View Full Version : Cove pricing
20-01-2022, 11:35 AM
On this occasion on a Thursday night in the 5th week of a 6th week month in winter, with the game live on BBC you're correct.
Wasn't the case for the women's derby in September though.
Tickets were free for that game.
20-01-2022, 11:37 AM
Tickets were free for that game.
Can't get much cheaper than that.
20-01-2022, 11:41 AM
Just goes to show that making ticket prices cheap doesn’t fill stadiums.
It does so, I read it on here.
20-01-2022, 11:44 AM
Looking like a horrendous crowd. Really poor, although understand people will have their reasons
20-01-2022, 11:49 AM
Derby is looking for a sell out so hopefully a full house for that, good performance and result and people get the buzz and come back.
20-01-2022, 11:52 AM
Hopefully a few people decide to turn up today. Looking forward to it to be honest
20-01-2022, 11:52 AM
Just goes to show that making ticket prices cheap doesn’t fill stadiums.
If the tickets were more expensive we maybe wouldn’t even have as many in as we do. Me and my laddie are going, in part because it’s £15 for us both. Had it been more than double that for the two of us (using prices for our last cup tie at ER as a guide) it probably wouldn’t be both of us going.
Last home cup tie attracted less than 5k home fans. But that was a sunny, summer afternoon and the first game with no government restriction on attendance and not on TV. I think we’d have had a better crowd in with the prices we’re using for this game.
WestStandWillie
20-01-2022, 11:54 AM
Only a tenner for us STH'ers
Then factor in scran, pints and travel/petrol (for a lot of folk) and it aw adds up, especially when it's been an awfy long month after Christmas.
Dinnae be hard on supporters choosing to give the game a miss, lets just make some extra noise tonight!
20-01-2022, 11:56 AM
I'm in the camp that doesn't think slashing prices is likely to lead to significantly increased attendances, but trying to use a single game as conclusive proof either way is just silly.
And that's even before considering the factors that apply here but not to similar previous cup games (midweek, free telly etc).
20-01-2022, 12:10 PM
I'm in the camp that doesn't think slashing prices is likely to lead to significantly increased attendances, but trying to use a single game as conclusive proof either way is just silly.
And that's even before considering the factors that apply here but not to similar previous cup games (midweek, free telly etc).
Exactly, if Hibs made it 15 and 10 tonight then the same 4/5k would have turned up.
20-01-2022, 01:39 PM
Why is this game on a Thursday when we have Saturday free?
Are they actually trying to make it harder to get to games?
StevieH
20-01-2022, 01:44 PM
Is the a pay at the gate option tonight?
SideBurns
20-01-2022, 01:52 PM
I mean teenagers PB. Most of them are wandering the streets till 10 / 11 pm so why cant we get them going to games. They will all want to come for a Hearts game. Even the recent Womens game at ER, there was loads of groups of teenagers at that game. How do we engage to get more coming to these games. Also when my kids were younger if they couldnt go midweek there would always been someone wanting to "borrow" the ticket for that game.
The game being on cooncil telly is a huge factor I'd suggest. It just means that folk toiling for money (and plenty are, to the point where even an extra tenner or 15 quid helps get them through the next weekend) can watch the match without spending any dosh at all.
If the game was 3pm on Saturday you'd see a far bigger crowd, if that's not stating the obvious. Which it probably is 😆
20-01-2022, 01:56 PM
TV.
20-01-2022, 01:57 PM
Live on bbc
Dazzjw1875
20-01-2022, 02:47 PM
I assume we can't pay at the gate tonight?
Daniel 1875
20-01-2022, 02:48 PM
Is the a pay at the gate option tonight?
I’d imagine the ticket office will be open for pre match sales. Or you’ll be able to buy a mobile ticket sent straight to your phone right up until kick off if you have access to a smartphone.
LunasBoots
20-01-2022, 02:50 PM
I assume we can't pay at the gate tonight?
Not exactly which I think puts walk ups off but you can buy from the ticket office up until half time I'm sure I seen mentioned elsewhere.
davhibby
20-01-2022, 02:57 PM
Not exactly which I think puts walk ups off but you can buy from the ticket office up until half time I'm sure I seen mentioned elsewhere.
I really struggle to see how in 2022 there’s many that are unable to either buy online before they leave for the house or buy on their phone whilst having a pint pre match/ walking to the stadium. Obviously there will be a few older people who may find that tricky but it can’t be very many.
If anything it’s surely less hassle if you can buy on your way to the stadium and your ticket goes straight to your phone instead of standing in a queue for tickets in the cold
20-01-2022, 04:08 PM
I really struggle to see how in 2022 there’s many that are unable to either buy online before they leave for the house or buy on their phone whilst having a pint pre match/ walking to the stadium. Obviously there will be a few older people who may find that tricky but it can’t be very many.
If anything it’s surely less hassle if you can buy on your way to the stadium and your ticket goes straight to your phone instead of standing in a queue for tickets in the cold
One of my friends bought our tickets, forwarded the email and I added to my wallet ready to scan. Other than someone from the club walking up to the turnstile with your ticket and scanning it for you they couldn’t really make it any easier to buy a ticket for tonight.
20-01-2022, 05:26 PM
One of my friends bought our tickets, forwarded the email and I added to my wallet ready to scan. Other than someone from the club walking up to the turnstile with your ticket and scanning it for you they couldn’t really make it any easier to buy a ticket for tonight.
I agree but some people still prefer to pay at the gate or the pods. My mate was going to go but when I told him the pods weren’t open he said he’d give it a miss, it’s not like he’s an old man who can’t manage to work his phone. I don’t get it myself, it’s much easier to do it online.
MikeyS
20-01-2022, 06:04 PM
1 bonus of the poor crowd is that hopefully the numpties amongst our home support that love booing cup winning legends aren't around to embarras themselves again tonight. Keep the booing for Hartley!
20-01-2022, 09:38 PM
Nearly 6k. Not good at all. But not as shocking as first feared
20-01-2022, 09:45 PM
It doesnt and it shouldnt. You could be buying 4 tickets for your pals and not actually going yourself. In IT we call this PICNIC. Problem In Chair Not In Computer. :wink:
You could be, and you’d still buy one at the discounted price regardless.
21-01-2022, 07:28 PM
TV.
Live on bbc
Spoil the day out just so it can be on TV.
t would have been a much bigger crowd at 3pm on a Saturday.
22-01-2022, 08:46 AM
Spoil the day out just so it can be on TV.
t would have been a much bigger crowd at 3pm on a Saturday.
Definitely
DIXIHIBS
22-01-2022, 08:59 AM
About half season ticket holders didnt go to game. I would genuinely like to know from any ST holders on here why they didnt go, not to criticise, just to know their reasons. Wonder how many times we've had under 6k at a game in the last 30 years. Cant be many.
22-01-2022, 09:07 AM
About half season ticket holders didnt go to game. I would genuinely like to know from any ST holders on here why they didnt go, not to criticise, just to know their reasons. Wonder how many times we've had under 6k at a game in the last 30 years. Cant be many.
Midweek games mean I have to leave work early, rush home and rush to the game. I'm in a busy period at work so that wasn't possible and I'd have missed the game if it hadn't been on TV.
Sitting in the cold doesn't appeal to me but wouldn't have put me off if the game had been this afternoon as I haven't seen us play Cove before. TV doesn't count.
22-01-2022, 09:25 AM
If the game was today and not on TV there would have been another couple of thousand there.
22-01-2022, 09:27 AM
I hope you don't get five thousand replies.
22-01-2022, 09:28 AM
My brother is about a 90 minute drive to the game. Too busy to get off work. Too tired, recovering from that chest infection that many had over Christmas that wasn’t Covid, and like many frontline workers run into the ground. Too cold and on tv. By extension his teenage daughter didn’t go either
22-01-2022, 09:29 AM
2 reasons for me - kids football training finished at 730 and the additional cost a week before I get paid.
22-01-2022, 10:04 AM
Im a season ticket holder, simple reason, i couldnt be bothered staying in edinburgh after work for a game that was on tv
22-01-2022, 10:08 AM
Not being allowed into the stadium with a rucksack after my work means it was straight home for me
22-01-2022, 10:10 AM
3 of my mates headed for Robbie’s at full time to watch extra time in the warmth with a pint. I’m an Uber fan who stayed.
Not being allowed into the stadium with a rucksack after my work means it was straight home for me
inconsistently applied rule mate, a bloke on his way to the back of the East stand went passed me with a backpack I could have used a tent, having got it through the turnstile and passing several stewards with apparently nothing said
not a dig at you for not going for that reason though
22-01-2022, 05:06 PM
My boy has Higher prelims all month, I am basically staying in til hes done so I dont knacker his chances.
Wife wishes I was there as my "chuntering at the telly for 120 minutes" got on her thruppeny bits.
22-01-2022, 05:14 PM
It’s a 200 mile round trip for me and I’d just come off four night shifts so wasn’t fit to drive. Otherwise I would have been there.
23-01-2022, 09:32 AM
The Covid period just got me out of the habit and the prospect of going to games seems much less an enjoyable experience now.
Leaving the house, getting a bus, sitting in the cold for a couple hours, bus again, and then getting home late all didn't feel worth it - especially with the game on TV for free.