View Full Version : Leeds United will ban parents whose children invade the pitch

Steven79
06-01-2022, 02:45 PM
Bit of a contrast from Hibs where the official twitter feed showed the video of the kid running onto the park to ask Boyle if he could have his shirt.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/59896151

06-01-2022, 02:45 PM
Good.

06-01-2022, 02:58 PM
A ban is fair enough imo although I wouldn't want to make it too long. Invading the pitch should always be frowned on and particularly at a time where we are all suffering due to a virus. Hibs were crazy to try and make the wee fellow invasion a positive. It should have been ignored and not encouraged as there was another one the following week.

06-01-2022, 03:52 PM
Harsh I'd say.

06-01-2022, 04:01 PM
Sounds like there trying to stamp it out, it’s became a bit of a thing atm which clubs prob want to stop

06-01-2022, 04:30 PM
Horrible club Leeds United.

06-01-2022, 04:31 PM

Should be their rebranded name that ! [emoji122][emoji119]

LunasBoots
06-01-2022, 04:32 PM
Parents know that stewards won't stop kids or manhandle them, something that has become more common.

06-01-2022, 04:35 PM
I remember running on to the pitch at the end of games to get autographs back in the day.

After a friendly against Manchester Utd , early 60’s, I tried to get Bobby Charltons auto. But he said naw !:grr:

Mind you, I was at the end of a queue and he did sign about a dozen auto-books. :greengrin

loanheadhibby
06-01-2022, 04:47 PM
Any particular reason?

06-01-2022, 04:50 PM
Something needs done about these dangerous children....

06-01-2022, 04:51 PM

why exactly ?

06-01-2022, 04:57 PM
Good. It has become the latest social media craze for likes or content to have kids running on to try and hug or get a shirt off their heros. Needs to stop.

06-01-2022, 05:00 PM
Imagine kids wanting a hug?

And we complain about footballers being detached from every day joes.

Like has been said, used to happen loads back in the day. I remember doing it down in Bath at the rugby.

06-01-2022, 05:02 PM
Yep, a one off spontaneous happening, not tragic.

Becoming a regular "thing", sorry but the parents need to have a word with themselves.

Rumble de Thump
06-01-2022, 05:07 PM
Imagine kids wanting a hug?

And we complain about footballers being detached from every day joes.

Like has been said, used to happen loads back in the day. I remember doing it down in Bath at the rugby.

You would have to imagine it because it's free player tops they're after, most likely under instructions from adults.

06-01-2022, 05:23 PM
Parents know that stewards won't stop kids or manhandle them, something that has become more common.

A couple were escorted down the tunnel at the last game

06-01-2022, 05:32 PM
Perhaps a ban is a bit drastic but I certainly don't think it should be openly condoned like it was with us a few weeks ago.

Slap on the wrists (metaphorically of course) for the child and the parents with a polite but firm request for there to be no repeat would do for me.

06-01-2022, 05:38 PM
Any particular reason?
Never liked them. Was at the game at Easter Road that went to the penalty shoot out. Leeds players sat on wall of the enclosure right in front of me blocking my view. Dad had to get police to move them. Got a mouthful of abuse from their players before police moved them. No time for that horrible club.

06-01-2022, 06:14 PM
I remember running on to the pitch at the end of games to get autographs back in the day.

After a friendly against Manchester Utd , early 60’s, I tried to get Bobby Charltons auto. But he said naw !:grr:

Mind you, I was at the end of a queue and he did sign about a dozen auto-books. :greengrin

It’s encouraged at Saracens (egg chasers) where they have an artificial pitch. Kids kick rugby balls about after the game and the players come out to talk to them.

07-01-2022, 11:28 AM
Never liked them. Was at the game at Easter Road that went to the penalty shoot out. Leeds players sat on wall of the enclosure right in front of me blocking my view. Dad had to get police to move them. Got a mouthful of abuse from their players before police moved them. No time for that horrible club.

just as i suspected, still bitter because leeds beat us 45+ years ago, my goodness that's a long long time to remain bitter, and that makes them a horrible club :faf::faf::faf:lol jesus wept

07-01-2022, 11:37 AM
Wonder if Hibs regretted putting up that video of the kid asking Boyle for his top on twitter. There were about 4/5 kids that ran on the pitch after the Aberdeen game because of it. As others have said, spontaneity is alright but we canny have full primary school classes running on the pitch after every game.

07-01-2022, 12:17 PM
just as i suspected, still bitter because leeds beat us 45+ years ago, my goodness that's a long long time to remain bitter, and that makes them a horrible club :faf::faf::faf:lol jesus wept
Not bitter about the result Leeds were my English team at the time, got a mouthful of abuse from players of that club I was 11 years old. So I am entitled to call them a horrible club just as I would call the old firm Horrible clubs for other reasons.I have never liked since.

07-01-2022, 12:35 PM
Wonder if Hibs regretted putting up that video of the kid asking Boyle for his top on twitter. There were about 4/5 kids that ran on the pitch after the Aberdeen game because of it. As others have said, spontaneity is alright but we canny have full primary school classes running on the pitch after every game.

Indeed ... after Boyle giving that kid his shirt you could have put your house on other kids chancing their arm and so it proved. I certainly wouldn't be going down the rout of banning parents, but perhaps Hibs need to make it clear players have been instructed not to give shirts, autographs, or whatever to kids running onto the pitch.

07-01-2022, 12:50 PM
Not bitter about the result Leeds were my English team at the time, got a mouthful of abuse from players of that club I was 11 years old. So I am entitled to call them a horrible club just as I would call the old firm Horrible clubs for other reasons.I have never liked since.

half the players are dead now but you think a club is horrible because players of that club made you cry when a child ? now if you had claimed the club have a record for kidnapping children and selling them to the child catcher any adult would understand but to give your reason for that :rolleyes:....i'm out

07-01-2022, 12:58 PM
Mon the bairns

07-01-2022, 01:03 PM
half the players are dead now but you think a club is horrible because players of that club made you cry when a child ? now if you had claimed the club have a record for kidnapping children and selling them to the child catcher any adult would understand but to give your reason for that :rolleyes:....i'm out
You have been watching Chitty Chitty Bang Bang too many times.😁

07-01-2022, 01:27 PM
Hopefully followed by a lifetime ban for holding up a "Can I have your shirt" banner.

07-01-2022, 01:35 PM
Hopefully followed by a lifetime ban for holding up a "Cam I have your shirt" banner.

They should supply each player with a "No" banner to reply.

07-01-2022, 01:35 PM
Leeds are quite right. I was stunned when we practically actively encouraged our young supporters to come on to the pitch to get shirts when we shared a video of a boy getting Boylers shirt. Next game was like the alamo.

07-01-2022, 02:28 PM
Leeds are quite right. I was stunned when we practically actively encouraged our young supporters to come on to the pitch to get shirts when we shared a video of a boy getting Boylers shirt. Next game was like the alamo.

Indeed.

I was in the minority on social media after that video was shared in saying the club shouldn't have encouraged it. I got absolute pelters from the "on ye go, wee man" etc brigade.

I see Hibs have now deleted the video from Twitter so presumably the social media team have been told likewise by the hierarchy.

07-01-2022, 03:24 PM

Wayne Foster made me cry when I was a child and I think Hearts are ****ing horrible. Maybe he has a point 😉

07-01-2022, 03:50 PM
Wayne Foster made me cry when I was a child and I think Hearts are ****ing horrible. Maybe he has a point 😉

Horrible Horrible Hearts.😁

07-01-2022, 05:05 PM
Do you not think you’re being a tad over dramatic?

07-01-2022, 05:17 PM
Is kids running onto the pitch such a disgraceful thing that clubs have to threaten parents with bans? Maybe it’s something we should be a bit more relaxed about in Scotland. We’re not the premiership and we should be marketing ourselves as such. I think if it was made clear players weren’t allowed to give a kid their shirt it would be nice to see the players interacting with the youngsters who idolise them at full time.

I worry that youngsters are being drawn more and more to the EPL these days, you have so many hibs fans who describe teams like Man Utd as us or we when talking about them. I see on Twitter some hibs fans tweeting more about English football than hibs.

07-01-2022, 05:32 PM
You have been watching Chitty Chitty Bang Bang too many times.😁

no, but i DID have to google that dudes name again :greengrin

i cried when colin stein joined the cream buns but i didn't take it out on our club because he hurt me :greengrin

07-01-2022, 06:30 PM
no, but i DID have to google that dudes name

i cried when colin stein joined the cream buns but i didn't take it out on our club because he hurt me :greengrin

Horrible club Rangers.😁

07-01-2022, 09:11 PM
Is a bunch of young fans running on the park that big a deal really? A chance for them to brag to their mates at school and online but it's hardly going to lead to the breakdown of society.

Just tell the players not to give them the strips and the ones doing it under instruction from pushy parents will get bored soon enough.

Plenty on here were going nuts, with good reason, when our fanbase was demonised for a pitch invasion not so long ago. 'We should be more like England where they embrace that kind of thing' was an often used phrase. Fast forward 5 years and we have people agreeing with Leeds banning parents because a a few bairns run on the park and criticising Hibs for enjoying one of our own doing it. Fickle football fans eh?

07-01-2022, 09:22 PM
Is a bunch of young fans running on the park that big a deal really? A chance for them to brag to their mates at school and online but it's hardly going to lead to the breakdown of society.

Just tell the players not to give them the strips and the ones doing it under instruction from pushy parents will get bored soon enough.

Plenty on here were going nuts, with good reason, when our fanbase was demonised for a pitch invasion not so long ago. 'We should be more like England where they embrace that kind of thing' was an often used phrase. Fast forward 5 years and we have people agreeing with Leeds banning parents because a a few bairns run on the park and criticising Hibs for enjoying one of our own doing it. Fickle football fans eh?

Fair enough but what is the cut off age?

07-01-2022, 09:23 PM
Banned for exuberance. 😯

07-01-2022, 11:42 PM
If all else fails blame the Mexicans.

08-01-2022, 08:53 AM

Where do you draw the line? It’s probably easier if people just keep the bairns off the pitch, otherwise we’ll be getting 6ft bairns running on too. Some folk can’t navigate unclear boundaries. Just let the players get on with it in peace.

08-01-2022, 12:04 PM

I was critical of fans at the cup final and critical of the club legitimising young fans running on the park with a very badly thought through tweet. The park is for players and officials. Where do you draw the line with young fans. I was 6ft tall and 12 stone when I was 11 and other 11 year olds are tiny. Too hard to manage and would you be OK for away fans to do it.

I don't want parents demonised if their kids did have a moment of madness a short one game ban or similar would prove to be a good deterrent.

08-01-2022, 05:59 PM
Fair enough but what is the cut off age?

Not the 6ft 12 stone ones I’d hope.

08-01-2022, 06:29 PM

Another one who uses the rofl emoji. Oh dear. It’s really not that funny mate.

08-01-2022, 06:34 PM
I think the Alamo chat is a bit OTT.
Still it’s better than hearing about Hertz all the time I suppose.

08-01-2022, 06:39 PM
Another one who uses the rofl emoji. Oh dear. It’s really not that funny mate.

mind yer own business mate

it really shouldn't/doesn't affect you, mate

08-01-2022, 06:56 PM
mind yer own business mate

it really shouldn't/doesn't affect you, mate

Yawn

09-01-2022, 03:28 PM
Players jersey...£60
SPFL Fine......£1000

Tcket Holder condition is you are liable for any cost to club.

Just go the shop and buy your kid a jersey and save £940 plus legal costs.

19-02-2022, 01:05 PM
Indeed.

I was in the minority on social media after that video was shared in saying the club shouldn't have encouraged it. I got absolute pelters from the "on ye go, wee man" etc brigade.

I see Hibs have now deleted the video from Twitter so presumably the social media team have been told likewise by the hierarchy.

Hibs now dropping heavy hints that they may also resort to banning supporters who invade the pitch, including parents who openly encourage their children to run onto the pitch.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/a-message-to-our-supporters

The Wireless
19-02-2022, 07:57 PM

With one of the most loyal fan bases in English football who have a creditable board and one of the most respected coaches in world football. This season they have introduced a record no. of 8 youth players too the premier league getting 1st team debuts. Get up to speed mate your living in the past.

19-02-2022, 08:04 PM
I'd also ban fans who take signs asking for players strips.

Awful.

OstKurve Hibs
19-02-2022, 08:07 PM

Awful.

Defo, the games just a cringe fest at times now.

20-02-2022, 05:46 PM
Hibs now dropping heavy hints that they may also resort to banning supporters who invade the pitch, including parents who openly encourage their children to run onto the pitch.

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/a-message-to-our-supporters

Noticed they had more stewards at the end of the game yesterday

percy veer
20-02-2022, 08:10 PM

Awful.

Boiling at wee kids sitting at home making signs for the hibees, I'd ban fans with scarfs.

04-03-2022, 09:42 PM
Rangers: Uefa open disciplinary proceedings after fans enter pitch - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/60615865)

The club have reminded fans that "entering the field of play at any time is unacceptable and forbidden".

"We have a zero-tolerance approach to those invading the pitch," they said.

"In particular, any parent found to assist their child in entering the pitch area will be subject to club disciplinary policy.

"Our players have been advised that they should not provide a shirt to any spectator entering the pitch area."

04-03-2022, 10:10 PM

Awful.

Amen.

05-03-2022, 11:18 AM

Awful.
I would ban fans who sing bigoted songs.
Put some perspective on this it's a trend it will go away in time. Football is all about fan engagement as a kid you will hold onto your hero's top for the rest of your life.