-0 vs St Mirrren with Jullien returning and playing 45.
13-01-2022, 08:56 AM
Report today says he is now back training but doesn’t mention what the injury was and not giving any time line for when he could be back playing
THe published article in the news says this
"Magennis has been sidelined since that game with what former Hibs boss Jack Ross described as a “problematic groin injury”.
The former St Mirren man has been working closely with the club’s medical and sport science staff in a bid to get to the bottom of the issue but only resumed light running in early December"
I hope Magennis doesn't have Osteitis Pubis. It's a bone/muscular condition and it's very hard to manage. It pretty much stopped my own football in my late 20's. I never had the benefit of professional treatment, but it has been problematic even for those that do. A total ******* of a condition.
13-01-2022, 12:02 PM
THe published article in the news says this
"Magennis has been sidelined since that game with what former Hibs boss Jack Ross described as a “problematic groin injury”.
The former St Mirren man has been working closely with the club’s medical and sport science staff in a bid to get to the bottom of the issue but only resumed light running in early December"
I hope Magennis doesn't have Osteitis Pubis. It's a bone/muscular condition and it's very hard to manage. It pretty much stopped my own football in my late 20's. I never had the benefit of professional treatment, but it has been problematic even for those that do. A total ******* of a condition.
Sorry to hear that Sounds nasty let’s hope it’s not what he has as still think of fit and on form he would improve us